2020 LG OLED CX-GX Owner's Thread + FAQ (Posts 1-6) - No Price Talk - Page 102 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5976Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3031 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 10:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hiroo Onoda View Post
As others have pointed out, no. We could say there is anecdotal evidence enough to warrant a claim that RGB/4:4:4 10bit output doesn't work on current Nvidia cards over HDMI 2.0b, which doesn't bode well for upcoming HDMI 2.1 cards hooked up to the CX. But other than that, only Mr. Leatherjacket knows.

Also, who is to say that the new GPUs won't have limited bandwidth, too? Could very well be Nvidia reserves full bandwidth for their flagship cards.
I think 10 bit RGB/4:4:4 over HDMI 2.0b is a bandwidth issue at 4K/60. You need 20 gbps and HDMI 2.0b is only capable of 18 gbps.
stl8k and mrtickleuk like this.

Streaming Devices: Nvidia Shield TV, Roku Streaming Stick+ 4K, Xbox One X, PlayStation 4 Pro, Apple TV 4K
Displays: LG OLED55CX,
Bluray/UHD player: Oppo UDP-203
Sold Off: TCL P605 55", Amazon Fire TV 4k, LG OLED55C8
Got the Shakes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3032 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 10:36 AM
Member
 
safcsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadMrFrosty View Post
Did anyone end up trying the audio delay issue?

I saw Sonos just released a new soundbar, does that help anything?
Hi sorry, forgot all about this!

No issues at all. The issues I faced with it not connecting via HDMI ARC were down to 3 "faulty" cables (which worked fine on the E6!)

No audio delay issues on external sources (Sky Q, Xbox One X, ATV 4K, Nvidia Shield Pro) or built in apps (Netflix, Plex, Disney+ etc.)

So all good.
safcsat is offline  
post #3033 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 10:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by midnitekiz View Post
This DTS thing is a major issue, at least for me. I have some movies on a server with only DTS audio, streaming via Plex using the internal app, and to my surprised yesterday, no audio. At this point I'm contemplating whether or not to bring this back, and just use my C8 until this problem is fixed, if ever.
Did you turn off DTS in the internal Plex app? If you did your Plex server should transcode the audio to a format the tv or soundbar can play.

Streaming Devices: Nvidia Shield TV, Roku Streaming Stick+ 4K, Xbox One X, PlayStation 4 Pro, Apple TV 4K
Displays: LG OLED55CX,
Bluray/UHD player: Oppo UDP-203
Sold Off: TCL P605 55", Amazon Fire TV 4k, LG OLED55C8
Got the Shakes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3034 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 10:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by avernar View Post
Not a bug. A design choice. While they could just do a perfect passthrough function it would make things more complicated. They'd need to switch EDIDs on the fly or make a setting that permanently uses eARC (no auto switching to speakers when AVR is shut off). There could also be a license fee for only passthrough as well.

Patents on original DTS have expired already, so there is no reason for LG to not at least allow pass-through of that, if they are too lazy to enable decoding of standard DTS. More advanced DTS formats, I could understand LG perhaps deciding to remove support for to save on licensing fees, but also removing support for DTS which is now in public domain seems like a bug/oversight -- hopefully they could at least add that functionality by updating the EDID in a future firmware update.
mikek and onesolo like this.
crussellsprout is offline  
post #3035 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 10:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,950
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1596 Post(s)
Liked: 940
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunner842 View Post
I can't wait to get my CX, I currently have a B6.

I purchased after hearing about the HDMI 2.1 news the other day, really has not put me off in the slightest.

The thing that concerns me the most is the TV not having DTS decoder, it doesn't really effect me as I connect my devices to my receiver, and most use Dolby anyway, but in the future when I have a full eARC hdmi 2.1 chain I may wish to go direct to TV.

DTS passthrough for external devices should still work, I just don't get how removing DTS decoder can stop this from working?

