2019 Sony A9G Master Series OLED Owner's Thread - Page 191 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2872Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5701 of 6277 Old 05-20-2020, 03:14 PM
Senior Member
 
luvnhateSony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by luvnhateSony View Post
Gotcha. So it’️s been longer than 2 years since the 500M has been calibrated but only close to 500 hours of use has been spent on it since it was last calibrated. Would it still require a re-cal?
Not sure. It should not but the only way to be sure it to put a meter on it.
Yep. Fair enough. We can definitely discuss further offline, at your convenience. Thank you.
luvnhateSony is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5702 of 6277 Old 05-20-2020, 06:51 PM
Senior Member
 
MrKyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: La Palma, CA
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by DnAVS View Post
Thanks! I have had my A9G since January and am still on V6.3598. Very reluctant to update as I do not have audio dropout issues while using internal apps. I do have several other issues such as:
  1. Video freeze or pauses a couple of times while watching any internal app
  2. IMAX Enhanced movie the audio output is PCM and not DTS.
  3. Dolby Atmos movies on Netflix work great with eARC and show up as Atmos on the Denon. However, Atmos demos and videos on YouTube show up as DDSurr on the Denon and not Atmos.

I added an Apple TV 4K which seems to work well, but would like to use the internal apps if Sony ever fixes the issues!!
Few things here
Take a look at the Privilege 4K thread - it’s got the steps/settings there that should fix your IMAX Enhanced Audio showing as PCM - https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-ne...-sony-tvs.html

YouTube Atmos demos won’t show/output Atmos audio because YouTube isn’t in Atmos or anything other than stereo (which is being up mixed as DD sur). You’d need to download the Atmos demos to a usb stick or something similar and play via Blu-ray player or similar

Living Room - XBR77A9G / X800M2 / X4500H / ATV4K
Klipsch RF-7 iii - RC-64 iii - 4x CDT 5650 II - 2x R-5800 W II
2x HSU VTF-15H Mk2 / miniDSP 2x4HD

Bedroom - 65VT30
MrKyle is offline  
post #5703 of 6277 Old 05-20-2020, 08:37 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 17,764
Mentioned: 209 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2765 Post(s)
Liked: 4991
Just an FYI to those who want to live on the bleeding edge— You can update the firmware on your A9G (should also work on the A9F) to the new 2020 model style menus by downloading the firmware listed under the 950H (firmware version 6.4738) dated 5/14/2020. Of course, it does not give you the new BFI features of the A8H but those with eARC May want to try it to see if it resolves your issues. I loaded it on my 55A9G just fine.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/sup...loads/00016726
D-Nice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5704 of 6277 Old 05-20-2020, 08:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Are all Oled going to have some dirty screen effect on it? Some not too visible and some are very bad. I have never brought a new TV with 0 dirty screen effect on it.
airlung is offline  
post #5705 of 6277 Old 05-20-2020, 09:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
alettiere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 777 Post(s)
Liked: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by airlung View Post
Are all Oled going to have some dirty screen effect on it? Some not too visible and some are very bad. I have never brought a new TV with 0 dirty screen effect on it.

My A9G has a little, but it’s very minor and after over 1K hrs of viewing content, I have caught it maybe 4-5 times. Other OLEDs I had in the past were similar. Either minimal to where it’s a non-issue or completely absent or close to it. I remember my first LG from 2016 and being thrilled at watching clean camera pans on those snowy or sky scenes.

It’s definitely not as bad as LCDs and plasmas could sometimes be.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
WOLVERNOLE likes this.

- Sony 65A9G OLED
- Panasonic UB-820 4K BD Player/Apple 4K TV
- Yamaha Aventage RX-A1080 AVR/Outlaw Model 5000 AMP
- SVS Prime Towers (2)/Prime Center/SB-2000 Pro Subwoofer 12"
- Polk MC80 In-Ceiling 8" Speakers (2)
alettiere is online now  
post #5706 of 6277 Old 05-20-2020, 11:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by alettiere View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by airlung View Post
Are all Oled going to have some dirty screen effect on it? Some not too visible and some are very bad. I have never brought a new TV with 0 dirty screen effect on it.

