Status of Dolby Vision raised blacks issue on OLEDS - Page 38 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 349Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1111 of 1301 Old 11-02-2018, 05:51 AM
Member
 
Croweyes1121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I need to thank wxman for suggesting lowering sub brightness in the service menu from 128 to 127. This totally fixed everything!!

Last edited by Croweyes1121; 11-02-2018 at 06:17 AM.
Croweyes1121 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1112 of 1301 Old 11-02-2018, 06:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Patsfan123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Randolph, MA
Posts: 2,488
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 501 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Croweyes1121 View Post
I need to thank wxman for suggesting lowering sub brightness in the service menu from 128 to 127. This totally fixed everything!!
I am sure that will fix it but it will darken every mode on the TV. I didn't feel like playing with the DV options because the GUI would "blind" me for a few mins before I could let my eyes adjust. I did my test on
DV Dark Mode
OLED Light: 50
Brightness: 50
Contrast: 96

LG 65C6P FW: 05.30.70 | Onkyo TX-RZ730 5.1.4 | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony UBP-X700 | Xbox One X | Chromecast Ultra | Apple TV 4K
LG 55EG9100 | LG 60PK550 | Samsung LN-S4095D | Samsung UBD‑K8500 | Philips BDP7501 | Panasonic DMP-BDT110
Patsfan123 is offline  
post #1113 of 1301 Old 11-02-2018, 07:12 AM
Member
 
Croweyes1121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patsfan123 View Post
I am sure that will fix it but it will darken every mode on the TV.
Yes, it necessitated raising the brightness a click for every picture mode, but it’s TOTALLY worth it. I can now achieve pure black on 2001 in DV, which was IMPOSSIBLE to do before. I’m fine with upping the brightness a hair on other modes to be able to achieve this.

An odd DV quirk I noticed while determining where my new brightness needed to be: letterbox bar black levels aren’t even constant on some DV discs from shot to shot. I had Grease set to 54 based on the black screen after the Paramount logo, and then, during the pep rally, suddenly, a few shots displayed raised letterbox bar blacks out of nowhere! How totally strange. It seems like 50 is the sweet spot on DV now, so that no shot ever shows me gray bars (again, this is with sub brightness lowered from 128 to 127). HDR10 seems fine at 51, and SDR is at 52 (both one notch higher than I had them set prior to the service menu change). Everything looks perfect now.
wxman likes this.
Croweyes1121 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1114 of 1301 Old 11-02-2018, 12:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,338
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5405 Post(s)
Liked: 3827
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patsfan123 View Post
I am sure that will fix it but it will darken every mode on the TV. I didn't feel like playing with the DV options because the GUI would "blind" me for a few mins before I could let my eyes adjust. I did my test on
DV Dark Mode
OLED Light: 50
Brightness: 50
Contrast: 96
The E6's that have this issue, don't have the correct 0 baseline so blacks are off to begin with and too high. The sub brightness fixes that issue and sets the correct baseline. The brightness control in the picture settings along with the 5 IRE luminance slider, works with the correct baseline to tweak it even more and produces even better near blacks.

LG 65E6P OLED - LG 65EF9500 OLED - OPPO 203 - OPPO 103D

Last edited by wxman; 11-02-2018 at 01:06 PM.
wxman is online now  
post #1115 of 1301 Old 11-02-2018, 06:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
The E6's that have this issue, don't have the correct 0 baseline so blacks are off to begin with and too high. The sub brightness fixes that issue and sets the correct baseline. The brightness control in the picture settings along with the 5 IRE luminance slider, works with the correct baseline to tweak it even more and produces even better near blacks.

Does this mean that even with professional calibration via the user menu that it's not possible to achieve proper blacks (and the better near blacks that you speak of) on an E6 without changing the sub brightness through the service menu?
edmoney is offline  
post #1116 of 1301 Old 11-02-2018, 06:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,338
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5405 Post(s)
Liked: 3827
Quote:
Originally Posted by edmoney View Post
Does this mean that even with professional calibration via the user menu that it's not possible to achieve proper blacks (and the better near blacks that you speak of) on an E6 without changing the sub brightness through the service menu?
If you don't have the glow, then it's not a problem and a calibration will do wonders. If you have the glow, you can fix all the sdr gammas by lowering 2 point low, but it affects several IRE levels, so not a good idea. But that won't get rid of the DV glow. So if you have the glow, first go into the SM and lower sub brightness to 127, and then calibrate. My SM adjustment was made on the E6. I can't speak for any other model, but probably would also work for the C6. The B6 and G6 have different chips, so I do not know if the SM adjustment would work.
edmoney likes this.

