2018 LG C8-E8 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 788 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 81958Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #23611 of 23713 Old 05-23-2020, 12:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,902
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3357 Post(s)
Liked: 4135
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurraybhm View Post
Stop!
Sold my B7 a few days ago and have $ to burn. You are being a bad influence and I don’t I need another disk player. Enjoy the new toy.
Thanks will do, but must say...its worth it
Cam1977 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23612 of 23713 Old 05-23-2020, 01:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
Thanks will do, but must say...its worth it

is that the $399 one?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Cam1977 likes this.

LG 55C8, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX503, Panamax M5400, Microsoft Xbox One X, Nvidia Shield Pro
Definitive Technology: BP9060 Front left/right/CS9040 center/A90 front Atmos/ProMonitor 800 rear Atmos/SR9040 surround left/right
Rythmik FVX15
MATTHEW PATIENT is online now  
post #23613 of 23713 Old 05-23-2020, 01:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,902
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3357 Post(s)
Liked: 4135
^pm sent.
MATTHEW PATIENT likes this.
Cam1977 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23614 of 23713 Old 05-24-2020, 08:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 26,356
Mentioned: 92 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7613 Post(s)
Liked: 7671
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leo768 View Post
So I think my C8 is now dead. A couple nights ago the whole screen just went blue and then black. I was incredibly freaked out so I just left it off for the night. When I went to turn it back on the next morning... nothing. It would make a click sound but nothing would show on the screen. I contacted LG and showed them a video and explained what happened, since it's out of warranty they said they won't be able to replace it but they quoted me a 1000 dollar repair+inspection. But I might as well get a new TV for that price. I could probably get a part replacement for half that price if the problem isn't the screen, but I'm not sure which part would've most likely caused my C8 to die. Was it the power supply, circuit board, main board, T-con board or screen? If it's the screen then I'm f***ed obviously. The red light is still visible so it might not be a power supply issue? This has really bummed me out and made me reconsider getting another OLED as I didn't even get 2500 hours out of this thing.
No extended warranty? Did you use a credit card that adds a warranty for free?
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #23615 of 23713 Old 05-26-2020, 05:37 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
low wifi speed instability

Hi,

while on other devices the speed is stable and I get a steady +30mbps on speed tests, on the C8 I suddenly get less then 1mbps (via netflix speed test or fast.com) unless I disconnect the tv from the power socket and reconnect then speed test shows +44mbps until the next time.



I dont think The problem is with the router since all other devices speed test are ok so it's something with the tv for sure.



Any idea for a fix?
Bar Dar is offline  
post #23616 of 23713 Old 05-26-2020, 06:11 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,848
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
Thanks will do, but must say...its worth it
Waiting for the glowing report.
Cam1977 likes this.

Nothing's Impossible if you don't have to do it yourself ! Glenee
Glenee is offline  
post #23617 of 23713 Old 05-26-2020, 07:34 AM
Member
 
jwsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bar Dar View Post
Hi,

while on other devices the speed is stable and I get a steady +30mbps on speed tests, on the C8 I suddenly get less then 1mbps (via netflix speed test or fast.com) unless I disconnect the tv from the power socket and reconnect then speed test shows +44mbps until the next time.



I dont think The problem is with the router since all other devices speed test are ok so it's something with the tv for sure.



Any idea for a fix?
You can try to split SSID in the router to ensure you only ever pick up the 5GHz band - and choose a channel number < 100 - but 1Mbs sounds low even for 2.4.
I also like having the settings Quickstart+ off and Turn On via Wifi also to off in case this helps refresh the connection each time out of Standby
jwsg is offline  
post #23618 of 23713 Old 05-26-2020, 12:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,902
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3357 Post(s)
Liked: 4135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenee View Post
Waiting for the glowing report.
I think its great and imho a must have for the C8.

