Sony A1E OLED 4K Ultra HD Owners Only Thread [No Price Talk] - Page 87 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 28428Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2581 of 7711 Old 12-11-2017, 01:53 PM
Member
 
fritzjurg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCsoftball7 View Post
It's only unnecessary if you are willing to accept a lower standard on some streaming services (Vudu/lack of iTunes).



Sony does not have iTunes Movies (many more UHD/HDR movies than other sources) and never will.

Sony does not support Vudu UHD/HDR (again many movies not available elsewhere) and may not get Vudu UHD/HDR.

If you are not switching to another device, you are missing the highest quality available. I would rather switch to another device and get the best quality.
From Vudu.com: An on-going list of devices that are certified for Vudu UHD content playback.

Last update: 11/14/17

**HDR10 playback is now available for select movies and can be viewed on Vudu-certified 4K UHD devices.**

You may purchase or rent Vudu UHD movies via a web browser, mobile apps and the following living room devices.

4K Ultra HD Playback only
Roku 4
Roku Premiere
Roku 4K TVs (without HDR support)
Samsung KS-Series 4K TVs
VIZIO P-Series & M-Series 4K HDTVs (Non-SmartCast)


4K Ultra HD + HDR Playback
Google Chromecast Ultra
LG 2016 & 2017 UHD, Super UHD and OLED TVs
Nvidia Shield TV
Roku Streaming Stick+, Premiere+, Ultra
Samsung Q & MU-Series 4K TVs
Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player UBD-M9500
Roku 4K TVs with HDR support (e.g. TCL P & C-Series)
VIZIO 2016 & 2017 Smartcast P & M-Series 4K TVs
Xbox One S, One X

Sony XBR-65A1E OLED | Pioneer Kuro Elite 141FD 60" | Rotel RAP-1580 AVR | Kef Reference 1 | OPPO UDP-205 | B&W CM5 | Apple 4K TV | Sonus One | Peachtree Nova Amp | Pro-Ject Turntable | Xbox One X (soon) | Panamax MB1500 | APC H15 Power Conditioning | AudioQuest Coffee & Vodka (in-wall) | Control4 EA 1 & SR-260-I | Amazon Echo | Sanus BLF228-B1 Wall Mount
fritzjurg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2582 of 7711 Old 12-11-2017, 02:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
dancolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 518 Post(s)
Liked: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by solaris72 View Post
I have similar issue after the latest update, when set to 'match on content frame rate', On the app, when change programs, there is a black screen for 2-3 seconds before i can see the next....
Hey Solaris,

What you are experiencing is completely normal. What happens to me is after I power on in the morning I can see the home screen just fine. I can then launch Netflix, Hulu or whatever and everything is working okay. Then I select something to watch and when I do the screen goes black and stays black until I cancel playback. I can hear the audio the entire time just no video.

A quick Apple TV reboot fixes the issue.

Dan

Equipment:
Sony XBR65A1E / Denon AVR-X4400H / Outlaw 5000 amp / Apple TV 4K /
Playstation 4 Pro / Bowers & Wilkins 685, HTM62, M1 / Klipsch KSW-15 /
Ubiquiti Unifi Network
dancolt is offline  
post #2583 of 7711 Old 12-11-2017, 03:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Ray**W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickff View Post
I am glad you got this figured out. I just wanted to add another solution. For $70 or less, you can by a streaming device, plug it into the receiver and then treat watching content via apps like any other source. I have a Chromecast Ultra plugged into the back of my Denon that feeds the A1E 4K-HDR content. I did this for several reasons...one of which was that I don't expect Sony to keep their apps in the A1E updated...I know they didn't keep the apps updated on their blu-ray players for very long...at least not the ones I have owned.
I agree with you. The addition of the apps to the TV by Sony gives those who don't have or want any streaming device in addition to the TV is a nice option for those folks.

I have a Roku 4 Ultra and an Apple TV5 4K connected directly to my Denon and everything works fine. I just wanted to solve the audio issue out of curiosity. For me, the TV apps piece is an additional layer of activity I don't need and probably won't use. I have much less confidence in Android and Sony keeping current with the apps than I do with folks who make/market the streamers and have a vested interest in keeping them working, updated and moving forward (although it is the more expensive alternative over time as new iterations of the streamers are introduced).

