2019 C9–E9 Owner's Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 492 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 8912Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14731 of 15606 Old 05-27-2020, 12:10 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 10,134
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2070 Post(s)
Liked: 4261
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keabrown79 View Post
Ok just placed my order for my 1st ever oled... =I’m going to get the 2 or 5 year bb warranty but can’t decide which yet. My question is that if I have an issue from burn in, which I might as it’s just used for gaming, if I get LG to replace my panel does it use my bb warranty? If bb comes out because of burn in do they do panel replacements or do they just give you a new tv/credit or if bb does panel replacements does it still consume the warranted?

Good choice, you'll love it.


I'm not sure Best Buy's panel replacement policy, so can't help you there. Burn-in was an issue with older OLED tech, but within the last couple years LG taken measures to protect the display. I haven't heard a single report of burn-in on a C9, which has been out for over a year. I'm not saying it will never happen, but with reasonable care it should look great for years and years. The only habit I had to break was leaving the TV on unattended, especially on paused games. And bothering to turn on Windows 10's screensaver.
DaverJ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14732 of 15606 Old 05-27-2020, 12:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,900
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1244 Post(s)
Liked: 1512
Quote:
Originally Posted by vpn75 View Post
I have no plans to get the Series X so I should be OK until HDMI 2.1 AVRs become widely available
If you do get one it will have eARC then you'll have four 4K 120Hz ports available, three on the TV and one on the AVR. So no worried there.

The new 2020 Denon models only have one >18Gbps input (labeled 8K). We'll see how many Yamaha has when they announce their 2020 models.
vpn75, mrtickleuk and LiLAsN like this.
avernar is offline  
post #14733 of 15606 Old 05-27-2020, 12:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 2,016
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1317 Post(s)
Liked: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by avernar View Post
I'm not the person you were originally talking to. Sounds like vpn75 has more more than three source devices. With the Sharc taking up one of the TV's inputs that leaves room for three devices hooked up to the TV. If you have four or more then you need to use the AVR as an HDMI switch and it will take up one of the TV's ports. That would leave only two ports capable of 4K 120Hz available.



So in vpn75's case it will be his PC with a new video card and the future PS5 that will get those ports. All other devices get hooked up to the AVR. If he decides to also get an Xbox Series X then he'd have an issue.
Sorry. I get that having too many devices and having to use the AVR as a HDMI switch you could not get video. So I see there is a work around. I only have my PlayStation so I shouldn't have video issues.... So in my instance I would hook up the sharc to the tv and then the sharc to the arc port on the AVR???? I'm just trying to understand how this works before I buy one.

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14734 of 15606 Old 05-27-2020, 12:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,900
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1244 Post(s)
Liked: 1512
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Barros View Post
Sorry. I get that having too many devices and having to use the AVR as a HDMI switch you could not get video. So I see there is a work around. I only have my PlayStation so I shouldn't have video issues.... So in my instance I would hook up the sharc to the tv and then the sharc to the arc port on the AVR???? I'm just trying to understand how this works before I buy one.
PS4 -> C9 -> Sharc -> AVR

But you won't get LPCM 5.1/7.1 on the PS4 until the firmware fix shows up.
Brian_Barros likes this.
avernar is offline  
post #14735 of 15606 Old 05-27-2020, 12:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
vpn75's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Barros View Post
Sorry. I get that having too many devices and having to use the AVR as a HDMI switch you could not get video. So I see there is a work around. I only have my PlayStation so I shouldn't have video issues.... So in my instance I would hook up the sharc to the tv and then the sharc to the arc port on the AVR???? I'm just trying to understand how this works before I buy one.

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk
Is there some reason you want to connect your PS4 directly to the C9 now? It doesn't do VRR so there is no advantage.

I would say hold off until the PS5 is released before deciding whether or not to buy it. I'll happily share my experiences with getting the PS5 to work with my SHARC

AV equipment: LG 77C9, Sony 65X930E, Denon X4400H, Panasonic UB820, ATV 4K, PS4 Pro
5.1.4 Atmos setup: Klipsch RP-250C | RP-250F | RP-150M surrounds |SVS Prime Elevations (x4)
Subwoofers: SVS PB12-NSD |Outlaw LFM1-Plus

Gaming PC: Ryzen 7 3700X, 16GB DDR4 RAM, 1TB NVMe SSD, ROG Strix RTX 2080 Super
vpn75 is offline  
post #14736 of 15606 Old 05-27-2020, 12:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 2,016
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1317 Post(s)
Liked: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by vpn75 View Post
Is there some reason you want to connect your PS4 directly to the C9 now? It doesn't do VRR so there is no advantage.



