2020 LG OLED CX-GX Owner's Thread + FAQ (Posts 1-6) - No Price Talk - Page 144 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5916Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4291 of 6971 Old 05-20-2020, 03:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,913
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3364 Post(s)
Liked: 4144
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
Someone posted the other day that after a pixel refresh the hdr peak luminance went up. Normally this isn’t the case so I tried it on my 55 CX and it was measuring 690 nits 10% D65 first read. After the pixel refresh it read 730 nits first read. This set is doing things that I’ve never seen before.
This is gonna start a 🔥 here!
Sargon 1 likes this.
Cam1977 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4292 of 6971 Old 05-20-2020, 04:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Hi Guys,

I received my CX65 today after exchanging it for a C9 (bad panel uniformity). Iv only been on it for a couple of hours today but seems to be much cleaner, so far so good.

I was hoping if somebody could help me with a specific issue I am experiencing on Netfiix. I have My Samsung Q80R soundbar connected to the TV via the HDMI2 (eARC) port, eARC enabled and set to PassThrough on the TV. When I launch a movie with Dolby Atmos my soundbar is not displaying the Dolby Atmos text which used to scroll across when triggering a movie with a Dolby Atmos soundtrack on my C9. Its probably worth mentioning that this I did see it working as expected briefly but after performing a soundbar firmware update to enable eARC on the soundbar it no longer does. Is anybody with a similar setup also experiencing the same behaviour?
TheBigBoss is offline  
post #4293 of 6971 Old 05-20-2020, 04:16 PM
Member
 
beaverking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Can somebody do me a favor. My tv is mounted to my wall and I can’t take it off by myself. I’m trying to plug in a optical cable into the Toslink but it’s not going. It doesn’t feel like the normal input with the little spring door. It feels like something is in it. Can someone take a picture of the back of their tv so I can see what the optical input is like or if there is some sort of cover over it? I’ve tried pulling on it to see if it’s a cap and it doesn’t budge. Thanks.
mrtickleuk likes this.
beaverking is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4294 of 6971 Old 05-20-2020, 04:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 4,069
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3100 Post(s)
Liked: 1819
Quote:
Originally Posted by beaverking View Post
Can somebody do me a favor. My tv is mounted to my wall and I can’t take it off by myself. I’m trying to plug in a optical cable into the Toslink but it’s not going. It doesn’t feel like the normal input with the little spring door. It feels like something is in it. Can someone take a picture of the back of their tv so I can see what the optical input is like or if there is some sort of cover over it? I’ve tried pulling on it to see if it’s a cap and it doesn’t budge. Thanks.
A quick Google search.
https://images.app.goo .gl/hoB6eJd8Ps2y3MzC8

Delete the space between goo and .gl
skschatzman is offline  
post #4295 of 6971 Old 05-20-2020, 04:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: WI
Posts: 3,299
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2693 Post(s)
Liked: 1338
CX or GX?

Here is the GX:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GX 3.jpg
Views:	233
Size:	253.5 KB
ID:	2729952  

Shopping List:
TV: LG CX/GX; Samsung Q90T/Q800T...?
Blu-ray: Panasonic UB820
AVR/Pre-pro: Marantz 8805/7705 or 8012, or Yamaha 5200 or 3080
Speakers: GE Triton One.R, or ML ElectroMotion ESL X
New24K is offline  
post #4296 of 6971 Old 05-20-2020, 04:32 PM
Member
 
beaverking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by beaverking View Post
After reading about this I decided to watch Extraction on Netflix. My tv is brand new and hasn’️t been professionally calibrated. I used the LG onboard app with Dolby vision. I was in a dark room other than tv light. I used Cinema Home and turned off all processing and motion smoothing, other than that everything was default. Black was Black. I tried looking for flickering or raised blacks and couldn’️t find any. The black bars at the top and bottom were pure black, no gray. Maybe this movie isnt a good representation of what is happening. Is this also affecting the onboard apps or just external devices? If someone that’️s seen extraction or can check it out can see if it’️s the same or different for them and report back.
Which firmware are you running? It's possible they corrected this in the .60 release because it was the previous release that we found this problem ? Not sure but i'll check. If you are not seeing raised blacks with DV then great!
Yeah it’s 03.00.60

I wonder if this introduced the CEC issues I’m having now or if always been present.
jrref likes this.
beaverking is offline  
post #4297 of 6971 Old 05-20-2020, 04:39 PM
Member
 
beaverking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by New24K View Post
CX or GX?

