Sony A1E OLED 4K Ultra HD Owners Only Thread [No Price Talk] - Page 50 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 28426Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1471 of 7700 Old 09-19-2017, 09:27 AM
Senior Member
 
400MHz MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by beavil View Post
The last 3 nights when we turn off the A1e I get a message on the screen saying the tv needs to do a panel refresh. It says it will take about an hour. I get up after 8 hours and it says the refresh was not completed and will do it the next time the tv is shut off. This has now done it 3 nights ... any suggestions?
It is a know issue and Sony is working on a SW update to address.
400MHz MAN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1472 of 7700 Old 09-19-2017, 12:48 PM
Member
 
Farkonas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey guys, greetings to all.

I have purchased the A1 at 55 inches to use as a monitor for a variety of things I am working on and - after a couple of days of experimentation - I have tuned it to display its picture almost exactly as I want it.

Thing is, the TV seems to be trying to change the mode it operates on or something along those lines, all on its own. Sometimes it does it based on different kinds of picture, sometimes for no apparent reason at all.

If I am on the desktop, everything is fine. If, for instance, I open a browser tab with a Web page that's mostly white, the TV shows for a few seconds at the top of the screen the "HDMI port number, resolution and time" indication that normally appears when we switch ports or press the Info button on the remote. But it can also happen without me switching to different apps and/or windows, that is even when I am in front of just one for over, say, fifteen minutes.

The whole thing does not affect the colors or sharpness (thank God for that) but it is extremely annoying - plus the sound is cut off for a few seconds. After the indication disappears, everything is back to normal. But, as you can imagine, when one works 8+ hours a day in front of the TV, multitasking between different programs, this thing happens dozens of times a day. It's almost nerve wrecking to have to pause for a few seconds every few minutes or so.

How could I keep this from happening? The light sensor is off, of course, and the picture mode is "Graphics" on port 2 (connected to an Intel Skull Canyon NUC properly on 60 Hz/4:4:4 chroma in Windows 10 Pro). I have searched everywhere in the Android TV menus for a relevant option, to no avail. Any ideas?

Last edited by Farkonas; 09-19-2017 at 01:00 PM.
Farkonas is offline  
post #1473 of 7700 Old 09-19-2017, 04:59 PM
Newbie
 
MacGyver_SG1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does the Intel Skull Canyon NUC use a HDMI 1.4a port? I don't think Intel has gone to 2.0 yet. That may cause issues.

Sony XBR65A1E 65" | Sony KDS-55A3000 | Sony STR-DN860 | Cambridge Soundworks Ensemble II 5.1 | Sony BDP-S390 | Oppo DV-983H | Minix Neo U1
MacGyver_SG1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1474 of 7700 Old 09-19-2017, 05:02 PM
Newbie
 
MacGyver_SG1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm pretty sure the Intel NUCs use HDMI 1.4a or 1.4b. Maybe that is causing issues. The next round of NUCs should finally include 2.0.

Sony XBR65A1E 65" | Sony KDS-55A3000 | Sony STR-DN860 | Cambridge Soundworks Ensemble II 5.1 | Sony BDP-S390 | Oppo DV-983H | Minix Neo U1
MacGyver_SG1 is offline  
post #1475 of 7700 Old 09-19-2017, 05:55 PM
Member
 
beavil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
Yep I remember. In my case, you get the 5 min abort the first time then on the second time it runs until you turn it back on and then you get the failure message. Hopefully they will fix this in the next update.
Ok so I tried to do the panel refresh through the settings and the same thing happened. It didn't complete after 6 hours. Then I tried pulling the plug for a few minutes to reset it. It reset, but still pops up the panel refresh window when turning it off. Also a note that if I hit the 'refresh later' choice it still shuts the tv off to refresh it.

Sony A1E OLED 4K Ultra HD
Yamaha RX-A3060, Oppo-203
beavil is offline  
post #1476 of 7700 Old 09-19-2017, 05:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robert9674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,485
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1256 Post(s)
Liked: 792
So let me get this correct. The Sony A1E is not running any compensation cycles not even the one that is supposed runs automatically after 4 hours? @jrref

Sony A1E
Triton one
robert9674 is offline  
post #1477 of 7700 Old 09-19-2017, 05:59 PM
Member
 
beavil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert9674 View Post
So let me get this correct. The Sony A1E is not running any compensation cycles not even the one that is supposed runs automatically after 4 hours? @jrref
I've put 1000 hours on my tv and never heard it click or got notice of a refresh till now. I will admit lately I've not seen the pop in my tv video and chalked it down to getting used to the magic dust.

