2018 Sony A9F Master Series OLED Owner's Thread - Page 78 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2355Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2311 of 2924 Old 02-09-2019, 03:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,236
Mentioned: 181 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4279 Post(s)
Liked: 5233
Quote:
Originally Posted by veger69 View Post
I had my tv calibrated before delivery and he entered His Google account info on my tv. I found two places in the settings to change it to my account and did, but when I try and rent a movie in the “Google Play Movies and TV” app it defaults to his account and requires his credit card and password.
Any help on resetting to my account would be appreciated.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I sent you a PM on how to fix this.
John
shoman94 and OGauge4Me like this.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2312 of 2924 Old 02-09-2019, 06:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jkozlow3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
If you raise the gamma in DV PM to +2 it will look identical to the LG DV.
Netflix content looks great
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
I came about these DV settings by comparing my A9F to my C8, which is displaying DV "properly", side by side with the exact same content playing. Almost a perfect match.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkozlow3 View Post
John, do you happen to know if +2 gamma is the correct/best setting for DV on the A8F as well? I came to this thread looking for tips as DV seems a bit dark using Netflix on the ATV4K on my brand new A8F. Thanks!
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
I'm not sure on the A8 but DV is a darker PM to begin with. In speaking with D-Nice, he's done some testing and says the recent updates have pretty much corrected the DV problem but if it's still too dark you can set the contrast enhancer to Low and raise the gamma from 0 to 1 for that PM.

Thanks. I decided to do some testing with my A8F and play Ozark in Netflix using 3 devices I own:

  1. Apple TV 4k (plays Ozark in DV)
  2. Roku (plays Ozark in HDR - does not support DV)
  3. Old Sony Blu-Ray player (plays all Netflix content in SDR)

I configured the picture settings on all 3 inputs the same way (Cinema Pro, Expert 1, etc.) and then played the same scenes from Ozark on all 3 devices. I paused several lighter & darker scenes in the same spot and toggled between the 3 HDMI inputs and changed the gamma settings to compare HDR and DV (and SDR to a lesser degree).

Preliminary Conclusion (I still need to do more testing):

DV needs a gamma setting of 1 more than the HDR gamma setting for DV & HDR to look roughly the same. I personally think DV looks best with a gamma of 2 and HDR with a gamma of 1. Anything darker just seems too dark to me. These gamma values yield a similar picture to SDR with a gamma setting of around -1 (note: SDR mode using medium luminance vs. high luminance on HDR/DV). I say similar because comparing SDR to HDR is a bit of an apples & oranges comparison.

Anyway, I realize this is the A9F thread and I have an A8F, but from my experiment, it sounds like the A8F is similar in that DV still looks best with a gamma setting of 2 at the moment. At least to my eyes.
BreakPoint and Damien Inferno like this.

Last edited by jkozlow3; 02-10-2019 at 03:55 AM.
jkozlow3 is offline  
post #2313 of 2924 Old 02-10-2019, 12:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kensmith48 View Post
Should have come with it. Doubt if you could find one at a store. It's approx. 2 long and narrows down where it screws to the set. It's only there to hold the bottom of the panel in place. You could probably get by without it.
Totally disagree with this. Without that screw you’re relying on the slide lock mechanism to hold the electronics closed and stop the panel popping forward (although gravity will probably stop this happening). I’ve wall mounted mine and this screw is a really important safety feature with the $$ you’ve laid down on the tv. Go back to the people you bought it off and get them to go back to Sony and get it.