I would say hold off until the PS5 is released before deciding whether or not to buy it. I'll happily share my experiences with getting the PS5 to work with my SHARC
That's exactly why I'm trying to figure it out. I'm def getting a ps5. My C9 is mounted on the wall and all my cables are in wall. I purchased a 48kbs cable and installed it before mounting. I didn't want to have to take the tv down to have to connect anything else. I know the PS4 doesn't support VRR and I can just hook up directly to the AVR. I'm just getting ahead of the game. I also looked up the sharc and how it works. I see how to set it up now.

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #14737 of 15606 Old 05-27-2020, 01:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by avernar View Post
PS4 -> C9 -> Sharc -> AVR

But you won't get LPCM 5.1/7.1 on the PS4 until the firmware fix shows up.

Couldn’t you just use a digital optical out for the sound direct from PS4 to AVR? That’s what I’ve done on my Xbox One X and it works really well and avoids having to fix up any slight sync delay issues with that whole chain.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
wardie is offline  
post #14738 of 15606 Old 05-27-2020, 02:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,900
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1244 Post(s)
Liked: 1512
Quote:
Originally Posted by wardie View Post
Couldn’t you just use a digital optical out for the sound direct from PS4 to AVR? That’s what I’ve done on my Xbox One X and it works really well and avoids having to fix up any slight sync delay issues with that whole chain.
For a PS4 that's fine for now but once the LPCM fix comes in then optical will restrict him to LPCM 2.0. Same for the Xbox but you'll also loose out on Atmos.
avernar is offline  
post #14739 of 15606 Old 05-27-2020, 02:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 2,016
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1317 Post(s)
Liked: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by vpn75 View Post
The SHARC device only passes audio back to the AVR not video. The Denon doesn't see it is an ARC source though the C9 does.



I have to connect the AVR monitor out from Denon to a different port on the C9 so that I can get video from the devices connected directly to my AVR.



This is the main downside to using the SHARC device.
Got it. I see how it works now. I need this.

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #14740 of 15606 Old 05-27-2020, 02:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by avernar View Post
For a PS4 that's fine for now but once the LPCM fix comes in then optical will restrict him to LPCM 2.0. Same for the Xbox but you'll also loose out on Atmos.

Good points thx. I’ve got a 5.1 setup myself and old AVR does ARC (not eARC) neither does it do Atmos. I’m hanging out for HDMI 2.1 AVR with Atmos etc when they start dropping. But I think I’m limited to 2.0 sound via the TOSLINK period, right?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
wardie is offline  
post #14741 of 15606 Old 05-27-2020, 02:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,900
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1244 Post(s)
Liked: 1512
Quote:
Originally Posted by wardie View Post
Good points thx. I’ve got a 5.1 setup myself and old AVR does ARC (not eARC) neither does it do Atmos. I’m hanging out for HDMI 2.1 AVR with Atmos etc when they start dropping. But I think I’m limited to 2.0 sound via the TOSLINK period, right?
For LPCM yes. Dolby Digital and DTS can still do 5.1 lossy.
avernar is offline  
post #14742 of 15606 Old 05-28-2020, 01:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by avernar View Post
For LPCM yes. Dolby Digital and DTS can still do 5.1 lossy.
Ah thank you, that makes sense as my AVR is saying its decoding Dolby Digital from the Xbox, I checked Xbox is it outputting bitstream and I did seem to be getting 5.1 for movies. That's good for me then for the moment but not a 7.1/Atmos solution. I do have Atmos for Headphones running straight off Xbox wireless which sounds good (for those late night don't-disturb-the-family movies).
wardie is offline  
post #14743 of 15606 Old 05-28-2020, 01:43 AM
Member
 
