2018 LG C8-E8 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 424 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 81151Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12691 of 22292 Old 02-25-2019, 03:40 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,258
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3539 Post(s)
Liked: 2556
^^^^^ thank you for the emoji. Otherwise I would've had to report you to the mods I agree with your post btw.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12692 of 22292 Old 02-25-2019, 04:32 PM
RBO
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Suburbia, USA
Posts: 1,426
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 370
^^^^ Whew, thanks! You use the ATV4k, right? So are you also saying it does Netflix like I mention ?

Russ (another one)
LG65 & 77C8PUA / Bose Soundbar 700 / OPPO UDP205 / Verizon FIOS TV One

"There are consequences to breaking the heart of a murdering b*****d." - BILL
C8/E8 Questions? Try JCC's_FAQ Or LiQiCE's_Wiki
RBO is offline  
post #12693 of 22292 Old 02-25-2019, 05:02 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,258
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3539 Post(s)
Liked: 2556
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBO View Post
^^^^ Whew, thanks! You use the ATV4k, right? So are you also saying it does Netflix like I mention ?

Yes, I do use the ATV4k exclusively to stream but have not done any program scrolling because I haven't had a need to do so. I was agreeing with your comment about the XBox.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12694 of 22292 Old 02-25-2019, 05:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,366
Mentioned: 182 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5092 Post(s)
Liked: 7423
I'm interested in the question, though! You can't FF or RW through a Netflix stream, you can only skip forward or back in huge jumps?

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #12695 of 22292 Old 02-25-2019, 06:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drewTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 4,721
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2170 Post(s)
Liked: 2299
Awesome feature on the Apple TV is saying "What did she/he say?" into the remote and it will rewind a few seconds and turn on the captions for the missed part. Or just saying rewind, skip, etc. certain amount of time.
stegen likes this.

LG OLED65E8 | Plinius Hiato | Dynaudio Contour 20 | Dynaudio Stand 6 | REL S/510 | PS Audio DirectStream Junior | Furman IT-Reference 15i
Sony PS4 Pro | Synology DS916+ | Apple TV 4K | BDI Mirage | NEEO | Focal Shape 40 | iFi Pro iDSD | iFi Pro iRack | iFi AC iPurifier | roon

Last edited by drewTT; 02-25-2019 at 06:32 PM.
drewTT is offline  
post #12696 of 22292 Old 02-25-2019, 07:20 PM
RBO
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Suburbia, USA
Posts: 1,426
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
I'm interested in the question, though! You can't FF or RW through a Netflix stream, you can only skip forward or back in huge jumps?

That is correct as regards the C8 internal NF app that I use. Am wondering if that is true with all of Netflix apps others use internal to other devices.

Russ (another one)
LG65 & 77C8PUA / Bose Soundbar 700 / OPPO UDP205 / Verizon FIOS TV One

"There are consequences to breaking the heart of a murdering b*****d." - BILL
C8/E8 Questions? Try JCC's_FAQ Or LiQiCE's_Wiki

Last edited by RBO; 02-25-2019 at 07:26 PM.
RBO is offline  
post #12697 of 22292 Old 02-25-2019, 07:22 PM
RBO
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Suburbia, USA
Posts: 1,426
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewTT View Post
Awesome feature on the Apple TV is saying "What did she/he say?" into the remote and it will rewind a few seconds and turn on the captions for the missed part. Or just saying rewind, skip, etc. certain amount of time.

Really? That sounds awesome. Into an ATV remote or the LG C8 remote or both? Does an Amazon TV or Firestick work like that too with an LG C8 remote?

Russ (another one)
LG65 & 77C8PUA / Bose Soundbar 700 / OPPO UDP205 / Verizon FIOS TV One

"There are consequences to breaking the heart of a murdering b*****d." - BILL
C8/E8 Questions? Try JCC's_FAQ Or LiQiCE's_Wiki

Last edited by RBO; 02-25-2019 at 07:44 PM.
RBO is offline  
post #12698 of 22292 Old 02-25-2019, 07:48 PM
RBO
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Suburbia, USA
Posts: 1,426
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
Yes, I do use the ATV4k exclusively to stream but have not done any program scrolling because I haven't had a need to do so. I was agreeing with your comment about the XBox.

Wow, never FF or RW a program? That's an impressive attention span. Careful not to overdose on that Adderall.
calfcramp likes this.

