Sony A1E OLED 4K Ultra HD Owners Only Thread [No Price Talk] - Page 156 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 28405Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4651 of 7619 Old 03-21-2018, 12:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeterUbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 484 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCsoftball7 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by scherer326 View Post
From Sony support site for A1E regarding yesterday's software release:

This software update (version PKG6.2858.00082NAA) provides the following benefits:

Improves general performance of the TV
Improves performance when starting content from the PS4™️ Pro gaming console
Improves performance for Amazon Prime®️ video playback
I'm not sure playback could have been worse. [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/smile.gif[/IMG]
I experienced quite a bit of amazon low clarity when starting up a show .. takes a minute or two to get to true 2k or 4k

1) 7.2.4 Atmos; Marantz 8802a; Parasound A51; Parasound 1250; Oppo BDP203; AppleTV4K; Harmony Hub; Paradigm Prestige 95F; ML Descent-i; Prestige 2000sw; 4x SA-ADP paradigm in walls surrounds; 4x paradigm ceilings, angled; Furman; XBR-77A1E; xfinity x1; 2) 5.1; Marantz 7702; Emotiva XPA-5; Monster Power Center; Oppo-BDP93; Apple 2K; Harmony Hub; Paradigm Studio 100 v.5, CC-690, SA-ADP in-walls; Paradigm Sub 15; Panasonic ZT60 65"; Xfinity X1
PeterUbers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4652 of 7619 Old 03-21-2018, 12:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 3,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterUbers View Post
I experienced quite a bit of amazon low clarity when starting up a show .. takes a minute or two to get to true 2k or 4k
Are there any settings that should be updated with this firmware?

Sony A1E, Marantz 8805, Montis, Bryston,
jmschnur is offline  
post #4653 of 7619 Old 03-21-2018, 12:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,695
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1693 Post(s)
Liked: 1286
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterUbers View Post
I experienced quite a bit of amazon low clarity when starting up a show .. takes a minute or two to get to true 2k or 4k
Does it fix the grey letterbox bars on UHD/HDR content?

Sony XBR75X940C & XBR65A1E Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra
CCsoftball7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4654 of 7619 Old 03-21-2018, 12:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeterUbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 484 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCsoftball7 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterUbers View Post
I experienced quite a bit of amazon low clarity when starting up a show .. takes a minute or two to get to true 2k or 4k
Does it fix the grey letterbox bars on UHD/HDR content?
Haven't done update yet nor has it popped up on my tv yet ... will report Back once I have updated

1) 7.2.4 Atmos; Marantz 8802a; Parasound A51; Parasound 1250; Oppo BDP203; AppleTV4K; Harmony Hub; Paradigm Prestige 95F; ML Descent-i; Prestige 2000sw; 4x SA-ADP paradigm in walls surrounds; 4x paradigm ceilings, angled; Furman; XBR-77A1E; xfinity x1; 2) 5.1; Marantz 7702; Emotiva XPA-5; Monster Power Center; Oppo-BDP93; Apple 2K; Harmony Hub; Paradigm Studio 100 v.5, CC-690, SA-ADP in-walls; Paradigm Sub 15; Panasonic ZT60 65"; Xfinity X1
PeterUbers is offline  
post #4655 of 7619 Old 03-21-2018, 01:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,695
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1693 Post(s)
Liked: 1286
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterUbers View Post
Haven't done update yet nor has it popped up on my tv yet ... will report Back once I have updated
I'm updating now.

Sony XBR75X940C & XBR65A1E Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra
CCsoftball7 is offline  
post #4656 of 7619 Old 03-21-2018, 04:04 PM
Member
 
camacho8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterUbers View Post
Amazon prime improvement for internal app you think ??
I still get gray bars for Sony UHD/HDR films (Spider-Man) and choppy playback with the .0082 patch.

