2018 LG C8-E8 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 656 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 81964Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19651 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 07:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
zeonstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 717 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edpinguin View Post
With 05.10.03 back on default white balance settings. Brightness 50 for SD and HDR10 using test patterns. Dolby Vision checking black level by eye has now brightness 49 for me. Don’️t know about above black because I don’️t have DV test patterns.
Looks good with default settings again.
How did you determine 49 was best for DV? Mine is that too so I am just curious.
zeonstar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19652 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 07:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 31
In KY my C8 is still bugging me to update from my 4.10.15 to 4.10.55. I’m wondering if I need to do that before it’ll prompt me for 5.10.03? I’d prefer to avoid the problems inherent in .55.

Also, has anyone whose made the leap from 4.10.15 found a noticeable change for the good, in terms of blacks? Otherwise?
ItzMe is online now  
post #19653 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 07:23 AM
Member
 
Hurin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: California
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tex_Thai View Post
Third, And the question people keep asking and not getting an answer, do we do a factory reset, before, after or at all?
It's not required. But some (me included) do it out of habit or a sense of using "best practices". . .

If practical, I do a factory reset on pretty much any device after a firmware update. Sometimes before and after. I just like to know that the new firmware is encountering as plain and predictable a device as possible.

But, again, it's not required. Just something some of us do for our own peace of mind or sense of "doing it right."

--H
Tex_Thai likes this.
Hurin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19654 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 07:25 AM
Member
 
Edpinguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Holland
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeonstar View Post
How did you determine 49 was best for DV? Mine is that too so I am just curious.
Just by checking the black bars in a black frame uhd blu ray disc movie. In a dark room at night. Lowering brightness until I could see no pixels light up anymore. With brightness 50 I could still see some pixels light up.
Edpinguin is offline  
post #19655 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 08:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
zeonstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 717 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edpinguin View Post
Just by checking the black bars in a black frame uhd blu ray disc movie. In a dark room at night. Lowering brightness until I could see no pixels light up anymore. With brightness 50 I could still see some pixels light up.
That is how I did it as well. Probably not very scientific...but it works for me. I am getting my TV professionally calibrated for the first time on Wednesday. I'll be curious to see if my brightness changes afterwards.
zeonstar is offline  
post #19656 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 08:53 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 26,398
Mentioned: 92 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7622 Post(s)
Liked: 7696
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hurin View Post
Just turned on my TV and was offered newest firmware (.03). West coast, USA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrMichael View Post
Mine was also just offered! Minnesota
Are any issues that have been going on fixed?
mrtickleuk likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #19657 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 09:01 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 16,242
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4032 Post(s)
Liked: 2893
Quote:
Originally Posted by floridaman View Post
I am having an issue with Netflix Streaming and Amazon Streaming. My C7 77 is hardwired to network. I have 200/200 speeds with Fios. Basically, when using either Netflix or Prime Video the shows will pause briefly or just stop working. The I have to either fast forward through this in Prime Video or resume show in Netflix. Then I tested Prime video on my Tivo which is also hard wired and have zero issues there. Everything is wired into an adaptor because I have 4 devices that are hard wired and the adaptor is plugged into ethernet port on the wall. Also, I am on firmware 4.10.15. Any ideas? Could the firmware be the issue? I have done a network test on the TV and it passes each time.

Secondly. do I have to update to 4.10.55 before I will see the new version that was just released?
If you are hardwired then you're limited to 100Mbps, which is the ethernet maximum, but still plenty enough to stream 4k HDR. I have a 300/12 cable connection. My wiring is with solid core CAT-6 (non-CCA and not CAT-6 ethernet patch cable) connecting to a gigabit switch which my HTS devices connect to. No issues at all with Netflix, Amazon Prime, etc. However, all of my streaming is thru an ATV4k so I don't bother with the tv's SmartApps. I too am still using the .15 version on my 65 C8.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #19658 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 09:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JJHXBR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sandpoint, ID
Posts: 1,354
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 290
I just got off the phone with LG in regards to FW 5.10.03 not updating or saying no update found. Some others have already reported that if you cancelled the firmware update yesterday, it is now saying no update found. Unfortunately FW 5.10.03 is not even posted on the LG site yet so there is no manual update option available yet either. The LG tech tried changing the location to Canada to see if it would update the firmware but that failed as well. No update found. They have now reported the problem and will see if they can get it fixed. They said hopefully it will be up on the servers and the web site soon. Since my internet connection isn't the fastest I think it might be best to install this firmware manually since others have said it took a long time.