jasup's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Do you guys turn on or off quick start ? What’s the difference ? Power consumption / functionality? How much ? And does pixel refresher still work when it’s off ?
jasup is offline  
post #14744 of 15606 Old 05-28-2020, 07:16 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 26,391
Mentioned: 92 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7622 Post(s)
Liked: 7694
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post
I'm not sure Best Buy's panel replacement policy, so can't help you there. Burn-in was an issue with older OLED tech, but within the last couple years LG taken measures to protect the display. I haven't heard a single report of burn-in on a C9, which has been out for over a year. I'm not saying it will never happen, but with reasonable care it should look great for years and years. The only habit I had to break was leaving the TV on unattended, especially on paused games. And bothering to turn on Windows 10's screensaver.
To be honest you have to wait a few years to see about burn in. The 6 series for example, burn in did not start showing its face for more then a few years.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #14745 of 15606 Old 05-28-2020, 07:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
helvetica bold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,748
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2011 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
Has D-Nice posted his setting for the C9?
He posted settings for CX just curious if he did the same for the C9 and I missed it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
WildWolf likes this.

LG65C9 & E9, XBOX ONE X, PS4PRO, APPLE 4K, SONY STRDN1070, Q Acoustics: 3010i & 3090Ci
helvetica bold is online now  
post #14746 of 15606 Old 05-28-2020, 01:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stevec325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Newtown, PA
Posts: 3,451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post
Has D-Nice posted his setting for the C9?
He posted settings for CX just curious if he did the same for the C9 and I missed it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Link to CX settings?

I have not seen him post C9 settings, but I could have missed it.

-steve
"...and all the science, I don't understand. It's just my job, five days a week."
stevec325 is offline  
post #14747 of 15606 Old 05-28-2020, 02:58 PM
Senior Member
 
fenster3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasup View Post
Do you guys turn on or off quick start ? What’s the difference ? Power consumption / functionality? How much ? And does pixel refresher still work when it’s off ?
I turned it off on my C9.
To me there is no real benefit in using it.
With Quickstart set to on the boot time is only 1 or 2 seconds faster.
And for the UI it takes a few seconds to become available. But in my eyes
this is not worth the higher power consumption in standby.

I have not measured the power consumption in standby myself. But I have seen numbers from 10 - 25 W while Quickstart = on. Without quickstart the power consumption is locked at 0.5 W (after the small cycle is finished).
mrtickleuk and LiLAsN like this.

Last edited by fenster3000; 05-28-2020 at 03:09 PM.
fenster3000 is online now  
post #14748 of 15606 Old 05-28-2020, 03:04 PM
Member
 
Ason12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently got a C9 and am loving it! However, there are two things I'm trying to work through.

I'm moving from an E6 and the motion on the C9 is better. I understand it is better, but I legit cannot stop noticing it now so much more than I used to. It just seems to me that I see a lot more motion blur. Weirdly enough I noticed it most when I was watching stand-up comedy on Netflix. I get the quality of the source isn't as high, but it just seemed like the edges were always a millisecond out of focus. It's hard to describe, but I can't figure out what to do to get motion nailed down.

Secondly, I'm trying to still figure out how to best make CEC work. Right now I'm struggling because my receiver does not support Dolby Vision passthrough so I'm connecting all of my inputs directly to the TV and then using ARC to send the audio back to the receiver (with the exception of my BD player since that supports a second audio out). I know this isn't ideal, but I do like the fact that everything generally seems to work well together. The issue is that I have HDMI 2 go to my receiver for ARC, but often my TV will switch to it when I'm attempting to watch a BD for some reason (even though the BD player is HDMI 1). Again, I know I'm not doing the best job of describing this, I apologize. I wish I could just turn CEC off for a specific input. If I want to watch a BD I should be on HDMI 1 and the AVR should be on AV1, however CEC automatically switches the AVR to Audio 1 (which would be correct for everything else) when I correct this and switch the AVR to AV1 CEC then switched the TV to HDMI 2. It is caught in an endless loop. Any advice?
Ason12 is offline  
post #14749 of 15606 Old 05-28-2020, 03:56 PM
Senior Member
 
mhmercer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ason12 View Post
<SNIP>
Secondly, I'm trying to still figure out how to best make CEC work. Right now I'm struggling because my receiver does not support Dolby Vision passthrough so I'm connecting all of my inputs directly to the TV and then using ARC to send the audio back to the receiver (with the exception of my BD player since that supports a second audio out).
<SNIP>
Try removing your second HDMI (audio out) from your BD. I found that having it set that way caused CEC issues.

