2019 C9–E9 Owner's Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 287 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 8963Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8581 of 15671 Old 10-30-2019, 11:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by EeK9X View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by GamersGen View Post
I hear ya here is the video whats happening

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pISMNt0AQHs
I think I gotta show this to nvidia right? I cant be only one having this issue with gsync? It all works perfectly smooth for everybody? I cant make this **** to work since beta drivers
Your video is set to private, so, unfortunately, I'm not able to watch it. :/
Must be your HDMI cable then, how long is it?

LG65C9 - i7-6700K/2080ti - PS4 Pro
Lors is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8582 of 15671 Old 10-30-2019, 11:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tygeezy View Post
The amusing thing here is that Nvidia is the only one to support HDMI 2.1 vrr. AMD hasn't released drivers yet supporting it, and they are the ones that created this open standard..
WTF are you talking about? It was created by HDMI Forum! All the AMD did with it was create PROPRIATERY non-standard solution in HDMI before 2.1! And in DisplayPort it was already implemented (AdaptiveSync). The did nothing and are pathetic.
Balthazar Lin is offline  
post #8583 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 12:09 AM
Member
 
Jonastaghizadeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechNerd666 View Post
Software update 04.70.12 is out OTA.
What does this one do?
Where did you find that update? checked the US, european and korean sites and cant find 04.70.12 anywhere? Is it a beta update?
Jonastaghizadeh is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8584 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 02:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,021
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 656 Post(s)
Liked: 232
When playing HDR content in Google Play, the black bars changes to Gray on both E9 & A9F. Brightness is set to 50 on E9. Anyway to fix this?

Sony 65 A9F, LG 65 E9
New_to_4K is offline  
post #8585 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 03:40 AM
Member
 
Hard8times's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Bethlehem GA.
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by GamersGen View Post
I hear ya here is the video whats happening

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pISMNt0AQHs
I think I gotta show this to nvidia right? I cant be only one having this issue with gsync? It all works perfectly smooth for everybody? I cant make this **** to work since beta drivers
V-sync should be set to ON in the Nvidia control panel and preferred refresh rate should be set to highest available

4K Ambassador
Hard8times is offline  
post #8586 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 04:02 AM
Member
 
Angrycrabb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by EeK9X View Post
I spoke with the developer of CRU, ToastyX, and it's clear that the new drivers are bugged, as CRU only writes EDID overrides and doesn't do any driver modifications. Also, on 411.08, customs resolutions of 3840x2160 with anything higher than 60Hz as the refresh rate don't even get past the tests, when using the Nvidia Control Panel.


As for CRU, follow these steps:


Open the application;
Select "LG TV (active)" in the drop-down list (top left corner);
Under "Detailed resolutions", click on "Add";
Select "Automatic - LCD standard" as the timing;
Type in the necessary resolution (3840x2160) and refresh rate (66Hz) information;
Click on "OK". The new resolution should show up at the bottom of the "Detailed resolutions" list;
Select it and click on the"up" arrow until it's in the top position (that makes it your new native resolution);
Click on "OK" and restart Windows to apply the EDID override (DO NOT RUN restart64.exe);
Right-clicn on your desktop and select "NVIDIA Control Panel";
Navigate to Display > Change resolution;
Scroll down to the bottom of the "Resolution" list;
Under "PC", select "3840x2160 (native)", make sure to select 66Hz as the refresh rate and click on "Apply".


The infinite reboot issue is being caused by restarting the graphics driver instead of the whole system, which is why I recommend avoiding using either restart64.exe for now.

Regarding RGB as the only color format available, that happened to me on 440.52 and 440.97 when trying to add a custom resolution of 4K with 66Hz refresh rate using the Nvidia Control Panel. If you use CRU, following the steps above, you should be able to select all other color settings, including YCbCr422/12bpc (my recommendation).