LG 65E6P OLED - LG 65EF9500 OLED - OPPO 203 - OPPO 103D
wxman is online now  
post #1117 of 1301 Old 11-02-2018, 06:38 PM
Member
 
jbaker1225's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Still completely broken on LG C8 thought Apple TV 4K.

Watching Netflix and getting both raised blacks and dark scenes that appear to be WAY darker than than they should be. Occasionally it seems like the scene setting change mid-scene.
jbaker1225 is offline  
post #1118 of 1301 Old 11-02-2018, 07:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Croweyes1121 View Post
I need to thank wxman for suggesting lowering sub brightness in the service menu from 128 to 127. This totally fixed everything!!
Is there any way into the service menu if you don't have a special remoate or an android phone? I'm not finding anything that works in my search and I'd love to try this.
Randall Lotowycz is offline  
post #1119 of 1301 Old 11-02-2018, 08:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,338
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5405 Post(s)
Liked: 3827
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randall Lotowycz View Post
Is there any way into the service menu if you don't have a special remoate or an android phone? I'm not finding anything that works in my search and I'd love to try this.
Do you have a harmony remote?

LG 65E6P OLED - LG 65EF9500 OLED - OPPO 203 - OPPO 103D
wxman is online now  
post #1120 of 1301 Old 11-03-2018, 05:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
Do you have a harmony remote?
No, just the remote that came with my C6.
Randall Lotowycz is offline  
post #1121 of 1301 Old 11-03-2018, 06:49 AM
Member
 
Croweyes1121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randall Lotowycz View Post
Is there any way into the service menu if you don't have a special remoate or an android phone? I'm not finding anything that works in my search and I'd love to try this.
Honestly, get a Harmony. It’s an excellent remote and well worth having BESIDES this fix. And as an owner of such a high end TV, being able to access the service menu is just something you’re going to want to be able to do ultimately. You can also turn off ASBL via the service menu. That alone is worth the $50 IMHO.

PS: Or, even though it’s kind of a pain, go get one, use it, then return it within Best Buy’s 15-day grace period. As long as you hold on to the receipt and you return it quickly, they don’t even need an explanation. Chances are, though, you’ll want to keep it once you use it.

Last edited by Croweyes1121; 11-03-2018 at 07:53 AM.
Croweyes1121 is offline  
post #1122 of 1301 Old 11-03-2018, 09:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Croweyes1121 View Post
Honestly, get a Harmony. It’s an excellent remote and well worth having BESIDES this fix. And as an owner of such a high end TV, being able to access the service menu is just something you’re going to want to be able to do ultimately. You can also turn off ASBL via the service menu. That alone is worth the $50 IMHO.

PS: Or, even though it’s kind of a pain, go get one, use it, then return it within Best Buy’s 15-day grace period. As long as you hold on to the receipt and you return it quickly, they don’t even need an explanation. Chances are, though, you’ll want to keep it once you use it.
Yeah, I might just have to get one. Now to justify it to my wife... Which model do you recommend?
Randall Lotowycz is offline  
post #1123 of 1301 Old 11-03-2018, 11:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,338
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5405 Post(s)
Liked: 3827
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randall Lotowycz View Post
Yeah, I might just have to get one. Now to justify it to my wife... Which model do you recommend?
You can buy a service remote on Ebay for $12. That's what I did.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/US-New-MKJ39170828-Replaced-Service-Remote-Control-for-LG-LCD-LED-TV/222781798942?epid=12012468826&hash=item33ded47a1e: g:PukAAOSwP4FaTeku:rk:1f:0

