2018 LG C8-E8 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 557 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 78935Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16681 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 12:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Axxion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 114
People should check .55 and game mode brightness. Not a huge deal as it seems the only thing thats wrong is brightness needs to be adjusted up 8-10 points to be where it was before.
Glenee likes this.
Axxion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16682 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 12:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axxion View Post
People should check .55 and game mode brightness. Not a huge deal as it seems the only thing thats wrong is brightness needs to be adjusted up 8-10 points to be where it was before.
I didn't need to raise my brightness for game mode. It looked good after the update so I didn't touch it.

I will recheck this week and see if my test patterns slow any thing different

TV - LG C8 & LG C6, AVR - Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Switch

Living Room: LG 65C8, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedroom: LG 55C6P, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
Link to LG C8PUA Firmware https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
Link to LG UH8500 & C6 Firmware http://www.lg.com/us/support-product...D55C6P#manuals
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #16683 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 12:25 PM
Senior Member
 
bobkat007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Confused why you would say this. I updated to 4.10.55 on 19th April, weeks and weeks ago, and it's been discussed many many times! Lots of us have it.
  • The LG's default picture modes' gamma curves of 4.10.31 and 4.10.55 are the same.
  • 4.10.55 restores the broken Smooth Gradation/De-contouring filter (in MPEG noise reduction) that was broken in 4.10.31 and some ARC bugs.
I just received .55 and need to work through a few weeks of content before passing any sort of judgement, other than it appears better to me than earlier firmware. Very difficult for me to judge SDR content over Directv, the quality of the content seems to vary so much more than minor firmware tweaks. I did not do a lot of UHD Blu-ray viewing with older firmware, so can't comment on that either. Would really be nice if LG would give much more in depth descriptions of what each firmware update was trying to improve upon, but that is very unlikely.

One thing I would really like LG to explore though. Most folks like me, especially my wife, don't want to be tinkering in settings all the time. A dark mode and a light mode just does not compensate adequately for all the brightness changes in the room over the course of the day. Love to see a mode that would automatically adjust picture settings based on brightness of room. User could set the dark room and bright room defaults, then have the TV adjust everything in-between. Can't be that difficult, and so many would appreciate.
bobkat007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16684 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 12:34 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 14,610
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3252 Post(s)
Liked: 2316
Quote:
Originally Posted by boldventure View Post
Why not try it? You can always downgrade back to .15 if you don't like .55

Sent from my CLT-L04 using Tapatalk
No guts no glory I guess I've always been a bit leery about downgrading if I don't like an upgrade. Just concerned that something may go wrong with the downgrade (operator error).

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #16685 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 12:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 6,493
Mentioned: 164 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4428 Post(s)
Liked: 6706
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobkat007 View Post
One thing I would really like LG to explore though. Most folks like me, especially my wife, don't want to be tinkering in settings all the time. A dark mode and a light mode just does not compensate adequately for all the brightness changes in the room over the course of the day. Love to see a mode that would automatically adjust picture settings based on brightness of room. User could set the dark room and bright room defaults, then have the TV adjust everything in-between. Can't be that difficult, and so many would appreciate.
It's a very good point and and good news! Your wish is LG's command! They have added a new "AI Brightness" setting on the 2019 C9s. They say:
Quote:
With support of a light sensor that detects the ambient light
in your room, the 2nd generation α9 Intelligent Processor
automatically optimizes the brightness of the image.
On my C8 sometimes I use Eco mode "Auto" it's a bit too bright but I don't want to fiddle with it.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #16686 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 01:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jdbimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
On my C8 sometimes I use Eco mode "Auto" it's a bit too bright but I don't want to fiddle with it.
I use that feature on my OLED EG9100 in the bedroom and it works well - I can sleep without 190 nit flashes of light waking me while my wife watches TV.
To set it up I leave it off and set the OLED light to a comfortable level when the room is brightest. Then I turn Auto on. It will gradually drop the OLED light level as the room darkens without causing the overall picture to degrade much.

EDIT: In the US models, it is Picture->Energy Saving->Auto.
Also, I don't know if using Auto completely ignores any OLED light setting made since it locks that setting out when Auto is enabled.
mrtickleuk likes this.

