2019 C9–E9 Owner's Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 435 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 8575Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13021 of 14943 Old 03-02-2020, 07:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stevec325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Newtown, PA
Posts: 3,449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by torii View Post
imagine all our older folk who grew up with tv's on the floor. I need a tv on my ceiling in bedroom
I grew up with console TVs. The first one was a Philco B&W and the last one that I can remember was an RCA "color" model. They were furniture with a bulging CRT sticking out the front.
KC-Technerd and torii like this.

-steve
"...and all the science, I don't understand. It's just my job, five days a week."
stevec325 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13022 of 14943 Old 03-02-2020, 07:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
torii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 8,436
Mentioned: 79 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4392 Post(s)
Liked: 2550
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevec325 View Post
I grew up with console TVs. The first one was a Philco B&W and the last one that I can remember was an RCA "color" model. They were furniture with a bulging CRT sticking out the front.

I used to watch tv on the floor my neck still good

Power: Marantz sr7008, NAD C 275Bee x 2, Video: Oppo 103, Samsung 75un6300 LG oled c9 77
Speakers: Focal aria 948, Focal cc900, Klipsch synergy KSF 10.5, Magnepan LRS, Audioengine A2+
Subs: Rythmik FV25HP, Rythmik FV15HP, Velodyne HGS 12, Velodyne VA1512
torii is online now  
post #13023 of 14943 Old 03-02-2020, 08:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Rob9874's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
My TV is about the fireplace, what you fail to realize is most people sit slouched in there chair, so you head is basically now at eye level with no neck tilt. Most people I know do not sit at 90 degrees and DO NOT have perfect posture.
Man, you're making me question everything now. We have reclining seats, and we're always reclined when watching TV. I'm watching TV while reclined now, and noticed I do a chin tuck to see my "eye level" TV. Especially so I can see clearly with my progressive glasses (if I merely move my eyes down, I'm looking through the reading portion, which is blurry). Do I dare mount my TV higher?!?

LG OLED77C9PUB | Parasound A21 | Denon AVR-X3400H | Boston Acoustics M350 (L/R) | Boston Acoustics A25 (surrounds) | Boston Acoustics A 225C (center) | SVS PB-1000 | Xbox One S | Pro-Ject Debut Carbon
Rob9874 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13024 of 14943 Old 03-02-2020, 11:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 1,785
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1236 Post(s)
Liked: 1232
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
Is there a way to look at playback info within the actual WebOS apps? I know that you have to click on the input in the corner when using an external device but I get nothing when using the apps. Is it not possible?
Yes, it is possible!
There are several methods - all explained in the FAQ - at I want to know what the resolution of the incoming HDMI signal is. Also if it is HDR and the type of audio.
1. The 3 dots button on the Magic Remote - menu - select INFO option;
2. LG TV Plus remote app - the "i" button;
3. An older (2015/2016 gen) Magic Remote with the INFO button;
dfa973 is offline  
post #13025 of 14943 Old 03-03-2020, 02:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,270
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1722 Post(s)
Liked: 982
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfa973 View Post
Yes, it is possible!

There are several methods - all explained in the FAQ - at I want to know what the resolution of the incoming HDMI signal is. Also if it is HDR and the type of audio.

1. The 3 dots button on the Magic Remote - menu - select INFO option;

2. LG TV Plus remote app - the "i" button;

3. An older (2015/2016 gen) Magic Remote with the INFO button;


I haven’t tried the remote app yet but the others didn’t do anything...I have a harmony remote that I programmed with the info button, worked with an external device but never with the built in apps. I did the 3 dots and went to info and again nothing popped up.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
lujan and SinGA like this.
beardontwalk123 is online now  
post #13026 of 14943 Old 03-03-2020, 03:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,748
Mentioned: 211 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6102 Post(s)
Liked: 8847
Quote:
Originally Posted by KC-Technerd View Post
-------
How did you sneak a camera into my house!

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #13027 of 14943 Old 03-03-2020, 03:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
mfrey0118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevec325 View Post
I grew up with console TVs. The first one was a Philco B&W and the last one that I can remember was an RCA "color" model. They were furniture with a bulging CRT sticking out the front.
My boss had a massive console tv in his office. When we moved, he decided to throw it away. So we wheeled it outside and got the 15,000lb forklift, lined up the forks with the screen, and backed up all the way to the other end of the building. Got up to full speed and speared it right in the center of the picture tube, while yelling "DESTROY!!"

It made a sound so loud the people from the surrounding buildings came out to see what happened.

It was the most satisfying act of destruction in my life.

I miss those sets.
mboojigga and mrtickleuk like this.

