2019 Sony A9G Master Series OLED Owner's Thread - Page 49 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2427Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1441 of 5128 Old 07-24-2019, 12:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Can anyone provide a game HDR setting for this tv? I'm struggling on in game HDR slider. Some games can never make the logo fade or disappear such as shadow of tomb Raider and Forza 7 on Xbox one x. My tv is set on game mode and everything is on default. I can boost contrast up to 95 to max to make the logo fade but I am not sure if I'm doing it correctly.
Paul Tsang is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1442 of 5128 Old 07-24-2019, 01:36 PM
Member
 
box4m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Does anyone actually know what "film mode" under motion/picture settings does?

Real hard to find an answer

Sony KD-77AG9 / AppleTV4k / Nvidia Shield 2019
box4m is offline  
post #1443 of 5128 Old 07-24-2019, 01:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sd13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,862
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1218 Post(s)
Liked: 1124
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_42 View Post
Just curious, but does Sony Oleds have the plastic film screen protection on them when unboxing the tv? I find these great for keeping finger prints off the screen while setting up.


I use these microfiber gloves that I got from microcenter whenever I’m handling TVs. They work great.
kinglm likes this.
sd13 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1444 of 5128 Old 07-24-2019, 04:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,340
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6140
Yeah, I keep soft white gloves around, they look like butler gloves lol. I use them when moving a tv, or when I clean one with a microfiber to keep from getting any grease on the MF cloth. On my A8F and A9G, as well as the A1E I had, these screens clean easily without liquid using a MF cloth if you have fingerprints.
sd13 likes this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
Panasonic UB820 / ATV4K
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / RP-500SA / FV15HP (5.1.2)
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #1445 of 5128 Old 07-24-2019, 06:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
buggs1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 1,794
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 423 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirk Manderin View Post
I could have gotten it quite a bit sooner from BB or similar places, but the the quality control check and the included pro calibration are worth the wait for me. I wanted to avoid playing the panel lottery as much as I could, and jrref is a highly regarded calibrator from what I've seen in the forums. The logical side of my brain won this one over the Amazon trained 'gotta have it tomorrow' side.
That I totally agree with. I absolutely hate panel lottery. I disagree with it. It should not be. They should all be the same and without any flaws like DSE etc. If I had patience and the funds available immediately I’d get it from them too.

The A9G is to my eyes just so so good with color and upscaling. I just have a difficult time getting the motion just right. I’m no good with those settings.
buggs1a is offline  
post #1446 of 5128 Old 07-24-2019, 06:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
buggs1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 1,794
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 423 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Tsang View Post
Can anyone provide a game HDR setting for this tv? I'm struggling on in game HDR slider. Some games can never make the logo fade or disappear such as shadow of tomb Raider and Forza 7 on Xbox one x. My tv is set on game mode and everything is on default. I can boost contrast up to 95 to max to make the logo fade but I am not sure if I'm doing it correctly.
Are you referring to like with an LG tv they have the logo dimming feature? What logo are you referring to?

The one thing I don’t like about gaming on this tv is the bad ABL. I play MLB The Show on my PS4 PRO and the ABL is so bad it dims the screen then brightens it literally every few to 20 seconds or so.
buggs1a is offline  
post #1447 of 5128 Old 07-24-2019, 07:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Not sure where to post this. New A8G owner here and I'm just curious as to why Dolby Vision is so dark on the Sony. Using the built in app and it is barely visable in bright screens. Any suggestions? Is it better on an external device vs the built in app?
mark_42 is online now  
post #1448 of 5128 Old 07-24-2019, 10:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggs1a View Post
Are you referring to like with an LG tv they have the logo dimming feature? What logo are you referring to?

The one thing I don’t like about gaming on this tv is the bad ABL. I play MLB The Show on my PS4 PRO and the ABL is so bad it dims the screen then brightens it literally every few to 20 seconds or so.
Oh I mean the in game HDR slider. Sometimes they ask you to adjust the slider so the logo inside the white box is the same white as out outside border. If that make any sense to you . Lol
Paul Tsang is offline  
post #1449 of 5128 Old 07-24-2019, 10:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggs1a View Post
Are you referring to like with an LG tv they have the logo dimming feature? What logo are you referring to?

