2018 Sony A8F Owners Only Thread - Page 71 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1596Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2101 of 2323 Old 05-27-2019, 05:07 PM
Newbie
 
iambenk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
My A1E and A8F screen speaker sounds good IMO. In my move, I am going to mount the A8F over the fireplace in our living room, and prob won't even use a soundbar. I've ordered an A9G for the HT room to go with my speaker setup.


Thanks. Great to know.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
iambenk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2102 of 2323 Old 05-28-2019, 08:12 PM
Senior Member
 
whmacs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chisholm, Australia
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by tzh21y View Post
my tvs picture settings keep on resetting to the factory default every time I shut the set off. very aggravating. I think my set is defective. getting a tv exchange this week.
Hi Tzh21y,

In the setting section, check that it is set for HOME use, not SHOP use. I believe for SHOP use the TV will reset back to defaults after a period of time.


Regards,
Stephen
whmacs is offline  
post #2103 of 2323 Old 05-29-2019, 03:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by whmacs View Post
Hi Tzh21y,

In the setting section, check that it is set for HOME use, not SHOP use. I believe for SHOP use the TV will reset back to defaults after a period of time.


Regards,
Stephen
@tzh21y - No wonder that you think your plasma is better, when your A8F is in shop mode. This mode gives you a crappy picture only good for shop/show rooms lightning environment, every time you turn it on. I come from plasma too, and the A8F IS light years better than any plasma ever made. Both KURO and the latest and greatest plasma from Panasonic and Samsung don't even come close! Simply can't be compared.

SONY KD55AF8 OLED TV
i1 Display Pro + CalMAN
YAMAHA RX-A2050 9.2 DOLBY ATMOS/DTS:X
DALI MENTOR
NVIDIA Shield Pro
Evanesco is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2104 of 2323 Old 05-29-2019, 08:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Af8

Received a new Af8 today. The other was defective. It had yellow tint in top left corner on screen. They thought it was a circuit problem. This one is definitely better. Not sure I have to make any calibration it looks pretty good out of box. Sometimes I have an issue with motion. I am not sure if its an issue with streaming as when I have HBO Now on its excellent.
tzh21y is offline  
post #2105 of 2323 Old 05-29-2019, 09:39 AM
Member
 
dave4192000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: MA
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by tzh21y View Post
Ok, I got my TV today. I am scratching my head a little. I am trying to figure out how this TV is better than my plasmas. Maybe its just running in. so far I am not very impressed at all. I hope that changes.
I thought that at first. Watch it for a couple of weeks and then watch your old plasma. You will notice how much cleaner, brighter and crisper the image is.
dave4192000 is offline  
post #2106 of 2323 Old 05-29-2019, 11:03 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by tzh21y View Post
Received a new Af8 today. The other was defective. It had yellow tint in top left corner on screen. They thought it was a circuit problem. This one is definitely better. Not sure I have to make any calibration it looks pretty good out of box. Sometimes I have an issue with motion. I am not sure if its an issue with streaming as when I have HBO Now on its excellent.
I actually just noticed the other day that my a8f has a light yellow tint "bar" running from top to bottom on the left side of the display. It only is noticeable on scenes that are white (or near white), but it is distracting to be certain (I wasn't looking for it and noticed it anyway). How common is the defect, by everyone's account? Do I have good chances of getting a unit without said tint via exchange, or am I more likely going to be spending weeks shipping TVs back and forth for similar results?
brye is offline  
post #2107 of 2323 Old 05-29-2019, 04:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
locomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Saw the 65A8F at Costco. First time I’ve seen a non-LG OLED there.
Competition is good.
locomo is offline  
post #2108 of 2323 Old 05-29-2019, 05:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 5
af8

I can tell you that this one does not have the yellow tint.
tzh21y is offline  
post #2109 of 2323 Old 05-29-2019, 06:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 2,358
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by locomo View Post
Saw the 65A8F at Costco. First time I’ve seen a non-LG OLED there.
Competition is good.
Me, too. I was annoyed because I would have rather bought from Costco. Then again, I got a good deal on mine.
artur9 is offline  
post #2110 of 2323 Old 05-30-2019, 02:10 AM
Senior Member
 
wesslan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 42
AF8 was €2000 just now and AF9 was €2600 so they are discounted heavy before rest is gone here in europe.
wesslan1 is offline  
post #2111 of 2323 Old 05-30-2019, 04:36 PM
Member
 
grx8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chile
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I´m on firmware 58.30 and still get the DV problems with the Netflix app.
I still love the TV and still can´t believe how good such a flat TV can sound.
grx8 is offline  
post #2112 of 2323 Old 05-31-2019, 09:22 AM
Senior Member
 
BreakPoint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: South Florida
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Any A8F owners upgrade the firmware to the new 6.6510? The change log describes a problem that I have never seen anyone post about on any forum, at least for the OLED models. However the one and only problem fixed with this firmware, tv frozen at startup, sounds serious. A frozen tv at power up startup sounds like your tv is bricked. I wish Sony would give a better problem description.

