2019 Sony A9G Master Series OLED Owner's Thread - Page 171 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2846Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5101 of 6210 Old 04-06-2020, 09:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD23 View Post
I have not seen a clear answer to this question, but I cannot pass DD+ reliably over eARC with internal apps and have to downgrade to DD. This makes me skeptical that the A9G is capable of passing lossless audio, which requires a much higher bitrate than DD+.
Hi JD23

Do you have an eARC compatible AVR? Have you tried with Plex to stream a DTS HD audio content from TV to AVR?
Francesco Masotta is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5102 of 6210 Old 04-06-2020, 10:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JD23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dallas
Posts: 2,777
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 831
Quote:
Originally Posted by Francesco Masotta View Post
Hi JD23

Do you have an eARC compatible AVR? Have you tried with Plex to stream a DTS HD audio content from TV to AVR?

Yes, I do have an eARC compatible AVR (Denon X4500H) and am currently using eARC. I do not believe the problem is caused by my AVR, as it is clearly the A9G glitching when it sends DD+. Also, many others on this board have reported problems with DD+ output over eARC. Unfortunately, I do not have any lossless audio content to stream over Plex, so I cannot test that functionality.
Geronimo.USMC likes this.
JD23 is online now  
post #5103 of 6210 Old 04-06-2020, 07:05 PM
Senior Member
 
mclellan83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pittsbrugh, PA
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Speaking of glitches

http://imgur.com/gallery/pxapQoq

Budget 5.2.4 setup Sony 77A9G, Denon AVR-X4300H, KEF KHT3005BL 7.1, KEF Q-300, KEF Q600C, BIC America Formula F-12, and Sony X700 4K Player

Bedroom TV Sony 52XBR4
mclellan83 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5104 of 6210 Old 04-06-2020, 07:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
gvg45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclellan83 View Post
Is that only occurring with Netflix and is that through the tv app?
gvg45 is offline  
post #5105 of 6210 Old 04-07-2020, 05:29 AM
Senior Member
 
mclellan83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pittsbrugh, PA
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by gvg45 View Post
Is that only occurring with Netflix and is that through the tv app?

Seems to be for the most part, I was trying to see how to get Atmos through Netflix since I couldn't from the TV app. That is running from my 700x to the receiver, which plays Atmos from 4k blurays but won't through the Netflix. I tweaked some settings in the AVR and it doesn't do it as much now, that made the app unusable for me because it was a huge pain. Now it seems to only do a single dropout, but will have to test again to see. Which also speaking of changes, I went up to the 77. Did anyone every figure out breaking in settings for them?

Budget 5.2.4 setup Sony 77A9G, Denon AVR-X4300H, KEF KHT3005BL 7.1, KEF Q-300, KEF Q600C, BIC America Formula F-12, and Sony X700 4K Player

Bedroom TV Sony 52XBR4
mclellan83 is offline  
post #5106 of 6210 Old 04-07-2020, 07:29 AM
Senior Member
 
A.T.M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclellan83 View Post
Speaking of glitches
Oh my, is right. , glad you wee able to decrease the issue.

Aaron

All ya need is love, and Hi Fi sound.
Asthetix, Audreal, Arcam FMJ, Musical Fidelity, Harmonix, Marantz, Tannoy, MIT, PS3, Sony Masters, OPPO
A.T.M. is offline  
post #5107 of 6210 Old 04-07-2020, 07:58 AM
Senior Member
 
MrKyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: La Palma, CA
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclellan83 View Post
Seems to be for the most part, I was trying to see how to get Atmos through Netflix since I couldn't from the TV app. That is running from my 700x to the receiver, which plays Atmos from 4k blurays but won't through the Netflix. I tweaked some settings in the AVR and it doesn't do it as much now, that made the app unusable for me because it was a huge pain. Now it seems to only do a single dropout, but will have to test again to see. Which also speaking of changes, I went up to the 77. Did anyone every figure out breaking in settings for them?
I don't think the Netflix App on the x700 has Atmos compatibility FYI - you should be able to get Atmos on the built in Netflix app on the TV tho/passed through ARC. That is what I typically use.