The one thing I don’t like about gaming on this tv is the bad ABL. I play MLB The Show on my PS4 PRO and the ABL is so bad it dims the screen then brightens it literally every few to 20 seconds or so.
Oh I mean the in game HDR slider. Sometimes they ask you to adjust the slider so the logo inside the white box is the same white as out outside border. If that make any sense to you . Lol
Paul Tsang is offline  
post #1450 of 5128 Old 07-24-2019, 11:28 PM
Member
 
box4m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Yeah, I keep soft white gloves around, they look like butler gloves lol. I use them when moving a tv, or when I clean one with a microfiber to keep from getting any grease on the MF cloth. On my A8F and A9G, as well as the A1E I had, these screens clean easily without liquid using a MF cloth if you have fingerprints.
Im beyond paranoid to wipe mine, would you link/show a pic of the piece of fabric you clean it with?

Sony KD-77AG9 / AppleTV4k / Nvidia Shield 2019
box4m is offline  
post #1451 of 5128 Old 07-24-2019, 11:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
buggs1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 1,794
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 423 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Tsang View Post
Oh I mean the in game HDR slider. Sometimes they ask you to adjust the slider so the logo inside the white box is the same white as out outside border. If that make any sense to you . Lol
Yep. I get it now. Sorry I didn’t at first.

So when you change the slider it doesn’t change the logo or just not darken at all or enough?

To me it seems like a game thing if the tv is default for Game mode and HDR. Since the tv is ok I hmm. Not sure. But it seems like the game should do what it’s asking and if not I’m not sure how the tv could interfere.

I have both PS4 Pro and Xbox One X. I have the Q90R 75” now and I’m waiting till about August 6 to have the A9G 65” delivered and swapped. I think I have some games that have that same slider. But I don’t know which ones. I’d have to open each one to see. I’m very curious too

It could be that the tv is already so bright that HDR Doesn’t look any different in brightness. My Q90R is like that. I play Destiny 2 Forsaken on my Xbox and HDR doesn’t look any different/brighter. I play MLB The Show on my PS4 PRO and again HDR is no different even though HDR is working. I think there may be a slight color change but not in how bright. Ugh!

So I’m very curious about your situation too.
buggs1a is offline  
post #1452 of 5128 Old 07-24-2019, 11:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sd13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,862
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1218 Post(s)
Liked: 1124
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_42 View Post
Not sure where to post this. New A8G owner here and I'm just curious as to why Dolby Vision is so dark on the Sony. Using the built in app and it is barely visable in bright screens. Any suggestions? Is it better on an external device vs the built in app?


You’re in the wrong thread . DV is not dim on the a9g like it is on the a8g and all sonys with the x1 extreme chip.
sd13 is online now  
post #1453 of 5128 Old 07-25-2019, 05:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,340
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6140
Quote:
Originally Posted by box4m View Post
Im beyond paranoid to wipe mine, would you link/show a pic of the piece of fabric you clean it with?
There are plenty of good ones, but I really like these for sunglasses, tv's, etc...

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
Panasonic UB820 / ATV4K
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / RP-500SA / FV15HP (5.1.2)
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #1454 of 5128 Old 07-25-2019, 06:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ruppgu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 733
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 503 Post(s)
Liked: 564
Got my A9G yesterday! Only watched it for an hour but so far I'm liking it, not really comfortable providing detailed comparisons to my 2017 LG yet. I watched Dynasties and it had multiple fade to black scenes which were fade to gray. I'm hoping that is just the mastering of the disk. I know Planet Earth 2 had elevated blacks.

The one thing I don't like is that it doesn't notify me when a HDR signal is found like on the LGs. I'm not even sure I was watching with HDR because after I watched I was going through the settings and saw that HDMI Enhanced mode was not enabled yet. Is there an easy way to check if the TV is in HDR/DV mode?

TV: Sony A9G 77" Oled & LG B7A 65" Oled
AVR: Denon AVRX4300H
F/L: Emotiva Airmotiv T2, Center: Emotiva Airmotiv C2, Surround: Emotiva Airmotiv B1 x4, Atmos: Elac A4 x4, Subwoofer: PSA V1811, Actuator: Crowson x2
4k Player: Panasonic UB 820

Last edited by Ruppgu; 07-25-2019 at 06:53 AM.
Ruppgu is offline  
post #1455 of 5128 Old 07-25-2019, 07:08 AM
Member
 
box4m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruppgu View Post
Got my A9G yesterday! Only watched it for an hour but so far I'm liking it, not really comfortable providing detailed comparisons to my 2017 LG yet. I watched Dynasties and it had multiple fade to black scenes which were fade to gray. I'm hoping that is just the mastering of the disk. I know Planet Earth 2 had elevated blacks.

