Sony A1E OLED 4K Ultra HD Owners Only Thread [No Price Talk] - Page 124 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 28381Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3691 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 06:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Egan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bethlehem PA
Posts: 1,915
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1013 Post(s)
Liked: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by eganz1 View Post
OK, I installed the Dolby vision update on the Sony.
Looks very nice, and it is nice to see the icon pop up on Netflix.
It would be nice to have some calibration content, either Netflix test patterns or HDMI Patterns...

Eric
Would be cool if Apple had a channel or something that could send a 4K HDR signal with patterns for calibrators, bypassing the need for expensive pattern generators.

Sony 65A1E
Egan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3692 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 06:44 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,061
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 5804
I guess anyone with the murideo will be able to connect to HDMI and trigger DV for testing like @jrref , unless it needs an update first.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F
Oppo UDP-203 / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #3693 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 06:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,185
Mentioned: 167 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4240 Post(s)
Liked: 5150
It needs an update.
gadgtfreek likes this.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3694 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 06:53 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,061
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 5804
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
It needs an update.
Cool. I know you keep in the loop with that, can't wait to see the results.
jrref likes this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F
Oppo UDP-203 / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #3695 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 07:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
markmanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaz View Post
It does support HDR and DV on HDMI4 at 30fps. At least it works for me ;-)
yes, the 30fps limit was what I was recalling.

System
Spoiler!
markmanner is offline  
post #3696 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 08:38 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Just thought this would be a worth a good laugh. Sony has once again added, ''Adds support for Dolby Vision" to the Firmware Update description.
rlb, dancolt, lsorensen and 1 others like this.

-Sony XBR-65A1E
-Sony STR-ZA1100ES
-Apple TV 4K
-Amazon Fire TV 4K Pendant
-Harmony Elite
RobTeazy is offline  
post #3697 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 09:09 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 23,821
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6313 Post(s)
Liked: 6315
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
I have a 2016 Yamaha, with the DV update, and it works fine. Marantz and Denon owners have chimed in too. Seems to be passing just fine with the name brands that have a DV update applied. My Yamaha overlay menu even works in DV mode.
That is sweet we are on a roll.........should be all taken care of soon and everyone will be happy for a few days
aaz likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #3698 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 09:33 AM
Newbie
 
gminnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have read through every message about DV on Sony and a few questions I have where I get confused

1. Does the low latency profile cause any degradation where a system using the regular profiles look better? Sorry if this is an incorrect question, I don't fully understand what the profiles do.
2. It seems the Sony is offloading some work to the source device, one being that ATV4K. How is it a $200 device can do what a $4000 TV cannot?

BTW, I am all for the source device doing all the work if I can get the same quality. I would rather upgrade a $100 to $200 device every year for newer tech than buy TV and then be limited until it is reasonable to spend another few thousand to upgrade it. I almost wish the panel part of the TV could be separate from the processing part where the processor (with connections) could be upgraded for faster processor, newer HDMI, etc...

XBR-65A1E | STR-ZA810ES | UBP-X800

Last edited by gminnick; 01-26-2018 at 09:34 AM. Reason: meant to say profile and not policy
gminnick is offline  
post #3699 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 09:59 AM
Member
 
HDDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SE CT
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gminnick View Post
2. It seems the Sony is offloading some work to the source device, one being that ATV4K. How is it a $200 device can do what a $4000 TV cannot?
I believe most of the comments I've read have noted that it's mostly due to the $200 device only needing to concentrate on one thing (streaming media out to a display), and the $4000 device (even though it has the X1 Extreme processor) has to do multiple things at the same time. I'm sure if it only had to decode Dolby Vision over 1 HDMI port it wouldn't have any problems....
gminnick likes this.

Last edited by HDDave; 01-26-2018 at 10:08 AM.
HDDave is offline  
post #3700 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 10:07 AM
Member
 
Baby Jocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Alpharetta
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by gminnick View Post
2. It seems the Sony is offloading some work to the source device, one being that ATV4K. How is it a $200 device can do what a $4000 TV cannot?
The source device is not doing much more work. It simply provides the metadata Sony needs independently from the video signal. It's not as if it is processing the DV and sending it through the video signal. Not only would that require significantly more processing on the source side, but it would also require more bandwidth. Besides, each display is different. HDR is not one size fits all. Each display must map the metadata to its display.
gminnick likes this.

Sony XBR-65A1E
LG 55EG9600
Oppo UDP-203
Baby Jocko is offline  
post #3701 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 10:30 AM
Senior Member
 
rnk21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert9674 View Post
In 2017 why would Sony of put two hdmi ports not able to do 4K 60 hdr? Oh well. I got my aptv 4K working . Just had to unplug my Apple TV.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Man you just can't be pleased can you? The last few days we've all witnessed you ranting and raving about how Sony screwed over everyone and how you're done with Sony as a brand never to buy another product again. You screamed "Who's coming with me?"(to which nobody replied), you demanded we grab the pitchforks and torches and boycott them. How dare they do this to us??

