2019 C9–E9 Owner's Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 112 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2859Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3331 of 4471 Old 06-13-2019, 08:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Tanquen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanquen View Post
Wi-Fi and Ethernet are both slow on the 77C9 so far. Started with Wi-Fi and the web speed test shows about 10-15 Mbps and 20-30 Mbps for the Ethernet port. While my phone 100+Mbps and the PC is 170Mbps.
It looks like the WebOS don't like the Google or MLAB test. The Ooka seems to show the 100 Mbps speeds. My phone, tablet and PCs work fine with both. Can anyone confirm?

First 4k TV and First OLED TV, Questions and concerns.

Anyone else get the marks in the middle of the screen?

When running the same 4k and or HDR Netflix and Prime programs to the C9 and then regular HD to the Kuro, the C9 seems washed out and no more detail or sharper . The whites are whiter and there is more detail in the dark scenes but overall pale. I'm using the standard or APS setting as the Cinema and Technicolor each seem more and more washed out.

Also, have the vertical bands in light grey backgrounds.

Is there a good 4k Blu-ray to really show off full 4k? The Netflix stuff says its 4k but I can’t tell the difference. Too much compression? I tried Deadpool and Passengers but I guess they are up sampled 2k.
Tanquen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3332 of 4471 Old 06-13-2019, 11:13 AM
Newbie
 
RayPaula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Question Best C9 HDMI Cable Suggestions?

Hi, Just picked up my new 55" C9...... I want to get the best high quality HDMI cable I can for this TV. Any suggestions for bran and Gbps would be most appreciated. Thanks, Ray
RayPaula is offline  
post #3333 of 4471 Old 06-13-2019, 11:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
eljaycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 9,790
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1865 Post(s)
Liked: 2615
eljaycanuck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3334 of 4471 Old 06-13-2019, 11:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
cydeweyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by RayPaula View Post
Hi, Just picked up my new 55" C9...... I want to get the best high quality HDMI cable I can for this TV. Any suggestions for bran and Gbps would be most appreciated. Thanks, Ray
Monoprice Premium Certified HDMI
cydeweyz is offline  
post #3335 of 4471 Old 06-13-2019, 12:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 14,610
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3251 Post(s)
Liked: 2316
Quote:
Originally Posted by RayPaula View Post
Hi, Just picked up my new 55" C9...... I want to get the best high quality HDMI cable I can for this TV. Any suggestions for bran and Gbps would be most appreciated. Thanks, Ray

At present, if your run is under about 20', then a Premium High Speed HDMI cable (18Gbps) will work. It's a passive cable (active cables can not be certified by an ATC according to HDMI.org) and will come with a QR label for authenticity. That's not a 100% guarantee that the cable will work for all setups but at least you know that it has been tested and certified, following standardized protocols, by HDMI.org to meet all current HDMI 2.0b hardware specifications.


If your run is over 20', then the recommendation is to use the hybrid fiber cable from Ruipro. The current Ruipro cables (4k) are tested by an ATC following the standardized protocols but because the cable is active, it can not get the certification tag for Premium High Speed (18Gbps). The new Ruipro8k is still currently in the testing phase for HDMI 2.1 (which technically will be the "Ultra High Speed HDMI" cable, 48Gbps). As with the 4k cable, it will not be able to get the certification tag because it is an active cable. Hybrid fiber cables are not cheap so be prepared.


How long is your run? If your installation is going to be in-wall, then a 1.5" - 2.0" conduit, with a pull string, is the ONLY way to future proof your cabling. As with all cable installations, bend radius, compatible HDMI chipset versions, etc all play a role in a successful cable connection.



Keep in mind that the cable is just a data pipe. It can not improve pq. You either get the signal with no issues or you don't.



To repeat, no cable mfr regardless of slick marketing and promises in their product descriptions can guarantee that their cable will work in any given setup. Some of us recommend the Ruipro hybrid fiber cables because they have worked remarkably well for long, 4k HDR runs so the expectation is that Ruipro8k cable will work just as well.


As a side note, any cable mfr can submit their cables for certification so you're not limited to one or two mfrs. As long as the cable description says Premium High Speed HDMI cable, and the cable comes with the QR label you're good to go. However, certification of passive cables is limited to 25' (30' in some cases but I wouldn't go beyond 25').

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.

