2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 993 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 980425Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #29761 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 01:26 AM
Member
 
jcdrisco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Here’s a photo of the firmware number. Odd no one else has seen this yet.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	EC8D829B-B87A-453D-83BE-DB9530137815.jpg
Views:	164
Size:	115.4 KB
ID:	2418014  
jcdrisco is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #29762 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 01:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,337
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 785 Post(s)
Liked: 602
Quote:
Originally Posted by akmandal View Post
Wow thats a small room for such a large TV,
On the other hand sit further away and lose the benefit of 4K detail.

I sit 6 feet from my 65B7 and would sit up to a foot closer but for audio considerations. Because I have a 7.2.4 speaker set up my seating position is a little restricted in order to have all the speakers at a reasonable distance. I don't want to be closer to my fronts. Even so I have placed the TV out from the front wall by a couple of feet to get it as close as possible without it being in front of the front speakers.

My next upgrade will probably be a 77 inch ( a while away ) and I feel with that I will be able to achieve the optimal viewing distance for me, where the screen just about fills my field of view, I can see all the detail and cannot see the pixel structure. I reckon that will be 6.5 to 7 feet but won't be sure until I get one set up.

LG 77C8 (UK) - Arcam AVR 850 - Arcam FMJ P7 - 7.2.4 Atmos setup.
alexbarbel is online now  
post #29763 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 02:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,337
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 785 Post(s)
Liked: 602
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcdrisco View Post
Here’s a photo of the firmware number. Odd no one else has seen this yet.
Turn your set off immediately ! That was sent by aliens.
lax01, skip61 and sonoftumble like this.

LG 77C8 (UK) - Arcam AVR 850 - Arcam FMJ P7 - 7.2.4 Atmos setup.

Last edited by alexbarbel; 06-19-2018 at 02:51 AM.
alexbarbel is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #29764 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 02:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,337
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 785 Post(s)
Liked: 602
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omni009 View Post
Well, I ran into yet another issue tonight. I finally got to sit down and watch Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, and my TV had the issue with auto dimming...4 separate times. All in dark scenes. I can't believe that these TV have this issue and people would just accept it. Every other piece of tech I own can tell the difference between a static image and a moving scene. Total garbage. And there's no way to turn this off, correct?
Can you give time details for this so that I can check it ?
I must say that when I recently watched this film I didn't notice the issue at all.

LG 77C8 (UK) - Arcam AVR 850 - Arcam FMJ P7 - 7.2.4 Atmos setup.
alexbarbel is online now  
post #29765 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 05:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Riptide_NVN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I haven't read of a way to completely defeat the dimming functions. If there were a way I'd be interested in shutting them off too.

The service menu will let you shut off something called ABSL. Not sure yet what that acronym means. I have a phone with an IR port too so might be giving it a try. Voiding the warranty is a possible issue with that from what I've read so far.
Riptide_NVN is offline  
post #29766 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 06:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omni009 View Post
Well, I ran into yet another issue tonight. I finally got to sit down and watch Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, and my TV had the issue with auto dimming...4 separate times. All in dark scenes. I can't believe that these TV have this issue and people would just accept it. Every other piece of tech I own can tell the difference between a static image and a moving scene. Total garbage. And there's no way to turn this off, correct?
I don't have that issue. My biggest issue is every single harry potter disc freezes before the end in the up970. Used to go to black screen no input, since the last firmware for the up970 it freezes and jumps a scene. Plays perfect in my other player (it has its own set of similar issues just different discs). The combo of the 2 play everything in my collection. Is that normal?
yogi6807 is online now  
post #29767 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 08:12 AM
Senior Member
 
nickwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Finally upgraded from my 50" Pioneer Kuro to a 55" LG OLED, quick question about wall mounting, are the screws that attach the tv to the wall mount brackets universal or are they unique to each manufacturer? Can I just use the screws that attach the OLED panel to the stand?
nickwin is offline  
post #29768 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 08:22 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,546
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6669 Post(s)
Liked: 6663
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcdrisco View Post
My C7 just auto updated to firmware 04.71.00 this morning. Does anyone know if there are release notes? (Am in the U.S.)
I wonder if they put in the notes everything the update is about? Wonder if manufacturers sneak things in there too...lol
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #29769 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 08:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Skytrooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Baden, Pa.
Posts: 1,258
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Last few days, my Yamaha Receiver every few hours has been randomly changing inputs. It goes from the cable box input to the default TV Audio input. Don’t know if it’s the receiver causing this or the TV. Annoying. Just did it again as I’m writing this.

