2019 C9–E9 Owner's Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 459 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 8950Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13741 of 15654 Old 04-17-2020, 05:59 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 26,424
Mentioned: 92 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7645 Post(s)
Liked: 7709
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zorn_ View Post
That's the exact one. I am still debating the protection, it costs $499 for the 5 year one. My issue is that technically under the plan if your TV is junked out they are supposed to replace it with a spec for spec item (so a 77" OLED TV) but what I have seen in the past is that particularly on good deals, they will tend to say "we can't possibly replace it for that price, so we will give you a gift card for the price you paid" in which case you are out the $500 on the warranty, and you get $2250 that doesn't buy you a 77" OLED again. Very on the fence.
Well there are always third party cheaper options like Mack Warranty.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13742 of 15654 Old 04-17-2020, 09:39 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurraybhm View Post
Welcome to the club. I suggest you start here - if you post some more info on your settings for both the Denon and LG that would help too if you can't find what you need below.

I have already read thru that entire thread before posting. The talk in there is with regard to eARC but I don't have that on my AVR. I know that Denon and Marantz merged some while ago, but just to be clear: I have a Marantz SR5012 (no eARC!).



Settings on LG:
Auto Device Detection: on
SIMPLINK (HDMI-CEC): on
Auto Power Sync: on
Sound out: HDMI ARC
DTV Audio Setting: Auto
HDMI Input Audio Format: HDMI 2 Bitstream


Settings on SR5012:
Video HDMI Setup: HDMI Control on, ARC on, TV Audio on
Output Settings: HDMI Video Output Auto (Dual), Video Mode Auto


What more is needed?


Thx for any help


PS: I just had a phone call with a Hifi specialist who told me that ARC is not a certified standard and that it happens often that certain devices don't communicate with each other well. He suggested that I connect via glas viber. But he was also surprised that the HDMI control (switching AVR on and off with LG remote) does not work.
Ralph Bicker is offline  
post #13743 of 15654 Old 04-17-2020, 10:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Dr Pepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 187
When I went through the initial setup of the tv it set it up so that the magic remote operates my dish hopper. I do not want the magic remote to control anything but the TV. How do I fix this?
Thanks


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Sony XBR 900F
LG C9 OLED
LG C7 OLED
Dr Pepper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13744 of 15654 Old 04-17-2020, 10:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
D Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 1,998
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 534 Post(s)
Liked: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralph Bicker View Post
I have already read thru that entire thread before posting. The talk in there is with regard to eARC but I don't have that on my AVR. I know that Denon and Marantz merged some while ago, but just to be clear: I have a Marantz SR5012 (no eARC!).



Settings on LG:
Auto Device Detection: on
SIMPLINK (HDMI-CEC): on
Auto Power Sync: on
Sound out: HDMI ARC
DTV Audio Setting: Auto
HDMI Input Audio Format: HDMI 2 Bitstream


Settings on SR5012:
Video HDMI Setup: HDMI Control on, ARC on, TV Audio on
Output Settings: HDMI Video Output Auto (Dual), Video Mode Auto


What more is needed?


Thx for any help


PS: I just had a phone call with a Hifi specialist who told me that ARC is not a certified standard and that it happens often that certain devices don't communicate with each other well. He suggested that I connect via glas viber. But he was also surprised that the HDMI control (switching AVR on and off with LG remote) does not work.
When you say "TV Audio On" for the Marantz, do you mean "HDMI Audio Out"? If yes, that needs to be set to AVR, not TV!
D Bone is online now  
post #13745 of 15654 Old 04-17-2020, 10:34 AM
Senior Member
 
hal250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralph Bicker View Post
......... First (1.) problem: When using the YouTube and Netflix apps from the LG I get no sound via the AVR to my loudspeakers! I think I have gone thru all settings on AVR and TV and feel I have done what I can but it does not work. I also cut all devices from electrical power and plugged back in. Also I bought a brand new HDMI high speed cable that explicitly says it supports ARC functions. I just won't work I really don't know what to do anymore to get the sound ot of my loudspeakers................Ralph
If you're using the "optical digital audio out" port on the back of the C9, ensure that is enabled in sound settings. You might also try the audio H/P headphone out port to try and isolate your problem. And, when you write "when using youtube and netflex apps...." is this to say the sound is working as you intend it to when using other apps and/or other inputs?

