2018 LG C8-E8 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 646 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 79844Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19351 of 20587 Old 07-21-2019, 12:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 423 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
^how are you liking the .03 update?
Cannot tell . Most updates look great to my eyes, unless and until you put a meter to it!
calfcramp and Cam1977 like this.
tanman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19352 of 20587 Old 07-21-2019, 12:59 PM
RBO
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Suburbia, USA
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by djoberg View Post
I was about to enlighten RBO as to the Paul Bunyan statue being in Brainerd, not Fargo, and then I saw smurraybhm's post. As far as I know, the opening "bar scene" was the only scene that took place in Fargo. Most of the movie took place in Brainerd. So why call it Fargo?

Regardless of my ignorance, were you not amused?


Quote:
Originally Posted by smurraybhm View Post
Brainerd, MN are not Fargo, ND. Too many movies

Hah, I've lured you out of silence from the Witness Protection Program and now we know where you really are!


Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Because he went to Fargo to "do the deal". But I'm sure he said 8:30?
Brilliant, brilliant movie. Kinda funny-lookin'.

Clearly too brilliant for me and too much over my head.



I also love the television series. Hope it hasn't been abandoned after only 2 seasons. The third seems to be delayed?
mrtickleuk likes this.

Russ (another one)
LG65 & 77C8PUA / Bose Soundbar 700 / OPPO UDP205 / Verizon FIOS TV One

"There are consequences to breaking the heart of a murdering b*****d." - BILL
C8/E8 Questions? Try JCC's_FAQ Or LiQiCE's_Wiki
RBO is offline  
post #19353 of 20587 Old 07-21-2019, 01:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 4,643
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2300 Post(s)
Liked: 3147
Quote:
Originally Posted by djoberg View Post
I was about to enlighten RBO as to the Paul Bunyan statue being in Brainerd, not Fargo, and then I saw smurraybhm's post. As far as I know, the opening "bar scene" was the only scene that took place in Fargo. Most of the movie took place in Brainerd. So why call it Fargo?

I only know about the statue because I've been there (to sail on Gull Lake actually). The good old days.
chunon and Cam1977 like this.

There is no perfect display, quit looking for faults and enjoy

LG OLED 65” B7 and 55” C8
Ascend's with RAAL, Love my PSA v1800 and a 7.2.4 speaker config, Oppo 203 and other stuff
smurraybhm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19354 of 20587 Old 07-21-2019, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
SL600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yetiboy View Post
am i missing something obvious about how to get the firmware to work?

i've tried two different usb sticks, both formatted to NTFS, both completely blank other than an LG_DTV folder with the firmware unzipped inside. i have tried putting them in while the tv is on, and putting them in while it's on standby and turning it on.

i don't see how it could matter, but this is an australian tv.

thanks!
Try formatting the USB stick to FAT32 or exFAT.

LG OLED65C8PUA, F/W: 05.20.00 (Engineering Mode)
Apple TV 4K, Panasonic DP-UB820

Last edited by SL600; 07-21-2019 at 01:20 PM.
SL600 is offline  
post #19355 of 20587 Old 07-21-2019, 01:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,034
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 647 Post(s)
Liked: 606
Quote:
Originally Posted by SL600 View Post
Try formatting the USB stick to FAT32 or exFAT.
He can't use a Korean or US firmware on an Australian tv. Different files.

TV - LG C8 & LG C6, AVR - Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Switch
chunon and Cam1977 like this.

Living Room: LG 65C8, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedroom: LG 55C6P, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
Link to LG C8PUA Firmware https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
Link to LG UH8500 & C6 Firmware http://www.lg.com/us/support-product...D55C6P#manuals
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #19356 of 20587 Old 07-21-2019, 02:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 6,657
Mentioned: 170 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4541 Post(s)
Liked: 6842
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBO View Post

Clearly too brilliant for me and too much over my head.
Spoilers for my two references.
Spoiler!


Quote:
I also love the television series. Hope it hasn't been abandoned after only 2 seasons. The third seems to be delayed?
Yep I love it too. But there have already been 3 seasons!
Season 1 (2014) was set in 2006
Season 2 (2015) was set in 1979
Season 3 (2017) was set in 2010
Season 4 - "Production is scheduled to begin in late 2019 in Chicago, Illinois" - from Wiki, with the required Citation
RBO and chunon like this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #19357 of 20587 Old 07-21-2019, 02:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
djoberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: West Central Minnesota
Posts: 6,469
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1350 Post(s)
Liked: 1994
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurraybhm View Post
I only know about the statue because I've been there (to sail on Gull Lake actually). The good old days.
My wife and I drive through Brainerd at least a few times every year on our way to the awesome "North Shore of Lake Superior." We vacation there (between Duluth and the Canadian border) as often as we can.
smurraybhm and Cam1977 like this.

