2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 930 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 980593Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #27871 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 01:12 PM
Member
 
SauRoNZA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by patoberli View Post
Just curious, if you set your Xbox to 1080p (that's the resolution I have to use atm) with limited color space (not RGB) and then open the calibration screen in the same menu, what do you have to set the Brightness to still see the closed eye on the third or so screen?

Just curious

I do send my signal through an AVR, but all processing is turned off.


Why do you have to use 1080p?

Or do you mean a non-X console?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
SauRoNZA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #27872 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 01:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
zinfella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
I've been running the update for over 24 hours, and it seems works fine. Below is a rough Korean to English translation of what was fixed in .90.

"WiFi_BT module fullspeed recognized as fullspeed after LiveTV video streaming improvement (04.70.90)"
It doesn't appear as an update for my 65C7P here in the US.
zinfella is offline  
post #27873 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 01:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Omni009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 176
So I'm almost about to pull the trigger now on a B7 (got a deal). I've settled on a Sony X700 player to go with it alongside a Yamaha 383 receiver to pass the signal. I was able to talk to a Sony rep at my local Best Buy, who of course made it sound like Sony A1E was the greatest thing since sliced bread. But he did bring up a few good points. Now I'm wondering about things like HLG for future 4K tv broadcasts, the LG's ability to handle motion decently, and overall if I'm still jumping into new tech too soon. If broadcast 4K HDR becomes a thing in a couple years I don't want to have a set that can't do it, but it sounds like it's still a long ways off from the articles I've read

Also, I read that my current HDMI cables should be just fine. I bought them in 2013 and 2015 (amazon high speed basics rated for HDMI 1.4). Should I just test them out when I get the set before buying another 3 pack of Amazon cables?

Omni009 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #27874 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 02:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
zinfella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 289
I tossed the built in Netflix and Amazon Primes apps on my 65C7P when I first got it because I have them on ATV & Roku. Now, my wife wants them back on the TV, and I re-installed them, but I get no audio from them. The audio I get is from whatever I was watching, FX, etc, before I launched the built in apps. Seems to me that those apps had audio before I dumped them from the OLED. Is there a setting in those apps that cures this issue, and that needs to be reset? I'm running audio using ARC and my Denon to HDMI 2 on the OLED.
zinfella is offline  
post #27875 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 02:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rsonnens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,734
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 805 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by zinfella View Post
I tossed the built in Netflix and Amazon Primes apps on my 65C7P when I first got it because I have them on ATV & Roku. Now, my wife wants them back on the TV, and I re-installed them, but I get no audio from them. The audio I get is from whatever I was watching, FX, etc, before I launched the built in apps. Seems to me that those apps had audio before I dumped them from the OLED. Is there a setting in those apps that cures this issue, and that needs to be reset? I'm running audio using ARC and my Denon to HDMI 2 on the OLED.


You most likely need to switch the input on your Denon AVR to “TV Audio”.
Culpepper likes this.
rsonnens is online now  
post #27876 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 02:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
zinfella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsonnens View Post
You most likely need to switch the input on your Denon AVR to “TV Audio”.
I tried that but still no audio from those apps.
zinfella is offline  
post #27877 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 02:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rsonnens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,734
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 805 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by zinfella View Post
I tried that but still no audio from those apps.


Well no audio is different than wrong audio.

You also need to enable CEC/Simplink on the tv and in the hdmi settings on the Denon. And on the tv make sure you select hdmi/optical audio out.
rsonnens is online now  
post #27878 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 02:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 1,190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by zinfella View Post
I tried that but still no audio from those apps.
While this is MARANTZ I have been told they are similar - might be helpful http://manuals.marantz.com/SR7011/NA...SYkabkahie.php

LG OLED 77G7P - Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 – OPPO UDP-203/103D - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A – Harmony ONE
Marantz SR7011 - Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 55 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is offline  
post #27879 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 02:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
zinfella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsonnens View Post
Well no audio is different than wrong audio.

You also need to enable CEC/Simplink on the tv and in the hdmi settings on the Denon. And on the tv make sure you select hdmi/optical audio out.
Are you quite sure about needing to use CEC on the Denon? I've never used it in the months that I've had this TV & Denon S730H, and hdmi/optical audio out has been the setting since day 1.

I'd rather not use CEC on the Denon, and if it come to that, I think I'd just delete the built in Netflix Amazon Prime apps again.
zinfella is offline  
post #27880 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 02:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,393
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2720 Post(s)
Liked: 2478
Quote:
Originally Posted by zinfella View Post
It doesn't appear as an update for my 65C7P here in the US.
It's only available from the Korean site. Let me know if you want the link.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
post #27881 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 02:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
zinfella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
It's only available from the Korean site. Let me know if you want the link.
Thanks for the response.
zinfella is offline  
post #27882 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 03:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 4,675
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2321 Post(s)
Liked: 3190
Quote:
Originally Posted by zinfella View Post
Are you quite sure about needing to use CEC on the Denon? I've never used it in the months that I've had this TV & Denon S730H, and hdmi/optical audio out has been the setting since day 1.