Just tried your method and it worked flawlessly after failing to reboot the first time but now its all working great and i can select ycbcr422. Thanks.
EeK9X likes this.
Angrycrabb is offline  
post #8587 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 04:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hi there! I returned my Philips 854 and bought LG C9 instead, mainly because of how sounds settings are advanced on the C9, compared to Philips. Anyway, I have couple of questions:

1. Digital Sound Out can be set to "PCM", "Pass Through" or "Auto". By Auto I would understand that it's either PCM or Pass Through. But as far as I know, Pass Through is more less the same as PCM - both are lossless. So what's the point of having possibility to choose between these two?

2. DTV Audio Settings can be set to "Auto", "MPEG", "Dolby Digital", "Dolby Digital Plus" or "HE-AAC". I am not entirely sure where this setting applies. When I watch TV-SAT from the CI+ module the sound is always set to MPEG and I need to manually change it to Dolby Audio on each station, no matter what I set in DTV Audio Settings. It is also explained in the manual, that in Auto mode, TV is searching for a proper signal in the following order: MPEG, Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital Plus, HE-AAC. But MPEG is a lossy format, so why it doesn't start searching from the highest quality coded (DD+) available? How can I change the default audio track on TV-SAT from MPEG to Dolby Audio?

3. AV Sync Adjustment.
a) Does "Bypass" mode applies also to the content being played from a built-in Netflix app, or only external devices, such as Xbox, PS4 or Blu-ray players?
b) If AV Sync Adjustment is disabled, then also no delay is being applied to the sound - the delay is "0". So what's the point of enabling AV Sync Adjustment and turning bypass mode ON, if it's also responsible for 0 sound delay? Or maybe bypass mode is something more?

4. Bluetooth speakers connection - I am trying to connect my Edifier S3000 Pro speakers via BT but TV can't find these. Is it even possible to connect BT stereo speakers to this TV?

Thanks for any help!

Last edited by mike1986.; 10-31-2019 at 04:21 AM.
mike1986. is offline  
post #8588 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 05:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Middel east, LEBANON
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 653 Post(s)
Liked: 449
anyone tried 4k 120hz 4:2:0 on PC ?

Samsung can do that with HDMI 2.0 so it should be doable on the c9.

JVC DLA X590/RS440 / BenQ LK970
madVR HTPC with 1080ti / Lumagen radiance pro 4242
Arendal 1723 LCR Monitors / M&K S150 Surrounds in 5.1.4 atmos setup / Yamaha AX2050 AVR / MiniDSP88BM audio processor/ beta3 6 channels Amp .
tnaik4 is offline  
post #8589 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 05:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lors View Post
Must be your HDMI cable then, how long is it?

HDMI is fine. Anyway I posted it on Nvidia forums they seem to be aware of this bug
GamersGen is offline  
post #8590 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 05:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by tnaik4 View Post
anyone tried 4k 120hz 4:2:0 on PC ?

Samsung can do that with HDMI 2.0 so it should be doable on the c9.



Doesnt work. The only thing q90r does better than c9. Great feature especially to browse internet I wouldnt game on 420
tnaik4 likes this.
GamersGen is offline  
post #8591 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 05:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Middel east, LEBANON
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 653 Post(s)
Liked: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by GamersGen View Post
Doesnt work. The only thing q90r does better than c9. Great feature especially to browse internet I wouldnt game on 420
it is still a nice option to have though , it is weird why it is not doable on the c9 , people are willing to play at 1440p to get the smoother gameplay and we all know its blurry and not comparable to the native 4k resolution, so some might accept the drawback of 4:2:0 to play maybe at 3840x1600 custom resolution @120 hz , hopefully they add it in future updates.

