2018 LG C8-E8 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 674 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 81046Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #20191 of 22112 Old 08-12-2019, 03:04 PM
Member
 
chad43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgcss View Post
Why does everyone keep saying OTA which is short for Over The Air referring to using an antenna. With these updates it should be OTI for Over The Internet 😬
Try living inside my head where I want to staple shut the lips of everyone who uses the word "ironic" when they really mean "coincidental" or "unfortunate." I promised my wife I'd never actually do it and yet she keeps hiding the stapler.

That being said, I'm ok with OTA in this context.
Tex_Thai and mrtickleuk like this.
chad43 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #20192 of 22112 Old 08-12-2019, 03:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,186
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 450 Post(s)
Liked: 342
^^ That statement is iconic not ironic!
Tex_Thai likes this.
tanman is offline  
post #20193 of 22112 Old 08-12-2019, 03:15 PM
Member
 
jeesus1888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I got also new firmware in europe. 3 days ago. Now will update
jeesus1888 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #20194 of 22112 Old 08-12-2019, 03:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bigmoviefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,548
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 624 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by oledmod View Post
Disagree, that firmware had some issues such as chrominance overshoot that have now been fixed (as much as is possible), and gamma is not worse with 5.10.03 in my opinion. In fact, I don't think that LG can globally improve gamma significantly after the newest firmware if they account for panel variances.



Panels always have variances, which is why every panel (regardless of firmware) will see some improvement with proper calibration.
I had D-Nice Calibrate my LG C8 77” tv yesterday. He said some people had more issues with .55 firmware than others . Panel variations can be pretty big . My tv did not look good with .55 firmware. The new firmware .03 helped my panel. And the newly calibrated C8 looks phenomenal! I am having a hard time pulling myself away from tv to get other tasks done! 😆. D-Nice did a very good job of calibrating C8. A professional calibration does help this panel quite a bit.
Bigmoviefan is offline  
post #20195 of 22112 Old 08-12-2019, 03:57 PM
Senior Member
 
chronitis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by chronitis View Post
Because you have to use 10% windows to calibrate. It takes time. Particularly for HDR.
Me thinks you'll be fine. Let us know. I have't checked yet if its available here.
From personal experience it definitely causes temporary image retention. Particularly when calibrating HDR. A 700 nit 10% window will get retention very quickly. Not sure the effect long term, but it definitely ages the pixels quicker than the surrounding area
chronitis is offline  
post #20196 of 22112 Old 08-12-2019, 03:57 PM
Member
 
agerson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Do you have to update to .55 before it will offer the 5.X update?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Aperion Verus Grand Bookshelf L/R
Aperion Verus Grand Center Channel
Aperion Verus Forte Satellite
SVS PB-1000
Denon X3400 / LG C8 65inch OLED / ATV4K
agerson is offline  
post #20197 of 22112 Old 08-12-2019, 04:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Gallery App

Has anyone tried using the Gallery App's "My Photos"?

I added some photos, but when viewed with the Gallery app, it just showed panning shots of my photos. I was kind of expecting my photos to be displayed with a frame around the edge, or at least that is what I was hoping
jonclarkccnp is offline  
post #20198 of 22112 Old 08-12-2019, 04:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by agerson View Post
Do you have to update to .55 before it will offer the 5.X update?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
No. It will update to the latest fw it detected

Sent from my CLT-L04 using Tapatalk
boldventure is offline  
post #20199 of 22112 Old 08-12-2019, 04:02 PM
Senior Member
 
chronitis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by chronitis View Post
Because you have to use 10% windows to calibrate. It takes time. Particularly for HDR.
You might have temporary image retention, sure. I notice it too when calibrating HDR. But that goes on its own after a few minutes. Certainly after the next comp cycle.

"Burn-in" means something permanent, and is different to temporary image retention.
I'm pretty sure that temporary ir can turn to permanent burn in if I keep having to do this. I hope not though.
chronitis is offline  
post #20200 of 22112 Old 08-12-2019, 04:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
airborn007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by bpmurr View Post
The Dolby Vision version with firmware 4.10.55 was also 1.5.0_17.00 on my 65C8.
Much thanks sir. I guess if it's the same then nothing really did change for Dolby Vision though some say it got a tad darker but could just be a placebo effect.

