2019 C9–E9 Owner's Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 306 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 6063Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9151 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 04:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 630 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Just downloaded Disney + on E9 and A9F. Yet to try on either.

Sony 65 A9F, LG 65 E9
New_to_4K is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9152 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 04:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 630 Post(s)
Liked: 226
No atmos from internal app of A9F or E9 on Disney +, Apple tv shows Atmos for some content e.g. Guardians of Galaxy.

Sony 65 A9F, LG 65 E9
New_to_4K is offline  
post #9153 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 04:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Anyone here hooked up to an Nvidia Shield TV? If so whats the best resolution/framerate etc... to choose? YUV...10bit...12bit...

65" Sony A9G | 49" Sony X900E | Sony HT-ST5000 SB | 2019 Nvidia Shield TV Pro | Xbox One X
jbalsor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9154 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 05:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 630 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Looks like Disney servers has crashed, too many people logging into. App is laggy.

Sony 65 A9F, LG 65 E9
New_to_4K is offline  
post #9155 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 05:25 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello ,

Does anyone know if I can use the magic remote from my c9 with the ps4. it doesn’t work right now, even though I can turn on the ps4 when I turn on my tv.

Also I have another question. When watching Netflix, some series have some I think it’s noise. You see it when looking at someone’s face for example. Is there anything I can do about that? What setting do I need to change. I have the 4K subscription.
Wesleyy is offline  
post #9156 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 05:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
T-smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 1,142
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 371 Post(s)
Liked: 336
2019 C9–E9 Owner's Thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by New_to_4K View Post
Looks like Disney servers has crashed, too many people logging into. App is laggy.


Gee who could have predicted there would be issues when you wait until the last minute to release the app

It’s working on my Fire Stick though so it appears to be an LG issue


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

-
Upgraditus is a real disease
T-smith is online now  
post #9157 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 05:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,354
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 853 Post(s)
Liked: 831
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-smith View Post
Gee who could have predicted there would be issues when you wait until the last minute to release the app

It’s working on my Fire Stick though so it appears to be an LG issue


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Working fine for me on all 3 TV's C6,c8 and c9.

Everyone watching something.

LG C9, C8, C6 w/Pioneer SC-LX502 AVR, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Nintendo Switch

Living Room: LG OLED65C9, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedrooms: LG OLED65C8, LG OLED55C6, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
LG C6PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-OLED55C6P.AUS
LG C8PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
LG C9PUA/AUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #9158 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 06:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 630 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-smith View Post
Gee who could have predicted there would be issues when you wait until the last minute to release the app

It’s working on my Fire Stick though so it appears to be an LG issue


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I have the same issue on A9F and had problem with Apple tv 4k.

Sony 65 A9F, LG 65 E9
New_to_4K is offline  
post #9159 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 06:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
T-smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 1,142
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 371 Post(s)
Liked: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrocker23 View Post
Working fine for me on all 3 TV's C6,c8 and c9.

Everyone watching something.

LG C9, C8, C6 w/Pioneer SC-LX502 AVR, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Nintendo Switch


It worked on my C9 first try after not working on my B8 but now working on my B8 as well.

No issues getting in on either Fire Stick


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

-
Upgraditus is a real disease
T-smith is online now  
post #9160 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 06:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
obveron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by LiLAsN View Post
Are you sure all video content is in 4:2:0? We are talking about Streaming apps. Not physical discs with its own limitations (i.e disc reading speed).
Streaming apps takes the Mastering Copy and does their own Encoding to be put on the platform similar to how Physical Discs also has to encode to fit it into the disc.
Taking streaming videos into equation, I tried changing to 4:2:0 in 4K SDR with Match Content and Match Frame Rate turned on.

Why is it that when a normal 1080p video plays, it changed the chroma from 4:2:0 when in the Apple menu back to YcBcR 4:4:4 in the said video?

Wouldn't that suggest Apple's videos are encoded with 4:4:4 Chroma information in the first place instead of 4:2:0? I tried using 4K HDR with 4:2:2. Again, the video will revert to SDR 8-bit but with 4:4:4 chroma.