LG OLED65C9PUA
YAMAHA RX-A1080
NVIDIA SHIELD (2019)
mfrey0118 is offline  
post #13028 of 14943 Old 03-03-2020, 04:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mboojigga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Little Rock AFB, Arkansas
Posts: 9,338
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 988
Why nobody anywhere should be telling anyone how to mount there tv anyway that fits their lifestyle. Mount that TV on the ceiling as long as your comfortable and got eye level your good brah. Not everyone sits the same way.

The 5.0 is here

Last edited by rboster; 03-03-2020 at 06:24 AM.
mboojigga is offline  
post #13029 of 14943 Old 03-03-2020, 04:56 AM
Senior Member
 
crawlgsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by mboojigga View Post
Why nobody anywhere should be telling anyone how to mount there tv anyway that fits their lifestyle. Mount that TV on the ceiling as long as your comfortable and got eye level your good brah. Not everyone sits the same way.

100% this. My TV's (2 in living room) are both mounted ~50" (bottom of TV) and I have 0 issues. As well as being more ideal for the way we sit/view, it keeps the TV out of the little ones fingerprint range (for now) and the cats can't put their claws on them! Also gives me the clearance I desire with soundbar and consoles sitting on furniture below the C9.


There is no ONE answer for how high to mount your television, if you mount it higher adjust the angle accordingly. You want to try to be looking straight on but lets face it your not 100% going to be sitting straight up or reclined, you are likely (or guests) to do some of both, the C9 has great viewing angles anyway so no one should be sweating this decision for perfection.

Chris D.
LG C9 OLED - XBOX One X

Last edited by rboster; 03-03-2020 at 06:24 AM.
crawlgsx is offline  
post #13030 of 14943 Old 03-03-2020, 07:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 26,140
Mentioned: 90 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7523 Post(s)
Liked: 7560
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob9874 View Post
Man, you're making me question everything now. We have reclining seats, and we're always reclined when watching TV. I'm watching TV while reclined now, and noticed I do a chin tuck to see my "eye level" TV. Especially so I can see clearly with my progressive glasses (if I merely move my eyes down, I'm looking through the reading portion, which is blurry). Do I dare mount my TV higher?!?
I never really cared what the standard was, I like the wild side
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #13031 of 14943 Old 03-03-2020, 10:12 AM
Senior Member
 
HiFi4Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 395
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfa973 View Post
Yes, it is possible!
You're right that you can display extended/debug info with the mentioned methods for external HDMI sources.
But he actually asked for "playback info within the actual WebOS apps". I.e. webOS apps like Netflix, Prime Video, ATV+ etc. Unless I misunderstood him.

I.e. no HDMI input source is involved, which means that the methods listed on the FAQ page won't work - or at least the webOS overlay won't show any useful info.
lujan and mrtickleuk like this.

TV: LG OLED C9 Firmware v04.71.25 | Probe: X-Rite i1Display Pro OEM Rev. B-02 (04/2019) | EDR: FSI_XM55U_23Jan19.edr | SW: CalMAN Home for LG R3 GM v05.10.2.67 | PG: LG iTPG
HiFi4Vision is offline  
post #13032 of 14943 Old 03-03-2020, 11:29 AM
Senior Member
 
bjaurelio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Mansfield, TX
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siran77 View Post
If only it could play HD Audio and had better support for subtitles. Other than that - for an integrated media player it's pretty impressive, even played Dolby Vision files.
Are you able to get Dolby Atmos as well as Dolby Vision? How are you ripping your UHD discs to preserve DV?
bjaurelio is offline  
post #13033 of 14943 Old 03-03-2020, 12:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,270
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1722 Post(s)
Liked: 982
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiFi4Vision View Post
You're right that you can display extended/debug info with the mentioned methods for external HDMI sources.
But he actually asked for "playback info within the actual WebOS apps". I.e. webOS apps like Netflix, Prime Video, ATV+ etc. Unless I misunderstood him.

I.e. no HDMI input source is involved, which means that the methods listed on the FAQ page won't work - or at least the webOS overlay won't show any useful info.


Yes, I was wondering about the internal apps themselves. I know that HDMI sources are able to display it but no such luck with internal.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
beardontwalk123 is online now  
post #13034 of 14943 Old 03-03-2020, 07:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 40
i just got my 77c9 set up, love it!

watching Grand Tour tonight, and was messing with the HDR settings a bit. should the "dynamic contrast" or "dynamic tone mapping" be turned on at all or both left to off? it really brightens the screen when on, but not sure if i am sacrificing anything? thanks!!
Robertczek is offline  
post #13035 of 14943 Old 03-03-2020, 11:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 1,785
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1236 Post(s)
Liked: 1232
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiFi4Vision View Post
You're right that you can display extended/debug info with the mentioned methods for external HDMI sources.
But he actually asked for "playback info within the actual WebOS apps". I.e. webOS apps like Netflix, Prime Video, ATV+ etc. Unless I misunderstood him.