LG OLED55C9, Firmware v04.80.03 | Denon AVR-X3400H, Firmware v7600-8281-6432-2065 | ATV 4K | Sony UBP-X700 | Hsu HC-1 MK2 (C) & HB-1 MK2 (LRSur), Sub VTF-15H MK2, ELAC Atmos | X-Rite i1D3 OEM | 2019 CalMAN Home for LG
mhmercer is offline  
post #14750 of 15606 Old 05-29-2020, 06:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 10
papylon is online now  
post #14751 of 15606 Old 05-29-2020, 06:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 4,778
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2400 Post(s)
Liked: 3333
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post
Has D-Nice posted his setting for the C9?
He posted settings for CX just curious if he did the same for the C9 and I missed it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

No.

There is no perfect display, quit looking for faults and enjoy

LG OLED 77" C9, 65” B7a (SOLD) and 55” C8
Ascend's with RAAL, Outlaw monoblocks, PSA v1800 and a 7.2.4 speaker config, Oppo 203 and other stuff
smurraybhm is offline  
post #14752 of 15606 Old 05-29-2020, 07:27 AM
Member
 
Ason12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhmercer View Post
Try removing your second HDMI (audio out) from your BD. I found that having it set that way caused CEC issues.
I might be confused here, but the second HDMI out is how I get audio from the BD Player to the AVR. Removing it would then kill the sound. Or are you advocating for something different?
Ason12 is offline  
post #14753 of 15606 Old 05-29-2020, 08:55 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hi

I have flashing bar problem with dark seen in my C9 yesterday I watch the house with a clock in its walls and I noticed the flashing bar in the dark seen I had this problem with my B7 before but it’s goes away with update I am now on the last update 04.71.25 is there anyone noticing this problem and I am planning to calibrate with atoucall in my C9 is there a chance this problem goes away.
Ayman almaghamsi is offline  
post #14754 of 15606 Old 05-29-2020, 12:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
General Kenobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kalifornistan
Posts: 6,303
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 423 Post(s)
Liked: 753
Hello all, just pulled the trigger on a 77" c9 that will be replacing my Pany VT65 plasma. Also snagged a Denon x4500 to replace my 4000 and a Pany UB820 player for my physical 4k media. I'm hoping the motion will not be an issue coming from plasma but most of the content we consume is movies, streaming Sling and NF, and some gaming.

Does D-Nice have recommended settings for this panel or am I good going with the ISF preset options?

Kenobi's 31 Days of Horror: 
2012
2011
2010
2009
General Kenobi is offline  
post #14755 of 15606 Old 05-29-2020, 12:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
helvetica bold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,748
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2011 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevec325 View Post
Link to CX settings?

I have not seen him post C9 settings, but I could have missed it.
CX D-Nice Settings, I wonder if this would work on a C9 since its so close.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post59402476
stevec325 likes this.

LG65C9 & E9, XBOX ONE X, PS4PRO, APPLE 4K, SONY STRDN1070, Q Acoustics: 3010i & 3090Ci
helvetica bold is online now  
post #14756 of 15606 Old 05-29-2020, 01:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 973 Post(s)
Liked: 973
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post
CX D-Nice Settings, I wonder if this would work on a C9 since its so close.



https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post59402476
Every panel and tv are different. Honestly, you should never use another person's calibrated settings.

The main user settings are fine but using the rest could make things undesirable

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

Living Room: LG OLED65C9, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedrooms: LG OLED65C8, LG OLED55C6, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
LG C6PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-OLED55C6P.AUS
LG C8PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
LG C9PUA/AUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS
Jrocker23 is offline  
post #14757 of 15606 Old 05-29-2020, 01:52 PM
Senior Member
 
WildWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 37
I used D-Nice settings on my old Kuro plasma. It looked amazing. Since then, I had a professional calibrate my projector and Vizio. The Kuro held its own. I wish D-Nice would post settings for the C9.....they may not be perfect but they will be real close!
General Kenobi likes this.
WildWolf is offline  
post #14758 of 15606 Old 05-29-2020, 04:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stevec325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Newtown, PA
Posts: 3,451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post
CX D-Nice Settings, I wonder if this would work on a C9 since its so close.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post59402476
I'd never use the color point settings, but the rest of the user settings seem to be pretty much in line with the generally accepted and widely used settings - quite similar to RTINGS.