Golden Ear Triton Reference (pair), Musical Fidelity M6si, Schiit Yggdrasil-B, Oppo UDP-205, Emotiva ERC-3, LG OLED65C9PUA, Salamander Synergy Triple Unit SL20, Audeze LCD-X
hal250 is offline  
post #13746 of 15654 Old 04-17-2020, 10:36 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey guys
I would like to put a led strip on the TV
can i do this without hesitation?
Would you recommend ist or would it crash die blacks?
Or ist the tv to thin to put a strip on it?
Alex Schmidt is offline  
post #13747 of 15654 Old 04-17-2020, 11:00 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Has anyone been able to use the microphone on the LG magic remote to use voice search on the Apple TV or the xfinity set top box? Every time I click the microphone button, it tries to open up google assistant, rather than allowing me to do a voice search inside of Apple TV or xfinity box.

Will I really need to have 3 remotes handy just to use voice search within each box?
reedickulus is offline  
post #13748 of 15654 Old 04-17-2020, 11:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 973 Post(s)
Liked: 974
Quote:
Originally Posted by reedickulus View Post
Has anyone been able to use the microphone on the LG magic remote to use voice search on the Apple TV or the xfinity set top box? Every time I click the microphone button, it tries to open up google assistant, rather than allowing me to do a voice search inside of Apple TV or xfinity box.

Will I really need to have 3 remotes handy just to use voice search within each box?
It will only work with the Google assist and LG TV directly

LG OLED C9, C8, C6 / AVR - Pioneer Elite SC-LX502 / Xbox One X, S / PS4 Pro / Nintendo Switch

Living Room: LG OLED65C9, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedrooms: LG OLED65C8, LG OLED55C6, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
LG C6PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-OLED55C6P.AUS
LG C8PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
LG C9PUA/AUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS
Jrocker23 is offline  
post #13749 of 15654 Old 04-17-2020, 12:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by D Bone View Post
When you say "TV Audio On" for the Marantz, do you mean "HDMI Audio Out"? If yes, that needs to be set to AVR, not TV!
@D Bone


No, the TV Audio is a setting on the Marantz so it knows when the TV sends a signal that it automatically changes to TV Audio as source. Besides, there is no option to toggle AVR, only Yes/No.

@hal250


Youtube and Netflix were just examples, I don't get any sound from LG Apps. Yes, I know I can use an optical cable, apparently some sound formats (HD Audio) will not be transported via that, only some lossy digital sound formats. So I would obviously prefer to use ARC. And one would think if both devices offer ARC it should be possible to make that work.
Ralph Bicker is offline  
post #13750 of 15654 Old 04-17-2020, 12:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
D Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 1,998
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 534 Post(s)
Liked: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralph Bicker View Post
@D Bone


No, the TV Audio is a setting on the Marantz so it knows when the TV sends a signal that it automatically changes to TV Audio as source. Besides, there is no option to toggle AVR, only Yes/No.

@hal250


Youtube and Netflix were just examples, I don't get any sound from LG Apps. Yes, I know I can use an optical cable, apparently some sound formats (HD Audio) will not be transported via that, only some lossy digital sound formats. So I would obviously prefer to use ARC. And one would think if both devices offer ARC it should be possible to make that work.
Can you please take a picture of your Settings > HDMI Setup screen and post?
D Bone is online now  
post #13751 of 15654 Old 04-17-2020, 01:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
D Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 1,998
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 534 Post(s)
Liked: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralph Bicker View Post
@D Bone


No, the TV Audio is a setting on the Marantz so it knows when the TV sends a signal that it automatically changes to TV Audio as source. Besides, there is no option to toggle AVR, only Yes/No.

@hal250


Youtube and Netflix were just examples, I don't get any sound from LG Apps. Yes, I know I can use an optical cable, apparently some sound formats (HD Audio) will not be transported via that, only some lossy digital sound formats. So I would obviously prefer to use ARC. And one would think if both devices offer ARC it should be possible to make that work.
HDMI Control is a hit or miss thing. Try this and report back if you can now get sound from AVR with the C9's onboard apps.

