2018 Sony A9F Master Series OLED Owner's Thread - Page 97 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2459Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2881 of 3262 Old 06-25-2019, 01:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
I wish I had some answers for you. I suppose if you looked at 10 of these displays one or two of them might have that gap but as long as the display works correctly, and mounts correctly, it's probably nothing to worry about. I checked mine and it's basically seamless at that spot. My display is wall mounted.
Yeah I don't really know what I'm expecting either, other than for other people to say theirs looks like this too. Sony already told me their opinion on it so it's just a matter of whether I push harder. I'm just surprised these tolerances are acceptable to them.

If it's not going to fall apart in an earthquake because there's actually some loose bolt inside the hinge, then I'm not sure it'd be worth the hassle of me trying to fight for replacement and then package it all up.
Keenan likes this.
gildorn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2882 of 3262 Old 06-25-2019, 02:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,315
Mentioned: 205 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5145 Post(s)
Liked: 3618
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
I'm double checking but at the last two VE TV Shootouts I used CM Autocal with a manual tweak when I calibrated the Sony's and they came out perfect and won the event so that said, i'm very confident it's working properly. But as Shoman says, you have to manually go in and set the apps.
Dolby Vision Dark and Bright as well even on the input you calibrated....

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+

Last edited by shoman94; 06-25-2019 at 02:25 PM.
shoman94 is online now  
post #2883 of 3262 Old 06-26-2019, 07:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,914
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6847 Post(s)
Liked: 6843
Quote:
Originally Posted by gildorn View Post
Really excited to get one of these at the greatly discounted prices.

It seems like my screen might be slightly bent—there's a noticeable air gap and hinge transition on one side that's different from the other. Sent these photos to Sony support and they said this is within normal range expected for the product.

I just want to make sure this won’t fall apart when I do go to wall hang it. Do other owners see similar?
That is not supposed to be like that, so depending on the deal you got is depending if I would keep it, or maybe you can renegotiate your deal instead of returning it with this new discovery?
Keenan likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2884 of 3262 Old 06-26-2019, 12:23 PM
Member
 
Tech400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Westport, MA
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Help on displaying usage hours

I have searched this forum and google, but I cannot find how to display the usage hours on my A9f 55".

Can someone please point me in the right direction?
Tech400 is offline  
post #2885 of 3262 Old 06-27-2019, 06:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,594
Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4602 Post(s)
Liked: 5593
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tech400 View Post
I have searched this forum and google, but I cannot find how to display the usage hours on my A9f 55".

Can someone please point me in the right direction?
It's in the setting menu, about this TV but it's not accurate since it get's reset when you do certain things like resetting the TV. I think there is a timer in the service menu but I don't recommend going there.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is offline  
post #2886 of 3262 Old 06-27-2019, 07:41 AM
Member
 
Tech400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Westport, MA
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
It's in the setting menu, about this TV but it's not accurate since it get's reset when you do certain things like resetting the TV. I think there is a timer in the service menu but I don't recommend going there.
Thank you John.
Tech400 is offline  
post #2887 of 3262 Old 06-27-2019, 03:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,315
Mentioned: 205 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5145 Post(s)
Liked: 3618
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
It's in the setting menu, about this TV but it's not accurate since it get's reset when you do certain things like resetting the TV. I think there is a timer in the service menu but I don't recommend going there.
That's only the operating system up time which is reset on every restart. Service menu is the only place.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #2888 of 3262 Old 06-27-2019, 03:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kinglm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 303
kinglm is online now  
post #2889 of 3262 Old 06-28-2019, 07:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Soundizer17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 769 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Question

Can anyone figure out why you can’t see any reference to 5.1 or Dolby Audio when using in built Netflix App on the AF9.

pressing Info button during Netflix content playback only shows ‘stereo’. Also in Netflix Audio it is language selection and does not show 5.1, which I think it used to from memory on a different tv.

This is for internal speakers audio output

Last edited by Soundizer17; 06-28-2019 at 10:24 AM.
Soundizer17 is online now  
post #2890 of 3262 Old 06-28-2019, 10:52 AM
Member
 
OGauge4Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundizer17 View Post
Can anyone figure out why you can’t see any reference to 5.1 or Dolby Audio when using in built Netflix App on the AF9.

pressing Info button during Netflix content playback only shows ‘stereo’. Also in Netflix Audio it is language selection and does not show 5.1, which I think it used to from memory on a different tv.

This is for internal speakers audio output
Most likely Netflix is not sending the audio format. If you look at the streaming selection title on Netflix the title should show the audio format. Netflix has very little 4K UHD and ATMOS titles available.