The players tone mapping is a big improvement over the C8 imo, the HDR optimizer setting is the real deal. Motion is improved, I thought I was crazy, but I asked other members if they experienced the same and they confirmed.
tanman, Glenee, sadsushi and 2 others like this.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #23619 of 23713 Old 05-26-2020, 06:59 PM
Newbie
 
-Skorpion-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So my OLED C8 is acting strange & not usable. It keeps turning off & going in standby mode it seems and only stays on for a few seconds. It works fine then image in the corner acts strange & it turns off. What could it be? Power board failure maybe?
-Skorpion- is offline  
post #23620 of 23713 Old 05-27-2020, 01:36 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwsg View Post
You can try to split SSID in the router to ensure you only ever pick up the 5GHz band - and choose a channel number < 100 - but 1Mbs sounds low even for 2.4.
I also like having the settings Quickstart+ off and Turn On via Wifi also to off in case this helps refresh the connection each time out of Standby
The router does not support 5GHz band.
Bar Dar is offline  
post #23621 of 23713 Old 05-27-2020, 10:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 155
I use Powerline Ethernet (~$75) it provides a strong, reliable connection and adding a 5 port ethernet switch (~$10) provides connections for AVR, DVD, Game consoles, etc..
For example:
https://www.lifewire.com/best-powerl...apters-4141215
https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Ether...PY/ref=sr_1_5?
Gandu is offline  
post #23622 of 23713 Old 05-27-2020, 03:36 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
I think its great and imho a must have for the C8.

The players tone mapping is a big improvement over the C8 imo, the HDR optimizer setting is the real deal. Motion is improved, I thought I was crazy, but I asked other members if they experienced the same and they confirmed.
Is it recommended to use the TV's Dynamic Tone Mapping as well when HDR Optimizer is enabled or should it be turned off?

That player also does an amazing job converting 1080p blurays to 4K.
Cam1977 likes this.
Zybolt is offline  
post #23623 of 23713 Old 05-27-2020, 03:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,902
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3357 Post(s)
Liked: 4135
^everyone here I believe recommends leaving the C8's DTM off and letting the Panasonic do it, and that is how I set mine.

Agreed on the players upscaling qualities.
mrtickleuk likes this.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #23624 of 23713 Old 05-27-2020, 07:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pwiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,092
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
I think its great and imho a must have for the C8.

The players tone mapping is a big improvement over the C8 imo, the HDR optimizer setting is the real deal. Motion is improved, I thought I was crazy, but I asked other members if they experienced the same and they confirmed.
So true as the HDR Optimizer and C8 tone mapping off is the perfect match. I bought the Panasonic 420 and use it exclusively for all movie discs. I kept my Sony X800 to use for music as it also plays SACD’s and DVD Audio.
Cam1977 likes this.
pwiss is offline  
post #23625 of 23713 Old 05-27-2020, 11:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,418
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 829 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwiss View Post
So true as the HDR Optimizer and C8 tone mapping off is the perfect match. I bought the Panasonic 420 and use it exclusively for all movie discs. I kept my Sony X800 to use for music as it also plays SACD’s and DVD Audio.
Hi, I wonder if you could please tel me what the Panny's video file playing capabilities are ? I use a HTPC and my son has been busy ripping our library to HDD as I we prefer the convenience over disc.
I presently use a Sony x700 which is very good at playing most files but am interested in the HDR Optimizer feature on the Panny.

LG 77C8 (UK) - Arcam AVR 850 - Arcam FMJ P7 - 7.2.4 Atmos setup.
alexbarbel is offline  
post #23626 of 23713 Old 05-28-2020, 08:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pwiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,092
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexbarbel View Post
Hi, I wonder if you could please tel me what the Panny's video file playing capabilities are ? I use a HTPC and my son has been busy ripping our library to HDD as I we prefer the convenience over disc.
I presently use a Sony x700 which is very good at playing most files but am interested in the HDR Optimizer feature on the Panny.
To be clearer I just use the Panny for physical discs. You might want to check the 420/820 threads for the video file capabilities as I am not sure.
alexbarbel likes this.
pwiss is offline  
post #23627 of 23713 Old 05-28-2020, 12:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toddRiffic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zybolt View Post
Is it recommended to use the TV's Dynamic Tone Mapping as well when HDR Optimizer is enabled or should it be turned off?

