Sony A1E OLED 4K Ultra HD Owners Only Thread [No Price Talk] - Page 48 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 28431Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1411 of 7749 Old 09-11-2017, 11:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Is it possible for sony to do a firmware update to up the peek brightness on the a1e set? everything else about the tv is awesome.
wangdiddy82 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1412 of 7749 Old 09-11-2017, 11:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Getbig559 View Post
I have 65' A1E and I have some graininess in the bckground, anyone else having this issue and how to get rid of it?
what do you mean? like in watching 4k content?
wangdiddy82 is offline  
post #1413 of 7749 Old 09-11-2017, 11:08 PM
Member
 
Getbig559's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by wangdiddy82 View Post
what do you mean? like in watching 4k content?
Watching Direct tv. The MNF game had graininess in the background. Also noticed this on Fox on the Sunday games. I also have the LG C7 OLED and I don't get graininess on that. Wondering if it could be settings.
Getbig559 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1414 of 7749 Old 09-12-2017, 01:50 AM
Member
 
toastyz71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by statealum View Post
-To get audio in your amazon app try going to sound adjustment, advanced options, input selection and by dolby digital plus output choose dolby digital instead of dolby digital plus.

-You have to make this change when you are in the amazon app. If you are outside of the app it doesn't appear to give you this option

-If you are switching inputs and the picture goes black initially for a second I would say that is normal input behavior. If your picture continues to go black for a prolonged period of time after being on that input for 10 seconds or more than you may have an issue.
Quote:
Originally Posted by toastyz71 View Post
The sound issue in the amazon app was due to having to get the ARC settings right on the AVR.

I am only using HDMI 3 on the TV, connected from my AVR. All sources plug into the AVR; There's just something with the handshake between the blu-ray, AVR and the new TV, apparently.

Update to my own posting. did two things to resolve the issue with blu-ray player - swapped to different blu-ray player model from another room (both are Sony, but the one originally on the A1E was older. This didn't immediately fix the issue, I also had to specify the output of the i/p scaler on the receiver rather than Auto, even though the other HDMI Inputs were not affected.

Settled in and watched my BD copy of The Martian. sure looked good, can't wait to get my Oppo!
Al Leong likes this.

Sony XBR65A1E/Denon AVRX6200/
toastyz71 is offline  
post #1415 of 7749 Old 09-12-2017, 06:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,767
Mentioned: 206 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4736 Post(s)
Liked: 5720
^^^
Make sure Reality Creation is set to manual and not Auto, set smooth gradation to Low.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, LS Pro, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
post #1416 of 7749 Old 09-12-2017, 08:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Threefiddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 1,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 418 Post(s)
Liked: 198
my 75" 940e replacement for my a1e gets here thursday. still can't decide if I want to go through with it. the a1e is gotten a lot better with the banding. at this point it's the pure size difference.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
trying my luck with sony a1e after what feels like being in jail when I look at 2 lg c7's I've had. Jailbars you can see in movies and games isn't acceptable for this kind of money. LG calls it "normal" maybe sony won't with same panel.
Threefiddie is offline  
post #1417 of 7749 Old 09-12-2017, 09:08 AM
Member
 
typ44q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Columbia South Carolina
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHASLS2 View Post
When i watch BD's or DVD's i use the AVR and the speaker system and two subs. Just notice the audio is not any better than my 60vt60 was.

SPACE1999 was in Mono. They mixed it to 5.1 with the BD's, but the bass is boomy and bloated when things blow up.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Ya, TV speakers are what they are, nothing special usually......

You are using an AVR but still using the TV speakers? not sure how that works.

The 60vt60 also had a built in sub very similar to what is in the sony (probably why they sound the same) but still no match for even a cheap soundbar let alone a dedicated home theater system.

Sony XBR65A1E | Oppo BDP-103
typ44q is offline  
post #1418 of 7749 Old 09-12-2017, 09:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Internet Browser App on Sony XBR55A1E?

Is there an internet b rowser app on Sony XBR55A1E?

If so, where is it?

Thank you!

Sony XBR55A1E
LG OLED55E6P
John1948 is offline  
post #1419 of 7749 Old 09-12-2017, 09:21 AM
Senior Member
 
400MHz MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by John1948 View Post
Is there an internet b rowser app on Sony XBR55A1E?