All HDMI connected components going to Receiver. Using ARC. Don’t know what’s up.

TV - LG 65B7P OLED / Receiver - Yamaha RX-A1040 7.2 / Blu Ray - Oppo BDP-83 / Turntable - Technics SL-3300 / Cable Box - Comcast X1 V4 4K /L & R Paradigm Studio 20 V3
Center - Paradigm CC-470 V3 / 4 Surrounds - Paradigm SA-15 V3 In Walls
Subwoofer 1 - Sunfire HRS-12 / Subwoofer 2 - Paradigm PW-2100
Skytrooper is offline  
post #29770 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 09:00 AM
Member
 
jcdrisco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 22
The U.S. website has firmware files but not release notes, and I can’t read the Korean site. I thought the U.S. site might well lag what is pushed out. My TV was apparently working fine before and is now, so I’ll just wait to see if anything turns up.
jcdrisco is offline  
post #29771 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 09:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
zinfella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcdrisco View Post
The U.S. website has firmware files but not release notes, and I can’t read the Korean site. I thought the U.S. site might well lag what is pushed out. My TV was apparently working fine before and is now, so I’ll just wait to see if anything turns up.
If you use Chrome as your browser it will translate the Korean site, but, sonoftumble has already checked it and it still shows 4.70.90 as the latest release that is compatible with US models. Currently, 4.71 is a mystery here.
zinfella is offline  
post #29772 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 09:28 AM
Member
 
oldprof's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickwin View Post
Finally upgraded from my 50" Pioneer Kuro to a 55" LG OLED, quick question about wall mounting, are the screws that attach the tv to the wall mount brackets universal or are they unique to each manufacturer? Can I just use the screws that attach the OLED panel to the stand?
The screws for the stand are much smaller than required by a wall mount, but the wall mount screws are fairly standard. Most wall mounts will include a selection of screws that should be fine.
oldprof is offline  
post #29773 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 09:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 3,202
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2038 Post(s)
Liked: 1915
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcdrisco View Post
The U.S. website has firmware files but not release notes, and I can’t read the Korean site. I thought the U.S. site might well lag what is pushed out. My TV was apparently working fine before and is now, so I’ll just wait to see if anything turns up.
What is the mfg date of your panel and where did you purchase it? A previous poster in the US mentioned that they received their Costco panel with .50 as the shipped firmware version, so I'm curious if perhaps your .71 is on a different version path than most owners.
PlanetAVS is offline  
post #29774 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 09:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Omni009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexbarbel View Post
Can you give time details for this so that I can check it ?
I must say that when I recently watched this film I didn't notice the issue at all.
It's the thing where the set auto dims after 60 seconds if it thinks it's the same picture, so it's hard to replicate on demand. I'll try and find an example though. Happened a lot near the end in the dark forest scenes. And now of course I actively look for it all the time on everything, killing the viewing experience.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yogi6807 View Post
I don't have that issue. My biggest issue is every single harry potter disc freezes before the end in the up970. Used to go to black screen no input, since the last firmware for the up970 it freezes and jumps a scene. Plays perfect in my other player (it has its own set of similar issues just different discs). The combo of the 2 play everything in my collection. Is that normal?
My disks so far are fine, but I have heard of issues with WB disks before not playing right.

