2019 C9–E9 Owner's Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 111 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4761Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3301 of 7362 Old 06-12-2019, 12:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomcup View Post
I brought this up several pages back. Also was testing with Spears and Munsil and content. Any amount of TruMotion past 0/0 causes artifacts.
Must have missed your post between the endless eARC / EDID conversation


Quote:
And I believe the 6 series de-BLUR (the bottom setting) did not cause artifacts (I leave mine at 0/10 on my E6, with no artifacts) - but I believe on my E6 any amount of de-judder also caused artifacts. Any amount of de-blur or de-judder causes artifacts on my C9. But I believe the de-blur feature is working differently on these sets.
I'm pretty sure they work differently. But I'm just shocked by the level of failure the algorithm shows when playing the Spears and Munsil video.
Tomcup likes this.
TrueVision is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3302 of 7362 Old 06-12-2019, 12:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 491 Post(s)
Liked: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrueVision View Post
Must have missed your post between the endless eARC / EDID conversation



I'm pretty sure they work differently. But I'm just shocked by the level of failure the algorithm shows when playing the Spears and Munsil video.
Yeah it's pretty terrible, immediately, with any amount of Tru Motion.
No problems with it off though, so I guess that's something

.
Current: LG 77C9 OLED, Denon x6500H @ 7.2.4, Xbox One X, PC w. RTX2080ti
LG 55E6P OLED (Self calibrated with Colormunki Display and HCFR)

Previous: LG 55" EF9500 OLED (Self calibrated with Colormunki Display and HCFR)
Tomcup is offline  
post #3303 of 7362 Old 06-12-2019, 12:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 8
If anyone is looking for (another) good scene for testing motion artifacts with various de-judder/de-blur settings, check out the skydiving scene from Kingsman: The Secret Service. In the zoomed out shots of the entire team falling, there are noticeable artifacts when de-judder/de-blur is set to anything but 0/0. The higher up you go, the worse the artifacts get. I'm gonna play around with both motion settings, trying to find anything that will give some level of motion smoothing while not presenting any artifacts during fast motion.
Tomcup and anwsmh like this.
JoGo83 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3304 of 7362 Old 06-12-2019, 01:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Different outputs for video and audio from PC

Hi, everyone
I'm thinking about buying a C9 and using it connected to my PC for gaming and watching HDR movies.

Considering the current eARC issues, do you guys think I could connect one hdmi cable from the PC to the TV for the video signal and another cable from the PC to the AVR for the audio signal?
On Win 10, you can select which of the connected devices gets the audio signal. Since my video card has multiple hdmi outputs, I was wondering if this setup would work, eliminating the eARC issues.
mkl86 is offline  
post #3305 of 7362 Old 06-12-2019, 01:34 PM
Member
 
Dustin_Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flavius View Post
Where is this LG forum petition to fix this eARC LPCM madness so I can sign it?

And does anyone know if Marantz eARC is just as problematic?
I have a 77C9, Marantz SR7012, BlueJeans Cable 9Ft. HDMI w/Ethernet - eARC does not work.
Dustin_Moore is offline  
post #3306 of 7362 Old 06-12-2019, 01:49 PM
Senior Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkl86 View Post
Considering the current eARC issues, do you guys think I could connect one hdmi cable from the PC to the TV for the video signal and another cable from the PC to the AVR for the audio signal?
On Win 10, you can select which of the connected devices gets the audio signal. Since my video card has multiple hdmi outputs, I was wondering if this setup would work, eliminating the eARC issues.
Yes, this would work. If the AVR can't accept the same video resolution/depth/refresh as the TV then you just have to drop the resolution on the one going to the AVR.
avernar is online now  
post #3307 of 7362 Old 06-12-2019, 02:24 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,527
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6661 Post(s)
Liked: 6644
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustin_Moore View Post
I have a 77C9, Marantz SR7012, BlueJeans Cable 9Ft. HDMI w/Ethernet - eARC does not work.
Those cables Premium HDMI Certified? eARC seems to work or it does not.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	HDMI.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	5.7 KB
ID:	2579212  
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #3308 of 7362 Old 06-12-2019, 02:26 PM
Member
 
