2018 LG C8-E8 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 445 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 81111Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13321 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 01:37 PM
Member
 
ganzhimself's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 50
2018 LG C8-E8 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post

Next I moved some full 4K movies to the folder. They played video A-OK (On one the HDR came up in the corner of the LG) , but when they started there was a note at the top saying “Audio not played” (or something like that). The video / audio was good…but there must be something I am missing about the audio settings…


I've seen this message pop up in the top right corner and it played just fine, no issues with audio that I could

Last edited by ganzhimself; 03-15-2019 at 02:39 PM.
ganzhimself is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13322 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 02:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 4,666
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2314 Post(s)
Liked: 3174
Quote:
Originally Posted by drbobhi View Post
Been browsing this thread but still confused. I have a C* 55", Denon AVR-S730H, 4K AppleTV, Sony BluRay & Cable box. Initially I had all going through AVR to HDMI2 (ARC), but when I turn on, it always defaults to blu-ray and I cannot get to cable box. Called LG and they said use separate HDMI ports on TV rather than through AVR. This contradicts what I had previously heard that for optimal processing and control, should go through AVR. Does it matter..perhaps depending on whether each device is capable of 4K? Or whether I want surround sound? Advice needed. Thanks.

That's a question for the applicable Denon thread over on "Receivers and Amps." You've got CEC enabled somewhere, which isn't necessary to pass sound via ARC back to your Denon. I'm not a fan of CEC, have used Harmony remotes pretty much since the time they started making them. Enjoy the C*

There is no perfect display, quit looking for faults and enjoy

LG OLED 65” B7 and 55” C8
Ascend's with RAAL, Love my PSA v1800 and a 7.2.4 speaker config, Oppo 203 and other stuff
smurraybhm is offline  
post #13323 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 03:04 PM
Senior Member
 
starrfighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Paisley Park is in my heart.
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by tojo_m View Post
I get my tomorrow! Is it easy to unbox without bending the screen and letting the OCD flare up?
Do be careful. If you havent seen it i. Real Life, its thinness will make you afraid to touch it at all. Just follow the instructions and make sure you have a second person helping.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
calfcramp likes this.

31212131
starrfighter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13324 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 03:12 PM
Senior Member
 
starrfighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Paisley Park is in my heart.
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by calfcramp View Post
I don't believe it is a problem with technology at all. The sun destroys things, not just matte or glass, not just wood or even clothes! This has been known for hundreds of years! It depends on the variables of it. Heck, even paper and colored plastic gets washed out if left in the sun to long!



I think adjustments need to be made to the buyer{or for the buyer} in situations like this. It's kind of like saying, dang the water made my clothes wet. Water makes everything wet!!! I was picking out an apartment around the same time I was buying my C8, so in my head, that was a factor.



I feel for you and I am sure it will work out. I agree with the buying new blinds suggestion. Simple, quick, problem over!
I am so jealous that you got to go apartment shopping knowing already what your AV situation was going to be because they never line up then when you move let's just say have a room of boxes especially for things like the LG C8 and even then I pray it will make it in one piece whenever that occurs

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

31212131
starrfighter is offline  
post #13325 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 03:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,763
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6781 Post(s)
Liked: 6781
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soccerdude View Post
Waiting to borrow friends van to transport it back my car is too small to lay it flat I rather have it on it's side like it meant to be transported .
You going with another OLED?
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #13326 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 03:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
meli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ridgewood, NJ
Posts: 642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Yesterday I went to the store to look at an E8 but they didn't have any on the floor. Could someone explain to me, if my OLED is mounted to wall (so not using the stand), what is the difference between the C8 and the E8? I don't care about the audio differences because I will be using external speakers, but is there something like the E8 has a glass surface and the C8 is some other material?