Something similar to how Netflix does as they have apps on the TV themselves and therefore, they are not limited by the HDMI connection and thus, there's no need to sub sample the chroma information when encoding the videos from the Mastering copy.
Netlfix and other streamers have much more limitations than HDMI connection. HDMI 2.0b is what 18Gbit/s, Netflix wants to send you 10 bit 4k HDR video on about 25Mbit/s internet connection. You can bet they are using all sorts of lossy compression tecniques to bring the bit rate down, 4:2:0 is a lot lighter on HEVC encoders, and gets you better quality encodes for the same (low) bitrate, you can bet they are using 4:2:0.
bjaurelio and mrtickleuk like this.
obveron is offline  
post #9161 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 07:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 422 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Hey guys!


I just picked up the 55" C9, yeah! She's going into my bedroom (tempted to put her in my living room and move my Sony 65"A1E OLED into the bedroom). 65" may be too much screen/brightness in the bedroom when watching TV though.


As a complete noob with this stuff should i just follow the RTings settings and i'm good to go? With my Sony A1E i leave it on Cinema Pro....what's best practice for the C9?


I can't wait to set it up later and compare her to my Sony OLED. I want to thank my wife for being a badass and saying "yes, whatever" to make the purchase for a gaming TV in the bedroom.


Usage will be 70% Netflix/Prime TV shows (not movies) and 30% Xbox One X gaming. Thanks for any tips/hints. I'm starting to read this owners thread...on page 2 of 306 (not sure how much i will get done today).


Sony 65 A1E/LG 55 C9
PSB Imagine X2T Towers / PSB C Centre
PSB Image B6 Surrounds
Dual SVS PB 1000's / 4 SVS Elevation Atmos
Marantz 7013
Dustin Windsor is offline  
post #9162 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 07:40 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,691
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 679 Post(s)
Liked: 485
Guys I've scheduled with LG to have the mainboard on my TV replaced due to continued occasional "black screen" on some of my HDMI inputs.

I assume when this happens my TV is going to be reset back to factory so I will need to record all of my picture settings.

Is there anything else I should be aware of in preparation for this kind of repair?
jmpage2 is offline  
post #9163 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 07:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,354
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 853 Post(s)
Liked: 831
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustin Windsor View Post
Hey guys!


I just picked up the 55" C9, yeah! She's going into my bedroom (tempted to put her in my living room and move my Sony 65"A1E OLED into the bedroom). 65" may be too much screen/brightness in the bedroom when watching TV though.


As a complete noob with this stuff should i just follow the RTings settings and i'm good to go? With my Sony A1E i leave it on Cinema Pro....what's best practice for the C9?


I can't wait to set it up later and compare her to my Sony OLED. I want to thank my wife for being a badass and saying "yes, whatever" to make the purchase for a gaming TV in the bedroom.


Usage will be 70% Netflix/Prime TV shows (not movies) and 30% Xbox One X gaming. Thanks for any tips/hints. I'm starting to read this owners thread...on page 2 of 306 (not sure how much i will get done today).
Most accurate to actual calibrated sets is ISF Dark, ISF light is very good too




LG C9, C8, C6 w/Pioneer SC-LX502 AVR, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Nintendo Switch

Living Room: LG OLED65C9, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedrooms: LG OLED65C8, LG OLED55C6, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
LG C6PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-OLED55C6P.AUS
LG C8PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
LG C9PUA/AUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #9164 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 07:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by obveron View Post
Netlfix and other streamers have much more limitations than HDMI connection. HDMI 2.0b is what 18Gbit/s, Netflix wants to send you 10 bit 4k HDR video on about 25Mbit/s internet connection. You can bet they are using all sorts of lossy compression tecniques to bring the bit rate down, 4:2:0 is a lot lighter on HEVC encoders, and gets you better quality encodes for the same (low) bitrate, you can bet they are using 4:2:0.
That's the thing. This is how it is supposed to be as said by the other guy.

But in reality, looking at the HDMI information from the LG Secret Menu tells you another story. It's 4:4:4 8-bit for SDR videos. Not the menu. You can try being in HDR mode all the time and all in the Apple menu, as long as you turn on Content Matching, 8 bit 4:4:4 is what you'll get for SDR videos.
With content matching On, HDR videos will be in BT.2020 automatically even if you are on 4:4:4 SDR on the Apple menu.

If you disable Content Match, then of cos you can get 4:2:0 but whether it is accurate or not is another thing.

Looks like they are using lossy encoding elsewhere and not on the chroma value specifically.
LiLAsN is online now  
post #9165 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 07:47 AM
Member
 
fenster3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post
Guys I've scheduled with LG to have the mainboard on my TV replaced due to continued occasional "black screen" on some of my HDMI inputs.