I'd rather not use CEC on the Denon, and if it come to that, I think I'd just delete the built in Netflix Amazon Prime apps again.
To take advantage of ARC and Atmos via DD+ you do not have to enable CEC on the Denon. I’ve been using a 4300 since Dec and a 5200 prior to that. Not a fan of CEC, Harmony user.

There is no perfect display, quit looking for faults and enjoy

LG OLED 65” B7 and 55” C8
Ascend's with RAAL, Love my PSA v1800 and a 7.2.4 speaker config, Oppo 203 and other stuff
smurraybhm is online now  
post #27883 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 03:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
sbarrier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hansen View Post
DirectTV connected to C7

Does anyone have their LG OLED connected directly to a DirecTV C-41? If so, how long does it take for a picture to appear when you turn on the OLED and the C-41?

Until recently it took 4-5 seconds for picture to appear after turning on my C7 and C-41 (connected to HR44). About a week ago things changed and it's now taking 20-25 seconds (sometimes longer) for a picture to appear after turning on. I get a black screen for that 20-25 seconds. I think the issue started up about a week ago, which coincided with a software update for the HR44 and C-41 (which included the horrific new GUI but don't think that has anything do with it). I have ruled out the HDMI cable and house wiring and have ruled out the particular C-41 (by trying a different one from another TV in its place). I think there is some issue going on with the HDCP handshake between the C-41 and HR44 and LG OLED. Just don't know if the issue is being introduced by the DTV software or a hardware issue with the LG C7 (hoping for it being a DTV software issue). Curious if others are experiencing this.
While I have my DirecTV receiver connected to my Denon receiver and the Denon is connected to my LG B7, I'm experiencing the same issue as you. It is very slow to display a picture when turning on the DirecTV receiver. This does correspond to the recent DirecTV update.
sbarrier is offline  
post #27884 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 03:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
The technicolor Expert picture mode will provide the most accurate out of the box picture for both SDR and HDR content. In fact, it is so good that you might not ever need a full calibration to thoroughly enjoy your B7. For DV content, use the "Cinema" and NOT the "Cinema (Home)" picture mode. Dolby Vision requires a calibrators touch to get the best PQ.

Click on the link in my signature and use the basic settings. Entering the White Balance and CMS settings are optional, and probably unnecessary. Standard panel variance disclaimer applies here, but most of the panels I've seen have very similar response curves.
Can I get some help understanding this? I've got everything down for SDR content, but when it comes to HDR, particularly Dolby Vision, I'm having a hard time seeing how Cinema Home is inferior to Cinema. Rtings cited using Cinema home on their C7 (although oddly changed it to Cinema for the B7 which I have). When I set the OLED brightness to 50 as recommended on both picture selections, the Cinema was vastly darker than the Cinema Home. Am I overthinking this and it's just a darker/lighter situation like ISF Dark/Bright for SDR? Or does Cinema have something over Cinema Home picture was I'm just not seeing, and to compensate I should set Cinema's OLED brightness to like 85 or something?
Ben Larkins is offline  
post #27885 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 03:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,114
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4262 Post(s)
Liked: 4574
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Larkins View Post
Can I get some help understanding this? I've got everything down for SDR content, but when it comes to HDR, particularly Dolby Vision, I'm having a hard time seeing how Cinema Home is inferior to Cinema. Rtings cited using Cinema home on their C7 (although oddly changed it to Cinema for the B7 which I have). When I set the OLED brightness to 50 as recommended on both picture selections, the Cinema was vastly darker than the Cinema Home. Am I overthinking this and it's just a darker/lighter situation like ISF Dark/Bright for SDR? Or does Cinema have something over Cinema Home picture was I'm just not seeing, and to compensate I should set Cinema's OLED brightness to like 85 or something?


You don’t want to change brightness. That will ruin black levels. You can play with OLED light but the hdr settings are pretty good as set by the tv. Especially the Dolby vision setting because of the dynamic tone mapping.
sonoftumble likes this.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is online now  
post #27886 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 03:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 3,984
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1562 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
I'm assuming that you are using the built-in Netflix apps. My guess is that you are watching content with varying dynamic range signals; i.e. SDR/HDR/DV - - - and you forgot to chose the appropriate picture modes for built-in app playback. When using the built-in apps, you may need to choose the picture modes you prefer more than once as each app has it's own dynamic range table. Think of each app as being its own virtual "input".
I think my explanation is maybe not as clear as it should be. This switching to "Vivid" picture mode happens real time. I can be watching any kind of content and using "Techniclor Expert" for instance, in sdr or hdr, and all of a sudden the picture will switch to the "Vived" mode. Of course, the Vived mode looks like hell as it's not calibrated for that mode. I would reset it to Tech Exp. and it would do it again a couple of minutes later. Each time it seemed like the interval decreased; as if the circuit was getting hotter and hotter causing the interval to decrease.