My A9G has a little, but it’️s very minor and after over 1K hrs of viewing content, I have caught it maybe 4-5 times. Other OLEDs I had in the past were similar. Either minimal to where it’️s a non-issue or completely absent or close to it. I remember my first LG from 2016 and being thrilled at watching clean camera pans on those snowy or sky scenes.

It’️s definitely not as bad as LCDs and plasmas could sometimes be.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Is this bad in your opinion?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	4FE1DD4F-AC67-480B-8C00-9601971B8CAF_1590041961309.jpg
Views:	136
Size:	49.0 KB
ID:	2730112  
airlung is offline  
post #5707 of 6277 Old 05-21-2020, 01:39 AM
Member
 
Masterwarzombie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: FRANCE ( Lille )
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post
Just an FYI to those who want to live on the bleeding edge— You can update the firmware on your A9G (should also work on the A9F) to the new 2020 model style menus by downloading the firmware listed under the 950H (firmware version 6.4738) dated 5/14/2020. Of course, it does not give you the new BFI features of the A8H but those with eARC May want to try it to see if it resolves your issues. I loaded it on my 55A9G just fine.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/sup...loads/00016726
do you have a 55 or 77 inch? i thought it was a 77
Masterwarzombie is offline  
post #5708 of 6277 Old 05-21-2020, 07:44 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 26,432
Mentioned: 92 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7647 Post(s)
Liked: 7711
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
I'm 6 feet away from the screen, therefore a 65" is perfect, and therefore I see no need to upgrade from the A9G any time soon.
Perfect distance I feel

Quote:
Originally Posted by luvnhateSony View Post
Gotcha. So it’s been longer than 2 years since the 500M has been calibrated but only close to 500 hours of use has been spent on it since it was last calibrated. Would it still require a re-cal?
What a great unit
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #5709 of 6277 Old 05-21-2020, 07:46 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 17,764
Mentioned: 209 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2765 Post(s)
Liked: 4991
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterwarzombie View Post
do you have a 55 or 77 inch? i thought it was a 77
I have both
D-Nice is offline  
post #5710 of 6277 Old 05-21-2020, 10:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bladerunner1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lake Worth, Florida...endless summer
Posts: 1,139
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterwarzombie View Post
do you have a 55 or 77 inch? i thought it was a 77[IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/confused.gif[/IMG]
I have both
Hello,

Your expertise is appreciated so I wanted to ask you directly about a few items if/when you've got a moment. I have a 65A9G on software version PKG6.2550.0328NAA

-Whats " auto picture mode" best for?

-When or if I should use "Peak Luminance"?

-When or if I should use "Live Color"?

-Motionflow, when "off" ticker tapes at bottom of sports and news programs flow smoothly (with cinemotion on auto) when "on" the ticker tapes are shuddering. Whats your preferred use of Motionflow?

-If you use DisneyPlus from applications home, is there a way to turn off subtitles in the app or TV menu as opposedto using the remote? My DisneyPlus defaults to "on". Thats the only app this occurs on with my A9G.

Thank you...

Sony XBR-65-A9G, Sony UBP-X800m2, Xfinity, 600plus bluray/4k movies and time to enjoy it.
Bladerunner1959 is offline  
post #5711 of 6277 Old 05-21-2020, 11:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrKyle View Post
Few things here
Take a look at the Privilege 4K thread - it’s got the steps/settings there that should fix your IMAX Enhanced Audio showing as PCM -

YouTube Atmos demos won’t show/output Atmos audio because YouTube isn’t in Atmos or anything other than stereo (which is being up mixed as DD sur). You’d need to download the Atmos demos to a usb stick or something similar and play via Blu-ray player or similar

Thanks MrKyle! I will check it out. Appreciate the info!
DnAVS is offline  
post #5712 of 6277 Old 05-21-2020, 12:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pbz06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,365
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1602 Post(s)
Liked: 1393
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bladerunner1959 View Post
Hello,

Your expertise is appreciated so I wanted to ask you directly about a few items if/when you've got a moment. I have a 65A9G on software version PKG6.2550.0328NAA

-Whats " auto picture mode" best for?

-When or if I should use "Peak Luminance"?

-When or if I should use "Live Color"?

-Motionflow, when "off" ticker tapes at bottom of sports and news programs flow smoothly (with cinemotion on auto) when "on" the ticker tapes are shuddering. Whats your preferred use of Motionflow?

