2018 LG C8-E8 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 326 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 78880Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9751 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 08:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
DERG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brown City, Michigan
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBO View Post
I've noticed for years on even my 60" Pioneer Kuro how bad Fox Sports broadcasts are for PQ. I had no idea just how bad though until I started watching this NFL season on my 77" C8. I'm convinced it is a difference of high def cameras they use. You can see, on my 77" anyway, PQ dramatically changes from one camera angle to another in the same game and some shots are horrible. And of course I'm not being critical of the slow to focus shots or the extreme long range shots or the heat blasters distorting the shots. Fox just clearly does not invest as much in state of the art for their sports cameras as the other networks seem to do.

Maybe it's the 720-P60 HD. I always thought NBCs 1080i games looked better, although ABC & ESPN games in 720-P60 HD & look okay.



I don't think this will happen on network broadcast channels but I'm hoping we'll see 4k streaming available for pro & collage football fans for the 2019-20 season.

Man-Cave Home Theater: Sony VPL-VW385ES 4k Projector, CIH, 130" Stewart ScreenWall 2.35:1 1.3 gain, Denon AVR-X4400H, nVidia Shield TV (2017), Oppo BDP-203 Blu-ray Player, 6 - HSU HB-1 MK2 Front & Surrounds, 1 - HSU HC-1 MK2 Center, 4 - HIW-1 Horn In-Wall Speakers (ceiling mount), 2 - HSU VTF-15H Subwoofers.
DERG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9752 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 08:39 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,005
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6395 Post(s)
Liked: 6395
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
^the Thursday night games are the best on Amazon hands down, especially on these!
That is where I watch, looks good
calfcramp likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #9753 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 08:44 AM
Senior Member
 
bobkat007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenee View Post
I am talking about the installation itself of the Directv Equipment. Not after it's installed.
I made sure Direcrv tech installed their new genie 2 system with all wired mini's at each TV. That is only system that can handle 2 separate 4K TV's.
Glenee likes this.
bobkat007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9754 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 08:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guitarguy316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,722
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2055 Post(s)
Liked: 750
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
That is where I watch, looks good
Yeah it's sad that streaming especially on sports can be of much better quality/bitrate than cable/satellite. I have no problem if streaming is the future of all cable content so as long as they don't strip down the quality like cable/satellite providers. Heck, I'd pay extra on a plan for better bitrates.
calfcramp likes this.
guitarguy316 is offline  
post #9755 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 08:56 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,732
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 314 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobkat007 View Post
I made sure Direcrv tech installed their new genie 2 system with all wired mini's at each TV. That is only system that can handle 2 separate 4K TV's.
There you go Sir. That's what I am talkin about.

Nothing's Impossible if you don't have to do it yourself ! Glenee
Glenee is offline  
post #9756 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 10:49 AM
Member
 
BrianJB7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
C8 Connections to OPPO 205 and Anthem D2

C8 due to arrive the 20th of December.


Any suggestions on how to connect the C8 to the OPPO 205 for video and the Anthem D2 (I know it's going on 11 years with this incredible piece of electronics) for analog audio for movies, music videos and stuff like Pandora and streaming movies?


Thanks to All.


MIKEY
Glenee and Jrocker23 like this.
BrianJB7 is offline  
post #9757 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 11:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rdgcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salisbury,NC
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
If we do...it will look superb on these...as long as it's not on Fox, they need to get with NBC and figure out a way to give us a better picture...I don't even think my old plasma can help that channel!
FOX is720p. They have been cheating on video quality since the beginning of HD. For the 1st 2 seasons of their series they broadcast in 480p widescreen & most people thought it was HD.
rdgcss is offline  
post #9758 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 11:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,191
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2899 Post(s)
Liked: 3472
^that's incredible that their so behind, and unfortunately we have to deal with it.
Cam1977 is offline  
post #9759 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 11:43 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrocker23 View Post
For some crazy reason. There is no tv on command. I use Google home for everything but I use Alexa to turn my tv on & off,

Thanks for your reply, I will rely on Shield's CEC to turn it on then
I guess there's no way to turn on TV remotely besides using its official remote ?
Jrocker23 likes this.
kijiji is offline  
post #9760 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 11:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 963
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 523
Quote:
Originally Posted by kijiji View Post
Thanks for your reply, I will rely on Shield's CEC to turn it on then
I guess there's no way to turn on TV remotely besides using its official remote ?
Only other way is through Xbox One S or Xbox One X with it's built in IR & Cortana. I use that as well

TV - LG C8 & LG C6, AVR - Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Switch

Living Room: LG 65C8, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedroom: LG 55C6P, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
Link to LG C8PUA Firmware https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
Link to LG UH8500 & C6 Firmware http://www.lg.com/us/support-product...D55C6P#manuals
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #9761 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 01:01 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,732
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 314 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Depending on what type of cameras and relay system they have the 720P signal can hang right with the 1080i on sports.

