2018 LG C8-E8 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 567 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 81723Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16981 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 06:09 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,564
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3927 Post(s)
Liked: 3944
2018 LG C8-E8 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurolicious View Post
No disrespect of course but it seems a little irresponsible to me to recommend anyone go into the service menu when this is not meant for consumers to be messing around in.



If you do this, it's "At your own risk".


Where did I recommend that ? If you are afraid to do it don’t do it . You risk tolerance is obviously a lot Lower than mine . I didn’t tell anyone how to do it or suggest that they do it, was just answering a question from another poster .

Of course it’s at your own risk just like anything else in life , it’s sad no one understands the concept of personal responsibility these days .

If you are not capable of putting in a four digit code, using a directional pad to navigate and only touch things that you have researched then stay out of the service menu.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2

Last edited by chunon; 05-12-2019 at 06:24 AM.
chunon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16982 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 06:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,474
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 942 Post(s)
Liked: 938
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
The only way to get it is to enter the service menu and put the set in experimental mode, basically beta firmware . It has not been officially released yet.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
It's actually engineering mode not experimental. Just in case anyone is trying this. Don't want them to do the wrong thing or possibly brick their tv.

TV - LG C8 & LG C6, AVR - Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Switch
calfcramp likes this.

Living Room: LG OLED65C9, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedrooms: LG OLED65C8, LG OLED55C6, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
LG C6PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-OLED55C6P.AUS
LG C8PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
LG C9PUA/AUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS
Jrocker23 is offline  
post #16983 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 06:28 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,564
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3927 Post(s)
Liked: 3944
2018 LG C8-E8 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrocker23 View Post
It's actually engineering mode not experimental. Just in case anyone is trying this. Don't want them to do the wrong thing or possibly brick their tv.

TV - LG C8 & LG C6, AVR - Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Switch


Yeah you are right sorry , again I am not recommending anyone do this , I only did it after carefully researching it . I’ll correct my previous posts .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
calfcramp likes this.

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16984 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 06:43 AM
Senior Member
 
pennywise666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 287 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by jk82 View Post
The Descent (2005) at 00:48:10


This movie has many scenes that are like that where you have the picture surrounded by blacks/near-blacks.

So in our dark room we want this scene to look black that blends together with the black upper and bottom bars right?

I made a 3dlut for madvr with displaycal, nice with detail on the wizziwig pattern in the lower end,but in this movie it looks grey this scene with the 3dlut.

So this means the pure black is elevated in the movie even though 16 is black and 17 is very slightly visible in the pattern?
The scene looks nice and black with the default 2.4 tvsetting,but I can not see the 17 in the pattern.

Last edited by pennywise666; 05-12-2019 at 07:06 AM.
pennywise666 is offline  
post #16985 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 07:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,103
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 601 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Sorry if this has been asked before but I couldn't find it in a search,
Does anyone know of a 3rd party remote for the LG C8?
The existing remote is too small for me and keeps sliding out of the hand.
dreaux is offline  
post #16986 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 07:03 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,564
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3927 Post(s)
Liked: 3944
2018 LG C8-E8 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
Sorry if this has been asked before but I couldn't find it in a search,
Does anyone know of a 3rd party remote for the LG C8?
The existing remote is too small for me and keeps sliding out of the hand.


I use a harmony works well .


https://www.bestbuy.com/site/logitec...?skuId=5852832


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
calfcramp, dreaux and rdgcss like this.

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is offline  
post #16987 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 07:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Kurolicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Yeah you are right sorry , again I am not recommending anyone do this , I only did it after carefully researching it . I’ll correct my previous posts .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Agreed and if you're going to try this, you need to ask yourself a simple question.

Is it worth it to risk possibly damaging your 3K display just to get a slightly better gamma curve?
Kurolicious is offline  
post #16988 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 07:16 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,564
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3927 Post(s)
Liked: 3944
2018 LG C8-E8 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurolicious View Post
Agreed and if you're going to try this, you need to ask yourself a simple question.



Is it worth it to risk possibly damaging your 3K display just to get a slightly better

gamma curve?


