2018 LG C8-E8 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 142 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 78939Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4231 of 19376 Old 08-29-2018, 04:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BuGsArEtAsTy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: AVS Forum
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 711 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuGsArEtAsTy View Post
Option is greyed out. Can’t figure out how to turn it off if using Netflix. I’ll try again though.
Success! It wouldn't let me turn off Atmos when in ARC mode, and it wouldn't let turn it off in optical mode either. In both instances, the Atmos setting is greyed out. However, after I switched the TV to speaker mode, I could then turn off Atmos. Then when I went back to ARC mode, Atmos stayed off. And in Netflix, I no longer see Atmos available.

It plays with Dolby Digital Plus, but without Atmos, and with perfect lip sync.
BuGsArEtAsTy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4232 of 19376 Old 08-29-2018, 04:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1681 Post(s)
Liked: 831
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuGsArEtAsTy View Post
Option is greyed out. Can’t figure out how to turn it off if using Netflix. I’ll try again though.
Change your sound output to Internal speakers and then turn off Atmos. Probably won't do anything but it is worth a try.

LG OLED 65C7P, Denon AVR-X7200WA, Apple 4K, Oppo UDP-203, PS4, Xbox One X
Nvidia Sheild Pro, HTPC, (2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (4)RS-52IIs,, (1)RP-450CA,
(4) RP-140SA, SVS PB12-Plus, Emotiva XPA-100, XPA-200, Emotiva A-700
LG OLED 55C8PUA, Denon x4400h, Apple TV 4K, Panasonic DP-UB820,
Nvidia Shield, Klipsch G-42,(2) R-3650-W-II,(4) RSL-C34E, SVS SB-1000, UPA-200
sikclown is offline  
post #4233 of 19376 Old 08-29-2018, 04:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,201
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2905 Post(s)
Liked: 3484
@jbalder19 Their are blu rays that exhibit artifacts, even 4k blu Ray's. For example Star Trek Beyond and Alien Covenant have a few scenes that have artifacts. I can replicate the same thing on my Vizio. Now a brand new oled needs time to break in, near blacks are gonna be way off out of the box and not the best way to determine what some are confusing here. However I will agree that panel variance can play a role, and yes a professional calibration will most definitely help. Oleds do have a weakness in regards to near blacks this isnt new however the 8 series is big improvement in this area...in the end do these create artifacts...no. Garbage in, garbage out.

Last edited by Cam1977; 08-29-2018 at 04:51 PM.
Cam1977 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4234 of 19376 Old 08-29-2018, 04:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BuGsArEtAsTy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: AVS Forum
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 711 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
Change your sound output to Internal speakers and then turn off Atmos. Probably won't do anything but it is worth a try.
Beat ya to it. Thanks though.

See post above. Fixed the issue.

Interestingly, there is no way to turn on Atmos now that I'm back in ARC mode. Maybe I'm doing something wrong, but the only way I've found to turn ON and OFF Atmos is in TV speaker mode, but that ON and OFF Atmos setting applies in ARC mode too (even though I can't access it from ARC mode).

This setting gets reflected in Netflix. With Atmos ON, Netflix shows titles with Atmos. With Atmos off, Netflix shows no indication of Atmos anywhere.

I consider this a bug in the user interface.
BuGsArEtAsTy is offline  
post #4235 of 19376 Old 08-29-2018, 04:43 PM
Member
 
williamn333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just bought the OLED77C8PUA and can't wait to get it setup!!

Was wondering if anyone else is using a wall mount that is slim. I have seem the 2016/2017 LG official one, the OTW420, but I am worried since it says max tensile load of 70.5, that is barely over the 69.5 the TV weighs without the stand.