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #27887 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 03:37 PM
Member
 
jorimt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Larkins View Post
Can I get some help understanding this? I've got everything down for SDR content, but when it comes to HDR, particularly Dolby Vision, I'm having a hard time seeing how Cinema Home is inferior to Cinema. Rtings cited using Cinema home on their C7 (although oddly changed it to Cinema for the B7 which I have). When I set the OLED brightness to 50 as recommended on both picture selections, the Cinema was vastly darker than the Cinema Home. Am I overthinking this and it's just a darker/lighter situation like ISF Dark/Bright for SDR? Or does Cinema have something over Cinema Home picture was I'm just not seeing, and to compensate I should set Cinema's OLED brightness to like 85 or something?
Dolby Vision Cinema Home blows out the APL (Average Picture Level) to make the picture look brighter than the source actually is, whereas Dolby Vision Cinema adheres to the source as it is.

Brighter doesn't always = better. Or in less controversial terms, brigher doesn't always = more accurate.

Peak highlight brightness is the same for both presets, I believe, regardless of the APL difference between the two.

LG 55C7 | LG SJ9 | LG UP970

Last edited by jorimt; 05-12-2018 at 03:40 PM.
jorimt is offline  
post #27888 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 03:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
And now you have over 100ms of input lag when you enable motion interpolation.
It's still very playable for me. You must really have bad aim if it's unplayable for you. I rather deal with higher input lag than horrible blurry console frame rate.
derail30 is offline  
post #27889 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 03:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 3,984
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1562 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by cthdt View Post
Is it in store mode?
No, but I will double check. I don't think that would matter anyway. This is a real time problem. It happens by itself with no influence from me.

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #27890 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 04:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rsonnens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,734
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 805 Post(s)
Liked: 601
2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zinfella View Post
Are you quite sure about needing to use CEC on the Denon? I've never used it in the months that I've had this TV & Denon S730H, and hdmi/optical audio out has been the setting since day 1.



I'd rather not use CEC on the Denon, and if it come to that, I think I'd just delete the built in Netflix Amazon Prime apps again.


Not sure about your model Denon but on my x4300h you can just use the audio part of CEC and not full CEC control—that’s what I do. Setting is in the same section as CEC setting.

But before asking you should try and see if my suggestion got your audio working.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
rsonnens is online now  
post #27891 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 04:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
zinfella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsonnens View Post
not sure about your model denon but on my x4300h you can just use the audio part of cec and not full cec control—that’s what i do. Setting is in the same section as cec setting.

But before asking you should try and see if my suggestion got your audio working.



Sent from my iphone using tapatalk
s730h.
zinfella is offline  
post #27892 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 04:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rsonnens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,734
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 805 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurraybhm View Post
To take advantage of ARC and Atmos via DD+ you do not have to enable CEC on the Denon. I’ve been using a 4300 since Dec and a 5200 prior to that. Not a fan of CEC, Harmony user.


Technically you do have to enable the audio subset of CEC which your model Denon allows—not all avrs do. I can’t speak for the ops model.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
rsonnens is online now  
post #27893 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 04:10 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,695
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6724 Post(s)
Liked: 6572
Quote:
Originally Posted by zinfella View Post
s730h.


You need to turn CEC on, then ARC on, then make sure power control is set to OFF. It’s all under the same “CEC tree” in the 730H menu settings. Otherwise you won’t get audio from the TV via HDMI. Just make sure you have the HDMI cable plugged into the ARC input as well (of both TV and AVR).
Ph8te is online now  
post #27894 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 04:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omni009 View Post
So I'm almost about to pull the trigger now on a B7 (got a deal). I've settled on a Sony X700 player to go with it alongside a Yamaha 383 receiver to pass the signal. I was able to talk to a Sony rep at my local Best Buy, who of course made it sound like Sony A1E was the greatest thing since sliced bread. But he did bring up a few good points. Now I'm wondering about things like HLG for future 4K tv broadcasts, the LG's ability to handle motion decently, and overall if I'm still jumping into new tech too soon. If broadcast 4K HDR becomes a thing in a couple years I don't want to have a set that can't do it, but it sounds like it's still a long ways off from the articles I've read

Also, I read that my current HDMI cables should be just fine. I bought them in 2013 and 2015 (amazon high speed basics rated for HDMI 1.4). Should I just test them out when I get the set before buying another 3 pack of Amazon cables?