That’s a personal choice , but for me there is zero risk since I know what I am doing . It really is simple but I agree if you aren’t comfortable with menu systems etc you shouldn’t do it . I do what I need to do and get out , turned off asbl months ago for calibration purposes and then this , i wanted to try out the new release of Calman and didn’t want to wait . I trust @jk82 and his analysis so for me it’s a low risk change. I don’t plan on taking beta firmware on a regular basis this was a one off .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2

Last edited by chunon; 05-12-2019 at 07:32 AM.
chunon is offline  
post #16989 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 07:31 AM
jcc
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,563
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jin-X View Post
Something to update on the FAQ, it mentions Chronitis recommendation to use color at 70 in HDR game mode, but he corrected that later.
Corrected to what?

I'm a web developer Jim, Not a doctor!

C8 FAQ
jcc is offline  
post #16990 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 07:49 AM
Member
 
agerson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
Sorry if this has been asked before but I couldn't find it in a search,
Does anyone know of a 3rd party remote for the LG C8?
The existing remote is too small for me and keeps sliding out of the hand.

I like this one a lot. I find the ones with screens drain the battery faster and don't provide much benefit unless your setup is complex.

https://www.logitech.com/en-us/produ...mony-companion

Aperion Verus Grand Bookshelf L/R
Aperion Verus Grand Center Channel
Aperion Verus Forte Satellite
SVS PB-1000
Denon X3400 / LG C8 65inch OLED / ATV4K
agerson is offline  
post #16991 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 08:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,109
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 978 Post(s)
Liked: 1054
Quote:
Originally Posted by pennywise666 View Post
So in our dark room we want this scene to look black that blends together with the black upper and bottom bars right?

I made a 3dlut for madvr with displaycal, nice with detail on the wizziwig pattern in the lower end,but in this movie it looks grey this scene with the 3dlut.

So this means the pure black is elevated in the movie even though 16 is black and 17 is very slightly visible in the pattern?
The scene looks nice and black with the default 2.4 tvsetting,but I can not see the 17 in the pattern.

Like I said the near-blacks in this scene are in the 1% range which should look almost black. If it looks very elevated or grey then I guess your low-end is too bright.
jk82 is offline  
post #16992 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 08:12 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,859
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3867 Post(s)
Liked: 2763
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
Sorry if this has been asked before but I couldn't find it in a search,
Does anyone know of a 3rd party remote for the LG C8?
The existing remote is too small for me and keeps sliding out of the hand.

I use a Harmony 700 with no issues.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #16993 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 08:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,109
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 978 Post(s)
Liked: 1054
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurolicious View Post
Agreed and if you're going to try this, you need to ask yourself a simple question.

Is it worth it to risk possibly damaging your 3K display just to get a slightly better gamma curve?
I'd be more afraid of driving a car than changing some settings in the service menu. I might lose my life which is even worse than damaging a TV.

Also I don't know of a single case where someone ruined their LG by accessing the service menu, I don't even think you can brick it by simply changing settings...
calfcramp and chunon like this.
jk82 is offline  
post #16994 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 08:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,474
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 942 Post(s)
Liked: 938
Quote:
Originally Posted by jk82 View Post
I'd be more afraid of driving a car than changing some settings in the service menu. I might lose my life which is even worse than damaging a TV.

Also I don't know of a single case where someone ruined their LG by accessing the service menu, I don't even think you can brick it by simply changing settings...
You can brick it, I have seen it and know people that did it.

2 of the 3 had to have the manufacturer send a tech and literally reset it all at owners expense.

The other person wasn't able to have it repaired it completely locked out.

It also voids your warranty the second you change anything. They are able to scan the service menu and see a history of changes. I saw that first hand with the friend who bricked it completely.

TV - LG C8 & LG C6, AVR - Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Switch

Living Room: LG OLED65C9, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedrooms: LG OLED65C8, LG OLED55C6, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
LG C6PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-OLED55C6P.AUS
LG C8PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
LG C9PUA/AUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS
Jrocker23 is offline  
post #16995 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 08:23 AM
Senior Member
 
pennywise666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 287 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by jk82 View Post
Like I said the near-blacks in this scene are in the 1% range which should look almost black. If it looks very elevated or grey then I guess your low-end is too bright.

The calibrated 3dlut file with idisplaypro is too bright, not the tv's default settings.
The question is, why does displaycal makes the 3dlutfile too bright then??
I put it all "as measured", also another 3dlut with tonecurve 1886 and powercurve 2.4
How the hell can it get darker than those settings then?
Should i just put the brightness to 48 then or something untill it looks decent?
Or should i calibrate it with 2.5 or 2.6 gamma setting?