I assume when this happens my TV is going to be reset back to factory so I will need to record all of my picture settings.

Is there anything else I should be aware of in preparation for this kind of repair?


Make sure you are not logged in in Apps like Netflix etc.. Resetting your TV to factory defaults is the fastest way when you are logged in into multiple Apps. Who knows what they are going to do with the old mainboard...

Other than that there is no need to worry. The repair guys will take care of the rest.

TV: LG OLED 55C97LA | Panasonic TX-40CXW684
LS: 2x nuBox 381 | 2x nuBox DS-301 | 2x nuBox WS-103 | 1x nuBox CS-411 | 1x nuBox AW-443 | 2x nuPro A-200
SRC: Yamaha RX-V675 | Panasonic DMP-BDT500EG | Panasonic DP-UB824 | PS3 | PS4 | PS4 PRO

Last edited by fenster3000; 11-12-2019 at 07:51 AM.
fenster3000 is offline  
post #9166 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 08:01 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,957
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6865 Post(s)
Liked: 6864
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-smith View Post
Gee who could have predicted there would be issues when you wait until the last minute to release the app

It’s working on my Fire Stick though so it appears to be an LG issue
Firestick is such a cheap solution...... works fine over here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post
Guys I've scheduled with LG to have the mainboard on my TV replaced due to continued occasional "black screen" on some of my HDMI inputs.

I assume when this happens my TV is going to be reset back to factory so I will need to record all of my picture settings.

Is there anything else I should be aware of in preparation for this kind of repair?
Yep, you will need your settings, you may need to tweak them again too.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #9167 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 08:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 630 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Firestick is such a cheap solution...... works fine over here.

Yep, you will need your settings, you may need to tweak them again too.
I don't like that FireStick.

Sony 65 A9F, LG 65 E9
New_to_4K is offline  
post #9168 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 08:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
obveron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by LiLAsN View Post
That's the thing. This is how it is supposed to be as said by the other guy.

But in reality, looking at the HDMI information from the LG Secret Menu tells you another story. It's 4:4:4 8-bit for SDR videos. Not the menu. You can try being in HDR mode all the time and all in the Apple menu, as long as you turn on Content Matching, 8 bit 4:4:4 is what you'll get for SDR videos.
With content matching On, HDR videos will be in BT.2020 automatically even if you are on 4:4:4 SDR on the Apple menu.

If you disable Content Match, then of cos you can get 4:2:0 but whether it is accurate or not is another thing.

Looks like they are using lossy encoding elsewhere and not on the chroma value specifically.
I'm not convinced the content was encoded in 4:4:4 just because Apple's "content matching" setting outputs such. It just doesn't make sense. UHD bluray bitrates and optical disk read speeds are MUCH higher than the typical internet speeds the streamers target. but bluray uses 4:2:0 because it saves the encoder from wasting bitrate on less noticable chroma data and therefore can use more bitrate to avoid noticable macro blocking on fast motion, 10 bit color, etc. Streamers are even more bitrate constrained, I just can't believe they would use 4:4:4 in even their SDR encodes.

If I had to guess, Apple's content matching output's 4:4:4 in SDR because it doesn't try to autodetect the chroma value of the content, and just outputs 4:4:4 as the safe output choice. Upconverting 4:2:0 to 4:4:4 is a lossless zero padding process, the quality will match exactly the 4:2:0 source with no improvement and no loss. So there is no downside to using 4:4:4 when there are no HDMI limits to worry about (as is the case with 8bit SDR @4k).
LiLAsN likes this.
obveron is offline  
post #9169 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 08:22 AM
Member
 
otlbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: San Diego
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Just purchased the 55" C9. It was delivered last Friday and I spent a lot of time trying to find the best user settings for my setup. The main source is Directv, but I did pick up a 4K player. The only disc I own at the moment is the Spears and Munsil UHD test disc. When viewing the demonstration material, I have to be honest, it doesn't look any better than any 1080 source. When choosing DV or HDR, it looks the same as the SDR choices.
I borrowed a 4K disc and it too looks underwhelming. The same holds true for the Home page APPs, netflix or Amazon Prime. The HDR logo appears on screen, but it doesn't look any better than HD.

Is there something that need to be implemented in any setting that will improve what I am seeing with HDR sources?