Here is the GX:
Ok the GX looks normal. I was able to fit my phone behind my CX and it looks different. Is it a cover or what? Where’s the little door and it’s the wrong shape.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	F7E04766-E989-4C91-82AA-DD0480AC0633_1590017939558.jpg
Views:	182
Size:	57.6 KB
ID:	2729960  
beaverking is offline  
post #4298 of 6971 Old 05-20-2020, 04:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 29
You guys may be interested I've just posted up my "story" onto the uniformity thread... In essence got a brand-new 65 CX few weeks back and noticed uniformity issues in dark movie content, also a vertical white line appeared and stuck. Spoke to retailer and just traded back to a C9, pocketed the difference (CX is 40% more in UK right now). C9's not perfect out of box but not noticeable in content unlike the CX. Shame, as I generally in principle buy latest model year for future proofing, but I couldn't live with that panel. Had it been no issues I defo would have kept it, despite all the discussion +/- here. Overall though both the CX and C9 are stunning. Its jus the panel lottery, I'm not 'dissing the CX in general. Enjoy!

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post59681260
Sargon 1 and saiyanzzrage like this.
wardie is offline  
post #4299 of 6971 Old 05-20-2020, 04:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBigBoss View Post
Hi Guys,

I received my CX65 today after exchanging it for a C9 (bad panel uniformity). Iv only been on it for a couple of hours today but seems to be much cleaner, so far so good.

I was hoping if somebody could help me with a specific issue I am experiencing on Netfiix. I have My Samsung Q80R soundbar connected to the TV via the HDMI2 (eARC) port, eARC enabled and set to PassThrough on the TV. When I launch a movie with Dolby Atmos my soundbar is not displaying the Dolby Atmos text which used to scroll across when triggering a movie with a Dolby Atmos soundtrack on my C9. Its probably worth mentioning that this I did see it working as expected briefly but after performing a soundbar firmware update to enable eARC on the soundbar it no longer does. Is anybody with a similar setup also experiencing the same behaviour?
Got this working now, after doing a few power cycles on the TV and soundbar. Not sure what it was but working now.
mrtickleuk likes this.
TheBigBoss is offline  
post #4300 of 6971 Old 05-20-2020, 05:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBigBoss View Post
Got this working now, after doing a few power cycles on the TV and soundbar. Not sure what it was but working now.
I was gonna reply to your previous post. eARC with the CX has been really inconsistent for me. When it stops working, for whatever reason, I've found that unhooking and re-hooking the HDMI cable from the HDMI 2 input in the TV, restores all functionality. But this should obviously NOT be necessary. eARC is very flaky, as it has been stated before in this thread.

Question for you too: have you tried multi-channel PCM through eARC? It's not working for me. My switch will not work in 5.1, my PS4 won't pass 5.1 if I select HDMI-PCM, and my PC's (two full desktops, a small alienware, and a laptop) won't see 5.1 or 7.1 PCM. I have to manually edit the EDID using CRU to force 5.1 for the PC's to output 5.1 PCM.
Laura Gómez López is offline  
post #4301 of 6971 Old 05-20-2020, 05:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 412 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by wardie View Post
You guys may be interested I've just posted up my "story" onto the uniformity thread... In essence got a brand-new 65 CX few weeks back and noticed uniformity issues in dark movie content, also a vertical white line appeared and stuck. Spoke to retailer and just traded back to a C9, pocketed the difference (CX is 40% more in UK right now). C9's not perfect out of box but not noticeable in content unlike the CX. Shame, as I generally in principle buy latest model year for future proofing, but I couldn't live with that panel. Had it been no issues I defo would have kept it, despite all the discussion +/- here. Overall though both the CX and C9 are stunning. Its jus the panel lottery, I'm not 'dissing the CX in general. Enjoy!