HOME THEATER: Sony 65A1E | Denon X4200W | Oppo UDP-203 | Apple TV 5 (4K) | Roku 4 Ultra | AV123 Rocket RS850 fronts & RSC200 Bigfoot Center | Axiom QS8 surrounds | HSU VTF-3 MK5 Subwoofer | URC MX 900
GREAT ROOM: Sony 55X900F | Denon X2400H | Sony BDP-S6500 DVD| Apple TV 5 (4K) | AV123 ELT CSe Bookshelf speakers | URC MX 900
Ray**W is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2584 of 7711 Old 12-11-2017, 03:34 PM
aaz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by dancolt View Post
Hey Solaris,

What you are experiencing is completely normal. What happens to me is after I power on in the morning I can see the home screen just fine. I can then launch Netflix, Hulu or whatever and everything is working okay. Then I select something to watch and when I do the screen goes black and stays black until I cancel playback. I can hear the audio the entire time just no video.

A quick Apple TV reboot fixes the issue.

Dan
Yes, I have had that happen - this must be a bug in the IOS. Nothing to do but wait for them to fix it - maybe report it also.

Family Room: Sony XBR-65A1E | Yamaha YSP 5600 | Sunfire HRS10 | Shaw Gateway HD-PVR | AppleTV 4K | Sony BDP-S6200 | (soon) XBox One X | Harmony Ultimate one
Living Room: Panasonic 65VT30 | Yamaha YSP 4300 | Shaw Gateway HD-PVR | AppleTV 4 | PS3 | Harmony | Harmony one
Bedroom: LG 43UJ6300 | Shaw Gateway HD-PVR | AppleTV 3 | Harmony one
aaz is offline  
post #2585 of 7711 Old 12-11-2017, 03:40 PM
Member
 
SubZombie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert9674 View Post
It’s not about if the new 2018 sets arrive in April. It’s about saying this tv supports Dolby Vision in January 2017 and in December 2017 they still have not updated the A1E with that feature. So either they lied about support in the beginning and had to play catch-up or the X1extreme is not as powerful as they stated. Either way I bet you that we won’t get any kind of update until March. If that is the case I think there should a case for some me kind of legal action .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Again, the Doby Vision update for the A1E is already out there, it just hasn’t been finalized and pushed out. It will come.

Forbes had an article up with the Dolby Vision update installed on an A1E last month. They posted pictures, directly showing Dolby Vision activated in the A1E menu and they wrote impressions.

You can see the article here :
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.forbes.com/sites/johnarcher/2017/11/24/dolby-vision-on-sony-tvs-first-look-simply-stunning/amp/
SubZombie is offline  
post #2586 of 7711 Old 12-11-2017, 04:01 PM
Member
 
uzj100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert9674 View Post
I have noticed the same thing. Does anyone know what those clicks are?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Could it be that you pressed an input button too many times? e.g. pressing back arrow more times than needed to exit a particular screen.

HTH

Sony XBR77A9G/Sony XBR65A1E 65"/SAE Mark IIICM/SAE Mark IM/SAE Mark VI/SAE Mark XXVII/Thoren's TD 125/SME Tone Arm/Ortofon cartridge/Infinity Kappa 8.1/lots of vinyl/2016 Toyota Land Cruiser/2018 Porsche Turbo S/Nikon/Kimber/Spoiled Scottish Terrier
uzj100 is offline  
post #2587 of 7711 Old 12-11-2017, 07:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 33
anyone have any experience pushing the A1E past 1080P 120 hertz? I have had mine running at 1080P 144 hertz for a couple days now using the Nvidia Control Panel. just wondering if anyone out there is tested what the upper limits are.

A1E, a9f soon
Interpolation is offline  
post #2588 of 7711 Old 12-11-2017, 08:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I just got my replacement panel from slight banding and I screwed myself. The panel is trash. Maybe 3 hours of screen time. Guess I should call geek squad.

