Sony A1E OLED 4K Ultra HD Owners Only Thread [No Price Talk] - Page 257 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 28431Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7681 of 7750 Old 11-13-2019, 03:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 2,443
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 543 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post
If it isn’t broken, don’t fix it Nothing is out there that is superior.


Agreed


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Confuzzeled23 likes this.

Sony XBR65A1E,(Pioneer 500m relocated), AppleTv 4K,Marantz sr7012, System Audio Loudspeakers( sa1750 mains), ML Grotto.
Eastern Electric Minimax cd, Oppo UDP-203, Toshiba HD, Pro Ject 1expression Carbon TT.
rocky1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7682 of 7750 Old 11-13-2019, 05:18 PM
Member
 
camacho8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post
If it isn’t broken, don’t fix it Nothing is out there that is superior.
After more time with your A1E and various A1E's do you still find your alternative white point x. 309 y.329 suffice? or have you found another? thanks.

65 Sony A1E-Oled - Calman Home Ent/C6 HDR2000
Denon - 7200WA - Mirage Speakers
Roku Ultra/Sony UBP-X800M2/4K Firestick
camacho8 is online now  
post #7683 of 7750 Old 11-13-2019, 06:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dianabol5mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 1,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 464 Post(s)
Liked: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post
If it isn’t broken, don’t fix it Nothing is out there that is superior.
Nice to hear nothing has changed much PQ wise.

Sony 65A1E
LG 65EF9500
LG 55EG9100
Samsung 60F8500
LG UP870 Multi-Region
Dianabol5mg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7684 of 7750 Old 11-14-2019, 12:10 PM
Member
 
Black05Hemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dianabol5mg View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post
If it isn’️t broken, don’️t fix it [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/smile.gif[/IMG] Nothing is out there that is superior.
Nice to hear nothing has changed much PQ wise.
Yeah, it is nice to hear that, straight from the expert himself. That validates my purchase a year ago, at what I consider to be a steal of a price.
Black05Hemi is offline  
post #7685 of 7750 Old 11-14-2019, 12:52 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 17,107
Mentioned: 135 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2115 Post(s)
Liked: 3982
Quote:
Originally Posted by camacho8 View Post
After more time with your A1E and various A1E's do you still find your alternative white point x. 309 y.329 suffice? or have you found another? thanks.
Same offset is still valid.
camacho8 likes this.
D-Nice is offline  
post #7686 of 7750 Old 11-14-2019, 02:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dianabol5mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 1,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 464 Post(s)
Liked: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black05Hemi View Post
Yeah, it is nice to hear that, straight from the expert himself. That validates my purchase a year ago, at what I consider to be a steal of a price.
Yeah, I got a crazy deal and couldn't pass it up(way under 2 grand). Then I prayed for a good panel, from the time I ordered, all the way up until I turned it on and ran some slides. Uniformity turned out superb and I've been on cloud 9 ever since.


To add, I just loved the aesthetics. It's a beautiful machine.
Confuzzeled23 likes this.

Sony 65A1E
LG 65EF9500
LG 55EG9100
Samsung 60F8500
LG UP870 Multi-Region

Last edited by Dianabol5mg; 11-14-2019 at 02:49 PM.
Dianabol5mg is offline  
post #7687 of 7750 Old 11-15-2019, 02:05 AM
Member
 
Black05Hemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dianabol5mg View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black05Hemi View Post
Yeah, it is nice to hear that, straight from the expert himself. That validates my purchase a year ago, at what I consider to be a steal of a price.
Yeah, I got a crazy deal and couldn't pass it up(way under 2 grand). Then I prayed for a good panel, from the time I ordered, all the way up until I turned it on and ran some slides. Uniformity turned out superb and I've been on cloud 9 ever since.


To add, I just loved the aesthetics. It's a beautiful machine.
You paid less than me, congrats. And,yes, this tv is gorgeous. I love the whole front being the screen, never owned anything like it.
Black05Hemi is offline  
post #7688 of 7750 Old 11-25-2019, 05:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Sony KD-65A1

Hi everyone!

Here's my issue, I hope you guys can help out. I have owned a Sony KD-65A1 for a year and a half now, and I just can't bear anymore the auto dimming issues that this screen is having. Doesn't happen much whenever watching movies, but happens all the time when i am gaming. Also, it is a bit too "small" considered the distance I have between the screen and where I sit (about 4meters).

