2019 C9–E9 Owner's Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 337 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 6683Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10081 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 02:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,578
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5582 Post(s)
Liked: 3986
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Hi, I haven't checked what Apple TV 4K is doing, but the users can see what framerate their TV's is receiving from HDMI Input by entering to LG's Hidden Diagnostics Menu.

But you can't see what is the content native framerate if its been used a streaming provider for such content evaluation.

The best method is to use a stand-alone player with a blu-ray disk for example where you are sure about the content frame rate for such evaluations.
Thanks for that hidden diagnostic link. Works great on both my 2015 and 2016 LG OLED tv's.
ConnecTEDDD likes this.
wxman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10082 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 03:22 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Hi everyone! Ordered a 55c9 a couple days ago, but been reading this thread on and off since the tread was created.

I will mainly drive the set with a PC for movies, games, amd rx580, 7.1 setup via a Denon x1200w AVR (ARC, hdcp 2.2, HDMI2.0), an hdcp 1.4 only PC monitor will still be connected as a second screen.

I want to keep using 7.1 (and not 5.1 via ARC or Optical), my understanding is that I will either need to upgrade to an eARC compatible AVR or buy a 400$ HD fury thing... (I can't justify such purchase right now to the missus, that's for sure)

I'm pretty sure I read somewhere I could wire the 2nd HDMI port on my gpu to my AVR (just for sound), lowering the display resolution on that "screen" and choose the AVR as default device for sound in windows and still get 7.1... DO I need to hack the EDID of the AVR on windows so it is recognized as a second/third screen of something ? will I be able to retain HDR on the C9 (and VRR/Highter framerates when HDMI 2.1 card come) with a not HDR capable second screen and and avr with EDID hacked to act as a screen ?

Any pointers on that front would be greatly appreciated, thanks a lot


this won't solve PS4 pro (for BD/games) loosing 2 channels but that's a start at least.
ShinKaz is offline  
post #10083 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 05:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rennisa View Post
This may seem like an odd question. I've had my C9 for a little over 2 months now and maybe it was a placebo effect, but running games at like lets say 1080P or 2560x1440 looked really good up close the upscaling was doing a great job. After the last firmware update even 2560x1140 has noticeable artifacts that I didn't see before, my PC can reasonable run the games I play at 4K with decent settings, but I was really enjoying the 120Hz action I was receiving before.


Has anyone else noticed any such problems? Or is it all in my head?


Thanks for your time!
Do you know which firmware update your on? North America have the most recent firmware but the EU are still on 04.07.05.
I presume your using Aspect Ratio scaling mode and then preforming the scaling on 'display'. If so then a firmware update could increase or decrease the quality of the scaling. Personally I have not noticed a change but have been on firmware 04.07.05 for almost two months.

What I have noticed is that some games scale excellently from 1440p and others have really issues with anti aliasing and shimmering edges. Destiny 2 is a good example whereby at 1440p, shimmering lines are not corrected by either the games MSAA or FXAA. The shimmering is increased by playing in HDR.

Red Dead Redemption 2 and Borderlands 3 scale very well with a minimal loss in visual fidelity and minimal artefacts.

So it could placebo or you changing games but could also be a change in firmware. Interested to see if anyone else has noticed a change.
Ivan Sharpe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10084 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 05:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonastaghizadeh View Post
Here is a video of the vertical banding on my 65 inch c9 when playing sea of thieves (if possible watch it in 4k). This is the worst case in terms of banding I have ever seen while gaming. Would you say that this banding is worse than on your sets? (this question is especially relevant for people who play lots of games on the c9 as many games do not show this degree of vertical banding)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yXTZqccPkUo
Yuck. I'm sorry about that. That looks terrible.
Jason Smith is offline  
post #10085 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 06:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,421
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 908 Post(s)
Liked: 881
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonastaghizadeh View Post
Here is a video of the vertical banding on my 65 inch c9 when playing sea of thieves (if possible watch it in 4k). This is the worst case in terms of banding I have ever seen while gaming. Would you say that this banding is worse than on your sets? (this question is especially relevant for people who play lots of games on the c9 as many games do not show this degree of vertical banding)



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yXTZqccPkUo
How long have you had the TV? Has it been used over 200 hours yet?

