LG C9 eARC Info Thread - Page 12 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 154Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #331 of 693 Old 06-24-2019, 05:00 PM
Senior Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baff View Post
With C9 audio set to tv speakers, and the Denon ARC turned off, I unplug it from the tv, plug it back in. The tv does not respond. I turn Denon ARC back on and the C9 detects it and switches audio over to HDMI2
Was HDMI Control in the Denon on or off when you did this?
avernar is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #332 of 693 Old 06-24-2019, 05:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,632
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baff View Post
With C9 audio set to tv speakers, and the Denon ARC turned off, I unplug it from the tv, plug it back in. The tv does not respond. I turn Denon ARC back on and the C9 detects it and switches audio over to HDMI2


I guess I’m still not clear on what you are trying to do.

The TV shouldn’t respond to plugging and unplugging the AVR if HDMI control is not in use unless you remove the Denon from the connection manager and it is auto detected when you reconnect it.

What are you trying to accomplish?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jmpage2 is online now  
post #333 of 693 Old 06-24-2019, 05:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Baff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dark Side of the Earth
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by avernar View Post
Was HDMI Control in the Denon on or off when you did this?
I tested both ways and it worked both on and off, exactly as you want (except that ARC has to be enabled).

LG 65" C9; Denon AVR-S750H
5.1.2: Emotiva Airmotiv C2, T-Zero (x2), E1 (x4); HSU VTF-2
Baff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #334 of 693 Old 06-24-2019, 05:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Baff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dark Side of the Earth
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post
I guess I’m still not clear on what you are trying to do.

The TV shouldn’t respond to plugging and unplugging the AVR if HDMI control is not in use unless you remove the Denon from the connection manager and it is auto detected when you reconnect it.

What are you trying to accomplish?
Exactly. The Denon is removed from the connection manager and it is auto detected when you reconnect it (with ARC turned on).

I was responding to Avenar who said:

Quote:
Originally Posted by avernar View Post
No, they did not implement it correctly. You should not have to run a setup to get eARC to work (CEC issues or not).

It's super simple. When the TV detects an eARC device powered on on the other end of the HDMI2 connection it should turn off its internal speakers and send audio to that device. That is the proper way to do eARC. It looks like the Denon and Sony work this way out of the box.

LG 65" C9; Denon AVR-S750H
5.1.2: Emotiva Airmotiv C2, T-Zero (x2), E1 (x4); HSU VTF-2
Baff is offline  
post #335 of 693 Old 06-24-2019, 05:50 PM
Senior Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post
I haven't tried it with this generation gear yet but with my X4000H it didn't give much in the way of info.
The iPhone version is useless:




The iPad version however:


jmpage2 and Baff like this.
avernar is online now  
post #336 of 693 Old 06-24-2019, 05:57 PM
Senior Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baff View Post
I tested both ways and it worked both on and off, exactly as you want (except that ARC has to be enabled).
Just wanted to confirm it's responding to ARC only and not general CEC stuff.

Hopefully when they separate eARC from ARC/CEC in the config it will respond the same way with ARC off in the Denon.
avernar is online now  
post #337 of 693 Old 06-24-2019, 06:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Baff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dark Side of the Earth
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by avernar View Post
Just wanted to confirm it's responding to ARC only and not general CEC stuff.

Hopefully when they separate eARC from ARC/CEC in the config it will respond the same way with ARC off in the Denon.
Agreed.

Now I'm gonna have to steal my wife's ipad to play with that version of the Denon app, but not today...

LG 65" C9; Denon AVR-S750H
5.1.2: Emotiva Airmotiv C2, T-Zero (x2), E1 (x4); HSU VTF-2
Baff is offline  
post #338 of 693 Old 06-24-2019, 06:02 PM
Senior Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post
The TV shouldn’t respond to plugging and unplugging the AVR if HDMI control is not in use unless you remove the Denon from the connection manager and it is auto detected when you reconnect it.
He wasn't talking about switching inputs (which I read it as originally). He's talking about auto switching the audio output from internal speakers to ARC or eARC.
avernar is online now  
post #339 of 693 Old 06-24-2019, 06:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,632
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by avernar View Post
He wasn't talking about switching inputs (which I read it as originally). He's talking about auto switching the audio output from internal speakers to ARC or eARC.


