2019 C9–E9 Owner's Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 472 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 8950Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14131 of 15654 Old 05-05-2020, 08:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post
Whoa has this been posted, the CX doesn't have full HDMI 2.1 bandwidth.
https://www.forbes.com/sites/johnarc.../#3458570a6276
Wow. Surely PS5 and Next Xbox will take advantage of the full 48gbps?

I’d be pissed if I bought the CX and it’s inferior than the previous model in some ways.
TechNerd666 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14132 of 15654 Old 05-05-2020, 08:58 AM
Senior Member
 
djgcue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 26
When I purchased my 65" C9 3-weeks ago, I was going back and forth b/w the CX and C9 via AAFES. At time, the price difference was $300, I was able to get an additional $200 back from AAFES. In the end, I'm so glad I went with the C9. I'm not sure what the ramifications will be with the PS5 b/w the CX vs. C9, but in the end I'm happy to saved $500.
djgcue is offline  
post #14133 of 15654 Old 05-05-2020, 09:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
teiresias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sargon 1 View Post
On my plasma, ALL scenes with a large amount of white on the screen would be freakin dim. Plasma ruled the night and Samsung ruled the day. My LG OLED rules both.

Am I correct here? . . .
ASBL kicks in over small bright icons or small windows of bright and when it does, it sneeks up, affecting the entire scene and you don't often realize it until it leaves? ABL kicks in over large bright white type backgrounds, and when it does, it is much more sudden?

BTW, ARE YOU GUYS NOTICING THIS WATCHING PHYSICAL BLU-RAY MOVIES or TV ANTENNA SHOWS?
I ask because this IS content I watch - and haven't seen it.

Also, would a white Google search screen on my tv invoke it? So far that hasn't. Although I haven't tried Windows.
The ASBL issue is an issue with DARK content. ASBL is an automatic dimming the TV does when it thinks there has been a static average image on the screen. For some reason, the algorithm used can trigger ASBL to dim the screen if overall average dark/low luminance content has been on the screen for a long time (like a long dim scene in a horror movie, or an episode of Sabrina, for example). Then, when a scene comes on afterwards that is brighter, the screen remains dim until the algorithm notices this change and then suddenly brightens the screen back up.

ASBL is not an issue with dimming on bright elements, that is ABL.

Someone can correct me if I'm wrong.
teiresias is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14134 of 15654 Old 05-05-2020, 09:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Tygeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 179
2019 C9–E9 Owner's Thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by djgcue View Post
When I purchased my 65" C9 3-weeks ago, I was going back and forth b/w the CX and C9 via AAFES. At time, the price difference was $300, I was able to get an additional $200 back from AAFES. In the end, I'm so glad I went with the C9. I'm not sure what the ramifications will be with the PS5 b/w the CX vs. C9, but in the end I'm happy to saved $500.

The c9 has all the gaming features of hdmi 2.1 including higher bandwidth hdmi ports as well as dts support.

I went ahead and bought a secone c9 instead of a cx.
Tygeezy is online now  
post #14135 of 15654 Old 05-05-2020, 02:28 PM
Member
 
Julian01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SE-Fl.
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Need some help Please...

Scheduled for delivery to me this Thursday is a new 55" E9.
I couldn't resist the price, if I had the room, I would have gone larger..

It seems that the tv rests on the glass for front support and leans back a bit, to keep it from tipping forward.

Would any one care to measure how much lean back the tv has.
from where it rests on a flat table top - backside of the bottom of screen to the top backside of the screen.
it"s probably in the neighbor hood of an 1" or so. maybe even less I'm really hoping..

I'm using the stand/base it comes with, and the tv will sit just outside on the face of a recessed opening with a shelf in it, so I need to have a short as possible ledge stick out only to what I need to hold the glass up and give it the support it needs. I'm going to put a short 1/4" tall lip on the edge to keep it from sliding off the front edge. This a custom install into my wall unit.
It would seem ridiculously hard to get a wall mount arm to work, since the back wall is 2' back and end position is critical.
Thanks.. This is replacing a just recently deceased 2016 Visio P50 C1

2016 - Visio P50c-1 - Denon X4200W - All Klipsch, RP280F towers - and Atmos speaker system - old school DCM Time Windows -KODI-
Julian01 is offline  
post #14136 of 15654 Old 05-05-2020, 04:54 PM
Newbie
 
ombsz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: DC Metro
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by D Bone View Post
Damn, I have no idea since all HDMI inputs go dark. Did you turn on the HDMI Ultra HD Color setting for each input in the C9?
Yes, I checked and HDMI Ultra HD Deep Color is turned on for all inputs. It is very strange. I'm pretty sure it never happened when I was on 4.71.05 (I think that was the version) when I got the TV in January.
D Bone likes this.
ombsz is offline  
post #14137 of 15654 Old 05-05-2020, 05:23 PM
Member
 
thomasec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Does anyone have recommendations for a material to put underneath the tv stand, so it doesn't potentially damage the media console it's setup on? Is this even something I should be concerned about, if it's a high quality, walnut media console? I had the Sony A1E on it before, so the weight was distributed much more evenly - no marks after it was there for about 2 years.