LG C9, C8, C6 w/Pioneer SC-LX502 AVR, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Nintendo Switch

Living Room: LG OLED65C9, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedrooms: LG OLED65C8, LG OLED55C6, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
LG C6PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-OLED55C6P.AUS
LG C8PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
LG C9PUA/AUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #10086 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 07:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stevec325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Newtown, PA
Posts: 3,408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonastaghizadeh View Post
Here is a video of the vertical banding on my 65 inch c9 when playing sea of thieves (if possible watch it in 4k). This is the worst case in terms of banding I have ever seen while gaming. Would you say that this banding is worse than on your sets? (this question is especially relevant for people who play lots of games on the c9 as many games do not show this degree of vertical banding)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yXTZqccPkUo
That's really bad, man. Sorry to see it.

Assuming that your settings are in the range of reasonable, I suggest that you return this panel immediately, especially if you have >200 hours on it.

I had "some" very minor banding on mine at first. After around 175-225 +/- hours, it became all but non-existant. And I can never see it in any content, SDR, HDR, or other. I do not game, so I can't say if I would see it in that application.

-steve
"...and all the science, I don't understand. It's just my job, five days a week."
stevec325 is offline  
post #10087 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 07:40 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey guys!

Just got my 77" C9 and trying to figure out how I can use g-sync with no issues, and still get lossless multi channel PCM to my surround system.
I have a Geforce RTX 2080 Ti GPU, but only one HDMI port, three Display Ports, and one VirtualLink port.
My AVR is an Onkyo TX-NR656.

What are my options? Please come with as many solutions as possible. That would be most appreciated. Thanks a lot in advance.
Sakishiro is offline  
post #10088 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 07:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sakishiro View Post
Hey guys!Just got my 77" C9 and trying to figure out how I can use g-sync with no issues, and still get lossless multi channel PCM to my surround system.


I've read PCM surround passthrough will come in a firmware update "Q2 2020". So then you can connect directly to your TV, and it should work fine.


As for right now, I have no idea.
MiSP is offline  
post #10089 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 08:03 AM
Member
 
Jonastaghizadeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevec325 View Post
That's really bad, man. Sorry to see it.

Assuming that your settings are in the range of reasonable, I suggest that you return this panel immediately, especially if you have >200 hours on it.

I had "some" very minor banding on mine at first. After around 175-225 +/- hours, it became all but non-existant. And I can never see it in any content, SDR, HDR, or other. I do not game, so I can't say if I would see it in that application.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrocker23 View Post
How long have you had the TV? Has it been used over 200 hours yet?

LG C9, C8, C6 w/Pioneer SC-LX502 AVR, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Nintendo Switch

I bought it in the middle of september so assuming I game and watch movies around 3 hours a day I would guess I have around 200 hours on it (plus/minus 50 hours). However, i didn't return it within the return window as the bands are almost non-existent in movies (since the camera is usually static). Not even the famous Marco polo torture test show clear and visible bands. However, in gaming, you are much more likely to see the bands as you pan the camera and in games like sea of thieves it just looks terrible.

I contacted LG repair around one week ago and still has not heard anything from them. if anyone has any tips/suggestions that can increase the likelihood that they replace the panel I would really appreciate getting them.

Last edited by Jonastaghizadeh; 12-03-2019 at 08:11 AM.
Jonastaghizadeh is offline  
post #10090 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 08:56 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 25,227
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7024 Post(s)
Liked: 7049
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPL15 View Post

I do wonder how well the TV is going to hold up over time to being shaken to hell by my subs, that have loosened the dry wall from the studs & cracked the nearby window before...
You cracked your window thumping?
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #10091 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 08:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
DaMacFunkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester, Not the one by the sea
Posts: 874
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 422
Hi, I already own a 55” C7, but just bit the bullet on a 65 C9...
Either the C7 I use a custom DV profile provided by sonofotumble on these forums because the stock LG one is poor, is there a need for custom DV profile for the C9 and if so does anyone have one they would like to share?