Sony XBR65A9F, Denon X4400H, Sony UBP-X1000ES, Apple TV 4K, Denon DCM-444, Verizon FIOS, Harmony Elite. Dolby ATMOS implemented by Klipsch.
OGauge4Me is offline  
post #2891 of 3262 Old 06-28-2019, 01:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,315
Mentioned: 205 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5145 Post(s)
Liked: 3618
Quote:
Originally Posted by OGauge4Me View Post
Most likely Netflix is not sending the audio format. If you look at the streaming selection title on Netflix the title should show the audio format. Netflix has very little 4K UHD and ATMOS titles available.
I can look at my TV but my AVR reports 5.1 or Atmos thru ARC.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #2892 of 3262 Old 06-28-2019, 01:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Soundizer17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 769 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by OGauge4Me View Post
Most likely Netflix is not sending the audio format. If you look at the streaming selection title on Netflix the title should show the audio format. Netflix has very little 4K UHD and ATMOS titles available.
No title shows the audio format in Netflix on my AF9.

Perhaps it is because of AF9 internal speakers processing.
Soundizer17 is online now  
post #2893 of 3262 Old 06-28-2019, 02:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Soundizer17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 769 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Unhappy Audio format missing on AF9 - Netflix. Internal speakers.

The Netflix Movie ‘Bright’ is 5.1 , but doesn’t show audio format in title or under audio options.
Using built in speakers only.
See photos.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	F98F777E-41BB-4257-AE79-805356D95A0F.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	105.0 KB
ID:	2585330   Click image for larger version

Name:	84236F50-DBBC-48CA-ACFC-FC2C824BC371.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	126.2 KB
ID:	2585332  
Soundizer17 is online now  
post #2894 of 3262 Old 06-28-2019, 02:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 201
I know this probably sounds like heresy around here but I am actually enjoying the standard picture mode when watching regular TV. I turned off all the picture processing except live color which is on high. It just makes everything look better. It's not accurate, but I wouldn't say it looks "wrong" either. Almost like what my brain says real life should look like. Switching back to custom or cinema makes everything look drab and lifeless.

Must be something about Sony's processing because I tried to do a similar thing on my LG and the picture looked like complete vomit, lol.

Sony 55A9F
LG 55B6

Last edited by Micolash; 06-28-2019 at 02:30 PM.
Micolash is offline  
post #2895 of 3262 Old 06-28-2019, 03:06 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,298
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4070 Post(s)
Liked: 3792
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundizer17 View Post
The Netflix Movie ‘Bright’ is 5.1 , but doesn’t show audio format in title or under audio options.
Using built in speakers only.
See photos.
It shows up on mine.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1043.JPG
Views:	53
Size:	96.5 KB
ID:	2585348   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1044.JPG
Views:	41
Size:	75.7 KB
ID:	2585350  
shoman94 likes this.
Keenan is online now  
post #2896 of 3262 Old 06-28-2019, 06:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JD23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dallas
Posts: 2,071
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 561 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
It shows up on mine.

Are you using built-in speakers or sending to a receiver via ARC?
JD23 is offline  
post #2897 of 3262 Old 06-28-2019, 06:19 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,298
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4070 Post(s)
Liked: 3792
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD23 View Post
Are you using built-in speakers or sending to a receiver via ARC?
To a receiver via eARC.

Sorry, I see now that Soundizer17 is using the display's speakers, I missed that earlier.

Maybe Netflix sees the display as a 2.0 device and that's why it doesn't show any audio info.
Soundizer17 likes this.
Keenan is online now  
post #2898 of 3262 Old 06-29-2019, 12:29 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Recently picked up a A9F from a friend that moved overseas. Today, I got 3 flashing/blinking red light when I tried to turn the set on. Tried to do a forced reset via the Sony support pages instructions. Unfortunately, it won’t get through the reboot process. I do the reset, get the green light then it turns itself back off. Question is, has anyone had any luck swapping the power boards to fix the flashing red light? If I switch out the power board, is it plug and play, or will I have to reinstall software?

Sony XBR65A9G | Samsung UN65KS8000 | ATV4K
Sioomagates is offline  
post #2899 of 3262 Old 06-29-2019, 08:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Soundizer17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 769 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD23 View Post
Are you using built-in speakers or sending to a receiver via ARC?
Built in speakers only.
Soundizer17 is online now  
post #2900 of 3262 Old 06-29-2019, 10:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,315
Mentioned: 205 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5145 Post(s)
Liked: 3618
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundizer17 View Post
Built in speakers only.
That's probably why.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
Soundizer17 likes this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #2901 of 3262 Old 06-29-2019, 10:50 AM
Member
 
mbeezie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Anyone have an issue with a black horizontal line developing across the screen?

