2019 C9–E9 Owner's Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 453 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 8933Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13561 of 15628 Old 04-02-2020, 01:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Upandown View Post
Data shows America’s bandwidth has not taken a significant hit. Not by a long shot. Areas with the biggest slow downs still have plenty of bandwidth to spare for streaming.

From the end user’s perspective it seems like any US quality cuts aren’t warranted.
That's what they said of German Internet capacity and yet, here we are.
mrtickleuk likes this.
Siran77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13562 of 15628 Old 04-02-2020, 02:45 PM
Senior Member
 
dcorban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSchulte View Post
C9 Quality Control


I've seen lots of comments about banding and tinting to being a significant on many C9s making the panel lottery a real thing. iI contrast, early reports on the CX seem to be that these issues are largely absent. I know it's early and time will tell as to whether LG has truly cleaned up its quality control on the CX sets. I'm wondering if there has been different in quality control on the C9 over the past year since it's 2019 introduction. For example, have the recently manufactured C9s had less banding and tinting in general than the earlier C9s? Like many, I'm deciding between a price reduced C9 and the new CX.
For what it's worth, I bought my 65" C9 a few weeks ago and it is absolutely flawless.

The price difference is immense. I don't know why anyone would choose the CX over the current C9 prices, unless you are looking for money to burn.
dcorban is offline  
post #13563 of 15628 Old 04-02-2020, 02:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Tygeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechNerd666 View Post
There’s nothing wrong with your TV. That’s ASBL. If it bothers you that much then try to watch overly dark shows in SDR instead of Dolby Vision.

This seemed a bit different. The colors were muted a bit too and then the next scene the grocery store at night obviously had brighter highlights in the casino with those lit slot machines. In one frame it’s all dim and even colors looked muted and then the very next frame it’s like Dolby vision just popped back in and everything was fine. There was no smooth transition to brighten it, just dim and muted and one frame later it pops in.

Shouldn’t it be a gradual uptick in brightness, not just dim and muted and then immediately jumps to correct brightness one frame later?
Tygeezy is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13564 of 15628 Old 04-02-2020, 03:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,961
Mentioned: 222 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6240 Post(s)
Liked: 9068
Quote:
Originally Posted by Upandown View Post
Data shows America’s bandwidth has not taken a significant hit. Not by a long shot. Areas with the biggest slow downs still have plenty of bandwidth to spare for streaming.

From the end user’s perspective it seems like any US quality cuts aren’t warranted.
Sure but what you don't realise is that they weren't "warranted" for the same reasons here either, but they still happened. It's not a question of what is warranted from the end user’s perspective, it's what the politicians order the companies to do at the highest level . Or even vaguely suggest it, and then it happened. End users don't get a say.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siran77 View Post
That's what they said of German Internet capacity and yet, here we are.
Exactly. Same with UK ISPs who warned that they had tons and tons of bandwidth. Didn't make any difference when a large company like Netflix wants to be seen to be doing the right thing to help. Netflix will not risk their reputation at a time like this. It's no longer a question of "if" it happens in America but "when", IMHO.
dfa973 and Upandown like this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs

Last edited by mrtickleuk; 04-02-2020 at 03:11 PM.
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #13565 of 15628 Old 04-02-2020, 03:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GeneWildersHair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 1,183
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 527 Post(s)
Liked: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcorban View Post
For what it's worth, I bought my 65" C9 a few weeks ago and it is absolutely flawless.

The price difference is immense. I don't know why anyone would choose the CX over the current C9 prices, unless you are looking for money to burn.

I agree with this, the price - performance ratio made the C9 the obvious choice for me.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
GeneWildersHair is offline  
post #13566 of 15628 Old 04-02-2020, 03:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Tygeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcorban View Post
For what it's worth, I bought my 65" C9 a few weeks ago and it is absolutely flawless.



The price difference is immense. I don't know why anyone would choose the CX over the current C9 prices, unless you are looking for money to burn.

The cx doesn’t support dts which is a deal breaker for me because I use madvr for films and use my earc to pass audio.
Tygeezy is online now  
post #13567 of 15628 Old 04-02-2020, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
1080pee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anyone have troubleshooting guides for getting media server to show up again? It no longer shows as an input and I really don't want to download Plex app (its garbage).


I figured it out, its the DLNA setting in Plex, needs to be enabled.