So he wants it to switch between the built in speakers and the arc?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jmpage2 is online now  
post #340 of 693 Old 06-24-2019, 06:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Baff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dark Side of the Earth
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post
So he wants it to switch between the built in speakers and the arc?
Avernar was saying eARC should just work, plug and play. I am saying it does, as long as Denon ARC is turned on and C9 eARC is turned on. Thats all. With a few tweaks from LG, it would just work, period.

LG 65" C9; Denon AVR-S750H
5.1.2: Emotiva Airmotiv C2, T-Zero (x2), E1 (x4); HSU VTF-2
Baff is offline  
post #341 of 693 Old 06-24-2019, 06:29 PM
Senior Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post
So he wants it to switch between the built in speakers and the arc?
Some people like to listen to TV or at night just with the TV speakers and go full Home Theater for movies and games.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baff View Post
Avernar was saying eARC should just work, plug and play. I am saying it does, as long as Denon ARC is turned on and C9 eARC is turned on. Thats all. With a few tweaks from LG, it would just work, period.
That's not quite plug and play as you have to go into the config of both and change something. On the Sony, eARC just works. I'm hoping it will work like that once they fix the C9 config options.

Going back to the first quote, when you power off the Denon does the C9 switch back to internal speakers?
avernar is online now  
post #342 of 693 Old 06-24-2019, 06:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Baff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dark Side of the Earth
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by avernar View Post
Going back to the first quote, when you power off the Denon does the C9 switch back to internal speakers?
Just tested that. Unfortunately no, for some reason when I powered the Denon off, the C9 switched video input to HDMI2 (which is now off)...

LG 65" C9; Denon AVR-S750H
5.1.2: Emotiva Airmotiv C2, T-Zero (x2), E1 (x4); HSU VTF-2
Baff is offline  
post #343 of 693 Old 06-24-2019, 07:08 PM
Senior Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baff View Post
Just tested that. Unfortunately no, for some reason when I powered the Denon off, the C9 switched video input to HDMI2 (which is now off)...
The wonderful HDMI deities have bestowed the gift of CEC weirdness on you. And they all rejoiced.

Now you know why we want CEC off completely.
avernar is online now  
post #344 of 693 Old 06-24-2019, 07:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Baff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dark Side of the Earth
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by avernar View Post
The wonderful HDMI deities have bestowed the gift of CEC weirdness on you. And they all rejoiced.

Now you know why we want CEC off completely.
Didn't have but a moment to test it before. Now that I have tried it again, I see that it did not switch to HDMI2. For some reason it is no longer getting a signal from HDMI1 (NVidia Shield). If I switch to another input or app, then I can switch back to HDMI1 and it works fine. Weirdness indeed. The good news is that it did switch back to tv speakers, and turning the Denon back on it switches right back.

LG 65" C9; Denon AVR-S750H
5.1.2: Emotiva Airmotiv C2, T-Zero (x2), E1 (x4); HSU VTF-2
Baff is offline  
post #345 of 693 Old 06-25-2019, 08:50 AM
Member
 
mhmercer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by avernar View Post
The iPhone version is useless:




The iPad version however:


The iPhone version shows less information at a time but it shows the same information as the iPad. Click on the question mark (?) at the bottom, right of the screen. Click on AVR Info. You'll see both Input and Output; just need to swipe-right to do so. One more swipe-right takes you to Audyssey.
Baff likes this.

Last edited by mhmercer; 06-25-2019 at 09:17 AM.
mhmercer is offline  
post #346 of 693 Old 06-25-2019, 10:19 AM
Senior Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhmercer View Post
The iPhone version shows less information at a time but it shows the same information as the iPad. Click on the question mark (?) at the bottom, right of the screen. Click on AVR Info. You'll see both Input and Output; just need to swipe-right to do so. One more swipe-right takes you to Audyssey.
Doh! I think that's the only button I didn't press trying to find more info.