LG C9 & UB9000
LG C8 & UB820
Denon AVR, SVS Prime Elevation & Ultra Series, HSU Subwoofer, Emotiva
airborn007 is offline  
post #20201 of 22112 Old 08-12-2019, 05:07 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,211
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3517 Post(s)
Liked: 2539
Quote:
Originally Posted by agerson View Post
Do you have to update to .55 before it will offer the 5.X update?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I don't believe so. I'm still on .15 but plan on jumping to .03 once it's available OTI (Over the Internet ).

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #20202 of 22112 Old 08-12-2019, 05:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Jbhur212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Akron
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonclarkccnp View Post
Has anyone tried using the Gallery App's "My Photos"?

I added some photos, but when viewed with the Gallery app, it just showed panning shots of my photos. I was kind of expecting my photos to be displayed with a frame around the edge, or at least that is what I was hoping
Yea, I found out it doesn’t work that way. The display's default is the Ken Burns effect with the pics loaded in My Photos being zoomed in and out all the time. Confirmed it awhile ago by talking to LG CS. So I downloaded a bunch of 50's sci-Fi and horror lobby cards in My Photos and just turn it on before hand and let it scroll through them whenever I have people over to watch movies. But alas, no frames.

EQUIPMENT:LG OLED77C8PUA (ISF calibrated by Jeff Meier)-OPPO BDP-203 blu-ray player-OPPO DV-983H dvd player-Pioneer CLD-99 laser disc player-Marantz 7703 Preamplifier-200x3 Acurus amplifier-150x2 Acurus amplifier-Emotiva UPA-2 amplifier-Outlaw Model 5000 amplifier-2 Mythos 4-1 Mythos 8-2 Mythos BPX-2 NHT Super Zeros-4 SVS Prime Elevation speakers-Hsu VTF-2 MK3 subwoofer-Elite-Xbox One S-Roku Ultra streaming player
Jbhur212 is offline  
post #20203 of 22112 Old 08-12-2019, 06:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
shadowspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Out of Area
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
What are you talking about, there is nothing left to correct. It's been proven with calibration scans posted here by jk82 that the gamma curve in 5.10.* is identical to the curve in 4.15

So has this been confirmed?


And does this mean it's safe to update my Chad B calibrated 4.15 to 5.10.* without hurting my calibration?
shadowspawn is offline  
post #20204 of 22112 Old 08-12-2019, 06:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b_rad4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 692 Post(s)
Liked: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hurin View Post
Yes. Very thoroughly. Via 0% black slide (vs 1% black slide). The AVS black clipping pattern. And Wizziwig's gamma correction slide. All in a pitch black room (I even turn off my outdoor porch lights lest the glow from the window affect things).

It's not strange for a panel to need a notch or three of brightness. Due to panel variance.

--H
I think mine also needs to be at 53. When I go though the calibration via my Xbox, the brightness test pattern where it shows the eyes, and you're supposed to make it so it is just invisible requires 53.

Does this mean it would also need to be 53 in HDR? I don't have any way to calibrate it with an HDR test pattern
b_rad4 is offline  
post #20205 of 22112 Old 08-12-2019, 07:55 PM
Member
 
Hurin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: California
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_rad4 View Post
I think mine also needs to be at 53. When I go though the calibration via my Xbox, the brightness test pattern where it shows the eyes, and you're supposed to make it so it is just invisible requires 53.

Does this mean it would also need to be 53 in HDR? I don't have any way to calibrate it with an HDR test pattern
For mine, 53 is the proper brightness for SDR across all inputs/devices. But for HDR and Dolby Vision, I need to leave it at 50 or blacks become elevated.

--H
b_rad4 likes this.
Hurin is offline  
post #20206 of 22112 Old 08-12-2019, 08:46 PM
Member
 
