2018 LG C8-E8 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 518 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 80339Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15511 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 05:31 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,392
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3823 Post(s)
Liked: 3739
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbass2k View Post
I just got ridiculously noisy shadow details from DTVs overly compressed signal.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk


Roger that very noisy, looks better on HBO Go but not entirely pristine .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ayrton911 and tbass2k like this.

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15512 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 05:32 AM
Senior Member
 
cwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBrandon View Post
Anyone get ridiculously crushed blacks watching GoT last night? Assuming this is a firmware issue?
Did not....may need to bump up your brightness? I'm not in front of my set, not OLED but the other. Can't bump it up too much or you will gray out your blacks. I think GOT looked great last night, was streaming through the on board Prime app and DD+ streamed through ARC to my receiver. Room was fairly dim.
cwick is offline  
post #15513 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 06:05 AM
Senior Member
 
waltinaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwick View Post
Did not....may need to bump up your brightness? I'm not in front of my set, not OLED but the other. Can't bump it up too much or you will gray out your blacks. I think GOT looked great last night, was streaming through the on board Prime app and DD+ streamed through ARC to my receiver. Room was fairly dim.

I also thought GOT looked great on my 77C8 with the .31 FW, ISF Dark or Bright (depending on ambient light, as sun went down), and the recommended 20-pt IRE settings from however many pages/posts ago. Source was Cox cable. Lots of dark scenes that would have been very crushed or muddy/blocky before the FW update. YMMV...


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
djoberg and ganzhimself like this.

________

LG OLED 77C8PUA...stunning!
LG UBK90 Ultra Player
Denon AVR-X2300W
waltinaz is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15514 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 07:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBrandon View Post
Anyone get ridiculously crushed blacks watching GoT last night? Assuming this is a firmware issue?


Not if you did chronitis and jk82 settings .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
3isRC is offline  
post #15515 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 07:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jdbimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrocker23 View Post
I'm on Verizon FiOS and their 4K boxes so I really haven't had any real issues with tv. I think the worst I have is the yes channel is showing low quality but no real banding. Noise compression has been very little.

I don't want a lot of different channels & is been mostly sports lately between MLB & NHL

TV - LG C8 & LG C6, AVR - Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Switch
Did you upgrade from the FIOS VMS1100 and IPC1100 clients? If so, would you say that the FIOS One boxes provide an improvement in picture quality?

Also, I agree, that PQ on YES is not good. Lots of compression artifacts - especially mosquito noise.
jdbimmer is offline  
post #15516 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 08:48 AM
Member
 
Hurin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: California
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 146
My GoT report, using 65" C8 with the .31 firmware. . .

GoT looked great last night, even in the crypts and in the other dark scenes. Plenty of shadow detail, no flashing, inky true blacks where appropriate.

I watch on HBO Now app via Apple TV 4K where I have found that my Apple TV 4K requires the TV brightness to be at 54 and the 5% IRE luminance in 20-point White Balance menu to be set to +10.

Whereas, my 4K Blu-Ray player only wants Brightness set to 51 for SDR, and left alone at 50 for Dolby Vision and HDR (with no adjustment to White Balance).

--H
mrtickleuk likes this.
Hurin is offline  
post #15517 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 08:52 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 14,951
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3402 Post(s)
Liked: 2456
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwick View Post
I have a Harmony also and works great, but don't you need ARC to send audio from the TV back to your receiver?
No. The main advantage of ARC is the elimination of an optical cable. Some ARC will allow for lossy Atmos but it depends on the mfr. Discrete 5.1 is what you normally get if the source is encoded for that. HD Audio (Dolby TrueHD, DTS-MA, etc) is not currently possible with optical or ARC. If you use an optical cable you can send audio from your tv to the receiver, and the audio can originate from either the internal SmartApps or OTA television. I use optical for audio originating from Comcast local HDTV. All other audio sources go thru my receiver first and only the video is sent to the tv.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #15518 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 08:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Zaxcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 68
I called LG today about the banding issue since .31 and they said they they will need to send a tech to my house. Really not sure I want that. Seems like they are not aware of the issue and they made no mention of any forth coming software to fix this. Of course this was level 1 support, and I am not familiar enough with LG CSR protocol to know how to get to their high levels of support.
Zaxcom is offline  
post #15519 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 09:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TheBrandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,573
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 555 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3isRC View Post
Not if you did chronitis and jk82 settings .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thank you! This thread moves so freaking fast. I'll have to play with this and going to paste it for anyone else that may be passing through.

