LG C9 eARC Info Thread - Page 25 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 190Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 873 Old 10-02-2019, 04:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Zoglog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks for the feedback guys,

Ended up going with the Denon AVR-S750H even though I might not need all the features. It was avail at costco and figured I could spend an extra 100 if I just spent 4k on a tv lol
dfa973 likes this.
Zoglog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 873 Old 10-04-2019, 03:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoglog View Post
Thanks for the feedback guys,

Ended up going with the Denon AVR-S750H even though I might not need all the features. It was avail at costco and figured I could spend an extra 100 if I just spent 4k on a tv lol

Hello,


Maybe I am missing something but according to the specs on the Denon official website, the S750H doesn't support eARC at all.

I would be interested in this receiver as well if it supports eARC. Did it get a firmware update with eARC support? And the specs on the site just aren't updated?
Aemstel is offline  
post #723 of 873 Old 10-04-2019, 04:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aemstel View Post
Hello,


Maybe I am missing something but according to the specs on the Denon official website, the S750H doesn't support eARC at all.

I would be interested in this receiver as well if it supports eARC. Did it get a firmware update with eARC support? And the specs on the site just aren't updated?
I see I can't edit my previous post. Sorry, am new to the forum.


Anyway, the specs on the Denon site also say that this receiver doesn't support Dolby TrueHD / Dolby Atmos, which it obviously does. I suppose the Denon site is just very confusing...
Aemstel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #724 of 873 Old 10-04-2019, 04:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 1,257
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 844 Post(s)
Liked: 787
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aemstel View Post
I suppose the Denon site is just very confusing...
You are kind.
The Denon site is a mess!

And the S750H does support eARC! Read the first posts of this thread!
dfa973 is offline  
post #725 of 873 Old 10-04-2019, 05:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfa973 View Post
You are kind.
The Denon site is a mess!

And the S750H does support eARC! Read the first posts of this thread!

Thanks! And thanks for all the help you have given. Read a lot of it. Also read the first few posts, but got confused by the Denon site, so wanted to double-check.


So weird how Denon can make such a mess of that site. They offer a ton of different models and the comparison-function gives complete misinformation on the model's capabilities... They should pay people like you for still making me want to buy their product! Would've passed on it if I hadn't come across the info here.
dfa973 likes this.
Aemstel is offline  
post #726 of 873 Old 10-07-2019, 10:06 AM
Member
 
patrickgillette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ_GLiTCH View Post
Thanks jmpage2, I have signed.

For those experiencing the Dolby audio delay/lag issue, I have been communicating this with LG over the past several months. I would suggest visiting my discussion on the LG Forum if you’d like to learn more and/or show your support. Between the Dolby lag and EDID limitation, I really don’t see how we’re supposed to take advantage of the HDMI 2.1 features without sacrificing audio quality. LG have really dropped the ball.

Due to low post count, I can’t embed a link. Please Google:
LG Discussion Audio Delay for HDMI Connected Dolby Sources


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
https://lgcommunity.us.com/discussio...dolby-sources/
patrickgillette is offline  
post #727 of 873 Old 10-07-2019, 02:35 PM
Member
 
adolfotregosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Windows 5.1 eARC ""seams to work fine""

NVidia -> C9 -> eARC -> HDFURY Diva -> MiniDsp nanoavr dirac live -> Onkyo 709

Using CRU changed edid audio to LPCM 6 channels. C9 eARC Configured to Passthrough. I have to change windows to output @96000Hz , dunno why, but my nanoavr only works that way. If I remove it and connect Diva directly to Onkyo it works @44000Hz and 48000Hz.

Seams to be working fine, at least for windows side of things.

EDIT: My sub woofer was turned off but it should work just fine. Don't forget to execute restart64.exe from cru folder after editing edid.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	LG_C9_1.PNG
Views:	49
Size:	290.9 KB
ID:	2624942   Click image for larger version

Name:	LG_C9_2.PNG
Views:	35
Size:	242.7 KB
ID:	2624944  
gorman42 and HugoLiu like this.