The price difference between the LG and the Sony is pretty significant, especially with some of the deals you can find. The main difference is Black Frame Insertion, which some people like, some people don't. It can introduce flicker in some scenes, and somewhat dim the picture. Also, if I'm not mistaken, the LGs support HLG, so that shouldn't be an issue. I'd save the money and get the LG. However, screen uniformity is absolutely a coin toss, so get it from a local retailer that has a good return policy (this goes for either the Sony or the LG since all OLEDs share the same LG-made panel). Best Buy would be a good place, if you're not looking for the cheapest price.
Omni009 likes this.
James2020 is offline  
post #27895 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 04:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,393
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2720 Post(s)
Liked: 2478
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackB View Post
I think my explanation is maybe not as clear as it should be. This switching to "Vivid" picture mode happens real time. I can be watching any kind of content and using "Techniclor Expert" for instance, in sdr or hdr, and all of a sudden the picture will switch to the "Vived" mode. Of course, the Vived mode looks like hell as it's not calibrated for that mode. I would reset it to Tech Exp. and it would do it again a couple of minutes later. Each time it seemed like the interval decreased; as if the circuit was getting hotter and hotter causing the interval to decrease.
OK - I now understand. Call an Exorcist ASAP, your TV is possessed!
zinfella likes this.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
post #27896 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 04:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,393
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2720 Post(s)
Liked: 2478
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Larkins View Post
Can I get some help understanding this? I've got everything down for SDR content, but when it comes to HDR, particularly Dolby Vision, I'm having a hard time seeing how Cinema Home is inferior to Cinema. Rtings cited using Cinema home on their C7 (although oddly changed it to Cinema for the B7 which I have). When I set the OLED brightness to 50 as recommended on both picture selections, the Cinema was vastly darker than the Cinema Home. Am I overthinking this and it's just a darker/lighter situation like ISF Dark/Bright for SDR? Or does Cinema have something over Cinema Home picture was I'm just not seeing, and to compensate I should set Cinema's OLED brightness to like 85 or something?
The Cinema (User) picture mode in DV is darker at its default settings, whereas the Cinema (Home) picture mode is blown out. For best results, use Cinema (User) and adjust the OLED LIGHT from 50 to 70. Simple and you will enjoy a nice picture.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
post #27897 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 04:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
zinfella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
You need to turn CEC on, then ARC on, then make sure power control is set to OFF. It’s all under the same “CEC tree” in the 730H menu settings. Otherwise you won’t get audio from the TV via HDMI. Just make sure you have the HDMI cable plugged into the ARC input as well (of both TV and AVR).

Well sonofa.....! I guess I'm forced into CEC, whether I like it or not. I thought that it as just those 2 apps that were the problem, but now I see it's all of the TV audio. Dog snot!

I am not ungrateful for the responses, even if they're not what I wanted to hear. What's left of my memory tells me that the last time I tried any TV audio was right after I got the OLED and I was running my old Denon E300. That prompted me to upgrade the AVR to the 730, and, since I have the ATV 4K & Roku Ultimate, I might not have, until today, again tried any of the built in apps after I got the 730 up and running

Thanks for the help you guys!
zinfella is offline  
post #27898 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 07:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
The Cinema (User) picture mode in DV is darker at its default settings, whereas the Cinema (Home) picture mode is blown out. For best results, use Cinema (User) and adjust the OLED LIGHT from 50 to 70. Simple and you will enjoy a nice picture.
So what's the best OLED level for cinema? 50 seems way too dark for cinema. I'm using lost in space on netflix as my reference video. Is it okay to go up to 70 or 80?
Ben Larkins is offline  
post #27899 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 07:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 3,984
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1562 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackB View Post
No, but I will double check. I don't think that would matter anyway. This is a real time problem. It happens by itself with no influence from me.
I'm a Stoop! I checked and indeed it was on Store mode. How it got there I have no idea. The problem only started yesterday and it is the last item on the list for the General settings. Thinking back, the suggestion that it might be in Store mode makes sense in that Store mode will continue to insist that the TV put out the most vived picture it can. Thanks to cthdt for the suggestion.

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #27900 of 36875 Old 05-12-2018, 07:18 PM
Member
 
schneid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by zinfella View Post
It doesn't appear as an update for my 65C7P here in the US.

It's on the Korean site previously posted above. Available earlier from there.
schneid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
#lgoled55c7p #hdr #oled #xboxonex #movies , 2017 , atmos , audio out , burn in , calibration , contrast , dolby 5.1 , dolby vision , Emotiva , Gaming , hdmi arc , hdr , lg b7 , lg b7p , lg c7 , lg e7 , lg oled , lg oled 65b7p , mainboard , mount , Netflix , oled , oled c7 , oled55c7p , Onkyo , optical digital output , problem , settings , sj9 , sk10y , surround , truehd , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off