Isf dark
OLED light 28
Brightness 50
Contrast 85.
Gamma 2.4

20 point luminance adjustments:
5) +12
10) +14
15) +12
20) +10
25) +8
30) +6
35) +7
40) +4
45) +3
50) +4
55) +6
60) +3
65) +2
70) +5
75) +6
80) +3
85) -2
90) -3

Hopefully this doesn't happen with more firmware updates. I had everything dialed the way I like it.
TheBrandon is offline  
post #15520 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 09:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,097
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdbimmer View Post
Did you upgrade from the FIOS VMS1100 and IPC1100 clients? If so, would you say that the FIOS One boxes provide an improvement in picture quality?



Also, I agree, that PQ on YES is not good. Lots of compression artifacts - especially mosquito noise.
Yes I have the VMS 4100 & 2 IPC 4100 clients.

I definitely see an improvement in picture quality on most channels but yes network really needs some work

TV - LG C8 & LG C6, AVR - Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Switch
SL600 likes this.

Living Room: LG 65C8, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedroom: LG 55C6P, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
Link to LG C8PUA Firmware https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
Link to LG UH8500 & C6 Firmware http://www.lg.com/us/support-product...D55C6P#manuals
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #15521 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 09:10 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBrandon View Post
Thank you! This thread moves so freaking fast. I'll have to play with this and going to paste it for anyone else that may be passing through.

Isf dark
OLED light 28
Brightness 50
Contrast 85.
Gamma 2.4

20 point luminance adjustments:
5) +12
10) +14
15) +12
20) +10
25) +8
30) +6
35) +7
40) +4
45) +3
50) +4
55) +6
60) +3
65) +2
70) +5
75) +6
80) +3
85) -2
90) -3

Hopefully this doesn't happen with more firmware updates. I had everything dialed the way I like it.

Hello all,

I've already found this settings for isf dark.
But I've searched the entire thread and found no settings for isf bright. Any ideas ?

Thanks in advance,
Éric.
eric59 is offline  
post #15522 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 09:12 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 14,951
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3402 Post(s)
Liked: 2456
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBrandon View Post
Anyone get ridiculously crushed blacks watching GoT last night? Assuming this is a firmware issue?

No. The only scene that was a bit difficult to see was the scene with Tormund, but it was intended to be that dark. I use a bias light and that helped with the scene. Even when the light from the sword illuminated the walls, detail was there with no blocking.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #15523 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 09:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jdbimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrocker23 View Post
Yes I have the VMS 4100 & 2 IPC 4100 clients.

I definitely see an improvement in picture quality on most channels but yes network really needs some work.

TV - LG C8 & LG C6, AVR - Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Switch
By accident I found the PQ with the IPC1100 client STB looks much better on the C8 (and on my old EG9100) compared to the VMS1100 server, but it is still not as good as it was with the old DVR STBs. I will give the new ones a try. Thanks.
jdbimmer is offline  
post #15524 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 09:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric59 View Post
Hello all,



I've already found this settings for isf dark.

But I've searched the entire thread and found no settings for isf bright. Any ideas ?



Thanks in advance,

Éric.