Sony XBR-65A9F, Sony UBP-X700, Denon AVR-890 (cooled by AC Infinity AIRCOM T10), Apple TV (non 4K), B&W 600 series & LM1s in 7.1 config, Harmony 1100i
avsngaiouser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2314 of 2924 Old 02-10-2019, 07:43 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 23,993
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6392 Post(s)
Liked: 6390
Quote:
Originally Posted by value View Post
Should be placing my order end of the month for my AF9 so also looking for settings. Might do professional calib if I can find someone.
Chad B : [email protected]
D-Nice : [email protected]

If all else fails master list :

<<< Click Here >>>


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan D. View Post
Hi,
I am a proud owner of the XBR65A9F!
I had it wall mounted. There was no problem with the installer mounting the TV except it says in the manual on page 15 to install the WM screw to the TV to secure the stand to the TV when wall mounting. It says it comes with the TV. I did not have this screw on the TV or in the box.
Could someone please give me info on how to get this screw.
It does not even give specs for the screw where I would go out and get it on my own.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kensmith48 View Post
Should have come with it. Doubt if you could find one at a store. It's approx. 2 long and narrows down where it screws to the set. It's only there to hold the bottom of the panel in place. You could probably get by without it.
If you are careful you will not need the screw but if you think you need it you would be best to call Sony at 1 (800) 222-7669
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #2315 of 2924 Old 02-10-2019, 11:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobbino421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,798
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1151 Post(s)
Liked: 718
Question about google play on this tv? Does it support 4K HDR?
I redeemed the the free offer for the 2 UHD movies and rented a UHD for 99cent promo and I don’t think my tv kicked into HDR mode at least according to my picture settings. I watch the girl in the spiders web which was listed as 4K HDR and it did look like it was presented that way?
Any thoughts?

Sony 55 A9F
Panasonic DP-UB820
Sony UBP-X700
Samsung HW-K950 Dolby Atmos sound bar
bobbino421 is online now  
post #2316 of 2924 Old 02-10-2019, 12:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
veger69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 301 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbino421 View Post
Question about google play on this tv? Does it support 4K HDR?
I redeemed the the free offer for the 2 UHD movies and rented a UHD for 99cent promo and I don’t think my tv kicked into HDR mode at least according to my picture settings. I watch the girl in the spiders web which was listed as 4K HDR and it did look like it was presented that way?
Any thoughts?


Yeah that could be the answer most of my titles are 4k uhd and are listed as such when viewing my titles in Play, but none of the titles play in uhd through Play.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
veger69 is offline  
post #2317 of 2924 Old 02-10-2019, 07:38 PM
Member
 
value's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
SO visited my IP and setup my 4K TV service for my new house I'm moving into in 2 weeks. Interesting thing they told me was Japan is starting 8K broadcasts this summer on a couple channels. So how will a 4K TV handle a 8K signal ?? Down convert ?? Cat 7 cables ??
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	52013913_2102636293152057_2006137949325885440_n.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	93.8 KB
ID:	2523930  

Last edited by value; 02-10-2019 at 07:51 PM.
value is offline  
post #2318 of 2924 Old 02-11-2019, 09:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Does anyone find any downside to having motionflow on at the lowest setting? (As opposed to completely off) I’m pretty pleased with the result but my tastes aren’t entirely refined at this point.

Also I find that gamma is the setting I play with the most, though I err on the side of not going above 0 for most content as I don’t want to over blow the image in favor of more noticeable dark details. I do think there’s a dab of black crush though.

An aside: Incredicles 2 UHD look very good on this TV. The film has good contrast and the use of lighting and 10 bit color is just fantastic.

Last edited by Meinhard1; 02-11-2019 at 01:32 PM.
Meinhard1 is offline  
post #2319 of 2924 Old 02-12-2019, 09:30 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kensmith48 View Post
Should have come with it. Doubt if you could find one at a store. It's approx. 2 long and narrows down where it screws to the set. It's only there to hold the bottom of the panel in place. You could probably get by without it.
Hi,
Well got no help from best buy only referred me to an online parts dealer..
So went to to home depot and got an M4 screw about 1.5 inches found it fits perfectly.
Appreciate your response helped me out!
Thank you for your help,
Bryan

Sent from my VS996 using Tapatalk
Bryan D. is offline  
post #2320 of 2924 Old 02-12-2019, 10:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 33
So I got this TV on order should arrive this week

I took down my old TV and I’m just worried now that HDMI cables are not enough for this one

Are you are using and which ones should I have on here for maximum quality

2.0? With 18g pass?