ESPN during the Bowls will be 720P and they can look damn good for Sports on Broadcast Tv if it's their best stuff.

IMHO

Nothing's Impossible if you don't have to do it yourself ! Glenee
Glenee is offline  
post #9762 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 01:07 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,732
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 314 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Is there anyone on this thread who's spelling went to poop after 60, or am I the only one.
rdgcss likes this.

Nothing's Impossible if you don't have to do it yourself ! Glenee
Glenee is offline  
post #9763 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 01:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rdgcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salisbury,NC
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenee View Post
Depending on what type of cameras and relay system they have the 720P signal can hang right with the 1080i on sports.

ESPN during the Bowls will be 720P and they can look damn good for Sports on Broadcast Tv if it's their best stuff.

IMHO
Usually a streaming version of a tv show it better than cable/satellite. Try the steaming version of espn, often unwatchable & I have 300mb Internet.
rdgcss is offline  
post #9764 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 01:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rdgcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salisbury,NC
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenee View Post
Is there anyone on this thread who's spelling went to poop after 60, or am I the only one.
The spell check on the iPad saves me all the time 👌
rdgcss is offline  
post #9765 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 01:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,513
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1376 Post(s)
Liked: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Speaking of W8, if the C8 and the W8 where the same price would anyone not buy a W8? Why not?

W8 requires wall mounting, it is not an option. And it requires having a giant soundbar in place to use it, while much better audio options exist.


Price is far from the only thing that would make a W8 undesirable.


Sure it looks really cool no the wall like that, but so what?

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #9766 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 01:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 6,480
Mentioned: 164 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4421 Post(s)
Liked: 6700
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsorensen View Post
W8 requires wall mounting, it is not an option. And it requires having a giant soundbar in place to use it, while much better audio options exist.
Why does it "require" a soundbar? How will it know about, and remotely disable, any proper AVR and speaker system you may have?
EDIT: Do you mean it comes with a soundbar that you can't remove?

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #9767 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 01:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,513
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1376 Post(s)
Liked: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Why does it "require" a soundbar? How will it know about, and remotely disable, any proper AVR and speaker system you may have?
EDIT: Do you mean it comes with a soundbar that you can't remove?

Because it comes with one, which contains the electronics, HDMI inputs, speakers, and power supply (and I think the IR receiver too). The screen itself on the wall contains pretty close to nothing other than the OLED panel itself.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #9768 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 01:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 963
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 523
M
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Why does it "require" a soundbar? How will it know about, and remotely disable, any proper AVR and speaker system you may have?
EDIT: Do you mean it comes with a soundbar that you can't remove?
also the screen itself comes with a special connector cable that goes from the bottom of the screen into the back of the soundbar.

I have not seen anything that makes it compatible with any other AVR or system besides that sound bar

TV - LG C8 & LG C6, AVR - Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Switch

Living Room: LG 65C8, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedroom: LG 55C6P, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
Link to LG C8PUA Firmware https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
Link to LG UH8500 & C6 Firmware http://www.lg.com/us/support-product...D55C6P#manuals
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #9769 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 01:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 3,398
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 428 Post(s)
Liked: 438
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianJB7 View Post
C8 due to arrive the 20th of December.


Any suggestions on how to connect the C8 to the OPPO 205 for video and the Anthem D2 (I know it's going on 11 years with this incredible piece of electronics) for analog audio for movies, music videos and stuff like Pandora and streaming movies?


Thanks to All.


MIKEY
Does that Anthem only have analog inputs or does it also have HDMI. In either case you will connect the Oppo's primary HDMI out to the TV via an HDMI cable (and be sure it's a certified one). You can connect analog outs from the Oppo into the Anthem and also connect an HDMI cable into the Anthem (if supported). All outputs of the Oppo are simultaneously active so you can use the switching in the Anthem to choose either analog or HDMI input. Since the Oppo's DACs are probably better than the Anthem's, you might only want to use the analog hookup and get all audio decoding done in the 205. As far as streaming goes, you can hook whatever your streaming device of choice is (Apple 4k, Roku, Amazon Fire, etc.) into the HDMI input on the back of the 205. The only limitation of this input is that it will not transmit the Apple 4k's version of Atmos (which isn't an issue for you with your present equipment) nor will it transmit Dolby Vision. Otherwise, it works well with streaming devices. There is an outside possibility that a future Oppo firmware update might address these shortcomings, but I wouldn't count on it.