Thank you.
DaMacFunkin is offline  
post #10092 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 09:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Baff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dark Side of the Earth
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonastaghizadeh View Post
I bought it in the middle of september so assuming I game and watch movies around 3 hours a day I would guess I have around 200 hours on it (plus/minus 50 hours).
Settings > General > About This TV > TV Information > Total Power On Time

I am at 1250 hours, so far so good. *knock on wood*

LG 65" C9; Denon AVR-S750H
5.1.2: Emotiva Airmotiv C2, T-Zero (x2), E1 (x4); HSU VTF-2
Baff is offline  
post #10093 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 09:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
macmane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Crystal Lake
Posts: 2,184
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1157 Post(s)
Liked: 693
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baff View Post
Settings > General > About This TV > TV Information > Total Power On Time



I am at 1250 hours, so far so good. *knock on wood*
How long have u had your c9

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
macmane is online now  
post #10094 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 09:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Baff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dark Side of the Earth
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmane View Post
How long have u had your c9

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
A little over 6 months, since late May. I have averaged about 6.5 hours/day.

LG 65" C9; Denon AVR-S750H
5.1.2: Emotiva Airmotiv C2, T-Zero (x2), E1 (x4); HSU VTF-2
Baff is offline  
post #10095 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 09:58 AM
Newbie
 
rrholmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivan Sharpe View Post
Do you know which firmware update your on? North America have the most recent firmware but the EU are still on 04.07.05.
I presume your using Aspect Ratio scaling mode and then preforming the scaling on 'display'. If so then a firmware update could increase or decrease the quality of the scaling. Personally I have not noticed a change but have been on firmware 04.07.05 for almost two months.

What I have noticed is that some games scale excellently from 1440p and others have really issues with anti aliasing and shimmering edges. Destiny 2 is a good example whereby at 1440p, shimmering lines are not corrected by either the games MSAA or FXAA. The shimmering is increased by playing in HDR.

Red Dead Redemption 2 and Borderlands 3 scale very well with a minimal loss in visual fidelity and minimal artefacts.

So it could placebo or you changing games but could also be a change in firmware. Interested to see if anyone else has noticed a change.
Do you have any settings that you use, for example Destiny 2 specifically, that improve the scaling issue you see? Maybe you change the settings to GPU scaling perhaps? Thanks.
rrholmes is offline  
post #10096 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 10:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiptydoer View Post
I did something similar. Last night a sub channel was broadcasting a black screen. Brightness 49 and below was pure black as soon as I hit 50 I see a little light, 51 is the same, then just a little more at 52 and 53, But it’s still very dark. I almost feel if things only change after two points.
I guess I’m just a little surprised I don’t see more talk on this thread about the loss of dark details.
To me it’s a very noticeable deficiency.
It could just be a content problem. Maybe it’s supposed to be that dark.
TechNerd666 is offline  
post #10097 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 10:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Tygeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sakishiro View Post
Hey guys!

Just got my 77" C9 and trying to figure out how I can use g-sync with no issues, and still get lossless multi channel PCM to my surround system.
I have a Geforce RTX 2080 Ti GPU, but only one HDMI port, three Display Ports, and one VirtualLink port.
My AVR is an Onkyo TX-NR656.

What are my options? Please come with as many solutions as possible. That would be most appreciated. Thanks a lot in advance.
You can run a second hdmi cable from your onboard graphics hdmi out or use a displayport to hdmi adapter for your graphics card to run separate audio to your receiver.
Tygeezy is offline  
post #10098 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 11:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Tygeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
For the most part, good. I have not seen many horribly uniformity picture in this thread, compared to the past.

I doubt a Sony is any better then that. I bet LED's are no better then that as well. You got a keeper for sure......
Yeah, im hoping the issues im having with gsync blanking out are not due to the panel and is something that can be fixed as I really dont want to enter the panel lottery again.
Tygeezy is offline  
post #10099 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 11:10 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
What's the advantage of this direct connection?

I have set Sound Out to HDMI ARC - passthrough


Sent from my BLA-L29 using Tapatalk
geopsaros is offline  
post #10100 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 11:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,421
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 908 Post(s)
Liked: 881
Just in case anyone is wondering or looking for a holiday purchase




LG C9, C8, C6 w/Pioneer SC-LX502 AVR, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Nintendo Switch
lujan, Cam1977, adream8 and 1 others like this.