HT Setup: Speakers - M&K S-5000 Monitors FL-C-FR-RL-RR on ST-1 titling stands - M&K 4X M7 surround speakers - Atmos speakers 4X M&K M5's - 2x M&K MX-350 Mk II Subs
Processor - Marantz 8805 - B&K 7270 THX 7 Channel Amp - Denon AVR 4810CI - Oppo BDP-103+203 - QNAP TVS-863+ Turbo NAS 64TB - QNAP TR-004 32TB - LG OLED 65" C8
JJHXBR is offline  
post #19659 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 10:25 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 8
For those interested, In the US I went from 4.10.15 straight to 5.10.03 without being offered 4.10.55. Picture does seem brighter and more open(?) Equal or better than 4.10.15 IMO. Checked some Dark Knight scenes I had macro blocking/ overshoot or something in near black on 4.10.15 and it looks much cleaner after the update.
ItzMe, Bigmoviefan and mrtickleuk like this.
Mountains is offline  
post #19660 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 10:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bigmoviefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 669 Post(s)
Liked: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountains View Post
For those interested, In the US I went from 4.10.15 straight to 5.10.03 without being offered 4.10.55. Picture does seem brighter and more open(?) Equal or better than 4.10.15 IMO. Checked some Dark Knight scenes I had macro blocking/ overshoot or something in near black on 4.10.15 and it looks much cleaner after the update.
I think it looks cleaner too!
ItzMe likes this.
Bigmoviefan is offline  
post #19661 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 10:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bigmoviefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 669 Post(s)
Liked: 476
I sent a private message to D-Nice trying to set up a calibration. Is there a better way to contact him ?
Bigmoviefan is offline  
post #19662 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 11:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 52
2018 LG C8-E8 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJHXBR View Post
I just got off the phone with LG in regards to FW 5.10.03 not updating or saying no update found. Some others have already reported that if you cancelled the firmware update yesterday, it is now saying no update found. Unfortunately FW 5.10.03 is not even posted on the LG site yet so there is no manual update option available yet either. The LG tech tried changing the location to Canada to see if it would update the firmware but that failed as well. No update found. They have now reported the problem and will see if they can get it fixed. They said hopefully it will be up on the servers and the web site soon. Since my internet connection isn't the fastest I think it might be best to install this firmware manually since others have said it took a long time.


Why go through all that trouble and not simply download the update file from Canada site and upload manually. It’s straight forward quick update. It’s literally the same file. I’m sure you can download sub 1gb file just fine regardless how long it takes.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
mrtickleuk likes this.
3isRC is offline  
post #19663 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 11:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JJHXBR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sandpoint, ID
Posts: 1,354
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3isRC View Post
Why go through all that trouble and not simply download the update file from Canada site and upload manually. It’s straight forward quick update. It’s literally the same file. I’m sure you can download sub 1gb file just fine regardless how long it takes.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I asked the same question to the LG tech and was told that's not a good idea, and don't do it. After thinking about it I wondered why he changed my location to Canada then and tried to get it to update from there? Has anybody tried using the Canada firmware manually to see if it works?

HT Setup: Speakers - M&K S-5000 Monitors FL-C-FR-RL-RR on ST-1 titling stands - M&K 4X M7 surround speakers - Atmos speakers 4X M&K M5's - 2x M&K MX-350 Mk II Subs
Processor - Marantz 8805 - B&K 7270 THX 7 Channel Amp - Denon AVR 4810CI - Oppo BDP-103+203 - QNAP TVS-863+ Turbo NAS 64TB - QNAP TR-004 32TB - LG OLED 65" C8
JJHXBR is offline  
post #19664 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 11:40 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,614
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3942 Post(s)
Liked: 3974
2018 LG C8-E8 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmoviefan View Post
I sent a private message to D-Nice trying to set up a calibration. Is there a better way to contact him ?