I also checked the web interface. Has all the settings and is very fast. But no status info screen that I could find.
anwsmh likes this.
avernar is online now  
post #347 of 693 Old 06-25-2019, 04:25 PM
Member
 
rmgrenley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Oh, by the way, I bought an Audioquest Cinnamon cable from Best Buy when I bought the Sony Z9F soundbar for my LG C9, but have not opened it yet.

I was under the impression that I needed an "Ultra High Speed HDMI with Ethernet" for eARC to eARC connection...if not to optimize the current state of affairs, but perhaps soon enough with HDMI 2.1 (??)
At these prices, about $100 for a 2 meter, I would rather not have to buy another HDMI cable anytime soon.

I do not see anywhere on the package that it is an "ultra" high speed cable, and it says it handles over 18 Gbps but not the 48 Gbps that eARC is capable of.

I can return the cable.
Should I buy a different cable for my eARC to eARC connection?

Thanks.
rmgrenley is offline  
post #348 of 693 Old 06-25-2019, 04:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,632
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmgrenley View Post
Oh, by the way, I bought an Audioquest Cinnamon cable from Best Buy when I bought the Sony Z9F soundbar for my LG C9, but have not opened it yet.



I was under the impression that I needed an "Ultra High Speed HDMI with Ethernet" for eARC to eARC connection...if not to optimize the current state of affairs, but perhaps soon enough with HDMI 2.1 (??)

At these prices, about $100 for a 2 meter, I would rather not have to buy another HDMI cable anytime soon.



I do not see anywhere on the package that it is an "ultra" high speed cable, and it says it handles over 18 Gbps but not the 48 Gbps that eARC is capable of.



I can return the cable.

Should I buy a different cable for my eARC to eARC connection?



Thanks.


Any 18gbps cable with Ethernet channel will work. Certified ones can be had for as little as $8.

Save your money, there are no 48gbps HDMI 2.1 cables at this time that are known to work with future HDMI 2.1 sources.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
dfa973 likes this.
jmpage2 is online now  
post #349 of 693 Old 06-25-2019, 04:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Just the other day I was trying to explain to my Father in Law that he doesn't have to get one of those $100 HDMI cords -_-
dfa973 likes this.
Johnny Parks is offline  
post #350 of 693 Old 06-25-2019, 04:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,632
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Parks View Post
Just the other day I was trying to explain to my Father in Law that he doesn't have to get one of those $100 HDMI cords -_-


There’s no question that the audioquest cables are very high quality, in wall rated cables that are probably better built than super cheap cables.

They also look quite fancy so that people buying them can feel like they are getting something nice for their money.

If someone wants a high quality certified cable that won’t break the bank then get a blue jeans cable, they have a lot of experience cabling the nation’s data centers.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
anwsmh likes this.
jmpage2 is online now  
post #351 of 693 Old 06-25-2019, 05:52 PM
Newbie
 
DamianostheGreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

If i play an mkv file from USB or from DLNA location with HD audio (DTS-HD or DD TrueHD) using TV's internal player, does it pasthrough HD audio to compatible eARC enabled AV receiver?
I think this is the main usability of eARC. Other scenarios could bhe implemented without having eARC anyway by connecting sources directly to AV Receiver ( eg listening BD with HD audio or Gaming with HD Audio)
DamianostheGreek is offline  
post #352 of 693 Old 06-25-2019, 05:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,632
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamianostheGreek View Post
Hello,



If i play an mkv file from USB or from DLNA location with HD audio (DTS-HD or DD TrueHD) using TV's internal player, does it pasthrough HD audio to compatible eARC enabled AV receiver?

I think this is the main usability of eARC. Other scenarios could bhe implemented without having eARC anyway by connecting sources directly to AV Receiver ( eg listening BD with HD audio or Gaming with HD Audio)


The internal player is reportedly not passing HD audio.

Your receiver idea is fine if you are okay buying a new one when HDMI 2.1 sources arrive next year.

Otherwise you buy an AVR that does EARC and use that for audio from the TV for HDMI.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jmpage2 is online now  
post #353 of 693 Old 06-25-2019, 10:48 PM
Member
 
rmgrenley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post
Any 18gbps cable with Ethernet channel will work. Certified ones can be had for as little as $8.

