2018 LG C8-E8 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 310 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 80759Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9271 of 21667 Old 12-04-2018, 08:09 PM
Senior Member
 
calfcramp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Markalark View Post
Calf, can you be a hero and point me in the direction of what this entails? I checked the thread and can’t find the info. Just people saying it worked haha


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Okay, I am going to try to make this as clear and step by step for people that don't have patience like myself!{Just remember, after these instructions, you brick your TV, I'm out of the office!}

1. Enter service menu with button named IN START on a service remote.

2. Enter 0413 into the 4 digit boxes.

3. Service menu comes up. In the middle section go down with the arrow on the remote down, to SYSTEM 2.

4. Hit the okay button, to move to the third section over.

5. Use the arrow button down until you get to NSU.

6. Hit the right arrow button and it will change from USER to ENGINEERING MODE.

7. Hit IN START 2 times. It will take you from section 3, to section 2 and then exit the service menu.

8. Bring up user menu, go to general, about TV, check for update, download and you're good to go!
Markalark likes this.

Last edited by calfcramp; 12-04-2018 at 08:12 PM.
calfcramp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9272 of 21667 Old 12-04-2018, 08:17 PM
Member
 
bertk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty View Post
Yes, I'm a long time Directv subscriber and they really hosed me over with this same issue. I called them on another issue in August and they recommended upgrading my older receivers to the new mini-genies. I said I was good with that, as I was going to get a 4k TV in the next month or so and I wanted to be upgraded for that. Told the installer the same thing, and I agreed to pay $99 for the upgrade and signed on for 2 more years.

Turns out they didn't install a 4k receiver, which I found out after I got my 65 C8 and called them to get 4K "turned on." Apparently, they have a company rule that they don't install a 4k receiver unless you already have a 4k TV. But they didn't tell me that when I placed the order for the upgrade and the installer said nothing about that either. If they had informed me, I would have waited to upgrade my receiver and extend my contract.

Called them to talk about this and get the new 4K receiver and spoke to 5 different reps over 2 hours, all of whom told me something different. Finally ended up that they wanted to charge me $350 to come out and upgrade the receivers to 4K. So I passed.

I'm going to punish them somehow -- been a loyal customer since 1999 -- I just haven't figured out how yet.
I have been a long time subscriber also. I did cancel when my daughter subscribed. A year ago I submitte and that turned into a horror show. After telling the Costco rep she is going to try getting my upgrade for free. I’ll deside to go ahead with it after talking to the Costco rep and the DirecTV technician and before the hardware is installed.

Denon X3400H | Klipsch RP-280F | RP-450C | RP-240S | RP-500SA | Monolith 12" THX Subwoofer X2
Panasonic UB-820 Player | LG OLED65C8 TV | DirecTV HR54/200 | AppleTV 4K l Monoprice Certified HDMI Cables
bertk is offline  
post #9273 of 21667 Old 12-04-2018, 08:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,083
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3455 Post(s)
Liked: 2508
Quote:
Originally Posted by calfcramp View Post
{Just remember, after these instructions, you brick your TV, I'm out of the office!}
I certainly hope @Markalark read and understood that very carefully.
calfcramp and Markalark like this.
Otto Pylot is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9274 of 21667 Old 12-04-2018, 08:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
leiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: sanfrancisco
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 26
x box x brightness settings

I plugged in my brand new Xbox x. Do people use game mode picture setting on this? I know that's new with this year's model TV that it does 60fps 4K for games but that's only for PC not Xbox right? so I'm using technicolor mode for sdr games so far. Should I leave the gamma at default BT. 1886 or move it to 2.2 as Xbox calibration page suggests? On Xbox calibration setting page I had to increase brightness to 60 to pass the test but when I put in Assassin's Creed Odyssey the game has its own brightness test in which I needed to reduce brightness down to 48 to pass the test. Or during the game test am I supposed to use the analog stick to adjust brightness like it suggests and leave my TV brightness at 60? Do people calibrate brightnesses different depending on the game they're playing? I've been out of gaming for a while. To pass the contrast test I went up to 95. But decided it looked too bright for me and settled on 88. In the Xbox settings it says TV is incapable of hr10 gaming and in Assassin's Creed Odyssey HDR setting is grayed out. Is this wrong? I'm using the included HDMI cable into HDMI input 1