Rocking: Sony 65XA1E, Pioneer 1130K, Sony X800 and Xbox One X Scorpio edition
Cuadros86 is offline  
post #2589 of 7711 Old 12-11-2017, 08:36 PM
Member
 
eternal21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 58
As I'm waiting for my replacement A1E to arrive, would any 65" A1E owner be kind enough to post the exact footprint (width/depth) that the TV takes up when in 'easel' mode? I should've done it myself while I still had the TV, but it completely slipped my mind during the packing process. I'll be picking up a new stand for it this weekend, and would like to get something that fits just right. Thanks!

Sony XBR-65A1E | AppleTV 4K | PS4 Pro | PSVR
eternal21 is offline  
post #2590 of 7711 Old 12-11-2017, 08:37 PM
Member
 
eternal21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuadros86 View Post
I just got my replacement panel from slight banding and I screwed myself. The panel is trash. Maybe 3 hours of screen time. Guess I should call geek squad.
I would try running the refresh cycle. It does nothing for tint, but can do miracles for banding.

Sony XBR-65A1E | AppleTV 4K | PS4 Pro | PSVR
eternal21 is offline  
post #2591 of 7711 Old 12-11-2017, 08:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by eternal21 View Post
I would try running the refresh cycle. It does nothing for tint, but can do miracles for banding.
Pardon my ignorance, how do I do that?

Rocking: Sony 65XA1E, Pioneer 1130K, Sony X800 and Xbox One X Scorpio edition
Cuadros86 is offline  
post #2592 of 7711 Old 12-11-2017, 09:00 PM
Member
 
eternal21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuadros86 View Post
Pardon my ignorance, how do I do that?
I don't have the TV right now, but it's going to be in one of the menus.

Sony XBR-65A1E | AppleTV 4K | PS4 Pro | PSVR
eternal21 is offline  
post #2593 of 7711 Old 12-11-2017, 09:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Figured it out thanks.

Rocking: Sony 65XA1E, Pioneer 1130K, Sony X800 and Xbox One X Scorpio edition
Cuadros86 is offline  
post #2594 of 7711 Old 12-12-2017, 04:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CHASLS2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 3,187
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1107 Post(s)
Liked: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuadros86 View Post
I just got my replacement panel from slight banding and I screwed myself. The panel is trash. Maybe 3 hours of screen time. Guess I should call geek squad.
Looks like a fire place in the back ground.

Sony 65" A1E Pioneer Elite DV-59 AVI
OPPO203,103&83 Sony BD player
Pioneer Elite SC61 AVR Acurus 200x 3
Paradigm 60V5'S 490 CC V5
B&W 685 S2's 2 SVS subs
CHASLS2 is offline  
post #2595 of 7711 Old 12-12-2017, 06:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,631
Mentioned: 200 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4626 Post(s)
Liked: 5618
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuadros86 View Post
I just got my replacement panel from slight banding and I screwed myself. The panel is trash. Maybe 3 hours of screen time. Guess I should call geek squad.
Actually, just for the heck of it, run a manual clear screen.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is offline  
post #2596 of 7711 Old 12-12-2017, 06:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuadros86 View Post
I just got my replacement panel from slight banding and I screwed myself. The panel is trash. Maybe 3 hours of screen time. Guess I should call geek squad.
Can you share the video settings that are engaged when you took this pic? I have been debating whether or not I should swap mine out. This scares me.

Thanks,

Dan

Sony 65A1E - Apple TV 4K - Sony STR-ZA2100ES
dannyk100 is offline  
post #2597 of 7711 Old 12-12-2017, 09:05 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,967
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6874 Post(s)
Liked: 6871
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert9674 View Post
I agree 100 percent. How are you going to announce Dolby Vision support but don’t release it till next model year? I would call that false advertisement. Hope they know they would have a couple lawsuits on their hands if not outright class action lawsuit
Oh they will release it just for these reasons......
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #2598 of 7711 Old 12-12-2017, 09:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathlessOne View Post
Order Update: The Oppo player came a couple days ago and got delivered in pristine condition. The TV, not so much. After multiple delays and FedEx almost losing my item in Kentucky, finally received the TV today (after placing a trace request with the seller to find the TV). Unpacked it with two of my friends and then saw this on the front AND on the back. No words can explain my disappointment
Replacement update: The replacement arrived yesterday, in freight this time. I was very nervous on unpacking and in the process, I found some safety stickers and paperwork which WAS NOT in the original, damaged TV. Guess the TV was indeed used/damaged before sent out to me. Anyways, the replacement is brand new and is flawless. Connected my Oppo 203 to HDMI 1 and PS4 Pro to HDMI 2. I'm totally new to the Flat Panel television generation. You wouldn't believe me if I said I had one of the LG 29" tube TVs and an old LG DVD player before this (and my parents still do). So this is a pretty big jump for me apparently. I recently got a new job and bought this beauty off my salary.