65 Sony A1E-Oled - Calman Home Ent/C6 HDR2000
Denon - 7200WA - Mirage Speakers
Roku Ultra/Sony UBP-X800M2/4K Firestick
camacho8 is offline  
post #4657 of 7619 Old 03-21-2018, 04:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,180
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 5980
Still can't get update OTA
Downloads update
Loads update on USB drive
Realizes can't reach USB plugin on A1E because of where it is



XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F
ATV4K / Roku Ultra / Uverse
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #4658 of 7619 Old 03-21-2018, 04:26 PM
Member
 
camacho8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Still can't get update OTA
Downloads update
Loads update on USB drive
Realizes can't reach USB plugin on A1E because of where it is


Don't forget the side usb port hiding behind the little compartment....I went to go plug mine to the ones under the panel when I remembered the one on the side was easier to reach.

65 Sony A1E-Oled - Calman Home Ent/C6 HDR2000
Denon - 7200WA - Mirage Speakers
Roku Ultra/Sony UBP-X800M2/4K Firestick
camacho8 is offline  
post #4659 of 7619 Old 03-21-2018, 04:29 PM
Member
 
MarkusJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Latest update didn”t fix the blinking with DirecTv and the C61K-700 wired client box. Must be a DirecTv firmware issue.

Love my Sony 55-850d and 65-850d xbr's!

And Sony
SONY 65 in. 4K HDR OLED XBR65A1E
MarkusJ is offline  
post #4660 of 7619 Old 03-21-2018, 04:31 PM
Audio/Video Enthusiast
 
alexcoluzzi32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: California
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 186
I updated my A1E and 700D via USB


Sony XBR-55A1E
Sony HTST5000
Sony UPB-X800
Apple TV 4K
AudioQuest “Cinnamon” HDMI Cables

Living Room: Xfinity XG1v4-A cable box + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-ST5000 Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar > Sony XBR-65X900F Television
Office: Oppo UDP-203 + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-Z9F Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar (with rears) > Sony XBR-55A1E Television
alexcoluzzi32 is offline  
post #4661 of 7619 Old 03-21-2018, 04:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
markmanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexcoluzzi32 View Post
I updated my A1E and 700D via USB


Sony XBR-55A1E
Sony HTST5000
Sony UPB-X800
Apple TV 4K
AudioQuest “Cinnamon” HDMI Cables
me too!

System
Spoiler!
markmanner is offline  
post #4662 of 7619 Old 03-21-2018, 04:50 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,180
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 5980
Quote:
Originally Posted by camacho8 View Post
Don't forget the side usb port hiding behind the little compartment....I went to go plug mine to the ones under the panel when I remembered the one on the side was easier to reach.

Holy crap! My man.
camacho8, wasima and PaulDuBious like this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F
ATV4K / Roku Ultra / Uverse
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #4663 of 7619 Old 03-21-2018, 05:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeterUbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 484 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Anyone add any led strip bias lighting to the back of their A1E?

1) 7.2.4 Atmos; Marantz 8802a; Parasound A51; Parasound 1250; Oppo BDP203; AppleTV4K; Harmony Hub; Paradigm Prestige 95F; ML Descent-i; Prestige 2000sw; 4x SA-ADP paradigm in walls surrounds; 4x paradigm ceilings, angled; Furman; XBR-77A1E; xfinity x1; 2) 5.1; Marantz 7702; Emotiva XPA-5; Monster Power Center; Oppo-BDP93; Apple 2K; Harmony Hub; Paradigm Studio 100 v.5, CC-690, SA-ADP in-walls; Paradigm Sub 15; Panasonic ZT60 65"; Xfinity X1
PeterUbers is offline  
post #4664 of 7619 Old 03-21-2018, 05:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 2,300
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 450 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Finally got her home today and setup.Didnt bother with the Arc for now.Trying to play with the settings . Any hints?

Sony XBR65A1E,(Pioneer 500m relocated), AppleTv 4K,Marantz sr7012, System Audio Loudspeakers( sa1750 mains), ML Grotto.
Eastern Electric Minimax cd, Oppo UDP-203, Toshiba HD, Pro Ject 1expression Carbon TT.

Last edited by rocky1; 03-21-2018 at 05:32 PM.
rocky1 is offline  
post #4665 of 7619 Old 03-21-2018, 05:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
dancolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 518 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Still can't get update OTA
Downloads update
Loads update on USB drive
Realizes can't reach USB plugin on A1E because of where it is




I would highly recommend that all A1E owners purchase one of the these nifty USB 3.0 extension cables. I have one connected to mine and it make life a lot easier when ever you want to plug in a USB drive. All this for only $5.49.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...e?ie=UTF8&th=1

Dan
dominica likes this.