I purchased my 65" A9F in November from my local Best Buy, and it has developed what appears to be a line of 'dead pixels' across the top of the screen. It's horizontal, the entire width of the screen, approximately 2" from the top bezel :|
mbeezie is offline  
post #2902 of 3262 Old 06-29-2019, 11:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JD23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dallas
Posts: 2,071
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 561 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundizer17 View Post
Built in speakers only.

The built-in Netflx app only detects the TV speakers as stereo on my A9G as well.
Soundizer17 likes this.
JD23 is offline  
post #2903 of 3262 Old 06-29-2019, 02:28 PM
Member
 
OGauge4Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundizer17 View Post
No title shows the audio format in Netflix on my AF9.

Perhaps it is because of AF9 internal speakers processing.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
It shows up on mine.
I wonder if you need the 4K streaming Netflix platform to see the audio and video resolution options. I do have that package.

Sony XBR65A9F, Denon X4400H, Sony UBP-X1000ES, Apple TV 4K, Denon DCM-444, Verizon FIOS, Harmony Elite. Dolby ATMOS implemented by Klipsch.
OGauge4Me is offline  
post #2904 of 3262 Old 06-30-2019, 07:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Soundizer17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 769 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
That's probably why.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
Yes just discovered that thank you.

Connected my headphones and could see 5.1 and audio format.

Disconnect headphones and audio format information is not available on Netflix.
Soundizer17 is online now  
post #2905 of 3262 Old 06-30-2019, 12:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Soundizer17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 769 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by OGauge4Me View Post
I wonder if you need the 4K streaming Netflix platform to see the audio and video resolution options. I do have that package.
When you disconnect your receiver do you see reference to audio format in Netflix Android app?
Soundizer17 is online now  
post #2906 of 3262 Old 06-30-2019, 02:39 PM
Member
 
OGauge4Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundizer17 View Post
When you disconnect your receiver do you see reference to audio format in Netflix Android app?
I have not tried that. I will assume that you mean just play the video with the TV speakers and not have the X4400 provide the audio.

Sony XBR65A9F, Denon X4400H, Sony UBP-X1000ES, Apple TV 4K, Denon DCM-444, Verizon FIOS, Harmony Elite. Dolby ATMOS implemented by Klipsch.
OGauge4Me is offline  
post #2907 of 3262 Old 07-01-2019, 12:17 PM
Member
 
mbeezie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbeezie View Post
Anyone have an issue with a black horizontal line developing across the screen?

I purchased my 65" A9F in November from my local Best Buy, and it has developed what appears to be a line of 'dead pixels' across the top of the screen. It's horizontal, the entire width of the screen, approximately 2" from the top bezel :|
To quote myself...

Wanted to update the thread. My TV developed and entire horizontal row of dead pixels spontaneously. I called Sony for warranty repair, and they were super helpful. Uploaded a few photos to this link they sent me and they agreed it was a hardware defect, and that they would replace the TV. However, they had no refurb A9Fs nor any new stock so they are upgrading me to the A9G

My heart did sink when i saw that line of dead pixels. This is the best TV i've ever owned, just surprised and sad to see that their top of the line Master series TV only lasted ~7 months. This is my first OLED and I owned two plasma screens before it, one has been going strong since 2007 and the other is 5 years old, still kicking.
Sonyboy and Damien Inferno like this.
mbeezie is offline  
post #2908 of 3262 Old 07-01-2019, 05:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 201
If you haven't already, I would experiment with the reality creation setting. I used to have it off because I figured you were just supposed to turn off all artificial image enhancements, but I've been playing around with the manual resolution slider and so far it has made a very noticeable difference in image clarity without any detriment to PQ (unless I literally max it out). 1080p content really looks like native 4K now, and even native 4K video looks much more clear now (tested 4K movies through itunes and also 4K HDR demo material on youtube). It even benefits games and doesn't affect input lag. This is a tremendous feature and to my surprise looks completely natural.

Sony 55A9F
LG 55B6
Micolash is offline  
post #2909 of 3262 Old 07-01-2019, 09:37 PM
Senior Member
 
mchamblissII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Has anyone downloaded privilege 4K in the Sony store to watched IMAXenhanced demos? I just watched a few demos and it looks absolutely amazing. Also, I listened to the demo on my Denon 4500 and it sounds really good 🙂
mchamblissII is offline  
post #2910 of 3262 Old 07-02-2019, 03:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kinglm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 303
I have and it looks promising wish they would update with full titles and movies...

For folks who recently purchased there’s an offer to get the IMAX Enhanced movie Venom.

“Receive one (1) IMAX® Enhanced movie when you purchase a select Sony 4K Android TV from 06/01/2019 to 08/31/2019 and choose from a selection of blockbuster movies, including Venom”

https://www.sony.com/electronics/cur...v#IMAXEnhanced
kinglm is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
master series , oled , sony a9f

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off