Dustin_Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Those cables Premium HDMI Certified? eARC seems to work or it does not.
It is, the package had that marking.
Dustin_Moore is offline  
post #3309 of 7362 Old 06-12-2019, 03:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 754 Post(s)
Liked: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by avernar View Post
I'm curious now what the EDID of the LG looks like. Can someone with a Dr HDMI 4K or other device dump the LG's EDID and post it in the new LG eARC thread?
No need for a special device, just a PC with HDMI and the Monitor Asset Manager 2.9 Windows software that can extract the EDID from any device.
dfa973 is offline  
post #3310 of 7362 Old 06-12-2019, 03:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
al210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by amnesia0287 View Post
Would that still be true if you used calman to set the dtm manually?
Good question. Maybe jrref can chime in and add some insight on this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8KCRT View Post
It prevents your TV from clipping HDR content over 1,000 nits by tone mapping everything to under 1,000 nits before sending it to your TV.
I saw a demonstration from Vincent of HDTVtest who raved over this function in the Panasonic. The HDR enhancer was shown to eliminate blown out HDR highlights without loosing shadow details. He showed the LG dynamic tone mapping function reduced blow out but also decreased shadow details.

LG 77C9 OLED Theatre Room- LG 65EF9500 OLED Living Room
Panasonic UB820 Blu-Ray Player - Denon X4500H AVR
Chord 2Qute DAC - Rogue RP-1 Pre Amp - Rogue Atlas Magnum II Tube Amp

Vienna Acoustics Mozart Grand SE Speakers--B&W HTM62 Center--Axiom QS4 surrounds, PSB Imagine XA Atmos Speaker Addons -- SVS PC-2000 SUBWOOFER
al210 is offline  
post #3311 of 7362 Old 06-12-2019, 04:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
al210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Yes they do a great job, However with talking to a few different calibrators, calibration would effect everything you watch where only what you watch thru the player is only effected. Calibration is cheaper then the 9000 and effects everything.......
I agree that’s why I’m only considering the 820. The 9000 offers nothing over the 820 for oled owners.
mrtickleuk and 8KCRT like this.

LG 77C9 OLED Theatre Room- LG 65EF9500 OLED Living Room
Panasonic UB820 Blu-Ray Player - Denon X4500H AVR
Chord 2Qute DAC - Rogue RP-1 Pre Amp - Rogue Atlas Magnum II Tube Amp

Vienna Acoustics Mozart Grand SE Speakers--B&W HTM62 Center--Axiom QS4 surrounds, PSB Imagine XA Atmos Speaker Addons -- SVS PC-2000 SUBWOOFER
al210 is offline  
post #3312 of 7362 Old 06-12-2019, 04:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guitarguy316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2101 Post(s)
Liked: 791
No new update showing for me yet
guitarguy316 is offline  
post #3313 of 7362 Old 06-12-2019, 05:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Tanquen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 56
I’m not sure be it looks like there may be some damage. The box looks fine but there are two marks right in the middle of the screen.

I’ve not taken the plastic off the front of the screen yet as I wanted to wall mount it but they are ruff and look like whatever marked them made it through the plastic.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190612_171726.jpg
Views:	119
Size:	190.1 KB
ID:	2579254   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190612_170639.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	125.5 KB
ID:	2579256  
Tanquen is offline  
post #3314 of 7362 Old 06-12-2019, 05:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Vader424242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,015
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post
Out of the box the C9 is the most accurate television I have ever owned, especially if you are feeding it 4K HDR content.

The "technicolor" preset with WARM 2 and otherwise defaulted (OLED panel 100, contrast 85, etc.) is almost bang on compared to having the TV calibrated.

So if you're "not into" calibration then this preset with the color temp changed to WARM 2 should give you a very accurate picture.

Hi all,


C9 newbe, so forgive me for missing the obvious. First, I do not see a separate setting for SDR vs HDR. Second, is there a way to invoke a display of input signal? While I love what I have seen so far of the PQ, the documentation has got to be the absolute worst I have ever seen... Thx!