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post59681260

Enjoy it. I have a replacement cx being delivered tomorrow...my current cx had banding which was obvious in normal viewing. If the replacement has it (not going to run grayscale slides) I’m also going to jump ship to the c9 or just wait for 2021


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
wardie likes this.

LG 65CX l Apple TV 4K l PS4 Pro l Nintendo Switch | Logitech Harmony Companion
saiyanzzrage is offline  
post #4302 of 6971 Old 05-20-2020, 06:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 6
GAMING VIBES 4k is offline  
post #4303 of 6971 Old 05-20-2020, 06:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laura Gómez López View Post
I was gonna reply to your previous post. eARC with the CX has been really inconsistent for me. When it stops working, for whatever reason, I've found that unhooking and re-hooking the HDMI cable from the HDMI 2 input in the TV, restores all functionality. But this should obviously NOT be necessary. eARC is very flaky, as it has been stated before in this thread.

Question for you too: have you tried multi-channel PCM through eARC? It's not working for me. My switch will not work in 5.1, my PS4 won't pass 5.1 if I select HDMI-PCM, and my PC's (two full desktops, a small alienware, and a laptop) won't see 5.1 or 7.1 PCM. I have to manually edit the EDID using CRU to force 5.1 for the PC's to output 5.1 PCM.
I have no issues passing 5.1 PCM via eARC through the TV. Works perfectly. I've done this with my PC, Xbox One X and PS4 Pro. All are connected directly to the TV and the TV connected to the receiver. Haven't tried 7.1.
StylishGum is offline  
post #4304 of 6971 Old 05-20-2020, 06:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
macmane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Crystal Lake
Posts: 2,454
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1369 Post(s)
Liked: 933
Does the cx need a specific type of mount stand for it? Or will it be fine with any mount that can hold 55 inch screen?

Sent from my SM-G986U using Tapatalk
macmane is offline  
post #4305 of 6971 Old 05-20-2020, 06:59 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 26,391
Mentioned: 92 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7622 Post(s)
Liked: 7694
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmane View Post
Go watch Ozark season 3 an go to each beginning episode where its showing the ozark symbol or logo and i can pretty much guarantee u will see some nasty elevation in black levels on that screen in the internal Netflix app at default 50 brightness
Great series

Quote:
Originally Posted by OledGod View Post
I'm disappointed with lg vip.
They approved to buy back my c6 and told me they will email me a shipping label within 2 days.
It's been 2 weeks now. Called them again yesterday same lady picked up and sounded asleep, she said she will email it right away. Still nothing.
A guy i spoke to from lg vip few days ago said they have an option where they send someone to pick up the tv but the lady that's in charge in my case doesnt give me that option. She also approved 50% depreciation after they get my tv back compared to the first guy i talked to who told me it should be 30% depreciation.
What size tv? When you take 50% off, what is that price?
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #4306 of 6971 Old 05-20-2020, 07:13 PM
Member
 
beaverking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmane View Post
This is with brightness at default 50 ozark season 3 episode 3 in the intro. cinema not cimema home. 1 click to 49 turns this screen pure black. Ive reproduced this on my panny ub820 as well

Sent from my SM-G986U using Tapatalk
Verified with the new firmware on that section of Ozark and yeah it’s still raised.
macmane likes this.
beaverking is offline  
post #4307 of 6971 Old 05-20-2020, 08:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
macmane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Crystal Lake
Posts: 2,454
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1369 Post(s)
Liked: 933
Quote:
Originally Posted by beaverking View Post
Verified with the new firmware on that section of Ozark and yeah it’s still raised.
Yea that was one of the first test I did after the latest firmware update and noticed it immediately

Sent from my SM-G986U using Tapatalk
macmane is offline  
post #4308 of 6971 Old 05-20-2020, 08:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 412 Post(s)
Liked: 221
2020 LG OLED CX-GX Owner's Thread + FAQ (Posts 1-6) - No Price Talk

My 65CX replacement comes tomorrow...everyone do a no-vertical banding/panel uniformity prayer for me


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
gamermwm, ars92, macmane and 2 others like this.

