2018 LG C8-E8 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 710 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 81082Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21271 of 22191 Old 09-22-2019, 10:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,319
Mentioned: 182 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5054 Post(s)
Liked: 7373
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryantc View Post
Its right here: 5.10.15

I'm pretty sure it was discussed in this thread.
Yep I did try a search but there were very few matches for 5.10.15 that weren't about B8 firmware (which is not compatible). It's possible there were lots of posts about "the firmware" without mentioning the number, but those are harder to find . So far, precious few people seem to be running it.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #21272 of 22191 Old 09-22-2019, 01:53 PM
Senior Member
 
panasonicst60's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Very curious about 5.10.15....I guess I'll just have to wait and see.

TV: OLED65C8P - Receiver: Anthem MRX 710 - Blu-ray: Panasonic UB820 - Cd transport: Cambridge Audio CXC - Amp: Parasound A31 - LCR Speakers: Ascend Towers & 2ex - Surrounds: Noble Fidelity L-65 mkII - Sub: Rythmik F18 - Power Distribution: PS Juice Bar II, Signal Cable Magicstrip - Power Cables: PS AC5, PS SC, Shunyata Venom 14 - Speaker Cables: Kimber 8tc, BJC 10 - RCA Cables: AQ Silver - Probe: i1 Display Pro OEM Rev.B - Software: Lightspace HTL, Calman Enthusiast - Bias Lighting - MediaLight
panasonicst60 is offline  
post #21273 of 22191 Old 09-22-2019, 02:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
bryantc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Central
Posts: 725
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 494 Post(s)
Liked: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Yep I did try a search but there were very few matches for 5.10.15 that weren't about B8 firmware (which is not compatible). It's possible there were lots of posts about "the firmware" without mentioning the number, but those are harder to find . So far, precious few people seem to be running it.
You posted the changelog yourself

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post58543494
calfcramp and mrtickleuk like this.

Media: LG 88" 8K OLED Z9 / Denon AVR-X8500H 7.1.4 / Oppo UDP-203 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / Sony 4K FMP-X10 / Gaming PC (Threadripper 1950X / 2x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SLI) / PlayStation 4 Pro with PS VR / PlayStation (original)
Family: Sony 85" 4K XBR-85X900F / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / C64 Mini - Game: LG 77" 4K OLED C8 / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K
bryantc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #21274 of 22191 Old 09-22-2019, 03:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,319
Mentioned: 182 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5054 Post(s)
Liked: 7373
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryantc View Post
I'm losing it! And you asked whether people were running it as a beta[engineering]. Don't remember many people popping up saying yes!

Ok so it was properly released in Korea earlier in the month.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #21275 of 22191 Old 09-22-2019, 03:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Is here someone who calibrated a LG c8 on BT.1886 via Calman?

Gesendet von meinem GM1913 mit Tapatalk
hamad138 is offline  
post #21276 of 22191 Old 09-22-2019, 11:51 PM
Senior Member
 
calfcramp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
I'm the opposite. I use review sites as a reference but not gospel. I have more faith in my fellow AVSers an AVers (the European version), who don't have any vested interests other than searching for the Holy Grail of panels Time for you to sell your LG and move on to Samsung or Sony to see if you have better luck. You've become very tiresome.
I agree totally! I would for sure take the info from people that have the exact same products that I have, whether it's in forum groups, in person talk, or youtube videos{From single individual users}, then Review sites. We all know for sure that some review sites, not dependent on reviewed products that has, lets say....Been influenced by an outside source or company that blinds them from this thing called honesty!

I would guess 99.9 percent of a person's info or reviews from forums or elsewhere are legit and honest. Especially since most of those are asking for help. At least if you go that route, it cuts the chance of getting a dishonest review by going to the other options , like I mentioned before.

