2018 LG C8-E8 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 466 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 80338Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13951 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 06:09 AM
Member
 
ganzhimself's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Just wanted to thank everyone who has suggested bumping the 5% up in the 20-point white balance. Even prior to the 04.10.31 update I noticed quite a bit of black crush, but I attributed it to the fact that the panel hasn't even seen 200 hours on it yet. For now, I bumped it for all inputs for both the isf Bright and isf Dark profiles and now the near-black performance is much better without having to up the Gamma to 1.8. The near black performance was the only thing that I really was having a hard time adjusting to, but it was a far less irritating issue than backlight bloom I had come across with FALD LED TVs. Very glad that I made the choice to go through the hassle of hauling the 65" PQ65-F1 back to Costco to get the C8.
djoberg and mrtickleuk like this.
ganzhimself is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13952 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 06:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Adamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,963
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 649
Quote:
Originally Posted by TWD View Post
What pattern are you referring to?
It’s posted a page back. The link is on someone’s replay.
Adamd is offline  
post #13953 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 06:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Adamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,963
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 649
I ended up going with brightness 51 and 5% at plus 9 with new firmware and I’m really happy now tv has never looked so good. These settings work on all my presets some at gamma 2.2 and dark viewing at 1886.
Adamd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13954 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 06:47 AM
Member
 
Smithsonnian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adamd View Post
I used that pattern posted on the other page and my shadow detail looks great now better then before the update. My tv was to bright before on the lower end. With 5% at plus 10 it looks great. On that pattern the brightness slowly ramps up perfectly. On my b7 in my bedroom it’s not as smooth ramping up.

I don't understand this "With 5% at plus 10 it looks great." What I need to do to achieve this?
Smithsonnian is offline  
post #13955 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 06:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Adamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,963
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 649
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smithsonnian View Post
I don't understand this "With 5% at plus 10 it looks great." What I need to do to achieve this?
You have to go into the 20pt calibration then go to 5% and up it to what looks good on your panel. The last three pages or so people have been talking about this and there is some better explaining on past posts.
Adamd is offline  
post #13956 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 06:56 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,386
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6583 Post(s)
Liked: 6580
Quote:
Originally Posted by abouels0827 View Post
Lg e8 dead pixels??? So I just turned my 55e8 on after a few weeks hideous...and what do I see from my couch. 3 stuck green pixels each about 6 inches from each other making a triangle. What should I do? I immendiately ran the pixel refresh and I'm waiting for that to finish and see if it fixed it. I'm worried now. I mean the tv probably only has 60 hours max. So disappointed 😔.
Quote:
Originally Posted by chronitis View Post
The pixels may not be dead. Search for a stuck pixel video on YouTube and run it for a few hours.
If that does not work, call LG 1 (800) 243-0000
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #13957 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 07:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
That cycle runs every 4 hours of usage and lasts about 10 minutes.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hurin View Post
By default, when the TV is turned off, it often goes into a "pixel refresher" (or something like that) mode for several minutes (I think I remember reading 20-30 minutes). It does all of this while the TV appears to be off. I suspect that might be what you're seeing, power usage-wise?

--H
Thanks for the reply. I was suspecting the same thing at first. But the wattage stayed between 2.5 to 2.8 watts no matter how long the TV had been off. Something is drawing the extra power, which is my concern. Has anybody measured the TV's power consumption in standby mode? Thanks.
chunon likes this.
regchar is offline  
post #13958 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 07:36 AM
Member
 
Hurin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: California
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smithsonnian View Post
I don't understand this "With 5% at plus 10 it looks great." What I need to do to achieve this?
In your chosen picture mode, go to Expert Settings, White Balance.

In there, you need to set it from the 2 Point adjustment to the 20 Point adjustment.

Then you can select inner (built-in) vs outer (what you're feeding to the display) test screen source. I'd choose outer and display wizziwig's gamma correction slide (in a pitch black room or you won't see the ones around the upper left one at all). It's linked a few times over the last few pages.

Then you select "5 IRE" (synonymous with 5%) and adjust that.

Note that luminance target only shows up for the 100 IRE setting. It is greyed out for other IRE settings (they are all based on that 100 IRE target).

--H
Smithsonnian likes this.
Hurin is offline  
post #13959 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 07:54 AM
Member
 
SantiP80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quick question -- i just purchased the C8 and it seems that there is no way to get HBO GO app on this TV? Is this true? Seems weird because every other smart TV i have ever had supported the HBO apps.