Omni009 is offline  
post #29775 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 11:00 AM
Member
 
jcdrisco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
What is the mfg date of your panel and where did you purchase it? A previous poster in the US mentioned that they received their Costco panel with .50 as the shipped firmware version, so I'm curious if perhaps your .71 is on a different version path than most owners.
From Crutchfield, over a year ago. I don’t recall the firmware version it upgraded from.
jcdrisco is offline  
post #29776 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 11:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Omni009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexbarbel View Post
Can you give time details for this so that I can check it ?
I must say that when I recently watched this film I didn't notice the issue at all.
Ok, I found a spot where I can duplicate the issue. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban UHD, go to chapter 33 so you can see the scene that I'm talking about...then go back to chapter 32 and play it from there. On mine, on HDR technicolor expert mode w default settings, you can see the sky noticeably lighten when chapter 33 starts as the auto dimming from the dark scenes turns off. Rewind a few seconds and you can see that the sky acts normally instead. Happens every time. (EDIT: also make sure you have Dynamic contrast off. Dynamic contrast on low "fixes" the issue but of course destroys the low lighted scenes.)

I can not tell you how disappointed this makes me in these tvs. Why even care about shadow detail if dark movies are going to kick on the auto dimmer?!


Last edited by Omni009; 06-19-2018 at 11:35 AM.
Omni009 is offline  
post #29777 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 11:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 314 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omni009 View Post

I can not tell you how disappointed this makes me in these tvs. Why even care about shadow detail if dark movies are going to kick on the auto dimmer?!
Your problem seems unusual. Normally the auto dimming kicks in with bright scenes. Your set seems to think it's displaying a static pic when it's not. Have you tried upgrading to 4.70.90 from the Korean site. If that doesn't work, may have to do a factory reset. And contact LG as last resort.
barth2 is offline  
post #29778 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 11:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Riptide_NVN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I'm looking around at different desktop wallpapers that would be appropriate for an OLED. Guessing something dark in 4K.

Any suggestions? I've found a few so far with black, gray, and blue that look decent. Trying to avoid red, orange, and yellow. I have my task bar set to auto hide and my desktop icons hid. Screen saver set. Hoping that these measures may help a bit. I do have my browser window up sometimes for hours at a time and there are some bright icons in the favorites bar I'm a bit concerned about.
Riptide_NVN is offline  
post #29779 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 11:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
Omni009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by barth2 View Post
Your problem seems unusual. Normally the auto dimming kicks in with bright scenes. Your set seems to think it's displaying a static pic when it's not. Have you tried upgrading to 4.70.90 from the Korean site. If that doesn't work, may have to do a factory reset. And contact LG as last resort.
There are 2 auto dimmings. The one that lowers the ABL if the screen is too bright and another that lowers the brightness if it thinks there is a static image on the screen after 60 seconds. This is that one I'm having the issue with. It's similar to what they are saying in the thread about the Sony A1 and it's dimming kicking on during video games. As for firmware, I'll wait for the US releases, but I doubt this feature has any fixes.

Dark movies like HPAtPOA seem to trick the set into thinking it's a static image with their sustained dark scenes. Watch that movie, in a dim room especially, on the settings I mentioned above and you should also notice instances of it kicking on when the scenes change.

Is there a way to turn off that dimming in the service menu but keep the other ABL function on bright scenes? I don't want to risk breaking the set, but I really hate this.

Omni009 is offline  
post #29780 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 12:04 PM
Member
 
Hutty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omni009 View Post
There are 2 auto dimmings. The one that lowers the ABL if the screen is too bright and another that lowers the brightness if it thinks there is a static image on the screen after 60 seconds. This is that one I'm having the issue with. It's similar to what they are saying in the thread about the Sony A1 and it's dimming kicking on during video games. As for firmware, I'll wait for the US releases, but I doubt this feature has any fixes.

Dark movies like HPAtPOA seem to trick the set into thinking it's a static image with their sustained dark scenes. Watch that movie, in a dim room especially, on the settings I mentioned above and you should also notice instances of it kicking on when the scenes change.

Is there a way to turn off that dimming in the service menu but keep the other ABL function on bright scenes? I don't want to risk breaking the set, but I really hate this.
I would call LG over this and get it taken care of properly, I've don't think I've heard of anyone else having this issue, who knows what else could be wonky.
Hutty is online now  
post #29781 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 12:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Bacon_67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omni009 View Post
There are 2 auto dimmings. The one that lowers the ABL if the screen is too bright and another that lowers the brightness if it thinks there is a static image on the screen after 60 seconds. This is that one I'm having the issue with. It's similar to what they are saying in the thread about the Sony A1 and it's dimming kicking on during video games. As for firmware, I'll wait for the US releases, but I doubt this feature has any fixes.

