2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 961 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 980426Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #28801 of 36410 Old 05-31-2018, 07:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 315 Post(s)
Liked: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruppgu View Post
The max on this TV is 100 not 10. It's not an issue for anyone really unless for some reason they need that amount of bandwidth on the TV.... maybe if you use the TV to surf the internet or when you download an update it could be a minor issue.
It's only an issue if trying to stream UHD media through local network, for now a rare use case.
barth2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #28802 of 36410 Old 05-31-2018, 07:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Royal Oak MI
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by lax01 View Post
There are specific instructions on how to mount the stand...THIS is NOT it

Where are they located so I can present this to best buy .
ToddH82 is offline  
post #28803 of 36410 Old 05-31-2018, 07:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Royal Oak MI
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToddH82 View Post
Hello

New to the forum , recently purchased a OLED C7 65 inch.
Also purchased a sj9 ATMOS sound bar.
I have the sound bar connected via hdmi to the arc input on the TV .
I watch cable TV via my Nvidia shield pro plugged into HDMI 1 on the tv.
No matter what I do I get terrible audio lag , I have tried both advancing and delaying the audio with the tv as well as the sound bar and also the Nvidia shield .

None of these combinations seemed to fix the issue .

The other night I went into the sound settings on the tv and changed the output from Auto to PCM and now the sound is finally spot on !

Problem is that when I watch 4k movies on my Xbox one X plugged into HDMI 3 on the tv I no longer get ATMOS sound with the PCM configuration.

I have to switch back to Auto in the tv sound menu for ATMOS to work properly again .

Any feedback on this ?

Thanks
Any feed back on this ?
ToddH82 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #28804 of 36410 Old 05-31-2018, 07:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chris Hansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToddH82 View Post
Where are they located so I can present this to best buy .

Page 4 and 32 of the Owner's Manual pdf

http://www.lg.com/us/support-product/lg-OLED65B7P
Chris Hansen is offline  
post #28805 of 36410 Old 05-31-2018, 07:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 421 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToddH82 View Post
Any feed back on this?
What app are you using on the Shield to watch cable? Do any other apps display this problem? I have my Shield connected directly to my C7 and watch a *ton* of movies/TV via Plex but have never had sync problems. And my C7 is set to "Auto" and not "PCM" for audio output.
tppytel is offline  
post #28806 of 36410 Old 05-31-2018, 08:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,103
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4254 Post(s)
Liked: 4545
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToddH82 View Post
Where are they located so I can present this to best buy .
Not sure but I wasn't going to have the glass set against anything. I was reluctant to lean it up on my couch even. So I had someone balance it upright while I cleared a space then we lifted it up and set one side of the base on a stool while the other end was held by hand and balanced while the helper aligned the stand. Pretty painless actually once we had a plan in mind.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #28807 of 36410 Old 05-31-2018, 08:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: DFW
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexbarbel View Post
Exactly, but here's a question for you. Do any of your friends have the slightest clue why you spent so much on a TV ?
I have a fairly large group of people I watch football with down the pub and , to my despair, I can't get anyone talking about AV stuff. They all watch more actual TV (as opposed to movies) than I do and some watch more movies but not one has any concerns about picture or sound quality.
They know my passion but I'm not sure that they get it at all. We do , however, all have an overwhelming passion for beer !
None of my friends are interest until I ordered mine. I called up a friend for help setting the 65" B7 on the TV stand. It's way too fragile to do it alone.

I tested it on Netflix Lost In Space Episode 1, because I knew the pitch blacks would stand out. After 5 minutes, he was in love with it. He is waiting on the holiday deals to upgrade his Samsung to LG OLED. Seeing is believing.

It also helped that I got it on sale for $1,899 with a $500 price protection claim reimbursement pending. His price ceiling is $1500. I promised him that new 2018 models would have a sweet deal by Black Friday.
alexbarbel likes this.