-If you use DisneyPlus from applications home, is there a way to turn off subtitles in the app or TV menu as opposedto using the remote? My DisneyPlus defaults to "on". Thats the only app this occurs on with my A9G.

Thank you...
- Auto picture mode tries to detect the source and switch to the preset. For me, it detects PS4 and switches to Game Mode. It detects my PC and switches to Graphics. When I play a movie from blu-ray player, it detects and switches to Cinema. Unfortunately, it's not smart with content (it won't know if you're watching sports or a movie when streaming or cable tv so it will just switch to whatever you had it on before enabling Auto).

- Keep peak luminance on default settings (Med for SDR, High for HDR) unless you calibrated it a specific way.

- Do not use Live Color unless you like the effect, it's preference, but it oversaturates colors for more "pop". I use it for Sports only.

- Motionflow, usually Off with Cinemotion Auto will yield the best and most accurate results. Some streaming apps perform better with CUstom/Min settings on Motionflow, but like you saw in some instances it doesn't know what to do.
MrKyle likes this.

Sony XBR-77A9G / Panasonic DP-UB9000 / Marantz SR7011 / SVS PB-4000 / Def Tech 9060 Series
pbz06 is online now  
post #5713 of 6277 Old 05-21-2020, 01:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bladerunner1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lake Worth, Florida...endless summer
Posts: 1,139
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbz06 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bladerunner1959 View Post
Hello,

Your expertise is appreciated so I wanted to ask you directly about a few items if/when you've got a moment. I have a 65A9G on software version PKG6.2550.0328NAA

-Whats " auto picture mode" best for?

-When or if I should use "Peak Luminance"?

-When or if I should use "Live Color"?

-Motionflow, when "off" ticker tapes at bottom of sports and news programs flow smoothly (with cinemotion on auto) when "on" the ticker tapes are shuddering. Whats your preferred use of Motionflow?

-If you use DisneyPlus from applications home, is there a way to turn off subtitles in the app or TV menu as opposedto using the remote? My DisneyPlus defaults to "on". Thats the only app this occurs on with my A9G.

Thank you...
- Auto picture mode tries to detect the source and switch to the preset. For me, it detects PS4 and switches to Game Mode. It detects my PC and switches to Graphics. When I play a movie from blu-ray player, it detects and switches to Cinema. Unfortunately, it's not smart with content (it won't know if you're watching sports or a movie when streaming or cable tv so it will just switch to whatever you had it on before enabling Auto).

- Keep peak luminance on default settings (Med for SDR, High for HDR) unless you calibrated it a specific way.

- Do not use Live Color unless you like the effect, it's preference, but it oversaturates colors for more "pop". I use it for Sports only.

- Motionflow, usually Off with Cinemotion Auto will yield the best and most accurate results. Some streaming apps perform better with CUstom/Min settings on Motionflow, but like you saw in some instances it doesn't know what to do.
I appreciate your input. So my settings as of before my post were: auto pic mode off, peak luminence was medium, live color was off and Motionflow was off.

I'm just looking for clarity on these options so I don't miss subtle increases in pic quality for various sources.
pbz06 likes this.

Sony XBR-65-A9G, Sony UBP-X800m2, Xfinity, 600plus bluray/4k movies and time to enjoy it.

Last edited by Bladerunner1959; 05-22-2020 at 05:25 AM.
Bladerunner1959 is offline  
post #5714 of 6277 Old 05-22-2020, 07:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JD23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dallas
Posts: 2,799
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1078 Post(s)
Liked: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by DnAVS View Post
Thanks! I have had my A9G since January and am still on V6.3598. Very reluctant to update as I do not have audio dropout issues while using internal apps. I do have several other issues such as:
  1. Video freeze or pauses a couple of times while watching any internal app
  2. IMAX Enhanced movie the audio output is PCM and not DTS.
  3. Dolby Atmos movies on Netflix work great with eARC and show up as Atmos on the Denon. However, Atmos demos and videos on YouTube show up as DDSurr on the Denon and not Atmos.

I added an Apple TV 4K which seems to work well, but would like to use the internal apps if Sony ever fixes the issues!!