Last edited by pennywise666; 05-12-2019 at 08:30 AM.
pennywise666 is offline  
post #16996 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 08:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Thanks for the help @mrtickleuk

I was confused because at first my system worked fine for a day. Then I started having dropouts that were solved by turning it off. With some quick and dirty googling I found several sites that indicated this wasn't necessary. Even LG's own site (which appears to be undergoing some maintenance at the moment) said something about this not being needed except for certain types of camcorders.

It turns out my issues were due to a faulty nVidia Shield.

In any case, you have been helpful. Thanks.
calfcramp and mrtickleuk like this.
ElectroStaticSpeaker is offline  
post #16997 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 08:32 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 25,677
Mentioned: 85 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7274 Post(s)
Liked: 7303
Quote:
Originally Posted by sorinelionut View Post
Lg read this forum?
Would not be surprised, there is alot of feedback in here. I know other manufacturers do for sure. Right now this thread is probably still the hottest and the model's are being phased out....

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
Sorry if this has been asked before but I couldn't find it in a search,
Does anyone know of a 3rd party remote for the LG C8?
The existing remote is too small for me and keeps sliding out of the hand.
I use a harmony as well, cheap and no issues
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #16998 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 08:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
macmane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Crystal Lake
Posts: 2,187
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1159 Post(s)
Liked: 695
The Society on Netflix is a borderline torture test for banding. I hate the fact comp cycles can introduce banding but then they go away with the next cycle and vice versa

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
macmane is offline  
post #16999 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 08:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,109
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 978 Post(s)
Liked: 1054
Quote:
Originally Posted by pennywise666 View Post
The calibrated 3dlut file with idisplaypro is too bright, not the tv's default settings.
The question is, why does displaycal makes the 3dlutfile too bright then??
I put it all "as measured", also another 3dlut with tonecurve 1886 and powercurve 2.4
How the hell can it get darker than those settings then?
Should i just put the brightness to 48 then or something untill it looks decent?
Or should i calibrate it with 2.5 or 2.6 gamma setting?

I think the problem is that cheap meters like the i1Display pro can't read the really low near-blacks so displaycal has to somehow interpret that range and that leads to a too bright low end.
I'm currently using a manual calibration because I would always find some problems with the near-blacks with the 3dlut but I will try again when I'm in the mood for it. Maybe setting the TV to 2.2 and creating the lut with 2.4 will help or some custom patch set...
jk82 is offline  
post #17000 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 09:12 AM
Senior Member
 
pennywise666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 287 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by jk82 View Post
I think the problem is that cheap meters like the i1Display pro can't read the really low near-blacks so displaycal has to somehow interpret that range and that leads to a too bright low end.
I'm currently using a manual calibration because I would always find some problems with the near-blacks with the 3dlut but I will try again when I'm in the mood for it. Maybe setting the TV to 2.2 and creating the lut with 2.4 will help or some custom patch set...

Yeah,i'm also gonna just put your 20-point settings instead or just 2-point low or both. I dont know which is the right one to go for? Is'nt 2-point low the safest/best? But right now i'm fed up with this Idisplaypro,because it takes hours and the results are just no good.
pennywise666 is offline  
post #17001 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Jin-X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcc View Post
Corrected to what?
Sorry forgot to put the rest of it, that's what happens when you go here right after waking up lol. Leave color at the default of 50, just change the color temperature.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Yes in the engineering fw at least for me. I never recalibrated on .55 pointless .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks for the quick reply. I'll stay on .15 until that one goes commercial then. The dithering would really help for GoT streams but the ability to use calibrate SDR/HDR game properly is more important to me. Most of my content is high quality anyway so that problem rarely shows up elsewhere.

Last edited by Jin-X; 05-12-2019 at 09:30 AM.
Jin-X is offline  
post #17002 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 09:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,109
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 978 Post(s)
Liked: 1054
Quote:
Originally Posted by pennywise666 View Post
Yeah,i'm also gonna just put your 20-point settings instead or just 2-point low or both. I dont know which is the right one to go for? Is'nt 2-point low the safest/best? But right now i'm fed up with this Idisplaypro,because it takes hours and the results are just no good.

What you should do is learn how to do a manual calibration.

Or do you no longer have the i1Display Pro?
jk82 is offline  
post #17003 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 09:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 169
I think on this FW I am going to wait for the official roll out. I do not do my own calibrations, and .55 is working beautifully for me. I have done the engineering push before...ie .50 so that doesn't bother/scare me, as Chunon said, get in get out lol. For me I just see no need to upgrade when I am perfectly happy with what I have....but I am looking forward to this FW if it does combine the .15 and the .55. Sounds like it should be close to perfect for me!! Anyway....patience....le sigh
calfcramp likes this.
RavenBF is offline  
post #17004 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 09:52 AM
Newbie
 
pociej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I would like to clarify one thing which bothers me.