Now I am considering acquiring the LG OLED77C9PLA (thanks to advices i have gotten on AVSForums), but I am wondering if that's a good move, considering that the A1E is supposedly an excellent screen. My two concerns are the following; (1) I have about 4m distance between the screen and myself. Will I lose in quality if I get a bigger screen? (2) is the LG a good screen for gaming? response time and such?

I guess I'm hoping owners of those screens can share their feedback! It's black friday week and I have found discounts on the LG, so I'd rather act fast but I'm still hesitating.

Thanks in advance!!
Nelchior is offline  
post #7689 of 7750 Old 11-25-2019, 05:40 AM
Senior Member
 
thomasphoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Sony A1E OLED 4K Ultra HD Owners Only Thread [No Price Talk]

From all the collective reading I have done , Oled is not the best for gaming, Sooner or later you'll have the hud burnt into the screen. Once that happens you'll not be able to unsee it. I have a 65A1, I use it for movies and shows only, Gaming on an LCD Sony 55".

TV-Sony Bravia KD-65"A1, Pioneer SC-LX901 7.2.4 ATMOS/DTS-X, Polk DSW 660*2, Polk RTi A7*2, Pol Csi A6, Polk RtiA5*2, Polk Tsi300*2, Polk TSX 220B *2, Polk OWM 3*2, ZidooZ9s, Nvidia Shield Pro-19, Zappiti-4kHDROne, Oppo UDP-203, XboxOneX, PS4, Oppo BDP-83, Darbee DVP-5000s, ZidooX10, Sony Bravia HX925 55"
thomasphoenix is online now  
post #7690 of 7750 Old 11-25-2019, 07:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasphoenix View Post
From all the collective reading I have done , Oled is not the best for gaming, Sooner or later you'll have the hud burnt into the screen. Once that happens you'll not be able to unsee it. I have a 65A1, I use it for movies and shows only, Gaming on an LCD Sony 55".
That's the first time I hear that, but it does make sense. I'll investigate. Thanks for taking the time to answer.
Nelchior is offline  
post #7691 of 7750 Old 11-26-2019, 11:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Firmware update to v6.6545 (EU)

https://www.sony.co.uk/electronics/support/oled-tvs-android-a1-series/kd-65a1/downloads/00016450


Benefits and improvements from the latest update

  • Improves network connectivity with certain routers
  • Improves the stability and performance of the overall user interface
  • Improves compatibility with certain CAM modules and resolves issues with channel storage (Russia only)

SONY KD-65A1
SONY UBP-X800
SONY HT-ST5000
lukv is offline  
post #7692 of 7750 Old 11-27-2019, 03:52 AM
Member
 
aguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 92
I’ve noticed my A1 doing a full reboot lately a lot. What I mean is that I turn it off as normal with ip control. Then when it gets a power on signal it goes through the android logo booting process. This is happening about once every 10 times it is turned on. It’s only been happening for the last month or so.

Anybody else noticed it?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Living Room NAD M17 / NAD M27 / Martin Logan 60XT (LR) 50XT (C) / Def Tech LCR 6.5 (Surrounds) / SVS SBUltra 13+ / Sony A1 OLED
aguy is offline  
post #7693 of 7750 Old 11-27-2019, 08:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by aguy View Post
I’ve noticed my A1 doing a full reboot lately a lot. What I mean is that I turn it off as normal with ip control. Then when it gets a power on signal it goes through the android logo booting process. This is happening about once every 10 times it is turned on. It’s only been happening for the last month or so.

Anybody else noticed it?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes . This happens for me as well.
aguy likes this.

Sony A1E, Marantz 8805, Montis, Bryston,
jmschnur is offline  
post #7694 of 7750 Old 11-27-2019, 09:55 PM
Member
 
aguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmschnur View Post
Yes . This happens for me as well.