Last edited by Otto Pylot; 06-13-2019 at 12:29 PM.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #3336 of 4471 Old 06-13-2019, 12:31 PM
Oppo Beta Group
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 11,023
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1835 Post(s)
Liked: 1319
Quote:
Originally Posted by al210 View Post
I saw a demonstration from Vincent of HDTVtest who raved over this function in the Panasonic. The HDR enhancer was shown to eliminate blown out HDR highlights without loosing shadow details. He showed the LG dynamic tone mapping function reduced blow out but also decreased shadow details.
What model year was this?


On my LG 77C9, dynamic tone-mapping mostly brightens shadow detail and the picture in general.


- Rich

Oppo UPD-205 x 2 | UPD-203 | Sonica DAC | Emotiva XMC-1 (v3) | Revel Salon2s, Voice2, Studio2s | Benchmark AHB2 x 4 | ATI AT522NC | Velodyne HGS-15 | LG 77C9 | Lumagen 2020 | HDFury Vertex x 2
RichB is online now  
post #3337 of 4471 Old 06-13-2019, 12:42 PM
Member
 
HiFi4Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Firmware 03.60.05 was released yesterday for the European models.
Change log is as follows
Quote:
[03.60.05]
1. Picture Quality Update.

A 03.60.04 USB version is available for all other countries.
HiFi4Vision is offline  
post #3338 of 4471 Old 06-13-2019, 12:48 PM
Newbie
 
RayPaula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Looks like the Monoprice would be a great cable...... Thanks for the suggestion.
RayPaula is offline  
post #3339 of 4471 Old 06-13-2019, 12:52 PM
Newbie
 
RayPaula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
At present, if your run is under about 20', then a Premium High Speed HDMI cable (18Gbps) will work. It's a passive cable (active cables can not be certified by an ATC according to HDMI.org) and will come with a QR label for authenticity. That's not a 100% guarantee that the cable will work for all setups but at least you know that it has been tested and certified, following standardized protocols, by HDMI.org to meet all current HDMI 2.0b hardware specifications.


If your run is over 20', then the recommendation is to use the hybrid fiber cable from Ruipro. The current Ruipro cables (4k) are tested by an ATC following the standardized protocols but because the cable is active, it can not get the certification tag for Premium High Speed (18Gbps). The new Ruipro8k is still currently in the testing phase for HDMI 2.1 (which technically will be the "Ultra High Speed HDMI" cable, 48Gbps). As with the 4k cable, it will not be able to get the certification tag because it is an active cable. Hybrid fiber cables are not cheap so be prepared.


How long is your run? If your installation is going to be in-wall, then a 1.5" - 2.0" conduit, with a pull string, is the ONLY way to future proof your cabling. As with all cable installations, bend radius, compatible HDMI chipset versions, etc all play a role in a successful cable connection.



Keep in mind that the cable is just a data pipe. It can not improve pq. You either get the signal with no issues or you don't.



To repeat, no cable mfr regardless of slick marketing and promises in their product descriptions can guarantee that their cable will work in any given setup. Some of us recommend the Ruipro hybrid fiber cables because they have worked remarkably well for long, 4k HDR runs so the expectation is that Ruipro8k cable will work just as well.


As a side note, any cable mfr can submit their cables for certification so you're not limited to one or two mfrs. As long as the cable description says Premium High Speed HDMI cable, and the cable comes with the QR label you're good to go. However, certification of passive cables is limited to 25' (30' in some cases but I wouldn't go beyond 25').
Thank you for the great info. My run won't be over 8 feet and I don't plan on an in-wall application. After some research, it appears that a 48Gbps HDMI cable isn't necessary as well. Thanks again for your help. Ray
RayPaula is offline  
post #3340 of 4471 Old 06-13-2019, 01:06 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 14,610
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3251 Post(s)
Liked: 2316
Quote:
Originally Posted by RayPaula View Post
Thank you for the great info. My run won't be over 8 feet and I don't plan on an in-wall application. After some research, it appears that a 48Gbps HDMI cable isn't necessary as well. Thanks again for your help. Ray
At less than 10', any Premium High Speed HDMI will work then for HDMI 2.0b specifications. HDMI 2.1 has a maximum passive length of 1m - 3m (3' - 9') so your cable length is still ok, only the cable may need to be replaced at some point in time to be able to adequately handle the 48Gbps bandwidth. Just be mindful of bend radius because you don't want to put any undo strain on the HDMI inputs.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #3341 of 4471 Old 06-13-2019, 02:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
al210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 358 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post
What model year was this?