Living Room - XBR77A9G / X800M2 / X4500H / ATV4K
Klipsch RF-7 iii - RC-64 iii - 4x CDT 5650 II - 2x R-5800 W II
2x HSU VTF-15H Mk2 / miniDSP 2x4HD

Bedroom - 65VT30
MrKyle is offline  
post #5108 of 6210 Old 04-07-2020, 09:40 AM
Senior Member
 
mclellan83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pittsbrugh, PA
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrKyle View Post
I don't think the Netflix App on the x700 has Atmos compatibility FYI - you should be able to get Atmos on the built in Netflix app on the TV tho/passed through ARC. That is what I typically use.

I thought it was messing up in the app itself as well which is part of the reason for trying the player, but I was not getting Atmos out of it. I will try disconnecting the optical I put in since it didn't seem like the ARC was working for me, but then again I could be wrong since I am using the AVR to send both the cable box and bluray player signal. But I swore when I went to the app my AVR was still playing the cable box signal as pass through or something?

Budget 5.2.4 setup Sony 77A9G, Denon AVR-X4300H, KEF KHT3005BL 7.1, KEF Q-300, KEF Q600C, BIC America Formula F-12, and Sony X700 4K Player

Bedroom TV Sony 52XBR4
mclellan83 is offline  
post #5109 of 6210 Old 04-07-2020, 10:32 AM
Senior Member
 
MrKyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: La Palma, CA
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclellan83 View Post
I thought it was messing up in the app itself as well which is part of the reason for trying the player, but I was not getting Atmos out of it. I will try disconnecting the optical I put in since it didn't seem like the ARC was working for me, but then again I could be wrong since I am using the AVR to send both the cable box and bluray player signal. But I swore when I went to the app my AVR was still playing the cable box signal as pass through or something?
Let me make sure I'm understanding how you've got it setup

UHD BluRay - hooked up via HDMI to AVR
Cable Box - hooked up via HDMI to AVR
AVR hooked up via HDMI ARC output from AVR to HDMI Port 3 (ARC/eARC) on A9G?

Seems like perhaps an issue with your AVR not switching inputs correctly if you were hearing the cable box audio?

Do you have the HDMI port 3 on the A9G set to Enhanced as well?

Living Room - XBR77A9G / X800M2 / X4500H / ATV4K
Klipsch RF-7 iii - RC-64 iii - 4x CDT 5650 II - 2x R-5800 W II
2x HSU VTF-15H Mk2 / miniDSP 2x4HD

Bedroom - 65VT30
MrKyle is offline  
post #5110 of 6210 Old 04-07-2020, 07:22 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 26,390
Mentioned: 92 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7622 Post(s)
Liked: 7694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vidop View Post

BTW–I am VERY pleased with the picture quality of my 65" A9G. It is just astounding to watch! :-)
Well budy, your watching basically the best TV made to date
WOLVERNOLE, BillP, value and 1 others like this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #5111 of 6210 Old 04-07-2020, 08:44 PM
 
Longballsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 219 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Well budy, your watching basically the best TV made to date
Why are the Sony OLED’s so much more than the LG’s? Basically double the price. Are they twice as good? I’d find that hard to believe. I’m in the market for an OLED possibly so just curious
Longballsd is offline  
post #5112 of 6210 Old 04-08-2020, 05:00 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 15,067
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 793 Post(s)
Liked: 678
Quote:
Originally Posted by Longballsd View Post
Why are the Sony OLED’s so much more than the LG’s? Basically double the price. Are they twice as good? I’d find that hard to believe. I’m in the market for an OLED possibly so just curious
Of course they are not twice as good. But they have been rated slightly better (especially for upscaling and motion handling) than the LG's (pending comparisons of the 2020 offerings).
Every year, the Sony's have been more expensive than the LG's. Interestingly, the price difference tends to be smaller when they first come out. But over the course of the year, the LG's drop in price, whereas the Sony's don't, making the price difference much larger.
I bought the A9G when it came out, so the difference between that and the LG C9 was relatively small. I don't use it for gaming at all. And most of my watching is SDR (1080i and 720p TV broadcasts, 1080p BluRay discs, some 480i DVDs), so the upscaling was important to me. If you watch mainly 4k, and if you do a significant amount of gaming, then you should strongly consider LG (you really can't go wrong with either brand).
At the end of the day, nobody can tell you which is best for you. For some, value is most important, and for others, they want the "best" no matter the cost. Only you can decide.
Duane, WOLVERNOLE and Longballsd like this.