Last edited by 1080pee; 04-02-2020 at 08:47 PM.
1080pee is offline  
post #13568 of 15628 Old 04-02-2020, 06:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 2,139
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 524 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tygeezy View Post
This seemed a bit different. The colors were muted a bit too and then the next scene the grocery store at night obviously had brighter highlights in the casino with those lit slot machines. In one frame it’s all dim and even colors looked muted and then the very next frame it’s like Dolby vision just popped back in and everything was fine. There was no smooth transition to brighten it, just dim and muted and one frame later it pops in.

Shouldn’t it be a gradual uptick in brightness, not just dim and muted and then immediately jumps to correct brightness one frame later?
What I found occurring (and objectionable) about ASBL, is that it will very slowly and unnoticeably dim the screen with content that isn't particularly bright and isn't predominately static. Apparently the algorithm used is particularly sensitive to a certain percentage of prolonged static elements in the picture, while not being particular about how bright they are. Once there are enough moving elements in the picture, the brightness suddenly jumps to what it was prior to the start of the dimming. Where I noticed this occurring is in the end titles for "Star Wars Episode VIII: The Last Jedi." Turning off ASBL/TPC eliminated this issue for me. When I originally encountered it, I didn't think it could possibly be ASBL, because it was only the sudden increase in brightness I was noticing (not the dimming), because the credits were rolling well before this occurred (motion) and the picture was relatively dim overall, particularly what wasn't moving (the stars).
Tygeezy and tubefreq like this.
KC-Technerd is offline  
post #13569 of 15628 Old 04-02-2020, 07:50 PM
Senior Member
 
JSchulte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcorban View Post
For what it's worth, I bought my 65" C9 a few weeks ago and it is absolutely flawless.

The price difference is immense. I don't know why anyone would choose the CX over the current C9 prices, unless you are looking for money to burn.
Thanks, good to hear about clean c9s. Likely, will be getting one in the next 2 weeks. The CX seems to have slightly improved motion handling, but not enough to justify the price differential.
GeneWildersHair and wraithrsw like this.

Living room: Panasonic ST-P55ST50; Pioneer elite sc-501; Front L&R B&W CMW 7.3, Center B&W CMW 7.4; sub B&W ASW 610
Basement: LG OLED CX65; NAD 758 v3; Front L&R KEF R500, Center KEF R200c, rear surrounds KEF T100s; Atmos KEF Q50s; sub KEF Kube 10b
JSchulte is offline  
post #13570 of 15628 Old 04-03-2020, 12:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SW USA
Posts: 9,780
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5210 Post(s)
Liked: 3225
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechNerd666 View Post
There’s nothing wrong with your TV. That’s ASBL. If it bothers you that much then try to watch overly dark shows in SDR instead of Dolby Vision.
I noticed this issue on "Ozark" last night as well but you don't need to watch it in SDR. I switched from the built-in Netflix app to my Nvidia Shield and watched it in HDR10 rather than Dolby Vision and it looked great.

lujan
696 Ultra HD
737 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #13571 of 15628 Old 04-03-2020, 12:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tygeezy View Post
The cx doesn’t support dts which is a deal breaker for me because I use madvr for films and use my earc to pass audio.
Is eARC also affected by it? I was under the impression that only the internal Apps don't support DTS but passthrough via eARC as well?

Last edited by Siran77; 04-03-2020 at 12:41 AM.
Siran77 is offline  
post #13572 of 15628 Old 04-03-2020, 02:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ice Cold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 450 Post(s)
Liked: 175
What LG CX features do. You LG C9 owners really wish you had if only a little and not deal breakers ?
Ice Cold is offline  
post #13573 of 15628 Old 04-03-2020, 02:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ice Cold View Post
What LG CX features do. You LG C9 owners really wish you had if only a little and not deal breakers ?
Working Multichannel PCM eARC passthrough. Though that's hopefully going to be fixed in June.

Other than that - 4K 120Hz with HDMI 2.0 has too much compromises and my GPU doesn't support it anyhow, BFI 120Hz comes with downsides and I don't own an AMD GPU that could make use of Freesync.
Siran77 is offline  
post #13574 of 15628 Old 04-03-2020, 02:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
torii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 8,499
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4416 Post(s)
Liked: 2596
a month or so I asked about pops and clicks and noise....found the problem...my external amps are blown....so if hear bad sound, dont put it off, could be your gear going down.