Thank You
SantiP80 is offline  
post #13960 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 07:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pwiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 170
After the update I did a comparison of a scene from the Skyfall Bluray. I have the set on Technicolor with brightness at 50 and gamma at BT1886. I took one photo at zero luminance for 5 IRE and another photo at plus 10. To me keeping at zero luminance shows less noise than bumping to plus 10. Since these panels do vary from one to the next increasing 5 IRE might be good or not so good depending on your set.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	B17D5BB4-A49D-46FB-A1B7-2B64C81FDBFF.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	87.0 KB
ID:	2544434   Click image for larger version

Name:	B152CCBD-A2E7-4A6B-8B5A-9015EE871849.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	95.4 KB
ID:	2544436  
pwiss is offline  
post #13961 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 08:18 AM
Senior Member
 
hobbes4444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: West Newton, MA
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by abouels0827 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
^please save your money and dont go to BB!
why's it so hard to find a calibration expert online. All that I see is best buy over and over again lol
Try LionAV. Gregg did an amazing job on my plasmas over the years. While he is east coast based, they have a network of calibrators that is Nationwide, IIRC.

HT: Oppo 205, Oppo 93 (all region), DirecTV > Marantz SR7012/SimAudio MOON 340i (FL/FR) > B&W CM10S2, B&W Centre 2 S2, B&W 683 (surround), B&W ASW 610 sub; LG C8 OLED 55" monitor
2CH: Oppo 205, Rega RP3/Hana EH> Rega PSU-2 > SimAudio MOON Neo 310LP > SimAudio MOON 340i > B&W CM10S2
hobbes4444 is offline  
post #13962 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 08:27 AM
Member
 
Hurin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: California
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwiss View Post
After the update I did a comparison of a scene from the Skyfall Bluray. I have the set on Technicolor with brightness at 50 and gamma at BT1886. I took one photo at zero luminance for 5 IRE and another photo at plus 10. To me keeping at zero luminance shows less noise than bumping to plus 10. Since these panels do vary from one to the next increasing 5 IRE might be good or not so good depending on your set.
What is "shadow detail" in one scene is "noise" in another when the black in a scene isn't encoded as pure black.

--H
calfcramp and mrtickleuk like this.
Hurin is offline  
post #13963 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 08:34 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,392
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3823 Post(s)
Liked: 3738
Quote:
Originally Posted by SantiP80 View Post
Quick question -- i just purchased the C8 and it seems that there is no way to get HBO GO app on this TV? Is this true? Seems weird because every other smart TV i have ever had supported the HBO apps.



Thank You


As far as I know it’s not offered


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is online now  
post #13964 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 08:53 AM
Member
 
Smithsonnian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
As far as I know it’s not offered


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Weird, I have HBO GO.
Smithsonnian is offline  
post #13965 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 08:56 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,392
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3823 Post(s)
Liked: 3738
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smithsonnian View Post
Weird, I have HBO GO.


I could be wrong , I just did a quick google search . I don’t use the onboard apps so I’ll defer to you if you do .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is online now  
post #13966 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 08:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pwiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hurin View Post
What is "shadow detail" in one scene is "noise" in another when the black in a scene isn't encoded as pure black.

--H
True. I am one that is bothered much more by low level noise. The balance of noise and shadow detail is a challenge for all displays. The Cinematographer is really the only one who knows exactly what a specific scene was intended to look like.
pwiss is offline  
post #13967 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 08:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
macmane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Crystal Lake
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1081 Post(s)
Liked: 642
I got a question I wanna knw why most on here dont use the built in apps ie Netflix YouTube etc?

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
macmane is offline  
post #13968 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 09:00 AM
Member
 
SantiP80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smithsonnian View Post
Weird, I have HBO GO.
Interesting, i'll have to call LG and ask them why it's not showing up for me. I know you can access it through their Web OS but that's kind of lame, i'd rather have a dedicated app
SantiP80 is offline  
post #13969 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 09:01 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,392
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3823 Post(s)
Liked: 3738
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmane View Post
I got a question I wanna knw why most on here dont use the built in apps ie Netflix YouTube etc?

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk


For me I have a ATV 4k so makes no sense for me, I know on Sony’s the bandwidth was capped on the internal apps compared to external streaming boxes.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is online now  
post #13970 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 09:07 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 14,951
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3401 Post(s)
Liked: 2456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smithsonnian View Post
Weird, I have HBO GO.

You have HBO Go as a SmartApp on your C8? I have it on the ATV4k.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #13971 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 09:36 AM
Member
 
Smithsonnian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
You have HBO Go as a SmartApp on your C8? I have it on the ATV4k.