Save your money, there are no 48gbps HDMI 2.1 cables at this time that are known to work with future HDMI 2.1 sources.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks...will do
rmgrenley is offline  
post #354 of 693 Old 06-26-2019, 07:58 AM
Senior Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmgrenley View Post
I was under the impression that I needed an "Ultra High Speed HDMI with Ethernet" for eARC to eARC connection...
Ultra High Speed HDMI cables (48Gbps) will always have an Ethernet channel so the may or may not say "with Ethernet" on them.


But as others have stated, a regular Premium High Speed cable (18Gbps) with Ethernet is all you currently need for eARC.
avernar is online now  
post #355 of 693 Old 06-26-2019, 08:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 1,052
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 671 Post(s)
Liked: 626
I have created the "OFFICIAL" 2019 LG C9 Consolidated Info, FAQ, Troubleshooting, Firmware & more thread where there is a lot of distilled pieces of information from this thread (and others), useful for owners that search for grouped data about LG's C9.

The thread is composed of the following sections:

General Info & Summary
Main differences C8/C9
Known problems
Tested devices/compatibility
LG C9 Firmware Changelog
FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions
Troubleshooting

Not all sections are completed, most are under construction...
Please continue to use THIS thread (and not mine) - I will update my thread as new info will become available.
Bluewookie, anwsmh and fenster3000 like this.
dfa973 is online now  
post #356 of 693 Old 06-26-2019, 03:50 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I've got the LG C9 and the Samsung Q90R Soundbar.

Both have eARC, and i've got pass through working. Only issue for me is the audio lag. Seems to lag badly when using atmos sources (audio behind video), which means none of the audio sync tools help.

I'm rather disappointed.
KingScooty is offline  
post #357 of 693 Old 06-27-2019, 02:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 1,052
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 671 Post(s)
Liked: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingScooty View Post
I've got the LG C9 and the Samsung Q90R Soundbar.

Both have eARC, and i've got pass through working. Only issue for me is the audio lag. Seems to lag badly when using atmos sources (audio behind video), which means none of the audio sync tools help.

I'm rather disappointed.
What content or device did you use as a source to test the LG's eARC Pass-through with the Samsung Q90R Soundbar?
dfa973 is online now  
post #358 of 693 Old 06-27-2019, 05:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,632
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingScooty View Post
I've got the LG C9 and the Samsung Q90R Soundbar.



Both have eARC, and i've got pass through working. Only issue for me is the audio lag. Seems to lag badly when using atmos sources (audio behind video), which means none of the audio sync tools help.



I'm rather disappointed.


I just tested the C9 with internal Amazon app to X4509H with Atmos and the sound seemed to be in sync.

What source are you using?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jmpage2 is online now  
post #359 of 693 Old 06-27-2019, 06:42 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfa973 View Post
What content or device did you use as a source to test the LG's eARC Pass-through with the Samsung Q90R Soundbar?
Xbox One X + Plex app. I'm aiming for lossless 7.1 Atmos, which you can only do through HDMI pass through, and not any of the internal apps on the C9.

There's no lag if i set audio output to DTS on Xbox, but either Dolby 5.1, and Dolby Atmos result in audio lag. It's rather confusing. I thought eARC was supposed to prevent audio lag.
KingScooty is offline  
post #360 of 693 Old 06-27-2019, 06:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NismoZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingScooty View Post
Xbox One X + Plex app. I'm aiming for lossless 7.1 Atmos, which you can only do through HDMI pass through, and not any of the internal apps on the C9.

There's no lag if i set audio output to DTS on Xbox, but either Dolby 5.1, and Dolby Atmos result in audio lag. It's rather confusing. I thought eARC was supposed to prevent audio lag.
See my post here about HD audio from Xbox One X. You may not be able to test eARCs output to it's full extent with PLEX or it's Media Player and streaming an MKV. If you want to test eARC and HD audio, I would stick with the bluray player, as it should pass that HD audio.
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/141-x...l#post58222760
NismoZ is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off