Last edited by move4ward; 05-31-2018 at 08:33 PM.
move4ward is offline  
post #28808 of 36410 Old 05-31-2018, 08:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 3,208
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2043 Post(s)
Liked: 1915
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricST View Post
Please forgive me , being this thread is over 2000 I am getting a headache trying to find the answer I’m looking for. SO...
How can I get Atmos out of my tv to my avr ?
LG C7-> hdmi2 (arc) out -> arc In (AVR)Denon 6400H . All I get is Dolby Surround if the tv is set to auto or if I select PCM it gives me DTS Neural X
What am I doing wrong?
You need to enable Simplink HDMI CEC in the general settings of the LG.
nathan_h and alexbarbel like this.
PlanetAVS is offline  
post #28809 of 36410 Old 05-31-2018, 10:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lax01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,552
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 579 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToddH82 View Post
Where are they located so I can present this to best buy .
They were attached to the top of my Styrofoam box ... you couldn't miss them. There were big red letters saying "READ THIS FIRST - HOW TO HANDLE TV" or something a long those lines. Its been a few months

There are instructions on how to use the box to lay the TV flat with the Styrofoam still attached so that you don't put pressure on the screen.

Thanks for confirming that I will never let Best Buy ever touch a piece of my equipment though...

Josh
lax01 is offline  
post #28810 of 36410 Old 05-31-2018, 10:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Hi all,

I currently have a man cave under construction is my basement. All of the audio and video equipment I have purchased is a considerable upgrade from anything I've ever had before. I won't be able to set any of it up for about 4-5 weeks but trying to educate myself as much as possible in advance.

My first question is regarding the Internet conversation that is going on. I have fibre optic run into the house. I'm currently paying for a 175 mbps connection with the option of upgrading to 300 mbps.

My plan was to have the Internet connection hard wired into my OLED65B7. I want to confirm that this will give me the best performance and most reliable connection? Since the maximum allowed speed on the tv is 100 mbps there would be zero benefit to upgrading my connection?

LG OLED65B7, LG UP970, Yamaha RXA770, Polk S55's, Polk S35, Polk S15's, KEF Ci160ER's, Dual SVS PB-1000's
Sask HT is offline  
post #28811 of 36410 Old 05-31-2018, 10:41 PM
Senior Member
 
rego00123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hansen View Post
No need for the instruction manuals, unboxing and assembly is printed right in the top of the box in info graphics.
rego00123 is offline  
post #28812 of 36410 Old 06-01-2018, 12:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,337
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freeze Time View Post
How do I find the demos?
Press the Recents button on the remote and then find and select the Dolby tile at the bottom of the screen.
EDIT: sorry, realised this had been correctly answered.
Must say this is a problem with the thread, I find myself answering stuff that has been dealt with already.

LG 77C8 (UK) - Arcam AVR 850 - Arcam FMJ P7 - 7.2.4 Atmos setup.

Last edited by alexbarbel; 06-01-2018 at 12:49 AM.
alexbarbel is offline  
post #28813 of 36410 Old 06-01-2018, 12:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: DFW
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 172
To compare the ethernet against the wifi connection for Apple TV to LG OLED.

Get the Speedtest by Ookla app on the App Store: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/spee...300704847?mt=8
Try out both connections, compare speeds to determine issues on wifi or ethernet.
Make sure no one else is streaming, downloading, or playing games during the test.
move4ward is offline  
post #28814 of 36410 Old 06-01-2018, 12:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,337
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by lax01 View Post
Common issue - I believe the fix - as I had to play around with it is...ensure TV and Denon are setup to allow for ARC. Ensure Dolby Atmos is enabled. Then sometimes un-plugging the HDMI2 does a re-handshake and will provide Atmos via ARC from the Netflix app

It sounds like you have Multi-Channel PCM set to upscale to DTS Neural X in the Denon (and as such, that isn't part of the problem but just a side effect of not output DD5.1+ via ARC from the TV)



Not true - Netflix outputs DD5.1+ with Atmos metadata to my Denon AVR
Hi,
What you cannot pass, because HDMI 2.0 doesn't support it, is lossless Atmos. You can pass the lossy type of Atmos.

LG 77C8 (UK) - Arcam AVR 850 - Arcam FMJ P7 - 7.2.4 Atmos setup.
alexbarbel is offline  
post #28815 of 36410 Old 06-01-2018, 02:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
EricST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
You need to enable Simplink HDMI CEC in the general settings of the LG.
Did not work
EricST is offline  
post #28816 of 36410 Old 06-01-2018, 02:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,337
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricST View Post
Did not work
Are your HDMI cables High Speed, Premium Certified ?
If not I would consider that . Monoprice do an inexpensive range.