Sony A9G, Oppo 205, Parasound JC2, Parasound A21, Sonus Faber Olympica IIIs
BillP is online now  
post #5113 of 6210 Old 04-08-2020, 06:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 6,429
Mentioned: 242 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5330 Post(s)
Liked: 6538
Quote:
Originally Posted by Longballsd View Post
Why are the Sony OLED’s so much more than the LG’s? Basically double the price. Are they twice as good? I’d find that hard to believe. I’m in the market for an OLED possibly so just curious
And just to add, whether you agree or not, Sony's QC is better than LG's and their return policy for defective sets is also better so that is also a large part of what you are paying for. I'm not going to re-hash all the stories but this has been discussed a ton of times over the years.
WOLVERNOLE and Keenan like this.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F, LG CX
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, LightSpace Pro, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
post #5114 of 6210 Old 04-08-2020, 07:19 AM
 
Longballsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 219 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
And just to add, whether you agree or not, Sony's QC is better than LG's and their return policy for defective sets is also better so that is also a large part of what you are paying for. I'm not going to re-hash all the stories but this has been discussed a ton of times over the years.
I’m going to wait until the 2020’s come out both for Sony and LG. My last Sony was the KDS SXRD Series with the “Green Blob” class action lawsuit. This doesn’t have to be rehashed but Sony didn’t exactly instill confidence in buyers. Has Sony changed? Hard to say. I know a lot of former Sony buyers haven’t bought another Sony TV since then. Sony quality has never been the issue.

The other thing is if I buy from CostCo I get two years warranty. If I buy with my Citibank Visa I get another two years so 4 years total. I’d have to think if the better QC is actually worth anything because 4 years is plenty of time for problems to show up and then get resolved. At 2X the price my inclination would be to go with LG. My last LG 47LE8500 lasted 10 years so there’s that also. I will consider Sony but price is an issue. Thanks for the comments.
pbz06 and UltraHD enthusiast like this.
Longballsd is offline  
post #5115 of 6210 Old 04-08-2020, 09:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Good points, but I don't like Costco as they get special models that do not have all of the features. Just one example is the LG C9 model they get has a slightly different model # and one feature I notices is it does not support the WISA wireless speaker system that the C9 models that go to all other stores get.

I use my AMEX that give me the second year for free and then buy extended warranties occosannly that take me to 5 years of coverage for a moderate cost, but enjoy the value in getting all of the features.
UltraHD enthusiast is offline  
post #5116 of 6210 Old 04-08-2020, 10:19 AM
Senior Member
 
mclellan83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pittsbrugh, PA
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrKyle View Post
Let me make sure I'm understanding how you've got it setup

UHD BluRay - hooked up via HDMI to AVR
Cable Box - hooked up via HDMI to AVR
AVR hooked up via HDMI ARC output from AVR to HDMI Port 3 (ARC/eARC) on A9G?

Seems like perhaps an issue with your AVR not switching inputs correctly if you were hearing the cable box audio?

Do you have the HDMI port 3 on the A9G set to Enhanced as well?

I don't think the input was set to enhanced which I now did, in the mean time also got one of the new Fios one boxes which for some reason also seemed to give me much better sound through the AVR. I guess that is where I am confused on the ARC, I thought I would leave the receiver on the cable box input of the AVR but then go to the TV's internal app and it would process through which is why I was still hearing the cable box. So I hooked up the opitcal and set it as the TV Audio port and then it would sound pretty good but not give me Atmos on things that should have it. Sorry for the dummy questions

Budget 5.2.4 setup Sony 77A9G, Denon AVR-X4300H, KEF KHT3005BL 7.1, KEF Q-300, KEF Q600C, BIC America Formula F-12, and Sony X700 4K Player

Bedroom TV Sony 52XBR4
mclellan83 is offline  
post #5117 of 6210 Old 04-08-2020, 01:24 PM
 
Longballsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 219 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltraHD enthusiast View Post
Good points, but I don't like Costco as they get special models that do not have all of the features. Just one example is the LG C9 model they get has a slightly different model # and one feature I notices is it does not support the WISA wireless speaker system that the C9 models that go to all other stores get.