That player also does an amazing job converting 1080p blurays to 4K.

In Vincent Teoh's review he said to use both, not that I've seen a big difference either way as I don't get around to watching many disk.


Cam1977 likes this.
toddRiffic is offline  
post #23628 of 23713 Old 05-28-2020, 05:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,902
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3357 Post(s)
Liked: 4135
^thanx for posting that, but Im having a hard time finding where he specifically said to leave both on...can you give a time stamp?
Cam1977 is online now  
post #23629 of 23713 Old 05-28-2020, 07:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toddRiffic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
^thanx for posting that, but Im having a hard time finding where he specifically said to leave both on...can you give a time stamp?
If I'm understanding his analogy from about 14:30 to 16:00 or so. He's saying let the panny tone map down to 1000 nits for the OLED and then let the OLED do the tone mapping from a 1000 nits and below. It's not super clear, but that's what I took from it.
Cam1977 likes this.

Last edited by toddRiffic; 05-28-2020 at 07:21 PM.
toddRiffic is offline  
post #23630 of 23713 Old 05-28-2020, 07:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,902
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3357 Post(s)
Liked: 4135
^I think I see where you get that, I believe he says Panasonic doesnt override the tvs own tone mapping, but didn't specifically say to either leave it on or off on the C8. I think if it were a problem he would have addressed it.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #23631 of 23713 Old 05-28-2020, 07:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toddRiffic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
^I think I see where you get that, I believe he says Panasonic doesnt override the tvs own tone mapping, but didn't specifically say to either leave it on or off on the C8. I think if it were a problem he would have addressed it.
I think he was speaking about all kinds of displays more generally. At 15:20 he said just because it cuts into more digestible chunks doesn't mean you can't add your own seasoning.

I believe he's saying let it do most of the work and then left the TV's tone mapping finish it off if I understand correctly.

Again, it's pretty obscure, but that's what I took from it after watching a couple of times. I played around for a hour or so one day and didn't see a difference, I'm sure it's one of those things with the right disk and the right scene you notice if your looking for it in a comparison. &#x1f642;
Cam1977 likes this.

Last edited by toddRiffic; 05-28-2020 at 08:03 PM.
toddRiffic is offline  
post #23632 of 23713 Old 05-29-2020, 03:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,917
Mentioned: 221 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6202 Post(s)
Liked: 9022
Quote:
Originally Posted by toddRiffic View Post
If I'm understanding his analogy from about 14:30 to 16:00 or so. He's saying let the panny tone map down to 1000 nits for the OLED and then let the OLED do the tone mapping from a 1000 nits and below. It's not super clear, but that's what I took from it.
Ah, in that case you have misunderstood. I'll go into some detail if you don't mind because it's a very easy trap that you fell into.

That's the TV's normal tone-mapping he's talking about, which you can't control and it always has to do, because it's not a 10,000 nit panel with a full rec.2020 gamut. Every HDR TV on the planet does tone-mapping, and always will (at least for the next 10-20 years).

Vincent is not talking about DYNAMIC tone-mapping, which is the one that has the user menu option to turn it on or off.

"Let the TV do the rest of the tone-mapping", with the player having done the "heavy lifting". Yes. This is good! Allow the TV to do what it would have done anyway. In this context, normally the TV would have done its normal tone-mapping within, say, a 4,000 nit container. The HDR10 Optimiser in the player does a nicer job of tone-mapping, preserving colour saturation etc, than TV's chipset (which is why we like this player), and presents the TV with a resulting image in a 1,000 nit container - which is then easier for the TV to do a nice job with and present the final image. Again, the TV is doing the normal, standard, tone-mapping based on the static HDR10 metadata, but the player has switched the values and tells the TV that it's a 1,000 nit container (because it is at that point!). This tone-mapping is undefeatable and has no user control.