On my LG 77C9, dynamic tone-mapping mostly brightens shadow detail and the picture in general.


- Rich
It was on the E8.

LG 77C9 OLED Theatre Room- LG 65EF9500 OLED Living Room
Panasonic UB820 Blu-Ray Player - Denon X4500H AVR
Chord 2Qute DAC - Rogue RP-1 Pre Amp - Rogue Atlas Magnum II Tube Amp

Vienna Acoustics Mozart Grand SE Speakers--B&W HTM62 Center--Axiom QS4 surrounds, PSB Imagine XA Atmos Speaker Addons -- SVS PC-2000 SUBWOOFER
al210 is offline  
post #3342 of 4471 Old 06-13-2019, 02:50 PM
Member
 
convexmacrolabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 46
In the absence of any HDMI 2.1 video cards, companies are at least making progress on DisplayPort 1.4 converters.
https://www.anandtech.com/show/14535...i-21-converter
anwsmh likes this.
convexmacrolabs is offline  
post #3343 of 4471 Old 06-13-2019, 03:35 PM
Member
 
rwings01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Montreal, Qc
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hi all,

Is the E9 much better than the C9. Is the difference only audio and aesthetics?

TIA

____________________
YOUTUBE CHANNEL: ExpertGam3r
XBOX ONE GT:xELiTE Pr3daTOR
PS4 GT: rwings01

Last edited by rwings01; 06-13-2019 at 06:46 PM.
rwings01 is offline  
post #3344 of 4471 Old 06-13-2019, 04:29 PM
Oppo Beta Group
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 11,023
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1835 Post(s)
Liked: 1319
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiFi4Vision View Post
Firmware 03.60.05 was released yesterday for the European models.
Change log is as follows


A 03.60.04 USB version is available for all other countries.
I installed this on my 77C9 from the download without issue. I am not sure what it may have changed.


- Rich

Oppo UPD-205 x 2 | UPD-203 | Sonica DAC | Emotiva XMC-1 (v3) | Revel Salon2s, Voice2, Studio2s | Benchmark AHB2 x 4 | ATI AT522NC | Velodyne HGS-15 | LG 77C9 | Lumagen 2020 | HDFury Vertex x 2
RichB is online now  
post #3345 of 4471 Old 06-13-2019, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Tanquen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 33
First 4k and First OLED TV, 77C9 Questions & Concerns

It looks like the WebOS don't like the Google or MLAB test, it shows like 15-20 Mbps. The Ooka seems to show the correct 100+ Mbps speeds. My phone, tablet and PCs work fine with both. Can anyone confirm?

Anyone else get the marks in the middle of the screen? From the factory on the plastic. Removing soon but had hoped wall mount first.

When running the same 4k and or HDR Netflix and Prime programs to the C9 and then regular HD to the Kuro, the C9 seems washed out and no more detail or sharper . The whites are whiter and there is more detail in the dark scenes but overall pale. I'm using the standard or APS setting as the Cinema and Technicolor each seem more and more washed out.

Also, have the vertical bands in light grey backgrounds. Easy to see in apps.

Is there a good 4k Blu-ray to really show off full 4k? The Netflix stuff says its 4k but I can’t tell the difference. Too much compression? I tried Deadpool and Passengers KVMs on USB (why no audio though?) but I guess they are up sampled 2k.

I swear the C9 aspect ratio is taller than the Kuro. Like people’s heads are swished horizontally. May have something to do with running the built in apps on the C9 vs running the same on the PC then to the Kuro. Seems really odd though. Is there an easy test patter I can run to see if both displays are true?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190612_170639.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	124.5 KB
ID:	2579638  
Tanquen is offline  
post #3346 of 4471 Old 06-13-2019, 06:00 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,021
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6404 Post(s)
Liked: 6398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanquen View Post
I’m not sure be it looks like there may be some damage. The box looks fine but there are two marks right in the middle of the screen.