I use my AMEX that give me the second year for free and then buy extended warranties occosannly that take me to 5 years of coverage for a moderate cost, but enjoy the value in getting all of the features.
CostCo TV's always have different model numbers ever since I've been buying them. I didn't know there would be any big differences in their models vs. models the retail stores get. I guess I need to take a close look next time. In my case, not having support for wireless speakers wouldn't matter to me since I don't have wireless speakers but for those that do it might matter. I don't know of ANY retailers that have as good of a return policy as CostCo which is why so many people buy from them. Creature of habit I guess.
Longballsd is offline  
post #5118 of 6210 Old 04-09-2020, 12:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fatuglyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: southern CA
Posts: 2,440
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 456 Post(s)
Liked: 1238
For anybody interested, Sony has pages up for the 48" A9S/A9 on their Japan and UK websites. Not sure if this has been posted yet.

https://www.sony.jp/bravia/products/KJ-A9S/
https://www.sony.co.uk/electronics/t...ions/a9-series

film Sony 65A1E|Sonus faber Liuto, Smart Center, Venere Wall|B&W DB4S|Sony ZA5000ES|UDP 205|UB820
2ch Sonus faber Toy|REL S/5|Sony TA-A1ES|Wadia 321|Sony SCD-777ES|Sony PS-HX500 + Schiit Mani|AQ Niagara 5000
desk Sonus faber Toy monitor|REL T-Zero|Rega Brio|AQ Dragonfly Cobalt/Victoria|Mac mini|AQ PowerQuest 3
living Sony 55X930E|Monitor Audio Silver RX1|Marantz NR1508|Panasonic UB900
fatuglyguy is offline  
post #5119 of 6210 Old 04-09-2020, 07:13 AM
Senior Member
 
mclellan83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pittsbrugh, PA
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatuglyguy View Post
For anybody interested, Sony has pages up for the 48" A9S/A9 on their Japan and UK websites. Not sure if this has been posted yet.

https://www.sony.jp/bravia/products/KJ-A9S/
https://www.sony.co.uk/electronics/t...ions/a9-series

Guess this is just the smaller of ours then? I thought the new replacement was going to have a new processor. This still has the Ultimate listed

Budget 5.2.4 setup Sony 77A9G, Denon AVR-X4300H, KEF KHT3005BL 7.1, KEF Q-300, KEF Q600C, BIC America Formula F-12, and Sony X700 4K Player

Bedroom TV Sony 52XBR4
mclellan83 is offline  
post #5120 of 6210 Old 04-09-2020, 07:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,950
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1596 Post(s)
Liked: 940
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclellan83 View Post
Guess this is just the smaller of ours then? I thought the new replacement was going to have a new processor. This still has the Ultimate listed
No the rumours are A9H in last summer early fall will have something new. The A9S was always expected to be a smaller version of the existing A9G.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #5121 of 6210 Old 04-09-2020, 08:57 AM
Senior Member
 
MrKyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: La Palma, CA
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclellan83 View Post
I don't think the input was set to enhanced which I now did, in the mean time also got one of the new Fios one boxes which for some reason also seemed to give me much better sound through the AVR. I guess that is where I am confused on the ARC, I thought I would leave the receiver on the cable box input of the AVR but then go to the TV's internal app and it would process through which is why I was still hearing the cable box. So I hooked up the opitcal and set it as the TV Audio port and then it would sound pretty good but not give me Atmos on things that should have it. Sorry for the dummy questions
Ahh gotcha. The ARC is used when you are using built in Apps on your A9G that transmit Dolby Digital + (along with Atmos when applicable) to your AVR. In your situation where you are connecting your FIOS box to your AVR via HDMI the audio is being passed to the AVR already by the HDMI connection, all that needs to be passed to the TV is the video signal. You are correct that Dolby Digital + can't be passed via Optical cable so HDMI is needed for those.

No worries about the questions, always better to ask them!