JazzGuyy is offline  
post #9770 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 01:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 6,480
Mentioned: 164 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4421 Post(s)
Liked: 6700
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrocker23 View Post
Malso the screen itself comes with a special connector cable that goes from the bottom of the screen into the back of the soundbar.

I have not seen anything that makes it compatible with any other AVR or system besides that sound bar
Poo. But it still has standard HDMI inputs? You can connect an AVR to it?

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #9771 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 01:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 963
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 523
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Poo. But it still has standard HDMI inputs? You can connect an AVR to it?
Technically you could but I don't know if anyone would want to do that, wouldn't look that great

TV - LG C8 & LG C6, AVR - Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Switch

Living Room: LG 65C8, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedroom: LG 55C6P, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
Link to LG C8PUA Firmware https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
Link to LG UH8500 & C6 Firmware http://www.lg.com/us/support-product...D55C6P#manuals
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #9772 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 02:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,094
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 399 Post(s)
Liked: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrocker23 View Post
Malso the screen itself comes with a special connector cable that goes from the bottom of the screen into the back of the soundbar.

I have not seen anything that makes it compatible with any other AVR or system besides that sound bar

TV - LG C8 & LG C6, AVR - Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Switch

If it only works with the provided sound bar then not a good option. I would hope some day someone sells just the screen like W8 and a small electronics box to get video and sound out to other devices. This would almost start to give projectors some competition. But for now I am sticking to my projector for watching movies! I need to edit and say unless there are movies like Prometheus, Harry Potter, etc., I would have to use the C8.
Jrocker23 likes this.

Last edited by tanman; 12-10-2018 at 02:20 PM.
tanman is offline  
post #9773 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 02:50 PM
RBO
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Suburbia, USA
Posts: 1,378
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrocker23 View Post
For some crazy reason. There is no tv on command. I use Google home for everything but I use Alexa to turn my tv on & off,

TV - LG C8 & LG C6, AVR - Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Switch

Does anyone still just clap their hands?

Russ (another one)
LG65 & 77C8PUA / Bose Soundbar 700 / OPPO UDP205 / Verizon FIOS TV One

"There are consequences to breaking the heart of a murdering b*****d." - BILL
C8/E8 Questions? Try JCC's_FAQ Or LiQiCE's_Wiki
RBO is offline  
post #9774 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 03:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
grittree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 2,702
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgcss View Post
FOX is720p. They have been cheating on video quality since the beginning of HD. For the 1st 2 seasons of their series they broadcast in 480p widescreen & most people thought it was HD.
Fox is 720p, but so is ABC and ESPN.

Fox NFL has high quality on many of their cameras. But not their main ones. The problem is not 720p, it's their stadium cameras.
Glenee likes this.
grittree is online now  
post #9775 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 03:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CherylJosie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 798 Post(s)
Liked: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by comtrend View Post
I live in Norway, the meassurment from the center of the bottom hole to the bottom of my c8 77 is 20,1 cm (7.913385827 inches).

Hey thanks so much for that information. That's the number I needed.
CherylJosie is offline  
post #9776 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 04:17 PM
Member
 
BrianJB7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by JazzGuyy View Post
Does that Anthem only have analog inputs or does it also have HDMI. In either case you will connect the Oppo's primary HDMI out to the TV via an HDMI cable (and be sure it's a certified one). You can connect analog outs from the Oppo into the Anthem and also connect an HDMI cable into the Anthem (if supported). All outputs of the Oppo are simultaneously active so you can use the switching in the Anthem to choose either analog or HDMI input. Since the Oppo's DACs are probably better than the Anthem's, you might only want to use the analog hookup and get all audio decoding done in the 205. As far as streaming goes, you can hook whatever your streaming device of choice is (Apple 4k, Roku, Amazon Fire, etc.) into the HDMI input on the back of the 205. The only limitation of this input is that it will not transmit the Apple 4k's version of Atmos (which isn't an issue for you with your present equipment) nor will it transmit Dolby Vision. Otherwise, it works well with streaming devices. There is an outside possibility that a future Oppo firmware update might address these shortcomings, but I wouldn't count on it.
Cool.