I hope its a bug that LG will fix or just sort out in a future firmware if hardware is not the issue.
Someone said that the TV doesn't change the EDID based on whether it is using internal speakers or eARC, and hence since the TV doesn't support decoding DTS, it doesn't advertise DTS in the EDID data to the source device, even when eARC is in use and the AVR/soundbar advertises DTS support. Changing the EDID to merge in the AVR data would certainly complicate things, and would also mean that if you turn off the AVR while playing something using DTS, it would suddenly have to change format for the TV to be able to switch to internal speakers on the fly. I don't know if HDMI would like doing that kind of format negotiation on the fly.
dfa973 and gunner842 like this.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #3036 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 10:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 4,779
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2400 Post(s)
Liked: 3335
Who thought I would miss all the posts expressing concern about burn-in

There is no perfect display, quit looking for faults and enjoy

LG OLED 77" C9, 65” B7a (SOLD) and 55” C8
Ascend's with RAAL, Outlaw monoblocks, PSA v1800 and a 7.2.4 speaker config, Oppo 203 and other stuff
smurraybhm is offline  
post #3037 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 10:44 AM
Member
 
midnitekiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Got the Shakes View Post
Did you turn off DTS in the internal Plex app? If you did your Plex server should transcode the audio to a format the tv or soundbar can play.
I guess that would be a good temporary solution. However, I don't like transcoding anything. I'd prefer direct/original play.
onesolo and sodapop74 like this.
midnitekiz is offline  
post #3038 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 10:46 AM
Member
 
midnitekiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by crussellsprout View Post
Patents on original DTS have expired already, so there is no reason for LG to not at least allow pass-through of that, if they are too lazy to enable decoding of standard DTS. More advanced DTS formats, I could understand LG perhaps deciding to remove support for to save on licensing fees, but also removing support for DTS which is now in public domain seems like a bug/oversight -- hopefully they could at least add that functionality by updating the EDID in a future firmware update.
This is what I'm hoping for with a future firmware update.
midnitekiz is offline  
post #3039 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 10:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siran77 View Post
Gears 5 in a very early build already reaches 100fps on a Series X in 4k and The Coalition is aiming for 120fps for multiplayer, so it wouldn't surpise me of more games reach >60fps, especially now that we have VRR. Furthermore, having 120Hz - regardless of framerate - has several benefits, see the Digital Foundry video here:
https://youtu.be/4sP6H1lK6XI

Albeit for consoles I don't think there'll be too many problems (except maybe for a Dolby Vision game), as the One X already allows 10bit connections.

And what does this have to do with what I said? The fact remains that we will be able to have 4K 120fps on the 2020 LG OLEDS. So as I said, we are good on consoles.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Fonzerrelli is offline  
post #3040 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 10:56 AM
Member
 
Hiroo Onoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Got the Shakes View Post
I think 10 bit RGB/4:4:4 over HDMI 2.0b is a bandwidth issue at 4K/60. You need 20 gbps and HDMI 2.0b is only capable of 18 gbps.
Yeah but please note I wasn't talking about resolution and refresh rate. The issue apparently applies to any resolution/refresh rate that in theory leaves enough bandwidth for full chroma and higher color depth.
Hiroo Onoda is offline  
post #3041 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 10:59 AM
Member
 
tw1st's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Are all the HDMI ports capable to HDMI2.1 or just one of them like the c9?
tw1st is offline  
post #3042 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 11:02 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by tw1st View Post
Are all the HDMI ports capable to HDMI2.1 or just one of them like the c9?

All ports on the C9/CX are HDMI 2.1.
es-wi is offline  
post #3043 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 11:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sorax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by platinum_trunks View Post
Have we definitively shown that 4:4:4 is not working over HDMI 40gbps with Nvidia? Is more or less the final word that we just need to wait and see if Nvidia updates something?

I would also be interested to see the difference visually between what the CX can output using Nvidia vs the C9 could.
This relates to the point I was bringing up in my post yesterday.

I'm theorizing here. The C9 can handle 48Gbps because it used a 2 chip solution and its HAWK2 chip supports that bandwidth. It then truncates the bits and the a9 chip sees 10 bpc. If this is the case, there would be no visual difference. And just maybe the a9 gen3 chip's processing gives it an edge.

This is all academic since there are no 48Gbps sources. And we don't actually know how the C9 will respond receiving a transmission at this bitrate. We should be questioning our assumptions about what the C9 will be capable of.