But! DYNAMIC tone-mapping is something completely and totally different, which he never mentioned. That's LG's "look at the signal, and guess what the frame-by-frame metadata might have been, if it were there". That's a radical and wacky processing option which can (and does) lift the brightness of darker scenes too much. You can be sure that if Vincent had meant for people to turn on DYNAMIC tone-mapping he would have been crystal clear. Also, some TVs might not even have such an option. You could be using the player with any TV. LG's DYNAMIC tone mapping, is nothing at all to do with normal tone-mapping.

This confusion unfortunately happens a lot because of LG's name of that option, combined with the term "dynamic metadata" being part of Dolby Vision and HDR10+, and widely seen as a "good thing". It's correct, "dynamic metadata" is a good thing because it describes the video data much better, and gives the TV a much better chance to try to tone-map it well. Dynamic metadata changes constantly, but is still fed into the TV's normal, standard, tone-mapping engine to produce the exact tone-mapping which was intended (if Dolby Vision) / whatever the manufacturer thinks is good (if HDR10+). So on our C8s it is one reason that the "dynamic tonemapping" menu is greyed for Dolby Vision. There's no need for the TV to "guess what the frame-by-frame metadata might have been, if it were there", because it's actually been supplied and is correct!

Most of the time, the word "dynamic" in a menu option means something nasty which the manufacturer has invented, which will be artificial processing, which like Vivid mode, you should turn off - like "Dynamic Contrast" for example. But in the term "dynamic metadata", that's the only time it's a good thing that we want (but there's no menu option for Dolby Vision Dynamic metadata).

If LG had called their option "Tone Mapper Pro" or something more radical, instead of "Dynamic Tonemapping", then I don't think this confusion would happen as often. I completely blame the word "Dynamic".

Quote:
Originally Posted by toddRiffic View Post
I believe he's saying let it do most of the work and then left the TV's tone mapping finish it off if I understand correctly.
You were correct at the start, but then unfortunately leapt from the correct "let the TV's tone mapping finish it off"...
...to the incorrect "I must now turn on that DYNAMIC tone mapping menu item I saw, otherwise the TV won't do any tone mapping!"

HTH
pwiss, Glenee, toddRiffic and 3 others like this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs

Last edited by mrtickleuk; 05-29-2020 at 03:38 AM.
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #23633 of 23713 Old 05-29-2020, 05:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toddRiffic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Ah, in that case you have misunderstood. I'll go into some detail if you don't mind because it's a very easy trap that you fell into.

If LG had called their option "Tone Mapper Pro" or something more radical, instead of "Dynamic Tonemapping", then I don't think this confusion would happen as often. I completely blame the word "Dynamic".

You were correct at the start, but then unfortunately leapt from the correct "let the TV's tone mapping finish it off"...
...to the incorrect "I must now turn on that DYNAMIC tone mapping menu item I saw, otherwise the TV won't do any tone mapping!"

HTH

Thank you for the through explanation!


I think I got hung up on his choice of words. When he said "Ad your own seasoning" in his analogy, I equated that to turning on the TV's tone mapping function rather than turning it off and relying on the TV's other processing to then do the rest of the job.
Cam1977 and mrtickleuk like this.
toddRiffic is offline  
post #23634 of 23713 Old 05-29-2020, 05:48 AM
Newbie
 
crb595's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
LG Premium Care - Anyone Ever Use It?