I.e. no HDMI input source is involved, which means that the methods listed on the FAQ page won't work - or at least the webOS overlay won't show any useful info.
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
Yes, I was wondering about the internal apps themselves. I know that HDMI sources are able to display it but no such luck with internal.
I have updated the FAQ - for smart apps the only working method I know is via LG TV Plus remote app for Android/iOS.
HiFi4Vision likes this.
dfa973 is offline  
post #13036 of 14943 Old 03-04-2020, 12:01 AM
Senior Member
 
polyh3dron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I was using the HDMI ARC function to output sound to my Pioneer Elite SC-75 receiver from my E9 and it worked for a couple weeks, until I added a DirecTV 4K receiver to the mix.. for some reason something I did while adding that made the HDMI ARC connection stop working, and no amount of power cycling and factory resets has fixed it. Anyone else experience this?
polyh3dron is offline  
post #13037 of 14943 Old 03-04-2020, 12:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 1,785
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1236 Post(s)
Liked: 1232
Quote:
Originally Posted by polyh3dron View Post
Anyone else experience this?
1. If you disconnect the DirecTV 4K STB can you restore the ARC functionality?
2. Does the DirecTV 4K STB have a CEC OFF setting?
3. Do you have some CEC-less cables or adapters?
dfa973 is offline  
post #13038 of 14943 Old 03-04-2020, 02:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,270
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1722 Post(s)
Liked: 982
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfa973 View Post
I have updated the FAQ - for smart apps the only working method I know is via LG TV Plus remote app for Android/iOS.


Hmmm, that doesn’t work on my TV either. On Netflix I just get the Netflix info itself on the top left. Other apps don’t respond at all.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
beardontwalk123 is online now  
post #13039 of 14943 Old 03-04-2020, 05:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Moonwalker1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Holland/The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 377 Post(s)
Liked: 55
So I was playing some Xbox games and I noticed that the colors seemed a bit off. Especially so in colorful games like Super Lucky's Tale but also just games in general. Especially in SDR. I changed the color gamut from auto to wide and it's a whole lot better. But apparently this is not the "right" setting?

I compared it to some gameplay clips on YouTube of the game and it was much more colorful there too, same with watching anime on Crunchyroll. I only get that with wide.

Last edited by Moonwalker1982; 03-04-2020 at 05:12 AM.
Moonwalker1982 is offline  
post #13040 of 14943 Old 03-04-2020, 05:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SW USA
Posts: 9,719
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5167 Post(s)
Liked: 3177
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
Hmmm, that doesn’t work on my TV either. On Netflix I just get the Netflix info itself on the top left. Other apps don’t respond at all.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Same for me, INFO only works with Netflix and it’s originating from Netflix and not the C9.

lujan
679 Ultra HD
733 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #13041 of 14943 Old 03-04-2020, 07:42 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 10,106
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2059 Post(s)
Liked: 4241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moonwalker1982 View Post
So I was playing some Xbox games and I noticed that the colors seemed a bit off. Especially so in colorful games like Super Lucky's Tale but also just games in general. Especially in SDR. I changed the color gamut from auto to wide and it's a whole lot better. But apparently this is not the "right" setting?

I compared it to some gameplay clips on YouTube of the game and it was much more colorful there too, same with watching anime on Crunchyroll. I only get that with wide.

Are you playing games in Game mode? I believe the color gamut should be greyed out (unselectable) in that mode.
DaverJ is offline  
post #13042 of 14943 Old 03-04-2020, 09:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
Moonwalker1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Holland/The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 377 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moonwalker1982 View Post
So I was playing some Xbox games and I noticed that the colors seemed a bit off. Especially so in colorful games like Super Lucky's Tale but also just games in general. Especially in SDR. I changed the color gamut from auto to wide and it's a whole lot better. But apparently this is not the "right" setting?

I compared it to some gameplay clips on YouTube of the game and it was much more colorful there too, same with watching anime on Crunchyroll. I only get that with wide.

Are you playing games in Game mode? I believe the color gamut should be greyed out (unselectable) in that mode.
Oh yes, forgot to mention that. Game mode yes, but I can select between three color gamut settings, wide, extended and auto.
Moonwalker1982 is offline  
post #13043 of 14943 Old 03-04-2020, 09:50 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 10,106
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2059 Post(s)
Liked: 4241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moonwalker1982 View Post
Oh yes, forgot to mention that. Game mode yes, but I can select between three color gamut settings, wide, extended and auto.

Ah yes, correct. I think the color gamut settings are strictly for taste -- extended or wide is like cranking the Color setting up. It's not how the image is designed to look - but these are games, not movies or TV shows, so accuracy isn't crucial here. Pick a setting that appeals to you and enjoy. Just remember that setting might not look right if you watch video content on your game console, though.
DaverJ is offline  
post #13044 of 14943 Old 03-04-2020, 09:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
janos666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hungary
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Did anybody manage updating from 04.71.05 to 04.71.25 with LgDTVUpDater?
According to the (Korean) changelog it's a useless version for me but I am simply curious why it stopped working for me. I successfully used the software package a few times before (on several LG TVs from the last few years) but now I can't even figure out what could be wrong.


Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post
Ah yes, correct. I think the color gamut settings are strictly for taste -- extended or wide is like cranking the Color setting up. It's not how the image is designed to look - but these are games, not movies or TV shows, so accuracy isn't crucial here. Pick a setting that appeals to you and enjoy. Just remember that setting might not look right if you watch video content on your game console, though.
This is generally true (if you compare some random game which was probably never intended to be too artistic or realistic either with a random movie/tvshow which has some natural colors and not just CGI) but some game designers are just as serious about their "artistic intent" than big movie producers.
mrtickleuk likes this.

"DIY certified hobby-calibrator" (based on ChadB's "warning signs" list

Last edited by janos666; 03-04-2020 at 09:59 AM.
janos666 is offline  
post #13045 of 14943 Old 03-04-2020, 12:04 PM
Senior Member
 
HiFi4Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 395
Quote:
Originally Posted by janos666 View Post
According to the (Korean) changelog it's a useless version for me [...]
As usual, only a fraction of the contained changes are included in the public change log. As soon as the version is rolled out in the other regions, we may find out more.

TV: LG OLED C9 Firmware v04.71.25 | Probe: X-Rite i1Display Pro OEM Rev. B-02 (04/2019) | EDR: FSI_XM55U_23Jan19.edr | SW: CalMAN Home for LG R3 GM v05.10.2.67 | PG: LG iTPG
HiFi4Vision is offline  
post #13046 of 14943 Old 03-04-2020, 12:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Moonwalker1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Holland/The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 377 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moonwalker1982 View Post
Oh yes, forgot to mention that. Game mode yes, but I can select between three color gamut settings, wide, extended and auto.

Ah yes, correct. I think the color gamut settings are strictly for taste -- extended or wide is like cranking the Color setting up. It's not how the image is designed to look - but these are games, not movies or TV shows, so accuracy isn't crucial here. Pick a setting that appeals to you and enjoy. Just remember that setting might not look right if you watch video content on your game console, though.
Good thing I watch anime on Xbox and Netflix via the TV app because I hate how the Xbox Netflix app forces HDR in any show/movie.
DaverJ likes this.
Moonwalker1982 is offline  
post #13047 of 14943 Old 03-04-2020, 01:00 PM
Member
 
Jejje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone else with the 77c9 (EU model in my case) that can tell me if their power cable came with a ferrite core a few cm in on the cable from where it comes out of the TV. This completely ruined my wall mount 😞.
I also have the 55c9 and that didn’t have a ferrite core on the power cable. Is this something only on 65/77 inch?

The core is 2.5cm+ thick and since it is just a few cm in on the cable there is nowhere to “hide” it. which meant I had to use a lot more extra distance for the wall mount for the 77c9.
Jejje is offline  
post #13048 of 14943 Old 03-04-2020, 01:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,687
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1083 Post(s)
Liked: 1290
Quote:
Originally Posted by janos666 View Post
Did anybody manage updating from 04.71.05 to 04.71.25 with LgDTVUpDater?
What's the benefit of using LgDTVUpDater?
avernar is online now  
post #13049 of 14943 Old 03-04-2020, 01:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,748
Mentioned: 211 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6102 Post(s)
Liked: 8847
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post
Are you playing games in Game mode? I believe the color gamut should be greyed out (unselectable) in that mode.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moonwalker1982 View Post
Oh yes, forgot to mention that. Game mode yes, but I can select between three color gamut settings, wide, extended and auto.
The colour gamut control was fixed to wide up until the 2018 models.
If you have a 2019 (or later, presumably) model, it's not locked to wide.
DaverJ likes this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #13050 of 14943 Old 03-04-2020, 01:43 PM
Senior Member
 
polyh3dron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
This is RE: my HDMI ARC issues with my E9:

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfa973 View Post
1. If you disconnect the DirecTV 4K STB can you restore the ARC functionality? - No. Tried with the Netflix app and only my AVR connected to HDMI 2
2. Does the DirecTV 4K STB have a CEC OFF setting? Yes, and it is off.
3. Do you have some CEC-less cables or adapters? No. All my HDMI cables are relatively new and this cable in particular has worked for CEC for me for quite some time, both with this TV and my Panasonic VT60 before that.
I have a LG technician coming to my place tomorrow, hopefully they can help.
polyh3dron is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
allm , dead , directional hdmi , hdmi , lg c9 , lg c9 oled , lg oled c9 , lgoled , Marantz , oled , oled 55 , pixel dead , pixels , soundbar advice , sr5012

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off