I have C8 with prod. date 02/2019 which came with 04.10.30 firmware.
This particular version (04.10.30) isn't common in tests posted here or even there's no talk about it.

Is anyone sure if that version is similar to .15 or .31 or it's using even another characteristics for things like gamma tracking or black level.

Does anyone with equipment and software for calibration have any experience with this firmware version?
pociej is offline  
post #17005 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 10:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 2,722
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 1019
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrocker23 View Post
You can brick it, I have seen it and know people that did it.

2 of the 3 had to have the manufacturer send a tech and literally reset it all at owners expense.

The other person wasn't able to have it repaired it completely locked out.

It also voids your warranty the second you change anything. They are able to scan the service menu and see a history of changes. I saw that first hand with the friend who bricked it completely.
And the other aspect of this is that you're not getting something special or unique that others are not going to get. You're probably just going to get it a week or two earlier than the public will get it. Man, people are so impatient nowadays.
smitty is offline  
post #17006 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 10:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 491 Post(s)
Liked: 370
^^ @pociej: Just update it, the next version is stable with less issues than the .30 series.
tanman is offline  
post #17007 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 10:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,200
Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5690 Post(s)
Liked: 8229
Quote:
Originally Posted by pennywise666 View Post
So in our dark room we want this scene to look black that blends together with the black upper and bottom bars right?
No, not necessarily. If you have had a conversation with the person who graded it, and you know what was intended, then you could know whether or not what is shown as "very very dark" on screen was intended to be full black or not.

Quote:
The scene looks nice and black with the default 2.4 tvsetting,but I can not see the 17 in the pattern.
That's good, and correct! You should not be able to see the 17 in Wizziwig's grid pattern, or on a pluge pattern, or on a flashing bars brightness pattern such as the one in the "AVS HD 709" set. The instructions on that pattern are highly misleading.

This is because 17 is just too dark and if your eyes can see the 20-30 range then your iris is closed too tightly to see 17 at the same time.

RGB level 17 is 0.454% white, I think @jrref said 0.0003 nits in a post here the other day

You should only be able to see 17 if there is nothing else brighter than 17 on the screen, and you in a pitch black room, and after the 5-10 minutes which it takes for the chemical reaction in your eyes to take place for you to see better in the dark.

If you can see 17 otherwise - your TV is not adjusted correctly

Re: discussion about waiting or not waiting for the official release of this firmware. I'm going to wait, because of reading that LG have locked out the only method we have of downgrading. This means it's a one-way trip and I do wish people would mention this with caution when saying "just upgrade" in a blasé manner! If the official release has a version number that is still 4.* something, it wouldn't let you move off the 5.* firmware because the number is higher. When the tide goes out you can see who's been swimming naked, and I don't want to be one of those people
smitty, RBO, calfcramp and 1 others like this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs

Last edited by mrtickleuk; 05-12-2019 at 10:41 AM.
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #17008 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 11:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,103
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 601 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Yea!.... moving up from my LG Oled C7 55" to LG Oled C8 77" today. Happy with the deal.
dreaux is offline  
post #17009 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 11:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 52
2018 LG C8-E8 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk)

Deleted, wrong quote.

Last edited by 3isRC; 05-12-2019 at 02:17 PM.
3isRC is offline  
post #17010 of 23311 Old 05-12-2019, 02:10 PM
Senior Member
 
bobkat007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Have an issue with my C8 when streaming 'Amazon Prime'. While streaming 'Sneaky Pete', buffering symbol appeared. Was not really buffering at all, just the app froze. Could not use any apps on the TV from the Home button from that moment on. Even restarting the TV did not help. Only unplugging the TV seemed to restore all the functionality back to the TV. Although not frequent, it is getting very annoying since it is difficult to get to that outlet behind the TV. Anyone else with similar streaming issues?
bobkat007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
24p , black deformity , blu-ray , brighter corner , denon x3500 , eye strain , firmware update , hdmi , hdmi audio missing , lg b8 , lg c8 , lg c8 oled , lg oled , lg oled c8 aspect , lg soundbar , light bleed , oled , soap opera effect , soe , sound bar

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off