In the Marantz: Settings > HDMI Setup > All Off except ARC - ARC ON

In the C9: ARC ON

Manually switch the Marantz to 'TV Audio' input. Launch an app in the C9. Turn the volume up with the Marantz remote...... sound?
D Bone is online now  
post #13752 of 15654 Old 04-17-2020, 03:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SW USA
Posts: 9,788
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5216 Post(s)
Liked: 3230
Anyone else getting a message on the top right of the screen randomly that says something like "XBox is now available"? I'm thinking that the XBox, which is connected directly to the C9 has just completed some sort of update and then lets us know that it is available. Is this a correct assumption?

lujan
697 Ultra HD
740 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #13753 of 15654 Old 04-17-2020, 03:47 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
@D Bone


Did what you said, no sound! Funny thing was when I deactivated the HDMI Control that I still could change the volume of the AVR with the LG remote. Thought I would lose that option when turning HDMI Control off on the AVR.
Ralph Bicker is offline  
post #13754 of 15654 Old 04-17-2020, 03:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Anyone else getting a message on the top right of the screen randomly that says something like "XBox is now available"? I'm thinking that the XBox, which is connected directly to the C9 has just completed some sort of update and then lets us know that it is available. Is this a correct assumption?
No. It just means the Xbox is now available to use.

I get the same message but with my sound bar.
TechNerd666 is offline  
post #13755 of 15654 Old 04-17-2020, 03:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
D Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 1,998
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 534 Post(s)
Liked: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralph Bicker View Post
@D Bone


Did what you said, no sound! Funny thing was when I deactivated the HDMI Control that I still could change the volume of the AVR with the LG remote. Thought I would lose that option when turning HDMI Control off on the AVR.
Hmmmm, Ok, if it were me, I would keep all of the HDMI settings in the Marantz like I suggested and then unplug both the Marantz and LG for at least 10 minutes to do a 'soft reset', and then try again.

..... and yes, you don't need HDMI Control On to use ARC and the LG's remote to control volume.
D Bone is online now  
post #13756 of 15654 Old 04-17-2020, 04:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SW USA
Posts: 9,788
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5216 Post(s)
Liked: 3230
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechNerd666 View Post
No. It just means the Xbox is now available to use.

I get the same message but with my sound bar.
If that were the case, then it should show up every time I turn on the C9. It only shows up randomly and not every day. I'm trying to get at "what is causing it to show this message"?

lujan
697 Ultra HD
740 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #13757 of 15654 Old 04-17-2020, 05:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,745
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 680 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Guys

I found a C9 without the stand. Having trouble finding a part number or availability for one? Any one have one from their wall mount install?

thx

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #13758 of 15654 Old 04-17-2020, 11:38 PM
Newbie
 
Sabrewulf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hello,

is there a reason why the "peak brightness" setting is greyed out in SDR Game Mode?
Sabrewulf is offline  
post #13759 of 15654 Old 04-18-2020, 02:54 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
So my C9 Panel was replaced yesterday.
But the new panel was a B9 Panel? So they both use the same panel? I've read that die C9 have more peak brightess in HDR how ist thus possible if both have the same panel?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20200416_134218_1587203655547.jpg
Views:	176
Size:	3.13 MB
ID:	2711884  
Alex Schmidt is offline  
post #13760 of 15654 Old 04-18-2020, 03:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,969
Mentioned: 222 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6248 Post(s)
Liked: 9080
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex Schmidt View Post
So my C9 Panel was replaced yesterday.
But the new panel was a B9 Panel? So they both use the same panel?
Correct.

Quote:
I've read that die C9 have more peak brightess in HDR
Where ever you read that, it was wrong. The panels are the same, and have been for many years.

For example, and these are just examples, not some kind of legally-binding list:
In 2020, the only difference between CX and BX is processing, they use the same panels.
In 2019, the only difference between C9 and B9 was processing, they used the same panels.
In 2018, the only difference between C8 and B8 was processing, they used the same panels.
In 2017, there was no difference between C7 and B7 in processing, they used the same panels, just the chassis were different.
dwaleke likes this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs

Last edited by mrtickleuk; 04-18-2020 at 05:19 AM.
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #13761 of 15654 Old 04-18-2020, 05:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guitarguy316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,831
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2141 Post(s)
Liked: 823
YouTube av sync on the internal app seems to be getting worse with updates. Netflix and others are fine via optical output to my AVR but YouTube is badly out of sync.
stevec325 and mrtickleuk like this.
guitarguy316 is offline  
post #13762 of 15654 Old 04-18-2020, 05:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralph Bicker View Post
Yes, I know I can use an optical cable, apparently some sound formats (HD Audio) will not be transported via that, only some lossy digital sound formats. So I would obviously prefer to use ARC. And one would think if both devices offer ARC it should be possible to make that work.
ARC also only supports lossy audio formats (and PCM 2.0). For HD Audio you'll need eARC which your AVR does not support anyway. You'll get almost the same audio formats via optical as with ARC. The only exception being Dolby Digital plus and Atmos based on DD+ which is not transported via optical (at least in my case).
Siran77 is offline  
post #13763 of 15654 Old 04-18-2020, 06:22 AM
Member
 
Sy17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I was looking for a little guidance. I’ve recently bought a Samsung 55Q9R. After having it for a week I sent it back and received a refund. I just wasn’t happy with the over all picture in HRD. Dark scenes were so dark that you couldn’t make it any detail or even people’s faces at times! I tried various setting and tweaked everything I could but just gave up on the end. So now I’m looking at the C9, it’s currently selling at a fantastic price! I’ve never had an OLED before, excuse my ignorance but I just worry that they will only last a year or so due to screen burn and so on. I’ve also heard about banding which can sometimes be on the panel almost straight away? My children and I do alot of gaming too. Sometimes we game for around 5 hours straight on game nights! So I’m looking for advice from you experienced guys with OLED experience. Will an OLED be ok for gaming? Do you have to restrict your gaming habits? Plus is the brightness sufficient for HDR? Sorry for all the questions but I’m ready to buy now and I am really unsure which path to go down.
Sy17 is offline  
post #13764 of 15654 Old 04-18-2020, 07:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Dr Pepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sy17 View Post
I was looking for a little guidance. I’ve recently bought a Samsung 55Q9R. After having it for a week I sent it back and received a refund. I just wasn’t happy with the over all picture in HRD. Dark scenes were so dark that you couldn’t make it any detail or even people’s faces at times! I tried various setting and tweaked everything I could but just gave up on the end. So now I’m looking at the C9, it’s currently selling at a fantastic price! I’ve never had an OLED before, excuse my ignorance but I just worry that they will only last a year or so due to screen burn and so on. I’ve also heard about banding which can sometimes be on the panel almost straight away? My children and I do alot of gaming too. Sometimes we game for around 5 hours straight on game nights! So I’m looking for advice from you experienced guys with OLED experience. Will an OLED be ok for gaming? Do you have to restrict your gaming habits? Plus is the brightness sufficient for HDR? Sorry for all the questions but I’m ready to buy now and I am really unsure which path to go down.

Can you burn in an image on an OLED? Yes
Is it something you should worry about? No
I have a 2017 LG C7 that I have used almost exclusively for gaming. I have no burn in. I have noticed a little image retention from time to time but it goes away in a few minutes watching normal tv. Be aware of it but don’t miss out on a great TV worrying about it. If you have a static image on the screen in the same place long enough, you can burn it in. You are much more likely to be like my brother and burn in a channel logo than anything from gaming. ( his tv never left Fox News) I just bought a 65 C9 for the den and loving it.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
D Bone likes this.

Sony XBR 900F
LG C9 OLED
LG C7 OLED
Dr Pepper is offline  
post #13765 of 15654 Old 04-18-2020, 07:56 AM
Member
 
Sy17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 38
[/quote]


Can you burn in an image on an OLED? Yes
Is it something you should worry about? No
I have a 2017 LG C7 that I have used almost exclusively for gaming. I have no burn in. I have noticed a little image retention from time to time but it goes away in a few minutes watching normal tv. Be aware of it but don’️t miss out on a great TV worrying about it. If you have a static image on the screen in the same place long enough, you can burn it in. You are much more likely to be like my brother and burn in a channel logo than anything from gaming. ( his tv never left Fox News) I just bought a 65 C9 for the den and loving it.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk[/QUOTE]


