Sony A1E OLED 4K Ultra HD Owners Only Thread [No Price Talk] - Page 254 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 28422Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7591 of 7686 Old 07-19-2019, 06:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by toastyz71 View Post
you've turned the option off in the input settings to let Bravia Sync turn off devices when the TV is turned off?
"you've turned the option off in the input settings to let Bravia Sync turn off devices when the TV is turned off?"



I have left ARC on and turned off bravia synch functions. This results in the problems described.

Thanks,

Dan

Sony 65A1E - Apple TV 4K - Sony STR-ZA2100ES
dannyk100 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7592 of 7686 Old 07-19-2019, 11:25 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannyk100 View Post
So I have a problem that is somewhat related, I guess. This goes back months and months now and I know it used to get talked about ad nauseam but I never really understood if this issue was fixed with past updates. I guess it hasn't since I still have the problem.
In short, unless I turn ARC or eARC off, my receiver (Sony STRZA2100ES) will get powered on, seemingly by itself at random times. It was most noticeable at night when I would power everything off and in 3 or 4 minutes, the receiver would power up again. Countless times I would wake up in the morning and discover that the AVR had turned on at some point during the night.
I have to assume that it is the TV's ARC functionality as the only fix I can find is to turn the feature off. I have tried all other combos (e.g. Bravia synch, CEC etc....) but to no avail. It's kind of a bummer since I do like using the internal apps now and then and having to go to menu before and after every use is a bit annoying.

Anyone else still experience ARC issues or have any fixes that I am not thinking of?
I have Sony A1 TV and a receiver of Denon x2500.
Same problem. Joins uncontrolledly. But I put autoswitching off on a receiver and in a minute after here such here inclusions he is disconnected. So not really strains. Unless if you are in this room
nikeyamd is offline  
post #7593 of 7686 Old 07-19-2019, 11:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikeyamd View Post
I have Sony A1 TV and a receiver of Denon x2500.
Same problem. Joins uncontrolledly. But I put autoswitching off on a receiver and in a minute after here such here inclusions he is disconnected. So not really strains. Unless if you are in this room
Same problem. Joins uncontrolledly. But I put autoswitching off on a receiver and in a minute after here such here inclusions he is disconnected. So not really strains. Unless if you are in this room"

Sorry, not sure I know what this means. what exactly is autoswitching?

Thanks,

Dan

Sony 65A1E - Apple TV 4K - Sony STR-ZA2100ES
dannyk100 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7594 of 7686 Old 07-19-2019, 09:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Egan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bethlehem PA
Posts: 1,966
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1046 Post(s)
Liked: 662
Quote:
Originally Posted by yobbo View Post
I can't get wifi working properly since the latest update which causes problems with the harmony remote.
As a last resort you could try a factory reset, just be sure to write down all your settings before you do it.

Sony 65A1E
Egan is offline  
post #7595 of 7686 Old 07-20-2019, 07:12 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egan View Post
As a last resort you could try a factory reset, just be sure to write down all your settings before you do it.
Yes, I have done this on both the receiver and the A1E. Same problem.

Thanks,

Dan

Sony 65A1E - Apple TV 4K - Sony STR-ZA2100ES
dannyk100 is offline  
post #7596 of 7686 Old 07-20-2019, 08:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CHASLS2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 3,180
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 496
Mine has never had a problem switching over with my Pioneer Elite AVR and the A1E still has the factory firmware from 2017.

Sony 65" A1E Pioneer Elite DV-59 AVI
OPPO203,103&83 Sony BD player
Pioneer Elite SC61 AVR Acurus 200x 3
Paradigm 60V5'S 490 CC V5
B&W 685 S2's 2 SVS subs
CHASLS2 is online now  
post #7597 of 7686 Old 08-02-2019, 05:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 432 Post(s)
Liked: 361
After 6mos of having Android 8, I am still shocked at how well it runs, compared to 7. My TV is perfect now...No streaming boxs/sticks needed anymore.