Russ (another one)
LG65 & 77C8PUA / Bose Soundbar 700 / OPPO UDP205 / Verizon FIOS TV One

"There are consequences to breaking the heart of a murdering b*****d." - BILL
C8/E8 Questions? Try JCC's_FAQ Or LiQiCE's_Wiki
RBO is offline  
post #12699 of 22292 Old 02-25-2019, 08:29 PM
Senior Member
 
calfcramp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Okay, I am going to give this a shot and bring this question here because I am asking something about my C8. I have been wanting a Dolby Atmos setup for a little bit now and decided to give 2 things a try and neither worked out. I bought these...

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/vizio-5...?skuId=6288824

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/sony-2-...?skuId=6201449


I have a very small room to work with. The systems weren't bad, but no matter what I tried and I tried a lot, googled, hands on, settings, etc.{I don't give up easily, just a fact, even if it's stupid when its time ratio could be better spent elsewhere!}. The audio delay was bad, just couldn't deal with it, mostly with the Xbox One X. Other sources as well. If anyone has any info on this, that would be great. Suggestions, etc.
calfcramp is offline  
post #12700 of 22292 Old 02-25-2019, 09:12 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,258
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3539 Post(s)
Liked: 2556
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBO View Post
Wow, never FF or RW a program? That's an impressive attention span. Careful not to overdose on that Adderall.
Nope. Just never found a need to do so. If I do you’ll be the first to know 😁.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #12701 of 22292 Old 02-25-2019, 10:55 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,793
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6792 Post(s)
Liked: 6794
Quote:
Originally Posted by stegen View Post
so I will buy return till I get a good one.
There is a point where they will cut you off just as Best Buy has done to people in the past.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #12702 of 22292 Old 02-25-2019, 11:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Since the price of the 77 C8 and Z9D are getting closer, is there any disadvantage to getting the C8 over keeping the Z9D? I have a B7 that I moved upstairs and currently debating on returning this Z9D for the C8 77, but I don't want to regret it as I know the supply is short on those.

I do find my C7 to be great but it does not have the brightness of the Z9D and wondering if I am going to experience that with the C8 since my research is showing they are brighter then the B7 was. I do 60% streaming, movies, 40% gaming and no network TV. In my opinion the Dolby Vision on OLED seems to look better then on the Z9D however I am not biased to either TV just looking for others input.
Jerry Lee is offline  
post #12703 of 22292 Old 02-26-2019, 04:37 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,446
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3860 Post(s)
Liked: 3813
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Lee View Post
Since the price of the 77 C8 and Z9D are getting closer, is there any disadvantage to getting the C8 over keeping the Z9D? I have a B7 that I moved upstairs and currently debating on returning this Z9D for the C8 77, but I don't want to regret it as I know the supply is short on those.



I do find my C7 to be great but it does not have the brightness of the Z9D and wondering if I am going to experience that with the C8 since my research is showing they are brighter then the B7 was. I do 60% streaming, movies, 40% gaming and no network TV. In my opinion the Dolby Vision on OLED seems to look better then on the Z9D however I am not biased to either TV just looking for others input.


I had a Z9d last year nice set for an led but the 77c8 is far superior imo , I had light bleed into the black bars which drives me nuts. The DV implementation on the LGs is definitely better than on the Sony’s imo . For my pq priorities isn’t not even close .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Spinningbull likes this.

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is online now  
post #12704 of 22292 Old 02-26-2019, 04:44 AM
Senior Member
 
thegam3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewTT View Post
Awesome feature on the Apple TV is saying "What did she/he say?" into the remote and it will rewind a few seconds and turn on the captions for the missed part. Or just saying rewind, skip, etc. certain amount of time.
but if you say "he" when it was a "she" that was talking it doesnt do anything right? impressive tech
thegam3 is online now  
post #12705 of 22292 Old 02-26-2019, 05:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
stegen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: La Crescent, MN
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
Good luck. I hope you win the lottery. I did, and I purchased locally .
I canceled my Order with Amazon and went to best buy. All in all, i lose $110 but I get it today instead of march 9th, If it sucks I have immediate return and not have to wait 2 weeks, they gave me discounts on a few other items I was going to buy anyway to make the sale.
stegen is offline  
post #12706 of 22292 Old 02-26-2019, 07:07 AM
Member
 