Sony XBR-65A8F
Denon X1400, ATV 4K, HTPC
Roku Premiere+, Panasonic UB820, Sony x700
BreakPoint is offline  
post #2113 of 2323 Old 05-31-2019, 10:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jkozlow3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by BreakPoint View Post
Any A8F owners upgrade the firmware to the new 6.6510? The change log describes a problem that I have never seen anyone post about on any forum, at least for the OLED models. However the one and only problem fixed with this firmware, tv frozen at startup, sounds serious. A frozen tv at power up startup sounds like your tv is bricked. I wish Sony would give a better problem description.
Yes, just installed it via USB - no issues. Thanks for the heads-up that a new firmware update was just published!
jkozlow3 is offline  
post #2114 of 2323 Old 06-01-2019, 07:18 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,589
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6689 Post(s)
Liked: 6685
Quote:
Originally Posted by locomo View Post
Saw the 65A8F at Costco. First time I’ve seen a non-LG OLED there.
Competition is good.
That is interesting I wonder if it was a special buy in.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #2115 of 2323 Old 06-01-2019, 11:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr. Wonderful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Anyone hear anything recently about our sets getting HomeKit support or the next version of Android?

Want to keep the former at least on Sony's radar since our premium sets are still relatively new and that feature's a pretty big deal.

Sony XBR-65A8F
Denon X3300W
Mr. Wonderful is offline  
post #2116 of 2323 Old 06-02-2019, 02:59 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Did someone added a subwoofer to the TV? I didn't heard anyone to actually use one.

So please if is someone here that can share the experience.
Cristian Pavel is offline  
post #2117 of 2323 Old 06-02-2019, 09:14 PM
Senior Member
 
TheSonyExperience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by BreakPoint View Post
Any A8F owners upgrade the firmware to the new 6.6510? The change log describes a problem that I have never seen anyone post about on any forum, at least for the OLED models. However the one and only problem fixed with this firmware, tv frozen at startup, sounds serious. A frozen tv at power up startup sounds like your tv is bricked. I wish Sony would give a better problem description.
A8F sets were reported not powering on from standby mode with the remote and/or the on board power button. In which case, the owner would have had to unplug the TV and replug it in in order for the remotes power button to be responsive once again. A8F sets were never "bricked." The newest system software addresses the issues. Even if you didn't experience these issues, please take the time to download and install it and your earliest convenience. Thank you.

Spoiler!
TheSonyExperience is offline  
post #2118 of 2323 Old 06-03-2019, 05:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Holland
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Update is still not being pushed in the EU

Sony 65AF8
Sony UBP-X800
Marantz SR7005, Tannoy Revolution speakers (RC,R2,R3)
Marantz UD5005
HX900 is offline  
post #2119 of 2323 Old 06-03-2019, 03:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
mc_avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheSonyExperience View Post
A8F sets were reported not powering on from standby mode with the remote and/or the on board power button. In which case, the owner would have had to unplug the TV and replug it in in order for the remotes power button to be responsive once again. A8F sets were never "bricked." The newest system software addresses the issues. Even if you didn't experience these issues, please take the time to download and install it and your earliest convenience. Thank you.
Hopefully this doesn't happen to Australian sets.................we haven't had an update since September 2018!

Lounge - Sony 65" A8F OLED, Pioneer SC-LX59 9.2 Receiver, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-Ray Player, JBL Studio 180 Speaker Series, ELAC Debut A4 Atmos Modules setup as 5.1.4, Sony PS4 Pro, Logitech Harmony Elite. Bedroom - Samsung UA55C8000 3D LED, Sony PS3.
mc_avs is online now  
post #2120 of 2323 Old 06-04-2019, 12:27 AM
Member
 
degrize's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Europe
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Tired of waiting for the OTA update so I did the USB update last night, instead. EU - eastern part. The update file downloaded form sony.co.uk site.
At the first glance, new menus design and better personalization options. PQ has slightly improved IMHO, watched TV digital HD chanels and HBO GO. On the minus side, the lag time that pass from pressing the menu button till it appears on screen has increase by a third of a second (or it is just me). Also, when the menu pops up it triggers a sudden increase in volume before it fades to mute. This lasts for 1-1,5 seconds. Before, when the menu did pop up the sound goes to mute instantly. When I power off the set, and the screen goes black, my AVR firstly goes to mute and then after 3 seconds turns off. Before the update, this took only one second without passing through mute.





degrize is offline  
post #2121 of 2323 Old 06-04-2019, 08:39 AM
Member
 
technoarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cristian Pavel View Post
Did someone added a subwoofer to the TV? I didn't heard anyone to actually use one.

So please if is someone here that can share the experience.
Subwoofer works great in conjunction with this set. However I did not set it to "subwoofer" mode. I'm dumping full audio on the 3.5mm jack and letting my Energy sub handle all of the crossover.

We are using this A8F config in a bedroom condition and couldn't be more pleased.