I plan to have the 4K player and Apple 4K attached as well as main Ethernet for Internet and a boss theatre system


Any tips based on the set up?

Also For the 4K player to get the best quality does this have a digital input or just use HDMI 2.0


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
thisisgroot is offline  
post #2321 of 2924 Old 02-12-2019, 11:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Steve View Post
Here's an odd one. I've had the 65" A9F almost 3 months. Love it. It looks to me that the 1080pHD pic is clearly better when I have My apple 4KTV and Amazon 4K Firestick do the upscaling, instead of the Sony. Seems crazy, the Sony should be the best at upscaling. But the Sony display says "4K", the pic looks best,when it says 1080P it's just not as good. Any ideas?
Id like to know/understand this too... doesnt seem right.
Me as well. I’ve been manually switching between 4K and 1080p resolution output on the Apple TV based on content, but I am noticing I at times prefer the image when I forget to switch to 1080p output for steaming content that should be native to that resolution. I feel like there had to be some sort of hidden variable here, as Apple likely doesn’t have superior upscaling to Sony
Meinhard1 is offline  
post #2322 of 2924 Old 02-12-2019, 12:42 PM
Member
 
mikeesnz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kerikeri, New Zealand
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meinhard1 View Post
Me as well. I’ve been manually switching between 4K and 1080p resolution output on the Apple TV based on content, but I am noticing I at times prefer the image when I forget to switch to 1080p output for steaming content that should be native to that resolution. I feel like there had to be some sort of hidden variable here, as Apple likely doesn’t have superior upscaling to Sony
Me too and I am using a Roku Premiere+ 4k. Maybe me but it also sounds better though I am just using stereo via toslink PCM out on the TV. The only issue I have here is that the TV doesn't switch to HDR on my existing old cable. I have just ordered a new cable to see if that fixes the issue.

Gear: Yamaha 3900,Wyred4Sound STI500 Oppo BDP83, Bryston CD1, B&W CDM9NT, Pioneer N50, Salk Soundscape 8's
mikeesnz is offline  
post #2323 of 2924 Old 02-12-2019, 12:47 PM
Senior Member
 
mmmccall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meinhard1 View Post
Me as well. I’ve been manually switching between 4K and 1080p resolution output on the Apple TV based on content, but I am noticing I at times prefer the image when I forget to switch to 1080p output for steaming content that should be native to that resolution. I feel like there had to be some sort of hidden variable here, as Apple likely doesn’t have superior upscaling to Sony
Also loving the way the Apple TV 4k works with this set. Makes me want to switch my satellite to DirecTVNow to utilize the AppleTV 4k for cable as well.
mmmccall is offline  
post #2324 of 2924 Old 02-12-2019, 01:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 33
So again the a9f Is delivering this week and I took down the old TV but everything was pre-wired the HDMI cable that I have here now is a monster ultra high speed HDMI

How do I know if this is 2.0?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
thisisgroot is offline  
post #2325 of 2924 Old 02-12-2019, 02:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kensmith48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Go to monoprice and get a hdmi cable for 18g.
Kensmith48 is online now  
post #2326 of 2924 Old 02-12-2019, 02:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kensmith48 View Post
Go to monoprice and get a hdmi cable for 18g.


is there a way to determine if an HDMI cable is 18 gig compliant

And does a9f need 18gb passthrough?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
thisisgroot is offline  
post #2327 of 2924 Old 02-12-2019, 03:23 PM
Member
 
OGauge4Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by thisisgroot View Post
is there a way to determine if an HDMI cable is 18 gig compliant

And does a9f need 18gb passthrough?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I really think the answer is no without test equipment to the first question.

I am still acquiring parts for a new system and the cables are another animal all together. I bought 2 from Crutchfield at a discount when I purchased a Sony UBP X1000ES. Both came in a separate bag with a 4K testing certification QR seal. I purchased a 3 pack from Monoprice via Amazon and the package had the seal. I caught a sale at Fry's last week and picked up 1 HDMI cable that the website says is certified but there was no mention of certification on the package and no seal. We shall see about this one.