Living Room - XBR77A9G / X800M2 / X4500H / ATV4K
Klipsch RF-7 iii - RC-64 iii - 4x CDT 5650 II - 2x R-5800 W II
2x HSU VTF-15H Mk2 / miniDSP 2x4HD

Bedroom - 65VT30
MrKyle is offline  
post #5122 of 6210 Old 04-09-2020, 09:14 AM
Senior Member
 
mclellan83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pittsbrugh, PA
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrKyle View Post
Ahh gotcha. The ARC is used when you are using built in Apps on your A9G that transmit Dolby Digital + (along with Atmos when applicable) to your AVR. In your situation where you are connecting your FIOS box to your AVR via HDMI the audio is being passed to the AVR already by the HDMI connection, all that needs to be passed to the TV is the video signal. You are correct that Dolby Digital + can't be passed via Optical cable so HDMI is needed for those.

No worries about the questions, always better to ask them!



But then what input would I need for the ARC to pass the app audio back to the receiver if it is using the HDMI is where I am confused. Do I turn the box off? Then it should come through that input?

Budget 5.2.4 setup Sony 77A9G, Denon AVR-X4300H, KEF KHT3005BL 7.1, KEF Q-300, KEF Q600C, BIC America Formula F-12, and Sony X700 4K Player

Bedroom TV Sony 52XBR4
mclellan83 is offline  
post #5123 of 6210 Old 04-09-2020, 11:00 AM
Senior Member
 
MrKyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: La Palma, CA
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclellan83 View Post
But then what input would I need for the ARC to pass the app audio back to the receiver if it is using the HDMI is where I am confused. Do I turn the box off? Then it should come through that input?
On your AVR you should have it setup as the following:

FIOS Box- Plugged into CBL/Sat input on AVR (HDMI)
UHD BluRay - Plugged into BluRay Player input on AVR (HDMI)
A9G - Connected to the HDMI 3 port on the A9G (says ARC/eARC) and plugged into the HDMI output ARC HDMI port on the AVR

This is for when you are using the built in apps on the A9G correct? (Netflix/Prime/Youtube/Vudu/Movies Anywhere etc).

On the AVR you need to make sure the TV Audio input is selected. You shouldn't need to change inputs on the TV itself as it sounds like you have everything connected through the AVR

I use a Harmony Elite to change my inputs on the AVR automatically when I run my different activities (IE Watch DirecTV/UHD BluRay/Smart TV (built in Apps)/AppleTV)

Living Room - XBR77A9G / X800M2 / X4500H / ATV4K
Klipsch RF-7 iii - RC-64 iii - 4x CDT 5650 II - 2x R-5800 W II
2x HSU VTF-15H Mk2 / miniDSP 2x4HD

Bedroom - 65VT30
MrKyle is offline  
post #5124 of 6210 Old 04-09-2020, 11:11 AM
Senior Member
 
mclellan83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pittsbrugh, PA
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrKyle View Post
On your AVR you should have it setup as the following:



FIOS Box- Plugged into CBL/Sat input on AVR (HDMI)

UHD BluRay - Plugged into BluRay Player input on AVR (HDMI)

A9G - Connected to the HDMI 3 port on the A9G (says ARC/eARC) and plugged into the HDMI output ARC HDMI port on the AVR



This is for when you are using the built in apps on the A9G correct? (Netflix/Prime/Youtube/Vudu/Movies Anywhere etc).



On the AVR you need to make sure the TV Audio input is selected. You shouldn't need to change inputs on the TV itself as it sounds like you have everything connected through the AVR



I use a Harmony Elite to change my inputs on the AVR automatically when I run my different activities (IE Watch DirecTV/UHD BluRay/Smart TV (built in Apps)/AppleTV)
That is the way I have had it hooked up, I will try to play around again tonight to see if I can get atmos out of Netflix

Budget 5.2.4 setup Sony 77A9G, Denon AVR-X4300H, KEF KHT3005BL 7.1, KEF Q-300, KEF Q600C, BIC America Formula F-12, and Sony X700 4K Player

Bedroom TV Sony 52XBR4
mclellan83 is offline  
post #5125 of 6210 Old 04-09-2020, 11:16 AM
Senior Member
 
MrKyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: La Palma, CA
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclellan83 View Post
That is the way I have had it hooked up, I will try to play around again tonight to see if I can get atmos out of Netflix
Let me know! that is how I've got mine setup and I get Atmos from Netflix through my built in with no issue. I assume you've checked the HDMI cable between the tv/AVR to make sure it is 4K/high speed?
You've got the top tier Netflix plan also right?