Equipment:
Sony XBR65A1E / Denon AVR-X4400H / Outlaw 5000 amp / Apple TV 4K /
Playstation 4 Pro / Bowers & Wilkins 685, HTM62, M1 / Klipsch KSW-15 /
Ubiquiti Unifi Network
dancolt is offline  
post #4666 of 7619 Old 03-21-2018, 05:46 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,180
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 5980
Quote:
Originally Posted by dancolt View Post
I would highly recommend that all A1E owners purchase one of the these nifty USB 3.0 extension cables. I have one connected to mine and it make life a lot easier when ever you want to plug in a USB drive. All this for only $5.49.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...e?ie=UTF8&th=1

Dan

Yeah, I figured that idea out today after I realized my predicament. Luckily I can reach the little side one so all is good.


I find a bias light looks worse on with something that has an excellent black level, but I watch all my movies in a pitch black room.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F
ATV4K / Roku Ultra / Uverse
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #4667 of 7619 Old 03-21-2018, 07:01 PM
Member
 
thomasec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Hopefully this will help someone out - I've been using the Harmony Elite to control my A1E, and couldn't get the directional pad scrolling to operate the same way as the standard remote. It turns out the default setting for the directional pad does not allow fast scrolling when you hold down one of the directions, so I had to "teach" my harmony up/down/left/right from the TV's original remote. Here is what it looks like in the Harmony app:



I've had the TV for a few days, and I'm still on the fence about it - I love the design and picture quality, but the UI and Android TV in general is such a pain. I know I can use external devices to avoid the TV's UI, but I'll inevitably have to use it to do something like adjust the picture or sound settings. It's a true con for me - things like a slightly inferior motion/picture quality on an LG are something I probably wouldn't notice after a day, but a UI that constantly crashes or becomes unresponsive is something that actually affects my day-to-day use. We'll see how I feel in about a week.

Sony XBR-65A1E | Onkyo A-9150 | B&W 686 S2 | Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB
thomasec is offline  
post #4668 of 7619 Old 03-21-2018, 07:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,419
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1626 Post(s)
Liked: 909
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasec View Post
Hopefully this will help someone out - I've been using the Harmony Elite to control my A1E, and couldn't get the directional pad scrolling to operate the same way as the standard remote. It turns out the default setting for the directional pad does not allow fast scrolling when you hold down one of the directions, so I had to "teach" my harmony up/down/left/right from the TV's original remote. Here is what it looks like in the Harmony app:



I've had the TV for a few days, and I'm still on the fence about it - I love the design and picture quality, but the UI and Android TV in general is such a pain. I know I can use external devices to avoid the TV's UI, but I'll inevitably have to use it to do something like adjust the picture or sound settings. It's a true con for me - things like a slightly inferior motion/picture quality on an LG are something I probably wouldn't notice after a day, but a UI that constantly crashes or becomes unresponsive is something that actually affects my day-to-day use. We'll see how I feel in about a week.
Are you using or enabled IP Control in the Harmony software or Bravia Sync on the TV?

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite

Last edited by m_snow; 03-21-2018 at 07:11 PM.
m_snow is offline  
post #4669 of 7619 Old 03-21-2018, 07:23 PM
Member
 
thomasec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Are you using or enabled IP Control in the Harmony software or Bravia Sync on the TV?


I am using IP control.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sony XBR-65A1E | Onkyo A-9150 | B&W 686 S2 | Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB
thomasec is offline  
post #4670 of 7619 Old 03-21-2018, 07:40 PM
Member
 
fritzjurg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 17
It was an attempt at humor, not sarcasm...

