2018 LG C8-E8 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 235 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 80733Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7021 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 12:23 PM
Senior Member
 
thepiecesfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Mitchell View Post
Is this option only accessible via the Service Menu?

Edit: It is, yes. I read through the Twitter thread and saw the image of the post reporting it.
Yep service menu. As an update on further testing it appears to affect the SDR tone curve. Here is a scene from Goodfellas 1080p Blu-Ray with the setting on Normal and On

Update: Setting OLED Light to 40 for SDR seems to match the 56 with the default.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	HDR_Module.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	487.6 KB
ID:	2473466  

Last edited by thepiecesfit; 10-25-2018 at 01:05 PM.
thepiecesfit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7022 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 01:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 2,718
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 761 Post(s)
Liked: 1015
I have a question regarding Logo Luminance Adjustment, which does not seem to be answered by the manual, in that the manual is as ambiguous as the on-screen description of this feature.

There are two settings for Logo Luminance Adjustment (in addition to off). They settings are low and high. So when you set it to low, does that mean the brightness of a logo will be low, or does it mean that the amount of the adjustment is low? Or to put it another way, if you want to dim the logos, do you set the adjustment to high or low?


P.S. This reminds me of some comedian's routine where he was talking about driving to the airport and was trying to figure out if he should go to "Arrivals" or "Departures." He says, "well, I'm arriving at the airport but I'm departing on a plane. So which one do I choose?"
smitty is offline  
post #7023 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 01:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,153
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1178 Post(s)
Liked: 1053
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBO View Post
Care to share the model info of the meters you use? I just started trying to research some calibration light meters and cannot decide which are adequate for my 77C8.

I use a Jeti 1211 as my reference meter and a Klein K10-A as my read meter.


If you are just starting out then I would suggest a X-Rite oem i1display color meter. Most calibration software like Calman enthusiast (if planing on doing 3DLUT) or HCFR (free) will have a generic profile for OLED and i1display. If you are looking for a light meter to profile your color meter for your C8 then I would suggest a i1Pro 2 meter.


Hope this helps.


ss
RBO and smurraybhm like this.

"Don't worry be happy"
LG77C8, Klein K10-A, Jeti 1211, CMS Lightspace, Calman home plus licence for K10-A, Murideo 6G.
sillysally is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7024 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 02:05 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,069
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3448 Post(s)
Liked: 2507
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty View Post
I have a question regarding Logo Luminance Adjustment, which does not seem to be answered by the manual, in that the manual is as ambiguous as the on-screen description of this feature.

There are two settings for Logo Luminance Adjustment (in addition to off). They settings are low and high. So when you set it to low, does that mean the brightness of a logo will be low, or does it mean that the amount of the adjustment is low? Or to put it another way, if you want to dim the logos, do you set the adjustment to high or low?


P.S. This reminds me of some comedian's routine where he was talking about driving to the airport and was trying to figure out if he should go to "Arrivals" or "Departures." He says, "well, I'm arriving at the airport but I'm departing on a plane. So which one do I choose?"
I believe the recommendation is to set it to Low. That's what I've done. I think the Low setting is not quite as aggressive as the High setting so it's a "gentler" way, for want of a better term, to help prevent logo retention.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #7025 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 03:14 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,716
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3847 Post(s)
Liked: 3085
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty View Post
I have a question regarding Logo Luminance Adjustment, which does not seem to be answered by the manual, in that the manual is as ambiguous as the on-screen description of this feature.

There are two settings for Logo Luminance Adjustment (in addition to off). They settings are low and high. So when you set it to low, does that mean the brightness of a logo will be low, or does it mean that the amount of the adjustment is low? Or to put it another way, if you want to dim the logos, do you set the adjustment to high or low?


P.S. This reminds me of some comedian's routine where he was talking about driving to the airport and was trying to figure out if he should go to "Arrivals" or "Departures." He says, "well, I'm arriving at the airport but I'm departing on a plane. So which one do I choose?"
If you like your images unmolested, turn it off. What it really does is dim an entire section of the screen, and in some cases it might dim half or the entire screen. Its stupid and doesn't know what its doing. Any small bright part of the image might get dimmed.