I tried searching this thread but I guess "E8" is too short of a search term to be valid.
meli is offline  
post #13327 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 03:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
macmane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Crystal Lake
Posts: 2,116
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1113 Post(s)
Liked: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by meli View Post
Yesterday I went to the store to look at an E8 but they didn't have any on the floor. Could someone explain to me, if my OLED is mounted to wall (so not using the stand), what is the difference between the C8 and the E8? I don't care about the audio differences because I will be using external speakers, but is there something like the E8 has a glass surface and the C8 is some other material?
E8 has glass at the back down the bottom the c8 doesnt have glass at all

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
meli likes this.
macmane is offline  
post #13328 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 03:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
meli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ridgewood, NJ
Posts: 642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmane View Post
E8 has glass at the back down the bottom the c8 doesnt have glass at all

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
Thanks. So if the unit is mounted on a wall, from the front there is no visual difference between the two models?

-Dave
meli is offline  
post #13329 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 03:57 PM
Newbie
 
nicolod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by meli View Post
Thanks. So if the unit is mounted on a wall, from the front there is no visual difference between the two models?



-Dave
Except for the 2 inches of glass along the bottom of the panel.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
meli likes this.
nicolod is offline  
post #13330 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 03:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm trying so hard to like this brand of TV, really I am. LG is not making it easy though.

I have a 65C8 which was a replacement for my C7 that LG could not/would not fix that I finally got in September after dealing with LG warranty for almost 3 months. Getting the C8 cost additional money on top of the price of the C7. It also took three C8's to get one without major screen defects.
Got it calibrated for all 5 modes I use after the proper amount of hours, looked great.
Over time started developing bad near black flashing (always had it but it became pronounced as time went on or I've just trained myself to watch for it). Currently the flashing is pretty bad, makes me want to just skip certain shows.

So now the 'fix' they have for us is an updated firmware which not only brings back the banding problem but will also require me to get the whole calibration redone?

This is just dumb. I can't even quantify how disappointed I am in their products or how much time/money I've wasted in this endeavor.

If I get angry enough to take it out back with a sledge I'll post the youtube link, perhaps it will put a smile on the faces of other owners in this same position.


Really wish Panasonic would bring their OLEDs to the US...
parkman likes this.
philadler is offline  
post #13331 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 04:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,064
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 930 Post(s)
Liked: 980
Quote:
Originally Posted by philadler View Post
So now the 'fix' they have for us is an updated firmware which not only brings back the banding problem but will also require me to get the whole calibration redone?

Not sure what exactly you mean by "brings back the banding problem".

The mpeg noise reduction setting currently doesn't work with 04.10.31 but that has nothing to do with panel uniformity (near-black vertical banding), which I assume is what you're talking about?

It's just a post processing feature to reduce content based color banding.


About the requirement for a re-calibration, I guess that's hard to say at this point until more people with the update remeasured their calibrated presets.
calfcramp and mrtickleuk like this.
jk82 is offline  
post #13332 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 04:44 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,240
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3529 Post(s)
Liked: 2547
Quote:
Originally Posted by drbobhi View Post
Been browsing this thread but still confused. I have a C* 55", Denon AVR-S730H, 4K AppleTV, Sony BluRay & Cable box. Initially I had all going through AVR to HDMI2 (ARC), but when I turn on, it always defaults to blu-ray and I cannot get to cable box. Called LG and they said use separate HDMI ports on TV rather than through AVR. This contradicts what I had previously heard that for optimal processing and control, should go through AVR. Does it matter..perhaps depending on whether each device is capable of 4K? Or whether I want surround sound? Advice needed. Thanks.

I agree with @smurraybhm . You probably have CEC enabled somewhere. I have ARC/CEC disabled on all of my HDMI connected devices and just use a Harmony remote for single remote control of my system. All connections go thru my receiver first (ATV4k, UHD/Blu-ray player) with the exception of my cable box (Comcrap legacy X1, which is 1080 only). I need to connect that directly to my 65 C8 so I can disable Deep Color on that HDMI input due to a conflict with the legacy box. Audio for cable tv is then an optical cable from the C8 to the receiver. I don't need ARC because all of the streaming is thru the ATV4k. If you need ARC for the SmartApps, then you can install the Lindy CECless adapter which blocks the CEC portion but still allows access for ARC.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #13333 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 04:50 PM
Senior Member
 
starrfighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Paisley Park is in my heart.
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by jk82 View Post
Not sure what exactly you mean by "brings back the banding problem".

