2018 Sony A8F Owners Only Thread - Page 72 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1595Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2131 of 2306 Old 06-10-2019, 08:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 2,349
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1002 Post(s)
Liked: 390
Googled around and found no solution. Maybe one of you know what to do?

Watching Killing Eve via Roku Ultra Hulu Beta into HDMI port #3 . It was zoomed in so that only the top left quadrant was visible. It was a 4K image and nothing fixed it. Tried forcing the Roku to 4K HDR 60Hz, using Hulu non-beta, unplugged the A8F, the wide button on the remote said "Function not available."

It basically looked like the TV was in HD mode when it needed to switch to UltraHD.

How does one fix this? There doesn't seem to be a way to change the A8F's resolution.


P.S. To actually watch the show I used the built-in Hulu app but I don't know what resolution that was since the display button doesn't do anything in that mode.
artur9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2132 of 2306 Old 06-10-2019, 07:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jkozlow3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post
Googled around and found no solution. Maybe one of you know what to do?

Watching Killing Eve via Roku Ultra Hulu Beta into HDMI port #3 . It was zoomed in so that only the top left quadrant was visible. It was a 4K image and nothing fixed it. Tried forcing the Roku to 4K HDR 60Hz, using Hulu non-beta, unplugged the A8F, the wide button on the remote said "Function not available."

It basically looked like the TV was in HD mode when it needed to switch to UltraHD.

How does one fix this? There doesn't seem to be a way to change the A8F's resolution.


P.S. To actually watch the show I used the built-in Hulu app but I don't know what resolution that was since the display button doesn't do anything in that mode.
No issues streaming Killing Eve on Hulu via Apple TV. I didn't think Hulu was currently streaming 4k for any content. I thought they dropped 4k support awhile back after a brief trial of 4k IIRC?
jkozlow3 is offline  
post #2133 of 2306 Old 06-10-2019, 11:38 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Belgium
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd13 View Post
I have both c8 and a8f and the dimming is the only thing that keeps the a8f away from near perfection.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I see you own a Sony A9G now, and if I remember correctly you returned the A8F last year due to the aggressive ABL.

How is the ABL on the A9G in comparison to the A8F?

I own a A8F (AF8 in EU) and it's driving me crazy when watching sports/football .
smasante9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2134 of 2306 Old 06-11-2019, 08:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 2,349
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1002 Post(s)
Liked: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkozlow3 View Post
No issues streaming Killing Eve on Hulu via Apple TV.
Not really helpful when I'm asking about Roku and Sony and you say AppleTV. Just saying. Not about to drink anymore Apple media koolaid after the terrible awful no-good way they handled music and podcasts.
artur9 is offline  
post #2135 of 2306 Old 06-11-2019, 08:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jkozlow3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post
Not really helpful when I'm asking about Roku and Sony and you say AppleTV. Just saying. Not about to drink anymore Apple media koolaid after the terrible awful no-good way they handled music and podcasts.
Wow. Sorry for trying to provide you with any data points that may assist with troubleshooting your issue. My bad. Don't worry, I won't ever try to assist you again!
artur9 likes this.
jkozlow3 is offline  
post #2136 of 2306 Old 06-11-2019, 09:03 AM
Newbie
 
rewrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by vabluefish View Post
Double check the list of improvements to see if it's worth it to you:
It all sounds good, but my TV wasn't having any issues, so it was a gamble.
The update off of USB was less then five minutes, so the risk of losing power in that period wasn't too bad, for my nerves anyway.
Not sure about recovery options. On an older Sony TV, there was a sequence their customer service walked me through when I bricked the TV during update.

Hi, thanks for your comment.



It is the same for me. I do not have any issues, so I am not sure if it is worth the risk.


Have you seen any improvement in the performance of the TV or the image? Something to highlight?
Apart from the new layout of the interface, have something changed for you?
And finally, do you reccommend the update?