"Low" setting means that the screen dimes just a little, "High" means that it dimes a lot. "Off" means that you see what you were intended to see.
smitty likes this.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #7026 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 03:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 2,718
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 761 Post(s)
Liked: 1015
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
If you like your images unmolested, turn it off. What it really does is dim an entire section of the screen, and in some cases it might dim half or the entire screen. Its stupid and doesn't know what its doing. Any small bright part of the image might get dimmed.

"Low" setting means that the screen dimes just a little, "High" means that it dimes a lot. "Off" means that you see what you were intended to see.
Well this might explain my confusion in using the setting. Because when I tried changing from low to high and I was looking directly at the logo to see what would happen, I didn't really notice any difference in the brightness of the logo.
smitty is offline  
post #7027 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 03:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
TallCoolOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by thepiecesfit View Post
I was having issues the past week after updating the firmware. Constant issues despite bandwidth being 400mbps on the speed test. Finally yesterday the software crashed and none of my apps connected and kept freezing. So I powered down pulled the cord. Once it came back it has been fine since. I think LG needs to add a reset function as most of the time it's in standby. The NETFLIX app doesnt exactly quit.
I was having some issues too with Netflix buffering a lot and I just have to stop playing and then resume the video to get it back. I turned off "Quick Start" in the TV settings and so far so good, I watched 2 whole episodes of Daredevil last night with no interruptions. Now it could just be coincidence based on my limited viewing since changing the setting, but I read on older LG sets this was a common setting to disable for Network issues.

I believe disabling Quick Start means to shut down fully rather than a standby mode. I do notice after changing this setting it says to wait while loading Netflix if I try to run it right after turning the TV on.
TallCoolOne is offline  
post #7028 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 03:54 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,716
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3847 Post(s)
Liked: 3085
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty View Post
Well this might explain my confusion in using the setting. Because when I tried changing from low to high and I was looking directly at the logo to see what would happen, I didn't really notice any difference in the brightness of the logo.
Yes, its really pretty useless. If you leave the TV on CNN for hours in torch mode, it might be for you. But it doesn't know the difference between a TV logo and say a lamp on a table in a movie scene.
smitty likes this.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #7029 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 03:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
dallows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well this isn't great... I fired up red dead redemption 1 on the xbox and immediately noticed banding when it became night in-game. I looked at the 5% test and there's a good amount of banding with a very dark vertical line more towards the right of the panel.

This is after about 120hrs and multiple comp cycles.

This one might go back.

Edit: added pic
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20181025_175840.jpg
Views:	125
Size:	908.5 KB
ID:	2473698  

Last edited by dallows; 10-25-2018 at 04:42 PM.
dallows is offline  
post #7030 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 04:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tigerfan33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 218
You can check out 4k HDR on fuboTV tonight. Baylor vs West Virginia. The app is on Amazon 4k Fire tv. You can do a week free trial. It is HDR10 and colors are way too saturated. A very nice bright picture will give an idea on how 4k HDR college football looks.
tigerfan33 is online now  
post #7031 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 04:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,062
Mentioned: 180 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4859 Post(s)
Liked: 7150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark350 View Post
Just bought my 65" C8 Is there a link to the DNice slides? Our couch is still a couple weeks away so I figure it's a good time to just let that run since I won't really be watching it right away.
here: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/167-p...l#post23157975 , and please note his warning at the top of his post NOT to use the slides for breaking in.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #7032 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 04:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,062
Mentioned: 180 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4859 Post(s)
Liked: 7150
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty View Post
Well this might explain my confusion in using the setting. Because when I tried changing from low to high and I was looking directly at the logo to see what would happen, I didn't really notice any difference in the brightness of the logo.
Indeed. This is because rdgrimes is not correct (unless it has changed between 04.10.05 and 04.10.06 and he has 04.10.06 maybe!)
But certainly for all firmwares up to 04.10.05, "Low" and "High" only affect the speed at which the TV reacts and dims parts of the screen, and not how much it dims by.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #7033 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 05:16 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,069
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3448 Post(s)
Liked: 2507
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
If you like your images unmolested, turn it off. What it really does is dim an entire section of the screen, and in some cases it might dim half or the entire screen. Its stupid and doesn't know what its doing. Any small bright part of the image might get dimmed.