kallek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a LG C8 65" TV and I have a little problem with my Marshall Bluetooth headphones. Sometimes I get several micro cutouts in the audio when watching a movie and sometimes I can watch I whole movie without a problem. Is there some setting you can change that affects the Bluetooth audio? I read somewhere that you can change the Bluetooth quality on some LG TV's but I can't find a option on the C8. Anyone else has a similar problem? Since the C8 doesn't have a regular analog audio output I need to use Bluetooth.
kallek is offline  
post #12707 of 22292 Old 02-26-2019, 08:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Is there a way to see how many hours are on a C8?
kpeercy is offline  
post #12708 of 22292 Old 02-26-2019, 08:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guitarguy316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,799
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2117 Post(s)
Liked: 795
Quote:
Originally Posted by kpeercy View Post
Is there a way to see how many hours are on a C8?
if you have a usa model yes. go to settings, general, about my tv
guitarguy316 is offline  
post #12709 of 22292 Old 02-26-2019, 10:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hidefpaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 80
I have a 65 C8 and I am having some trouble using the netflix internal app. I get an error message and a code #, whenever I am watching Dolby Vision content. I have not noticed this on 4k or regular HD content. Netflix said to unplug the TV from wall for 3 min.
Has anyone else encountered this problem? If so, did you resolve it and how?
Will I loose any of my saved calibration settings or any other settings if I unplug the Tv from the power bar for 3 min?

Thanks

7.1.4 Home Theatre
LG 65" C8 OLED
Samsung HW-N950 7.1.4 Atmos/DTS-X System
hidefpaul is offline  
post #12710 of 22292 Old 02-26-2019, 10:13 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,258
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3539 Post(s)
Liked: 2556
Quote:
Originally Posted by hidefpaul View Post
I have a 65 C8 and I am having some trouble using the netflix internal app. I get an error message and a code #, whenever I am watching Dolby Vision content. I have not noticed this on 4k or regular HD content. Netflix said to unplug the TV from wall for 3 min.
Has anyone else encountered this problem? If so, did you resolve it and how?
Will I loose any of my saved calibration settings or any other settings if I unplug the Tv from the power bar for 3 min?

Thanks

Have you asked LG what the error code means? What does the error message say? I don't use the SmartApps on my 65 C8 so can't help you there. I write down all of my settings, adjusted and default just in case I lose something due to an update, un exptected power outage, etc. It makes it easy to go back and see what was changed after an update, if anything, and is better than having to do a complete reset if it's just one PM that I need to change/update. It's also easy to see what my settings are without having to turn on the tv and scroll thru the PMs.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #12711 of 22292 Old 02-26-2019, 11:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by hidefpaul View Post
I have a 65 C8 and I am having some trouble using the netflix internal app. I get an error message and a code #, whenever I am watching Dolby Vision content. I have not noticed this on 4k or regular HD content. Netflix said to unplug the TV from wall for 3 min. Has anyone else encountered this problem? If so, did you resolve it and how?
On my 55 C8 using the Netflix app included in the TV, I have had no issues with viewing Dolby Vision content.
Do you have a specific title that I can check?

A regularly updated list of UHD's that contain Dolby Vision: https://forum.blu-ray.com/showthread.php?t=276448
Gandu is offline  
post #12712 of 22292 Old 02-26-2019, 11:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hidefpaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
Have you asked LG what the error code means? What does the error message say? I don't use the SmartApps on my 65 C8 so can't help you there. I write down all of my settings, adjusted and default just in case I lose something due to an update, un exptected power outage, etc. It makes it easy to go back and see what was changed after an update, if anything, and is better than having to do a complete reset if it's just one PM that I need to change/update. It's also easy to see what my settings are without having to turn on the tv and scroll thru the PMs.
No I haven't contacted Lg yet. The error code says "We are having trouble playing this title right now, please try again later or select a different title" "tvq-pm-100(5.2.5)".
Funny thing is, once I back out and press the play title again, it starts right away where I left off.

7.1.4 Home Theatre
LG 65" C8 OLED
Samsung HW-N950 7.1.4 Atmos/DTS-X System
hidefpaul is offline  
post #12713 of 22292 Old 02-26-2019, 11:59 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,258
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3539 Post(s)
Liked: 2556
Quote:
Originally Posted by hidefpaul View Post
No I haven't contacted Lg yet. The error code says "We are having trouble playing this title right now, please try again later or select a different title" "tvq-pm-100(5.2.5)".
Funny thing is, once I back out and press the play title again, it starts right away where I left off.
Do you see that problem with any of the other SmartApps? Maybe the app needs to be deleted/reinstalled or updated.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #12714 of 22292 Old 02-26-2019, 12:11 PM
RBO
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Suburbia, USA
Posts: 1,426
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by hidefpaul View Post
No I haven't contacted Lg yet. The error code says "We are having trouble playing this title right now, please try again later or select a different title" "tvq-pm-100(5.2.5)".
Funny thing is, once I back out and press the play title again, it starts right away where I left off.