I had a Sony 55" A9G and even though there were some problems with it and it was returned, overall, I think the picture quality was a tad bit better.

Prior to either of these OLEDs I owned a Pioneer Elite Kuro. It was a real gem and I'm kicking myself for selling it.
otlbum is offline  
post #9170 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 08:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by obveron View Post
I'm not convinced the content was encoded in 4:4:4 just because Apple's "content matching" setting outputs such. It just doesn't make sense. UHD bluray bitrates and optical disk read speeds are MUCH higher than the typical internet speeds the streamers target. but bluray uses 4:2:0 because it saves the encoder from wasting bitrate on less noticable chroma data and therefore can use more bitrate to avoid noticable macro blocking on fast motion, 10 bit color, etc. Streamers are even more bitrate constrained, I just can't believe they would use 4:4:4 in even their SDR encodes.

If I had to guess, Apple's content matching output's 4:4:4 in SDR because it doesn't try to autodetect the chroma value of the content, and just outputs 4:4:4 as the safe output choice. Upconverting 4:2:0 to 4:4:4 is a lossless zero padding process, the quality will match exactly the 4:2:0 source with no improvement and no loss. So there is no downside to using 4:4:4 when there are no HDMI limits to worry about (as is the case with 8bit SDR @4k).
I agree. After all, the 4K SDR 4:4:4/4:2:0 only applies to the Apple TV menu. With match content, it will automatically switch the chroma subsampling automatically for you to match the content.
So as you said, for SDR, it's 4:4:4 but because content is in 4:2:0, it won't look any different.
And for HDR video being played, the signal automatically switches to 4:2:2 and BT2020 colourspace.

Resulting in the discussion on which chroma subsampling to use mute the moment we enable Content Match. As mentioned, whatever default Chroma we choose only applies for the Apple TV menus.
obveron and mrtickleuk like this.
LiLAsN is online now  
post #9171 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 08:51 AM
Member
 
Angrycrabb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Looks like the Grey blacks issue has been fixed.

New feature and fixes in driver 441.20:

[HDR]: HDR black levels are grey on LG OLED55C9. [2738708]
Deepo, PittyH and LiLAsN like this.
Angrycrabb is offline  
post #9172 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 09:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
bryantc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Europa
Posts: 808
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked: 515
Is anybody getting more than stereo audio from the Disney+ app?

Media: LG 88" 8K OLED Z9 / Denon AVR-X8500H 7.1.4 / Oppo UDP-203 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / Sony 4K FMP-X10 / Gaming PC (Threadripper 1950X / 2x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SLI) / PlayStation 4 Pro with PS VR / PlayStation (original)
Family: Sony 85" 4K XBR-85X900F / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / C64 Mini - Game: LG 77" 4K OLED C8 / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K
bryantc is offline  
post #9173 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 09:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,882
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1570 Post(s)
Liked: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryantc View Post
Is anybody getting more than stereo audio from the Disney+ app?
The app on LG TVs is limited to stereo audio right now.
dwaleke is offline  
post #9174 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
crawlgsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Good morning! I jumped on the C9 Train (55") on Saturday. Coming from a TCL P Series. The TV itself is absolute BLISS! Mine is primarily for gaming and the quality and input lag is phenomenal. The OS... well not so much, but I knew that already as I have a 2018 LG 4k HDR LCD with webos on it. Seriously though I don't understand how such SIMPLE functions could be made so complicated (or non existent). Video settings in weird places, sluggish and frustrating to use UI, slow to update apps, etc.. Even picking your INPUT is quite the task on this TV. (is there really no way to add HDMI inputs to the "bar" like the older version of WEBOS?)

Startup input - is it so much to ask to force it to a set startup Input? I loved that my TCL would just go to HDMI1 every time. The other 10% when I wanted to do something else I could hit home and choose. This makes sense!


You can't turn off the internal speakers? Really? (or am I missing something?). IE: If I set to ARC, but then I turn off my soundbar to use my headset, the internal speakers switch on. Why does ARC not persist? (and more annoyingly if I turn my soundbar back on it does not go back to ARC). Using MUTE is also not an option as it leaves a gaint no sound logo on the screen that never goes away! The only option I have found is to manually turn my soundbar volume to 0, annoying and a waste of electricity. Please tell me I am missing something!?