LG 65CX l Apple TV 4K l PS4 Pro l Nintendo Switch | Logitech Harmony Companion
saiyanzzrage is offline  
post #4309 of 6971 Old 05-20-2020, 09:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Great series

What size tv? When you take 50% off, what is that price?

55" c6, i bought it for $3000, they offer me buy back $1581.
And i'm still waiting for the shipping label to get emailed to me.
OledGod is offline  
post #4310 of 6971 Old 05-20-2020, 09:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
venus933's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,608
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2498 Post(s)
Liked: 2094
Quote:
Originally Posted by platinum_trunks View Post
Even though I already sprung on the C9 77" it was good to see this review, if not to feel validated haha.

Still curious what Vincent finds, but the CX generally seems like hardly an incremental upgrade. Wondering if at this point they should release tvs every 2 years lol.
One of the incremental improvements is said to be improved upscaling of bit starved content and this is somewhat backed up with anecdotal observations from some CX owners. Not that rtings puts much emphasis on this but they did make this comment: "The LG CX upscales 720p content, such as from cable boxes, well with no upscaling artifacts that we noticed on past OLED TVs."

Being that you're getting the C9 77" you're probably not going to watch much bit starved content so you should be good.

LG 65B8
Sonos Playbase
MS Xbox One S (using strictly as a disk player)
venus933 is offline  
post #4311 of 6971 Old 05-20-2020, 10:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gamermwm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: OK, USA
Posts: 1,101
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by OledGod View Post
55" c6, i bought it for $3000, they offer me buy back $1581.
And i'm still waiting for the shipping label to get emailed to me.
Maybe they got re-buyers remorse?

Bad joke. I know. I wish you the best of luck.

What is the meaning of life?
https://www.iamsecond.com/film/
gamermwm is offline  
post #4312 of 6971 Old 05-20-2020, 10:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Sargon 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: The Forbidden Zone
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
Someone posted the other day that after a pixel refresh the hdr peak luminance went up. Normally this isn’t the case so I tried it on my 55 CX and it was measuring 690 nits 10% D65 first read. After the pixel refresh it read 730 nits first read. This set is doing things that I’ve never seen before.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
This is gonna start a 🔥 here!
My C9 was noticeably dimmer after I did my first and "only" manual refresh. Resetting my tv was the only thing that brought it back. Wonder why I didn't do this again?

I read from a couple of others who experienced the same thing.

But it was rightfully shot down here I believe for two reasons:
1. I didn't "measure" it.
2. It is generally unheard of. (Doesn't make sense thing).

It sounds like this brightening is just as unusual, but at least it was verified this time through measurement.

I'm really glad that I did the reset instead of joining the "group-think" and telling myself it never happened.
I really like how bright these LGs are!

Something to add to the 'fire". O.K. just a dying "ember".

Last edited by Sargon 1; 05-20-2020 at 10:52 PM.
Sargon 1 is offline  
post #4313 of 6971 Old 05-20-2020, 10:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,913
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3364 Post(s)
Liked: 4144
^absolutely no one can refute what your eyes tell you...my comment was in jest given how some on here can be a bit too literal.
Sargon 1 likes this.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #4314 of 6971 Old 05-20-2020, 11:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by saiyanzzrage View Post
My 65CX replacement comes tomorrow...everyone do a no-vertical banding/panel uniformity prayer for me


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sorry to say but I don’t think those exist unfortunately. I hope you do get one with very minimal banding that is hard to see at all though.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Fonzerrelli is offline  
post #4315 of 6971 Old 05-20-2020, 11:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I've noticed my AI picture pro turns off randomly. Do any of you have this issue? Thank you
Eduardofuertes21 is offline  
post #4316 of 6971 Old 05-20-2020, 11:50 PM
Newbie
 
chemasevi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i bought an lg c9 last week and it has the same smell problem you describe it is a smell like burnt plastic.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RavenBF View Post
Hello all,