Last edited by leiff; 12-04-2018 at 08:44 PM.
leiff is offline  
post #9275 of 21667 Old 12-04-2018, 08:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 169
I have been away for a couple of weeks, playing catch-up. I am still waiting on the update, didn't even know it was available until today! I do have a question, I saw that people were switching to warm1, are you all still using that or did you switch back to warm2? Just curious, I switched over to warm1 while watching Nightflyers tonight to see, still deciding!
RavenBF is offline  
post #9276 of 21667 Old 12-04-2018, 08:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,443
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3053 Post(s)
Liked: 3737
^I was in the same boat as well, but I've decided to keep it on warm 1 for both sdr/hdr, it's cooler, but not too excessive.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #9277 of 21667 Old 12-04-2018, 08:48 PM
Member
 
bertk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Yes, Video Conversion is the parent option, and if you turn that if i'll disable on the on-screen menus AND all video processing. That's throwing the baby out with the bathwater

But to get the Denon not to scale the video and leave it as 1080i, all you need to do is:
  • Video Conversion ON (to get menus and onscreen volume)
  • i/p Scaler OFF (to disable processing)
Yes, this works well. Best of both worlds.
The Broadcast Resolution shows 1080i. At this point is the set upscaling to 2160p?

Denon X3400H | Klipsch RP-280F | RP-450C | RP-240S | RP-500SA | Monolith 12" THX Subwoofer X2
Panasonic UB-820 Player | LG OLED65C8 TV | DirecTV HR54/200 | AppleTV 4K l Monoprice Certified HDMI Cables
bertk is offline  
post #9278 of 21667 Old 12-04-2018, 09:03 PM
Member
 
bertk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJHXBR View Post
So your set is receiving a 1080i broadcast signal.
Here are some pictures of a CNN 1080i broadcast on my C8
Some of the closeups look good while the rest looks soft, unfocused, blurry IMO.
With video conversation now ON and i/p scaler OFF the PQ is very very good for DTV. One thing I have noticed on news channels is onset video is much better than offset remote video in some cases.

Denon X3400H | Klipsch RP-280F | RP-450C | RP-240S | RP-500SA | Monolith 12" THX Subwoofer X2
Panasonic UB-820 Player | LG OLED65C8 TV | DirecTV HR54/200 | AppleTV 4K l Monoprice Certified HDMI Cables
bertk is offline  
post #9279 of 21667 Old 12-04-2018, 09:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Mile High City
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by calfcramp View Post
Okay, I am going to try to make this as clear and step by step for people that don't have patience like myself!{Just remember, after these instructions, you brick your TV, I'm out of the office!}



1. Enter service menu with button named IN START on a service remote.



2. Enter 0413 into the 4 digit boxes.



3. Service menu comes up. In the middle section go down with the arrow on the remote down, to SYSTEM 2.



4. Hit the okay button, to move to the third section over.



5. Use the arrow button down until you get to NSU.



6. Hit the right arrow button and it will change from USER to ENGINEERING MODE.



7. Hit IN START 2 times. It will take you from section 3, to section 2 and then exit the service menu.



8. Bring up user menu, go to general, about TV, check for update, download and you're good to go!


Thank you for the very, very detailed instructions calf.

I am one impatient dude too, but after weighing the odds and the fact that I couldn’t even hit yes when I thought I did when the update first prompted, I’ll wait till I can get it again.

Plus, did you have to order a service remote for LG? Don’t have one or a Harmony either unfortunately.