Regarding the recovery, maybe @TheSonyExperience can give us some light.
I saw that there is a combination of buttons that can be pressed to factory reset the TV. I would like to read that in case of an incomplete update, as a last resort you can do this and recover the TV back to its original state. Is this correct?


Thanks to all!
rewrew is offline  
post #2137 of 2306 Old 06-11-2019, 11:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jkozlow3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by rewrew View Post
Hi, thanks for your comment.


It is the same for me. I do not have any issues, so I am not sure if it is worth the risk.


Have you seen any improvement in the performance of the TV or the image? Something to highlight?
Apart from the new layout of the interface, have something changed for you?
And finally, do you reccommend the update?


Regarding the recovery, maybe @TheSonyExperience can give us some light.
I saw that there is a combination of buttons that can be pressed to factory reset the TV. I would like to read that in case of an incomplete update, as a last resort you can do this and recover the TV back to its original state. Is this correct?


Thanks to all!
I wouldn't stress about updating the TV. Several issues have been fixed with the last few updates - not just the Oreo UI improvements. Do you live in an area where the power goes out at random frequently? If not, I wouldn't worry about it. Just apply the update. Worst case, your TV is probably still under warranty if something should happen. But I don't think there are any reports of updates 'bricking' people's TVs on this thread.
jkozlow3 is offline  
post #2138 of 2306 Old 06-11-2019, 06:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sd13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,756
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1126 Post(s)
Liked: 1074
Quote:
Originally Posted by smasante9 View Post
I see you own a Sony A9G now, and if I remember correctly you returned the A8F last year due to the aggressive ABL.



How is the ABL on the A9G in comparison to the A8F?



I own a A8F (AF8 in EU) and it's driving me crazy when watching sports/football .


I can’t really comment cause maybe there have been improvements via firmware updates since I owned it. Also I’m no longer an a8f owner and I will be out of place if I post here.
chunon likes this.
sd13 is offline  
post #2139 of 2306 Old 06-11-2019, 07:21 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,219
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6027
I've got both, the A8F will get duty over the fireplace and the A9G will be the HT display. Just from talking with the calibrator, the big difference is the A9G can hit brighter HDR highlights than the A8F which would lead to some more pop, and less aggressive ABL. That being said, I love my A8F, so if the A9G does any of that better, I'll have no complaints. I can't set up the A9G for another two weeks because we are moving, but I did order one that is calibrated and broken in from VE, so it is ready to go as soon as I am. I'm lucky enough to have two SOny 65" OLEDs in connecting rooms for football parties, so I'll not be complaining.
sd13, mc_avs and Cam1977 like this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
ATV4K (3) / PS Vue
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #2140 of 2306 Old 06-12-2019, 07:11 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,394
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6589 Post(s)
Liked: 6587
Quote:
Originally Posted by vabluefish View Post
On an older Sony TV, there was a sequence their customer service walked me through when I bricked the TV during update.
How did you brick your TV?
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #2141 of 2306 Old 06-12-2019, 01:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,580
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1405 Post(s)
Liked: 805
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andreas Wikander View Post
What kind of cable do you use for subwoofer? I only have one low level input at my subwoofer. All cables i find, is stereo 3.5mm output from the tv to two rca
Pretty sure you can just use one of the connectors on a stereo cable. Using a mono cable means shorting left and right together which is not a nice thing to do to the TV.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #2142 of 2306 Old 06-12-2019, 04:33 PM
Member
 
vabluefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
How did you brick your TV?
Doing an update. I think it was OTA. I might have not been patient enough and hit the power button when I thought it was done.
They walked me through a procedure, but didn't work. Sony ended up swapping it out. (This was about six years ago.)
vabluefish is offline  
post #2143 of 2306 Old 06-12-2019, 09:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I did update to v6.6510 (AF8 - Europe) and it broke my TV. TV became unstable, and freezes few times a day. I have to hold off button for few seconds to reboot TV. Sometimes this doesnt work and TV reboot itself after some time. I did factory reset, but it did not help. Am I just unlucky, or does someone notice similar issue?