#1 is likely caused by eARC. I have never seen such issues when not using eARC, but do encounter infrequent 1/2 video freezes in Netflix since I began using eARC.
JD23 is online now  
post #5715 of 6277 Old 05-22-2020, 09:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 0
blue sticker

Does anyone know what that blue sticker is on the bottom right of the TV on the frame? Assuming i should not remove it, but it matches the sticker you do remove on the stand.
Assuming everyone has this blue thing?
Thanks

Sony XBR55-A1E/Sony XBR-65X850C
VA SQ is offline  
post #5716 of 6277 Old 05-22-2020, 10:09 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,620
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3946 Post(s)
Liked: 3980
2019 Sony A9G Master Series OLED Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by VA SQ View Post
Does anyone know what that blue sticker is on the bottom right of the TV on the frame? Assuming i should not remove it, but it matches the sticker you do remove on the stand.
Assuming everyone has this blue thing?
Thanks

That is a tab for a longer strip of protective film you can pull it a remove the strip .


77”A9G Direct Tv AppleTv 4K

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2

Last edited by chunon; 05-22-2020 at 10:13 AM.
chunon is offline  
post #5717 of 6277 Old 05-22-2020, 10:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
That is a tab for a longer strip of plastic you can pull it a remove the strip .


77”A9G Direct Tv AppleTv 4K
When i tried to remove it, the entire piece was really stuck to the frame. I was able to get the sticker off with a lot of effort, but its only the width of a penny if that, and it left glue residue all over the frame. As though i was not suppose to remove it. I see what your saying, it would be a long strip the length of the TV, but it was just a small square....weird.

Sony XBR55-A1E/Sony XBR-65X850C
VA SQ is offline  
post #5718 of 6277 Old 05-22-2020, 10:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,620
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3946 Post(s)
Liked: 3980
Quote:
Originally Posted by VA SQ View Post
When i tried to remove it, the entire piece was really stuck to the frame. I was able to get the sticker off with a lot of effort, but its only the width of a penny if that, and it left glue residue all over the frame. As though i was not suppose to remove it. I see what your saying, it would be a long strip the length of the TV, but it was just a small square....weird.

Yeah that is strange mine came right off with the strip .


77”A9G Direct Tv AppleTv 4K

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is offline  
post #5719 of 6277 Old 05-22-2020, 10:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by VA SQ View Post
When i tried to remove it, the entire piece was really stuck to the frame. I was able to get the sticker off with a lot of effort, but its only the width of a penny if that, and it left glue residue all over the frame. As though i was not suppose to remove it. I see what your saying, it would be a long strip the length of the TV, but it was just a small square....weird.
Ok, your right, for some reason, the blue piece sticks onto the larger clear long protector and that broke off. Once i dug my nail more into the frame, i caught the rest of the long sticker. all that residue was just on the long protector, so no issues at all. Thanks for the insight.

Sony XBR55-A1E/Sony XBR-65X850C
VA SQ is offline  
post #5720 of 6277 Old 05-22-2020, 10:47 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,620
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3946 Post(s)
Liked: 3980
2019 Sony A9G Master Series OLED Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by VA SQ View Post
Ok, your right, for some reason, the blue piece sticks onto the larger clear long protector and that broke off. Once i dug my nail more into the frame, i caught the rest of the long sticker. all that residue was just on the long protector, so no issues at all. Thanks for the insight.

No problem glad you got it off


77”A9G Direct Tv AppleTv 4K

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2

Last edited by chunon; 05-22-2020 at 10:51 AM.
chunon is offline  
post #5721 of 6277 Old 05-22-2020, 04:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Will the X950H Update installed in the A9G also introduce near-black dithering as is the case on the A8H? That would be interesting to know.
JayPee2610 is offline  
post #5722 of 6277 Old 05-22-2020, 06:02 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,620
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3946 Post(s)
Liked: 3980
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayPee2610 View Post
Will the X950H Update installed in the A9G also introduce near-black dithering as is the case on the A8H? That would be interesting to know.

No it only changes the menu layout .