Sony A1E OLED 4K Ultra H


FS Gen2 Nvidia shield TV 2017 version
EF9500 is offline  
post #7598 of 7686 Old 08-02-2019, 09:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
jb442386's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Doylestown PA
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by EF9500 View Post
After 6mos of having Android 8, I am still shocked at how well it runs, compared to 7. My TV is perfect now...No streaming boxs/sticks needed anymore.
Completely agree! Android 8 has been a Godsend. Wish You the Best!
EF9500 likes this.

Sony55A1E|Oppo 203|Sony Z9F Soundbar|ATV4K
jb442386 is offline  
post #7599 of 7686 Old 08-02-2019, 02:08 PM
Member
 
michel34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jb442386 View Post
Completely agree! Android 8 has been a Godsend. Wish You the Best!
ATV still needed cause no app (plex netflix prime) supports 24p playback on android.
michel34 is offline  
post #7600 of 7686 Old 08-02-2019, 06:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Yukon Trooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Yukon, Canada
Posts: 1,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by michel34 View Post
ATV still needed cause no app (plex netflix prime) supports 24p playback on android.
Is it not possible to do reverse telecine with the CineMotion feature? I don't use any of the internal apps but I am curious about that.

Yukon Trooper is offline  
post #7601 of 7686 Old 08-03-2019, 04:10 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi Guys

I bought my 55" Sony A1 from a friend who travel abroad to work, he couldn`t find the reciept but i know when he bought it since i helped him collect it at the store.

Problem is that after a manual panel refresh prompt alerting me that the TV had now reached a level of usage that required a panel refresh i went along and executed the panel refresh, all went well and an hour later i powered back up.

Upon checking for improvement in terms of uniformity it actually to my mind looked a bit cleaner right untill the red test slide came on screen and revealed a shadow corresponding to a 25% pattern which from what i`ve read is due to manufactoring defects affecting some 2017 panels (3D LUT related)

Sony won`t help unless my friend miracously finds the reciept it`s under warranty untill June 2020 but no dice without the receipt, i was thinking if there`s a way within the service menu to remedy this defect which admittedly only manifest itself on solid red backgrounds

Kind regards.
Calypsochief is offline  
post #7602 of 7686 Old 08-03-2019, 06:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,702
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1695 Post(s)
Liked: 1290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calypsochief View Post
Hi Guys

I bought my 55" Sony A1 from a friend who travel abroad to work, he couldn`t find the reciept but i know when he bought it since i helped him collect it at the store.

Problem is that after a manual panel refresh prompt alerting me that the TV had now reached a level of usage that required a panel refresh i went along and executed the panel refresh, all went well and an hour later i powered back up.

Upon checking for improvement in terms of uniformity it actually to my mind looked a bit cleaner right untill the red test slide came on screen and revealed a shadow corresponding to a 25% pattern which from what i`ve read is due to manufactoring defects affecting some 2017 panels (3D LUT related)

Sony won`t help unless my friend miracously finds the reciept it`s under warranty untill June 2020 but no dice without the receipt, i was thinking if there`s a way within the service menu to remedy this defect which admittedly only manifest itself on solid red backgrounds

Kind regards.
If your friend paid via credit card, try looking for that receipt.

Sony XBR75X940C & XBR65A1E Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra
CCsoftball7 is offline  
post #7603 of 7686 Old 08-04-2019, 04:11 AM
Member
 
michel34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yukon Trooper View Post
Is it not possible to do reverse telecine with the CineMotion feature? I don't use any of the internal apps but I am curious about that.
Reverse telechine has nothing to do with 24p. RT was used to get ntsc movies that had been converted to 29p back to original cinematic 24p. 24p is the most used frequency used in cinema and was mandatory for every DVD player when DVD was released (I think ´98).
I cannot imagine why it is so difficult to get it working correctly in 2019.
It is NOT rocket science.
michel34 is offline  
post #7604 of 7686 Old 08-04-2019, 06:01 AM
Member
 
camacho8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by michel34 View Post
Reverse telechine has nothing to do with 24p. RT was used to get ntsc movies that had been converted to 29p back to original cinematic 24p. 24p is the most used frequency used in cinema and was mandatory for every DVD player when DVD was released (I think ´98).
I cannot imagine why it is so difficult to get it working correctly in 2019.
It is NOT rocket science.
I thought the internal apps like Netflix and vudu are native 24hz playing 5:5 to match the displays 120hz.