"Low" setting means that the screen dimes just a little, "High" means that it dimes a lot. "Off" means that you see what you were intended to see.
Interesting. I have mine set on Low and have not noticed any dimming of an entire section of the screen under any viewing conditions. In fact, I've played with Off, Low, and High and have been hard pressed to notice any real difference in the logo or screen behavior.
smitty likes this.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #7034 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 05:24 PM
RBO
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Suburbia, USA
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 355
@sillysally
Good to know. Thanks again.

Russ (another one)
LG65 & 77C8PUA / Bose Soundbar 700 / OPPO UDP205 / Verizon FIOS TV One

"There are consequences to breaking the heart of a murdering b*****d." - BILL
C8/E8 Questions? Try JCC's_FAQ Or LiQiCE's_Wiki
RBO is offline  
post #7035 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 05:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 2,718
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 761 Post(s)
Liked: 1015
I have a question about the C8's upscaling abilities. I am coming from a 7-year old Panasonic plasma and watching Directv through a Genie-2 receiver. Most of the material I'm watching is 1080p. It seems to me that I'm seeing a lot more variability in the quality of the picture than I did with my Panasonic plasma. Sometimes the picture (I'm talking about resolution) is quite remarkable, while other times it seems sort of fuzzy -- but very slightly so. And when they show stuff that is really old, it really looks krappy (which is to expected). Maybe it's just my imagination, but sometimes the degree of resolution even seems to vary from commercial to commercial.

Assuming there is nothing wrong with the TV and nothing wrong with my brain (the second assumption might be debatable), why would it be that the C8 would tend to show more variability in terms of the quality of the 1080p picture? In other words, why would I notice the difference in the quality of the source material less on my previous set?

Has anybody else experienced this?
smitty is offline  
post #7036 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 05:25 PM
Senior Member
 
dave1812dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrocker23 View Post
I don't know if streaming rules, mostly because you don't get full quality with streaming. Especially uhd 4k content.

Also physical media especially uhd 4k is doing very well in sales.

Unfortunately, internet speeds are not great everywhere & a lot of people have data caps so streaming is out of the question for some

I do use streaming but when I want the best quality, I turn to disc

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

Streaming is easier. Streaming to my OLED's looks great with the built-in apps. Not so great on a Fire TV.
I have gone to a huge Rasputin store in San Jose and though they have a TON of physical media, very little sales are going on there. I dispute your claim that physical media is doing "very well".
I have a 1TB cap and never exceed it despite being online much of the day and watching a boat load of 4K stuff for hours. We are talking about two people streaming (4k, lower res stuff, music hour after hour, browsing, you name it, we are on the net a ton) throughout the day.
When I want quality I don't feel as if I'm giving away anything by watching 4K shows that stream. Having said that, I don't like the look of a lot of shows on Amazon Prime. There content, to me, looks inferior. It is often jerky.



Rather than a back and forth over each other's arguments, let's leave it here and agree to disagree, please. I deplore extended arguments. thanks!

LG OLED55B7 -LG OLED65C8 - Marantz NR1608
dave1812dave is offline  
post #7037 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 05:28 PM
Senior Member
 
dave1812dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty View Post
In other words, why would I notice the difference in the quality of the source material less on my previous set?

Has anybody else experienced this?

the better a display (or music system sounds) looks, the more variable in appearance different content will look (or sound). it's the nature of having high "resolution" products.
Jrocker23 and mrtickleuk like this.

LG OLED55B7 -LG OLED65C8 - Marantz NR1608
dave1812dave is offline  
post #7038 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 05:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,165
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 733 Post(s)
Liked: 705
2018 LG C8-E8 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk)

I wasnt arguing with you, I was just stating how I feel about it based off my experience & facts about both streaming & disc

Its fine that people like what they like.