I know there are cheepies on Amazon, but I would like a sturdy well built mount. Anyone have any feedback on this? Thanks!
williamn333 is offline  
post #4236 of 19376 Old 08-29-2018, 05:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
@jbalder19 Their are blu rays that exhibit artifacts, even 4k blu Ray's. For example Star Trek Beyond and Alien Covenant have a few scenes that have artifacts. I can replicate the same thing on my Vizio. Now a brand new oled needs time to break in, near blacks are gonna be way off out of the box and not the best way to determine what some are confusing here. However I will agree that panel variance can play a role, and yes a professional calibration will most definitely help. Oleds do have a weakness in regards to near blacks this isnt new however the 8 series is big improvement in this area...in the end do these create artifacts...no. Garbage in, garbage out.
I have a b6 and my vizio seems to handle compression artifacts much better than the oled. Comparing what you have would you say your c8 handles them better than your vizio? If the c8 is alot better than the b6 in that regard ill be a happy camper. Also for break in then, do the same color slides for plasma still work? And is it a 100 or 200 hrs for break in?
jbalder19 is offline  
post #4237 of 19376 Old 08-29-2018, 05:38 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,031
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6409 Post(s)
Liked: 6404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojan35 View Post
Just got my 77c8 yesterday, upgrading from a 2011 Sharp 70le732u.
Quote:
Originally Posted by williamn333 View Post
Just bought the OLED77C8PUA and can't wait to get it setup!!
This is the year for the 77" OLED !
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #4238 of 19376 Old 08-29-2018, 05:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,201
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2905 Post(s)
Liked: 3484
@jbalder19 I would say that both my C8 and P65E-1 are even, although the perfect blacks of oled can "enhance" the effect. Admittedly my C8 was much better with near blacks than my E6, but that's a 2 year old set and LG has improved this area. As far as break in slides I believe you can use those...personally I just watched a ton of full screen movies and shows for the first 200 hours. I have actually never used slides for break in. Your set should be good to go after about 100hrs or so. No harm in checking...hope this helps!
Jbhur212 and jbalder19 like this.
Cam1977 is offline  
post #4239 of 19376 Old 08-29-2018, 06:08 PM
Member
 
Trojan35's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by williamn333 View Post
Just bought the OLED77C8PUA and can't wait to get it setup!!

Was wondering if anyone else is using a wall mount that is slim. I have seem the 2016/2017 LG official one, the OTW420, but I am worried since it says max tensile load of 70.5, that is barely over the 69.5 the TV weighs without the stand.

I know there are cheepies on Amazon, but I would like a sturdy well built mount. Anyone have any feedback on this? Thanks!
Monoprice FTW
Trojan35 is offline  
post #4240 of 19376 Old 08-29-2018, 06:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbalder19 View Post
How would you explain that one guy who had real bad artifacts on logan blu ray, replaced it, and it was way better? Is it just panel variance that calibration will fix? And is it normal for that to happen on tvs..That pausing a tv stops the problem but motion makes it worse?


Yep that would be me, the replacement is miles better.
Not going to check gray scales and such for banding on it, not going to look for problems you can’t notice in 99% of content.
Besides, with my Xbox one hooked up, with the grey background I don’t see any banding on that.
Have seen what looked like banding in one scene of it might have been gladiator (which looks stunning btw) but only once in one scene so maybe source don’t know don’t really care am loving this tv.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
shark91962 and Jbhur212 like this.
kil4collingwood is offline  
post #4241 of 19376 Old 08-29-2018, 06:51 PM
Member
 
Fenrir7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danm08 View Post
So is Alexa support something that has not been added yet? I thought it was available with all 2018 models that have webOS 4.0
no one seems to be answering questions regarding Google Assistant and/or Alexa. I have no idea why. I asked several times already and it has gone ignored. haha

I am specifically looking for Google Assistant since I have a google home and even my local LG (Asia) cannot answer my query regarding the absence of Google Assistant on my C8 and all other 2018 models for that matter.

At this point, I'm just praying that it can be added through a firmware update. I know the US models have Google Assistant. Don't think other regions have it though. The one reviewed by rtings.com didn't have Google Assistant.
Fenrir7 is offline  
post #4242 of 19376 Old 08-29-2018, 06:51 PM
Senior Member
 
StumpyBloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
This is the year for the 77" OLED !


Yup and mine is the only one that buzzes


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
StumpyBloke is online now  
post #4243 of 19376 Old 08-29-2018, 06:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fenrir7 View Post
no one seems to be answering questions regarding Google Assistant and/or Alexa. I have no idea why. I asked several times already and it has gone ignored. haha



I am specifically looking for Google Assistant since I have a google home and even my local LG (Asia) cannot answer my query regarding the absence of Google Assistant on my C8 and all other 2018 models for that matter.



At this point, I'm just praying that it can be added through a firmware update. I know the US models have Google Assistant. Don't think other regions have it though. The one reviewed by rtings.com didn't have Google Assistant.