65 Sony A1E-Oled - Calman Home Ent/C6 HDR2000
Denon - 7200WA - Mirage Speakers
Roku Ultra/Sony UBP-X800M2/4K Firestick
camacho8 is online now  
post #7605 of 7686 Old 08-04-2019, 01:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Yukon Trooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Yukon, Canada
Posts: 1,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by michel34 View Post
Reverse telechine has nothing to do with 24p. RT was used to get ntsc movies that had been converted to 29p back to original cinematic 24p. 24p is the most used frequency used in cinema and was mandatory for every DVD player when DVD was released (I think ´98).
I cannot imagine why it is so difficult to get it working correctly in 2019.
It is NOT rocket science.
Sorry. Reverse telecine may not be the appropriate term. However, what I'm wondering is if Cinemotion is responsible for extraction and proper display of 24p material from a 60p signal, and if so can be used to properly display film content via internal apps.

Yukon Trooper is offline  
post #7606 of 7686 Old 08-04-2019, 03:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tachy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Updated my firmware to the latest version this morning. Has anyone figured out a way to get rid of the Sony Select “featured” line on the customized channels? Every time I toggle it “OFF”, the next time I come back a couple hours later to HOME, it is back “ON”.

(I had asked a similar question regarding an earlier version of firmware......and did get an answer to that issue that worked....so was wondering if anyone has tried the same or similar fix with this firmware version).

Thanks, in advance.
blkspotted likes this.

Denon AVR-4520Ci, Sony XBR65A1E TV, Klipsch speakers, Oppo BDP-103, Sonos Connect, MusicCast MCX-2000, TiVo Bolt +

Last edited by Tachy; 08-04-2019 at 06:52 PM.
Tachy is offline  
post #7607 of 7686 Old 08-05-2019, 12:02 AM
Member
 
michel34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yukon Trooper View Post
Sorry. Reverse telecine may not be the appropriate term. However, what I'm wondering is if Cinemotion is responsible for extraction and proper display of 24p material from a 60p signal, and if so can be used to properly display film content via internal apps.
Virtually all of my files carry 24p and I do not want any processor to fuzz with it. It should just be played back as intended. ATV does it perfectly. (I am definetely no Apple fanboy)
michel34 is offline  
post #7608 of 7686 Old 08-05-2019, 11:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Yukon Trooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Yukon, Canada
Posts: 1,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by michel34 View Post
Virtually all of my files carry 24p and I do not want any processor to fuzz with it. It should just be played back as intended. ATV does it perfectly. (I am definetely no Apple fanboy)
As far as I understand, Cinemotion's objective is to play back 24p as intended by extracting the original framerate from a 60Hz signal. I don't believe there's any additional processing, except for Cinemotion on "high" which adds some smoothing.

I'm referring mainly to the internal apps like Netflix and Amazon Prime, although I guess Plex would operate the same. I watch all my media from HTPC, so I've never tinkered with Cinemotion myself. That's just my understanding of how it works.

Yukon Trooper is offline  
post #7609 of 7686 Old 08-07-2019, 09:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lobosrul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,426
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1167 Post(s)
Liked: 791
I've noticed when playing Dolby Vision content from HDMI that it is far less bright than on the internal app (using Netflix to test). Anyone else notice this? If I go from medium to high on the dynamic range setting via HDMI it very briefly gets brighter then fades back down. I mean in less than a second, this isn't like the old dimming issue. This does not happen on SDR or HDR10 content.