Sony XBR-65A1E | Onkyo A-9150 | B&W 686 S2 | Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB
thomasec is offline  
post #14138 of 15654 Old 05-05-2020, 07:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
helvetica bold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,752
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2012 Post(s)
Liked: 1313
Out of curiosity, how many of you have more than one OLED? Im thinking about buying a second C9 and Im feeling a little gluttonous. Im not talking any vacations so why not!

LG65C9 & E9, XBOX ONE X, PS4PRO, APPLE 4K, SONY STRDN1070, Q Acoustics: 3010i & 3090Ci
helvetica bold is offline  
post #14139 of 15654 Old 05-05-2020, 07:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 973 Post(s)
Liked: 974
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post
Out of curiosity, how many of you have more than one OLED? Im thinking about buying a second C9 and Im feeling a little gluttonous. Im not talking any vacations so why not!
I have 3

LG OLED C9, C8, C6 / AVR - Pioneer Elite SC-LX502 / Xbox One X, S / PS4 Pro / Nintendo Switch
helvetica bold likes this.

Living Room: LG OLED65C9, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedrooms: LG OLED65C8, LG OLED55C6, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
LG C6PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-OLED55C6P.AUS
LG C8PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
LG C9PUA/AUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS
Jrocker23 is offline  
post #14140 of 15654 Old 05-05-2020, 08:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mboojigga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Little Rock AFB, Arkansas
Posts: 9,380
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 792 Post(s)
Liked: 1011
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post
Out of curiosity, how many of you have more than one OLED? Im thinking about buying a second C9 and Im feeling a little gluttonous. Im not talking any vacations so why not!
Just ordered another tonight. Bought the C9 77in since the CX isn't available here still. Have owned the 55 C9 since Feb 2020

The 5.0 is here
mboojigga is offline  
post #14141 of 15654 Old 05-05-2020, 08:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
iatacs19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: DC Metro
Posts: 1,707
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasec View Post
Does anyone have recommendations for a material to put underneath the tv stand, so it doesn't potentially damage the media console it's setup on? Is this even something I should be concerned about, if it's a high quality, walnut media console? I had the Sony A1E on it before, so the weight was distributed much more evenly - no marks after it was there for about 2 years.



I used a thin blanket, but I think bath towels should work too. The stand is really really dense and heavy so handle it with care or it could dent your wood surface easily. Also, watch out for that front part of the stand, it has some sharp edges that could also damage your furniture. Remember just go slow and you'll be fine. Good luck!

.

OLED65C9PUA, NVIDIA SHIELD TV Pro, Xbox One X, B&O Beosound Stage, BDI 8179
iatacs19 is offline  
post #14142 of 15654 Old 05-05-2020, 09:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Bluewookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Southern CT
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post
Out of curiosity, how many of you have more than one OLED? Im thinking about buying a second C9 and Im feeling a little gluttonous. Im not talking any vacations so why not!
Two here. A 65" C9 last summer, and a 55" C9 last week.
mboojigga likes this.

HT1: LG OLED65C9 -- Denon AVR-X3500H -- Ascend Acoustics CMT-340 SE's Front & Center -- Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE's Rear -- Hsu VTF-3 MK4 -- Xbox One X -- Apple TV 4K -- Playstation 4 -- LG UBK90 -- Harmony Smart Control Remote & Hub -- Aircom T8
HT2: LG OLED55C9 -- Denon AVR-X3500H -- SVS SB-01 5.0 speakers -- SVS PB12 NSD/V -- Apple TV 4K -- LG UBK90 -- Harmony Smart Control Remote & Hub -- Aircom T8
Bluewookie is offline  
post #14143 of 15654 Old 05-05-2020, 09:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Sargon 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: The Forbidden Zone
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by mboojigga View Post
Just ordered another tonight. Bought the C9 77in since the CX isn't available here still. Have owned the 55 C9 since Feb 2020
Let us know any difference in clarity going from a 55 to a 77 in pixel spread.
4K pixel spread is much more forgiving with regard to increase in size, but I have noticed a difference - in the stores - at least.