I don’t have his email but @Cleveland Plasma does.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Cam1977 likes this.

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is online now  
post #19665 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 12:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,941
Mentioned: 222 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6222 Post(s)
Liked: 9047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tex_Thai View Post
Second, But I will wait and see what you guys say about .03.
I am not patient but learning about FW upgrades, one has to be patient.
Will let you guys have a few days to check it out.
Thanks for testing this out for us, you early adopters, God Bless you!!!!!!
You're welcome. This firmware has been around in the Engineering menu since the start of May. The people who installed it then were the early adopters, and it's been discussed pretty much to death since then :-)

Quote:
Third, And the question people keep asking and not getting an answer, do we do a factory reset, before, after or at all?
Completely unnecessary; if it was, it would be in LG's instructions, and ruin everyone's calibrations, plus all the tuning, app configurations etc. You can do it if you like but it will not make any difference.

Sometimes, on the rare times something else not connected to the firmware goes wrong, it helps to do a factory reset - which is why that option is in the menu.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJHXBR View Post
FW 5.10.03 was available last night but it was late and I decided to wait to update this morning. Went to check this morning and now it say's no update available. WTF?
Already asked and answered literally hours before you posted. Please see post #19646 .

Quote:
Originally Posted by ItzMe View Post
In KY my C8 is still bugging me to update from my 4.10.15 to 4.10.55. I’m wondering if I need to do that before it’ll prompt me for 5.10.03? I’d prefer to avoid the problems inherent in .55.
No the server offers you the latest version that it can every time. It would be ludicrous to make people go through every version! Imagine buying this TV at the end of line, and when you set it up from new, you are forced to go through 20 firmware upgrades to get up to date. It just doesn't work like that!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hurin View Post
It's not required. But some (me included) do it out of habit or a sense of using "best practices". . .
[...]
But, again, it's not required. Just something some of us do for our own peace of mind or sense of "doing it right."
I agree it's not required, and thanks for saying that, but I don't agree that it's "best practice" or "doing it right". It's a bit like saying you have to refit your whole bathroom, and move house, just because you have replaced one of the taps ("faucets" I believe you call them). . But of course, if you really don't mind doing all that work of setting everything up again, you are free to do what gives you peace of mind.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJHXBR View Post
I just got off the phone with LG in regards to FW 5.10.03 not updating or saying no update found. Some others have already reported that if you cancelled the firmware update yesterday, it is now saying no update found.
Most or all will say that. Because that's how the system works. PLease see post #19646 ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJHXBR View Post
I asked the same question to the LG tech and was told that's not a good idea, and don't do it.
Ridiculous. He's just reading from his script and/or covering the company's back. The TV will check the firmware type for the chassis you have, and if it's not compatible, it doesn't let you install it. The End.. There is zero risk, because it's the same bloody file!

Quote:
Has anybody tried using the Canada firmware manually to see if it works?
Of course. This is a FAQ. Repost: for people who keep referring to "the Korean firmware", "the Canadian firmware", "the American firmware" - there is no such thing. Also taking firmware from a country of choice - won't work, unless you pick one of the correct countries.

It is "the firmware for Korean and Canadian and American models". It's the exact same file that is flashed to ALL of them, very easily proven with hash checks and comparing them. There's only really 2 or 3 different chassis in the whole world.

The only thing that is different between the 3 web-pages is that that file has been linked from some of them and not others of them.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs

Last edited by mrtickleuk; 07-29-2019 at 12:04 PM.
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #19666 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 12:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 973 Post(s)
Liked: 974
If anyone is interested, I was on the phone with LG and asked the tech about going back to an older firmware. Of course he immediately said I can't.

I then came up with a story that I had my TV calibrated recently and apparently the calibrator decided he was going to install the latest firmware (I was playing dumb) and he installed .05.20.02 on my TV.

I then said that I was seeing people posting about. 05.10.03 and found out that is actually the latest software & that the calibrator apparently put done engineering update on my TV.

After more discussion, I was told that they would need to escalate to supervision and if approved, they would need my consent to log in to my TV via the remote tech option on the tv and they could remotely update and put the proper version.