Turns out, Sony wasn't at fault for any of this. They released an updated profile that SHOULD have worked over HDMI with 3rd party sources. They were told by Dolby as much. So what do you do? Do you take a step back, maybe realize you were overreacting, which many told you? No, you instead start to complain that they didn't give you full HDR @ 60 over all 4 inputs.

Glad you got your Dolby Vision up and running, and hopefully you've dropped the lawsuit you no doubt had pending. I for one can't wait for the next thing that irks you. Pitchforks on standby!
tmdorsey likes this.

Sony XBR65A1E : Sony X800
rnk21 is offline  
post #3702 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 10:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robert9674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1250 Post(s)
Liked: 788
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnk21 View Post
Man you just can't be pleased can you? The last few days we've all witnessed you ranting and raving about how Sony screwed over everyone and how you're done with Sony as a brand never to buy another product again. You screamed "Who's coming with me?"(to which nobody replied), you demanded we grab the pitchforks and torches and boycott them. How dare they do this to us??



Turns out, Sony wasn't at fault for any of this. They released an updated profile that SHOULD have worked over HDMI with 3rd party sources. They were told by Dolby as much. So what do you do? Do you take a step back, maybe realize you were overreacting, which many told you? No, you instead start to complain that they didn't give you full HDR @ 60 over all 4 inputs.



Glad you got your Dolby Vision up and running, and hopefully you've dropped the lawsuit you no doubt had pending. I for one can't wait for the next thing that irks you. Pitchforks on standby!


What . lol. Ok guy. You must work for Sony. Why so invested in my posts about this TV otherwise. Most of my complaints have been addressed. I’m actually good with this tv . Take care .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sony A1E
Triton one
robert9674 is offline  
post #3703 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 10:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
I have a 2016 Yamaha, with the DV update, and it works fine. Marantz and Denon owners have chimed in too. Seems to be passing just fine with the name brands that have a DV update applied. My Yamaha overlay menu even works in DV mode.
Interesting, I have a Yamaha 5100 and a ATV4K and it's not passing DV to my A1E (I haven't updated my apple tv as of yet)

UPDATE: flashed with the beta tvOS and all is good. DV through my 5100 to my A1E is working.

Sony A1E|Parasound A51|Yamaha 5100 Adventage|Paradigm Studio 100 v5|Paradigm CC-690 v5|Paradigm ADP 590 v5|Paradigm Sub 15|

Last edited by aphrdzac; 01-26-2018 at 03:25 PM.
aphrdzac is offline  
post #3704 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 11:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1361 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by aphrdzac View Post
Interesting, I have a Yamaha 5100 and a ATV4K and it's not passing DV to my A1E (I haven't updated my apple tv as of yet)
Without the beta update for the Apple, it won't even try to send DV so there is nothing to pass.
gadgtfreek likes this.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #3705 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 12:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeterUbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 886
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 483 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Thanks to everyone's help on this forum

Kudos to Sony!

1) 7.2.4 Atmos; Marantz 8802a; Parasound A51; Parasound 1250; Oppo BDP203; AppleTV4K; Harmony Hub; Paradigm Prestige 95F; ML Descent-i; Prestige 2000sw; 4x SA-ADP paradigm in walls surrounds; 4x paradigm ceilings, angled; Furman; XBR-77A1E; xfinity x1; 2) 5.1; Marantz 7702; Emotiva XPA-5; Monster Power Center; Oppo-BDP93; Apple 2K; Harmony Hub; Paradigm Studio 100 v.5, CC-690, SA-ADP in-walls; Paradigm Sub 15; Panasonic ZT60 65"; Xfinity X1
PeterUbers is offline  
post #3706 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 12:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
markmanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Hi, with the new DV implementation, what changes, if any, should we make to the picture settings? I took a look at the A1E calibration thread, but nothing new there.

System
Spoiler!

Last edited by markmanner; 01-26-2018 at 02:07 PM.
markmanner is offline  
post #3707 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 01:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,185
Mentioned: 167 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4240 Post(s)
Liked: 5150
^^^ That's because all you need to do is change the color mode to either Expert 1 or 2 and raise the brightness from 50 to 51 and that's it until we can look at the calibration.
CCsoftball7 likes this.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is offline  
post #3708 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 01:28 PM
Member
 
Baby Jocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Alpharetta
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 104
^^^ I dunno. I can't seem to get decent contrast. The contrast is way too high with DV from ATV4K. Everything I've seen so far from ATV4K DV, including the worst movie I've seen in my life -- yes, worse than Planet 9 from Outer Space. It's so bad, I'm too embarrassed to say what it is and that I paid $5.99 to watch it. But, I digress.