EDIT: Maybe I found why. It seems like I downloaded fw for A1 because of: https://www.sony.cz/electronics/supp...icles/00206881 If I click to AF8 fw (https://www.sony.cz/electronics/supp...loads/00016046), I takes me to page with fw for A1. Is it even possible?

Last edited by Oggy CZ; 06-12-2019 at 10:58 PM.
Oggy CZ is offline  
post #2144 of 2306 Old 06-13-2019, 03:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Holland
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oggy CZ View Post
I did update to v6.6510 (AF8 - Europe) and it broke my TV. TV became unstable, and freezes few times a day. I have to hold off button for few seconds to reboot TV. Sometimes this doesnt work and TV reboot itself after some time. I did factory reset, but it did not help. Am I just unlucky, or does someone notice similar issue?


EDIT: Maybe I found why. It seems like I downloaded fw for A1 because of: https://www.sony.cz/electronics/supp...icles/00206881 If I click to AF8 fw (https://www.sony.cz/electronics/supp...loads/00016046), I takes me to page with fw for A1. Is it even possible?
....This could be possible yes!

https://www.sony.cz/electronics/supp...loads/00016047

I come to this link, it is a different one!

Sony 65AF8
Sony UBP-X800
Marantz SR7005, Tannoy Revolution speakers (RC,R2,R3)
Marantz UD5005
HX900 is offline  
post #2145 of 2306 Old 06-13-2019, 03:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by HX900 View Post
....This could be possible yes!

https://www.sony.cz/electronics/supp...loads/00016047

I come to this link, it is a different one!

Yep, I found correct link. I will try reinstall fw. I will try this:


To resolve the issue, follow the steps below to reinstall the software update using a USB flash drive:
  1. On your computer, download the latest software update for your TV. Downloads are posted on your model support page.
  2. Transfer the update file to a USB storage device.
    • You may need to format the USB storage device to FAT32 file system.
  3. Unplug the TV from the wall outlet.
  4. Insert the USB storage device to the USB port of the TV.
  5. Plug the TV back in to the wall outlet.
  6. Turn on the TV to start downloading the update from the USB storage device.
It is from Sony pages. So hope it will work.
Oggy CZ is offline  
post #2146 of 2306 Old 06-13-2019, 01:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,580
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1405 Post(s)
Liked: 805
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oggy CZ View Post
I did update to v6.6510 (AF8 - Europe) and it broke my TV. TV became unstable, and freezes few times a day. I have to hold off button for few seconds to reboot TV. Sometimes this doesnt work and TV reboot itself after some time. I did factory reset, but it did not help. Am I just unlucky, or does someone notice similar issue?


EDIT: Maybe I found why. It seems like I downloaded fw for A1 because of: https://www.sony.cz/electronics/supp...icles/00206881 If I click to AF8 fw (https://www.sony.cz/electronics/supp...loads/00016046), I takes me to page with fw for A1. Is it even possible?
Yes that is likely because the A1E and A8F (as well as most (if not all) other X1 Extreme based models) all run the exact same firmware.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #2147 of 2306 Old 06-13-2019, 10:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsorensen View Post
Yes that is likely because the A1E and A8F (as well as most (if not all) other X1 Extreme based models) all run the exact same firmware.

It looks like not exactly the same. Sony.co.uk pages are correct and same procedure takes me to fw for AF8 instead of sony.cz pages
Oggy CZ is offline  
post #2148 of 2306 Old 06-14-2019, 04:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Holland
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsorensen View Post
Yes that is likely because the A1E and A8F (as well as most (if not all) other X1 Extreme based models) all run the exact same firmware.
As you can read above the specific links to A1 and A8F software updates are not identical, at least not for UK not for NL and also not for CZ.
Since the sets are not identical, maybe 99% identical but that is still not 100%, there could be slight differences in the firmware for each model. Maybe something related to memory adresses, that alone could be enough to get into issues when the wrong version is installed.

Did you get it fixed Oggy?