Ok, thank you the info. So if I take do buy the OLED should I steer clear from the news channels? I do watch BBC news 24, sometimes for over an hour? So basically you can’t just watch it like a normal tv you have to vary your content? Sorry if I seem a bit ignorant it’s just OLED is all new to me. For example when I’m off work I have BBC new 24 on for hours on end catching up with everything. It had the bright clock in the corner and of course bright banners at the bottom scrolling across constantly. I really want to purchase the C9 as I’ve heard that HRD movies and gaming are should I say very pleasing to the eye to say the least. I just don’t want to have to be timing my self or restricting what I choose to watch if that makes sense? Right now my local shop (Richer Sounds) are dont a deal where you get the C9 55 inch with the SL10YG sound bar system for £1750, which I think is a brilliant deal after researching other shops for pricing.
Sy17 is offline  
post #13766 of 15654 Old 04-18-2020, 08:08 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 10,141
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2077 Post(s)
Liked: 4269
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post

I found a C9 without the stand. Having trouble finding a part number or availability for one? Any one have one from their wall mount install?
As an alternative to the original stand, you can use any stand that supports VESA 300x200. I use this one to raise the TV above the center speaker: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0122TVI7U/
GC3 and D Bone like this.
DaverJ is offline  
post #13767 of 15654 Old 04-18-2020, 08:30 AM
Senior Member
 
HiFi4Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: E.U.
Posts: 497
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sy17 View Post
Ok, thank you the info. So if I take do buy the OLED should I steer clear from the news channels? I do watch BBC news 24, sometimes for over an hour?
As long as you use an OLED TV in a reasonably normal way, there is usually no problem. It would not be normal, for example, if you let the TV run on the same channel all day and all week long. In such cases burn-in is an actual problem.

This test on rtings.com shows you what happens if you use the TV excessively in this way for a very long time. Whereby one must still note that since the 2017 models LG has taken further measures to better prevent burn-in even though the underlying problem still exists.

TV: LG OLED C9 Firmware v04.71.25 | Probe: X-Rite i1Display Pro OEM Rev. B-02 (04/2019) | EDR: FSI_XM55U_23Jan19.edr | SW: CalMAN Home for LG R3 GM v05.10.2.67 | PG: LG iTPG
HiFi4Vision is offline  
post #13768 of 15654 Old 04-18-2020, 08:35 AM
Member
 
Blipstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 15
OK so about this Xbox One/HDMI audio lag issue; I've been reading a bunch about this. Any Dolby signal running into the TV from the Xbox HDMI and then to an AVR via ARC, has major delays.

My questions:

If we run the audio directly to the AVR and then to the TV, we lose VRR and ALLM....is this correct? This is why we are all running into the TV first, correct?

I thought I had read that that VRR and ALLM and not exclusive to HDMI 2.1 anymore and can run on 2.0. Am I remembering this incorrectly?


Thanks

There is no spoon

Last edited by Blipstein; 04-18-2020 at 08:38 AM.
Blipstein is online now  
post #13769 of 15654 Old 04-18-2020, 08:38 AM
Member
 
Sy17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiFi4Vision View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sy17 View Post
Ok, thank you the info. So if I take do buy the OLED should I steer clear from the news channels? I do watch BBC news 24, sometimes for over an hour?
As long as you use an OLED TV in a reasonably normal way, there is usually no problem. It would not be normal, for example, if you let the TV run on the same channel all day and all week long. In such cases burn-in is an actual problem.

This test on rtings.com shows you what happens if you use the TV excessively in this way for a very long time. Whereby one must still note that since the 2017 models LG has taken further measures to better prevent burn-in even though the underlying problem still exists.
I appreciate you responding, thank you. Another question (sorry) would you recommend the CX 55 over the C9? All though I MAY wait for another year before investigates OLED again. I’m so on the fence at the moment. I love the picture quality and all that goes with it I’m just so scared of screen burn as I wouldn’t have the money to simply replace it again. Also I would want to be free to leave the kids to gaming and not have to worry or watch news 24 for a few hours without being concerned I’m ruining the tv. Damn! I might just hunt out an old CRT and be done with it! lol!
Sy17 is offline  
post #13770 of 15654 Old 04-18-2020, 08:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blipstein View Post
I thought I had read that that VRR and ALLM and not exclusive to HDMI 2.1 anymore and can run on 2.0. Am I remembering this incorrectly?
No single AVR in existence can pass through VRR.
Sabrewulf likes this.
Siran77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
allm , dead , directional hdmi , hdmi , judder , lg c9 , lg c9 oled , lg oled c9 , lgoled , Marantz , motion , oled , oled 55 , pixel dead , pixels , soundbar advice , sr5012

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off