LG 77C8 (UK) - Arcam AVR 850 - Arcam FMJ P7 - 7.2.4 Atmos setup.
alexbarbel is offline  
post #28817 of 36410 Old 06-01-2018, 02:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,337
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricST View Post
Did not work
Forgot to say also check all the AVR settings to ensure it is set to receive ARC.

LG 77C8 (UK) - Arcam AVR 850 - Arcam FMJ P7 - 7.2.4 Atmos setup.
alexbarbel is offline  
post #28818 of 36410 Old 06-01-2018, 04:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
EricST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexbarbel View Post
Forgot to say also check all the AVR settings to ensure it is set to receive ARC.
Yes my cables are all “Chocolate and Forests “ cables.

Yes done all that with AVR. Seems that toslink is the only way I get sound from TV to Denon.
I do have arc on , with Both LG and the Denon. But either no sound (without the toslink) or just Dolby Surround with Toslink.
EricST is offline  
post #28819 of 36410 Old 06-01-2018, 04:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BPlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,307
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sask HT View Post
My first question is regarding the Internet conversation that is going on. I have fibre optic run into the house. I'm currently paying for a 175 mbps connection with the option of upgrading to 300 mbps.

My plan was to have the Internet connection hard wired into my OLED65B7. I want to confirm that this will give me the best performance and most reliable connection? Since the maximum allowed speed on the tv is 100 mbps there would be zero benefit to upgrading my connection?
You have a Porsche speed connection for use in a speed zone limited to 30 kph. Upgrading a Ferrari will just be for show. A 175 mbps connection is suitable for a large family with maybe 5 TV's in use at the same time alll streaming 4K content plus VOIP calls and lots of internet browsing.
Sask HT likes this.
BPlayer is offline  
post #28820 of 36410 Old 06-01-2018, 04:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Chris Hansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sask HT View Post
Hi all,

My first question is regarding the Internet conversation that is going on. I have fibre optic run into the house. I'm currently paying for a 175 mbps connection with the option of upgrading to 300 mbps.

My plan was to have the Internet connection hard wired into my OLED65B7. I want to confirm that this will give me the best performance and most reliable connection? Since the maximum allowed speed on the tv is 100 mbps there would be zero benefit to upgrading my connection?
Yes, from the standpoint of streaming via the LG, the 100 mbps connection (175 mbps service) will be more than enough given how streaming services handle the streams. The only consideration is whether having >175 will help if you have a lot of other household members streaming to other devices or online gaming in the house at that same time. But, at 175 mbps, that should be way more than enough overhead capacity. I have a 125 mbps connection and have never had any issues even with other family members using the connection at that same time for a variety of things.
Sask HT likes this.
Chris Hansen is offline  
post #28821 of 36410 Old 06-01-2018, 05:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 4,657
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2308 Post(s)
Liked: 3165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omni009 View Post
Or you can try LG, but only if there is no damage to the screen glass itself. And I have actually seen someone else get a replacement (different TV company though) even with glass damaged because they couldn't figure out for sure something had hit it.
I am disappointed that this would even be mentioned - be it a by retailer earlier or forum member above. Going this route is wrong and unethical - sorry I have to point that out. Guess it is okay to ripoff a company for their own benefit - known as fraud Kudos to the Canadian who had this accident, seems as if he/she realized that they were responsible for the costs associated with something they caused ex any relief they may have from a homeowners policy. Personally I wouldn't make a claim, you pay for it in the long run and most deductibles (like mine) are about the cost of a B7A - 55" right now.
Greg TB likes this.

There is no perfect display, quit looking for faults and enjoy

LG OLED 65” B7 and 55” C8
Ascend's with RAAL, Love my PSA v1800 and a 7.2.4 speaker config, Oppo 203 and other stuff
smurraybhm is offline  
post #28822 of 36410 Old 06-01-2018, 05:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by move4ward View Post
It's not 10 mbps. It is 100 mbps for ethernet connection. Neither Netflix 4k nor Amazon Ultra HD exceed 50 mbps, let alone 100 mbps.
Yes, that's what I meant. 10/100/1000 ports have been standard for over a decade, however. So the excuse is not a good one. My point is, 802.11ac is rated for a minimum of 500 Mbps to a single device, why put in the 5 gHz chip, but cheap out on the far cheaper ethernet port?