I'm just wondering if its just my unit or for all A1E's.
lobosrul is offline  
post #7610 of 7686 Old 08-07-2019, 10:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,658
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1446 Post(s)
Liked: 829
Quote:
Originally Posted by lobosrul View Post
I've noticed when playing Dolby Vision content from HDMI that it is far less bright than on the internal app (using Netflix to test). Anyone else notice this? If I go from medium to high on the dynamic range setting via HDMI it very briefly gets brighter then fades back down. I mean in less than a second, this isn't like the old dimming issue. This does not happen on SDR or HDR10 content.

I'm just wondering if its just my unit or for all A1E's.
I don't have a DV source externally to test with (at least not that I would trust, given I am not convinced with what the Xbox One X is doing for DV, and certainly netflix on the Xbox is complete garbage). Other people have certainly mentioned a difference as far as I recall though.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #7611 of 7686 Old 08-09-2019, 11:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Hey everyone. I’m in Canada. Recently I’ve noticed I have various titles stating they are available in Dolby vision on Amazon Prime. However when I play them it only says 1080p and never kicks into 4K DV. This is using the built in prime app and Apple TV 4K. Is there a setting I’m missing?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

TV: Sony XBR65A1E
Audio: Sony STR-DH790
Blu-Ray: Sony UBP-X700
Confuzzeled23 is online now  
post #7612 of 7686 Old 08-09-2019, 12:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lobosrul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,426
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1167 Post(s)
Liked: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Confuzzeled23 View Post
Hey everyone. I’m in Canada. Recently I’ve noticed I have various titles stating they are available in Dolby vision on Amazon Prime. However when I play them it only says 1080p and never kicks into 4K DV. This is using the built in prime app and Apple TV 4K. Is there a setting I’m missing?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Saw that too. I think its a glitch.
lobosrul is offline  
post #7613 of 7686 Old 08-09-2019, 03:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by lobosrul View Post
I've noticed when playing Dolby Vision content from HDMI that it is far less bright than on the internal app (using Netflix to test). Anyone else notice this? If I go from medium to high on the dynamic range setting via HDMI it very briefly gets brighter then fades back down. I mean in less than a second, this isn't like the old dimming issue. This does not happen on SDR or HDR10 content.



I'm just wondering if its just my unit or for all A1E's.
I've noticed this with my Apple TV. Since it's my only source I can make direct comparisons, I haven't been able to determine if it's just the ATV or everything coming through the HDMI.

It would be nice to get a clear answer on the cause. I once had thought about buying an Ultra HD Blu-ray player, but decided against it because I felt let down by the ATV performance. I didn't want to invest in that (and the disks) only to have similar performance.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

Sony 65A1E
Apple TV 4K
memichael is offline  
post #7614 of 7686 Old 08-10-2019, 06:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 3,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 61
I have a A1e with the latest firmware. 3-4 times a week it comes on with the android logo and subsequent 4 circles etc and then the Sony logo etc.

After this it comes up properly.

This started after the last two firmware’s which were installed automatically.

The set has been professionally calibrated so I not eager to do a reset.

I have cut power to it but the problem persists.

Any suggestions ?

Sony A1E, Marantz 8805, Montis, Bryston,

Last edited by jmschnur; 08-10-2019 at 06:57 PM.
jmschnur is offline  
post #7615 of 7686 Old 08-11-2019, 06:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,507
Mentioned: 194 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4535 Post(s)
Liked: 5533
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmschnur View Post
I have a A1e with the latest firmware. 3-4 times a week it comes on with the android logo and subsequent 4 circles etc and then the Sony logo etc.

After this it comes up properly.

This started after the last two firmware’s which were installed automatically.

The set has been professionally calibrated so I not eager to do a reset.

I have cut power to it but the problem persists.