Haven’t seen anything about it anywhere on my C8, Australian model.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
kil4collingwood is offline  
post #4244 of 19376 Old 08-29-2018, 07:08 PM
Member
 
williamn333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojan35 View Post
Monoprice FTW
Which one? How far from the wall does it stick out? Do you see the mounting brackets below the screen?
williamn333 is offline  
post #4245 of 19376 Old 08-29-2018, 08:03 PM
Member
 
Trojan35's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by williamn333 View Post
Which one? How far from the wall does it stick out? Do you see the mounting brackets below the screen?
https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=6284&gclid=EAIaIQobChMImcPMtOST3QIVkb fsCh2vtAPpEAQYASABEgI5KPD_BwE

.75 bracket plus the width of tv bottom. No sticking out.
Trojan35 is offline  
post #4246 of 19376 Old 08-29-2018, 08:05 PM
Member
 
williamn333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojan35 View Post
https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=6284&gclid=EAIaIQobChMImcPMtOST3QIVkb fsCh2vtAPpEAQYASABEgI5KPD_BwE

.75 bracket plus the width of tv bottom. No sticking out.
How easy is it to get to the cables?
williamn333 is offline  
post #4247 of 19376 Old 08-29-2018, 08:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 4,636
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2296 Post(s)
Liked: 3132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
^lol I guess my other displays that show the same exact effect are just a crazy coincidence
Amen - Wizzywig has evolved to trolling LG at every opportunity. “I discovered this while playing with remote at Best Buy” is right up there with I stayed at a Holiday Inn last night.

If a non-owner posted this crap on a Sony thread the mods would be all over them, but somehow it’s okay on the LG threads. For the record I will be getting a 55” C8 at Costco this weekend. With 90 days to test the display and covered for any holiday price drops, I’m ready to upgrade the bedroom display for football season. I’ve enjoyed my B7 for over a year now and am looking forward to the incremental steps forward on this year’s model. Look forward to being a 2 OLED house. Samsung will go to the living room and a 12 year Sony XBR will be donated - still ticking though.
Cam1977 and Jbhur212 like this.

There is no perfect display, quit looking for faults and enjoy

LG OLED 65” B7 and 55” C8
Ascend's with RAAL, Love my PSA v1800 and a 7.2.4 speaker config, Oppo 203 and other stuff
smurraybhm is offline  
post #4248 of 19376 Old 08-29-2018, 08:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,201
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2905 Post(s)
Liked: 3484
^its always suspect when it's the ole..."well I saw it in the store" gimme a break. A simple google search will reveal that this a common problem not an LG specific problem. Congrats on your C8 btw!
Cam1977 is offline  
post #4249 of 19376 Old 08-29-2018, 08:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BuGsArEtAsTy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: AVS Forum
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 711 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurraybhm View Post
Amen - Wizzywig has evolved to trolling LG at every opportunity. “I discovered this while playing with remote at Best Buy” is right up there with I stayed at a Holiday Inn last night.

If a non-owner posted this crap on a Sony thread the mods would be all over them, but somehow it’s okay on the LG threads. For the record I will be getting a 55” C8 at Costco this weekend. With 90 days to test the display and covered for any holiday price drops, I’m ready to upgrade the bedroom display for football season. I’ve enjoed my B7 for over a year now and am looking forward to the incremental steps forward on this year’s model. Samsung will go to the living room and a 12 year Sony XBR will be donated - still ticking though.
I was pleasantly surprised at just how much of an improvement the C8 was over the B7. I had the B7 for a week and then returned it, not because of picture quality but because Best Buy sold me a package with the B7 and ISF calibration, only to tell me later they can't calibrate HDR. So I said forget it and returned everything and got a C8 from elsewhere.

I expected image quality to be nearly identical, but for certain types of content like noisy encodes, the C8 was actually quite a noticeable improvement. So Best Buy did me quite a favour in retrospect.

Mind you, I just tried out my ancient Toshiba HD-A2 HD DVD player, and the text onscreen is a blurry mess with that thing for some reason. I think it has to do with the fact that it's small text and an 1080i feed.
Cam1977 and mrtickleuk like this.
BuGsArEtAsTy is offline  
post #4250 of 19376 Old 08-29-2018, 08:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,201
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2905 Post(s)
Liked: 3484
^lol good thing you didnt get their calibration imo...way better options out their...you can always hit up D-Nice

Last edited by Cam1977; 08-29-2018 at 08:32 PM.
Cam1977 is offline  
post #4251 of 19376 Old 08-29-2018, 08:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mixdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 2,486
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by balboarules View Post
I have the E6 myself, where were you able to sell it for that much, I do not use the 3D, and I would like an upgrade.