The mpeg noise reduction setting currently doesn't work with 04.10.31 but that has nothing to do with panel uniformity (near-black vertical banding), which I assume is what you're talking about?

It's just a post processing feature to reduce content based color banding.


About the requirement for a re-calibration, I guess that's hard to say at this point until more people with the update remeasured their calibrated presets.
How do you get 4.10.31 or any other builds (or do i want them...). Regardless, I would like to know just because i am still at 04.10.15 and I am wondering if your higher firmware: is it a beta program, something you were emailed, a site to go to, non US country or just... other?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

31212131
starrfighter is offline  
post #13334 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 04:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,291
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 816 Post(s)
Liked: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by starrfighter View Post
How do you get 4.10.31 or any other builds (or do i want them...). Regardless, I would like to know just because i am still at 04.10.15 and I am wondering if your higher firmware: is it a beta program, something you were emailed, a site to go to, non US country or just... other?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
The new firmware is only ota right now and rolling out in stages. otherwise you can go to LG site and go to the support section and download the latest firmware they have

TV - LG C8 & LG C6, AVR - Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Switch

Living Room: LG OLED65C9, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedrooms: LG OLED65C8, LG OLED55C6, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
LG C6PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-OLED55C6P.AUS
LG C8PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
LG C9PUA/AUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #13335 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 05:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,064
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 930 Post(s)
Liked: 980
Quote:
Originally Posted by starrfighter View Post
How do you get 4.10.31 or any other builds (or do i want them...). Regardless, I would like to know just because i am still at 04.10.15 and I am wondering if your higher firmware: is it a beta program, something you were emailed, a site to go to, non US country or just... other?
It was a test version yes, but some people apparently already got it the regular way. Test version can be obtained by setting the update server in the service menu to engineering mode or just downloaded from LGs servers if someone leaks the URL.
calfcramp likes this.
jk82 is offline  
post #13336 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 05:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Adamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,009
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1138 Post(s)
Liked: 669
Please someone leak that URL...
Adamd is offline  
post #13337 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 05:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,064
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 930 Post(s)
Liked: 980
I only know the URL for the EU firmware.
Adamd and pennywise666 like this.
jk82 is offline  
post #13338 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 05:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jk82 View Post
Not sure what exactly you mean by "brings back the banding problem".

The mpeg noise reduction setting currently doesn't work with 04.10.31 but that has nothing to do with panel uniformity (near-black vertical banding), which I assume is what you're talking about?

It's just a post processing feature to reduce content based color banding.


About the requirement for a re-calibration, I guess that's hard to say at this point until more people with the update remeasured their calibrated presets.
No I was referring to the issue with smooth color gradients not panel uniformity, sorry if I was unclear.
philadler is offline  
post #13339 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 05:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drewTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 4,699
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2153 Post(s)
Liked: 2285
Quote:
Originally Posted by meli View Post
Thanks. So if the unit is mounted on a wall, from the front there is no visual difference between the two models?

-Dave
If you are going to mount on the wall, go with the C8, it will look cleaner IMO. The E8 will have glass protruding on the bottom. The E8 is really meant to sit in its stand and looks incredible that way just sort of floating there.
meli and calfcramp like this.

LG OLED65E8 | Plinius Hiato | Dynaudio Contour 20 | Dynaudio Stand 6 | REL S/510 | PS Audio DirectStream Junior | Furman IT-Reference 15i
Sony PS4 Pro | Synology DS916+ | Apple TV 4K | BDI Mirage | NEEO | Focal Shape 40 | iFi Pro iDSD | iFi Pro iRack | iFi AC iPurifier | roon
drewTT is offline  
post #13340 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 05:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drewTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 4,699
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2153 Post(s)
Liked: 2285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adamd View Post
Please someone leak that URL...
Maybe the Russians can get it for us...lol...