LG 65E6P OLED - LG 65EF9500 OLED - OPPO 203 - OPPO 103D
wxman is online now  
post #1124 of 1301 Old 11-03-2018, 12:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hard to pass up at that price. Thanks!
Randall Lotowycz is offline  
post #1125 of 1301 Old 11-03-2018, 01:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,121
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3468 Post(s)
Liked: 2511
Quote:
Originally Posted by Croweyes1121 View Post
And as an owner of such a high end TV, being able to access the service menu is just something you’re going to want to be able to do ultimately. You can also turn off ASBL via the service menu. That alone is worth the $50 IMHO.
As a constant reminder, accessing the SM is not a recommended practice around here. It's WAY to easy to screw something up or brick your tv. Given the cost and complexity of OLED tv's, it's a risk you need to carefully weigh. Firmware versions, board versions, etc change and what you find on AVS or elsewhere might not work for your tv. Hitting Return by accident or clicking on something you shouldn't have can have dire consequences. Good luck.
Randall Lotowycz likes this.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #1126 of 1301 Old 11-03-2018, 01:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,338
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5405 Post(s)
Liked: 3827
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
As a constant reminder, accessing the SM is not a recommended practice around here. It's WAY to easy to screw something up or brick your tv. Given the cost and complexity of OLED tv's, it's a risk you need to carefully weigh. Firmware versions, board versions, etc change and what you find on AVS or elsewhere might not work for your tv. Hitting Return by accident or clicking on something you shouldn't have can have dire consequences. Good luck.
That's true, but sometimes that's the only way to fix a problem. The E6 glow requires an adjustment in the SM. That's the only way to fix it if you have that issue.

LG 65E6P OLED - LG 65EF9500 OLED - OPPO 203 - OPPO 103D
wxman is online now  
post #1127 of 1301 Old 11-03-2018, 02:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
You can buy a service remote on Ebay for $12. That's what I did.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/US-New-MKJ3...Teku:rk:1:pf:0

Are there any advantages in getting a $50 Harmony remote over this $12 service remote?
edmoney is offline  
post #1128 of 1301 Old 11-03-2018, 02:09 PM
Member
 
Croweyes1121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by edmoney View Post
Are there any advantages in getting a $50 Harmony remote over this $12 service remote?
Not necessarily, provided that accessing the SM is literally the only thing you care to do with it. A Harmony remote is a great thing to have for your system above and beyond just doing that.
edmoney likes this.
Croweyes1121 is offline  
post #1129 of 1301 Old 11-03-2018, 02:12 PM
Member
 
Croweyes1121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
As a constant reminder, accessing the SM is not a recommended practice around here. It's WAY to easy to screw something up or brick your tv. Given the cost and complexity of OLED tv's, it's a risk you need to carefully weigh.
I’m not advocating the average consumer go screwing around in the SM randomly changing settings. I’m replying to a specific question on how to correct a specific problem. I expect that anyone trying to do this has a modicum of common sense, just as I would expect someone to know what they’re doing if they go into the registry on their computer. If this actually even needs saying, then here’s my disclaimer: don’t do *anything* with a $3000 television if you don’t know what you’re doing.
wxman likes this.
Croweyes1121 is offline  
post #1130 of 1301 Old 11-03-2018, 02:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Croweyes1121 View Post
I’m not advocating the average consumer go screwing around in the SM randomly changing settings. I’m replying to a specific question on how to correct a specific problem. I expect that anyone trying to do this has a modicum of common sense, just as I would expect someone to know what they’re doing if they go into the registry on their computer. If this actually even needs saying, then here’s my disclaimer: don’t do *anything* with a $3000 television if you don’t know what you’re doing.
I feel like I know enough to tackle the sub-brightness, but if you or wxman want to give me pointers via DM once I get the remote, I'd be eternally grateful.
Randall Lotowycz is offline  
post #1131 of 1301 Old 11-03-2018, 02:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,338
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5405 Post(s)
Liked: 3827
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randall Lotowycz View Post
I feel like I know enough to tackle the sub-brightness, but if you or wxman want to give me pointers via DM once I get the remote, I'd be eternally grateful.
No problem. Here are the very easy instructions.

On the service remote, depress the ADJ button.
Enter 0413.
Arrow down to Sub B/C
Hit OK on remote
Left arrow to lower sub brightness to 127.
Hit Exit on remote.

That's it.

If you want to turn off ASBL

Depress In Start on remote
Enter 0413
Arrow down to 13. OLED
Right arrow to TPC Enable.
Right arrow to turn off
Hit exit button on remote

You have now turned ASBL off.


******Word of Warning. Do not depress the In Stop button. That resets everything, including timers, etc.******
edmoney and Randall Lotowycz like this.

LG 65E6P OLED - LG 65EF9500 OLED - OPPO 203 - OPPO 103D

Last edited by wxman; 11-03-2018 at 02:49 PM.
wxman is online now  
post #1132 of 1301 Old 11-03-2018, 03:16 PM
Member
 
Croweyes1121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 20
What wxman said. The only thing I would add is that there are no real “pointers” on the SM. The best advice I can give you is...get in, do what you’re there to do, and then immediately get out. I’ve only ever personally had a need to make the two adjustments wxman has detailed above. I don’t know what some of those settings do, so I do NOT mess around. I have no desire to brick my panel.