So, the A1E's and Oppo's settings are pretty vast, complicated and overwhelming for me at the moment. I do have a basic understanding of 4K, HDR and how stuff works, but is there anything at all I should run/check for at first? Do I have to change any settings to tweak picture quality besides the ones that came out of box? Also, does my HDMI connections mentioned above look fine? I'm just learning everything but I guess it'll take a while. Thanks to everyone for helping me out!
eternal21 likes this.

OLED Newbie - XBR-65A1E, OPPO 203, PS4 Pro
DeathlessOne is offline  
post #2599 of 7711 Old 12-12-2017, 09:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by eternal21 View Post
As I'm waiting for my replacement A1E to arrive, would any 65" A1E owner be kind enough to post the exact footprint (width/depth) that the TV takes up when in 'easel' mode? I should've done it myself while I still had the TV, but it completely slipped my mind during the packing process. I'll be picking up a new stand for it this weekend, and would like to get something that fits just right. Thanks!
If you meant, when the stand is fully opened - I believe its around 13.5 inches (From Sony's specs on website). I recently got one of these for my A1E and it has a 18 inch depth, which holds the TV comfortably and has about and inch left on the front and 2.5 to 3 inches left on the back.

So try to get at least something with 15-16 inches in depth. The more, the merrier.

EDIT: As for width, try to get at least 60" like the one I got above. It leaves me a good inch and a half on both ends. It depends on if you wanna have something on the sides though.
eternal21 likes this.

OLED Newbie - XBR-65A1E, OPPO 203, PS4 Pro
DeathlessOne is offline  
post #2600 of 7711 Old 12-12-2017, 07:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by VivaRev View Post
What are the settings that you guys are using in “MotionFlow” and are happy with for most viewing situations ?
I've done a lot of experimentation with this. I'm sensitive to blurring and find CRT to deliver the most satisfaction to me. And I can't stand the soap opera effect. So modern flat panels are a problem.

All that said, I've found the best setup for me on my A1E is to turn off ALL motion related stuff and run shows at 60Hz. I have not been matching frame rate on movies (eg, 24fps) in order deal with motion blurring while avoiding soap opera effect as much as possible. The Sony can completely eliminate motion blur but the soap opera effect becomes quite strong.
rvxq is offline  
post #2601 of 7711 Old 12-12-2017, 08:43 PM
Member
 
eternal21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathlessOne View Post
Replacement update: The replacement arrived yesterday, in freight this time. I was very nervous on unpacking and in the process, I found some safety stickers and paperwork which WAS NOT in the original, damaged TV. Guess the TV was indeed used/damaged before sent out to me. Anyways, the replacement is brand new and is flawless. Connected my Oppo 203 to HDMI 1 and PS4 Pro to HDMI 2. I'm totally new to the Flat Panel television generation. You wouldn't believe me if I said I had one of the LG 29" tube TVs and an old LG DVD player before this (and my parents still do). So this is a pretty big jump for me apparently. I recently got a new job and bought this beauty off my salary.

So, the A1E's and Oppo's settings are pretty vast, complicated and overwhelming for me at the moment. I do have a basic understanding of 4K, HDR and how stuff works, but is there anything at all I should run/check for at first? Do I have to change any settings to tweak picture quality besides the ones that came out of box? Also, does my HDMI connections mentioned above look fine? I'm just learning everything but I guess it'll take a while. Thanks to everyone for helping me out!
Thanks for the TV measurements. As far as the TV goes, the first thing I would do is check the 'white screen' on youtube to make sure you don't have excessive yellow tinting. You can follow up with 5%, 10% and 15% banding tests (also can be found on youtube), to see how bad the banding is.