Now with the upgrade, looks like my Control4 programmer needs to make a modification as the TV does not turn on when using the home automation system

Sony XBR-65A1E OLED | Pioneer Kuro Elite 141FD 60" | Rotel RAP-1580 AVR | Kef Reference 1 | OPPO UDP-205 | B&W CM5 | Apple 4K TV | Sonus One | Peachtree Nova Amp | Pro-Ject Turntable | Xbox One X (soon) | Panamax MB1500 | APC H15 Power Conditioning | AudioQuest Coffee & Vodka (in-wall) | Control4 EA 1 & SR-260-I | Amazon Echo | Sanus BLF228-B1 Wall Mount
fritzjurg is offline  
post #4671 of 7619 Old 03-21-2018, 07:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,419
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1626 Post(s)
Liked: 909
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasec View Post
I am using IP control.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I asked because my Elite scrolls very, very fast on a light touch directional button push and line by line (one at a time) with a hard press. There are known problems with long presses on other keys such as select in several of the apps with IP Control. I don’t know how to remove it without creating a new activity with a new but renamed device and use this new device in a recreated activity as a test. I think you’ll be happy you did.
thomasec likes this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #4672 of 7619 Old 03-21-2018, 08:20 PM
Member
 
thomasec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
I asked because my Elite scrolls very, very fast on a light touch directional button push and line by line (one at a time) with a hard press. There are known problems with long presses on other keys such as select in several of the apps with IP Control. I don’t know how to remove it without creating a new activity with a new but renamed device and use this new device in a recreated activity as a test. I think you’ll be happy you did.


That’s a fantastic idea. I’ll give it a shot.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
m_snow likes this.

Sony XBR-65A1E | Onkyo A-9150 | B&W 686 S2 | Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB
thomasec is offline  
post #4673 of 7619 Old 03-22-2018, 04:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 2,300
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 450 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Can anyone help me out . I cant seem to program my directv temote to to turn off / on the A1e. Its not even in the lists Of model numbers under sony. Tryed the dont know model number and nothing. Allwys been able to with other ttv’s. Any help would be appreciateed. Thanks

Sony XBR65A1E,(Pioneer 500m relocated), AppleTv 4K,Marantz sr7012, System Audio Loudspeakers( sa1750 mains), ML Grotto.
Eastern Electric Minimax cd, Oppo UDP-203, Toshiba HD, Pro Ject 1expression Carbon TT.
rocky1 is offline  
post #4674 of 7619 Old 03-22-2018, 08:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
PeterUbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 484 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocky1 View Post
Can anyone help me out . I cant seem to program my directv temote to to turn off / on the A1e. Its not even in the lists Of model numbers under sony. Tryed the dont know model number and nothing. Allwys been able to with other ttv’s. Any help would be appreciateed. Thanks
My Sony 850B remote works with a1e; just use those codes

1) 7.2.4 Atmos; Marantz 8802a; Parasound A51; Parasound 1250; Oppo BDP203; AppleTV4K; Harmony Hub; Paradigm Prestige 95F; ML Descent-i; Prestige 2000sw; 4x SA-ADP paradigm in walls surrounds; 4x paradigm ceilings, angled; Furman; XBR-77A1E; xfinity x1; 2) 5.1; Marantz 7702; Emotiva XPA-5; Monster Power Center; Oppo-BDP93; Apple 2K; Harmony Hub; Paradigm Studio 100 v.5, CC-690, SA-ADP in-walls; Paradigm Sub 15; Panasonic ZT60 65"; Xfinity X1
PeterUbers is offline  
post #4675 of 7619 Old 03-22-2018, 10:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 2,300
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 450 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterUbers View Post
My Sony 850B remote works with a1e; just use those codes
Thank you.It worked...

Sony XBR65A1E,(Pioneer 500m relocated), AppleTv 4K,Marantz sr7012, System Audio Loudspeakers( sa1750 mains), ML Grotto.
Eastern Electric Minimax cd, Oppo UDP-203, Toshiba HD, Pro Ject 1expression Carbon TT.
rocky1 is offline  
post #4676 of 7619 Old 03-22-2018, 11:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
PeterUbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 484 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocky1 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterUbers View Post
My Sony 850B remote works with a1e; just use those codes
Thank you.It worked...
You're welcome, glad it worked.