Just my 2 cents.
Jrocker23 likes this.
calfcramp is offline  
post #21277 of 22191 Old 09-23-2019, 09:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Does anyone know if you can use the 2019 magic remote (AN-MR19BA) with a 2018 OLED?
johnestan is offline  
post #21278 of 22191 Old 09-23-2019, 10:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,282
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 811 Post(s)
Liked: 794
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnestan View Post
Does anyone know if you can use the 2019 magic remote (AN-MR19BA) with a 2018 OLED?
I can check when I get home tonight. I have a C9 and a c8

TV - LG C9, C8 & C6 - AVR - Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Switch
calfcramp likes this.

Living Room: LG OLED65C9, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedrooms: LG OLED65C8, LG OLED55C6, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
LG C6PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-OLED55C6P.AUS
LG C8PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
LG C9PUA/AUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #21279 of 22191 Old 09-23-2019, 11:58 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,785
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 350 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrocker23 View Post
I can check when I get home tonight. I have a C9 and a c8

TV - LG C9, C8 & C6 - AVR - Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Switch
Since you are going to be messing with it anyway. See if you can get one remote to run both tv's without having to mate that remote to that TV.
I often wondered if I bought another remote, if 2 separate remotes would work on 1 TV, or if only 1 remote could be paired with a LG tv at one time.
Thanks ahead of time if you get the chance.

Nothing's Impossible if you don't have to do it yourself ! Glenee
Glenee is online now  
post #21280 of 22191 Old 09-23-2019, 12:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,282
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 811 Post(s)
Liked: 794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenee View Post
Since you are going to be messing with it anyway. See if you can get one remote to run both tv's without having to mate that remote to that TV.

I often wondered if I bought another remote, if 2 separate remotes would work on 1 TV, or if only 1 remote could be paired with a LG tv at one time.

Thanks ahead of time if you get the chance.
Sure I will check when I get home

TV - LG C9, C8 & C6 - AVR - Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Switch
calfcramp likes this.

Living Room: LG OLED65C9, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedrooms: LG OLED65C8, LG OLED55C6, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
LG C6PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-OLED55C6P.AUS
LG C8PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
LG C9PUA/AUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #21281 of 22191 Old 09-23-2019, 03:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 20
So guys who calibrated on 5.10.03

What are ur settings for IRE 5 10 and 15

I know it's pointless to ask because every screen is different but still want to know

Gesendet von meinem GM1913 mit Tapatalk
hamad138 is offline  
post #21282 of 22191 Old 09-23-2019, 04:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
grittree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 2,732
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 467 Post(s)
Liked: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenee View Post
Since you are going to be messing with it anyway. See if you can get one remote to run both tv's without having to mate that remote to that TV.
I often wondered if I bought another remote, if 2 separate remotes would work on 1 TV, or if only 1 remote could be paired with a LG tv at one time.
I have two remotes & one C8. Both remotes work. It's been quite a while, but I don't recall doing any "pairing".
Glenee likes this.
grittree is online now  
post #21283 of 22191 Old 09-23-2019, 05:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,282
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 811 Post(s)
Liked: 794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenee View Post
Since you are going to be messing with it anyway. See if you can get one remote to run both tv's without having to mate that remote to that TV.

I often wondered if I bought another remote, if 2 separate remotes would work on 1 TV, or if only 1 remote could be paired with a LG tv at one time.

Thanks ahead of time if you get the chance.
I was able to use both remotes on both TV's without mating them...

TV - LG C9, C8 & C6 - AVR - Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Switch
Glenee likes this.

Living Room: LG OLED65C9, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedrooms: LG OLED65C8, LG OLED55C6, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
LG C6PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-OLED55C6P.AUS
LG C8PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
LG C9PUA/AUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #21284 of 22191 Old 09-23-2019, 06:10 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,785
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 350 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Thanks a Bunch to both of you. This answered a Big concern for me.
calfcramp likes this.

Nothing's Impossible if you don't have to do it yourself ! Glenee
Glenee is online now  
post #21285 of 22191 Old 09-24-2019, 11:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Black crush

So i have my C8 for 1 month now and i always felt like the blacks were being crushed but i didn't want to temper with the brightness settings although that did seem to help, i was worried that increasing the brightness would spoil the OLED's perfect blacks.