gamo62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Would be nice if the E8 would get WebOS 4.5. No reason they can’t. Vizio is updating their older TV’s to Homekit and Airplay 2.
ItzMe likes this.
gamo62 is offline  
post #20207 of 22112 Old 08-12-2019, 09:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: København
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeonstar View Post
I actually thought till I read this that the Optimizer was just literally another form of Dynamic Tone Mapping. Is what the Optimizer does dynamic at all? (It sure seems like it.)
No, it's static.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeonstar View Post
Just for my own curiosity... why is the HDR Optimizer better at doing what it does, but also maintaining the most of the creator's intent?
Because Panasonic is simply better at doing what it does. Panasonic has included a tweakable version of the tone mapping found on their displays in the player. Panasonic is the king of image quality, they more than anyone else, know what they're doing when it comes to picture accuracy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeonstar View Post
I had thought that Panasonic's actual OLEDs also have the HDR Optimizer build in. Do they?
Yes, in the form of their TV's regular tone mapping.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeonstar View Post
Do they just have their own version of DTM in there?
Yes they do, and unlike LG's, it's one I would be more likely to take advantage of. Their dynamic solution only adjusts the higher end of the picture, towards where the image rolls off, leaving the majority of the content untouched.
mrtickleuk likes this.
Ken Masters is offline  
post #20208 of 22112 Old 08-12-2019, 10:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b_rad4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 692 Post(s)
Liked: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hurin View Post
For mine, 53 is the proper brightness for SDR across all inputs/devices. But for HDR and Dolby Vision, I need to leave it at 50 or blacks become elevated.

--H
Thanks, very interesting it is different.
b_rad4 is offline  
post #20209 of 22112 Old 08-13-2019, 12:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowspawn View Post
So has this been confirmed?


And does this mean it's safe to update my Chad B calibrated 4.15 to 5.10.* without hurting my calibration?
This guy is a troll don't trust him

Gesendet von meinem GM1913 mit Tapatalk
hamad138 is offline  
post #20210 of 22112 Old 08-13-2019, 05:45 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 377
He's not a Troll .

Nothing's Impossible if you don't have to do it yourself ! Glenee
Glenee is offline  
post #20211 of 22112 Old 08-13-2019, 05:48 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowspawn View Post
So has this been confirmed?


And does this mean it's safe to update my Chad B calibrated 4.15 to 5.10.* without hurting my calibration?
I would not update anything until I had too or I was really sure about it not messing with the Calibration.

The best bet would be to send Chad a email and ask him what he thinks.
I think alot of things changed with this update, but it could of been mostly the things that I wanted.

Nothing's Impossible if you don't have to do it yourself ! Glenee
Glenee is offline  
post #20212 of 22112 Old 08-13-2019, 05:52 AM
Member
 
Edpinguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Holland
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I have checked the tone mapping of the C8 and Panasonic UB824 with the Spears & Munsil HDR and DV demo’s on the part where the horses are in the snow. With the 10000 nit HDR10 detail in the white snow was almost completely washed out. HDR optimizer of the 824 brought some detail back but I also needed to turn on the LG DTM to get white detail back to the level it is in the 4000 or 1000 nit demo’s. As far as I know there are not many (if any) 10000 HDR10 movies so it does not really matter for watching movies. Since the picture was mostly white the DTM darkening was not a problem here, it might be for movies with only a small part of white, so both DTM on and HD optimizer on may be usefull for movies in the snow. Otherwise HD optimizer on would suffice. Just my two cents.
calfcramp and mrtickleuk like this.
Edpinguin is offline  
post #20213 of 22112 Old 08-13-2019, 08:07 AM
Newbie
 
Fido_One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I'm in MA and finally got the OTA update notification last night for my C8. Since I didn't have mine professionally calibrated it's been difficult to pick up any differences, so I'm happy with the placebo effect of knowing I'm on a FW revision that isn't as frowned upon...
RDalton, rdgcss and Tex_Thai like this.
Fido_One is offline  
post #20214 of 22112 Old 08-13-2019, 08:11 AM
Senior Member
 
pennywise666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 287 Post(s)
Liked: 86
How do i turn off the black logo at the top left that says "hdmi (1)" after i switched inputs?
I want to get rid of that,because when switching to appletv,the Lg's remote doesnt work on the appletv untill that hdmi logo has disappeared after 8 seconds orso or i have to do it manually by pressing the up button 2 times.
Both is annoying.
pennywise666 is offline  
post #20215 of 22112 Old 08-13-2019, 09:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,186
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 450 Post(s)
Liked: 342
I believe everyone has gotten the update now like I did in Dallas. They picture is much crisper and the contrast is really great. Only thing is that they are not like the Japanese manufacturers that post what was updated in their support pages. I can find old SW and updated issues for all Panasonics and Sonys. Maybe their QA can take a hint from them!
tanman is offline  
post #20216 of 22112 Old 08-13-2019, 09:35 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,211
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3517 Post(s)
Liked: 2539
Quote:
Originally Posted by pennywise666 View Post
How do i turn off the black logo at the top left that says "hdmi (1)" after i switched inputs?
I want to get rid of that,because when switching to appletv,the Lg's remote doesnt work on the appletv untill that hdmi logo has disappeared after 8 seconds orso or i have to do it manually by pressing the up button 2 times.
Both is annoying.
I just figured it was the C8 handshaking so I can wait the 4 or 5 seconds for it to go away (and the audio to play). Doesn't bother me, and I use a Harmony remote so there aren't any issues with remote control of the ATV4k or my system in general.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #20217 of 22112 Old 08-13-2019, 10:29 AM
Senior Member
 