Yes, I purchased C8 few days ago and HBO was already pre-installed just like Netflix.
Smithsonnian is offline  
post #13972 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 09:42 AM
Senior Member
 
isingh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by abouels0827 View Post
why's it so hard to find a calibration expert online. All that I see is best buy over and over again lol
Quote:
Originally Posted by abouels0827 View Post
yeah that's why I asked...I figured they just out to screw ppl, I'd rather find a real professional in my area.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
^please save your money and dont go to BB!
So what exactly is the problem with BB calibrators ? Are they not certified? The pros do cost almost twice as much than BB, BB is local and pros are hard to come by on regular basis.
isingh is offline  
post #13973 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 09:44 AM
Senior Member
 
chengka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smithsonnian View Post
Yes, I purchased C8 few days ago and HBO was already pre-installed just like Netflix.
Now I have to go check. If true, this is a seriously good news. HBO was dropped from the WebOS app list years ago. I'm about to sign up to watch GOT and I'd rather not have to use my Roku. Question Smithsonian, are you in the USA?
chengka is offline  
post #13974 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 09:53 AM
Member
 
Smithsonnian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by chengka View Post
Now I have to go check. If true, this is a seriously good news. HBO was dropped from the WebOS app list years ago. I'm about to sign up to watch GOT and I'd rather not have to use my Roku. Question Smithsonian, are you in the USA?

Nope, Europe.
Smithsonnian is offline  
post #13975 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 09:53 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,392
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3823 Post(s)
Liked: 3738
Quote:
Originally Posted by isingh View Post
So what exactly is the problem with BB calibrators ? Are they not certified? The pros do cost almost twice as much than BB, BB is local and pros are hard to come by on regular basis.


The problem is usually equipment, experience and lack of time for each appointment , I have seen many bad Best Buy calibrations . Not saying it’s impossible to get a good one but the odds are not good. This is a case of you get what you pay for. You would be better off doing it yourself imo.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
calfcramp likes this.

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is online now  
post #13976 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 09:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mzupeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,482
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 406 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by isingh View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by abouels0827 View Post
why's it so hard to find a calibration expert online. All that I see is best buy over and over again lol
Quote:
Originally Posted by abouels0827 View Post
yeah that's why I asked...I figured they just out to screw ppl, I'd rather find a real professional in my area.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
^please save your money and dont go to BB!
So what exactly is the problem with BB calibrators ? Are they not certified? The pros do cost almost twice as much than BB, BB is local and pros are hard to come by [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/frown.gif[/IMG] on regular basis.
Training they might have, experience they won’t.
calfcramp likes this.
mzupeman is offline  
post #13977 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 09:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,392
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3823 Post(s)
Liked: 3738
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smithsonnian View Post
Nope, Europe.


That’s not available in North America that clears up the confusion .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
SantiP80 likes this.

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is online now  
post #13978 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 09:56 AM
Member
 
nelamvr6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New London, CT USA
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
For me I have a ATV 4k so makes no sense for me, I know on Sony’s the bandwidth was capped on the internal apps compared to external streaming boxes.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Earlier in this (very long) thread there seemed to be a consensus that the internal apps were better. Is this no longer the case? Is the bandwidth on the LG's internal apps capped like it is on the Sony sets?
nelamvr6 is offline  
post #13979 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 09:59 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,392
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3823 Post(s)
Liked: 3738
Quote:
Originally Posted by nelamvr6 View Post
Earlier in this (very long) thread there seemed to be a consensus that the internal apps were better. Is this no longer the case? Is the bandwidth on the LG's internal apps capped like it is on the Sony sets?


I am not implying anything about the lg apps other than stating my use case and why I don’t use them. I have no opinion one way or the other on the lg apps .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is online now  
post #13980 of 21184 Old 03-26-2019, 10:07 AM
Member
 
oak1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hurin View Post
In your chosen picture mode, go to Expert Settings, White Balance.

In there, you need to set it from the 2 Point adjustment to the 20 Point adjustment.

Then you can select inner (built-in) vs outer (what you're feeding to the display) test screen source. I'd choose outer and display wizziwig's gamma correction slide (in a pitch black room or you won't see the ones around the upper left one at all). It's linked a few times over the last few pages.

Then you select "5 IRE" (synonymous with 5%) and adjust that.

Note that luminance target only shows up for the 100 IRE setting. It is greyed out for other IRE settings (they are all based on that 100 IRE target).

--H
I am also attempting to adjust the white balance after updating to the new firmware but when I enter the White Balance menu, any sub selection I click on (Color Temp, Method, Pattern, IRE, etc.) is greyed out. I've adjusted the color temp before, so have no idea why the options are now "locked down" for some reason. Anyone have any suggestions?

I am primarily viewing content via an Apple TV and PS4 both connected via HDMI to a Denon AVR-x3400 connected to the C8 via HDMI2. I just set up the AVR last week, so I'm wondering if that has anything to do with it. Prior to that, my Apple TV and PS4 were connected directly to the C8. (Don't know if this info has anything to do with my issue, but figured I'd mentioned this recent change to my set up in the event it helps diagnose the issue.)

Thanks in advance for any help.
oak1a is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
24p , black deformity , brighter corner , hdmi audio missing , lg b8 , lg c8 , lg c8 oled , lg oled , lg oled c8 aspect , lg soundbar , light bleed , oled , soap opera effect , soe , sound bar

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off