If so, where is it?

Thank you!
Search for the Opera Browser in the Google Play Store
lsorensen likes this.
400MHz MAN is online now  
post #1420 of 7749 Old 09-12-2017, 09:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
PlatinumSV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Threefiddie View Post
my 75" 940e replacement for my a1e gets here thursday. still can't decide if I want to go through with it. the a1e is gotten a lot better with the banding. at this point it's the pure size difference.
Wow, a 940e. That is a HUGE step backwards. The A1E is easily the best set on the market and if banding is bothering you maybe your better of trying your luck at another A1E. If banding bothers you the blooming and off axis colors on the 940e will make you want to put your foot through it. lol. Size is a whole other story. If you're that far away and need the extra 10 inches then I would wait till Black Friday deals and go with the z9d (They are sure to take a steep drop). Still a downgrade in my opinion to the A1E but something that you may be happy with coming from the OLED. Sorry, just trying to save you the hassle, when you lite up the 940e the first thing that you're going to say is "What did I do".
Al Leong likes this.

Sony XBR65A1E | Sony XBR75X940D | Fujitsu AVIAMO P65FT00AUB
PlatinumSV is offline  
post #1421 of 7749 Old 09-12-2017, 10:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Threefiddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 1,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 418 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlatinumSV View Post
Wow, a 940e. That is a HUGE step backwards. The A1E is easily the best set on the market and if banding is bothering you maybe your better of trying your luck at another A1E. If banding bothers you the blooming and off axis colors on the 940e will make you want to put your foot through it. lol. Size is a whole other story. If you're that far away and need the extra 10 inches then I would wait till Black Friday deals and go with the z9d (They are sure to take a steep drop). Still a downgrade in my opinion to the A1E but something that you may be happy with coming from the OLED. Sorry, just trying to save you the hassle, when you lite up the 940e the first thing that you're going to say is "What did I do".
lol it is not a huge step backwards.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
trying my luck with sony a1e after what feels like being in jail when I look at 2 lg c7's I've had. Jailbars you can see in movies and games isn't acceptable for this kind of money. LG calls it "normal" maybe sony won't with same panel.
Threefiddie is offline  
post #1422 of 7749 Old 09-12-2017, 10:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Getbig559 View Post
Watching Direct tv. The MNF game had graininess in the background. Also noticed this on Fox on the Sunday games. I also have the LG C7 OLED and I don't get graininess on that. Wondering if it could be settings.
I havent watched many sports on the tv yet but from what i have heard is the a1e is a lot better when it comes to motion for sports. I would mess around with the settings. one thing about these oled tvs is you have to mess around the settings to get the picture to your liking. It takes sometime to find the right settings for each thing you do with the tv. gaming, movies, regular tv, etcc.... porn maybe lol
wangdiddy82 is offline  
post #1423 of 7749 Old 09-12-2017, 10:13 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 25,224
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7023 Post(s)
Liked: 7047
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
New to this thread but not new to AVS, my 65" will be delivered next week very excited. I currently have a C6 I really love but have admired the A1E from afar since it came out earlier this year .
Congrads, you going to have Chad do his thing? Where is the old set going?
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #1424 of 7749 Old 09-12-2017, 10:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
jb442386's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Doylestown PA
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by 400MHz MAN View Post
Search for the Opera Browser in the Google Play Store
Tried your suggestion & get "no results". Any further thoughts? Thanks!

Sony55A1E|Oppo 203|Sony Z9F Soundbar|ATV4K
jb442386 is offline  
post #1425 of 7749 Old 09-12-2017, 10:15 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,508
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3889 Post(s)
Liked: 3888
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Congrads, you going to have Chad do his thing? Where is the old set going?

I am going to go the diy route on this one I think. C6 will go to the bedroom for now haven't decided on selling yet.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is online now  
post #1426 of 7749 Old 09-12-2017, 10:19 AM
 
Al Leong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Downingtown PA
Posts: 2,491
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2007 Post(s)
Liked: 2257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Threefiddie View Post
lol it is not a huge step backwards.
Fine set, but you will see that light bleed.. a lot.. having gone OLED. Z9 for the extra investment would have been a better stroke to get close to A1E chops.
Al Leong is offline  
post #1427 of 7749 Old 09-12-2017, 10:25 AM
Senior Member
 
400MHz MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by jb442386 View Post
Tried your suggestion & get "no results". Any further thoughts? Thanks!
The search can be very particular.