Sony XBR-55A8F
technoarch is offline  
post #2122 of 2323 Old 06-04-2019, 01:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
What kind of cable do you use for subwoofer? I only have one low level input at my subwoofer. All cables i find, is stereo 3.5mm output from the tv to two rca
Andreas Wikander is offline  
post #2123 of 2323 Old 06-05-2019, 07:59 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cristian Pavel View Post
Did someone added a subwoofer to the TV? I didn't heard anyone to actually use one.

So please if is someone here that can share the experience.
Yes, I have an audioengine S8 sub connected and it sounds fantastic with the "acoustic surface" audio. If all you want is a 2.1 setup, it's a really fantastic option as it simplifies the cabling considerably, sounds great, and looks great.

I do find that the crossover in subwoofer mode is a bit high (around 80Hz). I used the crossover on my sub to drop this down to 60Hz and it's much more balanced to my tastes. The TV speakers seem to reproduce audio quite well to 60Hz on their own anyway.

This works very well in a small/medium sized room. If you have a larger room (or say, you view the TV from an open-design kitchen sitting behind said room), it may not get loud enough for you..but I've had zero issues in a 13'x20' and have no desires for it to be any louder (highest we've ever set it was about 50% during movie night and it was loud enough to bother the neighbors).

By far the best in-built speakers I've heard on a TV (granted, I have not heard them all, or even most of them..so..).
brye is offline  
post #2124 of 2323 Old 06-05-2019, 08:01 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andreas Wikander View Post
What kind of cable do you use for subwoofer? I only have one low level input at my subwoofer. All cables i find, is stereo 3.5mm output from the tv to two rca
I'm using a standard stereo 3.5mm to RCA adapter cable. Don't get the hard plastic adapter, make sure it's the cable type as the rear cover won't fit over the hard adapters. Works great for me.

Edit: Just realized you said you only have one low level input. I'm not certain, but traditionally the left channel is used for sub out. You could try that. Any mono 3.5mm cable will effectively do the same thing, it just won't give you the option.

Last edited by brye; 06-05-2019 at 08:32 AM. Reason: reading comprehension...
brye is offline  
post #2125 of 2323 Old 06-08-2019, 06:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Af8

I agree about the sound. No need for a subwoofer here. I am still having issues with motion. I am finding I am switching a lot depending on what programming or movie I am watching.
tzh21y is offline  
post #2126 of 2323 Old 06-08-2019, 02:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 2,358
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by tzh21y View Post
I am still having issues with motion.
With discs or streaming or cable?

I was watching Colbert on cable last night and when he waved his hands things looked terrible, like he had 20 fingers.

I haven't noticed anything as bad from discs. I don't personally watch too much streaming but I plan to binge-watch Supernatural over the next few weeks.
artur9 is offline  
post #2127 of 2323 Old 06-08-2019, 07:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jkozlow3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by tzh21y View Post
I agree about the sound. No need for a subwoofer here. I am still having issues with motion. I am finding I am switching a lot depending on what programming or movie I am watching.
Do you see issues when using the following? If so, what types of issues?

Motionflow: Custom
Smoothness: 1
Clearness: Low
CineMotion: Low
jkozlow3 is offline  
post #2128 of 2323 Old 06-10-2019, 07:36 AM
Newbie
 
rewrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi to all,



Sorry to bother you, but I did not find this answers in the whole internet! Hope that you could help me.


I have an AF8 (Spanish A8F) and I am really worried about the last update to Oreo (I am still in the factory version). I think that i could install it by OTA, but first I have some concerns:
- What will happen if the power goes off during the update? It does not happen a lot, but Murphy is always present. Does it have some kind of recovery as the phones that would take me back to the previous version in case the update does not complete?
- Is the update worth the risk? I mean, does it speed up the TV or improve in any way the picture quality?


Thanks for your help,



Best regards.
rewrew is offline  
post #2129 of 2323 Old 06-10-2019, 08:42 AM
Member
 
vabluefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Just did the v6.6510 software update via USB. So far, so good. Will report any issues going forward.
vabluefish is offline  
post #2130 of 2323 Old 06-10-2019, 08:48 AM
Member
 
vabluefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by rewrew View Post
Hi to all,



Sorry to bother you, but I did not find this answers in the whole internet! Hope that you could help me.


I have an AF8 (Spanish A8F) and I am really worried about the last update to Oreo (I am still in the factory version). I think that i could install it by OTA, but first I have some concerns:
- What will happen if the power goes off during the update? It does not happen a lot, but Murphy is always present. Does it have some kind of recovery as the phones that would take me back to the previous version in case the update does not complete?
- Is the update worth the risk? I mean, does it speed up the TV or improve in any way the picture quality?


Thanks for your help,



Best regards.
Double check the list of improvements to see if it's worth it to you: https://www.sony.com/electronics/sup...loads/00016127
It all sounds good, but my TV wasn't having any issues, so it was a gamble.
The update off of USB was less then five minutes, so the risk of losing power in that period wasn't too bad, for my nerves anyway.
Not sure about recovery options. On an older Sony TV, there was a sequence their customer service walked me through when I bricked the TV during update.
vabluefish is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off