LG 77" CX; LG 65” E6 OLED; Xbox One X; LG 55" LM7600 LCD; Roku Ultra
Onkyo TX-NR656; Thenaudio shArc
Pioneer SP-BS22A-LR (L/R); Infinity Primus PC351 (C); Infinity Primus P143BK (S-L/R)
Gamer Tag: Todd Stevens

Last edited by Sorax; 05-07-2020 at 11:34 AM.
Sorax is offline  
post #3044 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 11:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,943
Mentioned: 222 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6223 Post(s)
Liked: 9052
Quote:
Originally Posted by es-wi View Post
All ports on the C9/CX are HDMI 2.1.
This is correct. Be careful that someone doesn't jump on your post and also mention, separately, that they don't support the maximum data rate of 48Gbps that HDMI2.1 allows, and then extrapolate that logic and start saying they are not "full HDMI 2.1" based on their own idea of the made-up term "full HDMI 2.1".

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #3045 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 11:30 AM
Member
 
midnitekiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
This is correct. Be careful that someone doesn't jump on your post and also mention, separately, that they don't support the maximum data rate of 48Gbps that HDMI2.1 allows, and then extrapolate that logic and start saying they are not "full HDMI 2.1" based on their own idea of the made-up term "full HDMI 2.1".
To me, no DTS decoder is a MUCH MUCH bigger than the full bandwidth issue as all panels are only 10bit. Maybe it's a placebo effect where the computer says 12bit, your brain will make you think you're seeing 12bit of information on a 10bit display panel.
midnitekiz is offline  
post #3046 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 11:32 AM
Member
 
tw1st's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Thanks for the replies
tw1st is offline  
post #3047 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fonzerrelli View Post
And what does this have to do with what I said? The fact remains that we will be able to have 4K 120fps on the 2020 LG OLEDS. So as I said, we are good on consoles.
I was replying to your statement "I don’t expect many games to even reach 120fps on consoles, so hitting that 12bit there at those speeds is a moot argument anyway. Look for those consoles to be pushing 4K @ 60fps & yes even 30fps. You’ll be fine at hitting 4K 30/60fps at 12bits just fine."

And gave you one example of a first party title already hitting over 100fps in 4k on a Series X in a very early build. 3h ago they showed Dirt 5 which will also have the option to run at 120fps (likely at dynamic resolution but that is still output at 4k to the TV) and I believe that will be the case with many other upcoming titles to have a "performance" option to run at >60 fps with dynamic resolution.
Siran77 is offline  
post #3048 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 11:47 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Framerate does not matter - the console will be set at 120Hz even at 30fps titles so that's completely irrelevant.
LoKSET is offline  
post #3049 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 12:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,943
Mentioned: 222 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6223 Post(s)
Liked: 9052
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoKSET View Post
Framerate does not matter - the console will be set at 120Hz even at 30fps titles so that's completely irrelevant.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #3050 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 12:28 PM
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Just wondering, will a HDMI splitter work as a DTS workaround?

I mean a splitter with 1x in and 2x out (video and audio). So connecting the soon to come ps5 to both CX and receiver?

Or do we get unsolvable lip sync issues this way

Don't know yet if a 2.1 splitter already exists but 2.0 does after a quick search.

Last edited by Peter van der Waal; 05-07-2020 at 01:05 PM.
Peter van der Waal is offline  
post #3051 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 01:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 222
PSA from our favorite professional YouTube calibrator, Quantum TV:

"Don't let them snap away honesty! Hdmi 2.1 is about more than pc gaming! FRL, EMI, eARC, H.265 BT.2020, and so many other things rely on hdmi 2.1's true speed, for a true generational leap in hdmi technology. Social media influencers and brand advocates are hard at work damage controlling for LG. Don't fall prey to their deception."

LG 65CX l Apple TV 4K l PS4 Pro l Nintendo Switch | Logitech Harmony Companion
saiyanzzrage is offline  
post #3052 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 01:11 PM
Member
 
muzikologist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by merajaan View Post
Thanks for your suggestion however I already have an eARC enabled receiver (attached a pic of the AVR's setting screen showing eARC is enabled) which should negate the need for another external device like the Vertex 2. Sony released a firmware update last year for the STR-DN1080 for eARC specifically for getting uncompressed audio formats like Dolby True HD/Atmos from the TV and decoding them on the AVR - https://www.sony.com.au/electronics/...loads/00016639

After switching around some cables, I was able to get Atmos but it is based on the compressed Dolby Digital+(Plus) not the uncompressed DolbyTrueHD. eARC is enabled on the TV and AVR. Also the same result with the Xbox One X's 4K Blu-ray player.
Gotcha. I wasn't aware that the X1X's Atmos output could shift from lossless to lossy. Just experimented with some Blu-rays and I did manage to get lossless Atmos from Game of Thrones season 1 (regular 1080p Blu-ray) via the CX/Vertex2.