Try "Internet Browser" or "Opera TV browser"

No do not expect that this is going to be anything like running Chrome...
400MHz MAN is online now  
post #1428 of 7749 Old 09-12-2017, 11:43 AM
Member
 
Getbig559's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by wangdiddy82 View Post
I havent watched many sports on the tv yet but from what i have heard is the a1e is a lot better when it comes to motion for sports. I would mess around with the settings. one thing about these oled tvs is you have to mess around the settings to get the picture to your liking. It takes sometime to find the right settings for each thing you do with the tv. gaming, movies, regular tv, etcc.... porn maybe lol
I've tried a lot of settings. With my setup I have 65' A1E and 2 55' LG C7p right next to it. I find myself trying everything to get the A1E to look like the LG picture. It is astonishing. The A1E is a great TV, Picture quality is very good but against the LG it doesn't look as good. I've had people come over and they notice the LG's over the A1E. I'm considering taking the A1E back and getting a 65' C7p and keeping it all LG. I really want to like the A1E. I'll mess with the setting some more but the background has a lot of graininess I feel.
Getbig559 is offline  
post #1429 of 7749 Old 09-12-2017, 12:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thezaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Laveen, AZ
Posts: 1,613
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 625 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Threefiddie View Post
lol it is not a huge step backwards.
I'll be curious as to your thoughts, once you get the 940e in your home, replacing the A1E. TV's might seem not as different in the store, but a bit more different once in our homes. I hope you come back to post and let us know what you think.

Dave
thezaks is online now  
post #1430 of 7749 Old 09-12-2017, 01:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 185
App to Control Sony A1E with iPad?

First, thank you for the help finding the Oprea browser app!

On my LG E6 there is an app for my iPad that allows me to control the E6 via a trackpad, etc.

Is there a similar app that will allow me to control my A1E using my iPad?

Thanks again!

Sony XBR55A1E
LG OLED55E6P
John1948 is offline  
post #1431 of 7749 Old 09-12-2017, 01:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by 400MHz MAN View Post
The search can be very particular.

Try "Internet Browser" or "Opera TV browser"

No do not expect that this is going to be anything like running Chrome...

Found Opera but it is cumbersome to navigate Opera with the Sony remote. The LG E6 is much easier in this respect.

Now I'm looking for and app that will allow me to use my iPad as a track pad to more easily navigate Opera. Any recommendations for such an app (if it even exists)?

Sony XBR55A1E
LG OLED55E6P
John1948 is offline  
post #1432 of 7749 Old 09-12-2017, 02:10 PM
Senior Member
 
400MHz MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by John1948 View Post
Found Opera but it is cumbersome to navigate Opera with the Sony remote. The LG E6 is much easier in this respect.

Now I'm looking for and app that will allow me to use my iPad as a track pad to more easily navigate Opera. Any recommendations for such an app (if it even exists)?
You can use a mouse and keyboard. Try hardwired with USB first.
John1948 likes this.
400MHz MAN is online now  
post #1433 of 7749 Old 09-12-2017, 04:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,760
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1500 Post(s)
Liked: 864
Quote:
Originally Posted by John1948 View Post
Found Opera but it is cumbersome to navigate Opera with the Sony remote. The LG E6 is much easier in this respect.

Now I'm looking for and app that will allow me to use my iPad as a track pad to more easily navigate Opera. Any recommendations for such an app (if it even exists)?
You could use screen casting from an android tablet or phone. That's easier to navigate.
John1948 likes this.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #1434 of 7749 Old 09-12-2017, 04:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CHASLS2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 3,198
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1112 Post(s)
Liked: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by typ44q View Post
You are using an AVR but still using the TV speakers? not sure how that works.

The 60vt60 also had a built in sub very similar to what is in the sony (probably why they sound the same) but still no match for even a cheap soundbar let alone a dedicated home theater system.
Most times i just use the tv speakers. Only when i Watch BD's i will turn on the AVR.