Has it been happening more of late ? I have been on the same firmware since android Oreo was released. But it’s only just started being more regular lately


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Living Room NAD M17 / NAD M27 / Martin Logan 60XT (LR) 50XT (C) / Def Tech LCR 6.5 (Surrounds) / SVS SBUltra 13+ / Sony A1 OLED
aguy is offline  
post #7695 of 7750 Old 11-28-2019, 08:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by aguy View Post
Has it been happening more of late ? I have been on the same firmware since android Oreo was released. But it’s only just started being more regular lately


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Last few months

Sony A1E, Marantz 8805, Montis, Bryston,
jmschnur is offline  
post #7696 of 7750 Old 11-29-2019, 07:40 PM
Newbie
 
mroso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys really frustrated I have an Xbox one playing 4K disc, I’m trying to use Dolby vision and it’s not showing up. I have no problems with Netflix I see the dobly logo on the video setting so I know it works. It just not working with an external device, I’m using hdmi input 2 i have it enable on the Xbox settings. All I see is hdr and not doubly vision, please help
mroso is offline  
post #7697 of 7750 Old 11-29-2019, 09:04 PM
Senior Member
 
thomasphoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Sony A1E OLED 4K Ultra HD Owners Only Thread [No Price Talk]

Quote:
Originally Posted by mroso View Post
Hey guys really frustrated I have an Xbox one playing 4K disc, I’m trying to use Dolby vision and it’s not showing up. I have no problems with Netflix I see the dobly logo on the video setting so I know it works. It just not working with an external device, I’m using hdmi input 2 i have it enable on the Xbox settings. All I see is hdr and not doubly vision, please help


Unfortunately Xbox one doesn’t support Dolby Vision output for UHD blu Ray even natively , only streaming apps are supported .

TV-Sony Bravia KD-65"A1, Pioneer SC-LX901 7.2.4 ATMOS/DTS-X, Polk DSW 660*2, Polk RTi A7*2, Pol Csi A6, Polk RtiA5*2, Polk Tsi300*2, Polk TSX 220B *2, Polk OWM 3*2, ZidooZ9s, Nvidia Shield Pro-19, Zappiti-4kHDROne, Oppo UDP-203, XboxOneX, PS4, Oppo BDP-83, Darbee DVP-5000s, ZidooX10, Sony Bravia HX925 55"
thomasphoenix is online now  
post #7698 of 7750 Old 12-01-2019, 06:12 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukv View Post
Firmware update to v6.6545 (EU)

https://www.sony.co.uk/electronics/support/oled-tvs-android-a1-series/kd-65a1/downloads/00016450


Benefits and improvements from the latest update

  • Improves network connectivity with certain routers
  • Improves the stability and performance of the overall user interface
  • Improves compatibility with certain CAM modules and resolves issues with channel storage (Russia only)
Updated via usb yesterday...no concern and no visible improvements
Petrinho is offline  
post #7699 of 7750 Old 12-08-2019, 12:37 AM
Member
 
cec68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Disney+ not playing on my A1E on the internal apps. When I highlight the play button on any show or movie, and press enter on the A1E remote, it will not register. I can click and move on the other titles etc. Only when I try to click on the play button it is like the remote won't work.

All the other internal apps work fine, Netflix, Amazon, YouTube. I've deleted the app, re-installed it, and still the same thing.

Anyone else have this problem?


Edit: A simple reset on the A1E resolved the issue.

Sony XBR-65A1E OPPO UDP-203

Last edited by cec68; 12-08-2019 at 06:04 PM.
cec68 is offline  
post #7700 of 7750 Old 12-08-2019, 04:07 AM
Member
 
aguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Disney plus is working on my a1e.

Although Disney’s HDR treatment of many shows is a joke. That’s a separate issue


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Living Room NAD M17 / NAD M27 / Martin Logan 60XT (LR) 50XT (C) / Def Tech LCR 6.5 (Surrounds) / SVS SBUltra 13+ / Sony A1 OLED
aguy is offline  
post #7701 of 7750 Old 12-09-2019, 11:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,377
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2314 Post(s)
Liked: 2668
Quote:
Originally Posted by aguy View Post
Disney plus is working on my a1e.

Although Disney’s HDR treatment of many shows is a joke. That’s a separate issue


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yup. Unless it is a title they released on 4K BD, you are getting some janky "automated" HDR grading. Even their flagship original, The Mandelorian, tops out at 200 nits...
mutelight is online now  
post #7702 of 7750 Old 12-09-2019, 01:16 PM
Member
 
aguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
Yup. Unless it is a title they released on 4K BD, you are getting some janky "automated" HDR grading. Even their flagship original, The Mandelorian, tops out at 200 nits...


Yea it’s terrible. In the mandalorian I can notice very significant colour banding in the blue skies. Exactly what Wise colour gamut is supposed to eliminate.