My C9 does not have auto black level; but is set to low. And, I also usually always keep all the motion stuff OFF. I do run my OLED light a tad brighter, also. Somewhere around 37-39. I don't watch TV in a dark cave.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WildWolf View Post
I used D-Nice settings on my old Kuro plasma. It looked amazing. Since then, I had a professional calibrate my projector and Vizio. The Kuro held its own. I wish D-Nice would post settings for the C9.....they may not be perfect but they will be real close!
You really should not use the color point settings. As someone said above, they will be different, or could be different from panel to panel. You can use the other settings, though. I'm sure they will be just fine.

-steve
"...and all the science, I don't understand. It's just my job, five days a week."

Last edited by stevec325; 05-29-2020 at 04:07 PM.
stevec325 is offline  
post #14759 of 15606 Old 05-29-2020, 05:49 PM
Senior Member
 
mhmercer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ason12 View Post
I might be confused here, but the second HDMI out is how I get audio from the BD Player to the AVR. Removing it would then kill the sound. Or are you advocating for something different?
Could you check that you did not disconnect the audio/video HDMI cable from the BD instead of the audio only cable? You should not have lost sound or video.

Re: "Something different" -- there are two ways to connect. 1) connect your BD's audio/video-out HDMI cable to BD HDMI-out-->HDMI-in BD on AVR to Monitor (ARC) HDMI-out-->TV HDMI(1, 2, 3, or 4), or 2) have your AVR HDMI-out -->TV HDMI2 and BD HDMI-out -->TV HDMI(1, 3, or 4).
Way #1 is a direct connection from your BD to your AVR, then your AVR to your TV. That will provide the most channels of audio, at least for now.
Way #2 is an eARC connection. If your AVR has eARC, that is the easiest way to go, but will have a restriction to stereo on any LPCM signal from your BD. Make sure that you pass "bitmap"; no restriction on that.

LG OLED55C9, Firmware v04.80.03 | Denon AVR-X3400H, Firmware v7600-8281-6432-2065 | ATV 4K | Sony UBP-X700 | Hsu HC-1 MK2 (C) & HB-1 MK2 (LRSur), Sub VTF-15H MK2, ELAC Atmos | X-Rite i1D3 OEM | 2019 CalMAN Home for LG

Last edited by mhmercer; 05-29-2020 at 07:57 PM.
mhmercer is offline  
post #14760 of 15606 Old 05-30-2020, 03:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ason12 View Post
I recently got a C9 and am loving it! However, there are two things I'm trying to work through.

I'm moving from an E6 and the motion on the C9 is better. I understand it is better, but I legit cannot stop noticing it now so much more than I used to. It just seems to me that I see a lot more motion blur. Weirdly enough I noticed it most when I was watching stand-up comedy on Netflix. I get the quality of the source isn't as high, but it just seemed like the edges were always a millisecond out of focus. It's hard to describe, but I can't figure out what to do to get motion nailed down.
I must ADMIT that I am having the exact same issue.

The C9 is a fantastic OLED, but, to my eyes, there is definitevely something wrong with motion/blurriness. I come from a Sony A1 and I never struggled with motion issues (even if that set had its own problems..).
From the moment I started watching videos with the C9, though, I never stopped (even now, 3 months later) trying to find the best combination of motion settings that are acceptable to my eyes.

Note that I am not saying "to my taste", but "to my eyes", because I actually have sight issues when whatching something on the C9: maybe there is something that my brain does not digest in some way....

It's a real pity, because otherwise I could be extremely satisfied.
Alessandro Fraracci is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
allm , dead , directional hdmi , hdmi , judder , lg c9 , lg c9 oled , lg oled c9 , lgoled , Marantz , motion , oled , oled 55 , pixel dead , pixels , soundbar advice , sr5012

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off