Thanks for any pointers/solutions anyone may have.
crawlgsx is offline  
post #9175 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 09:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 630 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryantc View Post
Is anybody getting more than stereo audio from the Disney+ app?
Apple tv 4k gives me Atmos on Disney+.

Not in internal app. for A9F and E9. Not even 5.1.

Sony 65 A9F, LG 65 E9
New_to_4K is offline  
post #9176 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 09:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,354
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 853 Post(s)
Liked: 831
Quote:
Originally Posted by crawlgsx View Post
Good morning! I jumped on the C9 Train (55") on Saturday. Coming from a TCL P Series. The TV itself is absolute BLISS! Mine is primarily for gaming and the quality and input lag is phenomenal. The OS... well not so much, but I knew that already as I have a 2018 LG 4k HDR LCD with webos on it. Seriously though I don't understand how such SIMPLE functions could be made so complicated (or non existent). Video settings in weird places, sluggish and frustrating to use UI, slow to update apps, etc.. Even picking your INPUT is quite the task on this TV. (is there really no way to add HDMI inputs to the "bar" like the older version of WEBOS?)

Startup input - is it so much to ask to force it to a set startup Input? I loved that my TCL would just go to HDMI1 every time. The other 10% when I wanted to do something else I could hit home and choose. This makes sense!


You can't turn off the internal speakers? Really? (or am I missing something?). IE: If I set to ARC, but then I turn off my soundbar to use my headset, the internal speakers switch on. Why does ARC not persist? (and more annoyingly if I turn my soundbar back on it does not go back to ARC). Using MUTE is also not an option as it leaves a gaint no sound logo on the screen that never goes away! The only option I have found is to manually turn my soundbar volume to 0, annoying and a waste of electricity. Please tell me I am missing something!?


Thanks for any pointers/solutions anyone may have.
Sounds like you need to do a reset of your tv, I have none of those issues on my 65C9.

No sluggish menus, turns on to the input that is connected to the device I use. There is an option to turn off internal speakers. .

Maybe I'm missing something but no issues that you stated

LG C9, C8, C6 w/Pioneer SC-LX502 AVR, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Nintendo Switch
dfa973 likes this.

Living Room: LG OLED65C9, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedrooms: LG OLED65C8, LG OLED55C6, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
LG C6PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-OLED55C6P.AUS
LG C8PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
LG C9PUA/AUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #9177 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 09:32 AM
Senior Member
 
bjaurelio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Mansfield, TX
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwaleke View Post
The app on LG TVs is limited to stereo audio right now.
That stinks. At least I can use my Xbox, but it would be nice if the TV app supported Atmos.
bjaurelio is offline  
post #9178 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 09:54 AM
Member
 
GAmbrose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi all.

Question regarding G-sync on the LG C9

I have an Nvidia 2080ti and my PC currently connects to an older Denon X3200W AVR (no EARC) with HDMI 2.0. This is so I can send a Dolby Atmos signal.

The AVR then connects to the TV for video pass-through

The trouble is that the TV only sees the Denon AVR as a monitor, and therefore I can't enable G-sync on it.

Is there anyway around this, other than connecting the PC directly to the TV, and therefore losing Dolby Atmos?

Thanks
GAmbrose is offline  
post #9179 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 10:01 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unlucky
for a new C9
What is it ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	74666329_513906082784937_7109438916729503744_n.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	51.1 KB
ID:	2640138   Click image for larger version

Name:	75328804_423975591837926_3902845019622473728_n.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	24.2 KB
ID:	2640140  
Kristaps Vilcāns is offline  
post #9180 of 10451 Old 11-12-2019, 10:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,354
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 853 Post(s)
Liked: 831
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kristaps Vilcāns View Post
Unlucky

for a new C9

What is it ?
You have to give the screen time to break in. The usual break-in period for this tv is about 200 hours.

You just got the tv, just enjoy it. Don't look for issues. If it's not an issue that is apparent or damage, just enjoy

LG C9, C8, C6 w/Pioneer SC-LX502 AVR, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Nintendo Switch
D Bone and dfa973 like this.

Living Room: LG OLED65C9, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedrooms: LG OLED65C8, LG OLED55C6, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
LG C6PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-OLED55C6P.AUS
LG C8PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
LG C9PUA/AUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS
Jrocker23 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
allm , dead , lg c9 oled , lg oled c9 , oled 55 , pixel dead , pixels

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off