Thanks again calf! Will be useful for the future if I get the courage and remote haha.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Markalark is offline  
post #9280 of 21667 Old 12-04-2018, 09:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 2,719
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 761 Post(s)
Liked: 1015
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewTT View Post
Tom Cruise cares about your TV experience...lol...

https://www.theverge.com/2018/12/4/1...pher-mcquarrie
I heard he's going to "disconnect" from anybody who doesn't agree with him.
smitty is online now  
post #9281 of 21667 Old 12-04-2018, 09:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 2,719
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 761 Post(s)
Liked: 1015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
^I was in the same boat as well, but I've decided to keep it on warm 1 for both sdr/hdr, it's cooler, but not too excessive.
I prefer warm 1 also.
Cam1977 likes this.
smitty is online now  
post #9282 of 21667 Old 12-04-2018, 09:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Mile High City
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 51
2018 LG C8-E8 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk)

Removed

Last edited by Markalark; 12-04-2018 at 09:50 PM. Reason: Deleted
Markalark is offline  
post #9283 of 21667 Old 12-04-2018, 09:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 2,719
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 761 Post(s)
Liked: 1015
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayDeePee View Post
By the way I'm in Southern CA and I got the firmware update Monday morning. I have auto update set to on.
Interesting. I'm in So. Cal. and still don't have the update, but I have the auto update set to off and I manually check for an update. I'll have to turn it on auto.
Markalark likes this.
smitty is online now  
post #9284 of 21667 Old 12-04-2018, 09:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 2,719
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 761 Post(s)
Liked: 1015
Quote:
Originally Posted by calfcramp View Post
I broke down because I have as much patience as my 11 year old girl! I changed it to engineering and the update came right through after checking for it! I am so weak!
LOL. Brings to mind that great Niedermayer line from Animal House: "You're ALL worthless and weak. Now drop and give me twenty!"
calfcramp and Cam1977 like this.
smitty is online now  
post #9285 of 21667 Old 12-04-2018, 09:27 PM
Senior Member
 
calfcramp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Markalark View Post
Thank you for the very, very detailed instructions calf.

I am one impatient dude too, but after weighing the odds and the fact that I couldn’t even hit yes when I thought I did when the update first prompted, I’ll wait till I can get it again.

Plus, did you have to order a service remote for LG? Don’t have one or a Harmony either unfortunately.

Thanks again calf! Will be useful for the future if I get the courage and remote haha.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I bought mine on Ebay for 12 dollars! I have read people getting into the SM, with a Logitech Harmony Remote. NO way, I am doing that with 2000 dollar item. If I am going to to screw up my TV, it's going to be with something made from the TV manufacturer!!
Markalark likes this.
calfcramp is offline  
post #9286 of 21667 Old 12-04-2018, 09:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Mile High City
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by calfcramp View Post
I bought mine on Ebay for 12 dollars! I have read people getting into the SM, with a Logitech Harmony Remote. NO way, I am doing that with 2000 dollar item. If I am going to to screw up my TV, it's going to be with something made from the TV manufacturer!!


Yeah the LG remote is the route I would go if I were to do it! Thanks again bud!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Markalark is offline  
post #9287 of 21667 Old 12-04-2018, 09:53 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Would manually installing the 04.10.15 firmware from the LG Austrian page brick the tv?
w w w.l g.com/at/service/service-produkt/lg-OLED55C8LLA

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
ippididaabidoo is offline  
post #9288 of 21667 Old 12-04-2018, 10:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
leiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: sanfrancisco
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 26
My Xbox x won't play my 4K Blu-ray movies in HDR mode on this TV either. Google searching and a lot of hits came up for 2017 last year's LG OLED but not much about this year's model the C8 like I have.
leiff is offline  
post #9289 of 21667 Old 12-04-2018, 10:30 PM
Senior Member
 
thepiecesfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by leiff View Post
My Xbox x won't play my 4K Blu-ray movies in HDR mode on this TV either. Google searching and a lot of hits came up for 2017 last year's LG OLED but not much about this year's model the C8 like I have.
Do you have deep color enabled on your HDMI input? It’s required for HDR. Should be at Picture > Additional Settings.
thepiecesfit is offline  
post #9290 of 21667 Old 12-04-2018, 10:39 PM
RBO
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Suburbia, USA
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 355
@calfcramp and @Markalark

After updating your fw, you guys went back into the SM and reverted from Engineer back to User mode, right?