Any suggestions ?
Hold the power button down for 10 seconds after the TV is turned on. The set will re-boot and you will see the sony logo, etc.. See if it happens after that. Your calibration will not be touched.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is offline  
post #7616 of 7686 Old 08-11-2019, 08:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 3,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 61
I will try this.
Problem came back, but I noticed privacy settings had not been approved.
Working so far.


We shall see.
Thanks

Sony A1E, Marantz 8805, Montis, Bryston,

Last edited by jmschnur; 08-12-2019 at 04:39 PM.
jmschnur is offline  
post #7617 of 7686 Old 08-15-2019, 02:36 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I am a little bit worried about my Sony A1 oled Tv.


I have the latest software update v6.6520 in Europe.

When I have not watched the A1 for a couple of days ( three days ), i cannot turn it on. Nothing happens, even if I use the button behind the TV.



I turn off the power for a couple of minutes and after that I can use the button behind the TV. Everything works fine with the remote control after that.
This has happened two times now and it would seem to be a fault in the update.


Or, is there other solution to the problem
etka is offline  
post #7618 of 7686 Old 08-15-2019, 09:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thezaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Laveen, AZ
Posts: 1,608
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 623 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by etka View Post
I am a little bit worried about my Sony A1 oled Tv.


I have the latest software update v6.6520 in Europe.

When I have not watched the A1 for a couple of days ( three days ), i cannot turn it on. Nothing happens, even if I use the button behind the TV.



I turn off the power for a couple of minutes and after that I can use the button behind the TV. Everything works fine with the remote control after that.
This has happened two times now and it would seem to be a fault in the update.


Or, is there other solution to the problem

I encountered a slightly different issue. I was rearranging some cabling, so I had to unplug the A1E. When I plugged it back in, it wouldn't turn on for a couple of minutes. I was looking for lights from underneath the TV (I have it on a wall mount), and there's a red glow around the optical connection, once it's ready to come on. The TV won't turn on until I see that little bit of red glow, and it takes a few minutes after plugging it in. I was able to repeat this a couple of times to confirm that it is consistent. Strange... Of course, if I don't unplug it, it turns on/off just fine.


Dave
thezaks is online now  
post #7619 of 7686 Old 08-16-2019, 11:47 AM
Member
 
ThePersian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Victoria, BC, CA
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thezaks View Post
I encountered a slightly different issue. I was rearranging some cabling, so I had to unplug the A1E. When I plugged it back in, it wouldn't turn on for a couple of minutes. I was looking for lights from underneath the TV (I have it on a wall mount), and there's a red glow around the optical connection, once it's ready to come on. The TV won't turn on until I see that little bit of red glow, and it takes a few minutes after plugging it in. I was able to repeat this a couple of times to confirm that it is consistent. Strange... Of course, if I don't unplug it, it turns on/off just fine.


Dave
So I had an on and off similar issue but what fixed it for me it was removing my USB stick that was plugged in all the time. I did do a couple of hard reboot but I am pretty sure it was because of that.

SONY XBR-55A1E, SONY Playstation 3D Display, SONY KDL-55XBR8, SONY KDL-52XBR2,
PANASONIC TCP-50S60
PIONEER PRO-151FD
SONY PS4Pro, PS3, XBOX ONEX, 360,NINTENDO SWITCH, WIIU,
MacBook Air 2016, MacBook Pro 17''
ThePersian is offline  
post #7620 of 7686 Old 08-20-2019, 07:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robertawillisjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Seem to have a contrast problem. When watching TV (cable) the contrast is good. When I select Google (fed through Ethernet) the contrast is brighter but not really objectionable. I can then watch most Netflix and Amazon content without problems EXCEPT when the content is Dolby Vision 4k. Then the contrast increases significantly.

This started about two updates ago. Present update is 6520.0252.

Any ideas.

Thanks

Sony AE1, Oppo 203, Devialet LE 200, Aurender N10, Legacy Focus SE, Clearaudio Emotion SE
robertawillisjr is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
a1e , oreo , software update , v6.6510

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off