Peace... Vader
 

"Ya see, we plan ahead. That way we don't do anything right now. Earl explained it to me." - Valentine McKee

 

One sub to rumble them all. One sub to shake them. One sub to humble them all. And in the darkness break them....


Last edited by Vader424242; 06-12-2019 at 07:00 PM.
Vader424242 is online now  
post #3315 of 7362 Old 06-12-2019, 08:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Tanquen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Wi-Fi and Ethernet are both slow on the 77C9 so far. Started with Wi-Fi and the web speed test shows about 10-15 Mbps and 20-30 Mbps for the Ethernet port. While my phone 100+Mbps and the PC is 170Mbps.
Tanquen is offline  
post #3316 of 7362 Old 06-12-2019, 08:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vader424242 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post
Out of the box the C9 is the most accurate television I have ever owned, especially if you are feeding it 4K HDR content.

The "technicolor" preset with WARM 2 and otherwise defaulted (OLED panel 100, contrast 85, etc.) is almost bang on compared to having the TV calibrated.

So if you're "not into" calibration then this preset with the color temp changed to WARM 2 should give you a very accurate picture.

Hi all,


C9 newbe, so forgive me for missing the obvious. First, I do not see a separate setting for SDR vs HDR. Second, is there a way to invoke a display of input signal? While I love what I have seen so far of the PQ, the documentation has got to be the absolute worst I have ever seen... Thx!
You need to play HDR content for the HDR Picture modes to be customized.
Vader424242 likes this.
TechNerd666 is offline  
post #3317 of 7362 Old 06-12-2019, 09:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Vader424242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,015
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechNerd666 View Post
You need to play HDR content for the HDR Picture modes to be customized.

ah... got it. My Denon AVR does the same thing... thank you...

Peace... Vader
 

"Ya see, we plan ahead. That way we don't do anything right now. Earl explained it to me." - Valentine McKee

 

One sub to rumble them all. One sub to shake them. One sub to humble them all. And in the darkness break them....

Vader424242 is online now  
post #3318 of 7362 Old 06-12-2019, 09:39 PM
Member
 
PittyH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrueVision View Post
Must have missed your post between the endless eARC / EDID conversation
Tell me about it..

Just get a pair of headphones and be done with it :P
PittyH is offline  
post #3319 of 7362 Old 06-12-2019, 09:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
macmane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Crystal Lake
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1081 Post(s)
Liked: 661
What's the latest firmware on this TV? Is it safe to download I keep getting a prompt. Just copped a 55 c9

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
macmane is offline  
post #3320 of 7362 Old 06-12-2019, 10:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Baff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dark Side of the Earth
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmane View Post
What's the latest firmware on this TV? Is it safe to download I keep getting a prompt. Just copped a 55 c9
03.60.04, assuming you are in the US. Haven't been any reports of problems here yet.
macmane likes this.

LG 65" C9; Denon AVR-S750H
5.1.2: Emotiva Airmotiv C2, T-Zero (x2), E1 (x4); HSU VTF-2
Baff is offline  
post #3321 of 7362 Old 06-13-2019, 12:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Seoul, Korea
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baff View Post
03.60.04, assuming you are in the US. Haven't been any reports of problems here yet.
03.60.04 is the latest version in Korea as well. Working great so far.
ShePearl is offline  
post #3322 of 7362 Old 06-13-2019, 02:59 AM
Member
 
magic_carpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Guys, can you tell me if it is possible to connect a PC through HDMI-eARC?
I mean, if I connect the TV to the AVR and the VGA HDMI port to the AVR, which audio stream will be decoded?
magic_carpet is offline  
post #3323 of 7362 Old 06-13-2019, 03:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guitarguy316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2101 Post(s)
Liked: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baff View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmane View Post
What's the latest firmware on this TV? Is it safe to download I keep getting a prompt. Just copped a 55 c9
03.60.04, assuming you are in the US. Haven't been any reports of problems here yet.
Looks Iike it’s OTA only so far?
guitarguy316 is offline  
post #3324 of 7362 Old 06-13-2019, 03:39 AM
Member
 
SubElement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarguy316 View Post
Looks Iike it’s OTA only so far?