The one thing I don't like is that it doesn't notify me when a HDR signal is found like on the LGs. I'm not even sure I was watching with HDR because after I watched I was going through the settings and saw that HDMI Enhanced mode was not enabled yet. Is there an easy way to check if the TV is in HDR/DV mode?
There might be more ways but, going into a random picturemode setting, its gonna show it at the top right - to see if its dolby vision, check what pictures modes are available, there should only be dolby vision bright/dark and vivid (maybe theres more when calman has been used)

edit: i had "problems" with elevated blacks when i first got it, but the only thing it was, was "black level" should be 50 (huge difference to 60 which it was for some reason), and gamma was at 2 for HDR for some reason, i like it at 0 or 1

Sony KD-77AG9 / AppleTV4k / Nvidia Shield 2019
box4m is offline  
post #1456 of 5128 Old 07-25-2019, 07:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ruppgu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 733
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 503 Post(s)
Liked: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by box4m View Post
There might be more ways but, going into a random picturemode setting, its gonna show it at the top right - to see if its dolby vision, check what pictures modes are available, there should only be dolby vision bright/dark and vivid (maybe theres more when calman has been used)

edit: i had "problems" with elevated blacks when i first got it, but the only thing it was, was "black level" should be 50 (huge difference to 60 which it was for some reason), and gamma was at 2 for HDR for some reason, i like it at 0 or 1
So you mean, hitting the settings button and then going into picture mode? I was hoping of a quick one button press but maybe that isn't an option. I just like the warm fuzzy confirmation that I'm getting HDR. Especially when I put in a disk (Sometimes I have accidentally put in the blu-ray instead of the UHD and not seeing this notification is helpful).

Mine was calibrated by jrref so I assume the black level is set correctly. I won't have time to watch anything tonight but over the weekend I'll start watching more content to see if there's an issue or it was just how Dynasties was mastered. I'm guessing it's just an issue with Dynasties.

TV: Sony A9G 77" Oled & LG B7A 65" Oled
AVR: Denon AVRX4300H
F/L: Emotiva Airmotiv T2, Center: Emotiva Airmotiv C2, Surround: Emotiva Airmotiv B1 x4, Atmos: Elac A4 x4, Subwoofer: PSA V1811, Actuator: Crowson x2
4k Player: Panasonic UB 820
Ruppgu is offline  
post #1457 of 5128 Old 07-25-2019, 08:47 AM
Member
 
box4m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Sorry for many questions but thats what its like with new stuff i guess 🙂

Would it work to use optical out (sound) to receiver and then connect the tv as center channel, if i make sense.

So the sound would go to receiver and "back" cause its used as center speaker

Sony KD-77AG9 / AppleTV4k / Nvidia Shield 2019
box4m is offline  
post #1458 of 5128 Old 07-25-2019, 09:16 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 25,737
Mentioned: 87 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7316 Post(s)
Liked: 7344
Quote:
Originally Posted by box4m View Post
Im beyond paranoid to wipe mine, would you link/show a pic of the piece of fabric you clean it with?
Getting a screen completely streak free can be challenging, bet to not get it dirty if you can
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #1459 of 5128 Old 07-25-2019, 10:37 AM
Member
 
Soundboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Outside Your Window
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruppgu View Post
So you mean, hitting the settings button and then going into picture mode? I was hoping of a quick one button press but maybe that isn't an option. I just like the warm fuzzy confirmation that I'm getting HDR. Especially when I put in a disk (Sometimes I have accidentally put in the blu-ray instead of the UHD and not seeing this notification is helpful).
I agree 100%. Ideally, this should be easily accessible through the INFO/DISPLAY button. Let's hope Sony is listening.

Sony XBR65A9G
Yamaha RX-A3080
Sony UBP-X700
Soundboy is offline  
post #1460 of 5128 Old 07-25-2019, 06:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JD23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dallas
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 768 Post(s)
Liked: 471
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundboy View Post
I agree 100%. Ideally, this should be easily accessible through the INFO/DISPLAY button. Let's hope Sony is listening.