Yes, I had the very same problem occur several weeks ago for only a few days, not at all before or since. But I was those same days having connectivity issues with Amazon Prime as well so it was not a C8 internal NF app issue but rather an IP connectivity issue.

Russ (another one)
LG65 & 77C8PUA / Bose Soundbar 700 / OPPO UDP205 / Verizon FIOS TV One

"There are consequences to breaking the heart of a murdering b*****d." - BILL
C8/E8 Questions? Try JCC's_FAQ Or LiQiCE's_Wiki
RBO is offline  
post #12715 of 22292 Old 02-26-2019, 12:31 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,446
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3860 Post(s)
Liked: 3813
Quote:
Originally Posted by hidefpaul View Post
No I haven't contacted Lg yet. The error code says "We are having trouble playing this title right now, please try again later or select a different title" "tvq-pm-100(5.2.5)".

Funny thing is, once I back out and press the play title again, it starts right away where I left off.


I don’t think that is a C8 issue , I have seen this issue before when playing content in my atv4k.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is online now  
post #12716 of 22292 Old 02-26-2019, 12:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,366
Mentioned: 182 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5092 Post(s)
Liked: 7423
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBO View Post
That is correct as regards the C8 internal NF app that I use. Am wondering if that is true with all of Netflix apps others use internal to other devices.
I'm shocked and appalled.

But my friend has an LG 49SK8100 (LCD) which is a 2018 model and the exact same UI as we have. He has Netflix, and I don't, and sent me this video of him seeking backwards and forwards through a "scrub bar" pretty smoothly. Each 20-seconds there is a thumbnail, and it lets you rapidly seek through. Is the C8 app not the same? Why would that be?

He also says he's tried it on a movie, and it went in 10-second intervals.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs

Last edited by mrtickleuk; 02-26-2019 at 12:40 PM.
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #12717 of 22292 Old 02-26-2019, 12:40 PM
Newbie
 
nicolod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I checked it out on my E8 last night and it was as you described except I think it was every 10 seconds.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
nicolod is offline  
post #12718 of 22292 Old 02-26-2019, 01:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,366
Mentioned: 182 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5092 Post(s)
Liked: 7423
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicolod View Post
I checked it out on my E8 last night and it was as you described except I think it was every 10 seconds.
Thanks. His movie had it every 10 seconds. I'm guessing that the Netflix UI chooses the interval based on the length of the programme. I wonder why @RBO couldn't seek like you and my friend can?

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #12719 of 22292 Old 02-26-2019, 01:07 PM
Newbie
 
nicolod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I used the magic remote to highlight the progress bar and then I think the left/right allowed flipping through the thumbnails. Don't know if that's the only way to do it though.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
nicolod is offline  
post #12720 of 22292 Old 02-26-2019, 01:21 PM
RBO
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Suburbia, USA
Posts: 1,426
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
I'm shocked and appalled.

But my friend has an LG 49SK8100 (LCD) which is a 2018 model and the exact same UI as we have. He has Netflix, and I don't, and sent me this video of him seeking backwards and forwards through a "scrub bar" pretty smoothly. Each 20-seconds there is a thumbnail, and it lets you rapidly seek through. Is the C8 app not the same? Why would that be?

He also says he's tried it on a movie, and it went in 10-second intervals.

Yes that is the method used, I find it very inaccurate as to where the thumbnail marking takes you which can necessitate several attempts to get to where I want to be and waiting for the stream to reload each attempt is extremely kludgy and annoying. Whereas with the C8 Amazon Prime internal app, the stream can be scrolled through FF and RW like a normal video player would do. The latter method is much easier, smoother and intuitive than the former method.

So I would like to know if that is the method all NF app utilize or if other devices can maneuver through streams like @drewTT said about the ATV4k. Because that method sounds like a real winner.

Russ (another one)
LG65 & 77C8PUA / Bose Soundbar 700 / OPPO UDP205 / Verizon FIOS TV One

"There are consequences to breaking the heart of a murdering b*****d." - BILL
C8/E8 Questions? Try JCC's_FAQ Or LiQiCE's_Wiki

Last edited by RBO; 02-26-2019 at 01:48 PM.
RBO is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
24p , black deformity , blu-ray , brighter corner , denon x3500 , eye strain , firmware update , hdmi , hdmi audio missing , lg b8 , lg c8 , lg c8 oled , lg oled , lg oled c8 aspect , lg soundbar , light bleed , oled , soap opera effect , soe , sound bar

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off