Living Room: LG OLED65C9, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedrooms: LG OLED65C8, LG OLED55C6, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
LG C6PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-OLED55C6P.AUS
LG C8PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
LG C9PUA/AUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #7039 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 05:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,165
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 733 Post(s)
Liked: 705
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave1812dave View Post
Streaming is easier. Streaming to my OLED's looks great with the built-in apps. Not so great on a Fire TV.
I have gone to a huge Rasputin store in San Jose and though they have a TON of physical media, very little sales are going on there. I dispute your claim that physical media is doing "very well".
I have a 1TB cap and never exceed it despite being online much of the day and watching a boat load of 4K stuff for hours. We are talking about two people streaming (4k, lower res stuff, music hour after hour, browsing, you name it, we are on the net a ton) throughout the day.
When I want quality I don't feel as if I'm giving away anything by watching 4K shows that stream. Having said that, I don't like the look of a lot of shows on Amazon Prime. There content, to me, looks inferior. It is often jerky.



Rather than a back and forth over each other's arguments, let's leave it here and agree to disagree, please. I deplore extended arguments. thanks!
I wasnt arguing with you, I was just stating how I feel about it based off my experience & facts about both streaming & disc

Its fine that people like what they like.


Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
dave1812dave likes this.

Living Room: LG OLED65C9, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedrooms: LG OLED65C8, LG OLED55C6, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
LG C6PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-OLED55C6P.AUS
LG C8PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
LG C9PUA/AUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #7040 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 05:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Lee L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Morrisville, NC USA
Posts: 2,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty View Post
I have a question about the C8's upscaling abilities. I am coming from a 7-year old Panasonic plasma and watching Directv through a Genie-2 receiver. Most of the material I'm watching is 1080p. It seems to me that I'm seeing a lot more variability in the quality of the picture than I did with my Panasonic plasma. Sometimes the picture (I'm talking about resolution) is quite remarkable, while other times it seems sort of fuzzy -- but very slightly so. And when they show stuff that is really old, it really looks krappy (which is to expected). Maybe it's just my imagination, but sometimes the degree of resolution even seems to vary from commercial to commercial.

Assuming there is nothing wrong with the TV and nothing wrong with my brain (the second assumption might be debatable), why would it be that the C8 would tend to show more variability in terms of the quality of the 1080p picture? In other words, why would I notice the difference in the quality of the source material less on my previous set?

Has anybody else experienced this?
I went from a 2007 58” Panny plasma to the 77C8 and also notice some stuff looks bad. I'm attribute it to the larger TV form the most part.

XBOX Live: SheriffTruman
Lee L is offline  
post #7041 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 06:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
mrpickem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 366 Post(s)
Liked: 225
The 4.10.06 firmware was just posted to lg site today link
File is dated today, but I doubt it's any different than when it originally came out almost a month back
mrtickleuk likes this.

77C8PUA ~ Media room
75XBR900F ~ Game room
55XBR900E ~ Bedroom
mrpickem is offline  
post #7042 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 07:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 2,718
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 761 Post(s)
Liked: 1015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee L View Post
I went from a 2007 58” Panny plasma to the 77C8 and also notice some stuff looks bad. I'm attribute it to the larger TV form the most part.
Yeah, that makes sense, as that is a big jump. But I went only from a 60" to a 65" and the 65" viewing distance is actually a little longer. I was thinking it might be due to the phenomenon that dave1812 mentions above, but I wasn't sure.
smitty is offline  
post #7043 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 07:09 PM
Senior Member
 
pennywise666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 287 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Mitchell View Post
Is this option only accessible via the Service Menu?

Edit: It is, yes. I read through the Twitter thread and saw the image of the post reporting it.

This is old news,tried it a few weeks ago, really nice and all, but who gives a F when you have to re enable the setting each time you turn on the tv.
pennywise666 is offline  
post #7044 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 07:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,069
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3448 Post(s)
Liked: 2507
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty View Post
Yeah, that makes sense, as that is a big jump. But I went only from a 60" to a 65" and the 65" viewing distance is actually a little longer. I was thinking it might be due to the phenomenon that dave1812 mentions above, but I wasn't sure.
I have a 47" LG LCD downstairs and a brand new 65" LG C8 upstairs. With the same programming on cable (yes, I have run up and down the stairs to compare ) the C8 seems a bit softer on some programming than the 47" so I just attribute that to the size. Cable is normally bad to begin with but every now and then a program appears that just looks phenomenal on the C8. The ATV4k and the UHD BD player are just plain amazing. The viewing distance is about the same (10' - 12').
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #7045 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 07:34 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,537
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6668 Post(s)
Liked: 6656
Quote:
Originally Posted by vince48 View Post
Yea, I know Chris, but the hassle of shipping and people not being honest with their intentions. I still enjoy 3D, just watched Imax Grand Canyon Adventure 3D, wow. But for the right price and no games, i can let my E6P go.
You will never know unless you try, E-Bay, Craig's list, and here in the classified section. Local pickup, Cash only. I sold some "personal" amps myself thru here