Basically, it’s best if you treat the SM like this quote from “The Rock”:
“The second you don’t respect this, it kills you”.
Randall Lotowycz likes this.

Last edited by Croweyes1121; 11-03-2018 at 03:21 PM.
Croweyes1121 is offline  
post #1133 of 1301 Old 11-03-2018, 03:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,338
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5405 Post(s)
Liked: 3827
Quote:
Originally Posted by Croweyes1121 View Post
What wxman said. The only thing I would add is that there are no real “pointers” on the SM. The best advice I can give you is...get in, do what you’re there to do, and then immediately get out. I’ve only ever personally had a need to make the two adjustments wxman has detailed above. I don’t know what some of those settings do, so I do NOT mess around. I have no desire to brick my panel.

Basically, it’s best if you treat the SM like this quote from “The Rock”:
“The second you don’t respect this, it kills you”.
Also, if you are a little nervous about going in, use your phone to take pictures of every part of the SM you enter. That way if you do make a change, you can always change back to what it was prior from the photo.

LG 65E6P OLED - LG 65EF9500 OLED - OPPO 203 - OPPO 103D
wxman is online now  
post #1134 of 1301 Old 11-03-2018, 06:11 PM
Member
 
Serenity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Croweyes1121 View Post
Honestly, get a Harmony. It’s an excellent remote and well worth having BESIDES this fix. And as an owner of such a high end TV, being able to access the service menu is just something you’re going to want to be able to do ultimately. You can also turn off ASBL via the service menu. That alone is worth the $50 IMHO.

PS: Or, even though it’s kind of a pain, go get one, use it, then return it within Best Buy’s 15-day grace period. As long as you hold on to the receipt and you return it quickly, they don’t even need an explanation. Chances are, though, you’ll want to keep it once you use it.
So at the risk of seeming dense... I've seen mention, in the past, of a Service Menu "button" as one of the configurable selections for Harmony's, but when I look for that in the newer MyHarmony App, or the legacy Logitech App, I never see that listed. As I've assumed that the code is the same across many LG sets, I've tried (somewhat randomly) picking a different LG set, to configure, in hopes of seeing that button listed, but still haven't found it. I use a Harmony One (configured with the newer MyHarmony App), but have been diddling with a (no longer used) 659 remote, in hopes of finding an LG TV "flavor" that offers up the SM button. I did find an LG set that offers an "Adjust" button, but that didn't seem to do anything on my G6. Anyway... sorry if I'm just missing something obvious, but I'm not seeing how/where an SM code is being offerred up for either of my remotes. Thanks for any/all guidance! (And, BTW, I am also tickled that you resolved your DV issues. I was truly feeling super-bad for you.)
Serenity is offline  
post #1135 of 1301 Old 11-03-2018, 08:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You guys are awesome. Thank you!
Randall Lotowycz is offline  
post #1136 of 1301 Old 11-03-2018, 08:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
If you don't have the glow, then it's not a problem and a calibration will do wonders. If you have the glow, you can fix all the sdr gammas by lowering 2 point low, but it affects several IRE levels, so not a good idea. But that won't get rid of the DV glow. So if you have the glow, first go into the SM and lower sub brightness to 127, and then calibrate. My SM adjustment was made on the E6. I can't speak for any other model, but probably would also work for the C6. The B6 and G6 have different chips, so I do not know if the SM adjustment would work.

Just to make sure I understand, this problem of glowing blacks is only known to appear when using DV, but the solution to it that you describe affects all other non-DV modes (SDR, HDR10, 3-D) as well? So to compensate for this effect in those other modes, we increase the brightness by +1 for each of them in the user menu to offset the -1 decrease in sub brightness in the service menu?


And when you say "glowing blacks," what does that look like? Is that the same thing as when people refer to elevated or raised blacks (i.e. not true black but dark gray) or do you mean that the black parts of the screen image actually glow, like it's radiating a weird light?


And lastly, the improvement in the near blacks that you mention will occur in all modes or only in DV?


