Sony A1E OLED 4K Ultra HD Owners Only Thread [No Price Talk] - Page 248 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 28380Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7411 of 7521 Old 04-23-2019, 10:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
pkeegan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 841
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by njfoses View Post

Reformatted my little USB stick that I perform the Sony TV updates with. Copied the new file, after unzipping download ,per Sony Instructions, to the USB and I'm off to the races. The new file installed from my USB with issue.

Sony XBR55A1E
pkeegan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7412 of 7521 Old 04-23-2019, 11:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 2,286
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Sony A1E OLED 4K Ultra HD Owners Only Thread [No Price Talk]

Mine says up to date. 6.5830. And auto update is on.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sony XBR65A1E,(Pioneer 500m relocated), AppleTv 4K,Marantz sr7012, System Audio Loudspeakers( sa1750 mains), ML Grotto.
Eastern Electric Minimax cd, Oppo UDP-203, Toshiba HD, Pro Ject 1expression Carbon TT.

Last edited by rocky1; 04-23-2019 at 11:31 AM.
rocky1 is online now  
post #7413 of 7521 Old 04-23-2019, 11:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,480
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1360 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkeegan View Post
Reformatted my little USB stick that I perform the Sony TV updates with. Copied the new file, after unzipping download ,per Sony Instructions, to the USB and I'm off to the races. The new file installed from my USB with issue.
It's on my to do list when I get home tonight.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7414 of 7521 Old 04-23-2019, 11:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocky1 View Post
Mine says up to date. 6.5830. And auto update is on.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Mine too. Should be 6.5850?

Thanks,

Dan

Sony 65A1E - Apple TV 4K - Sony STR-ZA2100ES
dannyk100 is offline  
post #7415 of 7521 Old 04-23-2019, 11:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 2,286
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannyk100 View Post
Mine too. Should be 6.5850?


To my understanding yes


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sony XBR65A1E,(Pioneer 500m relocated), AppleTv 4K,Marantz sr7012, System Audio Loudspeakers( sa1750 mains), ML Grotto.
Eastern Electric Minimax cd, Oppo UDP-203, Toshiba HD, Pro Ject 1expression Carbon TT.
rocky1 is online now  
post #7416 of 7521 Old 04-23-2019, 12:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,480
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1360 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocky1 View Post
Mine says up to date. 6.5830. And auto update is on.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
They don't push the updates over the internet all at once, they spread them out. They usually do a few, see how it goes, then put it for download on the website for those who want to do it from USB and not wait for it to show up on the TV, and then keep rolling it out to more users over time via the internet update. Mine hasn't seen it over the internet yet either but will be seeing it by USB tonight.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #7417 of 7521 Old 04-23-2019, 01:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 2,286
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsorensen View Post
They don't push the updates over the internet all at once, they spread them out. They usually do a few, see how it goes, then put it for download on the website for those who want to do it from USB and not wait for it to show up on the TV, and then keep rolling it out to more users over time via the internet update. Mine hasn't seen it over the internet yet either but will be seeing it by USB tonight.
Yep exactly what happened with me in the last update.

Sony XBR65A1E,(Pioneer 500m relocated), AppleTv 4K,Marantz sr7012, System Audio Loudspeakers( sa1750 mains), ML Grotto.
Eastern Electric Minimax cd, Oppo UDP-203, Toshiba HD, Pro Ject 1expression Carbon TT.
rocky1 is online now  
post #7418 of 7521 Old 04-23-2019, 03:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
jnelson2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 979
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 530 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Sony A1E OLED 4K Ultra HD Owners Only Thread [No Price Talk]

Any feedback on the last update?

Sony XBR-65A1E, XBR-55A1E, Marantz AV8805, AV7704
Naim SN2, Hi-Cap DR, ND5XS2, Naim Unity Core, Emotiva XPA-9, A-5175
Dynaudio Contour 30, Focus 210C, IC17, S4-W80, Emit 10, 2X JTR S1, SVS SB-2000
Panasonic UBD-820, Bluesound Node 2i, Ansuz Mainz C2 Power Distribution,X Power and speaker cables

Last edited by jnelson2000; 04-23-2019 at 08:07 PM.
jnelson2000 is offline  
post #7419 of 7521 Old 04-24-2019, 04:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnelson2000 View Post
Any feedback on the last update?