I’ve not taken the plastic off the front of the screen yet as I wanted to wall mount it but they are ruff and look like whatever marked them made it through the plastic.
Well you are going to have to take it off, you need to make sure it is not damaged before you hang it, hopefully it is not thru the plastic but you have to check
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #3347 of 4471 Old 06-13-2019, 06:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
helvetica bold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,348
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1596 Post(s)
Liked: 968
I just check for the update but Im still on 03.60.02 and states no new updates. So are any of you not seeing the update?

LG65C9, XBOX ONE X, PS4PRO, APPLE 4K, SONY STRDN1070, TAKE CLASSIC 5.1
helvetica bold is online now  
post #3348 of 4471 Old 06-13-2019, 06:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
macmane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Crystal Lake
Posts: 2,067
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1077 Post(s)
Liked: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post
I just check for the update but Im still on 03.60.02 and states no new updates. So are any of you not seeing the update?
I think u have to manually download the 03.60.04 from lg site I'm not sure tho

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
helvetica bold likes this.
macmane is online now  
post #3349 of 4471 Old 06-13-2019, 08:20 PM
Member
 
Baff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dark Side of the Earth
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmane View Post
I think u have to manually download the 03.60.04 from lg site I'm not sure tho
Correct. Only 03.60.02 is available via the tv. Seems to be a pretty minor update though, so no rush.
helvetica bold likes this.

LG 65" C9; Denon AVR-S750H
5.1.2: Emotiva Airmotiv C2, T-Zero (x2), E1 (x4); HSU VTF-2
Baff is online now  
post #3350 of 4471 Old 06-13-2019, 10:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,577
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 587 Post(s)
Liked: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baff View Post
Correct. Only 03.60.02 is available via the tv. Seems to be a pretty minor update though, so no rush.
I got the 03.60.04 update by just checking for updates and the television installed it.
jmpage2 is offline  
post #3351 of 4471 Old 06-13-2019, 10:12 PM
Member
 
Baff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dark Side of the Earth
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post
I got the 03.60.04 update by just checking for updates and the television installed it.
Perhaps because you have the 77C9. I still only see it on the website, not my 65C9.

LG 65" C9; Denon AVR-S750H
5.1.2: Emotiva Airmotiv C2, T-Zero (x2), E1 (x4); HSU VTF-2
Baff is online now  
post #3352 of 4471 Old 06-14-2019, 12:18 AM
Member
 
HiFi4Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baff View Post
Perhaps because you have the 77C9. I still only see it on the website, not my 65C9.
LG is usually rolling out new updates in waves OTA. So it's totally normal if some get the update a bit earlier than others.
Some regions get specific updates a bit earlier than others as well.
HiFi4Vision is offline  
post #3353 of 4471 Old 06-14-2019, 12:41 AM
Member
 
magic_carpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by convexmacrolabs View Post
In the absence of any HDMI 2.1 video cards, companies are at least making progress on DisplayPort 1.4 converters.
https://www.anandtech.com/show/14535...i-21-converter

It would be interesting to know if we will get VRR support with this adapter.
magic_carpet is offline  
post #3354 of 4471 Old 06-14-2019, 04:17 AM
Newbie
 
RayPaula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
At less than 10', any Premium High Speed HDMI will work then for HDMI 2.0b specifications. HDMI 2.1 has a maximum passive length of 1m - 3m (3' - 9') so your cable length is still ok, only the cable may need to be replaced at some point in time to be able to adequately handle the 48Gbps bandwidth. Just be mindful of bend radius because you don't want to put any undo strain on the HDMI inputs.
Thank you for this information. I will stick to the lengths as you stated. Thanks again, you've been a great help. Ray
RayPaula is offline  
post #3355 of 4471 Old 06-14-2019, 04:59 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,577
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 587 Post(s)
Liked: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwings01 View Post
Hi all,

Is the E9 much better than the C9. Is the difference only audio and aesthetics?

TIA
The difference is audio and aesthetics.
jmpage2 is offline  
post #3356 of 4471 Old 06-14-2019, 05:04 AM
Member
 
rwings01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Montreal, Qc
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post
The difference is audio and aesthetics.
Thank you, I will go with the C9 then.

____________________
YOUTUBE CHANNEL: ExpertGam3r
XBOX ONE GT:xELiTE Pr3daTOR
PS4 GT: rwings01
rwings01 is offline  
post #3357 of 4471 Old 06-14-2019, 05:15 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all,

I was doing some tests and just of curiosity wanted to see how this tv handles analog signals.