Last edited by adolfotregosa; 10-07-2019 at 02:39 PM.
adolfotregosa is offline  
post #728 of 873 Old 10-08-2019, 02:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 1,257
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 844 Post(s)
Liked: 787
Quote:
Originally Posted by adolfotregosa View Post
Seams to be working fine, at least for windows side of things.
The video does not show what the AVR is displaying when you set the PC for 5.1.
dfa973 is offline  
post #729 of 873 Old 10-08-2019, 03:39 AM
Member
 
adolfotregosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfa973 View Post
The video does not show what the AVR is displaying when you set the PC for 5.1.
Can't you hear windows test tones? My avr always shows multichannel because it has a nanoavr behind it.

I have LPCM 5.1 eARC passthrough working with edid manipulation on windows

The video actually shows. It flashes multichannel, that is it negotiating, but again it shows multichannel because of nanoavr

Last edited by adolfotregosa; 10-08-2019 at 03:52 AM.
adolfotregosa is offline  
post #730 of 873 Old 10-08-2019, 04:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 1,257
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 844 Post(s)
Liked: 787
Quote:
Originally Posted by adolfotregosa View Post
The video actually shows. It flashes multichannel, that is it negotiating, but again it shows multichannel because of nanoavr
Nope, it shows Multich when you set to Stereo - but when you set to 5.1 the camera moves away from the AVR display.
dfa973 is offline  
post #731 of 873 Old 10-08-2019, 04:53 AM
Member
 
adolfotregosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfa973 View Post
Nope, it shows Multich when you set to Stereo - but when you set to 5.1 the camera moves away from the AVR display.
I already told you it works. The avr flashes in 2 situations. When I show stereo and second time it flashes it is negotiating 5.1 when I press the mouse button. You can hear me click the mouse. It ALWAYS shows multichannel because of the nanoavr on my case. Do I really need to show the avr showing stereo and multichannel???

Here, nanoavr firmware changelog...

""Rev 1.05 / June 2016
.....
- Re-assert the channel mode to the downstream AVR after HDCP handshake was completed. This is used as a workaround for some downstream AVRs which default back to stereo mode after HDCP handshake which cannot get back to multi-channel mode by itself."" <- this is why it always show multichannel.

And me thinking this would cheer up windows users. We can have G-SYNC and 5.1 audio. LoL
adolfotregosa is offline  
post #732 of 873 Old 10-08-2019, 05:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 1,257
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 844 Post(s)
Liked: 787
Quote:
Originally Posted by adolfotregosa View Post
And me thinking this would cheer up windows users. We can have G-SYNC and 5.1 audio. LoL
I am not trying to downplay your achievement. I just want to be sure that we have all the right facts.

If you remove the miniDSP nanoAVR the functionality (5.1 LPCM pass-through) remains the same?
What is the role of the miniDSP nanoAVR in your setup?
dfa973 is offline  
post #733 of 873 Old 10-08-2019, 05:51 AM
Member
 
adolfotregosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfa973 View Post
I am not trying to downplay your achievement. I just want to be sure that we have all the right facts.

If you remove the miniDSP nanoAVR the functionality (5.1 LPCM pass-through) remains the same?
What is the role of the miniDSP nanoAVR in your setup?
Yes. Even better because with nanoavr in the chain it is only working with windows audio sample rate set @96kHz. I asked minidsp if they can help on why but that is beside the point here. You can see the sample rate at the very beginning of the video.

minidsp nanoavr dl for the curious.
dfa973 likes this.
adolfotregosa is offline  
post #734 of 873 Old 10-08-2019, 11:59 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by adolfotregosa View Post
NVidia -> C9 -> eARC -> HDFURY Diva -> MiniDsp nanoavr dirac live -> Onkyo 709

Using CRU changed edid audio to LPCM 6 channels. C9 eARC Configured to Passthrough. I have to change windows to output @96000Hz , dunno why, but my nanoavr only works that way. If I remove it and connect Diva directly to Onkyo it works @44000Hz and 48000Hz.

Seams to be working fine, at least for windows side of things.

