2018 LG C8-E8 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 470 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 81316Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14071 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 01:35 AM
Member
 
darthkringle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Milan254 View Post
I sent you a private message in regards to your firmware request
Is it possible to get the 04.10.15 in FW? I upgraded and it did help with the macroblocking which I did have but it made the image look a bit less engaging overall. I'll revert back if possible until Jeff Meier (UMR) comes in a few weeks to calibrate my set

If anyone has the file and can PM, I'd be grateful.
darthkringle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14072 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 02:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,506
Mentioned: 184 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5196 Post(s)
Liked: 7521
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlosC View Post
Has it been officially determined that under the motion settings, De-Judder only affects 24/30fps content, while De-Blur only affects 60fps content... or do they both work in conjunction?
I think you are correct. I make notes from loads of sources, but I don't always note where they came from. Sometimes they are additive, as in the below. Some of it was from one of Vincent Teoh's video but I can't remember more. However, if you accept that, here's what I have:

["Custom"]: De-Judder [24Hz] - Controls frames that are added. Everyone can find their happy medium. Too high will produce the Soap Opera Effect.
["Custom"]: De-Blur [50/60Hz] - Without corrections to 50/60Hz material, fluid motion would look blurred. This sharpens it back up.

Clearly, you can't add extra frames if the material is already 50/60Hz, so for that content, De-J can't do anything. So logically, De-J is only for 24/30Hz content.

I'm sure that De-B doesn't drop frames but don't know exactly what it is doing to each 50/60Hz frame.
mildclubsauce likes this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #14073 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 03:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 314 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Does LG at some point force those updates in which they regard as “important updates” onto those that have chosen not to update for quite some time or are you able to stay on whatever FW you like for any period of time?

On a completely separate note, as long as I’m not experiencing any video/audio dropouts my HDMI cables are obviously holding their own, right? I’m not using all premium certified. However, the ones that aren’t premium certified have excellent reviews that they work as intended maximum HDMI 2.0 standards can allow and I’ve experienced no issues thus far and I’ve used them for about a year now. I would’ve known/noticed if they were struggling somehow, right? Do the premium certified also affect colors/other aspects I’m unaware of aside from holding proper speed?

Last edited by MeganElisabeth; 03-27-2019 at 04:44 AM.
MeganElisabeth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14074 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 03:26 AM
Member
 
Smithsonnian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Can someone send me 04.10.15 fw?
Smithsonnian is offline  
post #14075 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 03:55 AM
Newbie
 
Magus416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Milan254 View Post
I sent you a private message in regards to your firmware request
Hate to be that guy but mind helping me out too? Definitely getting crushed blacks since the update.
Magus416 is offline  
post #14076 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 04:07 AM
Senior Member
 
cuibap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by leiff View Post
no. update from USB using prior firmware. Despite what others are saying, my HDR picture is is not as bright and lacks the pop that it had prior to this most recent update.

If you are able to do this then you can update it naturally from old version and judge for yourself
Thanks. You can go back to older version using USB?

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

Sony XBR-X940E; Yamaha RX-A1060; Nvidia Shield TV; OPPO BDP-93; Yamaha RX-A1070
cuibap is online now  
post #14077 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 06:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by darthkringle View Post
Is it possible to get the 04.10.15 in FW? I upgraded and it did help with the macroblocking which I did have but it made the image look a bit less engaging overall. I'll revert back if possible until Jeff Meier (UMR) comes in a few weeks to calibrate my set

If anyone has the file and can PM, I'd be grateful.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smithsonnian View Post
Can someone send me 04.10.15 fw?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magus416 View Post
Hate to be that guy but mind helping me out too? Definitely getting crushed blacks since the update.
PM'd you all.
11thunder07 likes this.
sovereignstar is online now  
post #14078 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 07:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
djoberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: West Central Minnesota
Posts: 6,614
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1437 Post(s)
Liked: 2150
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlazednSleepy View Post
It's really frustrating that this new update crushes blacks. It also seems HDR isn't as bright. What the hell LG?!!?
Quote:
Originally Posted by leiff View Post
Yes, this is the big problem!! HDR is definitely not as bright and all these ire fixes people are posting won't work for HDR since gamma cant be adjusted on HDR mode. Has anyone been able to revert firmware back? I am desperate to do so
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewTT View Post
The issue is with SDR.
I was replying to the two posts above yours. They (and others) are saying the new FW Update has affected HDR's brightness.