Living Room: LG OLED65C9, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedrooms: LG OLED65C8, LG OLED55C6, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
LG C6PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-OLED55C6P.AUS
LG C8PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
LG C9PUA/AUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #10101 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 12:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Chad B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bradford, OH
Posts: 2,725
Mentioned: 108 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 1594
FW update test

I just did a test on a brand new, just out of the box 65C9 to see if FW updates change the measurements.
I turned off the power saver, switched to ISF Expert Bright Room mode, and went into the service menu to turn off the static dimming. Otherwise, everything was left at default.

The "before" measurements were with FW 03.60.19, and the "after" measurements were after updating to 04.70.05.

It shows that, at least for the SDR ISF modes, there is absolutely no change to a calibration after updating the firmware.
Attached Files
File Type: zip LG 65C9 FW update test.zip (756.2 KB, 22 views)

touring ISF/THX calibrator with Jeti 1211 and Klein K-10
Latest reviews:JVC RS540, JVC RS3000, Sony VPL-VW695ES
Copied settings measured, Review archive
Chad B is offline  
post #10102 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 12:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Tygeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Okay, for those of us with gsync issues causing flashing or blanking out. I think I know whats going on. I believe it's a tcon failure. Linus in this video discusses that wild swings in refreshrate that the tcon board cant cope with will blank out to protect the panel. Multiple people have this issue, while some aren't reporting this issue. So who knows how widespread it is since gsync users are niche. Im having a tech come out tomorrow that i've briefed on this issue as well as my coil whine. If he ends up determining that the panel itself also needs to be replaced i'm going to ask to get this exchanged. I shouldn't have issues with both the tcon board and power supply out of the box which would be a shame since my uniformity is pretty good.


https://lgcommunity.us.com/discussio...inch-c9#latest
https://lgcommunity.us.com/discussio...r-on-c9#latest
https://www.reddit.com/r/OLED/commen...ed_with_gsync/
ShinKaz likes this.

Last edited by Tygeezy; 12-03-2019 at 12:56 PM.
Tygeezy is offline  
post #10103 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
 
knutinh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Using my Apple tv 4k, playing back «smurfs» (2017), it is flagged as «4k Dolby Vision» in the Apple store, and when I start movie playback, I am greeted by the «Dolby Vision» logo in my upper right.

However, when I check HDMI diagnostics on my C9, it says RGB 8bit xvYCC601, HDR Type : SDR.

So am I watching HDR or not?
knutinh is offline  
post #10104 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 01:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
bryantc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Europa
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 625 Post(s)
Liked: 587
Quote:
Originally Posted by knutinh View Post
Using my Apple tv 4k, playing back «smurfs» (2017), it is flagged as «4k Dolby Vision» in the Apple store, and when I start movie playback, I am greeted by the «Dolby Vision» logo in my upper right.

However, when I check HDMI diagnostics on my C9, it says RGB 8bit xvYCC601, HDR Type : SDR.

So am I watching HDR or not?
Yes. The diagnostics screen needs to come with the big caveat that it doesn't properly report HDR or Dolby Vision.
Tygeezy likes this.

Media: LG 88" 8K OLED Z9 / Denon AVR-X8500H 7.1.4 / Oppo UDP-203 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / Sony 4K FMP-X10 / Gaming PC (Threadripper 1950X / 2x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SLI) / PlayStation 4 Pro with PS VR / PlayStation (original)
Family: Sony 85" 4K XBR-85X900F / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / C64 Mini - Game: LG 77" 4K OLED C8 / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K
bryantc is offline  
post #10105 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 01:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,747
Mentioned: 192 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5369 Post(s)
Liked: 7763
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryantc View Post
Yes. The diagnostics screen needs to come with the big caveat that it doesn't properly report HDR or Dolby Vision.
No caveat required, it's a hidden screen for engineers! They are hardly going to add a nice fluffy warning in for members of the public who use it
Tygeezy and Jez Baker like this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs

Last edited by mrtickleuk; 12-03-2019 at 04:21 PM.
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #10106 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 03:24 PM
Senior Member
 
knutinh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Kind of surprising that it shows a 10-bit signal as being 8-bit.

Surely the HDMI stream contains enough metadata that the tv can properly interpret the bits for display purposes. So why not just reuse that parsing for this debugging text?
knutinh is offline  
post #10107 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 03:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
bryantc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Europa
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 625 Post(s)
Liked: 587
Quote:
Originally Posted by knutinh View Post
Kind of surprising that it shows a 10-bit signal as being 8-bit.