I don’t really use ISF bright, I keep my isf dark with OLED light setting at 40. But with chronitis settings I went ahead and applied for ISF bright as well and leaving the default OLED light setting.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
3isRC is offline  
post #15525 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 09:52 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3isRC View Post
I don’t really use ISF bright, I keep my isf dark with OLED light setting at 40. But with chronitis settings I went ahead and applied for ISF bright as well and leaving the default OLED light setting.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thank you
eric59 is offline  
post #15526 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 10:06 AM
Senior Member
 
cwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
No. The main advantage of ARC is the elimination of an optical cable. Some ARC will allow for lossy Atmos but it depends on the mfr. Discrete 5.1 is what you normally get if the source is encoded for that. HD Audio (Dolby TrueHD, DTS-MA, etc) is not currently possible with optical or ARC. If you use an optical cable you can send audio from your tv to the receiver, and the audio can originate from either the internal SmartApps or OTA television. I use optical for audio originating from Comcast local HDTV. All other audio sources go thru my receiver first and only the video is sent to the tv.
Gotcha. I like that as soon as I turn on my AVR, the internal TV speakers get shut off and I get DD or DD+ sent to the AVR from the TV. With the TV either playing OTA via a Tivo or any of the on board smart apps. I do dislike the AVR and or Apple TV 4K being turned on when I don't want them on...depending on what the TV inputs were when I shut it off. Still tinkering a bit. I do have an optical cable but didn't plug it into the new AVR, didn't think I would need it using the ARC hdmi connection.
cwick is offline  
post #15527 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 10:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
RiverSide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBrandon View Post
Anyone get ridiculously crushed blacks watching GoT last night? Assuming this is a firmware issue?
so many other variables before firmware... what was your source? cable box? streaming device? built-in app? Viewing mode? gamma settings? any IRE adjustments?

I'm on firmware .15 and watched it using Xfinity Stream app on Roku Ultra. Completely dark room.. (even unplugged annoying night lights in hallway) ISF Dark Room, OLED light 28, Contrast 85, Brightness 50. Gamma 2.4 with chronitis provided adjustments to 20-Point IRE.

Black levels were delicious with loads of shadow details...
calfcramp and mrtickleuk like this.

Insert pithy comment here
RiverSide is offline  
post #15528 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 10:09 AM
Senior Member
 
cwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBrandon View Post
Thank you! This thread moves so freaking fast. I'll have to play with this and going to paste it for anyone else that may be passing through.

Isf dark
OLED light 28
Brightness 50
Contrast 85.
Gamma 2.4

20 point luminance adjustments:
5) +12
10) +14
15) +12
20) +10
25) +8
30) +6
35) +7
40) +4
45) +3
50) +4
55) +6
60) +3
65) +2
70) +5
75) +6
80) +3
85) -2
90) -3

Hopefully this doesn't happen with more firmware updates. I had everything dialed the way I like it.
That OLED 28 is too dark for me, but whatever works!!
cwick is offline  
post #15529 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 10:16 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 14,951
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3402 Post(s)
Liked: 2456
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwick View Post
Gotcha. I like that as soon as I turn on my AVR, the internal TV speakers get shut off and I get DD or DD+ sent to the AVR from the TV. With the TV either playing OTA via a Tivo or any of the on board smart apps. I do dislike the AVR and or Apple TV 4K being turned on when I don't want them on...depending on what the TV inputs were when I shut it off. Still tinkering a bit. I do have an optical cable but didn't plug it into the new AVR, didn't think I would need it using the ARC hdmi connection.
You don't want to use optical with ARC because that sort of defeats the purpose. If you use optical, then you should disable ARC/CEC on all of your HDMI connected devices. Optical will take the place of ARC. CEC is for single remote control of your HTS (power, input switching, volume, channel selection, etc) and is usually the cause of devices not properly turning on/off, the correct inputs selected etc. To replace CEC you need to use a programmable remote like a Harmony.