LG OLED65E8 | Plinius Hiato | Dynaudio Contour 20 | Dynaudio Stand 6 | REL S/510 | PS Audio DirectStream Junior | Furman IT-Reference 15i
Sony PS4 Pro | Synology DS916+ | Apple TV 4K | BDI Mirage | NEEO | Focal Shape 40 | iFi Pro iDSD | iFi Pro iRack | iFi AC iPurifier | roon
drewTT is offline  
post #13341 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 05:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
mr b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 698
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Been searching the web and this forum but couldn't find a definitive answer.

Apparently, the HDMI 2.0b standard can allow for eARC to be added, so my question is - Has LG stated whether they are looking to enable this in a firmware update for the C8? With eARC, I could then play lossless audio from the TV (DLNA, Plex, etc.)


Course I would still need my AVR to support eARC, but that may be cheaper than upgrading the TV.

My Gear:
Spoiler!
mr b is online now  
post #13342 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 05:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
mr b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 698
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
....but when they started there was a note at the top saying “Audio not played” (or something like that). The video / audio was good…but there must be something I am missing about the audio settings…

As someone else noted, I get that message often, but the file plays just fine.. Not sure why it appears or what it means.
I assumed it may mean that 1 of the audio streams is not supported, and just plays another stream, but I've never spent time trying to troubleshoot since it plays.
calfcramp likes this.

My Gear:
Spoiler!
mr b is online now  
post #13343 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 06:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soccerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South of NJ Turnpike
Posts: 1,273
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
You going with another OLED?
Not sure at the moment but I still believe in "three strikes & you are out" law . Don't get me wrong I love the pic of OLED TVs & what they're capable of since been in this arena with the likes of Proton, Runco, NEC three gun projectors & on and on , these OLEDs are far cry better than anything in the market past & present plus the pic is right on the spot right out of the box .

LG OLED C8 65 2018 BR . HT: JVC RS2000, S Studio Tek 130 1.3 Gain screen, Apple TV4k, Def Tech 9080/C 9080/9040 Dolby Atmos Speakers, Denon X6500H , Panasonic UB820 and a nagging wife.
Soccerdude is offline  
post #13344 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 06:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drewTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 4,699
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2153 Post(s)
Liked: 2285
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
I installed Plex server on my Win 10 PC. I previously had Plex on this machine (4 yrs ago).

System SKU LENOVO_MT_80HE_BU_idea_FM_Lenovo YOGA 3 Pro-1370

Processor Intel® Core™ M-5Y71 CPU @ 1.20GHz, 1401 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)

8 G RAM

WiFi only

I have a WD MyCloud (not MyCloud Home) an Integra DRX receiver, 2018 LG C8 OLED.

All components are hard wired, except the PC which is WiFi only.

This was a fresh install.

The Web UI came up and all seems ok…

I added a small library of 4 K sample files on the PC which Plex found and I used the LG C8 Photos / Video app, which supports DLNA to access.

PLAYED beautifully…video and audio.

Next I moved some full 4K movies to the folder. They played video A-OK (On one the HDR came up in the corner of the LG) , but when they started there was a note at the top saying “Audio not played” (or something like that). The video / audio was good…but there must be something I am missing about the audio settings…

Here is the data on the file:
Duration : 2 h 10 min

Video : x265 3840x1608 (23.976 fps) @ 13.2 Mb/s (CRF 17)

Audio : English Dolby Atmos 7.1 @ 4252 kb/s
: English Dolby Digital 5.1 @ 640 kb/s

Is there any audio settings on the Server (couldn’t find any)

I presume the setting is on the client side …is there a Plex client for the LG (that is any good?)