Living Room - XBR77A9G / X800M2 / X4500H / ATV4K
Klipsch RF-7 iii - RC-64 iii - 4x CDT 5650 II - 2x R-5800 W II
2x HSU VTF-15H Mk2 / miniDSP 2x4HD

Bedroom - 65VT30
MrKyle is offline  
post #5126 of 6210 Old 04-09-2020, 11:18 AM
Senior Member
 
mclellan83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pittsbrugh, PA
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrKyle View Post
Let me know! that is how I've got mine setup and I get Atmos from Netflix through my built in with no issue. I assume you've checked the HDMI cable between the tv/AVR to make sure it is 4K/high speed?

You've got the top tier Netflix plan also right?
Yeah, I have brand new monoprice cables. And the video portion is great because it is the ultra 4k, but sound isn't atmos in ones that I've looked up that should be

Budget 5.2.4 setup Sony 77A9G, Denon AVR-X4300H, KEF KHT3005BL 7.1, KEF Q-300, KEF Q600C, BIC America Formula F-12, and Sony X700 4K Player

Bedroom TV Sony 52XBR4
mclellan83 is offline  
post #5127 of 6210 Old 04-09-2020, 11:27 AM
Senior Member
 
MrKyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: La Palma, CA
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclellan83 View Post
Yeah, I have brand new monoprice cables. And the video portion is great because it is the ultra 4k, but sound isn't atmos in ones that I've looked up that should be
Are you seeing Atmos listed on the titles when you in the App or does it just list 5.1?

Living Room - XBR77A9G / X800M2 / X4500H / ATV4K
Klipsch RF-7 iii - RC-64 iii - 4x CDT 5650 II - 2x R-5800 W II
2x HSU VTF-15H Mk2 / miniDSP 2x4HD

Bedroom - 65VT30
MrKyle is offline  
post #5128 of 6210 Old 04-09-2020, 11:28 AM
Senior Member
 
mclellan83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pittsbrugh, PA
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrKyle View Post
Are you seeing Atmos listed on the titles when you in the App or does it just list 5.1?
To be honest haven't even checked that, I looked it up online what was 4k with atmos. They had a list of stuff

Budget 5.2.4 setup Sony 77A9G, Denon AVR-X4300H, KEF KHT3005BL 7.1, KEF Q-300, KEF Q600C, BIC America Formula F-12, and Sony X700 4K Player

Bedroom TV Sony 52XBR4
mclellan83 is offline  
post #5129 of 6210 Old 04-09-2020, 11:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Geronimo.USMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclellan83 View Post
Same here. This just started happening to me this week. I have to reboot the TV. No new changes in my setup for some time.....

- AUDIO: (7.1.4 ATMOS) Denon AVR-X3600H | McIntosh MC-8207 + CROWN XLS 2502+1502 | KEF LS50, SVS Prime Elevations, RYTHMIK G25HP
- VIDEO: SONY OLED 65A9G | Panasonic UB820 | 44TB Synology DS1815+ | Dune Solo 4K | XBOX ONE X SCORPIO | PS4 PRO | Apple TV 4K | HTPC/Gaming Rig (Ryzen 3900X, ASUS ROG Strix X570-I, 16GB, 2080TI FE, Auzen HDMI XFi)
Geronimo.USMC is offline  
post #5130 of 6210 Old 04-10-2020, 05:34 AM
Senior Member
 
mclellan83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pittsbrugh, PA
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geronimo.USMC View Post
Same here. This just started happening to me this week. I have to reboot the TV. No new changes in my setup for some time.....

Sorry to hear it wasn't just me, going back to the app worked better for me and was able to get the Atmos out with some changes to the settings on the AVR. I did like having the other units power on and go to that input when I turned something on, but I guess you can't have it all.

Budget 5.2.4 setup Sony 77A9G, Denon AVR-X4300H, KEF KHT3005BL 7.1, KEF Q-300, KEF Q600C, BIC America Formula F-12, and Sony X700 4K Player

Bedroom TV Sony 52XBR4
mclellan83 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off