You are certainly correct though about SDR. I watched 911 and The Enemy Within last night and the blacks were horrendous in a few scenes. They crushed details BIG TIME!

LG OLED 77C8...Denon X4300H 9.2 AVR...LG UHD UBK90 (Dolby Vision BDP)...Philips UHD BDP-7501...Toshiba HD-A30...Dish Hopper 3...Roku Premiere Plus...Harmony One

5.2.4 Set-up: SVS Prime Bookshelf Speakers (4)...SVS Prime Center...SVS Prime Elevation (4)...SVS PC-2000 & PC12-NSD Subs
djoberg is online now  
post #14079 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 07:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
djoberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: West Central Minnesota
Posts: 6,614
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1437 Post(s)
Liked: 2150
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlosC View Post
Has it been officially determined that under the motion settings, De-Judder only affects 24/30fps content, while De-Blur only affects 60fps content... or do they both work in conjunction?
I have no idea. Perhaps someone else can answer your question.

LG OLED 77C8...Denon X4300H 9.2 AVR...LG UHD UBK90 (Dolby Vision BDP)...Philips UHD BDP-7501...Toshiba HD-A30...Dish Hopper 3...Roku Premiere Plus...Harmony One

5.2.4 Set-up: SVS Prime Bookshelf Speakers (4)...SVS Prime Center...SVS Prime Elevation (4)...SVS PC-2000 & PC12-NSD Subs
djoberg is online now  
post #14080 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 07:56 AM
Member
 
SantiP80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redogfizbal View Post
If you have amazon prime you can purchase HBO through them and watch it on the amazon app.
I hear you, i was trying to avoid that since i already pay for HBO through Xfinity. This new TV is in a location where i don't have cable access.
SantiP80 is offline  
post #14081 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 08:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by darthkringle View Post
Is it possible to get the 04.10.15 in FW? I upgraded and it did help with the macroblocking which I did have but it made the image look a bit less engaging overall. I'll revert back if possible until Jeff Meier (UMR) comes in a few weeks to calibrate my set

If anyone has the file and can PM, I'd be grateful.
Sorry I no longer have the file.
Milan254 is offline  
post #14082 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 08:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
I have my ATV4k set to 4k SDR @60Hz, chroma 4:4:4 using YCbCr, with Dolby Vision enabled. Chroma 4:4:4 is part of the HDMI 2.0b hardware specifications, of which the ATV4k and the C8 are both capable. .... PQ is gorgeous with any source and the audio is perfect.
Help me understand why you select 4k SDR @60Hz if 'higher' options are available. Why not the highest option of Dolby Vision?
ItzMe is offline  
post #14083 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 08:42 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,551
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6639 Post(s)
Liked: 6455
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItzMe View Post
Help me understand why you select 4k SDR @60Hz if 'higher' options are available. Why not the highest option of Dolby Vision?


Not all apps have the “SDR” flag so you’d be forcing (HDR10 or DV) on an SDR source. 4K SDR with March settings set to yes ensures SDR for SDR and HDR (regardless of flavor) for HDR.
calfcramp and mrtickleuk like this.
Ph8te is online now  
post #14084 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 08:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene9p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 1,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 117
looks like I deleted the old firmware..not in recycle bin either..ughh


If anyone has one to share, please pm me


thanks
gene9p is offline  
post #14085 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 08:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
flycaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Boynton Beach, FL
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Sound, but no picture with subscribed Amazon Prime?