Power: Marantz sr7008, NAD C 275Bee x 2, Video: Oppo 103, Samsung 75un6300 LG oled c9 77
Speakers: Focal aria 948, Focal cc900, Klipsch synergy KSF 10.5, Magnepan LRS, Audioengine A2+
Subs: Rythmik FV25HP, Rythmik FV15HP, Velodyne HGS 12, Velodyne VA1512
torii is offline  
post #13575 of 15628 Old 04-03-2020, 04:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSchulte View Post
Thanks, good to hear about clean c9s. Likely, will be getting one in the next 2 weeks. The CX seems to have slightly improved motion handling, but not enough to justify the price differential.
I have heard they are the same. Where have you seen this?

Sony A1E OLED 4K Ultra H


FS Gen2 Nvidia shield TV 2017 version
EF9500 is online now  
post #13576 of 15628 Old 04-03-2020, 05:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Doug Schiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,331
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Is there any way to re-read notifications? I recently updated the firmware on my C9, and every once in awhile, when turning on the TV, notifications pop up.
This morning it said something like, “5 channels added to...” and poof, it was gone.
Doug Schiller is offline  
post #13577 of 15628 Old 04-03-2020, 05:24 AM
Newbie
 
DigitriX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi guys,

Can someone confirm if such banding is normal on the C9?

Last episode (S3E3) of Westworld, AMAZON version.

Screenshots are at 05m:09s, but the whole sequence till 05m:17s has plenty of banding, as well as many other bits throughout the intro. Is it noticeable to you?

One is taken from the PC with the C9 attached to it, and the other is straight from the TV. The camera on the phone makes it look even worse, but you get picture (so to say)...

Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	5-09_PC.png
Views:	206
Size:	569.4 KB
ID:	2705084   Click image for larger version

Name:	5-09_TV.jpg
Views:	214
Size:	803.6 KB
ID:	2705086  
DigitriX is offline  
post #13578 of 15628 Old 04-03-2020, 07:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Kurolicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Schiller View Post
Is there any way to re-read notifications? I recently updated the firmware on my C9, and every once in awhile, when turning on the TV, notifications pop up.
This morning it said something like, “5 channels added to...” and poof, it was gone.
Press the microphone button and say "Notifications" and this will bring up the past notifications.
DaverJ and 22Green like this.
Kurolicious is offline  
post #13579 of 15628 Old 04-03-2020, 08:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tygeezy View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechNerd666 View Post
There’️s nothing wrong with your TV. That’️s ASBL. If it bothers you that much then try to watch overly dark shows in SDR instead of Dolby Vision.

This seemed a bit different. The colors were muted a bit too and then the next scene the grocery store at night obviously had brighter highlights in the casino with those lit slot machines. In one frame it’️s all dim and even colors looked muted and then the very next frame it’️s like Dolby vision just popped back in and everything was fine. There was no smooth transition to brighten it, just dim and muted and one frame later it pops in.

Shouldn’️t it be a gradual uptick in brightness, not just dim and muted and then immediately jumps to correct brightness one frame later?
We’ll if it’s not ASBL then it’s an issue with the Dolby Vision picture modes. (I had this same issue with the Lg C7 model so this has been a problem for years)

Either way there nothing we can do about it. I found that bringing up the settings when the picture seems too dim can return the picture to regular brightness.
Tygeezy likes this.
TechNerd666 is offline  
post #13580 of 15628 Old 04-03-2020, 09:31 AM
Senior Member
 
HiFi4Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: E.U.
Posts: 497
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Schiller View Post
Is there any way to re-read notifications? I recently updated the firmware on my C9, and every once in awhile, when turning on the TV, notifications pop up.
This morning it said something like, “5 channels added to...” and poof, it was gone.
Open the settings menu, "General > About This TV > Notifications".
As described in the official manual.

TV: LG OLED C9 Firmware v04.71.25 | Probe: X-Rite i1Display Pro OEM Rev. B-02 (04/2019) | EDR: FSI_XM55U_23Jan19.edr | SW: CalMAN Home for LG R3 GM v05.10.2.67 | PG: LG iTPG
HiFi4Vision is offline  
post #13581 of 15628 Old 04-03-2020, 11:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
teiresias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitriX View Post
Hi guys,

Can someone confirm if such banding is normal on the C9?