Thanks much.
edmoney is offline  
post #1137 of 1301 Old 11-03-2018, 08:34 PM
Member
 
Croweyes1121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serenity View Post
sorry if I'm just missing something obvious, but I'm not seeing how/where an SM code is being offerred up for either of my remotes. Thanks for any/all guidance!
If this helps, the mode of my Logitech Harmony remote is 665. On mine, I hit the “devices” button (just below the screen), then select “LG TV”, and then hit the right arrow button to scroll through the pages of options. On page 6 of 7, I see “Service Menu” as an option at top left on the screen. I hit that, then enter 0413 on my TV when prompted, and that’s that.
Croweyes1121 is offline  
post #1138 of 1301 Old 11-03-2018, 08:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,338
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5405 Post(s)
Liked: 3827
Quote:
Originally Posted by edmoney View Post
Just to make sure I understand, this problem of glowing blacks is only known to appear when using DV, but the solution to it that you describe affects all other non-DV modes (SDR, HDR10, 3-D) as well? So to compensate for this effect in those other modes, we increase the brightness by +1 for each of them in the user menu to offset the -1 decrease in sub brightness in the service menu?


And when you say "glowing blacks," what does that look like? Is that the same thing as when people refer to elevated or raised blacks (i.e. not true black but dark gray) or do you mean that the black parts of the screen image actually glow, like it's radiating a weird light?


And lastly, the improvement in the near blacks that you mention will occur in all modes or only in DV?


Thanks much.
Not all E6's have the issue. A good way to test is to display a 0% slide on your tv, using gamma 2.2. The easiest way is use the internal youtube app and search for 10 hour black screen. Then in a totally dark room at night, play that video. Now use any picture mode, cinema will do and make sure gamma 2.2 is selected. Lower brightness down to 40 or even lower. Let your eyes adjust. If you see a glow (screen not black), then you have the problem. I could lower my brightness all the way to 0, and it would still glow. By glow I mean the screen is dark grey and not black. I went into the service menu and lowered sub brightness to 127. That fixed the problem. Using a pluge pattern, I was then able to set my brightness correctly. For me 51 was correct with 2.2 and there was no elevated blacks anymore. So when done correctly, all picture modes will require you to raise brightness one click after lowering sub brightness to 127.

This issue only affected DV and gamma 2.2. Did not affect gamma 1886, 2.4 or HDR10 but still required raising brightness 1 click for those gammas.
edmoney likes this.

LG 65E6P OLED - LG 65EF9500 OLED - OPPO 203 - OPPO 103D

Last edited by wxman; 11-03-2018 at 09:03 PM.
wxman is online now  
post #1139 of 1301 Old 11-03-2018, 09:33 PM
Member
 
Serenity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Croweyes1121 View Post
If this helps, the mode of my Logitech Harmony remote is 665. On mine, I hit the “devices” button (just below the screen), then select “LG TV”, and then hit the right arrow button to scroll through the pages of options. On page 6 of 7, I see “Service Menu” as an option at top left on the screen. I hit that, then enter 0413 on my TV when prompted, and that’s that.
Well... just as an FYI for other folks, the problem is that not all of the LG configurations (at the Harmony/Logitech site) actually include that particular activity, so it simply doesn't show up (even if you attempt to list all possible activities in the LG Devices menu). HOWEVER, I took a WAG at your possible set model, and told the old Logitech app that I had an OLED65E6P, and "lo and behold", the available activities for that model DID include the "highly sought" Service Menu option. I assigned that to one of the buttons on the old 659, and "bingo", I was able to pop-up that login screen. Of course, the next thing I'm gonna do is run thru the "learning mode thing", and feed that IR code back into the configuration for my LG model, on my Harmony One, so that I don't have to worry about it in the future. It's frustrating that all of the LG models (in the Harmony database) don't include that activity/code by default. There's FAR too much "hoop jumping" required to get this to work. Anyway... THANKS for the quick reply. Knowing that it was in YOUR menu, got me what I needed to avoid randomly guessing LG set models for hours on end. Have a great weekend!
Serenity is offline  
post #1140 of 1301 Old 11-06-2018, 12:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sdg4vfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 1,835
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbaker1225 View Post
Still completely broken on LG C8 thought Apple TV 4K.

Watching Netflix and getting both raised blacks and dark scenes that appear to be WAY darker than than they should be. Occasionally it seems like the scene setting change mid-scene.
Have you tried the SM Sub Brightness fix being discussed? Or is the issue you mention only with the ATV, i.e. other sources like TV's-built-in Netflix app or UHD BR deck play fine?
sdg4vfx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off