Sony 65AF8
Sony UBP-X800
Marantz SR7005, Tannoy Revolution speakers (RC,R2,R3)
Marantz UD5005
HX900 is offline  
post #2149 of 2306 Old 06-14-2019, 04:42 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by HX900 View Post
As you can read above the specific links to A1 and A8F software updates are not identical, at least not for UK not for NL and also not for CZ.
Since the sets are not identical, maybe 99% identical but that is still not 100%, there could be slight differences in the firmware for each model. Maybe something related to memory adresses, that alone could be enough to get into issues when the wrong version is installed.

Did you get it fixed Oggy?

Nope. I was told by authorized service centre, that they do not have simple option to reflash firmware. WTF? So maybe I can wait till new fw.

Last edited by Oggy CZ; 06-14-2019 at 05:03 AM.
Oggy CZ is offline  
post #2150 of 2306 Old 06-14-2019, 07:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,580
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1405 Post(s)
Liked: 805
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oggy CZ View Post
It looks like not exactly the same. Sony.co.uk pages are correct and same procedure takes me to fw for AF8 instead of sony.cz pages
Oh for the european models they could be different. I never have a reason to check for firmware updates for those. For north america they are the same download file.

Actually checking the UK support site, KD-55A1 and KD-55AF8 also download identical firmware files for 6510, so at least the UK thinks they are identical firmware too.

Now the models listed in each case as support are in fact different. Why they do that I don't know. Perhaps in case in the future there does become a reason to make them different?

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200

Last edited by lsorensen; 06-14-2019 at 07:15 AM.
lsorensen is offline  
post #2151 of 2306 Old 06-19-2019, 06:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Proud new owner of A8F, and coming from mistakenly purchased X85G it's literally night and day difference that even my wife noticed



Bit disappointing that Oreo update is still lagging in Australia as I've experienced the new software on X85G and it is really fast.



Watching Netflix and DV blu ray stuff from X700 player...just can't believe the blacks and the contrast, going through Matrix and Alien collection.
mc_avs and Peter_P like this.
Nebulozny is offline  
post #2152 of 2306 Old 06-20-2019, 02:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Holland
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nebulozny View Post
Proud new owner of A8F, and coming from mistakenly purchased X85G it's literally night and day difference that even my wife noticed



Bit disappointing that Oreo update is still lagging in Australia as I've experienced the new software on X85G and it is really fast.



Watching Netflix and DV blu ray stuff from X700 player...just can't believe the blacks and the contrast, going through Matrix and Alien collection.
I have my set almost 9 months and STILL everytime I use it I love it, good to have another happy camper in this camp!

I'm starting to consider to do a manual update to the latest firmware since I also want to trade my X800 for an X800M2 so I can watch DV 4K discs

Sony 65AF8
Sony UBP-X800
Marantz SR7005, Tannoy Revolution speakers (RC,R2,R3)
Marantz UD5005
HX900 is offline  
post #2153 of 2306 Old 06-20-2019, 06:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Dimon.Zorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Guys what brightness settings for sdr do you use? I see in reviews that brigjtness is cranked up to max and it worries me. I'm stuck between lg c8 and sony af8 and tales about low brightness frighten me.
Dimon.Zorg is offline  
post #2154 of 2306 Old 06-20-2019, 06:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,393
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3824 Post(s)
Liked: 3747
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimon.Zorg View Post
Guys what brightness settings for sdr do you use? I see in reviews that brigjtness is cranked up to max and it worries me. I'm stuck between lg c8 and sony af8 and tales about low brightness frighten me.


I own the C8 owned the a8F previously , the C8 is definitely brighter with less aggressive abl . If you buy the A8F and put it in a super bright room it will struggle during the daytime . It’s not horrible but something to consider . Outside of motion they are basically equal.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is online now  
post #2155 of 2306 Old 06-20-2019, 06:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Dimon.Zorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Thanks man! Lg is cheaper for 100 bucks. I love sony (motion handling, accoustic surface) but brightness/abl issuies is no good at all.
Dimon.Zorg is offline  
post #2156 of 2306 Old 06-20-2019, 03:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
mc_avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 302 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nebulozny View Post
Proud new owner of A8F, and coming from mistakenly purchased X85G it's literally night and day difference that even my wife noticed



Bit disappointing that Oreo update is still lagging in Australia as I've experienced the new software on X85G and it is really fast.