Sony XBR-65A1E | AppleTV 4K | PS4 Pro | PSVR
eternal21 is offline  
post #2602 of 7711 Old 12-12-2017, 09:00 PM
Member
 
Couch Viking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 148
I've been using Playstation Vue for my TV needs the last two months and today it prompted my wife to update the app. Well, the update broke the app insofar that it requires logging in and now it won't accept the login credentials. Contacted support and after a lot of suggestions including a full factory reset of the TV (no way!) they admitted it is a known issue with Android OS after the last update (yet, they continued to send out push notifications to update).

Now, I presumably have to keep paying for the service and hope for a fix (or "watch on a mobile device or get another streaming device"). This is pushing me over the edge to ditch the POS Android OS (especially on these underpowered TV chips) and get another device. Seems ridiculous to have to spend more money for smart functionality after buying a flagship TV, but that is the reality of it. I've been becoming increasingly annoyed at the lagginess of it all anyway.

I'm spontaneously leaning to a Roku, but am open to suggestions from the esteemed clientele of this fine forum. I watch Netflix, Amazon, PS Vue (?), HBO Now, Plex, My Movies (and Vudu?) and use Pandora and Spotify.

Sony XBR-65A1E
Oppo UDP-203
Pioneer LX-81 (Euro)
Pio S-81K , Pio S-LX70, Pio S-81W-MK SW
Apple TV 4K 32Gb
Couch Viking is offline  
post #2603 of 7711 Old 12-12-2017, 09:01 PM
Member
 
eternal21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Couch Viking View Post
I've been using Playstation Vue for my TV needs the last two months and today it prompted my wife to update the app. Well, the update broke the app insofar that it requires logging in and now it won't accept the login credentials. Contacted support and after a lot of suggestions including a full factory reset of the TV (no way!) they admitted it is a known issue with Android OS after the last update (yet, they continued to send out push notifications to update).

Now, I presumably have to keep paying for the service and hope for a fix (or "watch on a mobile device or get another streaming device"). This is pushing me over the edge to ditch the POS Android OS (especially on these underpowered TV chips) and get another device. Seems ridiculous to have to spend more money for smart functionality after buying a flagship TV, but that is the reality of it. I've been becoming increasingly annoyed at the lagginess of it all anyway.

I'm spontaneously leaning to a Roku, but am open to suggestions from the esteemed clientele of this fine forum. I watch Netflix, Amazon, PS Vue (?), HBO Now, Plex, My Movies (and Vudu?) and use Pandora and Spotify.
I asked a similar question a few weeks back, and Apple TV seemed to be the best choice.
Couch Viking likes this.

Sony XBR-65A1E | AppleTV 4K | PS4 Pro | PSVR
eternal21 is offline  
post #2604 of 7711 Old 12-12-2017, 10:32 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Antioch, IL
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Pink Screen With Denon X4300H

Hi All,
I bought a Sony 65” A1E in May 2017. A nice unit, for sure. My AVR is a Denon X4300H and has worked pretty well up until now. The DirTV cable box runs through the AVR in the standby mode and the TV works fine, with sound coming from the TV. When I turn the AVR on for the surround sound with CBL/SAT input the TV has a pink hue. I get normal surround sound. My Oppo 205 DVD plays fine too with the surround on. I have unplugged the units and components. I’ve changed HDMI cables. Seems the problem is with the Denon. Has anyone else experienced anything like this? Thanks in advance.
Jethawk is offline  
post #2605 of 7711 Old 12-12-2017, 11:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 25
The 1 hour comp cycle worked pretty significantly. I’d say the longer I use the set and more cycles are run it should eliminate the dark donut. Thanks for the tip. I’m using cinema pro when I took the pic. Like I said that was 2 minutes into turning on the unit for the first time.

Rocking: Sony 65XA1E, Pioneer 1130K, Sony X800 and Xbox One X Scorpio edition
Cuadros86 is offline  
post #2606 of 7711 Old 12-13-2017, 12:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mr. wally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: land of the pumas
Posts: 4,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 152
It is going to be a VERY GOOD Christmas this year.