I have hopefully a quick question! I just got my 55 CX yesterday and so far it looks amazing. I now have the 55 E6, 65 C8 and now this one. My question....did anyone have a slight odor from their TV? It isn't an acrid electrical smoke type of smell, it is more of a warm plastic smell that I can notice, probably because this TV is in more of an enclosed room. I never noticed this on the other 2 TVs but they both were in my living room when I initially got them. I did a search on the forum and saw a couple of people mention it, and I was just wondering if this is just a smell that will go away after a couple of days usage. It is coming from the right and left hand corners of the top vent on the back of the TV.....and yes I removed the plastic. It looked like there was only one big piece on the back of the display, nothing on the lower portion. Anyway, just paranoid and I really don't want to have to return or get it fixed if it is just something that will go away. Thanks!!

Last edited by chemasevi; 05-20-2020 at 11:59 PM.
chemasevi is offline  
post #4317 of 6971 Old 05-21-2020, 12:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by beaverking View Post
Can somebody do me a favor. My tv is mounted to my wall and I can’t take it off by myself. I’m trying to plug in a optical cable into the Toslink but it’s not going. It doesn’t feel like the normal input with the little spring door. It feels like something is in it. Can someone take a picture of the back of their tv so I can see what the optical input is like or if there is some sort of cover over it? I’ve tried pulling on it to see if it’s a cap and it doesn’t budge. Thanks.
I just connected mine fine last night into my replacement C9, but I also did CX no problems - here's the input pic (of CX). Note I'm using a 90 degree TOSLINK bend into the socket otherwise the cable will hit the wall as I have a thin-ish wall mount. Stupid LG designers.

Edit: the flat bit of the socket shape is at the TOP.
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/attac...730114&thumb=1

I use this, works well, swivels (my cable goes up vertically after 90 degree turn):
https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01MUSPXMF/
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0983.jpg
Views:	136
Size:	86.8 KB
ID:	2730114  

Last edited by wardie; 05-21-2020 at 12:32 AM.
wardie is offline  
post #4318 of 6971 Old 05-21-2020, 12:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Sargon 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: The Forbidden Zone
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
^absolutely no one can refute what your eyes tell you...my comment was in jest given how some on here can be a bit too literal.
You are a breath of fresh air on here.

How I wish that your response here was true on these forums going back to 10 years ago. Some people have a penchant need to "refute" anything and everything they have not as of yet perceived, experienced, or measured. "Pish Posh!"

That's why I call it "group-think". Anything out of the "norm" is shot down as pure nonsense.

While this Soviet mindset wouldn't help an innovative technological company move forward, this occasional "group-think" mentality is no more than a mere annoyance on these forums.
Cam1977 likes this.

Last edited by Sargon 1; 05-21-2020 at 12:49 AM.
Sargon 1 is offline  
post #4319 of 6971 Old 05-21-2020, 01:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmane View Post
This is with brightness at default 50 ozark season 3 episode 3 in the intro. cinema not cimema home. 1 click to 49 turns this screen pure black. Ive reproduced this on my panny ub820 as well

Sent from my SM-G986U using Tapatalk

I tried this via apple tv 4k box and internal app on TV and could not see this, black bars remained black.

Do you have an exact time stamp, I watched from the very start of episode 3 all the way past the Ozark logo at around 3 minutes in.

My room wasn't pitch dark but I did have a fairly dark environment with he blind down and didn't see anything, I will try it again at night but I would of thought I would have seen it.
gunner842 is offline  
post #4320 of 6971 Old 05-21-2020, 01:11 AM
Member
 
Mofongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmane View Post
Does the cx need a specific type of mount stand for it? Or will it be fine with any mount that can hold 55 inch screen?

Sent from my SM-G986U using Tapatalk
I think the answer depends on what size CX you have.

Sent from my SM-T510 using Tapatalk
Mofongo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
detection issue , earc , g-sync , lg cx , lossless audio , lpcm 7.1 , new purchase , pcm , surround sound and speaker , troubleshooting

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off