Russ (another one)
LG65 & 77C8PUA / Bose Soundbar 700 / OPPO UDP205 / Verizon FIOS TV One

"There are consequences to breaking the heart of a murdering b*****d." - BILL
C8/E8 Questions? Try JCC's_FAQ Or LiQiCE's_Wiki

Last edited by RBO; 12-04-2018 at 10:44 PM.
RBO is offline  
post #9291 of 21667 Old 12-04-2018, 10:43 PM
RBO
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Suburbia, USA
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 355
LG Service Remote for less than $12

https://www.amazon.com/MKJ39170828-R...service+remote

Russ (another one)
LG65 & 77C8PUA / Bose Soundbar 700 / OPPO UDP205 / Verizon FIOS TV One

"There are consequences to breaking the heart of a murdering b*****d." - BILL
C8/E8 Questions? Try JCC's_FAQ Or LiQiCE's_Wiki
RBO is offline  
post #9292 of 21667 Old 12-04-2018, 11:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
leiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: sanfrancisco
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by thepiecesfit View Post
Do you have deep color enabled on your HDMI input? It’s required for HDR. Should be at Picture > Additional Settings.
that did it. That was the one setting I guess I missed. Is there any reason these deep color settings should ever be off? Wonder why they're off at default?
leiff is offline  
post #9293 of 21667 Old 12-04-2018, 11:21 PM
Senior Member
 
thepiecesfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by leiff View Post
that did it. That was the one setting I guess I missed. Is there any reason these deep color settings should ever be off? Wonder why they're off at default?
Could be wrong but think it's needed to hit 10 or 12 bit color in Rec 2020. I'm guessing the reason for the option is some older devices might not work with that setting on. Perhaps an 'auto' setting from LG would make more sense.
thepiecesfit is offline  
post #9294 of 21667 Old 12-05-2018, 12:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,077
Mentioned: 180 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4868 Post(s)
Liked: 7162
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
So after updating to 04.10.15 here, I watched some Grand Tour HDR and my first impression is that HDR is brighter across the board. IOW not dimming at all that I can see. I may wind up reducing the backlight so it doesn't put my eyes out. I'll have to watch some more content, maybe stuff that's less vivid, to make up my mind.
This is OLED - there's no backlight
lorenzo1000 likes this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #9295 of 21667 Old 12-05-2018, 12:14 AM
Member
 
crazepharmacist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 23
hey couple quick questions for a new c8 owner with a ps4 pro. in ps4 i have rgb range set to full, hdr set to auto, deep color- auto and on my c8 i'm not sure what to set black level to. I think high correlates with rgb full? also some questions on audio- i'm just using the tv speakers now. I have dolby atmos on, i did the one touch sound tuning, and i have the audio preset set to game (since i'm playing games but not sure if that's actually optimal or what it actually does or if i should just leave it to standard). And i'm not sure what adaptive sound control does and if i should leave that off or turn it on. Any thoughts? Thanks.
crazepharmacist is offline  
post #9296 of 21667 Old 12-05-2018, 12:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,077
Mentioned: 180 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4868 Post(s)
Liked: 7162
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayDeePee View Post
The fact that the screen does not dim so much when going from bright to dark scenes improves picture quality for me and I'm sure others can agree. Before some HDR content was too dark for me. Especially scenes that were filmed in the dark. I returned the 1st 65" LG OLED C8 because of it a month ago and got another one to replace it thinking I had a bad TV. Then on my 2nd unit I watched some content before updating firmware and was happy with picture quality. Then I updated firmware and noticed the luminescence bug.
You might not have personally noticed it before you updated the firmware, but as has been mentioned repeatedly, we know that the bug was present since at least firmware 3.00.63.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #9297 of 21667 Old 12-05-2018, 12:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 28
PSA: "C8 does not display complete black in hdr via hdmi" bug and fix (tested with pc and ps4 pro)

This seems to be a serious bug and I'm not sure whether it is because I got a defective panel or every c8 got the same issue, so I advise you that you check yours immediately, and if we all have this issue then maybe we can start tweeting Vincent Teoh or Rtings about this. This issue can easily be unnoticed by many people due to the poor near-black uniformity of OLED and non-pitch-black watching environment.