Sony A1E OLED 4K Ultra HD
Yamaha RX-A3060, Oppo-203
beavil is offline  
post #1478 of 7700 Old 09-19-2017, 06:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
dancolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 518 Post(s)
Liked: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkeegan View Post
Watched the Atlanta Falcons and Green Bay game OTA (Over the Air) broadcast on NBC. I can't imagine a better picture. Skin tones were accurate and the playing field looked spectacular. No issue with motion. I'm using dancolt's motion settings. Just WOW!


Set and forget!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
pkeegan likes this.

Equipment:
Sony XBR65A1E / Denon AVR-X4400H / Outlaw 5000 amp / Apple TV 4K /
Playstation 4 Pro / Bowers & Wilkins 685, HTM62, M1 / Klipsch KSW-15 /
Ubiquiti Unifi Network
dancolt is offline  
post #1479 of 7700 Old 09-19-2017, 07:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,595
Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4603 Post(s)
Liked: 5593
Quote:
Originally Posted by beavil View Post
I've put 1000 hours on my tv and never heard it click or got notice of a refresh till now. I will admit lately I've not seen the pop in my tv video and chalked it down to getting used to the magic dust.
No one knows if it's running it's 4 hr compensation cycle.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
post #1480 of 7700 Old 09-20-2017, 01:04 AM
Member
 
Farkonas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
@MacGyver_SG1 No, it's an HDMI 2.0a port, all well and proper (it would not have been able to offer 60 Hz 4:4:4 otherwise). I've been using it for 18 months or so with a Philips 32 inch 4K monitor before getting the A1, with no problems at all.
Farkonas is offline  
post #1481 of 7700 Old 09-20-2017, 08:24 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by dancolt View Post
I was going to ask the same question. We all have that band just right of center and a couple of other small ones and I never see them when watching content. And I should add, they will never go away.

But I don't stare at the approximate location while watching to attempt to see if I can notice it.

Enjoy your beautiful TV.

Dan
I have that dark band just right of center and it is mostly noticeable in scenes with near blacks -- lots of those scenes in season 1 of the X-Files. That's the only time it is distracting to me. I haven't noticed it in any other content.

Sony XBR65A1E | Panasonic TC-P60VT60 | Oppo 203 | PS4 Pro | XBOX One S
thestal is offline  
post #1482 of 7700 Old 09-20-2017, 10:57 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,448
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3860 Post(s)
Liked: 3815
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
No one knows if it's running it's 4 hr compensation cycle.
meaning this is no outward sign it runs or no where to check in the service menu ?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is offline  
post #1483 of 7700 Old 09-20-2017, 11:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,595
Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4603 Post(s)
Liked: 5593
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
meaning this is no outward sign it runs or no where to check in the service menu ?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
There may be but my set is fine so it's not worth the trouble. I'm sure it will be fixed in the next software update.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
post #1484 of 7700 Old 09-20-2017, 11:10 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,448
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3860 Post(s)
Liked: 3815
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
There may be but my set is fine so it's not worth the trouble. I'm sure it will be fixed in the next software update.
are you referring to the longer manual cycle or the 4 minute automatic one ?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is offline  
post #1485 of 7700 Old 09-20-2017, 11:40 AM
Member
 
toastyz71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I redeemed my free Google Play Movies download from Sony and got Passengers UHD w/HDR - The TV was set to HDR Auto, but it didn't seem to enable while watching... should it have?

Sony XBR65A1E/Denon AVRX6200/
toastyz71 is offline  
post #1486 of 7700 Old 09-20-2017, 03:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,595
Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4603 Post(s)
Liked: 5593
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
are you referring to the longer manual cycle or the 4 minute automatic one ?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Well we know that the manual one fails and I don't know how to tell if the automatic one is working. I think the automatic one triggers around 4 hrs after the set is turned off on the Sony which is different than the LG.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
post #1487 of 7700 Old 09-20-2017, 05:21 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,448
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3860 Post(s)
Liked: 3815
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
Well we know that the manual one fails and I don't know how to tell if the automatic one is working. I think the automatic one triggers around 4 hrs after the set is turned off on the Sony which is different than the LG.

hmmm interesting hadn't heard that.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is offline  
post #1488 of 7700 Old 09-21-2017, 02:36 AM
Member
 
beavil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Ok called Sony 3 times today. Each time I had to attempt a panel refresh I had to wait an hour and then call them back and catch up the 'new' guy to my problem.

1st attempt was running a panel refresh which didn't work
2nd attempt was doing a software reset and then a panel refresh.. nope
3rd attempt was a factory reset and panel refresh.. (pulled plug then held power button down for 2 min) yes there was a power button! Good luck finding it wall mount guys. I hope that didn't mess with the calibration VE did... that also didn't work.

The tv still asks to do a panel refresh when you turn it off. When I call tomorrow they will likely move me up to level 2 tech support.

Sheesh

Also.. why is it asking me to do a refresh after only 6 months when it clearly states that you shouldn't do it more than once a year??