Today i was reading a bit more about the black crush issues on the C8 and i learned that some panes do need increased brightness sometimes up to 60 to fix black crushing, so i found a test pattern and found out mine actually needs the brightness at 58 so i can actually see the lines i should see in the pattern.

As far as i can see setting the brightness at 58 does not spoil the blacks, all lines from 2 to 15 are still 100% black even with brightness at 58.

Would you guys mind telling me if you can actually see lines 17 and 18 blinking even with brightness set to 50? That would confirm that i got a problematic panel and that increasing the brightness is really necessary for me.

I still cannot post links here at the forum, but just search for "black clipping" on youtube and it is the first video by "Alex Mel"

Thanks
luizffgarcia is offline  
post #21286 of 22191 Old 09-24-2019, 11:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,319
Mentioned: 182 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5054 Post(s)
Liked: 7373
Quote:
Originally Posted by luizffgarcia View Post
As far as i can see setting the brightness at 58 does not spoil the blacks, all lines from 2 to 15 are still 100% black even with brightness at 58.

Would you guys mind telling me if you can actually see lines 17 and 18 blinking even with brightness set to 50? That would confirm that i got a problematic panel and that increasing the brightness is really necessary for me.
It sounds as if it is necessary on your panel. Note that test patterns on youtube can't be accurate because of all the different stages of conversation it's gone through. Better for you to use patterns from somewhere like https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-d...libration.html (SDR) and https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-d...terns-set.html (HDR10).

17 is VERY VERY VERY dark. You're not supposed to be able to see it on those "flashing bars" patterns. In a fully dark room, with your eyes adjusted for 10 minutes, with a test slide of 17, (ie only "17" and full black on the screen), you should JUST about be able to see something. But if you put anything else brighter on the screen it will "wash out" the 17 and your eyes won't be able to adjust to both.

From https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-d...l#post58062966
Quote:
Level 17 is very, very dark. With gamma 2.2, Level 17 will be "below black" unless your TV has a contrast ratio > 140K:1; with gamma 2.4 that increases to 410K:1. If you use the Brightness control to "make level 17 visible", there's a good chance that the level 16 itself is lifted above black.

I personally would adjust Brightness to the highest setting that does not lift black level. Level 17 may or may not be "visible", but I would just let it follow the gamma curve without artificially boosting it.
Also, remember to keep checking it (bit in bold):
from https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-d...l#post57249220

Quote:
Setting Blackness Levels (the easy way)

Use some free video you can download at https://test.full.band. You are looking for testing-video-main-0.4.zip on the Releases page.

Download and unzip the testing-video-main-0.4.zip file onto a flash drive.

In a totally dark room. Navigate to the testing-video-main-0.4\H.265-HEVC\UHD4K\BT709\Calibrate\Fill\Grayscale\Grayscal e-U4K-00-016.mp4 file and play the video. This is a full screen black video for SDR. Adjust the Brightness on your OLED to the point where you just see glow when viewing the video, then decrease Brightness by one.

For HDR10 navigate to the testing-video-main-0.4\H.265-HEVC\UHD4K\HDR10\Calibrate\Fill\Grayscale\Grayscal e-U4K_HDR10-00-064.mp4 file and play the video. Set the brightness just like you did for SDR.

For Dolby Vision, you may have a device that can force (fake) Dolby Vision from an HDR10 source. My Sony Blu-ray can do it, and I think some streaming players can do it. Otherwise, we will all have to wait for a free source of Dolby Vision black frame video to become available.

Your Brightness level setting will change rapidly in the first few hundred hours of use on your OLED. Expect to have Brightness levels well over 50 during the first few hours. Check them often until they settle in near 50.