JVC DLA X590/RS440 / BenQ LK970
madVR HTPC with 1080ti / Lumagen radiance pro 4242
Arendal 1723 LCR Monitors / M&K S150 Surrounds in 5.1.4 atmos setup / Yamaha AX2050 AVR / MiniDSP88BM audio processor/ beta3 6 channels Amp .
tnaik4 is offline  
post #8592 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 07:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by tnaik4 View Post
it is still a nice option to have though , it is weird why it is not doable on the c9 , people are willing to play at 1440p to get the smoother gameplay and we all know its blurry and not comparable to the native 4k resolution, so some might accept the drawback of 4:2:0 to play maybe at 3840x1600 custom resolution @120 hz , hopefully they add it in future updates.
We're gonna get 4K120 4:4:4 support whenever they do the HDMI 2.1 firmware update, so we'll surely get 4K120 4:2:0 support for non-HDMI 2.0 users. I suspect they'll be pressured the get this out before the NVIDIA 3000 series releases, which should support full 4K120 4:4:4.
Laupe is offline  
post #8593 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 07:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ericthemidget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,446
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by GamersGen View Post
HDMI is fine. Anyway I posted it on Nvidia forums they seem to be aware of this bug
I would use DDU to remove the drivers (go to guru3d for directions) and then install the new drivers. After you install the new drivers, run CRU to remove the EDID info as well. Then reboot and see if that helps
Ericthemidget is offline  
post #8594 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 07:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ericthemidget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,446
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 59
In the Nvidia CP, what color space should I select for this set? I have it set to auto and my TV set to PC.
Ericthemidget is offline  
post #8595 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 07:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ericthemidget View Post
I would use DDU to remove the drivers (go to guru3d for directions) and then install the new drivers. After you install the new drivers, run CRU to remove the EDID info as well. Then reboot and see if that helps



Not that simple. Ive done it ALL. Except reinstalling windows which I wont. Screw it the other issue with messed up black in HDR is a killer thing for me for these drivers anyway. Screw gsync for now anyway. 120hz 120fps in 1440p is a buttersmooth enough anyway or I usually play in 4k anyway.


As of Nvidia CP I always set chroma 444 8bit. Its just looks best, and I laugh hard at that PC mode casue even in PC mode in same chroma set it looks worse Never ever use PC mode guys
GamersGen is offline  
post #8596 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 07:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
scherer326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,188
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonastaghizadeh View Post
Where did you find that update? checked the US, european and korean sites and cant find 04.70.12 anywhere? Is it a beta update?
from the us website, download and install via usb. I dont think its available OTA yet but I may be wrong there...
https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS

LG 65C9 OLED
Sony XBR-55A1E OLED
scherer326 is offline  
post #8597 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 07:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
scherer326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,188
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 21
what video players (not streaming devices) are people using to play 4k discs. Also is there a website where you can rent 4k discs, does redbox do it?

LG 65C9 OLED
Sony XBR-55A1E OLED
scherer326 is offline  
post #8598 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 07:48 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 26,440
Mentioned: 92 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7651 Post(s)
Liked: 7714
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baff View Post
I would think so too, but LG is still the only one with anything that has 2.1, so who can say for sure. A lot of people were sure there would be graphics cards with 2.1 by now.
Makes you wonder what the hold up is......
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #8599 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 07:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ericthemidget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,446
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by GamersGen View Post
Not that simple. Ive done it ALL. Except reinstalling windows which I wont. Screw it the other issue with messed up black in HDR is a killer thing for me for these drivers anyway. Screw gsync for now anyway. 120hz 120fps in 1440p is a buttersmooth enough anyway or I usually play in 4k anyway.


As of Nvidia CP I always set chroma 444 8bit. Its just looks best, and I laugh hard at that PC mode casue even in PC mode in same chroma set it looks worse Never ever use PC mode guys
What's wrong with PC mode?

Also, a windows reinstall goes pretty fast. I do it every few months, especially since I have a 12 year old who uses my PC on the regular.

Also, why game at 4K? I have a RTX 2080 TI and 4k performance is still sub 60hz for most games. I'd stikc with 1440P for sure
Tygeezy likes this.
Ericthemidget is offline  
post #8600 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 07:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RafaelSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando Fl
Posts: 3,257
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1116 Post(s)
Liked: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siran77 View Post
Don't forget that most of the time you'll have an average bitrate that may be in the 70-80 but spikes over 100Mbit/s which will cause stutter. Plus, 100Mbit/s is without any protocol overhead, the net speed you'll have for actual content will be lower, more like 80 Mbit/s or less. That's why I moved to 5Ghz (my WiFi router is like 5m from the TV, so no signal strength issues) and every 4K .mkv I've played has been flawless.
I have been looking for excuse to put another Unifi AP in that side of the house
Siran77 likes this.
RafaelSmith is online now  
post #8601 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 08:01 AM
I'm That Guy, don't be me
 
Baff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dark Side of the Earth
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 324 Post(s)
Liked: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by scherer326 View Post
from the us website, download and install via usb. I dont think its available OTA yet but I may be wrong there...
https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS
We aren't seeing 04.70.12, we still see 04.70.05.
What part of the country are you in? That can make a difference.
Angrycrabb likes this.