LG OLED 77C8...Denon X4300H 9.2 AVR...LG UHD UBK90 (Dolby Vision BDP)...Philips UHD BDP-7501...Toshiba HD-A30...Dish Hopper 3...Roku Premiere Plus...Harmony One

5.2.4 Set-up: SVS Prime Bookshelf Speakers (4)...SVS Prime Center...SVS Prime Elevation (4)...SVS PC-2000 & PC12-NSD Subs
djoberg is offline  
post #19358 of 20587 Old 07-21-2019, 02:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,305
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2972 Post(s)
Liked: 3595
Quote:
Originally Posted by tanman View Post
Cannot tell . Most updates look great to my eyes, unless and until you put a meter to it!
Lol, Im not one to usually complain or over explain simple things like some here like to do, but this update has arguably had the best effect out of any previous updates on all my previous oleds. This is a good one for sure🙂
LCSeminole, tanman, RBO and 3 others like this.

Last edited by Cam1977; 07-21-2019 at 02:59 PM.
Cam1977 is offline  
post #19359 of 20587 Old 07-21-2019, 03:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ron Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 6,989
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 981 Post(s)
Liked: 993
Anyone heard when the new Firmware will be available for a normal download/install directly via TV's built-in update function?

Ron Jones
Blog + Reviews + Articles: projectorreviews.com
Ron Jones is offline  
post #19360 of 20587 Old 07-21-2019, 04:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
djoberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: West Central Minnesota
Posts: 6,469
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1350 Post(s)
Liked: 1994
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Jones View Post
Anyone heard when the new Firmware will be available for a normal download/install directly via TV's built-in update function?
If you were to read the last 50 pages or so of this thread you would see that we have been asking that very same question for a good TWO MONTHS! We were all exhorted to "have patience" but with some of us our patience ran thin and we either entered the Service Menu (which I would recommend NOT doing) to download the beta firmware or more recently we went to the Korean website to download the official release to zipped file and then went through the process of unzipping it, downloading it to a Flash-drive, and then plugging in the thumb-drive to our displays and downloading it.

Personally, I would not count on it being available anytime soon. I truly thought it would have been released many weeks ago.

LG OLED 77C8...Denon X4300H 9.2 AVR...LG UHD UBK90 (Dolby Vision BDP)...Philips UHD BDP-7501...Toshiba HD-A30...Dish Hopper 3...Roku Premiere Plus...Harmony One

5.2.4 Set-up: SVS Prime Bookshelf Speakers (4)...SVS Prime Center...SVS Prime Elevation (4)...SVS PC-2000 & PC12-NSD Subs
djoberg is offline  
post #19361 of 20587 Old 07-21-2019, 04:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
zeonstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 487 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by FairfaxCA View Post
I also talked to Robert Busch back in May. After talking with Robert I decided to wait for the new firmware. We all know how that's been going. Just before the 4th of July JRocker23 posted a link to 05.10.02. I downloaded it but waited about a week to update, there had been numerous happy reviews. Shortly after updating to ...02 happy posts about 05.10.03 began. I used JRocker23's link in post #19253 to the Korean LG website and am now using it. I'm happy i did both, now I need to decide whether it's time to schedule Busch Home Theater.
When I did my initial chat with Robert, he mentioned that he had the "latest firmware" on a USB drive but he didn't exactly know what the latest was. I mentioned to him I already have 5.10.02 but I don't know if that meant anything to him. I wonder if I should drop him a line and ask him if now is even a good time to calibrate. Or am I fine to proceed since I have 5.10.02?
zeonstar is offline  
post #19362 of 20587 Old 07-21-2019, 06:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeonstar View Post
When I did my initial chat with Robert, he mentioned that he had the "latest firmware" on a USB drive but he didn't exactly know what the latest was. I mentioned to him I already have 5.10.02 but I don't know if that meant anything to him. I wonder if I should drop him a line and ask him if now is even a good time to calibrate. Or am I fine to proceed since I have 5.10.02?
Check Cam1977's post, 3 or four abve this. Firmware 5.10.03 may be a good plece to start a calibration. Robert sounded as if he has contacts at LG and may have it. It may be good to download it from the Korean website and have it in case. Let us know how it goes.
calfcramp and Viking 29 like this.
FairfaxCA is offline  
post #19363 of 20587 Old 07-21-2019, 07:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
Viking 29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alamogordo NM
Posts: 696
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeonstar View Post
When I did my initial chat with Robert, he mentioned that he had the "latest firmware" on a USB drive but he didn't exactly know what the latest was. I mentioned to him I already have 5.10.02 but I don't know if that meant anything to him. I wonder if I should drop him a line and ask him if now is even a good time to calibrate. Or am I fine to proceed since I have 5.10.02?
Why not put .03 on there? It's already available thanks to someone posting it in the last 5 pages or so. I know it only fixes google assistant or at least that's what it's saying. Myself and Cam are pretty happy with the latest update but full disclosure I didn't have a lot of time to play with .02 before I went on vacation. When I got back I just decided to put .03 on since Cam said it was working pretty well for him.
Cam1977 and mrtickleuk like this.
Viking 29 is online now  
post #19364 of 20587 Old 07-21-2019, 08:03 PM
RBO
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Suburbia, USA
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeonstar View Post
When I did my initial chat with Robert, he mentioned that he had the "latest firmware" on a USB drive but he didn't exactly know what the latest was. I mentioned to him I already have 5.10.02 but I don't know if that meant anything to him. I wonder if I should drop him a line and ask him if now is even a good time to calibrate. Or am I fine to proceed since I have 5.10.02?