Now if the A9F would just go on sale in the next month I will be happy.
OGauge4Me is offline  
post #2328 of 2924 Old 02-12-2019, 08:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by OGauge4Me View Post
I really think the answer is no without test equipment to the first question.



I am still acquiring parts for a new system and the cables are another animal all together. I bought 2 from Crutchfield at a discount when I purchased a Sony UBP X1000ES. Both came in a separate bag with a 4K testing certification QR seal. I purchased a 3 pack from Monoprice via Amazon and the package had the seal. I caught a sale at Fry's last week and picked up 1 HDMI cable that the website says is certified but there was no mention of certification on the package and no seal. We shall see about this one.



Now if the A9F would just go on sale in the next month I will be happy.


Yeah I just got it in a bit of a discount but it was a concession for another defective TV

So the main thing is this TV does need 2.0 And all the 2.0 are 18 pass?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
thisisgroot is offline  
post #2329 of 2924 Old 02-14-2019, 10:24 AM
Member
 
jmhilden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 49
2018 Sony A9F Master Series OLED Owner's Thread

So I’m pumped. I currently have a LG E7 that is my Home Theatre television and a Vizio PQ that is in the downstairs more relaxed family room. Anyway the Vizio was having black screen flashes and I was able to have it junked at BB so with the return I splurged for 65 A9F!

My first Sony since the XBR9 CCFL. Anyway this bad boy will take the crown in the Home Theatre area and my trusty and still awesome E7 will go downstairs now. So I’m all aboard the OLED train.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

-65 LG E7-Denon X7200WA-Sony UBP1000ES-Aperion Audio Grand Verus 5.1.4 Atmos System-Sony PS4 Pro-Xbox One S-Wii U-Apple TV 4-Toshiba HDDVD-2 buttkickers under movie chairs
= Happy Guy!

Last edited by jmhilden; 02-14-2019 at 12:27 PM.
jmhilden is online now  
post #2330 of 2924 Old 02-14-2019, 10:38 AM
Member
 
jmhilden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Also I was racking myself between this and the 75 Z9F and I almost bit the bullet to get the bigger TV. However at the end of the day I just couldn’t get something else other than an OLED.

Really excited for the extra goodies that come with the processing in the Sony’s.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

-65 LG E7-Denon X7200WA-Sony UBP1000ES-Aperion Audio Grand Verus 5.1.4 Atmos System-Sony PS4 Pro-Xbox One S-Wii U-Apple TV 4-Toshiba HDDVD-2 buttkickers under movie chairs
= Happy Guy!
jmhilden is online now  
post #2331 of 2924 Old 02-14-2019, 12:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmhilden View Post
Also I was racking myself between this and the 75 Z9F and I almost bit the bullet to get the bigger TV. However at the end of the day I just couldn’t get something else other than an OLED.

Really excited for the extra goodies that come with the processing in the Sony’s.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


That’s exactly why I picked up the a9f Excellent x1ultimate chip can’t go wrong


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
thisisgroot is offline  
post #2332 of 2924 Old 02-14-2019, 12:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I’m still trying to figure out this HDMI issue I don’t wanna wire in the wrong cables but it seems nobody is able to help with this here.

I should be more information on the actual cables that shows it has 18 GB pass-through


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
thisisgroot is offline  
post #2333 of 2924 Old 02-14-2019, 12:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1376 Post(s)
Liked: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by thisisgroot View Post
I’m still trying to figure out this HDMI issue I don’t wanna wire in the wrong cables but it seems nobody is able to help with this here.

I should be more information on the actual cables that shows it has 18 GB pass-through
The recommendation is to get a cable that is certified which means the package has the holographic HDMI premium certified sticker on it, which you can even verify using the HDMI app on your phone. Those cables are tested as working perfectly to the spec. Monoprice and others sell such cables very cheap, so price is not a problem. There is no reason to believe an expensive cable will work better (sometimes they don't).