LeRoy
LeRoyK, chad43 and luizffgarcia like this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #21287 of 22191 Old 09-24-2019, 11:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,063
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 928 Post(s)
Liked: 979
Quote:
Originally Posted by luizffgarcia View Post
As far as i can see setting the brightness at 58 does not spoil the blacks, all lines from 2 to 15 are still 100% black even with brightness at 58.
After increasing brightness you might wanna look at a 0% pure black pattern in a completely dark room to check for black glow. On a black clipping pattern which has white/gray text you wouldn't see a slightly elevated black. Unless you always watch with some ambient light in the room, then it doesn't really matter.


edit: just seen that mrtickleuk was faster...
mrtickleuk and luizffgarcia like this.
jk82 is offline  
post #21288 of 22191 Old 09-24-2019, 12:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
It sounds as if it is necessary on your panel. Note that test patterns on youtube can't be accurate because of all the different stages of conversation it's gone through. Better for you to use patterns from somewhere like (SDR) and(HDR10).

17 is VERY VERY VERY dark. You're not supposed to be able to see it on those "flashing bars" patterns. In a fully dark room, with your eyes adjusted for 10 minutes, with a test slide of 17, (ie only "17" and full black on the screen), you should JUST about be able to see something. But if you put anything else brighter on the screen it will "wash out" the 17 and your eyes won't be able to adjust to both.

From

Also, remember to keep checking it (bit in bold):
from
Thanks this was very helpful, using that test pattern with brightness at 50 i could only see 24 and 25 blinking and not even a sign of 23, right now with brightness at 58 i can barely see 17 but the others are there for sure.

I will test the proper patterns and report back.
calfcramp and mrtickleuk like this.
luizffgarcia is offline  
post #21289 of 22191 Old 09-24-2019, 02:31 PM
Member
 
e010238's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by luizffgarcia View Post
Thanks this was very helpful, using that test pattern with brightness at 50 i could only see 24 and 25 blinking and not even a sign of 23, right now with brightness at 58 i can barely see 17 but the others are there for sure.

I will test the proper patterns and report back.
I set the RGB LOW of my C8 at 10, then do a 20 pt to bring the the full EOTF curve in line. The only way to adjust <5% is to use the RGB LOW setting. Increasing the brightness would shift the whole dark level, IMHO. This method has been previously suggested by others here. You need a meter to do this which would cost you about $200. I use HCFR which is free.

Last edited by e010238; 09-24-2019 at 02:37 PM.
e010238 is offline  
post #21290 of 22191 Old 09-24-2019, 04:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by e010238 View Post
I set the RGB LOW of my C8 at 10, then do a 20 pt to bring the the full EOTF curve in line. The only way to adjust <5% is to use the RGB LOW setting. Increasing the brightness would shift the whole dark level, IMHO. This method has been previously suggested by others here. You need a meter to do this which would cost you about $200. I use HCFR which is free.
I have no idea how to do those things, and i would love to save $200 and not have to buy a meter
Luiz Felipe Franco Garcia is offline  
post #21291 of 22191 Old 09-25-2019, 02:20 AM
Member
 
BigZ12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Abroad
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Any signs of new a firmware? I'm on the 5.20.03, through the service menu. And with the ridiculous mistake by changing the values of the H-PLL NTSC/PAL, I would love to see a new original firmware with higher version nr, and praying for the service menu to reset.
Any new users here with experiences with resetting values in the service menu?!?
BigZ12 is offline  
post #21292 of 22191 Old 09-25-2019, 04:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,282
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 811 Post(s)
Liked: 794
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigZ12 View Post
Any signs of new a firmware? I'm on the 5.20.03, through the service menu. And with the ridiculous mistake by changing the values of the H-PLL NTSC/PAL, I would love to see a new original firmware with higher version nr, and praying for the service menu to reset.

Any new users here with experiences with resetting values in the service menu?!?
I Don't think firmware updates reset the service menu

TV - LG C9, C8 & C6 - AVR - Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Switch
calfcramp likes this.