It's unlikely to happen, as this behavior is the same on every Sony TV from the past few years.
JD23 is online now  
post #1461 of 5128 Old 07-26-2019, 01:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,021
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 656 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruppgu View Post
So you mean, hitting the settings button and then going into picture mode? I was hoping of a quick one button press but maybe that isn't an option. I just like the warm fuzzy confirmation that I'm getting HDR. Especially when I put in a disk (Sometimes I have accidentally put in the blu-ray instead of the UHD and not seeing this notification is helpful).

Mine was calibrated by jrref so I assume the black level is set correctly. I won't have time to watch anything tonight but over the weekend I'll start watching more content to see if there's an issue or it was just how Dynasties was mastered. I'm guessing it's just an issue with Dynasties.
Yes, when go to settings, you can see picture mode HDR. Only Dolby Vision logo pops up on the Sony and Panasonic.
Ruppgu likes this.

Sony 65 A9F, LG 65 E9
New_to_4K is offline  
post #1462 of 5128 Old 07-26-2019, 02:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sd13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,862
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1218 Post(s)
Liked: 1124
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD23 View Post
It's unlikely to happen, as this behavior is the same on every Sony TV from the past few years.


Quickest way to tell if you’re in hdr is to tap the quick menu button on your remote. If the light sensor is grayed out, you’re in hdr.
Soundboy and Ruppgu like this.
sd13 is online now  
post #1463 of 5128 Old 07-26-2019, 02:59 AM
Member
 
box4m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd13 View Post
Quickest way to tell if you’re in hdr is to tap the quick menu button on your remote. If the light sensor is grayed out, you’re in hdr.
ye good tip

Sony KD-77AG9 / AppleTV4k / Nvidia Shield 2019
box4m is offline  
post #1464 of 5128 Old 07-27-2019, 06:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ruppgu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 733
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 503 Post(s)
Liked: 564
Watched a bit more, so far my only complaint is the lack of hdr notification i mentioned earlier. This actually bit me last night. When I manually checked while watching bladerunner 2049 hdr was not engaged? I had to turn off tv and then on and it engaged. Not sure why but i guess i’ll be checking every time i play something now.... really annoying. Another small nitpick, i don’t like the led on the bottom of the screen? Can this be disabled? I’m talking about the power light.

That said, those are minor. The picture is amazing. The hdr pops more compared to my 2017 LG (but still looks more natural) and the low light scenes are much more clear. I’m noticing a lot better panning too. I do notice some banding in dark scenes (i think i see banding better than most) but it is less distracting and less common than my old oled. My 2017 had 2 bands that were very drastic. When i see my banding on my 2019 it looks more like scene isn’t 100% uniform and is a full screen effect. Since it’s full screen i have an easier time not focusing on it.

TV: Sony A9G 77" Oled & LG B7A 65" Oled
AVR: Denon AVRX4300H
F/L: Emotiva Airmotiv T2, Center: Emotiva Airmotiv C2, Surround: Emotiva Airmotiv B1 x4, Atmos: Elac A4 x4, Subwoofer: PSA V1811, Actuator: Crowson x2
4k Player: Panasonic UB 820

Last edited by Ruppgu; 07-27-2019 at 07:05 AM.
Ruppgu is offline  
post #1465 of 5128 Old 07-27-2019, 07:23 AM
Member
 
box4m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd13 View Post
Quickest way to tell if you’re in hdr is to tap the quick menu button on your remote. If the light sensor is grayed out, you’re in hdr.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruppgu View Post
Watched a bit more, so far my only complaint is the lack of hdr notification i mentioned earlier. This actually bit me last night. When I manually checked while watching bladerunner 2049 hdr was not engaged? I had to turn off tv and then on and it engaged. Not sure why but i guess i’ll be checking every time i play something now.... really annoying.
The tip SD13 gave is alot quicker then the one i gave.
Ive never experienced that HDR didnt kickin, ive only been using AppleTV though.

SD13´s way is just 1 click and u see it, same as an "info button".