Quote:
Originally Posted by waltinaz View Post
ISSUE ALERT!!

This is the only issue that I’m having with my 77C8...well, that, coupled with football and the baseball playoffs. Not enough time in the days to watch this incredible and stunning TV!
Well said........
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #7046 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 09:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Hi all,

I'm a new owner of LG 65C8 about a month now.

When I first got it the picture was dark and details were missed in 4k hdr & sdr content.

Now Blacks in most movies 4k hdr & sdr are grey and it's like I am watching a movie on an LED screen not OLED and my picture settings are:

HDR-10 Picture Mode: technicolor Expert

BASIC SETTINGS:
OLED LIGHT: 100
Contrast: 100
Brightness: 50
Sharpness: 10
Color: 55
Tint: 0

EXPERT CONTROLS
Dynamic Contrast: Low
Super Resolution: Off
Color Gamut: Auto
Edge Enhancer: Off
Color Filter: Off
Gamma: 2.2 ( default and greyed out )

WHITE BALANCE
Color Temperature: Warm1
Method: 2 Points
High - R: -5, G: -3, B: 3
Low - R: 1 G: -1, B: -3

PICTURE OPTIONS
Noise Reduction : Off
MPEG Noise Reduction: Off
Black Level: Low
Real Cinema: On
Motion Eye Care: Off
TrueMotion: Off

My question is what is the best settings for the LG 65 C8 to watch movies 4K HDR &SDR on an OLED screen?

NOTE: in my country there is no technician Calibration professional can make it for TVs resolving problems with HDR of Sdr shadow details and Hdr impact, Otherwise I'm gonna mess around with settings for the rest of my time and still won't be satisfied so, please help me

Your highly response will appreciated.

Regards.

Last edited by icic2018; 10-25-2018 at 09:13 PM.
icic2018 is online now  
post #7047 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 09:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,440
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3051 Post(s)
Liked: 3737
^turn off dynamic contrast...if you dont have dynamic tone mapping on try turning it on and see if that helps. In addition switch from warm 1 to warm 2 and try resetting white balance to default values. Hope this helps.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #7048 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 09:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
^turn off dynamic contrast...if you dont have dynamic tone mapping on try turning it on and see if that helps. In addition switch from warm 1 to warm 2 and try resetting white balance to default values. Hope this helps.


Hi unfortunately I did before turning the dynamic on and didn't help same issue also I did the warm 2 but it was so dark..

Thanks for your reply.
icic2018 is online now  
post #7049 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 09:36 PM
Senior Member
 
thepiecesfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by pennywise666 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Mitchell View Post
Is this option only accessible via the Service Menu?

Edit: It is, yes. I read through the Twitter thread and saw the image of the post reporting it.

This is old news,tried it a few weeks ago, really nice and all, but who gives a F when you have to re enable the setting each time you turn on the tv.
Not the case for me. Already turned the set off and on several times and the setting didn’t change.
thepiecesfit is offline  
post #7050 of 21633 Old 10-25-2018, 11:31 PM
Senior Member
 
pennywise666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 287 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by thepiecesfit View Post
Not the case for me. Already turned the set off and on several times and the setting didn’t change.

maybe because its different with the .06 firmware? i'm still on .05 here.
pennywise666 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
24p , black deformity , blu-ray , brighter corner , hdmi , hdmi audio missing , lg b8 , lg c8 , lg c8 oled , lg oled , lg oled c8 aspect , lg soundbar , light bleed , oled , soap opera effect , soe , sound bar

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off