Installed 24 hours ago. No issues.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Main: YouTubeTV -> Apple TV 4k -> Anthem MRX 720 (5.1.2 DTS:Neural X) <-> Sony 65A1E
Den: Apple TV -> Pioneer Kuro PDP-5010FD

DTS beats Dolby.
purduelion is offline  
post #7420 of 7521 Old 04-24-2019, 05:56 AM
Member
 
tonscan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,

I see a lot of people have a Dark mode when they open settings pop up menu window. how do I get that set up?
tonscan is offline  
post #7421 of 7521 Old 04-24-2019, 10:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by purduelion View Post
Installed 24 hours ago. No issues.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Does it nuke the sponsored content channel? That's such a piece of crap move on Google's part.

Sight: Sony XBR-77A1E
Sound: 3.2.2 with Denon X3400H, ELAC F6.2/A4.2/C5.2, SVS SB12-NSD * 2
Stuff: ATV 4K, PS4 Pro, Panasonic UB820
urgru is offline  
post #7422 of 7521 Old 04-24-2019, 10:42 AM
Newbie
 
khamburger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TV switches from Standby to Semi Standby

I was initially looking forward to this update. One of the issues it corrected was stated as:

Resolves a condition where the TV switches from Standby to Semi Standby and switches on any AV Receiver connected via HDMI CEC

I have this exact problem since purchasing and installing my A1E. Does anyone else have this problem?

The software update has not auto installed yet however after doing some more reading, I'm concerned that it doesn't correct this condition specified above but in fact makes it worse based on this posting.

sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-oled-tvs-android-/xbr-65a1e/articles/00204736

Article ID : 00204921 / Last Modified : 04/15/2019
Important Information About the Android 8.0 Oreo OS Update

SPECIAL ALERT: The automatic update for Android™ 8.0 has been temporarily suspended.

The reason is that the current Android 8.0 Oreo firmware update (v6.5830) may cause a no sound problem with certain home audio devices (Sound Bar, A/V Receiver or Home Theater System) connected to a TV that has been in standby mode for a long period of time.


Does anyone understand what's going on or have a similar issue?

Thanks.
khamburger is offline  
post #7423 of 7521 Old 04-24-2019, 10:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
jnelson2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 979
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 530 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by khamburger View Post
I was initially looking forward to this update. One of the issues it corrected was stated as:



Resolves a condition where the TV switches from Standby to Semi Standby and switches on any AV Receiver connected via HDMI CEC



I have this exact problem since purchasing and installing my A1E. Does anyone else have this problem?



The software update has not auto installed yet however after doing some more reading, I'm concerned that it doesn't correct this condition specified above but in fact makes it worse based on this posting.



sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-oled-tvs-android-/xbr-65a1e/articles/00204736



Article ID : 00204921 / Last Modified : 04/15/2019

Important Information About the Android 8.0 Oreo OS Update



SPECIAL ALERT: The automatic update for Android 8.0 has been temporarily suspended.



The reason is that the current Android 8.0 Oreo firmware update (v6.5830) may cause a no sound problem with certain home audio devices (Sound Bar, A/V Receiver or Home Theater System) connected to a TV that has been in standby mode for a long period of time.




Does anyone understand what's going on or have a similar issue?



Thanks.


This was from the original Oreo update back in January/February. It does not apply to the one released two days ago. It’s actually supposed to fix it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sony XBR-65A1E, XBR-55A1E, Marantz AV8805, AV7704
Naim SN2, Hi-Cap DR, ND5XS2, Naim Unity Core, Emotiva XPA-9, A-5175
Dynaudio Contour 30, Focus 210C, IC17, S4-W80, Emit 10, 2X JTR S1, SVS SB-2000
Panasonic UBD-820, Bluesound Node 2i, Ansuz Mainz C2 Power Distribution,X Power and speaker cables
jnelson2000 is offline  
post #7424 of 7521 Old 04-24-2019, 11:16 AM
Newbie
 
khamburger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnelson2000 View Post
This was from the original Oreo update back in January/February. It does not apply to the one released two days ago. It’s actually supposed to fix it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
That's good info...and I hope it's true....but why does the Oreo update article have a modified date of 4/15/19?

Last Modified : 04/15/2019
khamburger is offline  
post #7425 of 7521 Old 04-24-2019, 01:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
jnelson2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 979
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 530 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by khamburger View Post
That's good info...and I hope it's true....but why does the Oreo update article have a modified date of 4/15/19?