Sony KD-77AG9 / AppleTV4k / Nvidia Shield 2019
box4m is offline  
post #1466 of 5128 Old 07-27-2019, 07:35 AM
Member
 
box4m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruppgu View Post
Another small nitpick, i don’t like the led on the bottom of the screen? Can this be disabled? I’m talking about the power light.
Yeah, there are settings for the LED you mention - main settingstab and like 3rd from top.

---------

Something i wonder, it doesnt look like i can chromecast things from my PC for example, to the TV when its in standby?
Ruppgu likes this.

Sony KD-77AG9 / AppleTV4k / Nvidia Shield 2019
box4m is offline  
post #1467 of 5128 Old 07-27-2019, 08:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sd13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,862
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1218 Post(s)
Liked: 1124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruppgu View Post
Watched a bit more, so far my only complaint is the lack of hdr notification i mentioned earlier. This actually bit me last night. When I manually checked while watching bladerunner 2049 hdr was not engaged? I had to turn off tv and then on and it engaged. Not sure why but i guess i’ll be checking every time i play something now.... really annoying. Another small nitpick, i don’t like the led on the bottom of the screen? Can this be disabled? I’m talking about the power light.



That said, those are minor. The picture is amazing. The hdr pops more compared to my 2017 LG (but still looks more natural) and the low light scenes are much more clear. I’m noticing a lot better panning too. I do notice some banding in dark scenes (i think i see banding better than most) but it is less distracting and less common than my old oled. My 2017 had 2 bands that were very drastic. When i see my banding on my 2019 it looks more like scene isn’t 100% uniform and is a full screen effect. Since it’s full screen i have an easier time not focusing on it.


Don’t forget you have to go deep into the settings to turn on “hdmi enhanced” for full hdr.
Ruppgu likes this.
sd13 is online now  
post #1468 of 5128 Old 07-27-2019, 11:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ruppgu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 733
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 503 Post(s)
Liked: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd13 View Post
Don’t forget you have to go deep into the settings to turn on “hdmi enhanced” for full hdr.
Yep, i watched dynasties my first night without realizing it was off. I still got hdr (maybe this setting is only required for DV?) but i turned it on after that. Bladerunner 2049 looked spectacular. I noticed some major differences in a few scenes compared to my LG.

Black level seemed fine on bladerunner btw. I think jrref did an excellent job! Only changes i’ve made are turning on motion settings and the hdmi enhanced setting.
sd13 likes this.

TV: Sony A9G 77" Oled & LG B7A 65" Oled
AVR: Denon AVRX4300H
F/L: Emotiva Airmotiv T2, Center: Emotiva Airmotiv C2, Surround: Emotiva Airmotiv B1 x4, Atmos: Elac A4 x4, Subwoofer: PSA V1811, Actuator: Crowson x2
4k Player: Panasonic UB 820
Ruppgu is offline  
post #1469 of 5128 Old 07-27-2019, 12:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
alettiere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 652 Post(s)
Liked: 393
I still got HDR before turning on the HDMI enhanced setting after finding it buried in the menus.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
alettiere is online now  
post #1470 of 5128 Old 07-27-2019, 02:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 6,167
Mentioned: 313 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4190 Post(s)
Liked: 5397
Quote:
Originally Posted by alettiere View Post
I still got HDR before turning on the HDMI enhanced setting after finding it buried in the menus.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
HDMI "Enhanced" enables bandwidth unto the max of 18Gbps. With HDMI set to "Standard", bandwidth is limited to 13.5Gbps meaning you still get 4K/HDR 12bits 4:4:4 @ 24Hz or 4K/HDR 12bits 4:2:0 @ 60Hz.
Damien Inferno and Ruppgu like this.

Enrico Castagnetti @ Rythmik Audio - Dialing In Rythmik Audio Subwoofers - REW for macOS
Media Room: Sierra Towers w/RAAL, Horizon w/RAAL, Sierra 2s & Lunas | Rythmik G22 (x2) + FV25HP | Denon X6500H | Panny 820 + ATV 4K | Bluesound Node 2 | Sony 77A9G OLED |
Desktop: Dynaudio BM5 mkIII | Rythmik L22 | Apogee Quartet | 27" iMac| Bedroom: B&W 685 S2 | Rythmik LVX12 | Marantz SR6013 | Sony X700 + ATV 4K | Sony XBR-65Z9D |
enricoclaudio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off