LG 65" C9; Denon AVR-S750H
5.1.2: Emotiva Airmotiv C2, T-Zero (x2), E1 (x4); HSU VTF-2

Last edited by Baff; 10-31-2019 at 08:05 AM.
Baff is offline  
post #8602 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 08:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Q90r to C9 Convert

IF anyone is still floating around between which to by over the other, I've recently made the switch from the Q90r and here are my impressions:

The C9 is better in almost everyway! I was shocked by the difference in detail on the screen. Besides the superior light control, the wide-angle filter & sub-pixel rendering on the Q90r has a real-world negative impact on the PQ of the TV. I'm constantly impressed by the additional detail I see in HDR sources in particular.

I prefer the motion handling of the c9 as well. It just looks more natural, especially during slow pans. There are also much fewer artifacts generated by interpolation.

The reflections are certainly more prominent on the c9, but the TV is brighter than I expected, and I seldom watch SDR content over OLED Light 60 (ISF dark room). At night, OLED 20 is plenty. I have windows adjacent to the TV, but can also pull curtains when watching so your mileage may vary in an extremely bright room.

There is simply no contest when it comes to shadow detail, especially in HDR. The C9 opened my eyes to what I've been missing. The opening of Black Panther (Jungle "rescue" scene) was like watching a new movie. The Q90r crushes black detail to an extreme degree to control blooming in dark scenes.

Speaking of HDR, the sense of depth in the picture is another win for the C9 because of the contrast control. I was concerned that things like muzzle flair, explosions, and flashlights wouldn't be as dazzlingly bright on the c9, but my fears were unfounded due to the contrast control of the TV. I was also concerned about color volume, but the c9 and the q90 are basically on par because the wide-angle filter of the q90 reduces it's available spectrum. The q90r also juices the luminance curve to an extreme degree so often bright content just looked very bright with little contrast depth.

The ARC delay on the C9 is also present on the Q90 so no loss there. Just an annoyance. Maybe it's my AVR (Onkyo TX-NR757).

So in short - maybe I should have started with the C9, but if I hadn't had the q90r first (had it for 6 months), I might be wondering if the grass was greener on the Samsung side. I'm glad to know now (at least for me) the LG grass is the better grass.

Last edited by bjorktribe; 10-31-2019 at 08:10 AM.
bjorktribe is offline  
post #8603 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 08:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonastaghizadeh View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechNerd666 View Post
Software update 04.70.12 is out OTA.
What does this one do?
Where did you find that update? checked the US, european and korean sites and cant find 04.70.12 anywhere? Is it a beta update?
OTA. From the TV itself. I was previously on 04.70.05 which I got from the LG site.

In from the USA. Chicago area.
TechNerd666 is offline  
post #8604 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 08:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by GamersGen View Post
As of Nvidia CP I always set chroma 444 8bit. Its just looks best, and I laugh hard at that PC mode casue even in PC mode in same chroma set it looks worse Never ever use PC mode guys
What? PC mode is the ONLY way to get proper 4:4:4 on this set. Period. Saying something like "Never ever use PC mode guys" is very misinforming.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ericthemidget View Post
In the Nvidia CP, what color space should I select for this set? I have it set to auto and my TV set to PC.
YCbCr444 Limited with the TV also set to HDMI Level Limited.
mrtickleuk likes this.

Last edited by Laupe; 10-31-2019 at 08:41 AM.
Laupe is offline  
post #8605 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 08:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Tygeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 313 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Бальтазар Лин View Post
WTF are you talking about? It was created by HDMI Forum! All the AMD did with it was create PROPRIATERY non-standard solution in HDMI before 2.1! And in DisplayPort it was already implemented (AdaptiveSync). The did nothing and are pathetic.