When the Xbox is connected directly to the Anthem MRX 1120, the Atmos soundtracks for the UHD Blu-rays One Amazing Day and Spider-Man: Homecoming are also reported as lossless, but the lossless indicator does not show up when those discs are played on the Xbox connected to the CX/Vertex2. I don't know why that should be (if it's got anything to do with 4K vs. 1080p Blu-rays, for instance).

As for games, I tried Ori: Will of the Wisps, in which the lossless Atmos indicator does not show up whether the Xbox is connected to the TV or the AVR. Does anyone know of any lossless Atmos-enabled Xbox games? I wonder whether only on-disc Atmos is lossless on the X1X.

Just to be clear, the MRX 1120's display reads "Atmos" for all the above. I can only tell the difference between lossy and lossless by pressing the info button and cycling through to the page with sample rate (which is always 48KHz) and bit rate (which either reads "Lossless" or is left blank, which I assume means it is lossy).
muzikologist is offline  
post #3053 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 01:22 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by saiyanzzrage View Post
PSA from our favorite professional YouTube calibrator, Quantum TV:

"Don't let them snap away honesty! Hdmi 2.1 is about more than pc gaming! FRL, EMI, eARC, H.265 BT.2020, and so many other things rely on hdmi 2.1's true speed, for a true generational leap in hdmi technology. Social media influencers and brand advocates are hard at work damage controlling for LG. Don't fall prey to their deception."
Rofl, so let's get this straight - FRL - the protocol which basically provides the bandwidth needs the bandwidth itself. Dude is so professional it's scary.
sodapop74 likes this.
LoKSET is offline  
post #3054 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 01:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,098
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1088 Post(s)
Liked: 522
Looks like AMD could get a decent amount of good will from the HTPC crowd as long as they release a competitive high-end GPU. At least the RDNA2 implementation in consoles looks quite powerful (apparently comparable to a 2080 Super), so it'll definitely be interesting to see how that scales up to a "big boy" discrete GPU.

For comparison sake, the launch PS4 had a GPU positioned between a Radeon HD7850 and HD7870, and that generation of GPUs still had an HD7950 and HD7970 above it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimateDisplay View Post
alright, thx
Not sure if you noticed but he's since farther confirmed that he was indeed getting 10bit 4:4:4 from a Radeon RX 580.
tjcinnamon and stl8k like this.

Last edited by NintendoManiac64; 05-07-2020 at 02:11 PM.
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
post #3055 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 02:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 26,401
Mentioned: 92 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7626 Post(s)
Liked: 7699
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #3056 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 02:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 32
2020 LG OLED CX-GX Owner's Thread + FAQ (Posts 1-6) - No Price Talk

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siran77 View Post
I was replying to your statement "I don’t expect many games to even reach 120fps on consoles, so hitting that 12bit there at those speeds is a moot argument anyway. Look for those consoles to be pushing 4K @ 60fps & yes even 30fps. You’ll be fine at hitting 4K 30/60fps at 12bits just fine."

And gave you one example of a first party title already hitting over 100fps in 4k on a Series X in a very early build. 3h ago they showed Dirt 5 which will also have the option to run at 120fps (likely at dynamic resolution but that is still output at 4k to the TV) and I believe that will be the case with many other upcoming titles to have a "performance" option to run at >60 fps with dynamic resolution.

I agree, this is why I wouldn’t worry about 12bit (On consoles at 120fps). They won’t be pushing many games at 120fps, and even if they did, NOT at 12bit.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Fonzerrelli is offline  
post #3057 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 02:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 8,807
Mentioned: 174 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2403 Post(s)
Liked: 3260
Quote:
Originally Posted by muzikologist View Post
Gotcha. I wasn't aware that the X1X's Atmos output could shift from lossless to lossy. Just experimented with some Blu-rays and I did manage to get lossless Atmos from Game of Thrones season 1 (regular 1080p Blu-ray) via the CX/Vertex2.