Thanks
Ebay.

Sony XBR75Z9D
LG 65 B7P
Sony XBR65X930E
Martin Logan Spires
Seaton Submersive Pair
Mixdoctor is offline  
post #4252 of 19376 Old 08-29-2018, 08:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kil4collingwood View Post
Yep that would be me, the replacement is miles better.
Not going to check gray scales and such for banding on it, not going to look for problems you can’t notice in 99% of content.
Besides, with my Xbox one hooked up, with the grey background I don’t see any banding on that.
Have seen what looked like banding in one scene of it might have been gladiator (which looks stunning btw) but only once in one scene so maybe source don’t know don’t really care am loving this tv.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Did you break in the first one? (Get over 200 hours on it)
jbalder19 is offline  
post #4253 of 19376 Old 08-29-2018, 09:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbalder19 View Post
Did you break in the first one? (Get over 200 hours on it)


The picture was absolutely terrible, no way I was accepting that out of the box


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
kil4collingwood is offline  
post #4254 of 19376 Old 08-29-2018, 11:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 819 Post(s)
Liked: 802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wizziwig View Post
You could be right regarding this being a 2017/2018 specific artifact. But maybe you just didn't see it on the C6 generation because these colors were crushed to black? As you say, those sets had even worse problems with distorted near-black gradation even without motion, I first spotted this problem purely by accident while messing around with the B7 remote at the store last year. I somehow got into an image zoom mode (later found it was their live-zoom feature) and while trying to get out of this mode I started panning the image. When you're in that live-zoom mode, you can freely pan around the image and even pause a video playing in the background (good for testing videos with compression artifacts). I immediately noticed that something weird was happening to dark colors that were being moved via the remote panning. Same exact thing was visible when I unpaused the video and those same pixels started moving.

I attached a screenshot from a scene that I think showed it pretty bad. You can just open this image in their built-in photo viewer via USB. Zoom it slightly (maybe 120%), then start panning it up/down, left/right. You can probably also do this via HDMI input if your player has a photo viewer with zoom and pan ability. Or just use the live-zoom feature on the LG remote to move the image around. You need to be in a relatively dark room to best see this. I didn't try checking if any of the other picture preset modes fixed it, but it was definitely visible in isf dark.

Good luck getting LG to fix this. I think it's a panel-level design problem but we would need someone owning a Sony or Panny to confirm.

I just tried your picture and it shows the issue perfectly when using the live-zoom to pan around. Certain parts of the picture will light up and it looks really ugly. Same result if I display it in a borderless window (on pc) and move it around with my mouse. In my opinion this is a major flaw and if the panel replacement doesn't fix this or at least make it considerably better I might be inclined to get rid of the C8 and take a look at other manufacturers.


BTW it's really funny how some people are in complete denial about this issue instead of just testing if their set is affected and reporting.
jk82 is offline  
post #4255 of 19376 Old 08-29-2018, 11:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,201
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2905 Post(s)
Liked: 3484
Quote:
Originally Posted by jk82 View Post
It's only specific colored near-blacks causing this, so you can't just take any random dark scene with compression artifacts. Just try Wizziwig's screenshot from the previous page and use live-zoom to pan around.
I've tried it and saw nothing...but he ain't the best source on here as we are very aware of his distaste for oled. And trust me if I see something wrong I post it, a couple of pages ago I was complaining of DV raised blacks via hdmi...Hopefully in your case you get a better replacement, but remember these things have to break in, and near black out of the box sux... and one thing...wizziwig is not an owner of any generation oled, so please take some of his opinions with a big cup of salt. Now for the sake of argument, sets can come with defects no tech is immune to it...but as picky as we all are we would have alot more complaints...if you look through a magnifying glass you'll always find something...
smurraybhm and Jbhur212 like this.

Last edited by Cam1977; 08-30-2018 at 12:26 AM.
Cam1977 is offline  
post #4256 of 19376 Old 08-30-2018, 01:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Just got a 65'' C8

Anyone knows if anime industry uses the D65 color standard? I have a Your Name 4k HDR blu-ray and I'd like to watch it on the settings that present the colors accurately as intended by the creators. Would Technicolor Expert be the best mode to watch it?