77”A9G Direct Tv AppleTv 4K Sony X800M2 Yamaha V685

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is offline  
post #5723 of 6277 Old 05-23-2020, 12:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD23 View Post
Maybe you're confusing it with the fact that external devices have to support a specific low-latency HDMI profile to transmit DV to Sony TVs, including the A9G.
My first OLED will be Sony's next OLED model (A9H?). Something like Pioneer's LX500 player (with full featured zoom control) to use with it. But any problems also connecting my Oppo 95? Will the new Sony OLED have any problems upscaling DVDs and BDs, which presumably it can do better than the Oppo could?
ekayo is offline  
post #5724 of 6277 Old 05-23-2020, 01:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by box4m View Post
in what content does the zoom work? i mean do u need to play the file in builtin video player or?
I don’t know how clearer I can explain what the Pioneer LX500 BD player can do that my Oppo 95 player can’t-but which I’m hoping that some Sony A9G owner discovered that the TV can do: Zoom in on a moving image fed from the player, doing so in steps of, say, 2X, 3X and 4X mag.

Now that my Oppo player can do. But what it can’t do is this: Say there’s a person walking in the moving image. IF the Sony OLED can zoom the image 3 or 4X, can the remote then allow you to keep the zoomed person’s head “centered” on the screen by depressing a remote button left, right, up or down. Got it?

This may be a feature that the Sony OLED actually has, buried in the remote, even if it wasn’t actually mentioned in the manual.
ekayo is offline  
post #5725 of 6277 Old 05-23-2020, 05:51 AM
Senior Member
 
KTM250's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Just got my 77 A9G setup and running last night. I got it through VE with there VIP service.(I would hate to see there non VIP service). Anyways, is there a way to have the tv show you that it has gone into dolby vision or HDR mode? I am coming from a 65E6 LG and when it would go into one of those modes it would tell you in the upper right hand corner.
Thanks
KTM250 is offline  
post #5726 of 6277 Old 05-23-2020, 05:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 6,453
Mentioned: 242 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5351 Post(s)
Liked: 6560
Quote:
Originally Posted by KTM250 View Post
Just got my 77 A9G setup and running last night. I got it through VE with there VIP service.(I would hate to see there non VIP service). Anyways, is there a way to have the tv show you that it has gone into dolby vision or HDR mode? I am coming from a 65E6 LG and when it would go into one of those modes it would tell you in the upper right hand corner.
Thanks
It doesn't tell you the PM like on the LG. You need to manually use the remote, one click and you will see on the bottom of the screen what PM you are in.
chunon likes this.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F, LG CX
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, LightSpace Pro, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is offline  
post #5727 of 6277 Old 05-23-2020, 05:56 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,620
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3946 Post(s)
Liked: 3980
2019 Sony A9G Master Series OLED Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by KTM250 View Post
Just got my 77 A9G setup and running last night. I got it through VE with there VIP service.(I would hate to see there non VIP service). Anyways, is there a way to have the tv show you that it has gone into dolby vision or HDR mode? I am coming from a 65E6 LG and when it would go into one of those modes it would tell you in the upper right hand corner.
Thanks

You have to look in the picture settings you should see an hdr icon there . Make sure you have turned on the enhanced hdmi for the appropriate inputs.


77”A9G Direct Tv AppleTv 4K Sony X800M2 Yamaha V685

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2

Last edited by chunon; 05-23-2020 at 05:59 AM.
chunon is offline  
post #5728 of 6277 Old 05-23-2020, 06:46 AM
Member
 
BigBlue83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by KTM250 View Post
Just got my 77 A9G setup and running last night. I got it through VE with there VIP service.(I would hate to see there non VIP service). Anyways, is there a way to have the tv show you that it has gone into dolby vision or HDR mode? I am coming from a 65E6 LG and when it would go into one of those modes it would tell you in the upper right hand corner.
Thanks
Just press the “Display” button on the remote and it will show you everything.
jrref likes this.
BigBlue83 is offline  
post #5729 of 6277 Old 05-23-2020, 09:49 AM
Member
 
Masterwarzombie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: FRANCE ( Lille )
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 28
@ jrreh or D Nice: did you notice a difference between the color temperature expert 1 and expert 2 during the calibration. I often see that people use expert 2.
Why ?
thank you
Masterwarzombie is offline  
post #5730 of 6277 Old 05-23-2020, 10:23 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 17,764
Mentioned: 209 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2765 Post(s)
Liked: 4991
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterwarzombie View Post
@ jrreh or D Nice: did you notice a difference between the color temperature expert 1 and expert 2 during the calibration. I often see that people use expert 2.
Why ?
thank you
There is no difference
Masterwarzombie and jrref like this.
D-Nice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off