Just heard from John at VE, and my set will be delivered late next week.
All broken and calibrated

Apparently I lucked into a very good panel so my investment in VE's QC process will hopefully pay off in spades
Set should be ready to plug and play

My new 4K HDR compatable audio system is already up and running. Hopefully a quick and easy setup

Now just need to find enough 4K HDR content to keep me feasted!
Egan and jrref like this.
mr. wally is offline  
post #2607 of 7711 Old 12-13-2017, 05:27 AM
Member
 
eternal21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuadros86 View Post
The 1 hour comp cycle worked pretty significantly. I’d say the longer I use the set and more cycles are run it should eliminate the dark donut. Thanks for the tip. I’m using cinema pro when I took the pic. Like I said that was 2 minutes into turning on the unit for the first time.
That's exactly what I saw with my A1E. Out of the box the banding was really bad, but after watching it for 20-30 hours it got much better. Take another picture from the same angle if you can and post it.
jb442386 and jrref like this.

Sony XBR-65A1E | AppleTV 4K | PS4 Pro | PSVR
eternal21 is offline  
post #2608 of 7711 Old 12-13-2017, 06:44 AM
Senior Member
 
mikey94025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuadros86 View Post
The 1 hour comp cycle worked pretty significantly. I’d say the longer I use the set and more cycles are run it should eliminate the dark donut. Thanks for the tip. I’m using cinema pro when I took the pic. Like I said that was 2 minutes into turning on the unit for the first time.
Quote:
Originally Posted by eternal21 View Post
That's exactly what I saw with my A1E. Out of the box the banding was really bad, but after watching it for 20-30 hours it got much better. Take another picture from the same angle if you can and post it.
It's unfortunate that the A1E out-of-box new owner experience can be scary because the display banding can initially look much worse than what it will ultimately settle down to be. We should continue to warn new A1E owners not to look at slides or at least wait until after many hours of normal TV watching.
aaz likes this.

Sony XBR-65A1E OLED | Yamaha RX-S602 | B&W M1/PV1 | Sony UBP-X700 | Amazon Fire TV
mikey94025 is offline  
post #2609 of 7711 Old 12-13-2017, 07:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Egan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bethlehem PA
Posts: 1,976
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1047 Post(s)
Liked: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by Couch Viking View Post
I've been using Playstation Vue for my TV needs the last two months and today it prompted my wife to update the app. Well, the update broke the app insofar that it requires logging in and now it won't accept the login credentials. Contacted support and after a lot of suggestions including a full factory reset of the TV (no way!) they admitted it is a known issue with Android OS after the last update (yet, they continued to send out push notifications to update).

Now, I presumably have to keep paying for the service and hope for a fix (or "watch on a mobile device or get another streaming device"). This is pushing me over the edge to ditch the POS Android OS (especially on these underpowered TV chips) and get another device. Seems ridiculous to have to spend more money for smart functionality after buying a flagship TV, but that is the reality of it. I've been becoming increasingly annoyed at the lagginess of it all anyway.

I'm spontaneously leaning to a Roku, but am open to suggestions from the esteemed clientele of this fine forum. I watch Netflix, Amazon, PS Vue (?), HBO Now, Plex, My Movies (and Vudu?) and use Pandora and Spotify.
Well that sucks, I don't use Vue atm but wanted to give it a try and put my DTV on suspension, mostly to save some money. I downloaded the Vue app to the A1E in expectation of using it. How did you like it when it was working? When I had Vue for the 5 day trial period a few months ago I hated it on the Fire TV Stick but it was much better using a PS4. Guess that's what I'll have to use again. If Vue had A&E/History I'd be set and would probably switch permanently.

Sony 65A1E
Egan is offline  
post #2610 of 7711 Old 12-13-2017, 08:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Good afternoon everyone, I finally bought the 65a1, I'm very happy with the movement with motion activated ..... I made a video for my channel, I hope you like it, a hug to everyone from spain

https://youtu.be/WwSsqMlHzFU
leonispain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
a1e , oreo , software update , v6.6510

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off