Oh, and congrats! A 77! NICE!!!!!!
Sargon 1 is offline  
post #14144 of 15654 Old 05-05-2020, 09:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mboojigga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Little Rock AFB, Arkansas
Posts: 9,380
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 792 Post(s)
Liked: 1011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sargon 1 View Post
Let us know any difference in clarity going from a 55 to a 77 in pixel spread.
4K pixel spread is much more forgiving with regard to increase in size, but I have noticed a difference - in the stores - at least.

Oh, and congrats! A 77! NICE!!!!!!
Thanks this has been in the plans to replace a 2015 Vizio M 65in for my living room. The 55 replaced a 2011 47in Samsung in my bedroom.
Sargon 1 likes this.

The 5.0 is here
mboojigga is offline  
post #14145 of 15654 Old 05-06-2020, 02:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SW USA
Posts: 9,788
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5216 Post(s)
Liked: 3229
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post
Out of curiosity, how many of you have more than one OLED? Im thinking about buying a second C9 and Im feeling a little gluttonous. Im not talking any vacations so why not!
I only have one other, the EF9500 which I believe is a 2015 model. I only use it when I want to watch a 3D title.

lujan
697 Ultra HD
740 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #14146 of 15654 Old 05-06-2020, 04:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 521
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 428 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Just returned my 65CX and have a 65C9 coming Friday. I have a big issue with being bait-and-switched, and I am having HDMI issues with my 2019 shield on the CX.

I am saving 600 and dont have to constantly worry about what other corners were cut in the CX.

Quick question. I am coming from a samsung qled, and I am worried about firmware updates degrading PQ (i have experienced this firsthand on the samsung)...Is the latest C9 FW good to go picture wise from earlier firmware versions? No color or brigthness nerfing, etc?

LG 65CX l Apple TV 4K l PS4 Pro l Nintendo Switch | Logitech Harmony Companion
saiyanzzrage is online now  
post #14147 of 15654 Old 05-06-2020, 05:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Sargon 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: The Forbidden Zone
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by saiyanzzrage View Post
Just returned my 65CX and have a 65C9 coming Friday. I have a big issue with being bait-and-switched, and I am having HDMI issues with my 2019 shield on the CX.

I am saving 600 and dont have to constantly worry about what other corners were cut in the CX.

Quick question. I am coming from a samsung qled, and I am worried about firmware updates degrading PQ (i have experienced this firsthand on the samsung)...Is the latest C9 FW good to go picture wise from earlier firmware versions? No color or brigthness nerfing, etc?
I've seen you on the CX posts and remember reading about your frustrations.
Congrats on the C9! Fingers crossed for a clean panel! (Was your CX uniform?)

I've been around this stuff a while too, and because of the occasional problems associated with firmware, I try to avoid firmware updates like the plague.
Not sure how up to date your new one will be. Mine is a 03.xxx something. Not even a 04 something.
Because I don't have ANY problems with my set, I don't want to do an update that I cannot "revert".

If everything ends up looking good on your set and you don't encounter glitches etc, you won't need to worry.
My C9 was built in Dec 2019 and I purchased it in March 2020. If this set had glitches like the CX currently does, they have long since worked them out. Everything works beautifully on my set so far.

Please let me know if the C9 looks and has motion as good as the CX. You are one of the first to go reverse on this. Your first hand experience about this will be priceless.

Last edited by Sargon 1; 05-06-2020 at 05:22 AM.
Sargon 1 is offline  
post #14148 of 15654 Old 05-06-2020, 05:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 4,787
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2411 Post(s)
Liked: 3356
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post
Out of curiosity, how many of you have more than one OLED? Im thinking about buying a second C9 and Im feeling a little gluttonous. Im not talking any vacations so why not!

Three - see my signature below. Once you go, can't go back The 77" display continues to amaze me 3 months after setting it up.

There is no perfect display, quit looking for faults and enjoy

LG OLED 77" C9, 65” B7a (SOLD) and 55” C8
Ascend's with RAAL, Outlaw monoblocks, PSA v1800 and a 7.2.4 speaker config, Oppo 203 and other stuff
smurraybhm is offline  
post #14149 of 15654 Old 05-06-2020, 05:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 521
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 428 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sargon 1 View Post
I've seen you on the CX posts and remember reading about your frustrations.
Congrats on the C9! Fingers crossed for a clean panel! (Was your CX uniform?)