Of course, it is enough to support what most use cases need it for... right now. In 2-3 years? Who knows - maybe they'll all have switched to much less compression. I, for one, certainly hope we aren't still held 20 years behind most of the rest of the world in regards to internet speeds by then.
wrathek is offline  
post #28823 of 36410 Old 06-01-2018, 05:53 AM
Senior Member
 
charlesrshell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by move4ward View Post
It's not 10 mbps. It is 100 mbps for ethernet connection. Neither Netflix 4k nor Amazon Ultra HD exceed 50 mbps, let alone 100 mbps.
My OLED C7 and UP970 4K Blu-Ray Player Netflix apps consistently test at 93 Mbps.

DISH Network / Hopper 3 x2 / 4K Joey x2 / Wireless Joey x2
LG OLED 55C7P-U
LG UP970-N 4K Blu-ray Player
charlesrshell is offline  
post #28824 of 36410 Old 06-01-2018, 06:02 AM
Member
 
Hutty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlesrshell View Post
My OLED C7 and UP970 4K Blu-Ray Player Netflix apps consistently test at 93 Mbps.
Right, but a 4k stream is only going to be ~15mbps max.
charlesrshell and Culpepper like this.
Hutty is offline  
post #28825 of 36410 Old 06-01-2018, 06:08 AM
Senior Member
 
charlesrshell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hutty View Post
Right, but a 4k stream is only going to be ~15mbps max.
OK, understand, thanks.

DISH Network / Hopper 3 x2 / 4K Joey x2 / Wireless Joey x2
LG OLED 55C7P-U
LG UP970-N 4K Blu-ray Player
charlesrshell is offline  
post #28826 of 36410 Old 06-01-2018, 06:15 AM
Senior Member
 
geodon005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mt. Prospect, IL
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Possibly upgrading to OLED - need your expertise!

I am thinking of upgrading from a 2016 Vizio P65-C1 and would welcome everyone's thoughts on making the move to OLED and how it compares with the Vizio. I have also considered looking at newer LCD sets such as the Sony 900F and Vizio's upcoming P-65 Quantum set, but Costco has a sale on the LG B7 with a 3-year Square Trade warranty included for what I consider to be a good price (and the sale only lasts through tomorrow, so this post is somewhat time-sensitive).

If it helps, I use my TV exclusively for TV and movies, never any gaming or use as a PC monitor. I have high quality streamers, including the Roku Ultra and Apple 4KTV.

Thanks for any help you can give!
geodon005 is offline  
post #28827 of 36410 Old 06-01-2018, 06:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
Christcorp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Cheyenne, Wyoming
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 442 Post(s)
Liked: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sask HT View Post
Hi all,

I currently have a man cave under construction is my basement. All of the audio and video equipment I have purchased is a considerable upgrade from anything I've ever had before. I won't be able to set any of it up for about 4-5 weeks but trying to educate myself as much as possible in advance.

My first question is regarding the Internet conversation that is going on. I have fibre optic run into the house. I'm currently paying for a 175 mbps connection with the option of upgrading to 300 mbps.

My plan was to have the Internet connection hard wired into my OLED65B7. I want to confirm that this will give me the best performance and most reliable connection? Since the maximum allowed speed on the tv is 100 mbps there would be zero benefit to upgrading my connection?
No problem having too much internet speed. Obviously, you are limited by the tv. THEN AGAIN, it all depends on what you want the internet to be used for your tv. If you're wanting the internet there for running apps like Netflix, Amazon, Hulu, etc. then it's more than enough. But me personally, I don't think you need much if any bandwidth for the TV. WHY??? Simple. I would never recommend using the apps that are in the tv. Maybe the internet browser for something quick and simple. But NONE of the apps. Get a Roku, Apple TV, Fire Stick, etc. ANYTHING is better than internal apps in the TV.
Sask HT likes this.