Last edited by jdbimmer; 05-08-2019 at 01:13 PM.
jdbimmer is online now  
post #16687 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 01:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
yrly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just picked one of these up yesterday in a 55” on clearance. Is there a comprehensive post with preferred picture settings?
yrly is offline  
post #16688 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 02:12 PM
Senior Member
 
bobkat007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
It's a very good point and and good news! Your wish is LG's command! They have added a new "AI Brightness" setting on the 2019 C9s. They say:


On my C8 sometimes I use Eco mode "Auto" it's a bit too bright but I don't want to fiddle with it.
I see an energy conserve mode, but no eco mode?
calfcramp likes this.
bobkat007 is offline  
post #16689 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 02:40 PM
jcc
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,544
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by yrly View Post
I just picked one of these up yesterday in a 55” on clearance. Is there a comprehensive post with preferred picture settings?
See previous page C8 FAQ post.

I'm a web developer Jim, Not a doctor!

C8 FAQ
jcc is offline  
post #16690 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 03:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 6,493
Mentioned: 164 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4428 Post(s)
Liked: 6706
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobkat007 View Post
I see an energy conserve mode, but no eco mode?
Yep, sorry that's what I meant. Over here the Picture mode which is dedicated to saving Energy is called "Eco" and I get mixed up. Even in that picture mode with OLED Light=0 it's still quite bright!
calfcramp likes this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #16691 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 03:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
grittree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 2,703
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Kube View Post
That's not entirely true... I wouldn't be able to downgrade since I only have a Windows Phone and there is no app to facilitate the downgrade. I looked hard for answers before even thinking about a firmware upgrade, and found only super hardcore TV hacks to make a downgrade possible for someone like me. Saying "You can always downgrade … " is a bit misleading (as far as I can tell)
QB
I would give the person a break. Most of us probably don't know that "Windows Phone" still exists.
grittree is offline  
post #16692 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 04:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by grittree View Post
I would give the person a break. Most of us probably don't know that "Windows Phone" still exists.
What is Windows phone? lol
boldventure is offline  
post #16693 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 04:00 PM
Senior Member
 
bobkat007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobkat007 View Post
I see an energy conserve mode, but no eco mode?
Yep, sorry that's what I meant. Over here the Picture mode which is dedicated to saving Energy is called "Eco" and I get mixed up. Even in that picture mode with OLED Light=0 it's still quite bright!
Thanks....will give it a whirl!
mrtickleuk likes this.
bobkat007 is offline  
post #16694 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 04:12 PM
Member
 
agerson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Confused why you would say this. I updated to 4.10.55 on 19th April, weeks and weeks ago, and it's been discussed many many times! Lots of us have it.
  • The LG's default picture modes' gamma curves of 4.10.31 and 4.10.55 are the same.
  • 4.10.55 restores the broken Smooth Gradation/De-contouring filter (in MPEG noise reduction) that was broken in 4.10.31 and some ARC bugs.

I know, but it's a limited sample set. Now that it's being delivered over the air I am expecting many more people will be updating.

The FAQ lists .55 as "still too soon to tell but most people believe that it's slightly better than .31."

But my understanding was that .15 was better than .31. So depending on how "slightly" and by the transitive property .15 may still be better than .55. I know "better" is subjective. Anyway, just looking for some consensus that updating from .15 to .55 is, in fact, a good idea. The FAQ isn't sure yet so neither am I. But I value your experiences and feedback so far on .55. Was it a clear improvement, in general, over .15 for you?

Aperion Verus Grand Bookshelf L/R
Aperion Verus Grand Center Channel
Aperion Verus Forte Satellite
SVS PB-1000
Denon X3400 / LG C8 65inch OLED / ATV4K
agerson is offline  
post #16695 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 04:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by grittree View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Kube View Post
That's not entirely true... I wouldn't be able to downgrade since I only have a Windows Phone and there is no app to facilitate the downgrade. I looked hard for answers before even thinking about a firmware upgrade, and found only super hardcore TV hacks to make a downgrade possible for someone like me. Saying "You can always downgrade … " is a bit misleading (as far as I can tell)
QB
I would give the person a break. Most of us probably don't know that "Windows Phone" still exists.
If you search someone amazingly posted an app that will work to downgrade updates with iPhones! I just don’t recall exactly what the app was called but do know it’s possible thanks to this person!

Side note: Does LG state anything about using USB to upgrade via download breaking a warranty? With downgrading and upgrading I wouldn’t think they’d be able to tell if something were to go wrong whether though an upgrade or downgrade so was just wondering if upgrading via USB voided warranties?
MeganElisabeth is offline  
post #16696 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 04:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Zaxcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 48
The app is Smartify Remote
Zaxcom is offline  
post #16697 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 04:49 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,028
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6409 Post(s)
Liked: 6404
Quote:
Originally Posted by XoOledxo View Post
I am certainly going to download .31 on my usb and go back to it.
Boy LG is not have to much luck with firmware updates on this model......
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #16698 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 04:57 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,313
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3778 Post(s)
Liked: 3606
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Boy LG is not have to much luck with firmware updates on this model......