I've been around this stuff a while too, and because of the occasional problems associated with firmware, I try to avoid firmware updates like the plague.
Not sure how up to date your new one will be. Mine is a 03.xxx something. Not even a 04 something.
Because I don't have ANY problems with my set, I don't want to do an update that I cannot "revert".

If everything ends up looking good on your set and you don't encounter glitches etc, you won't need to worry.
My C9 was built in Dec 2019 and I purchased it in March 2020. If this set had glitches like the CX currently does, they have long since worked them out. Everything works beautifully on my set so far.

Please let me know if the C9 looks and has motion as good as the CX. You are one of the first to go reverse on this. Your first hand experience about this will be priceless.
Yep, CX panel was clean, no issues there.

C9 comes Friday, I will let you guys know my eye can see any differences. After having my qled nuked by firmware updates, I also kept it offline, which is why i asked about the LG firmware. Honestly, if the HDMI glitches are good to go on the C9 and the panel isnt atrocious, i will be ecstatic...my wife, on the other hand isnt (she thinks im a lunatic)
Sargon 1 likes this.
saiyanzzrage is online now  
post #14150 of 15654 Old 05-06-2020, 06:33 AM
Senior Member
 
bobkat007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 74
We have Dish Network which has a Netflix channel(300). It has it's own netflix app, which is different than the LG included Netfix app. I can understand that, but what I do not understand is the picture quality differences I see depending which app I use to stream Netflix content on the same TV. I need to study the differences a bit more, and I will report back. In the meantime, others that have Dish Network...please comment. BTW, same is true for Amazon prime app.
bobkat007 is offline  
post #14151 of 15654 Old 05-06-2020, 08:47 AM
Senior Member
 
soi_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: midatlantic
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
C9 Cable 4K Cable Requirements

I've got a 55" C9 TV w/ Comcast (supposedly)4K, NetFlix Premium, Prime and I'm going to add YouTube.
When I watch Netflix or Prime I use the Ethernet input. Otherwise, I use the XFinity inputs.

How do I know when the TV is displaying for 4K content?
I've been buying my cables from MonoPrice. The cables pkgs are labeled "HDMI PREMIUM Certified Cable"
Does that mean HDMI 2.1? HDMI 2.2? What grade ethernet & HDMI cable do I need to display 4K inputs?

Thanks,

Mike
soi_01 is offline  
post #14152 of 15654 Old 05-06-2020, 08:49 AM
Senior Member
 
soi_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: midatlantic
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
C9 4K input and HDMI Cables?

..

Last edited by soi_01; 05-06-2020 at 09:13 AM.
soi_01 is offline  
post #14153 of 15654 Old 05-06-2020, 09:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobkat007 View Post
We have Dish Network which has a Netflix channel(300). It has it's own netflix app, which is different than the LG included Netfix app. I can understand that, but what I do not understand is the picture quality differences I see depending which app I use to stream Netflix content on the same TV. I need to study the differences a bit more, and I will report back. In the meantime, others that have Dish Network...please comment. BTW, same is true for Amazon prime app.
I don’t know why but LG apps have the color gamut forced to wide while in the menus. Is that what you’re seeing?
TechNerd666 is online now  
post #14154 of 15654 Old 05-06-2020, 09:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,933
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1268 Post(s)
Liked: 1546
Quote:
Originally Posted by soi_01 View Post
How do I know when the TV is displaying for 4K content?
I've been buying my cables from MonoPrice. The cables pkgs are labeled "HDMI PREMIUM Certified Cable"
Does that mean HDMI 2.1? HDMI 2.2? What grade ethernet & HDMI cable do I need to display 4K inputs?
Press the three dots button on the remote and pick INFO. It should say 2160p for 4K.

Monoprice Certified Premium High Speed HDMI Cables is what's recommended around here.

A premium certified cable will handle everything that current devices can output. For HDMI 2.1 resolutions you'll need an Ultra High Speed HDMI cable and one should be included with the upcoming Xbox Series X and PS5. There is not HDMI 2.2 standard yet.
avernar is online now  
post #14155 of 15654 Old 05-06-2020, 09:49 AM
Senior Member
 
soi_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: midatlantic
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by avernar View Post
Press the three dots button on the remote and pick INFO. It should say 2160p for 4K.

Monoprice Certified Premium High Speed HDMI Cables is what's recommended around here.