He also did say that the engineering version is actually the latest .05.10.03. I told him I would still like to look into correcting it. I have a ticket number and have to call back after I'm off of work.

TV - LG C8 & LG C6, AVR - Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Switch
calfcramp, chunon, SL600 and 1 others like this.

Living Room: LG OLED65C9, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedrooms: LG OLED65C8, LG OLED55C6, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
LG C6PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-OLED55C6P.AUS
LG C8PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
LG C9PUA/AUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #19667 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 12:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JJHXBR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sandpoint, ID
Posts: 1,354
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 290
Thanks mrtickleuk for the clarification. I'll take your word for it.

HT Setup: Speakers - M&K S-5000 Monitors FL-C-FR-RL-RR on ST-1 titling stands - M&K 4X M7 surround speakers - Atmos speakers 4X M&K M5's - 2x M&K MX-350 Mk II Subs
Processor - Marantz 8805 - B&K 7270 THX 7 Channel Amp - Denon AVR 4810CI - Oppo BDP-103+203 - QNAP TVS-863+ Turbo NAS 64TB - QNAP TR-004 32TB - LG OLED 65" C8

Last edited by JJHXBR; 07-29-2019 at 01:08 PM.
JJHXBR is offline  
post #19668 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 12:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bigmoviefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 669 Post(s)
Liked: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Are any issues that have been going on fixed?
Would you be nice enough to pass along D-Nice email address, as I would like to have him calibrate my 77” C8 . Thank you .
Bigmoviefan is offline  
post #19669 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 01:15 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 3
So just got the update OTA (Sweden). With the Settings from Rtings and FW 5.10.03, and all the ”spooks” in my head by following this thread (I love the experts and information here!) I can do feel the picture is much better now. But as a ”no expert” it could be my brain😅.

But for real. Thanks for all information in this thread, keep it coming for us non (as) tech🙏🏻
calfcramp, Tex_Thai and mrtickleuk like this.
Kafferast is offline  
post #19670 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 01:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,950
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1596 Post(s)
Liked: 940
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaxcom View Post
I’m not being arrogant here, so please don’t misconstrue my question or tone. How do we know that the files on Canadian, Korean and US sites are the same? The chassis may all be identical but local laws, broadcasting standards and regulations might dictate firmware that is different in each region when it comes to certain functions. I’m not saying this the case, but it’s possible. I guess one way to know would be to look at the checksum of prior versions of firmware from those same regions, but that still does not guarantee future versions are all the same. HDMI copy protection as one example... is it the same in every country? You have to wonder if there are small differences that could be consequential later on. Just thinking out loud here.
Well Canada usually gets all the restrictions of the US and then some. Like at least in the US cable companies are support to allow unencrypted access to local broadcast stations if you have cable TV (the fact many fail to do so it another story) and in theory cablecards are support to be an option too (even if that also often doesn't happen). In Canada we get none of that. All channels encrypted on cable and require a set top box, and no cablecard option or anything.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #19671 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 01:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 4,778
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2400 Post(s)
Liked: 3333
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmoviefan View Post
I sent a private message to D-Nice trying to set up a calibration. Is there a better way to contact him ?

[email protected]


It may take a little while for him to get back to you depending on his schedule. Worth being patient. Good luck.
chunon and Cam1977 like this.

There is no perfect display, quit looking for faults and enjoy

LG OLED 77" C9, 65” B7a (SOLD) and 55” C8
Ascend's with RAAL, Outlaw monoblocks, PSA v1800 and a 7.2.4 speaker config, Oppo 203 and other stuff
smurraybhm is offline  
post #19672 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 01:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Jbhur212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Akron
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Anyone with an ISF calibration updated yet? Curious if you did if you're seeing any setting changes.