I have contrast enhancer off, brightness = max. contrast = 90 to max. gamma = 1 (even max does not help). Black level = 50.

Any ideas? Is it just me?

Sony XBR-65A1E
LG 55EG9600
Oppo UDP-203
Baby Jocko is offline  
post #3709 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 01:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,185
Mentioned: 167 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4240 Post(s)
Liked: 5150
I should have specified using the internal apps. I don't have ATV and can't speak or know what they are doing with the signal they are sending to the set. All i can say is that most DV titles on Netflix look excellent and the colors are "right on" to my eyes when using a calibrated color mode.

Now, not everything on Netflix DV is mastered properly. Some titles have a lot of grain but if you look at the last season of Stranger Things, it should look really good.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is offline  
post #3710 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 01:40 PM
Member
 
Baby Jocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Alpharetta
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
I should have specified using the internal apps. I don't have ATV and can't speak or know what they are doing with the signal they are sending to the set. All i can say is that most DV titles on Netflix look excellent and the colors are "right on" to my eyes when using a calibrated color mode.

Now, not everything on Netflix DV is mastered properly. Some titles have a lot of grain but if you look at the last season of Stranger Things, it should look really good.
I agree. Stranger Things 2 looks great. Luke Cage is extremely grainy.

Overall, from the internal Netflix app, DV looks good. But, DV from ATV4K has too much contrast that I can't alleviate.

Sony XBR-65A1E
LG 55EG9600
Oppo UDP-203
Baby Jocko is offline  
post #3711 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 01:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,185
Mentioned: 167 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4240 Post(s)
Liked: 5150
That's the problem with these external streamers. You don't know if or what they are doing to the input stream. Roku had the same problem. I wish there were a "native" mode to just pass through the content lol

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is offline  
post #3712 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 01:45 PM
Senior Member
 
eganz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 109
DV from ATV4Kfor A1E Is still in beta testing, and probably not working properly ...

Theater: Sony A1E OLED 4K Ultra HD, Oppo-205, Anthem AVM60, 7.1.4 B & W CM 7 LR,CDM-cse, CM 1, CM 1 S2, Silverline minuet , SVS SB13 Ultra, Rotel RMB 1555, Parasound A23, Naim NAP 100, EEcolor lut box. Calman, MobileForge, I1D3 & I1pro 2.
Stereo: Aurender N100H, Auralic Vega DAC, Focal Chorus 836 W, BAT VK-3ix, Pass XA 30.5, PPP.
eganz1 is offline  
post #3713 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 02:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thezaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Laveen, AZ
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 609 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJSKIER View Post
what joeys do you have mine are all 4k joeys and i have 5 of them hooked to one hopper 3 no issues before the update
I have 3 joeys, but not the 4k joeys.

Dave
thezaks is offline  
post #3714 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 02:35 PM
Audio/Video Enthusiast
 
alexcoluzzi32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: California
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Hey group! Just purchased a 2017 XBR-55A1E and I’m super stoked.

My signal path is:

Comcast Cable Box > HT-NT5 HDMI 1 in > HDMI 3 (ARC) > A1E TV HDMI 3 (ARC)

Apple TV 4K > HT-NT5 HDMI 2 in > HDMI 3 (ARC) > A1E TV HDMI 3 (ARC)

Software updates performed on soundbar and tv and the Apple TV is running tvOS 11.3.

I’m confused as hell about what remote to use since I’ve now got 3.

I’m missing the IR blaster so TV can’t detect that yet.

I used Bravia Sync from TV which detected the soundbar twice and the Apple TV.

I’ve set all ports to enhanced 4K and am using quality cables.

So I see the soundbar as the hub of the system and any input switching should happen there.

TV stays on input 3 (ARC).

Volume control works from all remotes, well, I’ve yet to setup the Comcast box but that will be easy.

Lots of pages in this thread to read and I’m sure all my issues will be addressed by reading.

However if this is not the recommended setup for this simple system by all means hit me up.

Thank you! I’ll find where to edit signature.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Living Room: Xfinity XG1v4-A cable box + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-ST5000 Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar > Sony XBR-65X900F Television
Office: Oppo UDP-203 + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-Z9F Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar (with rears) > Sony XBR-55A1E Television
alexcoluzzi32 is offline  
post #3715 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 02:54 PM
Senior Member
 
eganz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexcoluzzi32 View Post
Hey group! Just purchased a 2017 XBR-55A1E and I’m super stoked.