Rather than play via the LG …is there another recommended approach.
If you have an Apple TV, Infuse Pro is the way to go. It plays pretty much everything.

LG OLED65E8 | Plinius Hiato | Dynaudio Contour 20 | Dynaudio Stand 6 | REL S/510 | PS Audio DirectStream Junior | Furman IT-Reference 15i
Sony PS4 Pro | Synology DS916+ | Apple TV 4K | BDI Mirage | NEEO | Focal Shape 40 | iFi Pro iDSD | iFi Pro iRack | iFi AC iPurifier | roon
drewTT is offline  
post #13345 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 06:33 PM
Member
 
mildclubsauce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr b View Post
Been searching the web and this forum but couldn't find a definitive answer.

Apparently, the HDMI 2.0b standard can allow for eARC to be added, so my question is - Has LG stated whether they are looking to enable this in a firmware update for the C8? With eARC, I could then play lossless audio from the TV (DLNA, Plex, etc.)


Course I would still need my AVR to support eARC, but that may be cheaper than upgrading the TV.
Ohhhh that'd be really nice if they did that
mildclubsauce is offline  
post #13346 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 08:06 PM
Newbie
 
Steviebaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Steviebaby
Steviebaby is offline  
post #13347 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 08:24 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,240
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3529 Post(s)
Liked: 2547
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr b View Post
Been searching the web and this forum but couldn't find a definitive answer.

Apparently, the HDMI 2.0b standard can allow for eARC to be added, so my question is - Has LG stated whether they are looking to enable this in a firmware update for the C8? With eARC, I could then play lossless audio from the TV (DLNA, Plex, etc.)


Course I would still need my AVR to support eARC, but that may be cheaper than upgrading the TV.

Yes, eARC/VRR is possible with the HDMI 2.0b chipset, but whether LG built-in the upgrade option or not is not known at this point in time. With apparently fully compliant HDMI 2.1 capability on the 2019 sets, my guess is that there won't be an upgrade option for the 2018 sets because they want to use that as a "carrot" to purchase a new tv. I hope not for those of you who need eARC, but time will tell. For me, ARC is a non-issue because I prefer to use an external device for my streaming needs and not rely on the SmartApps so ARC/CEC is disabled.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #13348 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 09:19 PM
Senior Member
 
calfcramp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by starrfighter View Post
I am so jealous that you got to go apartment shopping knowing already what your AV situation was going to be because they never line up then when you move let's just say have a room of boxes especially for things like the LG C8 and even then I pray it will make it in one piece whenever that occurs

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
The timing just worked out, is all. I was looking for a 3 bedroom to begin with. I hadn't decided if I was going to get a 55 or a 65. I personally took my C8 with me in my car totally secure and safe, no one but me will ever touch this screen. Well, without paying the consequences anyway!
macmane and Cam1977 like this.
calfcramp is offline  
post #13349 of 22214 Old 03-15-2019, 09:32 PM
Senior Member
 
calfcramp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr b View Post
As someone else noted, I get that message often, but the file plays just fine.. Not sure why it appears or what it means.
I assumed it may mean that 1 of the audio streams is not supported, and just plays another stream, but I've never spent time trying to troubleshoot since it plays.
That is 100 percent correct. The tv looks for the first native choice of the audio stream that is linked with that source. If it can't be found or will not play it, it will use another one that it has!
ganzhimself likes this.
calfcramp is offline  
post #13350 of 22214 Old 03-16-2019, 07:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Adamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,009
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1138 Post(s)
Liked: 669
It’s weird how they are are rolling the new firmware over the air but it’s not posted on lg website yet.
Adamd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
24p , black deformity , blu-ray , brighter corner , hdmi , hdmi audio missing , lg b8 , lg c8 , lg c8 oled , lg oled , lg oled c8 aspect , lg soundbar , light bleed , oled , soap opera effect , soe , sound bar

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off