Subtly pushing people to Sony ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
cuibap and Cam1977 like this.

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is online now  
post #16699 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 05:00 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,313
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3778 Post(s)
Liked: 3606
This universal firmware narrative is tiresome , 95% of the people making blanket statements as fact don’t even own a meter smh .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Jrocker23 and Cam1977 like this.

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is online now  
post #16700 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 05:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,201
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2905 Post(s)
Liked: 3483
^and thats why I dont comment on it at all, as I wouldnt know what it screwed up unless it was painfully obvious.
chunon likes this.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #16701 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 05:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
macmane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Crystal Lake
Posts: 2,069
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1078 Post(s)
Liked: 641
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Subtly pushing people to Sony ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Lmfaoo

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
smurraybhm and Cam1977 like this.
macmane is online now  
post #16702 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 05:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Aspect Ratio on LG OLED C8

This is a repost of one I made in the LG C8 owner's thread. It's been buried in there by people arguing about whether they like update .55 so hoping maybe I can get some more visibility here.

I just purchased a 65C8PUA to replace my Panasonic 65VT30 Plasma.

Overall I am very happy with it. I was worried for a bit that it was broken because it turned on Ultra Deep Color mode which worked fine for the first day and then started glitching. After disabling this everything is fine again.

The one question I have is regarding aspect ratio.

I have an nVidia Shield connected to a Yamaha RX-A1080 receiver and then to the TV. On the receivers information screen it shows it is both receiving and outputting a 4K 60Hz signal. On the Shield is says it is outputting a 4k 59.940Hz signal which is "Recommended." Adjust for Overscan is not enabled.

On the TV I have black bars on both the sides and the top/bottom. It's unrelated to content as this is how it displays everything including the Shield's menu screen.

I can fill the entire screen by changing the Aspect Ratio setting to "All-Direction Zoom" and then reducing the diagonal (both direction) zoom by 10 clicks.

But I shouldn't need to do this right? Am I lowering the picture quality by adding artificial zoom? Is there a way to see what the TV thinks it source signal aspect ratio is?

Does anyone have any other suggestions to get this working with "Original" aspect ratio?

One note: "Just Scan" setting is currently off. If I turn this on in Original Aspect Ratio setting the bars get bigger. If I turn it on in the All Direction Zoom mode it makes the bars on the side bigger.

Thanks for any tips!
ElectroStaticSpeaker is offline  
post #16703 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 05:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaxcom View Post
The app is Smartify Remote
Thank you so much!
MeganElisabeth is offline  
post #16704 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 05:27 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,313
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3778 Post(s)
Liked: 3606
Aspect Ratio on LG OLED C8

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElectroStaticSpeaker View Post
This is a repost of one I made in the LG C8 owner's thread. It's been buried in there by people arguing about whether they like update .55 so hoping maybe I can get some more visibility here.



I just purchased a 65C8PUA to replace my Panasonic 65VT30 Plasma.



Overall I am very happy with it. I was worried for a bit that it was broken because it turned on Ultra Deep Color mode which worked fine for the first day and then started glitching. After disabling this everything is fine again.



The one question I have is regarding aspect ratio.



I have an nVidia Shield connected to a Yamaha RX-A1080 receiver and then to the TV. On the receivers information screen it shows it is both receiving and outputting a 4K 60Hz signal. On the Shield is says it is outputting a 4k 59.940Hz signal which is "Recommended." Adjust for Overscan is not enabled.



On the TV I have black bars on both the sides and the top/bottom. It's unrelated to content as this is how it displays everything including the Shield's menu screen.



I can fill the entire screen by changing the Aspect Ratio setting to "All-Direction Zoom" and then reducing the diagonal (both direction) zoom by 10 clicks.



But I shouldn't need to do this right? Am I lowering the picture quality by adding artificial zoom? Is there a way to see what the TV thinks it source signal aspect ratio is?



Does anyone have any other suggestions to get this working with "Original" aspect ratio?



One note: "Just Scan" setting is currently off. If I turn this on in Original Aspect Ratio setting the bars get bigger. If I turn it on in the All Direction Zoom mode it makes the bars on the side bigger.