EDIT: My sub woofer was turned off but it should work just fine. Don't forget to execute restart64.exe from cru folder after editing edid.
Very interesting result, thanks for testing to confirm this might actually be a software problem instead of hardware limited, and just to make sure as I can't tell from the video, when you tested the 5.1 setup, did you actually hear the sound from your surround speaker?
HugoLiu is offline  
post #735 of 873 Old 10-08-2019, 01:16 PM
Member
 
adolfotregosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by HugoLiu View Post
Very interesting result, thanks for testing to confirm this might actually be a software problem instead of hardware limited, and just to make sure as I can't tell from the video, when you tested the 5.1 setup, did you actually hear the sound from your surround speaker?
You can clearly ear on the video the different tone that windows produces on the surround speakers :S
adolfotregosa is offline  
post #736 of 873 Old 10-10-2019, 04:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gorman42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,356
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 537 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by adolfotregosa View Post
You can clearly ear on the video the different tone that windows produces on the surround speakers :S
Hi Adolfo, thanks for sharing your findings. As I'm pretty used to working with CRU, I understand what you are doing. I think people would be reassured if you could shoot another video, showing the AVR display when playing back 5.1 stuff. Just a suggestion to avoid repeating over and over the same thing.

Seriously. AVS is a place where you go to learn to be unhappy. - Bear5k
Video Pioneer PDP-LX6090 (calibrated)
Audio Yamaha RX-A3010, Dynaudio Audience 72 (FL, FR), Dynaudio Audience 42C (C), Dynaudio 42W (SR, SL), Chario Piccolo Star Satellite (Presence Height), SVS PB-1000 (SW)
Sources HTPC, Xbox One S, Squeezebox
gorman42 is offline  
post #737 of 873 Old 10-13-2019, 01:48 PM
Member
 
adolfotregosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 52
god dammit guys...

I had to remove nanoavr from the chain..

adolfotregosa is offline  
post #738 of 873 Old 10-13-2019, 10:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 378 Post(s)
Liked: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by adolfotregosa View Post
eARC LPCM 5.1 working fine, take TWO
I can't replicate your results with just CRU. So I'm thinking the Diva might have something to do with it.
avernar is online now  
post #739 of 873 Old 10-14-2019, 05:58 AM
Member
 
adolfotregosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by avernar View Post
I can't replicate your results with just CRU. So I'm thinking the Diva might have something to do with it.
Try my suggestion of changing windows sample rate to 96000
adolfotregosa is offline  
post #740 of 873 Old 10-14-2019, 07:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 378 Post(s)
Liked: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by adolfotregosa View Post
Try my suggestion of changing windows sample rate to 96000
Tried that. Still only 2 channels.
avernar is online now  
post #741 of 873 Old 10-14-2019, 10:07 PM
Newbie
 
mazymus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello friends.


Is the following a good setup for eARC?

My 3 sources: cable box, PS4, computer , each connected via HDMI in to Sennheiser Ambeo sound bar, and then from the HDMI eARC out from sound bar to LG C9 eARC HDMI IN via a single HDMI 2.1 cable.

Am I able to get truly delay free audio/video, i.e. no lip sync issues for all movies or shows from computer/cablebox/ps4 to my TV through the sound bar?

Thank you all in advance.
mazymus is offline  
post #742 of 873 Old 10-15-2019, 12:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 1,257
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 844 Post(s)
Liked: 787
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazymus View Post
Is the following a good setup for eARC?

My 3 sources: cable box, PS4, computer , each connected via HDMI in to Sennheiser Ambeo sound bar, and then from the HDMI eARC out from sound bar to LG C9 eARC HDMI IN via a single HDMI 2.1 cable.

Am I able to get truly delay free audio/video, i.e. no lip sync issues for all movies or shows from computer/cablebox/ps4 to my TV through the sound bar?
Yes, if the sources are connected to the soundbar (AVR) and not the TV, the Lip-Sync issues can be minimized - and if there are still Lip-Sync issues, those can be corrected by the AVR/soundbar, assuming that the AVR/soundbar has separate audio-sync correction per source.
dfa973 is offline  
post #743 of 873 Old 10-15-2019, 12:12 AM
Newbie
 
mazymus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you. Strange though, I thought the eARC was supposed to automatically take care of lip sync issues...



Quote:
Originally Posted by dfa973 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazymus View Post
Is the following a good setup for eARC?

My 3 sources: cable box, PS4, computer , each connected via HDMI in to Sennheiser Ambeo sound bar, and then from the HDMI eARC out from sound bar to LG C9 eARC HDMI IN via a single HDMI 2.1 cable.