I love the mandalorian though


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Living Room NAD M17 / NAD M27 / Martin Logan 60XT (LR) 50XT (C) / Def Tech LCR 6.5 (Surrounds) / SVS SBUltra 13+ / Sony A1 OLED
aguy is offline  
post #7703 of 7750 Old 12-09-2019, 03:22 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 17,107
Mentioned: 135 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2115 Post(s)
Liked: 3982
Quote:
Originally Posted by aguy View Post
Yea it’s terrible. In the mandalorian I can notice very significant colour banding in the blue skies. Exactly what Wise colour gamut is supposed to eliminate.

I love the mandalorian though


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
That must be due your settings. I see zero banding on that content here.
D-Nice is offline  
post #7704 of 7750 Old 12-09-2019, 03:24 PM
Member
 
aguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post
That must be due your settings. I see zero banding on that content here.

Possibly. I may be exaggerating it a little. It’s not every scene but some with blue sky that I notice it. It’s Dolby vision mode so there isn’t that much that can altered ?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Living Room NAD M17 / NAD M27 / Martin Logan 60XT (LR) 50XT (C) / Def Tech LCR 6.5 (Surrounds) / SVS SBUltra 13+ / Sony A1 OLED
aguy is offline  
post #7705 of 7750 Old 12-09-2019, 03:25 PM
Member
 
aguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Also I don’t notice it on other Dolby vision content. Just the mandalorian.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Living Room NAD M17 / NAD M27 / Martin Logan 60XT (LR) 50XT (C) / Def Tech LCR 6.5 (Surrounds) / SVS SBUltra 13+ / Sony A1 OLED
aguy is offline  
post #7706 of 7750 Old 12-09-2019, 03:28 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 17,107
Mentioned: 135 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2115 Post(s)
Liked: 3982
Quote:
Originally Posted by aguy View Post
Possibly. I may be exaggerating it a little. It’s not every scene but some with blue sky that I notice it. It’s Dolby vision mode so there isn’t that much that can altered ?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The Dolby Vision video mode has its own settings. Mine is calibrated.
jrref likes this.
D-Nice is offline  
post #7707 of 7750 Old 12-09-2019, 05:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CHASLS2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 3,198
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1112 Post(s)
Liked: 497
I have yet to see banding as well.
aguy likes this.

Sony 65" A1E Pioneer Elite DV-59 AVI
OPPO203,103&83 Sony BD player
Pioneer Elite SC61 AVR Acurus 200x 3
Paradigm 60V5'S 490 CC V5
B&W 685 S2's 2 SVS subs
CHASLS2 is offline  
post #7708 of 7750 Old 12-13-2019, 10:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Runch Machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Last Saturday when we came home in the evening I was surprised to find the TV on. I use it with an AV receiver which was off. I thought maybe it was left on since that's possible. My brother has the exact same model of TV The next day my brother called. He had been out of town for a couple of days and when he came home his TV was also on.

Coincidence? I'm wondering if anyone else has had this experience.

Jeff
Sony XBR-77A1E TV, Sony UBP-X1000ES Blu-ray player, Marantz SR-7011 Home Theater Receiver
JBL L300 Speakers, Technics SL-1650 Turntable, Technics SL-P3 CD player, Teac A-6600 Reel to Reel tape deck,
TiVo Series 3 HD-DVR
Runch Machine is offline  
post #7709 of 7750 Old 12-14-2019, 07:40 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 17,107
Mentioned: 135 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2115 Post(s)
Liked: 3982
Quote:
Originally Posted by Runch Machine View Post
Last Saturday when we came home in the evening I was surprised to find the TV on. I use it with an AV receiver which was off. I thought maybe it was left on since that's possible. My brother has the exact same model of TV The next day my brother called. He had been out of town for a couple of days and when he came home his TV was also on.

Coincidence? I'm wondering if anyone else has had this experience.
You have HDMI-CEC turned on somewhere in your video chain. Turn it off.
D-Nice is offline  
post #7710 of 7750 Old 12-14-2019, 08:08 AM
Member
 
Black05Hemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Runch Machine View Post
Last Saturday when we came home in the evening I was surprised to find the TV on. I use it with an AV receiver which was off. I thought maybe it was left on since that's possible. My brother has the exact same model of TV The next day my brother called. He had been out of town for a couple of days and when he came home his TV was also on.

Coincidence? I'm wondering if anyone else has had this experience.
Not yet. But, it’s also not going through an AVR either.
Black05Hemi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
a1e , oreo , software update , v6.6510

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off