Thanks for any tips!


Obviously something is misconfigured on either your receiver or shield . Check the input resolution on the tv by clicking in the upper Left corner of the tv screen with your lg remote , click on the input label what is the resolution and aspect ratio displayed there?

Connect the shield directly to the tv does the problem still exist ? If so it’s the shield . Your aspect setting on the tv should be aspect ratio : 16:9 just scan should be set to on.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2

Last edited by chunon; 05-08-2019 at 05:32 PM.
chunon is online now  
post #16705 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 05:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Obviously something is misconfigured on either your receiver or shield . Check the input resolution on the tv by clicking in the upper Left corner of the tab screen with your lg remote , click on the input label what is the resolution and aspect ratio displayed there?Tapatalk
Wow thanks for your lightning fast response.

I am struggling to understand what you mean by "the upper left corner of the Tab Screen?"

I have a Settings mini screen, a home screen, a guide screen, and an input screen. What is the tab screen? How do I get there?

I did just try as a test - plugging Shield directly into TV and it looks the same as with the bars so I guess we can eliminate the receiver as the problem?

BTW, should't it be Original and Just Scan since 4k aspect ratio is 1.78:1 and not 16:9?

Thank you!
ElectroStaticSpeaker is offline  
post #16706 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 05:39 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,313
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3778 Post(s)
Liked: 3606
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElectroStaticSpeaker View Post
Wow thanks for your lightning fast response.



I am struggling to understand what you mean by "the upper left corner of the Tab Screen?"



I have a Settings mini screen, a home screen, a guide screen, and an input screen. What is the tab screen? How do I get there?



I did just try as a test - plugging Shield directly into TV and it looks the same as with the bars so I guess we can eliminate the receiver as the problem?



BTW, should't it be Original and Just Scan since 4k aspect ratio is 1.78:1 and not 16:9?



Thank you!


Tv screen sorry typo I corrected my post .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is online now  
post #16707 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 05:42 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,313
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3778 Post(s)
Liked: 3606
Aspect Ratio on LG OLED C8

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElectroStaticSpeaker View Post
Wow thanks for your lightning fast response.



I am struggling to understand what you mean by "the upper left corner of the Tab Screen?"



I have a Settings mini screen, a home screen, a guide screen, and an input screen. What is the tab screen? How do I get there?



I did just try as a test - plugging Shield directly into TV and it looks the same as with the bars so I guess we can eliminate the receiver as the problem?



BTW, should't it be Original and Just Scan since 4k aspect ratio is 1.78:1 and not 16:9?



Thank you!


The aspect ratio should be 16:9 for all content . You can use original I guess but I have always used 16:9 .

I am still curious what the input resolution is showing on the tv , it should look like this :


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2

Last edited by chunon; 05-08-2019 at 06:02 PM.
chunon is online now  
post #16708 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 05:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: CNY
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Boy LG is not have to much luck with firmware updates on this model......
I should have said this better, I would like to get the last .31 firmware on my usb but for now will keep testing and viewing with the current .55, its only been a day or so.

Sony A9G 65"/LG C8 65”- Bose 300 w/surround cubes- Xbox One X- PS4 Pro
XoOledxo is offline  
post #16709 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 06:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Tv screen sorry typo I corrected my post .
Ok thanks. So I clicked on the input using the mouse pointer and it states that the input is 16x9 2160p.

Seems like all three devices believe they are outputting or inputting 4k content but for some reason are doing it with black bars on top and bottom unless I use manual zoom. Very confusing.
ElectroStaticSpeaker is offline  
post #16710 of 19367 Old 05-08-2019, 06:06 PM
Member
 
impactlol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axxion View Post
People should check .55 and game mode brightness. Not a huge deal as it seems the only thing thats wrong is brightness needs to be adjusted up 8-10 points to be where it was before.
It's the same as .31 for me AKA crushed blacks. Anything past 52 brightness gives me glowing around the edges at least on the wizziwig (sp?) near black pattern. For HDR game anything above 51 is elevated blacks just by testing on a pitch black HDR slide.

Of course this is just my meterless dumbass opinion so take with a grain of salt. I don't see a difference between .31 and .55 aside from MPEG noise reduction now working.
impactlol is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
24p , black deformity , brighter corner , lg b8 , lg c8 , lg oled , lg oled c8 aspect , lg soundbar , light bleed , oled , soap opera effect , soe , sound bar

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off