Dark movies like HPAtPOA seem to trick the set into thinking it's a static image with their sustained dark scenes. Watch that movie, in a dim room especially, on the settings I mentioned above and you should also notice instances of it kicking on when the scenes change.

Is there a way to turn off that dimming in the service menu but keep the other ABL function on bright scenes? I don't want to risk breaking the set, but I really hate this.

Sounds like the same issue I was having. You can see a vid in my post here.
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ole...l#post56356754


Really weird the ASBL would be that aggressive, especially in DV content. I never really noticed it before though, so hopefully it's rare...
Bacon_67 is offline  
post #29782 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 12:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,103
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4254 Post(s)
Liked: 4545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omni009 View Post
Ok, I found a spot where I can duplicate the issue. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban UHD, go to chapter 33 so you can see the scene that I'm talking about...then go back to chapter 32 and play it from there. On mine, on HDR technicolor expert mode w default settings, you can see the sky noticeably lighten when chapter 33 starts as the auto dimming from the dark scenes turns off. Rewind a few seconds and you can see that the sky acts normally instead. Happens every time. (EDIT: also make sure you have Dynamic contrast off. Dynamic contrast on low "fixes" the issue but of course destroys the low lighted scenes.)

I can not tell you how disappointed this makes me in these tvs. Why even care about shadow detail if dark movies are going to kick on the auto dimmer?!


I’ll try when I get home but active hdr does not ruin any dark scenes. I assume you are watching in HDr10 from the disc?
nathan_h, Omni009 and alexbarbel like this.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #29783 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 12:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Omni009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bacon_67 View Post
Sounds like the same issue I was having. You can see a vid in my post here.
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post56356754


Really weird the ASBL would be that aggressive, especially in DV content. I never really noticed it before though, so hopefully it's rare...
It's kinda similar, but not as extreme as yours. I don't have the top tier Netflix so I can't check on mine, and all the HP movie disks are in HDR and not DV so it's hard to tell if you issue is related to DV or not.

People keep saying that it's not normal, but has anyone who owns the movie actually gone to the part I mentioned and tested it out? Use those settings, DC off, and start at chapter 32 or even wind it back a bit to get more time with dark scenes on there, and then watch the sky closely when it reaches chapter 33. It's hard to see in the dark scenes when the dimming kicks in because it's so dark, but you can clearly see when it ends.


Last edited by Omni009; 06-19-2018 at 01:04 PM.
Omni009 is offline  
post #29784 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 12:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ruppgu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 498 Post(s)
Liked: 555
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omni009 View Post
It's kinda similar, but not as extreme as yours. I don't have the top tier Netflix so I can't check on mine, and all the HP movie disks are in HDR and not DV so it's hard to tell if you issue is related to DV or not.

People keep saying that it's not normal, but has anyone who owns the movie actually gone to the part I mentioned and tested it out? Use those settings, DC off, and start at chapter 32 or even wind it back a bit to get more time with dark scenes on there, and then watch the sky closely when it reaches chapter 33. It's hard to see in the dark scenes when the dimming kicks in because it's so dark, but you can clearly see when it ends.

(Side note, I know the digital files for these are in DV so it will be interesting to see if they do the same thing.)
I've watched the first few HP disks and didn't notice anything. The one you mention here is next up to watch but we have a lot of other things that will likely jump the queue like Pacific Rim so it will likely be a few weeks before we catch it. I can report back when we do though. I'm not going to "look" for it, but I'll let you know if I notice anything that annoyed me while watching. So far, the only thing that annoys me is when my bands show (which show often in these HP movies on my set).
Omni009 likes this.
Ruppgu is offline  
post #29785 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 12:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
met_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Easthampton, MA
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Isn’t dynamic contrast supposed to be set to low in HDR mode?
nathan_h and Greg TB like this.
met_fan is offline  
post #29786 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 12:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Omni009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
I’ll try when I get home but active hdr does not ruin any dark scenes. I assume you are watching in HDr10 from the disc?
Yes, HDR10 from the disk. DC low (active HDR) makes the dark scenes too bright for my liking, but in the other scenes it looks off to me too. If you keep going from the scenes I mentioned and see Harry going into Lupin's office and them talking, the background stone walls have been brightened to the point where the film grain just looks overblown to me. Without it, the scene looks darker but the walls look more normal to me. Still with film grain, but not nearly to the same degree. I guess I would have to check my blu ray to see how the scenes look on it for comparison to what it should look like.