Last Modified : 04/15/2019


5830 was original Oreo update. Latest one is 5850.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
lsorensen likes this.

Sony XBR-65A1E, XBR-55A1E, Marantz AV8805, AV7704
Naim SN2, Hi-Cap DR, ND5XS2, Naim Unity Core, Emotiva XPA-9, A-5175
Dynaudio Contour 30, Focus 210C, IC17, S4-W80, Emit 10, 2X JTR S1, SVS SB-2000
Panasonic UBD-820, Bluesound Node 2i, Ansuz Mainz C2 Power Distribution,X Power and speaker cables
jnelson2000 is offline  
post #7426 of 7521 Old 04-24-2019, 03:10 PM
Senior Member
 
scott967's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: hawai'i
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by khamburger View Post
I was initially looking forward to this update. One of the issues it corrected was stated as:

Resolves a condition where the TV switches from Standby to Semi Standby and switches on any AV Receiver connected via HDMI CEC

I have this exact problem since purchasing and installing my A1E. Does anyone else have this problem?
I'm on 5830 and have always had this problem. Specifically, I have a Denon AVR connected to HDMI 3 and have arc enabled, just to route sound back from the TV apps to the Denon. This Denon doesn't have a setting that allows sending audio only but I don't use the CEC functions at all. What I find is that I have a DVR connected to a Denon input, and when the DVR is on/recording and the Denon and A1E are OFF, at random times the A1E will turn on the Denon.

As I understand the new firmware fixes a problem some users had on 5830 where they didn't get sound routed to their soundbars (I think Yamaha was one, maybe others). I don't have any problem getting sound out of the A1E via arc so don't have a hurry to install this via USB. I guess it might have a (happy) side effect of fixing my problem, but I'm not holding my breath.

scott s.
.

Sony XBR-65A1E
scott967 is offline  
post #7427 of 7521 Old 04-24-2019, 03:20 PM
Newbie
 
khamburger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott967 View Post
I'm on 5830 and have always had this problem. Specifically, I have a Denon AVR connected to HDMI 3 and have arc enabled, just to route sound back from the TV apps to the Denon. This Denon doesn't have a setting that allows sending audio only but I don't use the CEC functions at all. What I find is that I have a DVR connected to a Denon input, and when the DVR is on/recording and the Denon and A1E are OFF, at random times the A1E will turn on the Denon.

As I understand the new firmware fixes a problem some users had on 5830 where they didn't get sound routed to their soundbars (I think Yamaha was one, maybe others). I don't have any problem getting sound out of the A1E via arc so don't have a hurry to install this via USB. I guess it might have a (happy) side effect of fixing my problem, but I'm not holding my breath.

scott s.
.
Scott;

I also have a Denon receiver connected to the A1E HDMI 3. My DVR is directly connected to the A1E (HDMI 1). The only other source is a Blu Ray player which is connected to the Denon. With this setup, when I turn on the A1E, the Denon also powers up and the TV audio is routed to through the Denon.

The problem I've been having is when the A1E is off. It randomly turns on the Denon. There's no audio since the A1E is still in standby (or off). And then about 2 minutes later, the A1E turns the Denon off.

Last week I noticed a "new feature". While listening to music on the Denon, the A1E just turns off the Denon.

I thought I was the only one having this problem since I couldn't find any other similar complaints on the internet. I'm hoping this new update fixes the mysterious on/off issue.

Kevin
khamburger is offline  
post #7428 of 7521 Old 04-24-2019, 03:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,136
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2132 Post(s)
Liked: 2417
Quote:
Originally Posted by khamburger View Post
Scott;

I also have a Denon receiver connected to the A1E HDMI 3. My DVR is directly connected to the A1E (HDMI 1). The only other source is a Blu Ray player which is connected to the Denon. With this setup, when I turn on the A1E, the Denon also powers up and the TV audio is routed to through the Denon.

The problem I've been having is when the A1E is off. It randomly turns on the Denon. There's no audio since the A1E is still in standby (or off). And then about 2 minutes later, the A1E turns the Denon off.

Last week I noticed a "new feature". While listening to music on the Denon, the A1E just turns off the Denon.

I thought I was the only one having this problem since I couldn't find any other similar complaints on the internet. I'm hoping this new update fixes the mysterious on/off issue.