Don't know what I am doing wrong with my newly setup 55C8. I have OK'd the privacy and user agreements (BTW, any downside in agreeing to these two?) and have just added the latest update to the C8. I am a subscriber to Amazon Prime, but yet when I select a movie via the magic remote Amazon button, the movie's sound comes in, but there is no picture???

Also, using the firetvstick to access Prime via an add-on app, the same thing happens???

Any suggestions? Thanks.
flycaster is offline  
post #14086 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 08:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
macmane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Crystal Lake
Posts: 2,151
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1131 Post(s)
Liked: 687
I have the 4.10.15 file I just need assistance on how to upload it here lol

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
macmane is online now  
post #14087 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 08:54 AM
TWD
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TWD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 1,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 60
I noticed that some members are asking for the older 4.10.15 version of the C8 software. Wasn’t that last version 4.10.20?
calfcramp and mrtickleuk like this.

TWD
TWD is offline  
post #14088 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 08:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene9p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 1,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmane View Post
I have the 4.10.15 file I just need assistance on how to upload it here lol

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk



see the instructions for the current FW on LG's website. It's the same procedure.
gene9p is offline  
post #14089 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 08:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wjboshart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2,239
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1355 Post(s)
Liked: 1323
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmane View Post
I have the 4.10.15 file I just need assistance on how to upload it here lol

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk


Get Dropbox or something and put it in there, then share the link here


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
macmane likes this.
Wjboshart is offline  
post #14090 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 08:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,206
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 466 Post(s)
Liked: 356
One LG update and now we have 4 pages of dark, darker, bright, brighter, ugh! Also I suggest to newbies, just search the word "newbie" and you will get your answers. People wanting to know the number of hours, please search "hours" and ta da! Most of these have been answered a gazillion times, please. I am sure there are more, search is your friend.
calfcramp and mrtickleuk like this.
tanman is offline  
post #14091 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 09:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
flycaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Boynton Beach, FL
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Why are my 2010 50V10's images sharper than my new 55C8?

I know it is a bit early to ask this as the 55C8 has only been in use for a week, or so. but here goes...


I'm running the set with only some very, very minor adjustments to the settings. The picture color and quality looks pretty good. But I am finding that the images could be somewhat better defined (a little sharper, perhaps.) Sharpness is set at 10 and I have the latest updates. I am coming from (and still have) a 2010 Panasonic plasma 50V10, which after all these years still has a marvelous picture that is definitely sharper than the C8's.
flycaster is offline  
post #14092 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 09:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
Viking 29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alamogordo NM
Posts: 726
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 307
I have the firmware as well. Are you going to get a dropbox link out there MacMane? I have some time today to try and figure it out but if you're going to tackle it then I don't need to do it.
Viking 29 is online now  
post #14093 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 09:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmane View Post
I have the 4.10.15 file I just need assistance on how to upload it here lol

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk


Here is the 4.10.15 for 65C8PUA USA

https://drive.google.com/drive/folde...3B?usp=sharing

The MD5 hash is:

fe5aaaa56eaaa3f779eb46c88f9ecbd9


Use entirely at your own risk.
GreenDice, saronian, leiff and 3 others like this.
Tool Belt is offline  
post #14094 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 09:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
macmane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Crystal Lake
Posts: 2,151
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1131 Post(s)
Liked: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tool Belt View Post
Here is the 4.10.15 for 65C8PUA USA



https://drive.google.com/drive/folde...3B?usp=sharing



The MD5 hash is:



fe5aaaa56eaaa3f779eb46c88f9ecbd9





Use entirely at your own risk.
Ha and I was just uploading it but to everyone else there it is

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
macmane is online now  
post #14095 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 09:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItzMe View Post
Help me understand why you select 4k SDR @60Hz if 'higher' options are available. Why not the highest option of Dolby Vision?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
Not all apps have the “SDR” flag so you’d be forcing (HDR10 or DV) on an SDR source. 4K SDR with March settings set to yes ensures SDR for SDR and HDR (regardless of flavor) for HDR.
Oh! So I'd never miss out on the best of Dolby Vision or HDR? I'd still get the highest possible quality? I just experiemented setting the ATV4k to 4k SDR @60 and then went to Netflix and played Guardian of the Galaxy and I didn't get the Dolby Vision notification in the the upper right. But I DID get the Dolby Vision notification playing Roma.