I just received an email stating my C8 warranty will expire in a couple of weeks. My gut feeling is that the extended warranty with this third party (Service Net Warranty) is not worth it, but just wondered if anyone has ever had any experience using LG Premium Care? Maybe I am getting paranoid after reading the above post regarding someone else's C8 suddenly having major issues.
crb595 is offline  
post #23635 of 23713 Old 05-29-2020, 07:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toddRiffic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Also, we have it straight from the horses mouth.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	12CCC90E-9CD7-4410-B756-1FFB33433C98_1590763357687.png
Views:	227
Size:	398.1 KB
ID:	2734096  
Glenee, alexbarbel and Zybolt like this.
toddRiffic is offline  
post #23636 of 23713 Old 05-30-2020, 07:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I am still on fw .20 but I cannot use Disney+ without updating the app but if I will update the app it won't update unless I will update the fw to .45
boldventure is offline  
post #23637 of 23713 Old 05-30-2020, 09:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,917
Mentioned: 221 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6202 Post(s)
Liked: 9022
Quote:
Originally Posted by boldventure View Post
I am still on fw .20 but I cannot use Disney+ without updating the app but if I will update the app it won't update unless I will update the fw to .45
Correct. You have to update your firmware to get all the latest bug fixes and features. Some of these are critical system updates required for Disney+. So, you need to update your firmware.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #23638 of 23713 Old 06-01-2020, 05:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 11
C8 Picture Mode, UB9000, DV weirdness

I just installed a UB9000. I've been using a Sony X1000ES with the C8 set to Cinema Mode. I played a DV disk and got no picture, i.e., black screen with sound, until I switched the Picture Mode to Cinema Home. I don't understand why this might be.

The system config is pretty simple: Player and ATV4K connected via HDMI to Denon X4500H, X4500H connected via HDMI to C8. Does anyone have any thoughts on what's happening here?? Thanks in advance.

Ed... I so value the resources and knowledge of AVSForum! My system: LG C8, Denon AVR-X4500H, Apple 4K TV, Sony X1000ES, Panasonic UB9000, 7.1.2 audio, a hodge-podge, mostly M&K

Last edited by erudolph; 06-01-2020 at 05:24 PM.
erudolph is offline  
post #23639 of 23713 Old 06-02-2020, 03:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Hi guys,

I successfully challenged LG on their warranty and finally got the board replaced for free! I was even able to downgrade back to firmware 4.10.05 as the replacement board was equipped with firmware 4.10.15 by default which was a pleasant surprise . Coming from my old 5.10.45 board to my new 4.10.05 replacement board, I immediately noticed the firmware related "HDR luminance curve" change which resulted in a 20 percent more brighter, punchier HDR picture on my replacement board. SDR remained generally unchanged but is a bit brighter now due to the old pre 4.10.30 gamma curve. I also haven't noticed any ASBL dimming from cartoons or video games which used to be super aggressive on my TV when it was on firmware 5.10.45. Really happy this all worked out in the end. (both pictures were taken on 4.10.05)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2020-06-02.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	1.09 MB
ID:	2735994   Click image for larger version

Name:	2020-06-02 (1).jpg
Views:	121
Size:	1.41 MB
ID:	2735996  

Last edited by Leo768; 06-02-2020 at 05:50 AM.
Leo768 is offline  
post #23640 of 23713 Old 06-02-2020, 05:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 4,777
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2400 Post(s)
Liked: 3332
So which one is brighter? The firmware is a myth, debated to no end on this thread. However, glad it worked out for you, your happiness is all that matters (seriously).
Glenee, chunon, mrtickleuk and 1 others like this.

There is no perfect display, quit looking for faults and enjoy

LG OLED 77" C9, 65” B7a (SOLD) and 55” C8
Ascend's with RAAL, Outlaw monoblocks, PSA v1800 and a 7.2.4 speaker config, Oppo 203 and other stuff
smurraybhm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
24p , black deformity , blu-ray , brighter corner , denon x3500 , eye strain , firmware update , hdmi , hdmi audio missing , lg b8 , lg c8 , lg c8 oled , lg oled , lg oled c8 aspect , lg soundbar , light bleed , oled , soap opera effect , soe , sound bar

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off