When the Xbox is connected directly to the Anthem MRX 1120, the Atmos soundtracks for the UHD Blu-rays One Amazing Day and Spider-Man: Homecoming are also reported as lossless, but the lossless indicator does not show up when those discs are played on the Xbox connected to the CX/Vertex2. I don't know why that should be (if it's got anything to do with 4K vs. 1080p Blu-rays, for instance).



As for games, I tried Ori: Will of the Wisps, in which the lossless Atmos indicator does not show up whether the Xbox is connected to the TV or the AVR. Does anyone know of any lossless Atmos-enabled Xbox games? I wonder whether only on-disc Atmos is lossless on the X1X.



Just to be clear, the MRX 1120's display reads "Atmos" for all the above. I can only tell the difference between lossy and lossless by pressing the info button and cycling through to the page with sample rate (which is always 48KHz) and bit rate (which either reads "Lossless" or is left blank, which I assume means it is lossy).

The Xbox can pass lossless from BR’s

There will never be lossless games or streaming content.

TrueHD will only exist on UHD BR... and you cannot real time encode in Dolby TrueHD.

All streaming and gaming Atmos are DD+... it is then passed either as :

The original Dolby Digital + stream, which is a lossy codec (Netflix, Amazon, Disney + etc from tv or streaming device apps..)

Or

Dolby PCM MAT... used by AppleTV and Xbox One for example... when using those devices for streaming playback or gaming, the Atmos is decoded and system sounds/voice assistants/etc are mixed in... PCM is a lossless format, but the Dolby Atmos of the original source comes from a lossy soundtracks when using these devices.

Streaming from a home network (BR/UHD BR rips) are a separate thing...
FilmMixer is online now  
post #3058 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 03:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stuntman_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 901 Post(s)
Liked: 739
Quote:
Originally Posted by midnitekiz View Post
To me, no DTS decoder is a MUCH MUCH bigger than the full bandwidth issue as all panels are only 10bit. Maybe it's a placebo effect where the computer says 12bit, your brain will make you think you're seeing 12bit of information on a 10bit display panel.
It's not about a brain trick of 12bit on a 10bit panel. The issue is that Nvidia has, to this point, not allowed 444 at 10bit on their gaming GPUs, but they do allow 444 12bit. For a 9 series owner, that won't be an issue as they have 48gb bandwidth and will be able to accept that signal, and TV will display as 10bit. For X series owners, they can't do that. They will have to accept inferior 444 8bit as the 40gb isn't enough to accept the 12bit.

This is assuming that Nvidia doesn't change their stance on allowing 444 10bit, which they haven't to this point, so you would have to at least lean towards no, until they do.
ars92 and sodapop74 like this.

Stuntman_Mike is offline  
post #3059 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 03:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stuntman_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 901 Post(s)
Liked: 739
I know that this is an LG owner's thread, and I apologize in advance, but as someone that was 100% going to get a 77" GX, and who still may (although it's far from certain which wasn't the case prior), I can't help but hope that Sony whiteknights something for September/October...

Stuntman_Mike is offline  
post #3060 of 7098 Old 05-07-2020, 03:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,950
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1596 Post(s)
Liked: 940
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter van der Waal View Post
Just wondering, will a HDMI splitter work as a DTS workaround?

I mean a splitter with 1x in and 2x out (video and audio). So connecting the soon to come ps5 to both CX and receiver?

Or do we get unsolvable lip sync issues this way

Don't know yet if a 2.1 splitter already exists but 2.0 does after a quick search.
If you get a dumb splitter that just duplicates the signal, the no, since it would just take the EDID from one of the outputs so either the TV or the AVR, while you want the picture data from the TV and the audio data from the AVR. And advanced one like the AVRkey on the other hand does the right thing and merges the EDID data from each side correctly and should do what is desired.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
detection issue , earc , g-sync , lg cx , lossless audio , lpcm 7.1 , new purchase , pcm , surround sound and speaker , troubleshooting

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off