Hmmm? I want SD to look its best and get Dolby Vison or the highest UHD possible, too.
ItzMe is offline  
post #14096 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 09:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Finland
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItzMe View Post
Oh! So I'd never miss out on the best of Dolby Vision or HDR? I'd still get the highest possible quality? I just experiemented setting the ATV4k to 4k SDR @60 and then went to Netflix and played Guardian of the Galaxy and I didn't get the Dolby Vision notification in the the upper right. But I DID get the Dolby Vision notification playing Roma.

Hmmm? I want SD to look its best and get Dolby Vison or the highest UHD possible, too.
When you match dynamic range settings in the aTV settings, you get the best of everything; HDR stuff will be played in HDR, and SDR stuff in SDR, as it's supposed (or at least meant by the content creators) to be. If I remember correctly GotG on Netflix isn't in DV to begin with while Roma is, so that's why what you described happened.

OLED55C8PLA | Panasonic UB820
JV_82 is offline  
post #14097 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 09:44 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,551
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6639 Post(s)
Liked: 6455
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItzMe View Post
Oh! So I'd never miss out on the best of Dolby Vision or HDR? I'd still get the highest possible quality? I just experiemented setting the ATV4k to 4k SDR @60 and then went to Netflix and played Guardian of the Galaxy and I didn't get the Dolby Vision notification in the the upper right. But I DID get the Dolby Vision notification playing Roma.



Hmmm? I want SD to look its best and get Dolby Vison or the highest UHD possible, too.


That’s correct. GoG is not available in DV on NetFlix (it’s mislabeled). You’ll want to play something like Altered Carbon or another NetFlix original.
ItzMe and calfcramp like this.
Ph8te is online now  
post #14098 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 09:48 AM
Member
 
SantiP80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by JV_82 View Post
When you match dynamic range settings in the aTV settings, you get the best of everything; HDR stuff will be played in HDR, and SDR stuff in SDR, as it's supposed (or at least meant by the content creators) to be. If I remember correctly GotG on Netflix isn't in DV to begin with while Roma is, so that's why what you described happened.
That is correct GoTG is not in DV on Netfilx. As a side note, i just purchased my C8 earlier this week and i've noticed far superior results watching HDR in the Amazon Prime Video app vs Dolby Vision content on the Netflix app.

All of the Dolby Vision content on Netflix has a slight green tint to it unfortunately.
SantiP80 is offline  
post #14099 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 09:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
That’s correct. GoG is not available in DV on NetFlix (it’s mislabeled). You’ll want to play something like Altered Carbon or another NetFlix original.
Thanks. Another observation about not setting the ATV at the Dolby Vision format is that while the ATV interface is a tad less vibrant, it’s speedier now. There was a longer handshake-like delay as I started and left content before (with Dolby Vision as the format).
ItzMe is offline  
post #14100 of 22534 Old 03-27-2019, 10:11 AM
Member
 
Smithsonnian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Is there someone with european 55C8PLA 04.10.15 update?
Smithsonnian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
24p , black deformity , blu-ray , brighter corner , denon x3500 , eye strain , firmware update , hdmi , hdmi audio missing , lg b8 , lg c8 , lg c8 oled , lg oled , lg oled c8 aspect , lg soundbar , light bleed , oled , soap opera effect , soe , sound bar

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off