Last episode (S3E3) of Westworld, AMAZON version.

Screenshots are at 05m:09s, but the whole sequence till 05m:17s has plenty of banding, as well as many other bits throughout the intro. Is it noticeable to you?

One is taken from the PC with the C9 attached to it, and the other is straight from the TV. The camera on the phone makes it look even worse, but you get picture (so to say)...

Thanks.
I assume you mean the gradient banding on the highlight? In that case, I see that too and I assume it's just the overall bad quality of HBO content, frankly. I see it on all HBO shows.
GeneWildersHair likes this.
teiresias is online now  
post #13582 of 15628 Old 04-03-2020, 01:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Doug Schiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,331
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiFi4Vision View Post
Open the settings menu, "General > About This TV > Notifications".
As described in the official manual.
Thanks! That was it.
Doug Schiller is offline  
post #13583 of 15628 Old 04-04-2020, 12:48 AM
Newbie
 
DigitriX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by teiresias View Post
I assume you mean the gradient banding on the highlight?
Correct.

Can someone recommend good test files for such gradient banding? I see plenty of stuff on YouTube, but doesn't the YT compression defeat the purpose of the test?
DigitriX is offline  
post #13584 of 15628 Old 04-04-2020, 01:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
liberator72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Sunny (when it's not raining) Devon, U.K.
Posts: 827
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 606 Post(s)
Liked: 1144
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitriX View Post
Correct.

Can someone recommend good test files for such gradient banding? I see plenty of stuff on YouTube, but doesn't the YT compression defeat the purpose of the test?
IMHO, the only way to know for sure whether it is your TV (of any brand) is causing banding like you have shown is to use high quality colour ramps and gradient patterns. This way you can check the true performance of you panel and thus rule out any deficiencies and confirm that any banding you do see is source related.

I use Ted's CMS Calibration Disk. It is available in both disc and media file format. It is an essential tool in any enthusiasts kit. Can be used as a manual source of calibration test patterns (i.e. when calibrating your full video chain from BDP) and complete verification and evaluation of a display. If no banding shows up in these patterns but does within content, then I know for sure that the content is to blame.

You can check it out at his website here

FWIW, your images to me look like a source issue (highly compressed signal).

LG OLED65C9MLB**Denon AVR-X3500H**Focal Sib Evo Atmos 5.1.2**Sky Q UHD**Xbox One X**Panasonic DP-UB820**ATV 4K
Klein K10-A**Jeti 1501**i1D3 OEM**ColourSpace HTX**LightSpace HTP**CalMAN Home for LG**DVDO AVLab TPG**HD Fury Integral 2
Ted's Disk & Media Files**S & M HD & UHD HDR Benchmark Disks
liberator72 is online now  
post #13585 of 15628 Old 04-04-2020, 03:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,961
Mentioned: 222 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6240 Post(s)
Liked: 9068
Quote:
Originally Posted by liberator72 View Post
IMHO, the only way to know for sure whether it is your TV (of any brand) is causing banding like you have shown is to use high quality colour ramps and gradient patterns. This way you can check the true performance of you panel and thus rule out any deficiencies and confirm that any banding you do see is source related.

I use Ted's CMS Calibration Disk. It is available in both disc and media file format. It is an essential tool in any enthusiasts kit. Can be used as a manual source of calibration test patterns (i.e. when calibrating your full video chain from BDP) and complete verification and evaluation of a display. If no banding shows up in these patterns but does within content, then I know for sure that the content is to blame.

You can check it out at his website here

FWIW, your images to me look like a source issue (highly compressed signal).
I agree. The pattern you want is "Color (sic) Ramps Horizontal and Vertical" - there is a bigger preview version of it on this page, and if I may because it's impossible to link to anything within that page, not even any text title of a pattern , I'll link the images here:


I also use the Spears and Munsil UHD HDR Benchmark disc, because it has HDR version of the Ramps.

The "problem" I have is visible slight banding in those patterns with the LG factory LUTs, and after calibration, visible slight banding (but in a different place in the patterns). This makes it very hard to judge if my calibration has made an improvement!