What picture modes are you guys using to watch SDR and HDR anime?
heavymetalmage likes this.
cloudlionheart is offline  
post #4257 of 19376 Old 08-30-2018, 04:11 AM
Member
 
Trojan35's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by williamn333 View Post
How easy is it to get to the cables?
Rear ports aren’t really accessible with it mounted. Side HDMIs are doable but not easy. Both the TV and wall mount are thin.

Good news is TV is very light, so it’s no where near as difficult to hang and remove vs my 96lbs sharp it replaces. Still a two person job though.
Trojan35 is offline  
post #4258 of 19376 Old 08-30-2018, 06:10 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fenrir7 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danm08 View Post
So is Alexa support something that has not been added yet? I thought it was available with all 2018 models that have webOS 4.0
no one seems to be answering questions regarding Google Assistant and/or Alexa. I have no idea why. I asked several times already and it has gone ignored. haha

I am specifically looking for Google Assistant since I have a google home and even my local LG (Asia) cannot answer my query regarding the absence of Google Assistant on my C8 and all other 2018 models for that matter.

At this point, I'm just praying that it can be added through a firmware update. I know the US models have Google Assistant. Don't think other regions have it though. The one reviewed by rtings.com didn't have Google Assistant.
My TV has the option in the home menu to “Set Up TV For Google Assistant”, but not for amazon echo.

However, I was looking through the notifications on my tv from when I first turned it on, and there was one about a future software update with “major changes” including speech recognition and external device connectivity. It says this update is to be rolled out progressively in September. So I would imagine this is the update that’s adding Alexa support.
Danm08 is offline  
post #4259 of 19376 Old 08-30-2018, 06:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wizziwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 3,489
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2194 Post(s)
Liked: 1475
Quote:
Originally Posted by jk82 View Post
I just tried your picture and it shows the issue perfectly when using the live-zoom to pan around. Certain parts of the picture will light up and it looks really ugly. Same result if I display it in a borderless window (on pc) and move it around with my mouse. In my opinion this is a major flaw and if the panel replacement doesn't fix this or at least make it considerably better I might be inclined to get rid of the C8 and take a look at other manufacturers.


BTW it's really funny how some people are in complete denial about this issue instead of just testing if their set is affected and reporting.
FYI, I received a PM from a 2017 Sony A1E owner who sees the same problem. So as I suspected, it's a panel-level issue and unlikely to get fixed via a software update.

As previously mentioned, none of my other displays have this issue showing the same scene. That includes plasma, mobile OLED, LCD monitors, or DLP and LCOS projectors. Imagine a camera pan during that scene and you get an idea how bad this looked in context. Hope you somehow find a solution you're happy with.

Edit: Regarding the people in denial... unfortunately this ceased to be a science forum many years ago. Nobody is interested in actually testing and debugging any of the issues now.
jk82 likes this.

Last edited by Wizziwig; 08-30-2018 at 06:33 AM.
Wizziwig is offline  
post #4260 of 19376 Old 08-30-2018, 06:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
LiQiCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Potomac Falls, VA
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danm08 View Post
So is Alexa support something that has not been added yet? I thought it was available with all 2018 models that have webOS 4.0
The Alexa integration for LG TVs is in a skill in the Alexa Skills store. It requires you have a separate Alexa enabled device like an Amazon Echo. It doesn't work the same way that Google is integrated into the TV.

This is the skill you want: https://www.amazon.com/LG-Electronic.../dp/B07BBJFDCC

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbalder19 View Post
How would you explain that one guy who had real bad artifacts on logan blu ray, replaced it, and it was way better? Is it just panel variance that calibration will fix? And is it normal for that to happen on tvs..That pausing a tv stops the problem but motion makes it worse?
I've noticed I can make my screen look like some of the awful examples like the Logan Bluray and some other scenes people have posted that look terrible. I can make it appear manually if I play with the White balance of the TV and raise the luminance up for near black. I also recently bought Calman and a C6 Colorimeter and have been playing with AutoCal and I can say sometimes Autocal will mess up the calibration and will make things look like the above.

So it could be a bad factory calibration that is causing some people to have issues - and that is why a new panel or replacement TV fixes the problem.
jbalder19 likes this.

Last edited by LiQiCE; 08-30-2018 at 07:52 AM.
LiQiCE is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
24p , black deformity , brighter corner , lg b8 , lg c8 , lg oled , lg oled c8 aspect , lg soundbar , light bleed , oled , soap opera effect , soe , sound bar

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off