Am I able to get truly delay free audio/video, i.e. no lip sync issues for all movies or shows from computer/cablebox/ps4 to my TV through the sound bar?
Yes, if the sources are connected to the soundbar (AVR) and not the TV, the Lip-Sync issues can be minimized - and if there are still Lip-Sync issues, those can be corrected by the AVR/soundbar, assuming that the AVR/soundbar has separate audio-sync correction per source.
mazymus is offline  
post #744 of 873 Old 10-15-2019, 01:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 1,257
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 844 Post(s)
Liked: 787
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazymus View Post
Thank you. Strange though, I thought the eARC was supposed to automatically take care of lip sync issues...
Yes, but only if the manufacturers of all the HDMI devices implement proper Lip-Sync - meaning, all the HDMI devices must report the internal delay to the next device, and so on, up to the sink (destination) device. That sink can be the video sink (TV/display) or the audio sink (AVR, soundbar, etc.) or both (TV with internal speakers for example).

If one device does not account for the internal delay, the signal will accumulate the delays and the sink device will have to deal with all the delay that it receives.

That's why eARC without proper Lip-Sync has all those problems with audio delays and the only solution is to insert an AVR/soundbar between the source and the TV so that the AVR/soundbar can correct the delays because most manufacturers do not bother to report the internal delay downstream.

So, eARC is fine as a solution, but useless if nobody is going to set/report the delays properly in each device.
dfa973 is offline  
post #745 of 873 Old 10-15-2019, 02:07 AM
Member
 
M0dj0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazymus View Post
Hello friends.
Is the following a good setup for eARC?

My 3 sources: cable box, PS4, computer , each connected via HDMI in to Sennheiser Ambeo sound bar, and then from the HDMI eARC out from sound bar to LG C9 eARC HDMI IN via a single HDMI 2.1 cable.
No, eARC won't be utilized in that setup. eARC is the backchannel from the TV to the sound bar enabling audio from sources connected directly to the TV to be routed to your sound bar. At least thats my understanding.
M0dj0 is offline  
post #746 of 873 Old 10-15-2019, 02:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by M0dj0 View Post
No, eARC won't be utilized in that setup. eARC is the backchannel from the TV to the sound bar enabling audio from sources connected directly to the TV to be routed to your sound bar. At least thats my understanding.


You’re right!
In this setup, eARC is not concerned.
ambolik is online now  
post #747 of 873 Old 10-15-2019, 04:15 AM
Senior Member
 
nailzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Got my C9 yesterday!
nailzer is offline  
post #748 of 873 Old 10-15-2019, 07:18 AM
Newbie
 
mazymus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So if I connect all my HDMI sources to normal HDMIs on the C9, and route from C9 eARC HDMI to eARC HDMI on soundbar, then I’m getting all the benefits of eARC?
mazymus is offline  
post #749 of 873 Old 10-15-2019, 08:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,682
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 484
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfa973 View Post
Yes, but only if the manufacturers of all the HDMI devices implement proper Lip-Sync - meaning, all the HDMI devices must report the internal delay to the next device, and so on, up to the sink (destination) device. That sink can be the video sink (TV/display) or the audio sink (AVR, soundbar, etc.) or both (TV with internal speakers for example).

If one device does not account for the internal delay, the signal will accumulate the delays and the sink device will have to deal with all the delay that it receives.

That's why eARC without proper Lip-Sync has all those problems with audio delays and the only solution is to insert an AVR/soundbar between the source and the TV so that the AVR/soundbar can correct the delays because most manufacturers do not bother to report the internal delay downstream.

So, eARC is fine as a solution, but useless if nobody is going to set/report the delays properly in each device.
Ah, but I'm pretty sure that audio sync correction is now a mandatory part of the HDMI specification in HDMI 2.1 with eARC so if it's not working properly it should be viewed as bug/breakage and not just "this manufacturer is not following the standard".
jmpage2 is offline  
post #750 of 873 Old 10-15-2019, 08:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 378 Post(s)
Liked: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazymus View Post
So if I connect all my HDMI sources to normal HDMIs on the C9, and route from C9 eARC HDMI to eARC HDMI on soundbar, then I’m getting all the benefits of eARC?
You really won't gain anything and will loose LPCM audio on your PS4. I have all my devices going to my AVR with the exception of my Xbox One X which goes to the C9 for ALLM and VRR.
avernar is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off