1) 7.2.4 Atmos; Marantz 8802a; Parasound A51; Parasound 1250; Oppo BDP203; AppleTV4K; Harmony Hub; Paradigm Prestige 95F; ML Descent-i; Prestige 2000sw; 4x SA-ADP paradigm in walls surrounds; 4x paradigm ceilings, angled; Furman; XBR-77A1E; xfinity x1; 2) 5.1; Marantz 7702; Emotiva XPA-5; Monster Power Center; Oppo-BDP93; Apple 2K; Harmony Hub; Paradigm Studio 100 v.5, CC-690, SA-ADP in-walls; Paradigm Sub 15; Panasonic ZT60 65"; Xfinity X1
PeterUbers is offline  
post #4677 of 7619 Old 03-22-2018, 11:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 3,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocky1 View Post
Thank you.It worked...
Is there a quick way that I can go from one set of picture settings to another.

I want t down grade picture quality (brightness contrast) when watching CNN and then go back to my good settings from for the rest.

A quick way of google to standard and back to custom or cinema pro is what I am thinking of.

This is to decrease chances of burnin.

A one or two step sequence that I could put n my Logitech 1 remote would be great.

Sony A1E, Marantz 8805, Montis, Bryston,
jmschnur is offline  
post #4678 of 7619 Old 03-22-2018, 11:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 2,300
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 450 Post(s)
Liked: 124
I had updated this morning the A1E.Actually popped up a few times before but didn't actually do it till today.It went without a hitch.I also see there are those that used the usb to update.Why is that?Is one different than the other somewhere.Is there a difference?

Sony XBR65A1E,(Pioneer 500m relocated), AppleTv 4K,Marantz sr7012, System Audio Loudspeakers( sa1750 mains), ML Grotto.
Eastern Electric Minimax cd, Oppo UDP-203, Toshiba HD, Pro Ject 1expression Carbon TT.
rocky1 is offline  
post #4679 of 7619 Old 03-22-2018, 11:54 AM
Member
 
Couch Viking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterUbers View Post
I experienced quite a bit of amazon low clarity when starting up a show .. takes a minute or two to get to true 2k or 4k
I think this is an issue with the wifi and/or processing power in the A1E. I constantly had buffering or quality degradation issues on the internal apps on Amazon in particular, even though Ookla speedtest showed 200 Mpbs+ in the same vicinity with my laptop.

Using the ATV 4K, I have had ZERO buffering events or ramp-up time on Amazon or Netflix. Unfortunately, I think an external device has to be calculated into the overall budget when purchasing the otherwise superb A1E.
dancolt likes this.

Sony XBR-65A1E
Oppo UDP-203
Pioneer LX-81 (Euro)
Pio S-81K , Pio S-LX70, Pio S-81W-MK SW
Apple TV 4K 32Gb
Couch Viking is offline  
post #4680 of 7619 Old 03-22-2018, 11:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
PeterUbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 484 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Couch Viking View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterUbers View Post
I experienced quite a bit of amazon low clarity when starting up a show .. takes a minute or two to get to true 2k or 4k
I think this is an issue with the wifi and/or processing power in the A1E. I constantly had buffering or quality degradation issues on the internal apps on Amazon in particular, even though Ookla speedtest showed 200 Mpbs+ in the same vicinity with my laptop.

Using the ATV 4K, I have had ZERO buffering events or ramp-up time on Amazon or Netflix. Unfortunately, I think an external device has to be calculated into the overall budget when purchasing the otherwise superb A1E.
Makes sense ... same issue with my 4k Sony 850B.... and my atv has no buffering issues ...

1) 7.2.4 Atmos; Marantz 8802a; Parasound A51; Parasound 1250; Oppo BDP203; AppleTV4K; Harmony Hub; Paradigm Prestige 95F; ML Descent-i; Prestige 2000sw; 4x SA-ADP paradigm in walls surrounds; 4x paradigm ceilings, angled; Furman; XBR-77A1E; xfinity x1; 2) 5.1; Marantz 7702; Emotiva XPA-5; Monster Power Center; Oppo-BDP93; Apple 2K; Harmony Hub; Paradigm Studio 100 v.5, CC-690, SA-ADP in-walls; Paradigm Sub 15; Panasonic ZT60 65"; Xfinity X1
PeterUbers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
a1e , oreo , software update , v6.6510

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off