It's available in Australia as a download. https://www.lg.com/au/support/suppor...lg-OLED55C9PTA
SubElement is online now  
post #3325 of 7362 Old 06-13-2019, 03:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 754 Post(s)
Liked: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by magic_carpet View Post
Guys, can you tell me if it is possible to connect a PC through HDMI-eARC?
I mean, if I connect the TV to the AVR and the VGA HDMI port to the AVR, which audio stream will be decoded?
In your case, eARC will not be used, the audio from PC will be decoded directly by the AVR.

eARC will be used only if the PC will be connected to the TV and the TV to AVR - in that case, any bitstreamed formats (DD/DTS/DD+/TrueHD/DTS-HD/Atmos/DTS:X) will work just fine, along with Stereo PCM, with the exception of the 6/8 channel LPCM uncompressed audio - no joy until LG does not add this format to their HDMI ports.

More details in the specific eARC thread: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...fo-thread.html
dfa973 is offline  
post #3326 of 7362 Old 06-13-2019, 04:35 AM
Member
 
magic_carpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfa973 View Post
In your case, eARC will not be used, the audio from PC will be decoded directly by the AVR.

eARC will be used only if the PC will be connected to the TV and the TV to AVR - in that case, any bitstreamed formats (DD/DTS/DD+/TrueHD/DTS-HD/Atmos/DTS:X) will work just fine, along with Stereo PCM, with the exception of the 6/8 channel LPCM uncompressed audio - no joy until LG does not add this format to their HDMI ports.

More details in the specific eARC thread: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...fo-thread.html

Thanks for your answer dfa973
So in the future, in order to benefit of VRR I need to connect one HDMI VGA port directly to the TV and the other HDMI VGA port to AVR for lossless audio: is it correct?
magic_carpet is offline  
post #3327 of 7362 Old 06-13-2019, 04:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 754 Post(s)
Liked: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by magic_carpet View Post
Thanks for your answer dfa973
So in the future, in order to benefit of VRR I need to connect one HDMI VGA port directly to the TV and the other HDMI VGA port to AVR for lossless audio: is it correct?
Yes, that should work if you can route the audio through another HDMI port.
dfa973 is offline  
post #3328 of 7362 Old 06-13-2019, 05:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by magic_carpet View Post
Thanks for your answer dfa973
So in the future, in order to benefit of VRR I need to connect one HDMI VGA port directly to the TV and the other HDMI VGA port to AVR for lossless audio: is it correct?

To use VRR you will need a GPU with support for HDMI VRR format unless it can somehow be patched into existing hardware. Currently there are none on the market and AMD's just announced new GPU's do not support it either.



Although HDMI groups VRR is a clone of Freesync is not compatible with Freesync so because for some brain dead reason LG chose to not add support for Freesync to the C9 you can't use existing AMD GPU's for VRR, despite LG working with AMD on testing the QMS feature which is derived from VRR.


Quote:
To use QMS you playback device must also be QMS-compatible and no playback device is (as a side-note QMS is a derivative of VRR so if a TV supports VRR it should technically also be capable of supporting QMS but please be aware that it is not a given). The HDMI licensing group is not certifying QMS yet, as far as we know. However, our source within LG tells us that LG together with AMD has built a custom solution to check QMS and that it seems to work with LG 2019 OLED TVs. At this time, we have no way of confirming this.
RbD7000 is offline  
post #3329 of 7362 Old 06-13-2019, 07:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
macmane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Crystal Lake
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1081 Post(s)
Liked: 661
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baff View Post
03.60.04, assuming you are in the US. Haven't been any reports of problems here yet.
Interesting mine is prompting me to 03.60.02 and yes I'm in the US as well

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
macmane is offline  
post #3330 of 7362 Old 06-13-2019, 07:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guitarguy316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2101 Post(s)
Liked: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmane View Post
Interesting mine is prompting me to 03.60.02 and yes I'm in the US as well

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
That came out around mid-May
guitarguy316 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
dead , lg c9 oled , lg oled c9 , oled 55 , pixel dead , pixels

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off