Living Room: LG OLED65C9, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedrooms: LG OLED65C8, LG OLED55C6, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
LG C6PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-OLED55C6P.AUS
LG C8PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
LG C9PUA/AUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #21293 of 22191 Old 09-25-2019, 07:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Is it possible to reset firmware to factory default?
Leo768 is offline  
post #21294 of 22191 Old 09-25-2019, 09:49 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,225
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3523 Post(s)
Liked: 2540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leo768 View Post
Is it possible to reset firmware to factory default?
Probably by a Service Technician or an Authorized Service Center. If you attempt to do that by yourself, you run the risk of bricking your tv. There's a reason why a lot of us do not recommend entering the SM. You need to be very careful in there because not everything you find online is going to work for your firmware version, build version, region, etc.
mrtickleuk and npsacobra like this.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #21295 of 22191 Old 09-25-2019, 10:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
bryantc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Central
Posts: 725
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 494 Post(s)
Liked: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigZ12 View Post
Any signs of new a firmware? I'm on the 5.20.03, through the service menu. And with the ridiculous mistake by changing the values of the H-PLL NTSC/PAL, I would love to see a new original firmware with higher version nr, and praying for the service menu to reset.
Any new users here with experiences with resetting values in the service menu?!?
The latest public version is 5.10.15 so you are already ahead of us.

It's good to know there are still more updates coming.

Media: LG 88" 8K OLED Z9 / Denon AVR-X8500H 7.1.4 / Oppo UDP-203 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / Sony 4K FMP-X10 / Gaming PC (Threadripper 1950X / 2x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SLI) / PlayStation 4 Pro with PS VR / PlayStation (original)
Family: Sony 85" 4K XBR-85X900F / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / C64 Mini - Game: LG 77" 4K OLED C8 / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K
bryantc is offline  
post #21296 of 22191 Old 09-25-2019, 10:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryantc View Post
The latest public version is 5.10.15 so you are already ahead of us.



It's good to know there are still more updates coming.
Isn't it 05.10.03? This is from LG Canada

Sent from my CLT-L04 using Tapatalk
boldventure is offline  
post #21297 of 22191 Old 09-25-2019, 10:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
bryantc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Central
Posts: 725
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 494 Post(s)
Liked: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by boldventure View Post
Isn't it 05.10.03? This is from LG Canada

Sent from my CLT-L04 using Tapatalk
The Korean site has 5.10.15

Media: LG 88" 8K OLED Z9 / Denon AVR-X8500H 7.1.4 / Oppo UDP-203 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / Sony 4K FMP-X10 / Gaming PC (Threadripper 1950X / 2x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SLI) / PlayStation 4 Pro with PS VR / PlayStation (original)
Family: Sony 85" 4K XBR-85X900F / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / C64 Mini - Game: LG 77" 4K OLED C8 / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K
bryantc is offline  
post #21298 of 22191 Old 09-25-2019, 10:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Anyone who already installed the 05.10.15? Any feedback compare to .03?

It seems most of us will be more cautious to update because of what happened to in between of .15 and .03

Sent from my CLT-L04 using Tapatalk
boldventure is offline  
post #21299 of 22191 Old 09-25-2019, 11:19 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,225
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3523 Post(s)
Liked: 2540
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryantc View Post
The Korean site has 5.10.15
I think I'll wait until the update comes thru the normal channels. I'm in no hurry.
Glenee, chad43 and 11thunder07 like this.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #21300 of 22191 Old 09-25-2019, 11:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,063
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 928 Post(s)
Liked: 979
In the EU you'll now get 05.10.20 via engineering mode. Not sure yet if I'm gonna try it....
mrtickleuk likes this.
jk82 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
24p , black deformity , blu-ray , brighter corner , hdmi , hdmi audio missing , lg b8 , lg c8 , lg c8 oled , lg oled , lg oled c8 aspect , lg soundbar , light bleed , oled , soap opera effect , soe , sound bar

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off