There apparently is negligible difference between .02 and .03. Firmware .02 corrected the broken Google assistant from .00 which corrected the low end gamma errors from previous firmwares. Perhaps .03 refined that some more. I don't think anything definitive has been reported as yet on that. More importantly in regard to a proper calibration, how many hours of use do you now have on your C8? Didn't you just get it a week or so ago? You should have at the very least 200 but I'd say preferably 300 or more hours of use before getting a professional calibration.
calfcramp and Cam1977 like this.

Russ (another one)
LG65 & 77C8PUA / Bose Soundbar 700 / OPPO UDP205 / Verizon FIOS TV One

"There are consequences to breaking the heart of a murdering b*****d." - BILL
C8/E8 Questions? Try JCC's_FAQ Or LiQiCE's_Wiki

Last edited by RBO; 07-21-2019 at 08:10 PM.
RBO is offline  
post #19365 of 20587 Old 07-21-2019, 08:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,305
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2972 Post(s)
Liked: 3595
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viking 29 View Post
Why not put .03 on there? It's already available thanks to someone posting it in the last 5 pages or so. I know it only fixes google assistant or at least that's what it's saying. Myself and Cam are pretty happy with the latest update but full disclosure I didn't have a lot of time to play with .02 before I went on vacation. When I got back I just decided to put .03 on since Cam said it was working pretty well for him.
Yup, it works quite well. Shadow detail is incredible on both sdr and hdr, destroys both my q8fn and 940e.

Last edited by Cam1977; 07-21-2019 at 08:37 PM.
Cam1977 is offline  
post #19366 of 20587 Old 07-21-2019, 08:35 PM
RBO
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Suburbia, USA
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Yep I love it too. But there have already been 3 seasons!
Season 1 (2014) was set in 2006
Season 2 (2015) was set in 1979
Season 3 (2017) was set in 2010
Season 4 - "Production is scheduled to begin in late 2019 in Chicago, Illinois" - from Wiki, with the required Citation

Good grief, I completely missed Season 3. And no wonder, I don't have FX channel listed in my Favorite 1 guide. Doh! At least there's nothing else on FX that interests me and I might have also missed. Still, I should put it in my programs Guide.
I have Seasons 1 & 2 on Blu-ray and will just wait for 3 to be available as well.
mrtickleuk likes this.