Watching Netflix and DV blu ray stuff from X700 player...just can't believe the blacks and the contrast, going through Matrix and Alien collection.
It's a fantastic TV & you won't be disappointed but don't get me started on the OREO update. I've contacted Sony several times & constantly told it's coming but Engineers have found issues & they are trying to sort it out blah blah blah, Sony even gave me a voucher for the trouble...................
Peter_P likes this.

Lounge - Sony 65" A8F OLED, Pioneer SC-LX59 9.2 Receiver, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-Ray Player, JBL Studio 180 Speaker Series, ELAC Debut A4 Atmos Modules setup as 5.1.4, Sony PS4 Pro, Logitech Harmony Elite. Bedroom - Samsung UA55C8000 3D LED, Sony PS3.
mc_avs is offline  
post #2157 of 2306 Old 06-20-2019, 04:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc_avs View Post
It's a fantastic TV & you won't be disappointed but don't get me started on the OREO update. I've contacted Sony several times & constantly told it's coming but Engineers have found issues & they are trying to sort it out blah blah blah, Sony even gave me a voucher for the trouble...................

Yes, it's pretty sad how they can't handle this update properly. I had the X85G for 2 weeks and the menus and apps were super fast, instant response to remote, move to A8 is like coming back to Pentium II computer today. The response lag is ridiculous but I'll get use to it, nothing can bring me back to LED panels once I've seen these blacks.



But that said, it's only annoying me on Netflix as it's super slow compared to X85G, I don't watch YouTube or any other apps...mostly Blu-Ray movies.
mc_avs likes this.
Nebulozny is offline  
post #2158 of 2306 Old 06-20-2019, 04:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by HX900 View Post
I have my set almost 9 months and STILL everytime I use it I love it, good to have another happy camper in this camp!

I'm starting to consider to do a manual update to the latest firmware since I also want to trade my X800 for an X800M2 so I can watch DV 4K discs

I bought X700 as X800M2 wasn't available in Australia, this one does the job as well. DV looks stunning, but to be fair...it all looks stunning to me now with OLED and UHD.
HX900 and Peter_P like this.
Nebulozny is offline  
post #2159 of 2306 Old 06-21-2019, 01:27 AM
Senior Member
 
wesslan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Have had mine many months also now. Never seen any abl or thought the picture was dim. And I'm running SDR on low after d-nice settings. Although I watch everything in a dim lit room and for that sonys oleds are perfect to me. Also using Oreo update with usb when it arrived here in my country and never had any problem with that either. In hdr the tv is very very bright, enough for me on all content. And the motion and upscaling is great. A little interested in AG9 but might wait to upgrade for the 2020 version instead and hopefully get VRR/ALLM and hdmi 2.1 just to futureproof it a little when PS5 arrives.
wesslan1 is offline  
post #2160 of 2306 Old 06-21-2019, 12:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimon.Zorg View Post
Guys what brightness settings for sdr do you use? I see in reviews that brigjtness is cranked up to max and it worries me. I'm stuck between lg c8 and sony af8 and tales about low brightness frighten me.
I have my A8F in a room that can receive about as much natural light possible. With peak luminance on high and brightness at 100%, it definitely struggles during the brightest times of the day, but certainly an improvement from my old plasma.

For me, the (far FAR) superior motion handling of the AF8 was much more important than a slightly brighter set in the C8/E8. I realize I am probably more sensitive to this than others, though, so it really is going to come down to how much you notice LG's (subjectively) horrific motion handling vs the darker display on the Sony.

I'm thrilled with my choice, but I will admit, it may not be for everyone (it likely helps that I am a majority night time viewer anyway). Seeing them in person is a must, I think, to making your decision without regrets.
brye is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off