My system consists of a 65 C8, UBK90 UHD/BD player, ATV4k, Comcast cable box, and a Yamaha receiver. ARC/CEC is disabled and I use an optical cable for the Comcast audio only because the STB is connected directly to the C8. Everything else goes thru the receiver first. I use a Harmony 700 to control everything and it all works flawlessly.
cwick likes this.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #15530 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 10:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TheBrandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,573
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 555 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwick View Post
Did not....may need to bump up your brightness? I'm not in front of my set, not OLED but the other. Can't bump it up too much or you will gray out your blacks. I think GOT looked great last night, was streaming through the on board Prime app and DD+ streamed through ARC to my receiver. Room was fairly dim.
I bumped it too 55 maybe not enough.

Quote:
Originally Posted by waltinaz View Post
I also thought GOT looked great on my 77C8 with the .31 FW, ISF Dark or Bright (depending on ambient light, as sun went down), and the recommended 20-pt IRE settings from however many pages/posts ago. Source was Cox cable. Lots of dark scenes that would have been very crushed or muddy/blocky before the FW update. YMMV...


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
My source was PSVUE through PS4 Pro. Maybe that is the issue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
No. The only scene that was a bit difficult to see was the scene with Tormund, but it was intended to be that dark. I use a bias light and that helped with the scene. Even when the light from the sword illuminated the walls, detail was there with no blocking.
Mine essentially seemed 0 out dang near. It's in a dedicated theater room 0 light. I'll have to throw some greyscale screens at it. Haven't noticed any issues on anything else but to be fair I rarely watch TV on it.

Thanks everyone!!
TheBrandon is offline  
post #15531 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 10:33 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
You don't want to use optical with ARC because that sort of defeats the purpose. If you use optical, then you should disable ARC/CEC on all of your HDMI connected devices. Optical will take the place of ARC. CEC is for single remote control of your HTS (power, input switching, volume, channel selection, etc) and is usually the cause of devices not properly turning on/off, the correct inputs selected etc. To replace CEC you need to use a programmable remote like a Harmony.

My system consists of a 65 C8, UBK90 UHD/BD player, ATV4k, Comcast cable box, and a Yamaha receiver. ARC/CEC is disabled and I use an optical cable for the Comcast audio only because the STB is connected directly to the C8. Everything else goes thru the receiver first. I use a Harmony 700 to control everything and it all works flawlessly.
I've some problem of HDMI ARC/CEC with the 4.10.31 fw (everything was OK with 4.10.15...), I've disabled all HDMI ARC/CEC and use an optical cable.
I've a harmony elite remote but i haven't found how choose "automatically" the optical out on the TV with the scenario on the remote... So I choose it manually after the scenario ends.
Any "magic" idea to integrate it in the scenario ?
Thanks in advance
Éric.
eric59 is offline  
post #15532 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 10:35 AM
Senior Member
 
SL600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrocker23 View Post
Yes I have the VMS 4100 & 2 IPC 4100 clients.

I definitely see an improvement in picture quality on most channels but yes network really needs some work

TV - LG C8 & LG C6, AVR - Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Switch
I have the exact same setup: 1 VMS 4100 & 2 IPC 4100 clients. What is the resolution out of your FIOS boxes? 1080i, 1080p or 4K?

LG OLED65C8PUA, F/W: 05.20.00 (Engineering Mode)
Apple TV 4K, Panasonic DP-UB820
SL600 is offline  
post #15533 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 10:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
merrymaid520's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 43
GOT on my C8 last night via Amazon prime app on Firestick 4K looked excellent!
calfcramp and LakeLad like this.
merrymaid520 is offline  
post #15534 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 10:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,097
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by SL600 View Post
I have the exact same setup: 1 VMS 4100 & 2 IPC 4100 clients. What is the resolution out of your FIOS boxes? 1080i, 1080p or 4K?
4K is the output but as we all know, not much 4k native content at all. Picture still looks good for most channels

TV - LG C8 & LG C6, AVR - Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Switch
SL600 likes this.