To my surprise, it seems that the EU models lacks the composite A/V input for some reason. It just above the lan port shown on some pictures. Not a big deal these days but a fact?
Levski is offline  
post #3358 of 4471 Old 06-14-2019, 05:42 AM
Senior Member
 
knutinh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
77C8 vs 65C9

This thread is some 3300 posts long.

Was there ever a conclusion to the question over black frame inserting? Or did LG show a feature to reviewers, then silently pull it before any actual customers could use it?

As it now stands, the 77C8 is about 1/2 the price of a 77C9 and more or less in line with a 65C9. I would prefer to have 77 inches, but the 77C9 is out of the question unless I wait for a year. As I am no gamer, I have no obvious need for VRR or low latency, and I see no immediate use for 4kp120. So do I really miss out on anything important for me by going with last years model?

-k
knutinh is offline  
post #3359 of 4471 Old 06-14-2019, 05:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 584 Post(s)
Liked: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by Levski View Post
Hi all,

I was doing some tests and just of curiosity wanted to see how this tv handles analog signals.

To my surprise, it seems that the EU models lacks the composite A/V input for some reason. It just above the lan port shown on some pictures. Not a big deal these days but a fact?
Yes, the EU models lack:
1. AV input jack for composite
2. RS232C input jack for service

"OFFICIAL" 2019 LG C9 Consolidated Info, FAQ, Troubleshooting, Firmware & more
LG 3D TV --- Denon AVR --- Wharfedale speakers --- Emotiva subs --- Media players: Intel NUC 8th & 7th gen i3's with Pulse-Eight internal HDMI-CEC adapters, Kodi on Win10, one remote to rule them all - the TV remote!

Last edited by dfa973; 06-14-2019 at 05:57 AM.
dfa973 is offline  
post #3360 of 4471 Old 06-14-2019, 05:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 584 Post(s)
Liked: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by knutinh View Post
This thread is some 3300 posts long.

Was there ever a conclusion to the question over black frame inserting? Or did LG show a feature to reviewers, then silently pull it before any actual customers could use it?

As it now stands, the 77C8 is about 1/2 the price of a 77C9 and more or less in line with a 65C9. I would prefer to have 77 inches, but the 77C9 is out of the question unless I wait for a year. As I am no gamer, I have no obvious need for VRR or low latency, and I see no immediate use for 4kp120. So do I really miss out on anything important for me by going with last years model?

-k
Main differences between C8 and C9:
.
  • HDMI 2.1 - four full 48Gbps ports
  • 1440p resolution support (gamers only or for people who use tv as a monitor)
  • VRR with 40Hz-120Hz range (gamers only)
  • eARC with Dolby Atmos & DTS:X (if you have an audio system that supports it, does not pass-through 6/8 channel LPCM, only 2 channel LPCM and there are known incompatibilities with the 2017 generation of Denon+Marantz receivers)
  • HDCP 2.3 supported only after the mid-2019 firmware update
  • ALLM (Auto Low Latency Mode) (gamers only)
  • Variable Analog Audio Out (3.5mm headphone jack)
  • improved color volume
  • expanded calibration options
  • improved temporary image retention
  • screen is less darkened for news channels that have icons, banners, etc. (less aggressive ABL)
  • significantly improved input lag for many resolutions/refresh rates (under 7ms at 120Hz, gamers only)
  • metal stand instead of plastic, larger footprint, more stable
  • improved WebOS (version 4.5, runs smoother, plus a few more options)
  • Google Assistant support
  • Amazon Alexa support (only after May 2019 03.60.02 firmware update)
  • Apple AirPlay 2 and Apple HomeKit support (only after the mid-2019 firmware update)
  • Connect/control various Internet of Things devices
  • improved motion handling
  • improved black crush
  • possibly better at avoiding burn-in, time will tell (less relevant for non-gamers and non-news watchers)

"OFFICIAL" 2019 LG C9 Consolidated Info, FAQ, Troubleshooting, Firmware & more
LG 3D TV --- Denon AVR --- Wharfedale speakers --- Emotiva subs --- Media players: Intel NUC 8th & 7th gen i3's with Pulse-Eight internal HDMI-CEC adapters, Kodi on Win10, one remote to rule them all - the TV remote!

Last edited by dfa973; 06-14-2019 at 06:51 AM.
dfa973 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
dead , pixel dead , pixels

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off