Last edited by Tygeezy; 10-31-2019 at 08:57 AM.
Tygeezy is offline  
post #8606 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 08:57 AM
Member
 
Angrycrabb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechNerd666 View Post
OTA. From the TV itself. I was previously on 04.70.05 which I got from the LG site.

In from the USA. Chicago area.
Can’t find it on any LG website can you share it with us?
Angrycrabb is offline  
post #8607 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 09:24 AM
I'm That Guy, don't be me
 
Baff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dark Side of the Earth
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 324 Post(s)
Liked: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angrycrabb View Post
Can’t find it on any LG website can you share it with us?
Technerd doesn't have the file. He got the update via the tv's autoupdate. LG often rolls out updates to limited areas at first. It should roll out to more areas in the US over the next couple days. We just have to wait for it to roll out or for them to make it available via manual download on the website.

Though, scherer326 did seem to see the file as a manual download.
Angrycrabb and Upandown like this.

LG 65" C9; Denon AVR-S750H
5.1.2: Emotiva Airmotiv C2, T-Zero (x2), E1 (x4); HSU VTF-2

Last edited by Baff; 10-31-2019 at 09:28 AM.
Baff is offline  
post #8608 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 09:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laupe View Post
What? PC mode is the ONLY way to get proper 4:4:4 on this set. Period. Saying something like "Never ever use PC mode guys" is very misinforming.



YCbCr444 Limited with the TV also set to HDMI Level Limited.

Let me explain why thats bull**** FOA what have I chosen in panel isnt that 444? yes it is. Didnt I do myself experiments rebranding 2nd HDMI as a PC 1st one standard, swap the cables and compared everything I could? Yes I did. Where does everything looks better? On Standard HDMI connection. Period. You cant convence me casue I used scientific method and my own eyes were the detector. Also PC mode grays out many useful features like Dynamic Contrast etc for some unknown reason. So thats 2nd reason to screw it


https://imgur.com/dSCantF
GamersGen is offline  
post #8609 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 10:02 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Aliens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,135
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2554 Post(s)
Liked: 3849
Took my first look at 4K panels today, specifically the LG-65"C9, and really liked what I saw. They didn't have the 77" for a comparison, but at least I got to see the 65". But I do have a huge concern. These are so thin it looks like you could easily snap them into several pieces. I would think there would be a number of breakages during installation because the majority of weight is at the bottom, so that if you would tip the top too far forward and do a quick stop, it would snap and there goes thousands of dollars down the drain. Imagined or real concern?
Aliens is online now  
post #8610 of 15671 Old 10-31-2019, 10:10 AM
Member
 
Angrycrabb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by GamersGen View Post
Let me explain why thats bull**** FOA what have I chosen in panel isnt that 444? yes it is. Didnt I do myself experiments rebranding 2nd HDMI as a PC 1st one standard, swap the cables and compared everything I could? Yes I did. Where does everything looks better? On Standard HDMI connection. Period. You cant convence me casue I used scientific method and my own eyes were the detector. Also PC mode grays out many useful features like Dynamic Contrast etc for some unknown reason. So thats 2nd reason to screw it


https://imgur.com/dSCantF
There’s no reason to use anything higher than 4:2:0 limited anyway imo which is what the entire movie industry masters their content at, and using anything higher is just unnecessary conversion which causes all sorts of problems. I agree just set the tv at limited game mode or cinema and have them calibrated for best results you don’t even need PC mode.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Baff View Post
Technerd doesn't have the file. He got the update via the tv's autoupdate. LG often rolls out updates to limited areas at first. It should roll out to more areas in the US over the next couple days. We just have to wait for it to roll out or for them to make it available via manual download on the website.

Though, scherer326 did seem to see the file as a manual download.
I thought he had it maybe it was someone else.
Angrycrabb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
allm , dead , directional hdmi , hdmi , judder , lg c9 , lg c9 oled , lg oled c9 , lgoled , Marantz , motion , oled , oled 55 , pixel dead , pixels , soundbar advice , sr5012

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off