Kevin
My Z9D, A1E, and 930E all like to randomly power on my Onkyo AVRs and Marantz Pre-pro. It is a bug in the previous firmware and quite irritating. I haven't had a chance to update my TVs yet but should hopefully be able to determine if there is a good chance it is fixed because between those three setups, typically at least one will turn on on a daily basis.
mutelight is online now  
post #7429 of 7521 Old 04-24-2019, 03:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
My Z9D, A1E, and 930E all like to randomly power on my Onkyo AVRs and Marantz Pre-pro. It is a bug in the previous firmware and quite irritating. I haven't had a chance to update my TVs yet but should hopefully be able to determine if there is a good chance it is fixed because between those three setups, typically at least one will turn on on a daily basis.
I've had this problem with both an old Yamaha receiver and now with a newer Denon. I upgraded the firmware this morning and am still having this issue.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

Sony 65A1E
Apple TV 4K
memichael is offline  
post #7430 of 7521 Old 04-24-2019, 05:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Runch Machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I've tried to update my TV but it doesn't do anything after I insert the USB drive. It's formatted FAT32. I tried two different USB drives with the software on it. If I put a different USB drive with music files on it, the TV sees it and offers to play the songs. A light on the USB drive lights up so I know the drive is getting power. If flickers briefly just after it's inserted. I verified that I have the correct file which is data 4/2/19 and ends with PAK. Any recommendations for what to do next?

In case someone else has this problem, I tried a newer USB drive, a Samsung drive, and as soon as I put the drive into the TV it saw it and started downloading the new software.
mikey94025 likes this.

Jeff
Sony XBR-77A1E TV, Sony UBP-X1000ES Blu-ray player, Marantz SR-7011 Home Theater Receiver
JBL L300 Speakers, Technics SL-1650 Turntable, Technics SL-P3 CD player, Teac A-6600 Reel to Reel tape deck,
TiVo Series 3 HD-DVR

Last edited by Runch Machine; 04-24-2019 at 07:39 PM.
Runch Machine is offline  
post #7431 of 7521 Old 04-25-2019, 12:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,480
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1360 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott967 View Post
I'm on 5830 and have always had this problem. Specifically, I have a Denon AVR connected to HDMI 3 and have arc enabled, just to route sound back from the TV apps to the Denon. This Denon doesn't have a setting that allows sending audio only but I don't use the CEC functions at all. What I find is that I have a DVR connected to a Denon input, and when the DVR is on/recording and the Denon and A1E are OFF, at random times the A1E will turn on the Denon.

As I understand the new firmware fixes a problem some users had on 5830 where they didn't get sound routed to their soundbars (I think Yamaha was one, maybe others). I don't have any problem getting sound out of the A1E via arc so don't have a hurry to install this via USB. I guess it might have a (happy) side effect of fixing my problem, but I'm not holding my breath.

scott s.
.
How odd given my Marantz does have a setting to allow ARC without allowing HDMI control. I thought Denon and Marantz pretty much had identical features.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #7432 of 7521 Old 04-25-2019, 01:49 PM
Member
 
tonscan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do I turn on CEC on my Sony A1E?
tonscan is offline  
post #7433 of 7521 Old 04-25-2019, 06:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,136
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2132 Post(s)
Liked: 2417
Quote:
Originally Posted by Runch Machine View Post
In case someone else has this problem, I tried a newer USB drive, a Samsung drive, and as soon as I put the drive into the TV it saw it and started downloading the new software.
These TVs seem really picky when it comes to USB drives.

I had a huge scare with a Samsung 256GB drive where for whatever reason, I insert the drive and it sees the update, copies it over and then the TV goes to reboot and stalls out. The TV will just sit there indefinitely in a bad/off state until I remove the drive and unplug it for a minute or so and plug it back in.

Had this happen on three different models.
mutelight is online now  
post #7434 of 7521 Old 04-25-2019, 09:04 PM
Senior Member
 
scott967's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: hawai'i
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsorensen View Post
How odd given my Marantz does have a setting to allow ARC without allowing HDMI control. I thought Denon and Marantz pretty much had identical features.
I think that was changed in 2017 or 2018 models. Mine's a 3311ci so a bit old at this point. I won't be upgrading until HDMI 2.1 eArc and dynamic HDR metadata is available (I don't need 48Gb so can live without that).

scott s.
.