Surely the HDMI stream contains enough metadata that the tv can properly interpret the bits for display purposes. So why not just reuse that parsing for this debugging text?
Its an HDMI Diagnostic screen so it is showing exactly what is being sent over the HDMI connection. HDR and Dolby Vision are both encapsulated in 8 bit containers. As mrtickleuk said this was never meant to be seen by end users so you have to have some technical knowledge to interpret it.
mrtickleuk likes this.

Media: LG 88" 8K OLED Z9 / Denon AVR-X8500H 7.1.4 / Oppo UDP-203 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / Sony 4K FMP-X10 / Gaming PC (Threadripper 1950X / 2x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SLI) / PlayStation 4 Pro with PS VR / PlayStation (original)
Family: Sony 85" 4K XBR-85X900F / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / C64 Mini - Game: LG 77" 4K OLED C8 / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K
bryantc is offline  
post #10108 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 04:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,747
Mentioned: 192 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5369 Post(s)
Liked: 7763
Quote:
Originally Posted by knutinh View Post
Kind of surprising that it shows a 10-bit signal as being 8-bit.

Surely the HDMI stream contains enough metadata that the tv can properly interpret the bits for display purposes. So why not just reuse that parsing for this debugging text?
It's not at all surprising, because what is transported over the HDMI connection *IS* an 8-bit RGB signal. The HDMI diagnostics which tell you it's 8-bit RGB are 100% correct. If it said otherwise it would be lying about what is being carried over HDMI which is what that screen is intended for the engineers to use, for when they are diagnosing problems with the HDMI connections.

Dolby Vision's 10 or 12 bit 4:2:2 signal is tunnelled inside this 8-bit RGB container, which is why Dolby Vision works over HDMI 1.4 connections.

Finally when you say "the tv can properly interpret the bits for display purposes" you may be forgeting that it's the Dolby Vision processing engine which does this, not the TV. Dolby Vision is a "black box" and the TV manufacturer has no access to this even though it's running inside their own TV; it's fully controlled by Dolby. Often used to be called the "Dolby chip" inside the TV, it's easier to understand it this way even if it's not the way it's implemented in current models.

HTH

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #10109 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 05:15 PM
Senior Member
 
FarleyUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Hi all,

Just purchased a 65C9, being delivered Thursday. It’s replacing a Samsung Q9.

However, I’m a little concerned about a lot of issues I’ve been hearing about on here with regards to eARC, GSYNC etc. I have a few questions for the hive mind here...

1. I have a Denon x6400 receiver that’s has a Shield Pro and a couple of other things connected to it. This is to allow films on the shield to play Atmos etc, as the Q9 doesn’t pass Atmos back to the receiver due to no eARC. If I connect the Shield to the C9, would it pass Atmos etc back to the Denon?

2. I like to use VRR on the Xbox and purchased the C9 hearing I could finally have VRR and Atmos... but it sounds like there’s massive audio delays if you send Atmos from the Xbox to the TV when connected directly...? So I’d still have to have either VRR or Atmos?

3. My laptop has an Nvidia 2070 card in it. Again, I connect it direct to the TV to use GSYNC. Are there really issues with GSYNC on the c9? And can I again send Atmos or 5.1 to the C9 and have it passed to the receiver?

Thanks all - I really thought I’d found the perfect tv, but I’m starting to doubt it now.

I appreciate any answers and help you can provide!
FarleyUK is online now  
post #10110 of 11856 Old 12-03-2019, 05:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,747
Mentioned: 192 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5369 Post(s)
Liked: 7763
Quote:
Originally Posted by avernar View Post
This is wrong. Nothing is tunneled inside an 8-bit RGB container.
Yes it is, and it's how normal Dolby Vision transports its signal over a HDMI 1.4 compatible link. (Sony's new "Low Latency" version unpacks it and uses the 4:2:2 12bit mode and doesn't work with HDMI 1.4.). This is not new information.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs

Last edited by mrtickleuk; 12-03-2019 at 05:53 PM.
mrtickleuk is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
allm , dead , directional hdmi , hdmi , lg c9 oled , lg oled c9 , lgoled , oled , oled 55 , pixel dead , pixels , soundbar advice

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off