The issue: Turn on your hdmi device (pc or console) connected to the tv. Turn on the tv. Assume the home screen of your hdmi device is the first thing you see. Play the youtube video: "10 hours and 1 second of pure black screen!" on microsoft edge if you use pc or youtube app if you use game console (mine is ps4 pro). Noted that the device must be in hdr mode. Watch it in a pitch black room. See if the screen turns off completely. Mine doesn't. It's almost black, but I can certainly see it is not completely black; almost like 1-2% grey. You can easily notice this if you're familiar with perfect oled black. Now switch to the native youtube app of the tv. Watch the same video. It's completely black!

Fix: while being on the native youtube app playing the aforementioned video, simply switch back to your hdmi device. Now the video running on your hdmi device will show complete black, similar to the native app. I tested this with my pc and ps4 pro, and not just this full black video but also video games. If I don't do this kind of switch every time I turn on the tv, when using my hdmi devices, scenes that are supposed to be black e.g loading screens will only be near-black. And no, my black level setting (low) matches the hdmi device output (422 12 bit) so there is no raised black here.
Very weird but rather troublesome issue, knowing the only advantage of oled is not being used properly.
Duc Vu is offline  
post #9298 of 21667 Old 12-05-2018, 12:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Would manually installing the 04.10.15 firmware from the LG Austrian page brick the tv?

w w w.l g.com/at/service/service-produkt/lg-OLED55C8LLA

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
ippididaabidoo is offline  
post #9299 of 21667 Old 12-05-2018, 01:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by schwecker View Post
Update:

LG will replace my panel tomorrow. They have determined that his issue is not within specifications and that the whole panel needs to be replaced. They will do so under warranty, so no charge. A technicial will come by tomorrow morning and do this right in my living room.



I will update again once I have checked my new panel. Fingers crossed!


Last update:
LG Tech was just here and replaced the whole panel. Process took about 25 minutes. New panel looks great, issue is gone. Settings and everything still there, because of course the mainboard and everything stay.

I checked the box of the replacement panel. It was shipped by LG on November 18th, so irs fairly new I guess? Are there any differences/silent refreshes by LG to improve the panel over the product lifecycle?

All in all LG has been really great and quick to resolve this to my satisfaction. Unlike Samsung, who I fought with over 6 months because the TV was broken. Great customer service, glad I switched.

EDIT: just to add, I just checked the 5% banding test (I know, I shouldn't, but I had to). Looks gread, you really have to look closely for any uniformity issues now. Of course, the panel will need time and change a bit, but I'm optimistic that this is a better panel than the one my TV shipped with.
Guttboy, ma1746 and mrtickleuk like this.

Last edited by schwecker; 12-05-2018 at 01:27 AM.
schwecker is offline  
post #9300 of 21667 Old 12-05-2018, 01:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guitarguy316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,790
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2102 Post(s)
Liked: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazepharmacist View Post
hey couple quick questions for a new c8 owner with a ps4 pro. in ps4 i have rgb range set to full, hdr set to auto, deep color- auto and on my c8 i'm not sure what to set black level to. I think high correlates with rgb full? also some questions on audio- i'm just using the tv speakers now. I have dolby atmos on, i did the one touch sound tuning, and i have the audio preset set to game (since i'm playing games but not sure if that's actually optimal or what it actually does or if i should just leave it to standard). And i'm not sure what adaptive sound control does and if i should leave that off or turn it on. Any thoughts? Thanks.
PS4 limited and tv black level low.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ippididaabidoo View Post
Would manually installing the 04.10.15 firmware from the LG Austrian page brick the tv?

w w w.l g.com/at/service/service-produkt/lg-OLED55C8LLA

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
It won’t work. USA TVs don’t recognize other firmware except from Korea site.
venkman781 likes this.
guitarguy316 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
24p , black deformity , blu-ray , brighter corner , hdmi , hdmi audio missing , lg b8 , lg c8 , lg c8 oled , lg oled , lg oled c8 aspect , lg soundbar , light bleed , oled , soap opera effect , soe , sound bar

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off