Russ (another one)
LG65 & 77C8PUA / Bose Soundbar 700 / OPPO UDP205 / Verizon FIOS TV One

"There are consequences to breaking the heart of a murdering b*****d." - BILL
C8/E8 Questions? Try JCC's_FAQ Or LiQiCE's_Wiki
RBO is offline  
post #19367 of 20587 Old 07-21-2019, 09:17 PM
Senior Member
 
calfcramp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 148
All of the firmware talk the last 20 pages are about 05.10.03. I have the 05.20.02 engineering. There was supposed to be an 05.20.03 released engineering. I wanted to give the official 05.10.03 a shot. I kind of though the tv wouldn't see it at all, because I have a higher number FW. I was correct. Doesn't show. Maybe the 05.20.03 was a myth, lol.
calfcramp is offline  
post #19368 of 20587 Old 07-21-2019, 09:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
zeonstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 487 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viking 29 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeonstar View Post
When I did my initial chat with Robert, he mentioned that he had the "latest firmware" on a USB drive but he didn't exactly know what the latest was. I mentioned to him I already have 5.10.02 but I don't know if that meant anything to him. I wonder if I should drop him a line and ask him if now is even a good time to calibrate. Or am I fine to proceed since I have 5.10.02?
Why not put .03 on there? It's already available thanks to someone posting it in the last 5 pages or so. I know it only fixes google assistant or at least that's what it's saying. Myself and Cam are pretty happy with the latest update but full disclosure I didn't have a lot of time to play with .02 before I went on vacation. When I got back I just decided to put .03 on since Cam said it was working pretty well for him.
Yeah that isn’t a bad idea. I do have about a week and a half before my calibration appointment. Although I need to finalize that tomorrow. I will say with my tv wall mounted that USB port is a B to get to. Maybe 5.10.02 is good enough?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RBO View Post
There apparently is negligible difference between .02 and .03. Firmware .02 corrected the broken Google assistant from .00 which corrected the low end gamma errors from previous firmwares. Perhaps .03 refined that some more. I don't think anything definitive has been reported as yet on that. More importantly in regard to a proper calibration, how many hours of use do you now have on your C8? Didn't you just get it a week or so ago? You should have at the very least 200 but I'd say preferably 300 or more hours of use before getting a professional calibration.
Nah. I have had mine for months. I just checked and I’m at 1250 hours.
RBO likes this.
zeonstar is offline  
post #19369 of 20587 Old 07-21-2019, 09:57 PM
RBO
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Suburbia, USA
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by calfcramp View Post
All of the firmware talk the last 20 pages are about 05.10.03. I have the 05.20.02 engineering. There was supposed to be an 05.20.03 released engineering. I wanted to give the official 05.10.03 a shot. I kind of though the tv wouldn't see it at all, because I have a higher number FW. I was correct. Doesn't show. Maybe the 05.20.03 was a myth, lol.

I attached a photo of my C8 FW version being 05.20.03 in post #18978. I was the first here to tell of its availability. No myth. Maybe it has been pulled though like 05.20.02 had been shortly after Jrocker23 got it. Perhaps another update is about to appear as 05.20.04 and you may be the first to see it.But I doubt there is any difference between 05.20.03 and 05.10.03 other than their version numbers.

Russ (another one)
LG65 & 77C8PUA / Bose Soundbar 700 / OPPO UDP205 / Verizon FIOS TV One

"There are consequences to breaking the heart of a murdering b*****d." - BILL
C8/E8 Questions? Try JCC's_FAQ Or LiQiCE's_Wiki
RBO is offline  
post #19370 of 20587 Old 07-22-2019, 03:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Kurolicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 39
This is just my opinion but this non-stop SM Firmware chat here is getting ridiculous. I've never seen any other display thread on AVS with so much chat about recklessly entering service menus. You're giving casual users the impression that you have some majical update that's so much better that they end up risking bricking their display and doing serious damage. Again, just my opinion but this SM chat really should be done in a PM.
dreaux likes this.
Kurolicious is offline  
post #19371 of 20587 Old 07-22-2019, 05:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 4,643
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2300 Post(s)
Liked: 3147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurolicious View Post
This is just my opinion but this non-stop SM Firmware chat here is getting ridiculous. I've never seen any other display thread on AVS with so much chat about recklessly entering service menus. You're giving casual users the impression that you have some majical update that's so much better that they end up risking bricking their display and doing serious damage. Again, just my opinion but this SM chat really should be done in a PM.

Relax It's a relevant topic for owners and not a secret. Warnings about obtaining firmware using this method have been posted throughout this entire thread. Owners have been accessing the service menu for a number of years, see ABSL or is it ABL (always mix those up).

Just when it had died down.