A premium certified cable will handle everything that current devices can output. For HDMI 2.1 resolutions you'll need an Ultra High Speed HDMI cable and one should be included with the upcoming Xbox Series X and PS5. There is not HDMI 2.2 standard yet.
Thanks for the helpful reply. I wondered what those buttons w/ dots are for.
I'll check the LG website for the function description of the other buttons.
Any suggestions for the ethernet cable? I'm using CAT 5E I believe.
soi_01 is offline  
post #14156 of 15654 Old 05-06-2020, 09:49 AM
Senior Member
 
soi_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: midatlantic
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
..

Last edited by soi_01; 05-06-2020 at 09:54 AM.
soi_01 is offline  
post #14157 of 15654 Old 05-06-2020, 09:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,933
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1268 Post(s)
Liked: 1546
Quote:
Originally Posted by soi_01 View Post
Thanks for the helpful reply. I wondered what those buttons w/ dots are for.
I'll check the LG website for the function description of the other buttons.
Any suggestions for the ethernet cable? I'm using CAT 5E I believe.
Cat 5E is fine as it can handle gigabit and the C9 is only 100Mbps.
avernar is online now  
post #14158 of 15654 Old 05-06-2020, 11:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Bluewookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Southern CT
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Trying this again, since I didn't get any responses last time:

Just got my 2nd C9, 55 inch wall mounted this tike, to join my 65 inch stand mounted that I got last year.

For the wall mount, i'm using a Peerless tilt mount that I've had in that same spot previously. Question is whether to use spacers or no spacers? I used provided spacers with previous Samsung 55" mounted in that spot, but not sure if I should or should not use them with the LG?

HT1: LG OLED65C9 -- Denon AVR-X3500H -- Ascend Acoustics CMT-340 SE's Front & Center -- Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE's Rear -- Hsu VTF-3 MK4 -- Xbox One X -- Apple TV 4K -- Playstation 4 -- LG UBK90 -- Harmony Smart Control Remote & Hub -- Aircom T8
HT2: LG OLED55C9 -- Denon AVR-X3500H -- SVS SB-01 5.0 speakers -- SVS PB12 NSD/V -- Apple TV 4K -- LG UBK90 -- Harmony Smart Control Remote & Hub -- Aircom T8
Bluewookie is offline  
post #14159 of 15654 Old 05-06-2020, 11:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Coercion Shaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: GA, USA
Posts: 636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 393 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluewookie View Post
Trying this again, since I didn't get any responses last time:

Just got my 2nd C9, 55 inch wall mounted this tike, to join my 65 inch stand mounted that I got last year.

For the wall mount, i'm using a Peerless tilt mount that I've had in that same spot previously. Question is whether to use spacers or no spacers? I used provided spacers with previous Samsung 55" mounted in that spot, but not sure if I should or should not use them with the LG?
Spacers are generally because of an odd size screw requirement or to overcome the shape of the television. Everything is flush on the C9. Unless you are wanting to have that extra distance from the wall with the spacers, or unless you want to create additional tilt with the spacers, you don't need them (assuming the screws fit the C9).

EDIT: I will add that I never use spacers unless I have to. They create an additional point of failure, particularly the plastic ones. None of them twist on and that adds additional stress to the screw.

OLED77C9PUB // 5.1 Infinity Reference (RC263 / R263 & R162 / SVS PB-1000) & Denon x1600 // Xbox One X & PS4 Pro

Last edited by Coercion Shaman; 05-06-2020 at 11:22 AM.
Coercion Shaman is online now  
post #14160 of 15654 Old 05-06-2020, 11:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
akadennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,726
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post
Out of curiosity, how many of you have more than one OLED? Im thinking about buying a second C9 and Im feeling a little gluttonous. Im not talking any vacations so why not!
I have 3. 77C9, 65C9 and 65C7. I'm selling my C7 that still has over 2 years left on the BB warranty which is transferable. If anyone is interested send me a PM. Must be able to pick up in Staten Island NY. The TV does not have a mark on it, I really baby my OLED's. I will probably put it on ebay but a friend of a friend is supposedly interested, just waiting to hear from him. If I don't hear anything today on ebay it goes.
helvetica bold likes this.

LG OLED77C9 / LG OLED65C9 / LG UP970 / Oppo UDP-203 / Sony HT-Z9F+SA-Z9R / Apple TV 4K / Fire TV Stick 4K / TCL 55P605
akadennis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
allm , dead , directional hdmi , hdmi , judder , lg c9 , lg c9 oled , lg oled c9 , lgoled , Marantz , motion , oled , oled 55 , pixel dead , pixels , soundbar advice , sr5012

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off