About OLED colour accuracy in HDR mode: LG vs Sony - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
  • 4 Post By Smackrabbit
  • 1 Post By henrique33

post #1 of 17 Old 10-02-2018, 01:31 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
About OLED colour accuracy in HDR mode: LG vs Sony

Hi everyone... I am a pro calibrator from Brazil, long time lurker here. One hot topic here is always wich oled to get: Sony or LG.

Well... I had both and made a long term testing and analysis on an A8F and on a B7P. After some time testing both and making measures i can say one thing: If color accuracy matters to you, dont buy an LG. I simply cannot understand why HDTVTest, Rtings and others doesn't say anything about this...

The fact is that the trick that LG uses to get higher peak brightness than the other brands using the same panel involves pushing the white subpixel too far. The white subpixel on WRGB oleds is the biggest and capable of pushing higher brightness. The aproach that LG uses is push it as hard as it can and just ignore the fact that the other subpixels cannot follow it. With this aproach you get brighter highlights but a narrower color volume on the top end.

Here are measuraments i took from the DCI P3 colour space from both TVs. Sony on top, LG on bottom.

As you can see, from a first look it seems that the LG get the saturation points slightly better than the Sony right?
Now let's get to the hard numbers... Here are the saturation points from red, but all the other colors show similar results.
Again, Sony on top, LG on bottom.

Delta error of 1-2% on the sony on all saturation points and as high as 12% on the LG! That's because the issue is not the XY delta, but the color brightness! On the LG the 100% red is 43% darker than it should be.

How that translates in the real world? with the white subpixel making the colors lose their depth and looking brighter and less saturated..