There is no perfect display, quit looking for faults and enjoy

LG OLED 65” B7 and 55” C8
Ascend's with RAAL, Love my PSA v1800 and a 7.2.4 speaker config, Oppo 203 and other stuff
smurraybhm is offline  
post #19372 of 20587 Old 07-22-2019, 06:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurolicious View Post
This is just my opinion but this non-stop SM Firmware chat here is getting ridiculous. I've never seen any other display thread on AVS with so much chat about recklessly entering service menus. You're giving casual users the impression that you have some majical update that's so much better that they end up risking bricking their display and doing serious damage. Again, just my opinion but this SM chat really should be done in a PM.
Still C8 discussion and some users are more technical and I would assume we all know the risk.

Sent from my CLT-L04 using Tapatalk
boldventure is offline  
post #19373 of 20587 Old 07-22-2019, 06:38 AM
Member
 
Edpinguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Holland
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBO View Post
Good grief, I completely missed Season 3. And no wonder, I don't have FX channel listed in my Favorite 1 guide. Doh! At least there's nothing else on FX that interests me and I might have also missed. Still, I should put it in my programs Guide.
I have Seasons 1 & 2 on Blu-ray and will just wait for 3 to be available as well.
Here it is mentioned Fargo 3 will not get a blu ray release.
https://www.reddit.com/r/FargoTV/com...ng_to_blu_ray/
Edpinguin is offline  
post #19374 of 20587 Old 07-22-2019, 07:20 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,239
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6524 Post(s)
Liked: 6500
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurraybhm View Post
Relax It's a relevant topic for owners and not a secret. Warnings about obtaining firmware using this method have been posted throughout this entire thread. Owners have been accessing the service menu for a number of years, see ABSL or is it ABL (always mix those up).

Just when it had died down.
True I have not seen anyone brick there set lately.......Hopefully it does not happen either.
calfcramp likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #19375 of 20587 Old 07-22-2019, 09:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Kurolicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurraybhm View Post
Relax It's a relevant topic for owners and not a secret. Warnings about obtaining firmware using this method have been posted throughout this entire thread. Owners have been accessing the service menu for a number of years, see ABSL or is it ABL (always mix those up).

Just when it had died down.
<------Totally relaxed
Kurolicious is offline  
post #19376 of 20587 Old 07-22-2019, 10:39 AM
Senior Member
 
chengka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurolicious View Post
This is just my opinion but this non-stop SM Firmware chat here is getting ridiculous. I've never seen any other display thread on AVS with so much chat about recklessly entering service menus. You're giving casual users the impression that you have some majical update that's so much better that they end up risking bricking their display and doing serious damage. Again, just my opinion but this SM chat really should be done in a PM.
I would agree this thread is now basically a firmware discussion, but I suppose that happens once the model is no longer "new". My set is still on .15 and still asking me to upgrade to .55, which I decline. Basically, I pop back in every few days to get see if I can safely upgrade to something(preferably OTA) that will not have a severe negative impact to my professional calibration. Can anyone address that concern as it relates to 05.10.03?
Kurolicious likes this.
chengka is offline  
post #19377 of 20587 Old 07-22-2019, 12:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,069
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 580 Post(s)
Liked: 695
Is this thread a calibration/firmware discussion always? Why not create a dedicated thread on firmware updates?

LG 77" Oled C8, LG 55" C7 Oled, Yamaha RX-A780 AVR, Pioneer UDP-LX 500 4K Blu-ray, ATV4K, Roku Streaming Stick+, 7.1 Swan speakers, Polk sub.
dreaux is online now  
post #19378 of 20587 Old 07-22-2019, 01:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
John_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Boynton Beach, FL
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 21
The firmware discussion will die down once the fixed version is pushed OTA. Sheesh... I installed 5.10.03 and am thrilled to have a great display once again.
John_D is offline  
post #19379 of 20587 Old 07-22-2019, 02:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 423 Post(s)
Liked: 309
^^ That is what most people are saying that this new load is good. And then this blog should get mostly all good news!
tanman is offline  
post #19380 of 20587 Old 07-22-2019, 02:40 PM
Member
 
Hurin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: California
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
Is this thread a calibration/firmware discussion always? Why not create a dedicated thread on firmware updates?
Why not just scroll past the content you don't personally prefer?

Also, what else is there to discuss nowadays that hasn't already been discussed that someone else will complain about having already been discussed?
Hurin is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
24p , black deformity , brighter corner , lg b8 , lg c8 , lg oled , lg oled c8 aspect , lg soundbar , light bleed , oled , soap opera effect , soe , sound bar

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off