Living Room: LG 65C8, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedroom: LG 55C6P, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
Link to LG C8PUA Firmware https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
Link to LG UH8500 & C6 Firmware http://www.lg.com/us/support-product...D55C6P#manuals
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #15535 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 10:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,154
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 433 Post(s)
Liked: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrocker23 View Post
4K is the output but as we all know, not much 4k native content at all. Picture still looks good for most channels -snip

Interesting right. They are introducing 8K TV's while the broadcasters don't even have 1080p go figure! But maybe pushing them is a good idea.
tanman is offline  
post #15536 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 10:51 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 14,951
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3402 Post(s)
Liked: 2456
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric59 View Post
I've a harmony elite remote but i haven't found how choose "automatically" the optical out on the TV with the scenario on the remote... So I choose it manually after the scenario ends.
Any "magic" idea to integrate it in the scenario ?
Thanks in advance
Éric.

I use a Harmony 700 for both of my HTS's. Optical is only used for Comcast television (local HDTV stations only) so when I programmed the Harmony for Watch TV, the correct inputs are automatically selected. When I Watch Movie or Watch ATV4k, the inputs are automatically selected and all audio goes thru the receiver via HDMI.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #15537 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 11:06 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
I use a Harmony 700 for both of my HTS's. Optical is only used for Comcast television (local HDTV stations only) so when I programmed the Harmony for Watch TV, the correct inputs are automatically selected. When I Watch Movie or Watch ATV4k, the inputs are automatically selected and all audio goes thru the receiver via HDMI.
Ah, OK.
I watch TV with internal tnt decoder and use my HC ampli only when I watch film on tnt. Otherwise I use the internal speaker.
So I have 2 scenario, watch TV and watch TV with ampli and I have to choose manually the audio output.
Thank you anyway ;-)
eric59 is offline  
post #15538 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 12:10 PM
Member
 
chronomac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Having a slight issue with my 65" C8. When a yellow color is displayed on screen, the left side of the screen shows an dark-ish blob or discoloration. I can only see it when it's a pure yellow color on screen, like when I look at the rtings 100% yellow test image or the Nintendo eShop loading screen on Switch. What's causing this?

I've included a (bad) photo for reference.

I've got 175 hours on this set and have had no other major issues. All the other rtings test images look great.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2717.JPG
Views:	124
Size:	1.22 MB
ID:	2553326  

Last edited by chronomac; 04-15-2019 at 12:19 PM.
chronomac is offline  
post #15539 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 12:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 6,865
Mentioned: 177 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4708 Post(s)
Liked: 6999
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBrandon View Post
Anyone get ridiculously crushed blacks watching GoT last night? Assuming this is a firmware issue?
I have just finished that episode of the Game of Thrones, and I was thinking when I watched it "hmm, there's a lot of very dark scenes in this. I bet things will kick off on the forum about it!".

The crushed blacks / high gamma with the darkest colours with the latest firmwares has been discussed before ad nauseam. The same issue will happen with every dark scene, and methods to work around this (while we wait for LG) have also been posted ad nauseam
ganzhimself likes this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #15540 of 21185 Old 04-15-2019, 12:24 PM
Member
 
Dave A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
So I tried the 20 point luminance adjustments that have seemed to do the trick for some here, but I am still getting plenty of crush in really dark scenes, and my Gamma is on 1.9 (never mind the suggested 2.4). I checked using the MP4 that was posted with the black and grey squares in squares, and almost the entire upper left quarter is too dark to see. The only thing that seems to help is cranking up the IRE 5 adjustment to the 20-25 range. However that seems to make faces etc too glowy.

When they finally correct this mess I won't be allowing automatic firmware updates any longer. ugh.
Dave A is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
24p , black deformity , brighter corner , hdmi audio missing , lg b8 , lg c8 , lg c8 oled , lg oled , lg oled c8 aspect , lg soundbar , light bleed , oled , soap opera effect , soe , sound bar

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off