.
Michael
LG OLED65B7P, Yamaha 7810, 5.1.2 ATMOS
Philips 7302 BR/DV, ATV4K, Roku Ultra, Roku Premiere, Roku Stick+

Christcorp is offline  
post #28828 of 36410 Old 06-01-2018, 06:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,337
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricST View Post
Yes my cables are all “Chocolate and Forests “ cables.

Yes done all that with AVR. Seems that toslink is the only way I get sound from TV to Denon.
I do have arc on , with Both LG and the Denon. But either no sound (without the toslink) or just Dolby Surround with Toslink.
You do realise that you cannot send lossless Atmos over ARC at present ?
You can only play the lossey version of Atmos. In the future lossless Atmos will be possible.
I have a few Atmos movies ripped to HDD and these will not play over ARC . i also have some lossey Atmos demos and these do play over ARC.
Just a thought.

LG 77C8 (UK) - Arcam AVR 850 - Arcam FMJ P7 - 7.2.4 Atmos setup.
alexbarbel is offline  
post #28829 of 36410 Old 06-01-2018, 06:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,337
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by geodon005 View Post
I am thinking of upgrading from a 2016 Vizio P65-C1 and would welcome everyone's thoughts on making the move to OLED and how it compares with the Vizio. I have also considered looking at newer LCD sets such as the Sony 900F and Vizio's upcoming P-65 Quantum set, but Costco has a sale on the LG B7 with a 3-year Square Trade warranty included for what I consider to be a good price (and the sale only lasts through tomorrow, so this post is somewhat time-sensitive).

If it helps, I use my TV exclusively for TV and movies, never any gaming or use as a PC monitor. I have high quality streamers, including the Roku Ultra and Apple 4KTV.

Thanks for any help you can give!
i think the consensus would be that the picture quality of these OLEDs can't be beaten.
The contrast is superb, the colours are just scintillating and although an OLED won't reach the same peak brightness as an LED the absolute blacks make the highlights seem very bright.
Some people have had screen uniformity issues and banding but for the vast majority of those seeing these issues they are only doing so with test files and not normally in real life content.
Personally I would never go back to LED/LCD unless we have emmissive types available. OLED is not perfect but I believe that it is by far the best we have.
zinfella likes this.

LG 77C8 (UK) - Arcam AVR 850 - Arcam FMJ P7 - 7.2.4 Atmos setup.
alexbarbel is offline  
post #28830 of 36410 Old 06-01-2018, 06:30 AM
Senior Member
 
MackGuyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by geodon005 View Post
I am thinking of upgrading from a 2016 Vizio P65-C1 and would welcome everyone's thoughts on making the move to OLED and how it compares with the Vizio. I have also considered looking at newer LCD sets such as the Sony 900F and Vizio's upcoming P-65 Quantum set, but Costco has a sale on the LG B7 with a 3-year Square Trade warranty included for what I consider to be a good price (and the sale only lasts through tomorrow, so this post is somewhat time-sensitive).

If it helps, I use my TV exclusively for TV and movies, never any gaming or use as a PC monitor. I have high quality streamers, including the Roku Ultra and Apple 4KTV.

Thanks for any help you can give!
I don't think you'll find much, if any buyer's remorse here...and if you search the thread, I'm pretty sure you'll find some Visio upgraders who were happy with their purchase. Also, you can always return it to the warehouse if you don't like it.

Preamp/Amps: Anthem AVM60, Emotiva XPA-2, XPA-5, A-300
Speakers: (7.1.2): Klipsch Reference Premiere / Power Sound Audio S3000i sub
Video: LG OLED65B7A, Oppo UDP-203, Roku Premiere+, Nvidia Shield TV
Room: GIK Acoustics treatments
MackGuyver is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
#lgoled55c7p #hdr #oled #xboxonex #movies , 2017 , atmos , audio out , burn in , calibration , contrast , dolby 5.1 , dolby vision , Emotiva , Gaming , hdmi arc , hdr , lg b7 , lg b7p , lg c7 , lg e7 , lg oled , lg oled 65b7p , mainboard , mount , Netflix , oled , oled c7 , oled55c7p , Onkyo , optical digital output , problem , settings , sj9 , sk10y , surround , truehd , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off