Edit: Update from level 2 tech support... cleared data and cache from 2 system apps and still got same result. He was freaking out that the tv has been doing panel refreshes 2-3x daily for the last 5 days.

I will be getting a call in next few days from Engineering Dept to come out and repair tv.

Sony A1E OLED 4K Ultra HD
Yamaha RX-A3060, Oppo-203

Last edited by beavil; 09-21-2017 at 07:43 AM. Reason: Update
beavil is offline  
post #1489 of 7700 Old 09-21-2017, 04:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
DOMAIN64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by dancolt View Post
Set and forget!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
What antenna did you use?
DOMAIN64 is offline  
post #1490 of 7700 Old 09-21-2017, 05:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VidPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,482
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1497 Post(s)
Liked: 1249
Quote:
Originally Posted by dancolt View Post
Set and forget!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

What’s funny is that I have it set and my wife always complains that it seems weird (SOE) which in itself is weird. She couldn’t tell the difference between an 8mm projector or 4K, but a bit of frame interpolation she’s all over it. Go figure.

The television screen is the retina of the mind's eye.
Sony XBR-65A1E OLED/Denon X4300H/Oppo 203/Klipsch RVX‑42/PS4 Pro/Xbox One X/5.1.2
VidPro is online now  
post #1491 of 7700 Old 09-21-2017, 07:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
dancolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 518 Post(s)
Liked: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by DOMAIN64 View Post
What antenna did you use?
I don’t use an antenna.

Sorry
Dan

Equipment:
Sony XBR65A1E / Denon AVR-X4400H / Outlaw 5000 amp / Apple TV 4K /
Playstation 4 Pro / Bowers & Wilkins 685, HTM62, M1 / Klipsch KSW-15 /
Ubiquiti Unifi Network
dancolt is offline  
post #1492 of 7700 Old 09-21-2017, 09:10 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,914
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6847 Post(s)
Liked: 6843
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkeegan View Post
Watched the Atlanta Falcons and Green Bay game OTA (Over the Air) broadcast on NBC. I can't imagine a better picture. Skin tones were accurate and the playing field looked spectacular. No issue with motion. I'm using dancolt's motion settings. Just WOW!
That's what I though after owning a plasma.....we will see what the next technology brings years from now...lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by ptrubey View Post
I am buying one of these and I'm having a heck of a time learning where and how the VESA mounting holes operate. First, do you need to buy anything else to be able to mount this to a VESA mount? The manual talk about a not included "wall mount bracket" but I'm guessing that takes the place of a VESA wall mount, for when you want to mount the TV flat against the wall without a pull out or swivel mount? Second, it says a 400x200mm VESA mount - is that 400mm horizontal and 200mm vertical? Finally, I presume to VESA mount, you flip the "stand" close to the TV and lock it in place on the TV correct?
You are thinking way to much, besides the older OLED with the special bolt pattern ( they where made for one year) , almost any tv will work with a universal mount. You buy one universal mount, keep the bolts you do not use, odds are you will never need to buy another mount again.....

Last edited by Cleveland Plasma; 09-22-2017 at 09:05 AM.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #1493 of 7700 Old 09-21-2017, 10:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,707
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1475 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by beavil View Post
Ok called Sony 3 times today. Each time I had to attempt a panel refresh I had to wait an hour and then call them back and catch up the 'new' guy to my problem.

1st attempt was running a panel refresh which didn't work
2nd attempt was doing a software reset and then a panel refresh.. nope
3rd attempt was a factory reset and panel refresh.. (pulled plug then held power button down for 2 min) yes there was a power button! Good luck finding it wall mount guys. I hope that didn't mess with the calibration VE did... that also didn't work.

The tv still asks to do a panel refresh when you turn it off. When I call tomorrow they will likely move me up to level 2 tech support.

Sheesh

Also.. why is it asking me to do a refresh after only 6 months when it clearly states that you shouldn't do it more than once a year??

Edit: Update from level 2 tech support... cleared data and cache from 2 system apps and still got same result. He was freaking out that the tv has been doing panel refreshes 2-3x daily for the last 5 days.

I will be getting a call in next few days from Engineering Dept to come out and repair tv.
I believe it does it automatically after 2000 hours of use, which if you use it 12 hours a day is 166 days, which is pretty close to half a year. They say to only run it manually once a year if you see a need to. My guess would be that if you check the hours on it, you will see it has passed 2000 hours of use.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #1494 of 7700 Old 09-21-2017, 10:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
DOMAIN64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkeegan View Post
Watched the Atlanta Falcons and Green Bay game OTA (Over the Air) broadcast on NBC. I can't imagine a better picture. Skin tones were accurate and the playing field looked spectacular. No issue with motion. I'm using dancolt's motion settings. Just WOW!
Which over air antenna do you use. Having trouble with mine in Atlanta.
DOMAIN64 is offline  
post #1495 of 7700 Old 09-21-2017, 11:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
pkeegan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by DOMAIN64 View Post
Which over air antenna do you use. Having trouble with mine in Atlanta.
I use an Antennas Direct DB4 located in my attic. It feeds a PCT-MA2-4P distribution amp available from Amazon. Note the DB4 is a UHF only antenna.