Also 6 to 10 feet cable length seems ideal, with 15 foot being about the limit for passive cables. Longer than that you tend to need to go active to get a reliable signal at full bandwidth although some of the higher end cables might be able to pull off 20 or 25 feet if they do a really good job on the design. For some reason very short cables can also cause problems apparently.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #2334 of 2924 Old 02-14-2019, 12:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsorensen View Post
The recommendation is to get a cable that is certified which means the package has the holographic HDMI premium certified sticker on it, which you can even verify using the HDMI app on your phone. Those cables are tested as working perfectly to the spec. Monoprice and others sell such cables very cheap, so price is not a problem. There is no reason to believe an expensive cable will work better (sometimes they don't).

Also 6 to 10 feet cable length seems ideal, with 15 foot being about the limit for passive cables. Longer than that you tend to need to go active to get a reliable signal at full bandwidth although some of the higher end cables might be able to pull off 20 or 25 feet if they do a really good job on the design. For some reason very short cables can also cause problems apparently.


Absolutely and you are right thank you for this information! Def will get certified

But my concern is the 10g or 18g passthrough the older ones only do 10 anyway I’ll try to see if I can get some more info


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
thisisgroot is offline  
post #2335 of 2924 Old 02-14-2019, 12:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1376 Post(s)
Liked: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by thisisgroot View Post
Absolutely and you are right thank you for this information! Def will get certified

But my concern is the 10g or 18g passthrough the older ones only do 10 anyway I’ll try to see if I can get some more info
Well the certified cables will do 18Gbps reliably. Other cables might or might not. Older cables are less likely to although they might. After all if they were designed to the slower speed doesn't mean they weren't well designed and can do more, but they might not. Of course the devices know nothing about the cable and will try to do the highest speed supported by both devices. So an older device that only does 10Gbps would be fine with an older cable (and of course a new one too).

Before the certified program came about you only had the word of the cable maker to go by. Some of them were right and some were full of it.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #2336 of 2924 Old 02-14-2019, 01:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kensmith48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 32
When did this become a cable forum?
Kensmith48 is online now  
post #2337 of 2924 Old 02-14-2019, 01:20 PM
Member
 
jmhilden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kensmith48 View Post
When did this become a cable forum?


Are you an owner?

If not, why do you care if a owner is asking questions about the proper cables to use?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
OGauge4Me and thisisgroot like this.

-65 LG E7-Denon X7200WA-Sony UBP1000ES-Aperion Audio Grand Verus 5.1.4 Atmos System-Sony PS4 Pro-Xbox One S-Wii U-Apple TV 4-Toshiba HDDVD-2 buttkickers under movie chairs
= Happy Guy!
jmhilden is online now  
post #2338 of 2924 Old 02-14-2019, 01:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kensmith48 View Post
When did this become a cable forum?


It did when it involves the input on the data going from a source to the a9f
HDMI cables do this


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
thisisgroot is offline  
post #2339 of 2924 Old 02-14-2019, 01:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I’m just wondering if everyone knows anything about this if it will affect uhd passthrough if it’s 2.0 or whatever If it affects the quality


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
thisisgroot is offline  
post #2340 of 2924 Old 02-14-2019, 01:40 PM
Member
 
jmhilden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 49
2018 Sony A9F Master Series OLED Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by thisisgroot View Post
I’m just wondering if everyone knows anything about this if it will affect uhd passthrough if it’s 2.0 or whatever If it affects the quality


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Like someone else said it may or may not work with older cables. I understand your frustration because the cables are pre-wired and wiring through walls are a pain in the ass.

The only way to be certain your cables will work with UHD will be Certified HDMI cables.

In other words you will really want to re-wire the hdmi cables.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

-65 LG E7-Denon X7200WA-Sony UBP1000ES-Aperion Audio Grand Verus 5.1.4 Atmos System-Sony PS4 Pro-Xbox One S-Wii U-Apple TV 4-Toshiba HDDVD-2 buttkickers under movie chairs
= Happy Guy!
jmhilden is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
master series , oled , sony a9f

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off