Sony 65" A1E Pioneer Elite DV-59 AVI
OPPO203,103&83 Sony BD player
Pioneer Elite SC61 AVR Acurus 200x 3
Paradigm 60V5'S 490 CC V5
B&W 685 S2's 2 SVS subs
CHASLS2 is offline  
post #1435 of 7749 Old 09-12-2017, 05:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Toronto
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsorensen View Post
You could use screen casting from an android tablet or phone. That's easier to navigate.
Or any laptop computer running Chrome, just hit the cast button on the top right of the browser and you're good to go.
John1948 likes this.

Sony XBR-65A1E
Vise76 is offline  
post #1436 of 7749 Old 09-12-2017, 06:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vise76 View Post
Or any laptop computer running Chrome, just hit the cast button on the top right of the browser and you're good to go.
Too bad Chrome Mobile doesn't have this feature

Sony XBR55A1E
LG OLED55E6P
John1948 is offline  
post #1437 of 7749 Old 09-12-2017, 06:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Threefiddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 1,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 418 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by John1948 View Post
Too bad Chrome Mobile doesn't have this feature
you just cast the entire screen from phone to tv.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
trying my luck with sony a1e after what feels like being in jail when I look at 2 lg c7's I've had. Jailbars you can see in movies and games isn't acceptable for this kind of money. LG calls it "normal" maybe sony won't with same panel.
Threefiddie is offline  
post #1438 of 7749 Old 09-12-2017, 08:19 PM
Member
 
toastyz71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Ugh. I feel like a total forum newb... but I swear, I'm not. This TV/forum needs a FAQ page


I'm getting multi-channel audio over ARC in the Sony App and Android app.... anyone able to get multi-channel audio from any user-installed apps like VLC or KODI? I can't seem to get anything but Stereo over ARC.

(I'll add that yes, the built in Videos app works fine, DTS, etc over ARC for local playback, but the interface controls for videos sucks, hence 3rd party option)

Sony XBR65A1E/Denon AVRX6200/

Last edited by toastyz71; 09-12-2017 at 09:04 PM.
toastyz71 is offline  
post #1439 of 7749 Old 09-12-2017, 09:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Talking

LONG time lurker.....first time poster.

I've been researching TV's for over a year, and after much consideration, I pulled the trigger and purchased a 65A1E. Now I'm not a videophile, but I watch a ton of DirecTV including golf and football. I'm not running slides or trying to find everything that's wrong with a TV. I just wanted a TV with a great picture that I can watch in my greatroom anytime of the day or night. That's it....simple. I had high expectations of the A1E and questioned my decision while I waited for my TV to arrive. Well, after installing the TV on a new Crimson AV tabletop stand, all I can say is.....WOW!!!!! I have about 30 hours on the set and my expectations have been exceeded!!!! By a large margin!!!! I'm having DirecTV install a new Genie 2 and 4K Mini Genies on Thursday....sure hope everything stays the same or gets even better after that. What a great TV!!!


Sony XBR-65A1E / Yamaha RX-A3050
Herbiehusker is offline  
post #1440 of 7749 Old 09-13-2017, 10:41 AM
Member
 
fritzjurg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Any way to use iPhone & A1E? Lost internet & cable due to Hurricane Irma

Lost internet & cable Sunday night. Fortunately, no loss of power or property damage! We've watched all the UHD movies we own on the OPPO 203. Rise of the Planet of Apes is amazing and a great movie! Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk 4K looks stunning (not a fan of the movie but the visuals were crazy good).

I have an iPhone with a legacy unlimited AT&T data plan. If we had a Droid phone, we could use the Mirror Screening option to stream. Has anyone found a way to stream video from the iPhone to the A1E?

Sony XBR-65A1E OLED | Pioneer Kuro Elite 141FD 60" | Rotel RAP-1580 AVR | Kef Reference 1 | OPPO UDP-205 | B&W CM5 | Apple 4K TV | Sonus One | Peachtree Nova Amp | Pro-Ject Turntable | Xbox One X (soon) | Panamax MB1500 | APC H15 Power Conditioning | AudioQuest Coffee & Vodka (in-wall) | Control4 EA 1 & SR-260-I | Amazon Echo | Sanus BLF228-B1 Wall Mount
fritzjurg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
a1e , oreo , software update , v6.6510

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off