Sony XBR55A1E
pkeegan is offline  
post #1496 of 7700 Old 09-21-2017, 06:47 PM
Member
 
beavil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by beavil View Post
Ok called Sony 3 times today. Each time I had to attempt a panel refresh I had to wait an hour and then call them back and catch up the 'new' guy to my problem.

1st attempt was running a panel refresh which didn't work
2nd attempt was doing a software reset and then a panel refresh.. nope
3rd attempt was a factory reset and panel refresh.. (pulled plug then held power button down for 2 min) yes there was a power button! Good luck finding it wall mount guys. I hope that didn't mess with the calibration VE did... that also didn't work.

The tv still asks to do a panel refresh when you turn it off. When I call tomorrow they will likely move me up to level 2 tech support.

Sheesh

Also.. why is it asking me to do a refresh after only 6 months when it clearly states that you shouldn't do it more than once a year??

Edit: Update from level 2 tech support... cleared data and cache from 2 system apps and still got same result. He was freaking out that the tv has been doing panel refreshes 2-3x daily for the last 5 days.

I will be getting a call in next few days from Engineering Dept to come out and repair tv.
Update 2
Got a call from Sony (wasn't the Engineer) saying this was being fixed in a software update coming next week. Well that could have saved me hours of trouble! No Engineer will be coming out.
lsorensen likes this.

Sony A1E OLED 4K Ultra HD
Yamaha RX-A3060, Oppo-203
beavil is offline  
post #1497 of 7700 Old 09-22-2017, 06:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VidPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,482
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1497 Post(s)
Liked: 1249
Quote:
Originally Posted by beavil View Post
Update 2
Got a call from Sony (wasn't the Engineer) saying this was being fixed in a software update coming next week. Well that could have saved me hours of trouble! No Engineer will be coming out.
Glad to hear they're finally got a fix coming out. I'm not even sure if the auto comp cycles are working properly at this point.

The television screen is the retina of the mind's eye.
Sony XBR-65A1E OLED/Denon X4300H/Oppo 203/Klipsch RVX‑42/PS4 Pro/Xbox One X/5.1.2
VidPro is online now  
post #1498 of 7700 Old 09-22-2017, 09:14 AM
Member
 
Mrbonus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I’m thinking of getting this professionally calibrated will there be a noticeable difference? It’s 350 dollars and I’ve already dropped 3k on it so might as well right.

[Sony 65" A1E][oppo 203][klipsch 112sw]
Mrbonus is offline  
post #1499 of 7700 Old 09-22-2017, 10:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrbonus View Post
I’m thinking of getting this professionally calibrated will there be a noticeable difference? It’s 350 dollars and I’ve already dropped 3k on it so might as well right.
Having not had a TV professionally calibrated, here's my take. The A1E is an incredible TV, easily the best I have ever owned. It is very good out of the box and some tweaks, as referenced here can make it even better. Having a professional calibration can get you that much further. How much better is a bit subjective and variable as each TV will be closer or further to the ideal color handling. For me, I'm happy with where I am and my TV operates throughout the day in my living room. From near direct sunlight to pitch black at night. I want it to be perfect, but this isn't my theater room and I'm not obsessing over getting the picture "as it is meant to be viewed" to the nth degree. When I remodel part of my basement and setup a true theater room where I have full control of all the room lighting levels at all times, I'll invest in a calibration of what ever display I go with down there.
mugenacura likes this.

Sony XBR-65A1E - Xbox One X
jstewart0131 is offline  
post #1500 of 7700 Old 09-22-2017, 11:18 AM
Senior Member
 
eganz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrbonus View Post
I’m thinking of getting this professionally calibrated will there be a noticeable difference? It’s 350 dollars and I’ve already dropped 3k on it so might as well right.
Yes, it is definitely worth it if you can afford.
Be sure to have roughly 200 hours on the set before it is calibrated

E

In the meantime you can get some test materials and adjust the set yourself

Theater: Sony A1E OLED 4K Ultra HD, Oppo-205, Anthem AVM60, 7.1.4 B & W CM 7 LR,CDM-cse, CM 1, CM 1 S2, Silverline minuet , SVS SB13 Ultra, Rotel RMB 1555, Parasound A23, Naim NAP 100, EEcolor lut box. Calman, MobileForge, I1D3 & I1pro 2.
Stereo: Aurender N100H, Auralic Vega DAC, Focal Chorus 836 W, BAT VK-3ix, Pass XA 30.5, PPP.
eganz1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
a1e , oreo , software update , v6.6510

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off