EQUIPMENT:LG OLED77C8PUA (ISF calibrated by Jeff Meier)-OPPO BDP-203 blu-ray player-OPPO DV-983H dvd player-Pioneer CLD-99 laser disc player-Marantz 7703 Preamplifier-200x3 Acurus amplifier-150x2 Acurus amplifier-Emotiva UPA-2 amplifier-Outlaw Model 5000 amplifier-2 Mythos 4-1 Mythos 8-2 Mythos BPX-2 NHT Super Zeros-4 SVS Prime Elevation speakers-Hsu VTF-2 MK3 subwoofer-Elite-Xbox One S-Roku Ultra streaming player
Jbhur212 is online now  
post #19673 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 01:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 3
I'm in Los Angeles and have yet to receive the latest update. Anyone in the same boat? I'm currently on 4.10.55.
BlazednSleepy is offline  
post #19674 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 01:50 PM
Member
 
Elitegti17's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlazednSleepy View Post
I'm in Los Angeles and have yet to receive the latest update. Anyone in the same boat? I'm currently on 4.10.55.
Same .I'm in Miami and have checked a couple times but nothing yet.
Elitegti17 is offline  
post #19675 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 01:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jdbimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Below is a US C8 ISF Dark default gamma chart, but with 2.2 gamma setting. The blue line is 5.10.03 and the yellow line is 4.10.55. Except for the peak around 30% and, to a lesser extent, 50% and 70% (which are exaggerated by this log graph format), it looks much better now. Default grayscale is also very good. Now I just need some time to tweak it a bit.


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	LGGamma2.2_4.10.55-5.10.03.jpg
Views:	336
Size:	62.4 KB
ID:	2596022  
Glenee, bertk, chros73 and 1 others like this.

____________________________________________
C8/E8 Questions? Try JCC's_FAQ Or LiQiCE's_Wiki
jdbimmer is offline  
post #19676 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 02:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene9p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 123
go to post 19414 from Jrocker 23 for .03 FW...I used his link and it installed without a hitch via usb ..it took 5 minutes max...

Last edited by gene9p; 07-29-2019 at 02:15 PM.
gene9p is online now  
post #19677 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 02:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,941
Mentioned: 222 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6222 Post(s)
Liked: 9047
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdbimmer View Post
Below is a US C8 ISF Dark default gamma chart, but with 2.2 gamma setting. The blue line is 5.10.03 and the yellow line is 4.10.55. Except for the peak around 30% and, to a lesser extent, 50% and 70% (which are exaggerated by this log graph format), it looks much better now. Default grayscale is also very good. Now I just need some time to tweak it a bit.
Brilliant, thanks for sharing! That is certainly much better.
calfcramp likes this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #19678 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 02:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
djoberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: West Central Minnesota
Posts: 6,797
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1526 Post(s)
Liked: 2370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmoviefan View Post
I sent a private message to D-Nice trying to set up a calibration. Is there a better way to contact him ?
I've written to D-Nice before (via a PM) and he never wrote back. I hope you have better "luck" than I did.
Bigmoviefan likes this.

LG OLED 77C8...Denon X4300H 9.2 AVR...Panasonic DP-UB820...LG UHD UBK90...Toshiba HD-A30...Dish Hopper 3...Roku Premiere Plus...Harmony One

5.2.4 Set-up: SVS Prime Bookshelf Speakers (4)...SVS Prime Center...SVS Prime Elevation (4)...SVS PC-2000 & PC12-NSD Subs
djoberg is offline  
post #19679 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 03:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jdbimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Brilliant, thanks for sharing! That is certainly much better.
Yes, much better. Here is ISF Dark default gamma using BT.1886 (blue line) compared to the 2.2 gamma setting (yellow line) both on 5.10.03. Basically the same response shifted down to 2.4.


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	LGGammaBT_vs 2.2_5.10.03.jpg
Views:	312
Size:	63.0 KB
ID:	2596036  

____________________________________________
C8/E8 Questions? Try JCC's_FAQ Or LiQiCE's_Wiki
jdbimmer is offline  
post #19680 of 23727 Old 07-29-2019, 03:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bigmoviefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 669 Post(s)
Liked: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by djoberg View Post
I've written to D-Nice before (via a PM) and he never wrote back. I hope you have better "luck" than I did.
So far, not! If he never answers PM or Email, who do I go to next who comes to NC. ?
Bigmoviefan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
24p , black deformity , blu-ray , brighter corner , denon x3500 , eye strain , firmware update , hdmi , hdmi audio missing , lg b8 , lg c8 , lg c8 oled , lg oled , lg oled c8 aspect , lg soundbar , light bleed , oled , soap opera effect , soe , sound bar

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off