pennywise666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 287 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
I just figured it was the C8 handshaking so I can wait the 4 or 5 seconds for it to go away (and the audio to play). Doesn't bother me, and I use a Harmony remote so there aren't any issues with remote control of the ATV4k or my system in general.

Yeah i also have a harmony remote and it works perfectly (aside of the button press and switching input delay compared to LG remote),but the problem is that it doesnt fit in my hand nicely, because all the buttons are too low (above it is the little touchscreen). The LG remote is really perfect in the hand and i can find the buttons easily without having to look at it.
pennywise666 is offline  
post #20218 of 22112 Old 08-13-2019, 10:37 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,211
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3517 Post(s)
Liked: 2539
Quote:
Originally Posted by pennywise666 View Post
Yeah i also have a harmony remote and it works perfectly (aside of the button press and switching input delay compared to LG remote),but the problem is that it doesnt fit in my hand nicely, because all the buttons are too low (above it is the little touchscreen). The LG remote is really perfect in the hand and i can find the buttons easily without having to look at it.
I have the older Harmony 700 for both of my HTS's and they work just fine for me but I see what you're saying. The 3 second or so delay between input switching doesn't bother me but as I get older, I'm slowing down as well so it's all relative

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #20219 of 22112 Old 08-13-2019, 10:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
zeonstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 527 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
I headlined this in post number 20015 yesterday . But you need to re-watch Vincent's videos I linked in that post. He explains it better than all of us can.

Then, re-watch them again.

And again.

Repeatedly asking the same question here won't really help - just repeatedly watch HIS VIDEOS.
I was Re-watching the video about tone mapping between the 3 displays and it occured to me... in that video he is demonstrating each TV's standard Tone Mapping...NOT Dynamic Tone mapping correct?
zeonstar is offline  
post #20220 of 22112 Old 08-13-2019, 11:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
zeonstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 527 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Masters View Post
No, it's static.
Hey Ken. Thanks for another informative reply. I know this has been a lot of back and fourth but it has been really helpful to me.

**

I'm actually surprised the HDR Optimizer is Static with how good it is. Is dynamic not always better when it comes to this topic? (Not including Dolby Vision or HDR10+ of course.) I know LG touts the C8 DTM as a poor mans HDR10+ and in that, I was very intrigued by it... until my recent education on it of course.

Still how is the Panasonic HDR able to do it's much more effective tone mapping if it's just static? The way it (For example) only affects the blown out parts of a scene, rather than the whole image would of definitely made me think it was dynamic.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Masters View Post
Because Panasonic is simply better at doing what it does. Panasonic has included a tweakable version of the tone mapping found on their displays in the player. Panasonic is the king of image quality, they more than anyone else, know what they're doing when it comes to picture accuracy.
I honestly had no idea Panasonic has turned into such a high quality company. Makes me re-think their brand from when I was very young. When you say tweak-able version of the tone mapping, what do you mean? What is tweak-able about it on the players? Do you mean being able to choose your display type? (I have a feeling you mean more than that.)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Masters View Post
Yes they do, and unlike LG's, it's one I would be more likely to take advantage of. Their dynamic solution only adjusts the higher end of the picture, towards where the image rolls off, leaving the majority of the content untouched.
And we get a version of their superior Tone Mapping method in the form of the HDR Optimizer on the Panasonic players?
zeonstar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
24p , black deformity , blu-ray , brighter corner , hdmi , hdmi audio missing , lg b8 , lg c8 , lg c8 oled , lg oled , lg oled c8 aspect , lg soundbar , light bleed , oled , soap opera effect , soe , sound bar

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off