My signal path is:

Comcast Cable Box > HT-NT5 HDMI 1 in > HDMI 3 (ARC) > A1E TV HDMI 3 (ARC)

Apple TV 4K > HT-NT5 HDMI 2 in > HDMI 3 (ARC) > A1E TV HDMI 3 (ARC)

Software updates performed on soundbar and tv and the Apple TV is running tvOS 11.3.

I’m confused as hell about what remote to use since I’ve now got 3.

I’m missing the IR blaster so TV can’t detect that yet.

I used Bravia Sync from TV which detected the soundbar twice and the Apple TV.

I’ve set all ports to enhanced 4K and am using quality cables.

So I see the soundbar as the hub of the system and any input switching should happen there.

TV stays on input 3 (ARC).

Volume control works from all remotes, well, I’ve yet to setup the Comcast box but that will be easy.

Lots of pages in this thread to read and I’m sure all my issues will be addressed by reading.

However if this is not the recommended setup for this simple system by all means hit me up.

Thank you! I’ll find where to edit signature.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Harmony remote...
alexcoluzzi32 likes this.

Theater: Sony A1E OLED 4K Ultra HD, Oppo-205, Anthem AVM60, 7.1.4 B & W CM 7 LR,CDM-cse, CM 1, CM 1 S2, Silverline minuet , SVS SB13 Ultra, Rotel RMB 1555, Parasound A23, Naim NAP 100, EEcolor lut box. Calman, MobileForge, I1D3 & I1pro 2.
Stereo: Aurender N100H, Auralic Vega DAC, Focal Chorus 836 W, BAT VK-3ix, Pass XA 30.5, PPP.
eganz1 is offline  
post #3716 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 02:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone willing to sell their ?feet? for the 55? A1E, mine didn?t come with them

XBR55-A1E
Sonos PlayBar/Sub/1/3/5
AppleTV 4K
Chris-Tish is offline  
post #3717 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 03:24 PM
Audio/Video Enthusiast
 
alexcoluzzi32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: California
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by eganz1 View Post
Harmony remote...


I was hoping you wouldn’t say that

What’s the harmony model of choice these days?

Also, how do I get a realistic display of the incoming signal?

Press display on the TV remote it shows 3840 x 2160p 4K 16:9 which I understand is what this HD stream from the ATV is being upsampled to.

Press display on the soundbar remote and TV says LPCM 2 channel 48khz 2.3 Mbs.
I thought I set the ATV to output best available surround.

My kid is home sick so he’s watching a cartoon. I did purchase a couple movies from iTunes (Dunkirk, Blade Runner, Wonder Woman, a couple others) that say 4K HDR or 4K Dolby Vision.

I’ll have to troubleshoot a little to see if the TV will display those sources, unless the HT-NT5 can’t pass them.

I suppose I could order a refurbished Sony X800 4K disc player and buy a disc or two but I’d rather not right now.

Last one, the firmware updates I grabbed off the Sony site report a 12/01/2017 build date. I’m assuming this is the DolbyVision update?

The soundbar was able to auto update but the TV I had to USB it.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Living Room: Xfinity XG1v4-A cable box + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-ST5000 Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar > Sony XBR-65X900F Television
Office: Oppo UDP-203 + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-Z9F Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar (with rears) > Sony XBR-55A1E Television
alexcoluzzi32 is offline  
post #3718 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 03:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a way to change the audio lag on the optical output on the TV side? My old Sony and LG allowed me to change the audio delay on the TV. I seem to have issues with my Sonos and 5.1 Dolby

XBR55-A1E
Sonos PlayBar/Sub/1/3/5
AppleTV 4K
Chris-Tish is offline  
post #3719 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 04:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VidPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,408
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1462 Post(s)
Liked: 1201
Anybody passing DV through a Denon 4300? I can’t get it to work.

The television screen is the retina of the mind's eye.
Sony XBR-65A1E OLED/Denon X4300H/Oppo 203/Klipsch RVX‑42/PS4 Pro/Xbox One X/5.1.2
VidPro is offline  
post #3720 of 7526 Old 01-26-2018, 04:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
jnelson2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 979
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 530 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by VidPro View Post
Anybody passing DV through a Denon 4300? I can’t get it to work.


Do you have any processing on the Denon? Like scaling or any video processing?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sony XBR-65A1E, XBR-55A1E, Marantz AV8805, AV7704
Naim SN2, Hi-Cap DR, ND5XS2, Naim Unity Core, Emotiva XPA-9, A-5175
Dynaudio Contour 30, Focus 210C, IC17, S4-W80, Emit 10, 2X JTR S1, SVS SB-2000
Panasonic UBD-820, Bluesound Node 2i, Ansuz Mainz C2 Power Distribution,X Power and speaker cables
jnelson2000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
a1e , oreo , software update , v6.6510

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off