Thanks for checking the scene for me. You have to watch the sky right as the scene changes to see it. Watching the movie last night it was a rather large change from all the dark scenes before it, but it will be less of a change just going from chapter 32 to 33. But it's still there.

Omni009 is offline  
post #29787 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 12:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Omni009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruppgu View Post
I've watched the first few HP disks and didn't notice anything. The one you mention here is next up to watch but we have a lot of other things that will likely jump the queue like Pacific Rim so it will likely be a few weeks before we catch it. I can report back when we do though. I'm not going to "look" for it, but I'll let you know if I notice anything that annoyed me while watching. So far, the only thing that annoys me is when my bands show (which show often in these HP movies on my set).
Appreciate it. If you watch the movie in a dark room, you should notice it for sure. The scene I used was just the example that I thought of first, but it happened 4 times throughout the movie.

I can count myself lucky about the bands though. The only noticeable one I have is off to the left and I never see it unless I stare at that spot.

Omni009 is offline  
post #29788 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 12:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Omni009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by met_fan View Post
Isn’t dynamic contrast supposed to be set to low in HDR mode?
Only if you want the active HDR. I watch without it.

Omni009 is offline  
post #29789 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 12:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tornado Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,268
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 1314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skytrooper View Post
Last few days, my Yamaha Receiver every few hours has been randomly changing inputs. It goes from the cable box input to the default TV Audio input. Don’t know if it’s the receiver causing this or the TV. Annoying. Just did it again as I’m writing this.

All HDMI connected components going to Receiver. Using ARC. Don’t know what’s up.
Ahh ARC, ye are a heartless beach. I have a similar issue, I'm using ARC as well and on occasions it just decides (I believe from the tv end of things) to change the input to "tv" when it should be inputting from my Oppo player. Not even using ARC for this particular function but it just decides to take over anyway. I have a Harmony remote and programmed an unused button to change the input back to "Oppo". What I find the weirdest thing of all about ARC is that it so often runs normally, then for reasons unexplainable to modern man, it turns into a narcissistic weasel. Good luck with your issue...

Edit: I just wanted to state the obvious that I was absolutely no help to you.... just know you're not alone.
Tornado Red is offline  
post #29790 of 36406 Old 06-19-2018, 12:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Skytrooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Baden, Pa.
Posts: 1,258
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 389
^
Yeah, Tornado. ARC evil. Or HDMI CEC evil. I had this tv since November, but not this problem. Just now.
Datagg and Tornado Red like this.

TV - LG 65B7P OLED / Receiver - Yamaha RX-A1040 7.2 / Blu Ray - Oppo BDP-83 / Turntable - Technics SL-3300 / Cable Box - Comcast X1 V4 4K /L & R Paradigm Studio 20 V3
Center - Paradigm CC-470 V3 / 4 Surrounds - Paradigm SA-15 V3 In Walls
Subwoofer 1 - Sunfire HRS-12 / Subwoofer 2 - Paradigm PW-2100
Skytrooper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
#lgoled55c7p #hdr #oled #xboxonex #movies , 2017 , atmos , audio out , burn in , calibration , contrast , dolby 5.1 , dolby vision , Emotiva , Gaming , hdmi arc , hdr , lg b7 , lg b7p , lg c7 , lg e7 , lg oled , lg oled 65b7p , mainboard , mount , Netflix , oled , oled c7 , oled55c7p , Onkyo , optical digital output , problem , settings , sj9 , sk10y , surround , truehd , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off