Sony XBR-65A1E
scott967 is offline  
post #7435 of 7521 Old 04-26-2019, 09:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,480
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1360 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott967 View Post
I think that was changed in 2017 or 2018 models. Mine's a 3311ci so a bit old at this point. I won't be upgrading until HDMI 2.1 eArc and dynamic HDR metadata is available (I don't need 48Gb so can live without that).

scott s.
.
Well my SR6012 has both eARC and dynamic metadata support as far as I know (well DV is supported, HDR10+ is not and never will be on this model). Certainly has eARC.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #7436 of 7521 Old 04-26-2019, 09:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,480
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1360 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonscan View Post
How do I turn on CEC on my Sony A1E?
Sony calls it Bravia Sync.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #7437 of 7521 Old 04-26-2019, 10:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Runch Machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Has this fixed the ARC CEC audio problem? My Marantz receiver usually but not always, does not come on when using the TV's remote to start watching TV. When using my Harmony remote which turns on the TV and the AV receiver at the same time the audio usually starts by coming out of the receiver but then the TV display a message Switching audio to TV speakers, which it does, and I'm back where I started from. I confirmed that the update was installed. This update has not fixed the problem for me.

Has it fixed the sound problem for anyone else?

Jeff
Sony XBR-77A1E TV, Sony UBP-X1000ES Blu-ray player, Marantz SR-7011 Home Theater Receiver
JBL L300 Speakers, Technics SL-1650 Turntable, Technics SL-P3 CD player, Teac A-6600 Reel to Reel tape deck,
TiVo Series 3 HD-DVR
Runch Machine is offline  
post #7438 of 7521 Old 04-26-2019, 10:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
jnelson2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 979
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 530 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Sony A1E OLED 4K Ultra HD Owners Only Thread [No Price Talk]

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runch Machine View Post
Has this fixed the ARC CEC audio problem? My Marantz receiver usually but not always, does not come on when using the TV's remote to start watching TV. When using my Harmony remote which turns on the TV and the AV receiver at the same time the audio usually starts by coming out of the receiver but then the TV display a message Switching audio to TV speakers, which it does, and I'm back where I started from. I confirmed that the update was installed. This update has not fixed the problem for me.



Has it fixed the sound problem for anyone else?


Nope. Still broken. Sony is saying it’s fixed but it’s not. Worked fine in 7.0. Shouldn’t have to change settings in vet 8.0. Song screwed the pooch on this one.

Update. I opened a ticket which has been escalated to engineering. Hope to have some feedback next week.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sony XBR-65A1E, XBR-55A1E, Marantz AV8805, AV7704
Naim SN2, Hi-Cap DR, ND5XS2, Naim Unity Core, Emotiva XPA-9, A-5175
Dynaudio Contour 30, Focus 210C, IC17, S4-W80, Emit 10, 2X JTR S1, SVS SB-2000
Panasonic UBD-820, Bluesound Node 2i, Ansuz Mainz C2 Power Distribution,X Power and speaker cables

Last edited by jnelson2000; 04-29-2019 at 06:30 AM.
jnelson2000 is offline  
post #7439 of 7521 Old 04-28-2019, 01:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Runch Machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 17
The update from late April 2019 didn't fix the problem. Sometimes it works, sometimes sound starts out on the receiver but then switches to the TV with the message on the screen that audio is switching to the TV, other times it switches back and forth and there is no sound. I'm going to contact Sony about a refund on for this TV. I've been waiting for more than two months for a resolution and I've run out of patience. They don't seem be interested in fixing the problem which they caused by putting out defective software.
blkspotted and yobbo like this.

Jeff
Sony XBR-77A1E TV, Sony UBP-X1000ES Blu-ray player, Marantz SR-7011 Home Theater Receiver
JBL L300 Speakers, Technics SL-1650 Turntable, Technics SL-P3 CD player, Teac A-6600 Reel to Reel tape deck,
TiVo Series 3 HD-DVR
Runch Machine is offline  
post #7440 of 7521 Old 04-29-2019, 06:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkeegan View Post
Reformatted my little USB stick that I perform the Sony TV updates with. Copied the new file, after unzipping download ,per Sony Instructions, to the USB and I'm off to the races. The new file installed from my USB with issue.

Could I use this update on an A1E bought in Asia?
_namnam_ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
a1e , oreo , software update , v6.6510

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off