Sounds like the older components are somewhat compatible with the newer LG C8 4K TV. The D2 has both analog and HDMI, but can't pass 4K video and I think I'll loose the D2's OSD. The C8 appears to have an optical connection to pass audio to the Oppo, taking advantage of the DACs, then sent to the D2 for direct analog audio or if DSP processing and ARC is used.

More fun to keep this hobby up to date with the C8's modern electronics and OLED technology.

What TV settings do you recommend?

Thanks for the response.

MIKEY
BrianJB7 is offline  
post #9777 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 05:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rdgcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salisbury,NC
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by grittree View Post
Fox is 720p, but so is ABC and ESPN.

Fox NFL has high quality on many of their cameras. But not their main ones. The problem is not 720p, it's their stadium cameras.
Disney which is 720p owns ABC & ESPN hence they are 720p. 720 looses image detail versus 1080. 1080i is 30fps while 720p is 60fps. All HD TVs are “p”, the image is deinterlaced before being displaced so “i” versus “p” doesn’t matter, the double the frame rate makes fast motion=sports look smoother to the eye. What we really need is 1080p or even better 2160P.
I agree the camera, feed, compression can make a big difference.
calfcramp and emergetech like this.
rdgcss is offline  
post #9778 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 05:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jruhnke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston, TX (RNG200)
Posts: 1,280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue74 View Post
I seem to be having a lot of trouble with the WebOS Netflix app tonight. It is constantly stopping while I'm watching and give me the error We're having trouble playing this title right now. Please try again later or select a different title (tvq-pm-100) (5.2.5)

I can then restart playback but it will happen again after it has been playing a bit. Anyone else ever experience this?

Searching that error online takes me to the Netflix website that says "It typically points to information stored on your device that needs to be refreshed. Follow the troubleshooting steps for your device below to resolve the issue." There isn't a specific step for LG OLED TVs on WebOS. For smart TVs it just says to restart the TV. I couldn't find a way to completely turn of and restart the C8 from the menu. I can only get it to go into standby mode. I finally unplugged it from the wall, waited a bit and plugged it in again. Hopefully that will resolve the problem.
I am a new 65" C8 owner, and I am also getting this message, though the numbers are (5.2.12) for me. Searching Netflix help leads to the same suggestion. It's an effort to get back behind the TV to access the plug, though, so I'm not sure when I'll get around to trying this.

Have others had this problem? Did it go away after a hard power-cycle like Netflix suggests?

I never saw this while streaming through my PS3 or PS4 (well, except on rare occasions and usually attributable to an ISP or wifi hiccup), though those were not 4K streams.
jruhnke is offline  
post #9779 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 09:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Blackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 974
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrussell View Post
The EchoGear mount company sent me a Sanus adapter bracket to better center the mounting bracket to the center of the back of my 77C8. You might be able to use your previous wall holes with that adapter.
Unfortunately I live in the bottom of the Earth and to save money Its better to fix the wall. Yes I getting good of Plastering and Painting LOL,LOL. Xmas and Bills are draining my 77 C8 money so who know It might be Feb 2019 until I get it and by then all of the 77 C8 will be gone, then I will have save more money to get the 77 C9 with its rumored to have Top Emission technology.

Main Room Sony KD-75X9400E Display, AMP. Yamaha RX-A3050. Front Mains, 2x Dali Concept 8. Klipsch Center, Surround and Rear Surrounds, 4X Dali Ikon 1. Ceiling 4X B&W CCM 382. Subs, 2x Kef C200 for the rear and 2X Kenwood SW-07HT for the fronts. Lounge Shakers, Dayton Audio SA 230 Sub Amp with 4 AST-2B-4 lounge Shakers. The other Tv room the Hecto live there the Hecto 100 inch Short throw projector,
Blackman is offline  
post #9780 of 19301 Old 12-10-2018, 09:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Turning off asbl in the service menu does not completely remove slow dimming?

https://www.reddit.com/r/OLED/comments/a4xbgu/c8_removing_asbl_and_the_hdr_module/?st=JPJBNLPE&sh=ed5e8a4a
Duc Vu is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
24p , black deformity , brighter corner , lg b8 , lg c8 , lg oled , lg oled c8 aspect , lg soundbar , light bleed , oled , soap opera effect , soe , sound bar

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off