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #13586 of 15628 Old 04-04-2020, 08:43 AM
Senior Member
 
mhmercer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
I agree. The pattern you want is "Colour (sic) Ramps Horizontal and Vertical"
Fixed it for you!
sbarnhar likes this.

| LG OLED55C9, Firmware v04.80.03 | Denon AVR-X3400H, Firmware v7600-8281-6432-2065 | ATV 4K | Sony UBP-X700 | Hsu HC-1 MK2 (C) & HB-1 MK2 (LRSur), Sub VTF-15H MK2, ELAC Atmos | X-Rite i1D3 OEM | 2020 CalMAN Home for LG build 163 |
mhmercer is offline  
post #13587 of 15628 Old 04-04-2020, 09:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,961
Mentioned: 222 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6240 Post(s)
Liked: 9068
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhmercer View Post
Fixed it for you!
You're a very naughty boy .

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #13588 of 15628 Old 04-04-2020, 03:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Just wanted to give an update since shutting off ASBL on my LG C9. I have not noticed a single dimming or brightening issue on this set since shutting it off. I will go one step further.....I have not even noticed this phenomena with HDR and Dynamic Tone Mapping enabled. For instance when I watched Sicario in 4K HDR a few weeks ago I thought I'd give DTM a try. I know its short comings overall but what I could not deal with was the slow dimming and slow brightening of the image. I guess I am just sensitive to this hahaha. But with ASBL set to off, those issues are gone DTM is just doing its thing.

I do feel that I need to say how I use my LG C9. I use it strictly as a home theater TV in a dark room with no window light 24/7. I do not watch broadcast material on this set and will never do so. I do have an XBox One X hooked up to it but I have played very little games with it. It looks absolutely beautiful with 4K HDR games.....but I might want to rethink playing games more than an hour with ASBL turned off. I would be VERY concerned turning ASBL to OFF if I was going to be watching broadcast TV on it and risk burn-in.

Something to think about before shutting off ASBL.


My Setup:
LG C9 65' Professionally Calibrated to ISF Standards
Pioneer LX-801 AVR
2x-Crown AMPS 350w, one to power ButtKicker LFE on Seats, Other for 2-Surround Back Channels
7.2.4 ATMOS Speaker setup
Panasonic UB-820 player
Richard Gray Power Company 120v Substation & 600S ISO Gray System
Xbox One X
Atlantic Technology 270 THX Select 7.1 speakers with Dipole surrounds
SVS 1000 SUB to pair with Atlantic Technology Sub
4x SVS Prime Elevation speakers for ATMOS
KC-Technerd and 22Green like this.

Last edited by Jrod79; 04-04-2020 at 03:29 PM.
Jrod79 is offline  
post #13589 of 15628 Old 04-04-2020, 06:50 PM
Member
 
Afrikan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ice Cold View Post
What LG CX features do. You LG C9 owners really wish you had if only a little and not deal breakers ?

A pretty big one for me.

I love my C9 (don't get me wrong. I feel I have a great future proof TV), but I wish that it had an ATSC 3.0 Tuner.

I'm no expert like some in here, so anyone correct me if I'm wrong about anything.

I know some will say we won't have 4k 60fps OTA broadcasts for a while, but you never know. One of these stations might push to broadcast 4k60fps sport events OTA, to stand out. I mean Fox and ESPN have already done so through streaming (with Fox upscaling 1080p, but at least having HDR) and through cable/satellite. I can see CBS also pushing image quality. And for sure Univision, who were one the of the first I believe to broadcast in HD.

Now we'll probably have have the option to buy external 3.0 Tuners, but that's another story in itself as far as the experience. Plus it would take up an HDMI port right?

Last edited by Afrikan; 04-04-2020 at 06:58 PM.
Afrikan is offline  
post #13590 of 15628 Old 04-05-2020, 12:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Why is it so hard to get 24p films to play correctly on pc connected to the C9? The tv’s internal player plays everything smoothly but if I use media player software on pc (powerdvd, vlc) I get microstutter/frameskip and judder. I already went to Nvidia Control Panel and and changed refresh rate to 23hz (for 23.976 fps film) or 24hz (for 24 fps film). Real Cinema was already enabled in the tv’s setting. Trumotion was off. Yet it never looks as smooth as when played on internal player.
Duc Vu is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
allm , dead , directional hdmi , hdmi , judder , lg c9 , lg c9 oled , lg oled c9 , lgoled , Marantz , motion , oled , oled 55 , pixel dead , pixels , soundbar advice , sr5012

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off